Interesting Things

By Ray L. Bellande

Primary tabs

20th Century (1901 - 1950)

Biloxi, Mississippi entered the 20th Century with hope and opportunity.  The City was recovering from the Great Fire of November 1900, which particularly devastated Reynoir Street from the L&N Depot to the Front Beach.  By January 1901, construction was pervasive in the blackened area of the City.  As The Biloxi Daily Herald related: "the district between the Railroad and Reynoir Street will soon have done the 'Phoenix' and been redeemed from the 'burnt district.'  The seafood industry was unharmed by the Great Fire and continued to grow as refrigeration and rapid transportation to distant markets improved.  The introduction of the motorized trawler eventually replaced the 'Biloxi Schooner'.

 
 
1901
 
Thompson & Eistetter, architects and builders, were awarded the contract to erect the Kennedy Hotel on Reynoir Street and Railroad.  Their bid for this two-story, brick structure was $8610, the lowest submitted.  The highest submitted bid was $11,314(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 2, 1901, p. 8 and January 3, 1901, p. 8 and )
       
 
The new Baptist Church is being built by Thompson & Eistetter, architects and builders.  The Reverend Dr. Searcy is in residence.[editor note: This structure was on Lameuse Street and Washington Street(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 6, 1901, p. 8)
       
 
The foundation of the L. Lopez Co. , situated on Reynoir Street and Howard Avenue, commenced on January 10th.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 10, 1901, p. 8)
        
 
W.H. Maybin has let contract for a $3500 residence on the beach near Porter Avenue.  Mr. Maybin and family moved into their new residence in early May 1901.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 11, 1901, p. 8 and May 5, 1091, p. 8)
       
 
In January, a large seafood cannery, was commenced at Gulfport.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 12, 1901, p. 8)
       
 
Sadie Stilphen Harkness (1873-1951) circulated a petition in Biloxi for organizing a chapter of The Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, February 8, 1901, p. 8)
       
 
In May, C.S. Jackson of the Detroit Photo Company made color images of Biloxi landmarks: Beauvoir, Light House, and interior of the G.E. Ohr pottery.  Exhibition of these held at the Montross Hotel in February 1902.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, February 25, 1902, p. 8)
        
 
In early April, the erection of the new L&N depot at Biloxi was finished except for decorating and painting and was expected to open in two weeks.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, April 3, 1901, p. 8)
      
 
The new, two-story L. Lopez & Co. building on Reynoir and Howard opened in late April.  Theo Brune (1854-1932), NOLA architect.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, April 27, 1912, p. 8)
 
P.J. Gillen and Bert C. Gillen, contractors, left for Birmingham in early May.  They had been in Biloxi since October 1901 erecting the Bolton Building at 138 West Howard Avenue for Dr. Walter T. Bolton (1859-1923).  Dr. Bolton had his offices and residence here until about 1920 when the family relocated to West Beach and Porter Avenue.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 28, 1901, p. 8, March 20, 1902, p. 8 and May 9, 1902, p. 8)      
       
 
In June, work was commenced by Contractor Owens on the Biloxi Yacht Club in the front of the Montross Hotel with the demolition of bath houses and other structures.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, June 12, 1901, p. 1)
        
 
The Biloxi Yacht Club was chartered in July.  John Carraway (1873-1931), president; John J. Kennedy (1875-1949), vp; Headley F. Sawford (1858-1930+), sec; Will T. Griffin (1879-1932+), asst. sec; and Byrd Enochs (1875-1940), treasurer.(The Biloxi Herald, July 10, 1901, p. 1)
        
 
Sam Braselton started the Gulfport News in late July.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, July 28, 1901, p. 8)
        
 
On July 31, 1901 the Bridge Committee of the City of Biloxi consisting of Percy L. Elmer, James B. Chinn, and Ed Glennan examined the Back Bay Bridge structure and found the workmanship of the Missouri Valley Bridge and Iron Company very excellent.  They recommended to Mayor Swetman that the bridge be accepted.  The formal opening of the bridge was August 3, 1901 and marked the termination of the public ferry system across the Back Bay of Biloxi.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, Augsut 1, 1901, p. 1, August 3 and August 4, 1901, p. 1)
        
 
Category II Hurricane strikes Mississippi Coast near Pascagoula, Mississippi on August 15th.(Charles L. Sullivan, 2009, p. 163)
        
 
Robert M. Mosley (1865-1910), City marshal, expects to take possession of his new house on Howard Avenue.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 1, 1901, p. 8)
        
 
Ole Thompson (1874-1944) was awarded the contract to build a new home on the beach for Mr. Charlton.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 1, 1901, p. 8)
 
 
1902

In 1902, the S.S. Bullis Company successfully dredged the channel between Ship Island and the main terminal at Gulfport.  The Trojan, a sailing vessel, was the first ship to dock at the new port on January 6th.  The Hirundo was the first steamship to land here on November 5, 1902. (The Daily Picayune, August 19, 1904, p. 1)
        
 
There were 681 students registered in the Biloxi Public schools in January 1902.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 8, 1902, p. 8)
        
In January, Thomas Bendelow (1868-1936), a Scotsman in the employ of A.G. Spaulding & Sons of Chicago, arrived on the Mississippi Gulf Coast and built two golf courses at Pass Christian and one at Biloxi on the J.H. Keller (1830-1908) property between Lee Street and Keller Avenue and north of the L&N Railroad.  The Biloxi course was nine-holes and only 1941 yards long and referred to as Keller's Green.(The Daily Picayune, January 12, 1902, p. 4 and The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 15. 1902, p. 1 and January 29, 1902, p. 8)
        
The Bowers Bill, introduced by Eaton J. Bowers (1865-1939) of Bay St. Louis, was crafted for the conservation of the Mississippi oyster industry, passed in the State Legislature.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, February 6, 1902, p. 1)
        
 
Contract for the NBVM Catholic Church was let to J.F. Barnes & Co. of Greenville and Biloxi for $15,558.  Brick structure 132 feet by 55 feet, 60 feet tall, and bell tower 140 feet tall.  Architect Theo Brune (1854-1932) of NOLA.  Bid did not include: overhead ceiling, plastering, and wainscoting.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, February 7, 1902, p. 1)
        
In May 1901, C.S. Jackson of the Detroit Photo Company made color images of Biloxi landmarks: Beauvoir, Light House, and interior of the G.E. Ohr pottery.  Exhibition of these images held at the Montross Hotel in February 1902.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, February 25, 1902, p. 8)
        
The $125,000 Federal Building, a post office, customs house, and Federal court, for Biloxi was approved on June 6th.(The Biloxi Herald, March 31, 1908, p. 1)

       
Joseph E. Combel Hardware Store
 
[Founded at Biloxi in May 1902 by Joseph E. Combel (1853-1938), native of Bay St. Louis, Mississippi, on left in image. Uriah S. Joachim (1888-1977) et al acquired the business on West Howard and Magnolia in March 1918.  Mr. Joachim became sole proprietor in 1948 and renamed the enterprise Combel's Merchandise Mart. Courtesy of Donna Maria Wagner Wallace-Scotia, New York]
       
 
Florestile Boullemet Howard (1824-1902), native of England, and mother of Biloxi philanthropist's Frank T. Howard(1855-1911) and Harry T. Howard (1856-1930), expired on April 28th.
    
The Summer Pavilion, a public recreational facility situated in the water between Reynoir and Croesus Street, opened on June 18th.  It was 104 feet by 40 feet with a lofty roof and an awning on its perimeter.  Dances were held on Tuesday and Friday.  Charles M. Wilkes was the manager.(The Biloxi Herald, June 14, 1902, p. 8)
        
Reverend J.B. Brooks of the Israelite M.E. Church and his committee planned to submit to the Biloxi City Council on July 1st, a petition signed by residents in the vicinity of Main Street and Division Street protesting Sunday baseball games by Black players.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, July 2, 1902, p. 1)  
        
TheBiloxi Sanatorium was chartered in June by Dr. H.M. Folkes (1871-1926), Harry Turner Howard (1856-1930), W.K.M. Dukate, (1852-1916), Lazaro Lopez (1850-1903), Dr. M.C. Talbot, and James H. Neville.(The Biloxi Herald, July 5, 1902, p. 2) 
      
The corner stone was laid on November 27th for a new school building on Point Cadet financed by Harry T. Howard (1856-1930), philanthropist.(The Daily Herald, November 26, 1902, p. 6)
        
The Mississippi State Oyster Commission was organized on September 1, 1902.  Robert M. Mosley (1865-1910), native of Kemper Co., Mississippi and two term Biloxi Marshal and former policeman at Meridian, was the Chief Oyster Inspector from 1902 until his demise in November 1910.(The Daily Herald, December 1, 1910, p. 1)
      
The Biloxi Electric Street Railway & Power Company was charted on December 17th by J.M. Bell, John Carraway (1873-1931), E.C. Joullian (1863-1931), Lazaro Lopez (1850-1903), W.K.M. Dukate (1852-1916), et al.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Chattel Deed Bk. 5, p. 339)
 
 
1903

In February, The Biloxi Review was led by J.D. McKie, editor and publisher.(invoice in Harrison Co., Ms. Chancery Court Cause No. 899)
      
The Biloxi club football team was called 'the Buffaloes' and had an average weight of 137 pounds.  They played club teams from Pensacola and Mobile.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 10, 1903, p. 8)
       
Varina Howell Davis (1826-1906) sold Beauvoir to the Sons of Confederate Veterans of Mississippi for $10,000.  The formaltransfer occurred at Jackson, Mississippi on February 1st.  The Daughters of the Confederacy allocated $3000 to furnish the historic home.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, February 4, 1903, p. 6)
       
On March 11th, Reverend William C. Lindsay, Presbyterian minister, departed Biloxi for a new pastorate at Ocala, Florida.  He had come to Biloxi circa 1901 and was active with the local golf club and football squad..(The Biloxi Daily Herald, March 10, 1903, p. 6)
      
By mid-March, the Gill Avenue railroad station was under construction by T.J. Rosell.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, March 16, 1903, p. 6)
      
Charles Owens began erecting a residence for J. Barker Harrison of NOLA on Bienville, west of the Seashore Campground.(The Biloxi Herald, April 1, 1903, p. 6) 
      
Nativity B.V.M. the Catholic church, got electric lights in early April.(The Biloxi Herald, April 2, 1903, P. 6)
      
Contracts were let by the Biloxi Electric Street Railroad Company for six miles of track, rolling stock and rails, and for the power house to be erected on Lameuse Street.  J.Z. George of NOLA surveyed the route in early April.(The Biloxi Herald, April 15, 1903, p. 6 and April 3, 1903, p. 6)
     
The first baseball game of the season was arranged between the Biloxi nine and that of Bond, Mississippi.  The winner got $50 and the gate receipts.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, April 8, 1903, p. 6)
     
George W. Dunbar of NOLA was in town to inspect the Olga, a 65-foot, pleasure and working schooner, built for him at Johnson's Shipyard.(The Biloxi Herald, April 16, 1903, p. 6)
      
On April 15th, a$70,000 fire at NOLA's West End destroyed houses, hotels, barrooms, expensive yachts and the boat house of the Southern Yacht Club.(The Biloxi Herald, April 15, 1903, p. 1)
      
Charles F. Theobald (1839-1903), native of Sieberbach, Germany and 1859 immigrant, expired in mid-May.  C.F. Theobald came to Biloxi in 1871 and was a merchant.  He also was the first president of the Bank of Biloxi and the Peoples Bank as well as engaged in seafood canning with the Biloxi Canning Company.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, May 16, 1903, p. 8)
      
Dr. Ethan Allen Riggs (1861-1903) who formerly practiced medicine at Ocean Springs and Biloxi expired at New Orleans on May 28th.  He was educated at the University of Mississippi and Tulane.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, May 29, 1903, p. 1)
      
John Rankin Harkness (1860-1903), native of Massachusettsand Biloxi architect and contractor, died on June 11th.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, June 12, 1903, p. 8)
      
 
In mid-June, the USPO moved to larger quarters one door west of their former location in the Dukate Theatre Building on West Howard Avenue.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, June 13, 1903, p. 8)
      
 
John Caillavet, A. Fayard, U. Fayard, J. Sidule and William Young, retuned from Horn Island with 1000 turtle eggs and two turtles-one being one of the largest ever captured on that island.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, July 1, 1903, p. 6) 
      
In July, the Biloxi Electric Railway and Power Company began construction of their power house at the corner of Lameuse Street and Railroad.  300,000 bricks were ordered from the Biloxi Brick Company at $8 per thousand.(The Biloxi Herald, July 3, 1903, p. 6) 
      
In early July reconstruction began at the L&N Railroad creosote plant in West Pascagoula, now Gautier.  Fire had destroyed the original plant on June 30th.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, July 6, 2003, p. 7 and June 30, 1903, p. 1.)
      
On August 13th, Walter A. White (1854-1942) drove the spike commencing construction of the Biloxi Electric Railway Company line on Bayview Avenue near Main Street and Joullian's Factory.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, August 13, 1903, p. 6)
      
An artesian well was completed for $2980 in the Cityflowing 850 gallons per minute at the depth of 928 feet.  Water stood in the casing 50 feet above ground level.(The Biloxi Herald, August 17, 1903, p. 8)
      
During the first week of September,Cahn & Singer, clothing merchants,opened in the Bolton Building on West Howard Avenue, opposite Dukate's Theatre.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, August 22, 1903, p. 8)
      
Factory ice boats were offering fishermen $4 per barrel for their shrimp catch at the Louisiana marsh.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, September 10, 1903, p. 6)
    
Lazarus Lopez (1850-1903), native of Spain and Biloxi seafood magnate and merchant, expired at Rome, Italy on September 25th.  His corporal remains were sent from Europe and interred in the Biloxi Cemetery on October 19th.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, September 26, 1903, p. 1 and October 19, 1903, p. 1)
      
On September 26th, Captain John Foster (1827-1903),resident of Pascagoula, died.  He was the father of Charles B. Foster (1877-1931), W. Henry Foster (1875-1928+), Alfred Foster (1878-1903+), Belle Foster (1887-1958), Eva Foster (1884-1959), Ophelia F. Joullian (1865-1924), andMary F. Ford (1870-1936), all of Biloxi.(The Biloxi Herald, September 26, 1903, p. 1) 
    
In late October, 650 Bohemian laborers were employed at Biloxi's seafood plants with 250 more expected. (The Biloxi Herald, October 24, 1903, p. 8)
       
Biloxi's boat carpenters built 21 large vessels in 1903.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 17, 1903, p. 6)
 
'The Little Biloxi', a 5 cent cigar advertised as "Cuban hand made", was advertised by The Belle of the Coast Cigar Factory situated at Front [East Beach] and Cedar Street.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 19, 1903, p. 6)
       
The Barataria Mission School, also known as the Sabbath or Mission School, was a charitable.educational facility to educate children in the cannery camps on Point Cadet.  It was overseen by Belle Gordon (1862-1925) and Maggie Bowman Gordon Mass,(1834-1907), her mother and a native of NOLA.  The site for the school was provided by the Barataria Canning Company.  The facility alsotaught night classes in reading, writing and arithemetic twice each week.  In December 1903, the building needed a new roof, electric lights, and one volunteer to assist Miss Gordon.  Mrs. Mass died at 1128 East Bayview Avenue, her home, in July 1907.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, December 3, 1903, p. 6 and July 18, 1907, p. 1)
     
Henry Brasher (1867-1960) launched his new schooner, The New Design, at his North Biloxi shipyard in mid-December.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, December 16, 1903, p. 6)
 
 
1904
City Judge James H. Neville moved to Gulfport from Biloxi to become counsel for the Gulf & Ship Island Railroad.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 16, 1904, p. 8)
    
The Biloxi Electric Railway Company commenced operations on March 24th.  Three cars carried passengers to the Seashore Campground; Point Cadet; and Back Bay.  Another car soon to be placed in service would run from Point Cadet to the Seashore Campground.  2374 fares were sold for $119 and fifteen freight cars were hauled to and from the seafood factories for $5 each.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, March 25, 1904, p. 6)
     
Dr. Daniel Arthur Nash (1859-1904), a dentist and native of Livingston, Sumter County, Alabama, husband of Lizzie Carraway Nash Lowd (1869-1935), andMayor of Biloxi 1899-1900, wasinadvertently shot and expired in late March.(The Ocean Springs Progress, April 2, 1904, p. 4)
    
John Eistetter (1856-1904), Biloxi masonry contractor and NOLA native, expired on April 13th.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, April 14, 1914, p. 1)  
    
The Picayune Item was commenced on June 8th at Picayune, Mississippi by E.F. Tate.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, June 11, 1904, p.4)
      
On August 11th, an Italian steamship delivered to the Port of Gulfport the first imported cargo in a foreign vessel, 8300 tons of iron pyrite, for the Gulfport Fertilizer factory. Joseph T. Jones and about 2000 guest celebrated the event at the Great Southern Hotel with many dignitaries including Governor Vardaman andW.H. Hardy.(The Daily Picayune, August 19, 1904, p. 1)
      
The East End Hose Company No. 1 was organized on October 5, 1904 at Sterne’s Store 0n Point Cadet with 38 men participating.  W.T. Sterne was the primary motivator of the organization commencement and Peter C. Ott (1878-1940) was its first president.   Dues were 50 cents for 3 months.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, October 6, 1904, p. 5; October 8, 1905, p. 5; December 22, 1904, p. 1; and September 19, 1907, p. 4)
     
Shrimp from the Louisiana marsh were selling for $2.50 per barrel [200 pounds to the barrel].(The Biloxi Daily Herald, October 3, 1904, p. 1)
     
First shipment of oysters from Alabama waters [900 barrels] was sent to a cannery at Mississippi City.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, October 20, 1904, p. 1)
     
Mayor F.W. Elmer (1847-1926) contracted with J.E. Greene to build a home on Magnolia and Front Beach for between $3000 and $4000.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, October 20, 1904, p. 5)
      
Annie Howard Parrott (1864-1904), sister of Frank T. Howard (1855-1911) and Harry T. Howard (1856-1930), died at her home in London, England.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, October 21, 1904, p. 5 and The Biloxi Daily Herald, October 22, 1904, p. 8)
      
Martha Terry Tracy (18-1904), spouse of Professor Samuel M. Tracy (1847-1920) of North Biloxi died in late October.  She was a graduate of Elmira College in New York and was one of the first women to receive an A.M. degree.  Mrs. Tracy was a writer of note, and a frequent contributor to The Commercial Appeal (Memphis) composing articles concerning home life and domestic affairs. (The Biloxi Daily Herald, October 29, 1904, p. 5)
       
Mayor F.W. Elmer (1847-1926) was notified by the Department of Commerce and Labor that the Chandeleur Islands including Errol, North and New Harbor Islands were made bird sanctuaries.(The Daily Herald, November 17, 1904, p. 6)
     
The Biloxi Sanatarium of Dr. Hyman M. Folkes (1871-1926) was opened on November 24th.  The Laz Lopez medical and surgical clinic for the poor would be maintained here.(The Daily Herald, November 17, 1904, p. 5)
      
J.E. Selman's residence on Front Beach is nearing completion.  It is one of Mr. Greene's 'flowers'.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, December 3, 1904, p. 5)
      
Peter Eskald (1856-1944) is erecting a residence on Seal Avenue.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, December 6, 1904, p. 5)
     
The status of the Jewish Cemetery on Reynoir Street was discussed at the City Council meeting.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, December 7, 1904, p. 1)
      
John C. Bradford (1855-1928) was elected Mayor of Biloxi on December 13th, as he ran unopposed.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, December 14, 1904, p. 5)
      
Philip McCabe (1837-1905), native of New Orleans and first chief engineer of the Biloxi Volunteer Fire Company, expired in mid-December.  In their youth, Ed Glennan and Charles Redding both worked for Mr. McCabe at NOLA when he had a stove business on Camp Street.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, December 16, 1904, p. 5)
    
The $12,500 Chiapella Hotel on Reynoir Street was under construction.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 1904 and December 20, 1904, p. 1)
     
George E. Ohr (1857-1918) returned from the Louisiana Purchase Exposition and Centennial at St. Louis in late December.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, December 26, 1904, p. 5)
 
 
1905

The Biloxi public school system had white 867 pupils in it schools.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 14, 1905, p. 8)
      
A.O. Bourdon initiated the Biloxi Tarpon Club.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 17, 1905, p. 5)
      
Elizabeth Maycock Elmer (1850-1905). wife of F.W. Elmer (1847-1926) died on January 21st.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 21, 1905, p. 5)
      
E.C. Joullian (1864-1931) announced that he was going to operate a cannery on the Mississippi River near the mouth of the Lake Borgne Canal.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 31, 1905, p. 5)
      
Standard Construction Company of Chicago was awarded the contract to erect the Federal Building on Lameuse Street at Biloxi [City Hall in 2008].  The winning bid was $90,770.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, February 2, 1905, p. 6)
     
According to Isidore Heidenheim of the Barataria Canning Company, Biloxi in 1905, led the nation in the value of its oyster production with $1,340,942.  Maryland's value was $548,646 and that of Louisiana $507,373.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, February 20, 1907, p. 1)
     
The S.S. Vueltabasso sailed from Gulfport to Frontera, Mexico with passengers from Chicago.  Probably first ship to carry tourist from Gulfport to a foreign port.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, February 21, 1905, p. 5)
     
The title of Juan de Cuevas to Cat Island was confirmed.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, February 24, 1905, p. 6)
      
Gay & Ellarbee, [Daniel J. Gay (1870-1949) and Charles B. Elarbee (1870-1949)], let a contract to T.J. Rosell for four rental homes on Benachi Avenue with J.E. Hebert, architect.(The Biloxi Herald, March 1, 1905, p. 8)
     
The City of Biloxi gave the Biloxi Electric Railroad and Power Company led by W.K.M. Dukate the right to build a railway on Reynoir Street from the L&N RR to Howard Avenue and from Howard Avenue east to Main Street.  This privilege had been granted to E.C. Jouillian (1864-1931)  in August 1902.(Harrison Co., Ms. Land Deed Bk. 67, p. 247)
     
The Olivari Brothers planned to build a two-story structure on Howard Avenue near Lameuse Street where the St. Amant barbershop stands.(The Biloxi Herald, March 6, 1905, p. 6)
    
US Senator John H. Reagan (1905) of Texas and former CSA Postmaster General and the only cabinet member captured with Jefferson Davis died. at Palestine, Texas on March 6th.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, April 6, 1905, p. 3)
    
In late May 1905, many of Biloxi’s merchants cognizant of the coming summer heat and humidity agreed to close their establishments at 6:30 p.m. on weekdays in order to give their clerks a break.  Joseph E. Combel (1853-1938) with S. Joseph, Mary Arguelles, E.S. Balthrope, Charles Redding, Edward Glennan, E.M. McCrary, L. Lopez & Company, T.P. Dulion & Company, Wachenfeld & Company, Gorenflo, David Levy, L.M. Coleman, J.P. Hagan, Moseley & Devitt, Sam Picard, Maurice M. Levy, John R. Young, and Cahn & Singer were among those to make this pact.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, May 18, 1905, p. 5)
     
In June, the Biloxi Real Estate Company [I. Heidenheim, Charles Redding, Ed Glennan, L.R. Bowen, Louis E. Gill, and A.B. Austin] for $4500 acquired 124 acres of the large, J.H. Keller tract between the L&N RR and Back Bay east of the H.T. Howard parcel and west of J.H. Keller tract.  Here the Biloxi Real Estate Addition subdivision was platted.(Harrison Co., Ms. Land deed Bk. 67, p. 62 and Bk. 69, p. 88)
     
The Harrison County State Bank was founded in August by Daniel J. Gay; George W. Grayson; Louis A. Lundy; Charles B. Elarbee; R.M. Davis; Thomas H. Gleason; W.W. Sutcliffe; and David J. Venus.  Located on Lameuse Street in bank formerly occupied by the Bank of Biloxi.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, August 4, 1905, p. 4)
      
On August 16th, the Biloxi City Council adopted a stringent Yellow Fever quarantine against NOLA and the territory with a six miles radius of Mississippi.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, August 17, 1905, p. 4)
      
The Biloxi Electric Street Railway & Power Company was acquired by Joseph T. Jones and the the Gulfport and Mississippi Coast Traction Company for $1 million on September 15th.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Land Deed Bk. 70, p. 109)
     
The Back Bay Hose [Fire] Company was organized on November 11th in a shed on Back Bay owned by Nick Voivedich (1850-1937).  John B. Reynoir (1874-1931) was its first president.(The Daily Herald, September 20, 1915)
     
The residence of Dr. W.O. Talbot, local dentist, was nearing completion on the corner of Seal and Howard Avenue.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 16, 1905, p. 4)
      
W.F. Gorenflo sold a cottage on Seal Avenue to Mrs. Mollie McPike of Vandalia, Missouri for $2000.  In December Mr. Goreflo let a contract to Ed Wetzell to build an eight-room cottage on the adjoining lot.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 16, 1905, p. 4 and December 28, 1905, p. 1)
     
The T.J. Rosell Manufacturing Company was on a construction bonanza with over $40,000 in completed or contracts for houses and buildings at Biloxi.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 20, 1905, p. 1)
     
Benachi Avenue, from Howard Avenue to the beach, was ordered graded and shelled by Mayor John C. Bradford (1855-1928) and the aldermen of Biloxi.  This was good new to those living on that beautiful “Avenue of Oaks”.  When completed it created one of the most beautiful thoroughfares in the South or anywhere else.  Benachi Avenue was originally the path for ingress-egress from the Nicholas M. Benachi (1812-1886) beachfront home to Pass Christian Road (now Howard Avenue).(The Biloxi Daily Herald, December 6, 1905, p. 1)
     
Frederick W. Elmer (1883-1948) won a special election for Harrison County Beat 1 Supervisor defeating F.H. McCaleb and Raymond Quave.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, December 20, 1905, p. 4)
 
 
1906
 
The first Tung oil tree in Mississippi was planted by Aristede Hopkins in 1906 on Hopkins Boulevard.(The Daily Herald, July 28, 1933, p. 1)    
     
The West End Hose Company met on January 3rd in their new fire house.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 4, 1906, p. 1)
     
Evon M. Barber (1858-1920+), State Representative from Harrison County and attorney for the Oystermen's Association, introduced a bill in the House to amend the Bower's Bill of 1900.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 5, 1906, p. 4)
     
Eaton J. Bowers (1865-1939), Mississippi Congressional Representative, introduced a bill on January 4th to appropriate $50,000 to dredge a ship channel to be 26 feet deep and 300 feet wide from Ship Island to Gulfport.  A separate bill was proposed by Bowers to survey a ship channel from Ship Island to Biloxi.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 5, 1906, p. 4)
     
The East End Hose Company let a contract to Hubbell & Sheldon to build the shell of a meeting hall and engine house for $700.  The facility would be completed after more funds were raised.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 8, 1906, p. 4)
     
In early January 1906, seven, large, stain glass windows arrived at Biloxi from Germany to tbe placed in the sanctuary of the Nativity B.V.M. Catholic Church.  Julia Dulion Lopez (1857-1918) had donated these windows described as 'equal to anything in the South' in memory of Lazaro Lopez, (1850-1903), her late husband.  Frederick Thornley of New York was employed to install the windows designed and built by Reis and Reis of Munich, Germany.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 6, 1906, p. 4 and  January 9, 1906, p. 1)
   
Ann Hyde Grayson (1832-1906), widow of Thomas W. Grayson (1825-1904), former Mayor of Ocean Springs, died at Biloxi on January 7th.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 8, 1906, p. 4)
    
On March 1st, J.C. Tyler (1872-1913+) replaced John F. Williams (1847-1906) as Postmaster at Biloxi.  Mr. Tyler came to Biloxi in 1903 from Columbia, Mississippi as US Deputy Marshall.(The Daily Herald, September 1, 1913, p. 1)
     
Chief Justice Melville W. Fuller (1833-1910) of the U.S. Supreme Court on March 5th ruled in favor of Louisiana on the water boundary dispute between Louisiana and Mississippi.  Case called Louisiana v. Mississippi US 58 (1906).(The Biloxi Daily Herald, March 6, 1906, p. 1)
      
On May 11th, President Theodore Roosevelt (1858-1919) granted to the City of Biloxi the Naval Reserve Park on Back Bay, which consisted of 377.21 acres for a public park and cemetery.
(The Biloxi News, March 21, 1926, p. 11) 

 

Charles F. Greiner of Scranton was here yesterday making final preparations for opening up a roller skating rink in this city.  The old DeJean & Mitchell store on the beach has been purchased by Greiner & Co., and work will begin at once on enlarging it an placing in a skating floor.  These parties will spare no efforts or money to make the rink an attractive and up-to date place.(The Pascagoula Chronicle, May 4, 1906) 

 

In September 1906, Laz Lopez, Arnaud Lopez, John J. Kennedy, Jess Diaz, Rudolph Abbley, M. Hunt and  B. Voivedich were arrested for playing baseball in Biloxi on Sunday.  They were fined $2.50 each in the Circuit Court of Harrison County, Mississippi in September 1906.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, September 12, 1906, p. 1 and Harrison Co., Mississippi Circuit Court Miniute Bk. 8, p. 63)

 
A Category IV hurricane hit Pascagoula, Mississippi on September 26th.(Charles L. Sullivan, 2009, p. 163.
     
 
Varina Howell Davis (1826-1906), widow of Jefferson Davis,died at NYC on October 26, 1906.
     
 
Biloxi reduced its water rents to citizens from $7.50 per year to $6.50 per year.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 28, 1906, p. 1)
 
 
1907
 
The intermittent beach road between Biloxi to Pass Christian was surveyed in three motorcars by public officials to ascertain the viability of shelling and completing a continous thoroughfare between the two towns.(The Daily Herald, January 25, 1907, p. 1)
       
 
Theodore Paul Dulion (1861-1907), Biloxi merchant and yachting enthusiasts, expired on February 20th.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, February 20, 1907, p. 1)
       
 
Andrew Joseph Meynier (1856-1907), former steamboat captain at St. Martinville, Louisiana and Biloxi Marshal expired on April 12th.  Clara Meynier (1879-1907), his spouse, died at Biloxi in June 1907.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, April 12, 1907, p. 1 and June 14, 1907, p. 1)
     
 
The rates for The Biloxi Daily Herald were $.10 per week; $.45 per month; out-of town Wednesday and Saturday editions $1.50 per year or $.90 for six months.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, April 24, 1907, p. 1)
     
 
The Beauvoir Soldier's Home Hospital opened in late March.  The twenty-four patient bed infirmary was built for $7500 on the west end of the property.  Dr. Hyman M. Folkes (1871-1926) was the house surgeon and nurses were Mrs. M.C. Ansley and Annie Anderson.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, April 24, 1907, p. 1)
      
 
Jackson Herndon Owings (1869-1921), Biloxi Public School superintendent for the past ten years [1897] resigned in May 1907.  He informed the Board of School Trustees that he would not be an applicant for election for the 1907-1908 school session.  Professor Owings would leave Biloxi for Natchez, Adams Couty, Mississippi where he was the Public School superintendent until 1920, when he became the Adams County Superintendent of Education.  J.H. Owings expired at Natchez, Mississippi on March 22, 1921.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, June 3, 1907, p. 1 and The Daily Herald, March 24, 1921, p. 3)
 
 
Captain John C. Walker (1834-1907), steamboat man, Confederate Naval veteran, former Mayor of Biloxi, and Lameuse Street merchant, killed himselfand Mary P. Lowery Walker (1854-1907), his wife, on June 8th.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, June 8, 1907, p. 1)
      
 
Captain Fred Eaton left Biloxi in late June aboard Tom, a large power boat, to open a new canning factory for Lopez and Dukate at Morgan City, Louisiana.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, June 29, 1907, p. 5)
     
 
Henry Krohn, overseer, commenced work on a new road from the Tchoutacabouffa River south to the Back Bay Bridge in September.  It became known as the Lamey's Bridge Road.(The Daily Herald, September 22, 1907 and September 22, 1947, p. 1)
    
 
A violent storm in late September hit the Louisiana marsh with winds from the northeast of up to 80 mph and inflicted damage on some of the Biloxi fishing fleet operating here.  The Dauntless owned by Louis Gorenflo and captained by James Ryan went aground in the marshland with the Dorenza of Henry Diaz and under the commande of James Lamey and the William Coates owned and sailed by Tony Rosetti.  Boats either cutting or losing masts were the Elbert D of Lopez & Dukate and Jolly Traveller owned by Willie Bullock and under contract to the Barataria Canning Company.  Barataria's other boats in the marsh, Henry M., Nels Johnson, and Indian Girl, were slighly damaged.  Lopez & Dukate had its Wilda L. run aground on Martin Island while their Ola D. and Noreta L. were relatively unscathed by the tempest.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, September 30, 1907, p. 1)
    
 
The Daily Herald Band made its first appearance on September 26th when it marched  from the Herald office to the Jewel Theatorium on Howard Avenue and Lameuse Street where they played. 
Joseph Dowling was the director with the following musicians: Tom Suter, cornet; Charles Wilkes, cornet; Louis Braun, tenor; Frank Mallerich, tenor; Walter Hunt, snare drum; Oscar Borries, base drum; Charles Blomberg, cornet; Eugene Wilkes, baritone; C.W. Upp, slide trombone; Walter G. Wilkes, tuba; Charles Jones, slide trombone; Jacob Tremmel, alto; Bert Kern, alto; and Joe Dowling, cornet.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, September 27, 1907, p. 2)
 
 
In October 1907, Miss Minnie Boykin, Christian Missionary from Ellisville, Mississippi, was working with the poor people of Biloxi under the aegis of the Women's Home Missionary of the Methodist Conference.  She established a clinic on Oak Street near Howard Avenue and a Sunday School at 1015 Anglado Alley near the Biloxi  Canning Company on Back Bay.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, September 28, 1907, p. 1 and February 13, 1908, p .1)
 
Harrison County Board of Supervisor announced that Morris' Ferry across the Tchoutacabouffa River at Cedar Lake would be replace by a bridge.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 13, 1907, p. 1)
 
 
1908
 
The Biloxi City Council passed a raw milk inspection ordinance.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 10, 1908, p. 1)
 

 

The Biloxi Charity Hospital, Biloxi's first public hospital, was founded February 28, 1908 in a cottage at 1212 East Howard Avenue.  It was rented and temporarily converted into Biloxi’s first public hospital.  Officers of the organization were: Mrs. C.F. Carroll, president; Miss Rena Picard, vice-pres.; Mrs. E.C. Tonsmeire, recording secretary; Charles W. Wachenfeld, treasurer; and Dr. H.M. Folkes, officer in general.  Board of Directors: Julia Dulion Lopez, chairman; Mrs. Lyman Bradford; Mrs. P. Yurgensen; Miss Florence Crofton; Miss Ada Swan; C.W. Wachenfeld. W.O. Talbot; Elbert L. Dukate; and D.L. Mitchel.  Charter members: Julia Dulion Lopez; H.M. Folkes; E.C. Tonsmeire; Henry Eikel; G.F. Carroll; W.O. Talbot; W.S. McIntyre; P. Yurgensen; Joseph Ott; A. Yancey; R.L. Hoover; Lyman Bradford; J.E. Greene; E.J. Mitchel; A.E. Smith; Joe Cousins; Amelia Cousins; L.S. Jackson; E. Barry; O.G. Swetman; T. Hoxie; E.T. Iler; Maloney; and Youngblood; Miss Ada Swan; Miss Ada Wallace; Miss Belle Gordon; Miss Josephine Folkes; Miss Anna Folkes; Elsie Maxwell; Miss Alma McKinley; Miss Minnie Boykin; E. Jordan; Miss Inez Hall; Reverend M.L. Burton; Reverend J.W. Dawson; H.M. Folkes; C.W. Wachenfeld; G.F. Carroll; W.F. Swan; Edward Glennan; J.C. Clower; O.G. Swetman; Lopez & Dukate; W.J. Grant; Joseph Rusk; D.L. Mitchel; E.C. Tonsmeire; W.O. Talbot; Elbert L. Dukate; John J. Kennedy; Edward C. Joullian; D.A. Baltar; Henry Eikel Jr.; Brantley A. Bond; Victor Simonich; L. Gill; Mr. and Mrs. Julius M. Lopez;  Mr. and Mrs. Edward Brady; E.C. Emanuel; George Swan; W.W. Baltar; J.A. D’Aquin; J.B. Chinn; Federal Café; J.W. Swetman; E.W. McCrary; T.P. McCrary; B.E. Pfeiffer; J.B. Combel; Corso Brothers & Company; J.G. Cohoe; and D’Aquin & Prieur.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, February 28, 1908, p. 1 and October 25, 1919, p. 8)

 

 
    Blanche Picard (1887-1930+), first Mardi Gras Queen
 
 
Blanche Picard (1887-1930+), daughter of Bernard Picard (1853-1896) and Sarah Meyer (1859-1927) and John Carraway (1873-1931), King Bienville, ruled the first Mardi Gras celebration in Biloxi on March 4th.  The parade consisted of seventeen floats led by Louis Staehling (1866-1938), police chief, and went from City Hall down Howard Avenue to Reynoir Street(The Daily Herald, February 29, 1908, p. 1, March 4, 1908, p. 1, and February 17, 1931, p. 1)
 
Mary McNeil Hopkins, spouse of Aristide Hopkins, died at Biloxi on March 13, 1908.(The Daily Herald, March 13, 1908, p. 1)
 
In March the Mississippi Legislature passed House Bill N. 286-1908 that allowed municipalities to create a Commission form of government.(The Daily Herald, March 26, 1908, p. 1)
       
OurLady of Good Counsel Catholic Church on Cedar Street at Point Cadet was dedicated on March 29th.  More than 1000 people particpated in the ceremony conducted by Father Alphonse Ketels who lauded Frederick Henry McCaleb (1846-1909) who donated the land for the church.(The Daily Herald, March 30, 1908, p. )
     
Fishermen were getting $3.50 for a barrel of shrimp.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, March 31, 1908, p. 1)
     
On April 1st, Postmaster J.C. Tyler (1872-1913+) moved the US Post Office from the Dukate Theatre Building on Howard Avenue to the first floor of the incomplete Federal Building situated on Lameuse Street.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, March 31, 1908, p. 1 and The Daily Herald, September 1, 1913, p. 1)
      
Lt. General CSA Alexander P. Stewart (1821-1908) expired on August 30th at the Santini Cottage situated  at 854 West Beach in Biloxi, Mississippi.  His corporal remains were sent to St. Louis, Missouri for internment in the Bellefontaine Cemetery.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, August 31, 1908, p. 1 and The Times Picayune, August 31, 1908, p. 1)
 
 
 
John Henry Keller (1830-1908), native of Zurich, Switzerland and soap merchant and large land owner at Biloxi expired at NOLA on November 5, 1908.  Mr. Keller was a philanthropist and an integral part of the Methodist  Seashore Campground.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 6, 1908, p. 2 and The Daily Picayune, November 6, 1908, p. 3)
      
Harrison County Chancery Court ordered the Dunbars, Lopez, and Dukate Company to pay $10,000 fine and dissolve limited partnership because of anti-trust violations.(The Daily Herald, May 7, 1912, p. 1, November 7, 1912, p. 1, and p. 8)
      
The Black community held a rally to protest poor conditions at the Colored School on Main Street.  There complaints were: over crowding; no playground; and poor sanitation.  Principal A.E. Perkins..(The Daily Herald, November 23, 1908, p. 1)
      
In mid December, John Alphonse Bousquet (1846-1908), former Mayor of Biloxi, politican and merchant, expired at the home of Edgar C. Bousquet (b. 1875), his son, at NOLA.  His corporal remains were sent to Biloxi for internment.
 
 
1909      
Presbyterian Reverend William Megginson coming from Enda, Texas was in the pulpit on the first Sunday of April.(The Daily Herald, March 20, 1909, p. 8)
      
The Airdome, an outdoor theater managed by Fred Abbley (1882-1941) and situated on Howard Avenue and Fayard Street on the Lopez property, opened on April 19th.  The venue could seat over 1200 people.  The Daily Herald Band was present for the celebration.(The Daily Herald, April 13, 1909 and April 20, 1909, p. 2)
     
'Beach Home',  a boarding house on West Beach, was leased to Henry Handley by Miss Knoblin.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, April 24, 1909, p. 8)
     
The oyster season was a dismal failure at New Orleans.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, April 24, 1909, p. 8)
       
A. 'Toy' Catchot acquired the Central Market Stand on Lameuse and Howard.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, April 24, 1909, p. 8)      
        
Dr. T.B. Harrison, formerly of Charleston, Mississippi opened 'The Harrison Sanitarium' for the treatment of alcoholism, drug abuse, cigarette and tobacco habits.  The facility was situated at East Beach and Kuhn Street.  The Herald Printery printed a twelve page booklet describing Dr. Harrison's clinic.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, May 8, 1909, p. 8)
      
The graduating Class of 1909 Biloxi High School was: Minnie Briggs; Ruby Barbara Dacey; Bert Oran Gunn; Alys Claire Hattlestad; Florence Picard; Mary Alma Ritch (1890-1964); and Charles Aurelius Roper.  Valedictorian-Florence Picard and Minnie Briggs, Salutatorian.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, June 9, 1909, p. 1)
      
On June 25th, the voters of Biloxi rejected the Commission form of government 299 votes to 119 votes.(The Daily Herald, May 30, 1910, p. 1)
      
In late July, Elizabeth Herbst Maloney (1849-1909), spouse of Dr. James H. Maloney (1842-1909+) died at her home at 1018 West Beach.(The Daily Herald, July 26, 1909, p. 2)
     
In late August, a 1500 burial plot cemetery for the Naval Reserve Park was planned by the City.  A bid of $825 for the timber to be cut from the proposed cemetery tract was awarded to H.E. Latimer & Son.  A plat for the cemetery was made by Fred Voak.(The Daily Herald, August 27, 1913, p. 8)
     
The Amateur Tennis Club was founded in September by W.O. Clark, pres.; Dr. Grace Bullas, v.p.; Miss Lucy Greaves, sec.; and W.G. Grayson, treas.  The tennis courts were situated on Howard Avenue near Seal.(The Daily Herald, October 1, 1909, p. 4)
 
Category IV Hurricane struck Grand Isle, Louisiana on Septemebr 20th and did serious damage to the Mississippi Gulf Coast.  No piers remained at Biloxi on East Beach from Main Street to Point Cadet and boats and piers were piled high(Charles L. Sullivan, 2009, p. 163 and The Daily Herald, September 21, 1909, p. 1 and September 24, 1909, p. 1)
 
The September 1909 Hurricane destroyed seven schooners and three men drowned at Bay St. Louis when the watercraft were driven by strong winds and trapped against the L&N RR Bridge and smashed.  Reported lost were: Clementine running for U. Desporte with Charles Lanston at the helm and Adam Kosczky drowned; running for Lopez & Dukate; J.J. Cowart owned by Bernard Taltavull lost with two negro crewmen; Faultless owned by Mrs. Dulion; Margaret Kennedy owned by Kennedy & Kennedy with Captain J. Christ and working for Desporte; Sidonis, L.D. Byrd owner, and sailed by Cook Seymour;Fannie ?, V. Simonich, owner, running for Desporte, and the Champion working for Charles Torch proprietor of the Peerless Seafood factory at Bay St. Louis which was severely damaged.(The Daily Herald, September 24, 1909, p. 3)
      
August Dorries, (1841-1909), native of Prussia. 1855 immigrant, and former merchant, hotelier, and saloon operator on Decatur Street in NOLA, died on October 21st in his residence at 879 East Beach.  In  his retirement, Louise Johnson Dorries (1873-1953), his spouse, ran the Dorries Cottage at 853 East Beach.(The Daily Biloxi Daily Herald, October 22, 1909. p. 5)
      
In November 1909, the City of Biloxi began acquiring a seventy-five foot strip for a street and bulkhead purposes from the landowners between the Biloxi Lighthouse and the town to the east area.  The name of the throughway was to be West Beach Street or Front Street.(Harrison Co., Ms. Land Deed Bk. 40, p. 205)
       
Four hundred skiff oyster permits were sold in 1909.(The Daily Herald, December 10, 1909, p. 1)
 
Dr. Walter J. Greaves and the Christian Science Society commenced the first sidewalks on West Howard Avenue in front of their properties.  The Richardson Cement Company laid the 153 feet of walkway.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, December 15, 1909, p. 8)
 
Joseph Husley, charcoal burner and dealer sold 1700 barrels of charcoal in NOLA to the schooner barge Elba for 22 cents a barrel.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, Decemebr 15, 1909, p. 8)
 
 
1910
In February, theBack Bay Fishermen's Association was charted by Raymond Fournier; Philip Trochessett; Leonard Fountain; Henry Cannette; and Joseph Cannette.  This North Biloxi association provided memebers with weekjly sick benefits and provided $20 towards the funeral of a deceased member.(The Daily Herald, February 14, 1910, p. 8)   
      
 
In late May, the voters of Biloxi rejected the Commission form of government 315 to 225 votes.(The Daily Herald, May 30, 1910, p. 1)
       
 
The Biloxi Yacht Club became a member of the American Power Boat Association.  Power boats were raced for the first time on July 13th, 1910 at the BYC Regatta.(The Daily Herald, May 30, 1910, p. 6) 
       
In mid-June 1910, Henry R. Gogreve (1853-1910), vice-president of the Barataria Canning Company expired at New Orleans.  Isidore Heidenheim (1852-1918) left Biloxi to attend his funeral which was held in the Crescent City, on June 18, 1910.(The Daily Herald, June 17, 1910, p. 8)
        
 
Daniel Judson Gay (1869-1949) built the Gay Building on the southeast corner of Lameuse and Howard Avenue in 1910.  The Jett Brothers of Mobile made the lowest construction bid of $18,274.  The Harrison County Bank occupied the ground floor. The Peoples Bank acquired the Gay Building and occupied it in 1924.(The Daily Herald, August 2, 1910, p. 4)
    
 
The Wesley House, a mission of the Methodist Episcopal Church South on Point Cadet, was established in 1909 when a lease was made with the Bailey Estate for the use of its home on the corner of Cedar Street and Beach Road.  In October 1910, the Reverend W.T. Griffin opened the doors.(The Daily Herald, April 1, 1914, p. 1)
 
 
      
Liberty-Brush Car
      
In early October 1910, Paul Treloar (1887-1950) drove Joe Venus (1883-1948), RFD Route No. 2 mail carrier, on his route.  They traveled in a Liberty-Brush car.  The mail service was deemed so successful that the post office planned to buy the vehicle and use in permanently.(The Daily Herald, October 11, 1910, p. 8)

 

Robert M. Mosley (1865-1910), Chief Oyster Inspector and former City Marshal, expired at Biloxi on November 21, 1910.(The Daily Herald, December 1, 1910, p. 1)

 

The Lutheran community of Biloxi met in the Presbyterian Church and were led by Martin Haas, president, F. Greve, treasurer, and Miss Gertrude Ott, secretary.  They were planning to erect a $3000 church building an acquire a lot.  The Reverend George Schlisser of Pascagoula was to be the pastor of the Biloxi Lutheran Church.(The Daily Herald, December 28, 1910, p. 1)

 

The Biloxi girl's basketball team [not high school] consisted of: Ruby Picard and Noreta Lopez-forwards; Flossie Picard and Irma Dukate-guards; Anna Bass-center; Katie Eikel and Nina Moran-side centers.  They played at the Firemen's Hall and admission was 15 cents.(The Daily Herald, December 28, 1910, p. 8)

 
 
1911
The Biloxi Automobile Company opened in the spring of 1911 under the management of Henry A. Janin (18-1951). Albert B. Austin (1876-1951) may have been an original investor. The company was a sub-agency of the Ford Motor Company for Harrison County and a portion of Jackson County.  Biloxi Automotive Company was located on Lameuse Street near the USPO.  Daniel J. Gay (1869-1949), Biloxi entrepreneur, acquired a Hudson 37 from H.A. Janin in November 1912.(The Daily Herald, March 31, 1911, p. 8 and November 11, 1912, p. 8 and June 2, 1935, p. 2)
    
 
On May 11th, the City of Biloxi for the rent of $1 dollar per annum took a ten-year lease from the L&N Railroad for a City Park.  The new park had 164 feet on Fayard Street and 188 feet on Reynoir Street and was south of the L&N Depot.[Harrison Co., Mississippi Land Deed Bk. 97, p. 377]
 
R. Hart Chinn (1888-1972), who would become Mayor of Biloxi in the 1930s and 1950s, and Leo E. Ohr (1890-1970), Biloxi’s master mechanic, were caught speeding on Ohr’s motorcycle and charged with a violating the bicycle law.  They appeared at the City court and were discharged by the judge because the City had no ordinances applicable to motorcycles.(The Daily Herald, June 12, 1911, p. 8)  
 
 
Socialist candidate, Sumner W. Rose (1858-1947) of Biloxi, was nominated by his party as a candidate for the Governor of Mississippi.(The Daily Herald, June 17, 1911, p. 8)     
       
 
Last night, Joseph W. Swetman, Oscar Johnson, and 'Boy' Bennett visited Ship Island in quest of turtle eggs and returned this morning with a monster turtle weighing between 450 and 500 pounds and 1050 eggs.  This find of eggs is the largest that has ever been brought to Biloxi.  The turtle, which is of the green variety and the choicest of its kind, will be butchered tonight and distributed among the friends of the gentleman named above.(The Daily Herald, July 1, 1911, p. 8)
     
 
Ernest Leigh Doyle (1866-1911), native of Virginia and stockholder and manager of the People’s Telephone Company, Biloxi’s first telephone exchange, expired at Richmond, Virginia on August 11, 1911.  Mr. Doyle came to Biloxi with the Postal Telegraph Company in 1893 and in 1897 organized the People’s Telephone Company at Biloxi.  He had married Miss Cecile M. Swetman (1875-1968) of Handsboro, Mississippi.
 
 
In September, Grove No. 2 United Ancient Order of Druids was founded at Biloxi with Dan Gorenflo, Archdruid; W. Lee Guice, vice-Archdruid; Dr. W.R. Card, financial Secretary; Albert B. Austin, treasurer; and Vester Wetzell, coord.(The Daily Herald, September 11, 1911, p. 1)
     
 
Rear Admiral Winfield Scott Schley (1839-1911) died at NYC on October 2nd.  The Schley pecan was named for him.(The Daily Herald, October 3, 1911, p. 1) 
    
 
In the fall, Dr. Hyman M. Folkes, his spouse, and Norita Lopez, sister-in-law, visited Costa Rica and the Panama Canal, which was under construction.(The Daily Herald, October 12, 1911, p. 1)

 

On May 11, 1911, Frank T. Howard bequeathed $5000 to the public schools of Biloxi for repairs and general improvements.(Harrison Co., Mississippi, Chancery Court Will Bk. 3, p. 309)

 
Frank Turner Howard (1855-1911), native of New York, banker and broker, and NOLA and Biloxi philanthropist, died on October 24, 1911 at NYC.(The Daily Picayune, October 25, 1911, p. 1)
    
 
A fire in the Bless Tucei building on West Howard near Dukate's Theatre damaged the Elk's Club, which was situated on the second floor.(The Daily Herald, November 2, 1911, p. 1)  
    
 
John E. Morrison (1838-1911), native of NOLA, and former Harrison Co. Beat 1 Supervisor, expired on December 26th at his home on 131 Morison Avenue.(The Daily Herald,December 26, 1911, p. 8) 
 
 
 
1912
 
James Chester Elmer (1883-1920) assumed the office of Sheriff of Harrison County in January.(The Daily Herald, December 12, 1911)
      
 
 
The Harrison County Board of Supervisors ordered that a bridge be built built over the Biloxi River at the Lorraine Ferry.(The Daily Herald, February 9, 1912, p. 1)
      
 
In February, the first Mardi Gras celebration since 1908 was held in Biloxi.  Jules A. D’Aquin (1877-1936) was King Argius I and Ellen J. Joullian [m. Byron P. Lyons] reined as Queen Ixolib I.(The Daily Herald, February 21, 1912, p. 1)
      
 
Harvey Jackson Perkins (1829-1912), Biloxi winter photographer, who lived at Waupaca, Wisconsin, died at Biloxi in late February.(The Daily Herald, February 26, 1912, p. 1)
     
 
The voters of northern Harrison County, Forrest, Perry, and George Counties went to the polls on March 19th to decide whether to create Stone County, Mississippi from portions of their lands.(The Daily Herald, March 19, 1912, p. 1 and March 20, 1912, p. 1)
     
 
Andrew J. Bourdon (1873-1912) native of New Orleans, electrician and retail ice merchant, expired on April 10th.(The Daily Herald, April 10, 1912, p. 1)
     
 
The graduating Class of 1912 Biloxi High School was: Lily Bowen; Ruth Campbell; Gardiner Champlin; Clarence Campbell; Ione Dulion; Caroine Gilbert; Jessie Gunn; Maude Joullian; Alecia Staed; John Toler; and Stella Walker.(The Daily Herald, May 28, 1912, p. 4)
     
 
A petition was circulated at Biloxi requesting that the Mayor and Board of Aldermen give the citizens of Biloxi the right to vote for a commission form of government.(The Daily Herald, May 28, 1912, p. 1)
     
 
The Louisiana Supreme Court ruled that Louisiana Act 189 of 1910, a law which made it a misdemeanor to transport oysters from Louisiana for canning purposes, was declared unconstitutional.  The case was State of Louisiana v. L.J. Ferrandou.(The Daily Herald, June 5, 1912, p. 1.)
     
 
James Buchanan 'Buck' Chinn (1857-1912), expired on June 6th.  He was  in the feed and drayage business and was a founder of the Biloxi Milling Company.  Mr. Chinn was the father of Roy Chinn, Mayor R. Hart Chinn (1888-1972), Gill Chinn, and Mary Chinn.(The Daily Herald, June 6, 1912, p. 1)
     
 
The T.H. Kimbrough home on East Beach near Lee Street was sold to Colonel T.H. Warren in June.(The Daily Herald, June 7, 1912, p. 1)
      
 
W.T. Nolan, NOLA architect, who designed the new Biloxi High School on East Howard Avenue, was in Biloxi with S.E. Dupree, building contractor, to conduct soil tests for the foundation of the structure.(The Daily Herald, July 5, 1912, p. 8)
      
 
The Gulf Coast Military Academy was chartered in August by James Chappell Hardy (1875-1924), Leonard D. Hardy, and John N. Pigg (1883-1960) of Columbia, Tennessee and Robert B. McGehee (1884-1939) of Gulfport, Mississippi.(The Daily Herald, August 9, 1912, p. 6 and August 26, 1912, p. 3)
      
 
On September 18th, Sister Mary Aloysius Cook, president of the Sisters of Mercy St. Alphonsus Council of NOLA conveyed for $2500 two lots, one north and one south of their Convent, and situated on the west side of Reynoir Street and south of West Howard Avenue to the Catholic Diocese of Natchez.(The Daily Herald, September 27, 1912, p. 1 and Harrison Co., Mississippi Land Deed Bk. 102, p. 123)
 
 
Engineers with the Cumberland Telephone & Telegraph Company took measurements for the laying of a marine telephone cable across the Back Bay of Biloxi to have the capacity to serve the area for the next 5-10 years.(The Daily Herald, October 15, 1912, p. 8)
 
 
The Petrous Manufacturing Company was founded in 1912, to manufacture turpentine cups.  The facility was located in Biloxi, Mississippi on Lee Street near the L&N Railroad.(The Daily Herald, October 16, 1912, p. 8) 
 
 
1913
 
The Biloxi Emancipation Association, Adam Jackson, president and M.L. Webb, secretary, celebrated the 50th Anniversary of Emancipation on New Year's Night.(The Daily Herald, January 9, 1913, p. 8)
      
 
William A. Gordon (1858-1913), owner of the Biloxi Canning Company, died at New Orleans on January 9th.(The Daily Herald, January 10, 1913, p. 1)
      
 
The new Elks Club building on Lameuse Street was dedicated on the 13th.
      
 
Patrick Kennedy (1843-1913), Irish immigrant and father of John J. Kennedy (1875-1949) and William P. Kennedy (d. December 26, 1951), expired on March 10th.(The Daily Herald, March 10,1913, p.1)
 

Mattie Forrest White (1876-1913), Principal of the Central School, died on May 7th.  Her corporal remains were sent to Clinton, East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana for internment in the Rosehill Cemetery.  Miss White lived at the Kennedy Hotel. She became ill and was taken to the Biloxi Sanatarium and expired there.(The Daily Herald, May 7, 1913, p. 1)    

 
Isidore Heidenheim resigned as manager of the Barataria Canning Company in September 1912.  With Henry E. Gumbel (1869-1950?) of New Orleans as president, Edward Glennan (1854-1933), vice president, and Louis Goldman (1882-1925), attorney, both of Biloxi, he founded the Sea Food Company of Biloxi in May 1913.  Heidenheim served as manger and secretary of the new cannery which was located on the Point.(The Daily Herald, September 19, 1912, p. 1 and May 26, 1913, p. 1)
     
 
The Hahn Building, a two-story, brick structure [44 feet by 72 feet] of local shoe merchant, Louis Hahn [1876-1937], was completed by contractor-achitect O.E. Thompson and G.A. Harkness, foreman, in early June.  The Hahn Building was located on the NW/C of West Howard Avenue and Magnolia Street.  The old Hahn frame building was moved to the rear of the lot by Adam Schaad [1849-1931] and was planned to be used as a tenement.  Mr. Hahn's Parlor Shoe Store and Miss Mattye Myhand's [1892-1937]millinery shop occiupied the first floor while the Cumberland Telephone Company was situated on the second floor.  They took a ten year lease and  planned to install a new flashlight exchange.  After Thanksgiving, Maud Parish, traveling instructor for Cumberland Telephone, was in Biloxi giving instructions to operators of the Biloxi exchange in the flashlight system soon to be installed here.(The Daily Herald, January 13, 1913, p. 1, April 10, 1913, p. 8, June 6, 1913, p. 1 and p. 8, and November 29, 1913, p. 8)
 
 
In early September 1913, Helen G. Yerger replaced Mattie Forrest White (1876-1913) as principal of the Biloxi Central School.  Mrs. Yerger was educated in the public schools of Nashville, Tennessee and at the Peabody Normal College.  She had completed advanced studies at the University of Chicago.  Mrs. Yerger intially stayed with Emma Hyatt Bragg (1868-1968) at 545 East Howard Avenue.(The Daily Herald, September 8, 1913, p.1)

 

Daniel Judson Gay (1870-1949) built the Gay Building on the southeast corner of Lameuse Street and Howard Avenue in 1913-1914.  O.E. Thompson of Biloxi was the general contractor for the $20,000, two-story, brick edifice and laid its foundation on November 11, 1913.  When completed in March-April 1914, the Harrison County Bank and Picard & Gillen occupied the ground floor.  The Sky Dome, an open air theatre, was demolished from the site in October 1913 to erect the structure.(The Daily Herald, October 28, 1913, p. 1, November 11, 1913, p. 4, December 18, 1913, and April 9, 1914, p. 2)  

 
In July 1913, the Harrison County Board of Supervisors let a $6300 contract to the Austin Brothers of Atlanta, Georgia to erect a structure across the Tchoutacabouffa River to replace the Lamey Ferry.  In November 1913, board member, F.W. Elmer Sr., was appointed to oversee construction of the bridge.(HARCO, Ms. Board of Supervisors Minute Bk. 10, p. 274 and p. 391)
 
R. Hart Chinn and Gill Chinn opened a new auto garage in Biloxi.  They were agents for several high standard cars and sold supplies and accessories for automobiles.(The Daily Herald, September 29, 1913, p. 8)
 
 
 
'DIXIE WHITE HOUSE'
[President T. Woodrow Wilson and family vacationed at Pass Christian, Mississippi over Christmas and New Years of 1913-1914 in this home owned by Marie Louise Ayer of Chicago.  It was leased to Mary Alice Herndon (1863-1923) at the time of the President's holiday.]     
      
 
The Austrian Benevolent Association was founded in late December by: Ivan [John] Budinich (1876-1951); Ivan Gabrich; Ivan Letich; Blas Mijan; Marko Mulat; Tony Rosetti (1870-1935); Victor Simonich (1862-1916); Nikola Skeremetti (sic) (1855-1918); Jake Stanovich (1891-1927); and Philip Williams.  Jake Stanovich (1891-1927) was the first president of this social group which was organized to assist those of Slavic descent.  Sick benefits of $10 per week and assistance with funeral expenses of $150 was available to members.(The Daily Herald, December 18, 1913, p. 7 and December 30, 1913, p. 2) 
    
 
President T. Woodrow Wilson (1856-1924) and family arrived by rail at Pass Christian on Christmas Day to spend 19 days at the Herndon Cottage, then owned by Marie Louise Ayer (1855-1921+) of Chicago and leased to Mary Alice Herndon (1863-1923).  President Wilson and Dr. Carey T. Grayson (1878-1938) USN, his medical attendant, played many rounds of golf at the Mississippi Coast Country Club in Mississippi City, now Great Southern Golf Club, at Gulfport.
      
 
The Biloxi public schools were invited to send their art made under the supervision of Miss Ethel Dismukes (1870-1952) to Leipzig, Germany in May 1914.  Two years prior the students had an exhibit at Dresden, Germany, which Miss Dismukes attended.(The Daily Herald, December 29, 1913, p.3)
 
 
1914
The road from Popp's Ferry to Pass Christian Road was shelled.  H.E. Latimer was the contractor for this important and well utilized artery.(The Daily Herald, January 14, 1914, p. 2)
     
 
At its April 1914 meeting, the Harrison County Board of Supervisors accepted the completed work and paid the Austin Brothers for the Tchoutacabouffa River bridge.  Philip Lamey was appointed bridge keeper for one year and paid $30 per month for his services.(HARCO, Ms. Board of Supervisors Minute Bk. 11, p. 6 and p. 10) 
      
 
The stage and dressing rooms of the Airdome theater on Reynoir Street between Howard Avenue and the L&N Depot caught fire and burned.(The Daily Herald, May 5, 1914, p. 1)
   
 
In June, H.E. Latimer & Son, contractor, with a crew of eight men and mule teams were building 'Glennan Avenue' from Pass Christian Road north to the proposed cemetery in Naval Reserve Park.(The Daily Herald, June 2, 1914)
     
 
Police Chief Staehling issued instructions to his patrolmen, R.M. Randolpn, Zudie Hightower, nee Julius Sablich, and Nat Bolton, to arrest proprietors of liquor joints and bootleggers.  Public and private houses were also banned of alcohol. Staehling said, "there will be no favoritiism played."  ? Hunt was arrested on Main Street with more than 300 quarts of beer and some whiskey. He was fined $50 by Police Judge Z.T. Champlin.  Sheriff J.C. Elmer related that as many as 60 blind tigers and bootleggers in the area.(The Daily Herald, July 22, 1914, p. 1)
 
 
In July 1914, the Barataria Canning Company made a radical change in the migrant labor practices of Biloxi by bringing in a small group of Louisiana strawberry pickers, primarily of French ancestry, to labor in their plant on Point Cadet.  Seasonal workers were normally brought to Biloxi from the Baltimore area.  The newcomers were domiciled in the Barataria factory camps.(The Daily Herald, July 25, 1914, p. 2)  
    
 
John W. Apperson, E.T. Apperson,and George W. Grayson (1870-1943) chartered the Apperson Hotel Company in July.(Harrison Co., Ms. Chancery Court Charter Bk. 15, p. 7)
    
 
WW I commenced in Europe when Germany declared war on Russian and France in early August.
        
 
The Panama Canal formally opened on August 15th with the passage of the SS Ancon, a freighter.
        
 
The New Orleans Times-Picayune was created in 1914 when The Daily Picayune merged with The Times-Democrat.
      
 
Mayor F.W. Elmer was notified by the Department of Commerce and Labor that Chandeleur, Heron, North and New Harbor Islands were made bird sanctuaries.(The Daily Herald, November 17, 1914, p. 5)
 
 
1915
The Gulf Coast College building which also housed the Handsboro, Mississippi town hall was destroyed by fire on January 8th.(The Daily Herald, January 9, 1915, p. 9)
   
 
James J. Lemon (1825-1915), native of England and an 1841 immigrant who came to Biloxi before 1880 after living in Louisiana, expired on February 11th.  Mr. Lemon operated a grocer store, drug store and was the British Vice-Consul representing English sailors and shipping interests in the area.(The Daily Herald, February 12, 1915, p. 1)
 
 
Ulysse Desporte (1861-1927) was King Arguis IV and Katherine L. Henley [McColl] was Queen Ixolib of the Biloxi Mardi Gras on February 16th.(The Daily Herald, February 16, 1915, p. 1 and February 17, 1915, p. 1)
     
 
In February, Ernest Lee Jahncke, Biloxi annual summer visitor, and Sadie S. Downman ruled the Carnival at NOLA. 
   
 
The Mississippi Coast Amateur Baseball League was organized in February with teams from Biloxi, DeLisle, Gulfport, and Ocean Springs participating.  The following officers were elected: James Lynch of Gulfport- president; T.W. Dabney of Ocean Springs-vice president; O.A. Porter of Gulfport-secretary-treasurer.  The Biloxi team was manned by: Ryan, catcher; Moran, pitcher; Barnard, Summerlin, Hightower, infielders; Schaffer, shortstop; and Chinn, Summerlin, and Voivedich-outfielders.  In their first game, Biloxi won by a forfeit over Gulfport, when the Ocean Springs' team left the field in the 7th inning because Biloxi fans would not move away from the sidelines.  Biloxi led 5 to 4.(The Gulfport Advocate, February 20, 1915, p. 4, March 6, 1915, p. 4, and April 10, 1915, p. 7)
     
 
In early March, Ethel Wilson clad in a bearskin and with radiant hair arrived at Biloxi via the L&N RR to promote Mammoth Cave in Kentucky.(The Daily Herald, March 2, 1915, p. 1
     
 
Newspaperman, George W. Wilkes (1854-1915), founder of The Biloxi Herald in 1884 expired on March 29th.(The Daily Herald, March 30, 1915, p. 1)
     
 
Meyer Eiseman (1882-1940) of NOLA of the Deer Island Improvement Company with Biloxian, George W. Grayson (1870-1943), were selling beach lots on Deer Island for $350.(The Daily Herald, April 24, 1915, p. 13)
     
 
In late April 1915, D.B. Lemon, an experienced mill man, planned to harvest timber from Cat Island.  Estimated reserves at 3,500,000 board feet.  Mill could process 7,000 board feet each day.  Lumber shipped to Gulfport for domestic and export utilization.(The Daily Herald, April 28, 1915, p. 7)
      
 
In May, Louis Holley(1884-1973) had contract to build a one-story frame building for Ernest Desporte on Front Street just west of Lameuse Street.  Henry Agregaard and son will open an oyster house and short order lunch house when complete.(The Daily herald, May 12,1915, p. 2)
      
 
Captain F.P. Barry arrived in Biloxi from Tampa to take charge of the Deer Island Ferry service.(The Daily Herald, May 15, 1915, p. 2, May 24, 1915, p. 2, and May 30, 1915, p. 4)
    
 
In June, A.B. Lemons of Gulfport commenced his sawmill on Cat Island and planned to cut 10000 board-feet per day.  The lumber has been sold to a NOLA interest.  Estimates are that he will cut 4 million board feet in 400 working days.(The Gulfport Advocate, June 5, 1915, p. 4)
     

Salvatore Pizatti (1839-1915), pioneer fruit importer of NOLA, gave Biloxi $1000 to erect a dance pavilion, the Pizatti Pavilion, in City Park.  Hugh H. Roof (1878-1969), secretary of the Commercial Club and architect, designed the structure, which was dedicated on June 18, 1915.  In November 1915, L.H. Manuel was awarded the contract by Biloxi to enclose the building in order that the Biloxi Tourist Club might use it for their winter meetings.  Mr. Pizzati expired at NOLA on December 30, 1915.(The Daily Herald, February 18, 1915, p. 1, June 8, 1915, p. 1, June 18, 1915, p. 1 and November 13, 1915, p. 1)

    

The Deer Island Island Development Company formally dedicated their Deer Island amusement center on June 23rd.  Meyer Eiseman of the DIDC;  George W. Grayson of the Biloxi Commercial Club; Mayor Glennan of Biloxi; Mayor Foote of Gulfport; and Mayor Saucier of Pass Christian spoke at the ceremony.  Ocean Springs beat Biloxi 5-2 in the baseball game.(The Gulfport Advocate, June 26, 1915, p. 1)
     

Visitors to Deer Island to celebrate Independence Day 1915 were treated to a baseball game, a fancy skating exhibition by 'Marvelous' Davis.  Dancing and fireworks capped the evening festivities as crowds lingered until midnight on the sandy grounds.  The Barn Dance, particularly enjoyed by the rural crowd,  was a novelty.(The Daily Herald, July 6, 1915, p. 2)

 

A hurricane struck Biloxi and the Mississippi Gulf Coast on September 29th.      

 
Sam Strange (sic)  (1886-1967) leased part of the Olivari Building on Howard Avenue and Lameuse Street and will open a grocery store.  He recently commenced the French Market Grocery at Gulfport.(The Gulfport Advocate, July 10, 1915, p. 8)
 
 
In late June, the First Evangelical Lutheran Church congregation meeting in the First Baptist Church of Biloxi awarded a $2500 contract to Harry Haise and Eric Johansen to erect a Bungalow style chapel [28 feet by 47 feet] at Jackson and Thomas Streets.  The completed chapel valued at $3500 was dedicated on September 26, 1915.  The Reverend E.C.Brink of Illinois came to Biloxi in 1914 to take charge of the newly developing congregation, which had about 35 members at this time.(The Daily Herald, July 2, 1915, p. 2 and September 27, 1915, p. 1)
 
 
Salvatore Pizatti (1839-1915), Biloxi and NOLA philanthropist, expired at NOLA on December 30, 1915.  He had acquired the L.H. Doty home on West Beach in the summer of 1914.(The Daily Herald, February 18, 1915, p. 1)
 
 
1916
Theodore G. Bilbo was inaugurated Governor of Mississippi on January 18th.  He planned to establish a summer home at Biloxi in June 1916.(The Daily Herald, June 12, 1916, p. 1) 
    
 
William K.M. Dukate (1852-1916), native of Fredericksburg, Indiana and Biloxi seafood magnate and entrepreneur, expired at his Biloxi home on March 29th.(The Daily Herald, March 29,1916, p. 1)
     
 
On May 8th, Harrison County Beat 4 and Beat 5 voted 428 for and 329 against to establish Stone County, Mississippi.(The Daily Herald, May 9, 1916, p. 1)
      
 
Mayor Edward Glennan (1854-1933) was re-elected Mayor of Biloxi on June 27th defeating Frank E. Pringle (1872-1925) by 259 votes.(The Daily Herald, June 28, 1916, p. 1)
     
 
The new Biloxi Yacht Club to replace the one destroyed by the September 1915 as erected by Christian A. Thompson and O.E. Thompson.(The Jackson County Times, July 29, 1916, p. 1)
     
 
The C.B. Foster Company Packing Company was chartered in August 1916 at Biloxi and Violet, St. Bernard Parish, Louisiana.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Chancery Court Charter Bk. 16, p. 284)
      
 
St. Mary's Catholic School of Our Mother of Sorrows Parish was dedicated on September 6th.  Father Carl F. Schappert, S.S.J., the pastor, will operate the school for Black children of which more than one hundred will be in attendance.(The Daily Herald, September 7, 1916, p. 3) 
 
 
On November 1st, the L&N Railroad and City of Biloxi renewed their lease agreement on Biloxi's City Park, south of the L&N Depot.  Superintendent Charles Marshall of the L&N Railroad insisted that Biloxi reduce the railroad's taxes.[Harrison Co., Mississippi Land Deed Bk. 119, p. 45 and The Daily Herald, October 28, 1916, p. 1]
 
 
 
1917
 The shell and gravel Beach Road connecting Biloxi and Gulfport was finished in January 1917.  Grading of this road commenced in early July 1915 and was completed from Biloxi to Pass Christian for $40,000.  The Beach Road had been closed since the damage caused by the September 1915 hurricane.(The Daily Herald, January 10, 1917, p. 1)
      
 
Brigadier General Samuel Wragg Ferguson (1834-1917), native of Charleston, S.C. and former Biloxi city engineer, expired at Jackson, Mississippi in early February.  In 1908, General Ferguson completed the first detailed city map of Biloxi.  It took 19 months to survey and cost about $2500.  The map was 15 1/2 feet long and almost 6 feet in width.  When the Union surrendered Fort Sumpter in April 1861, Ferguson accepted the keys Major Anderson and later presented them to General P.G.T. Beauregard (1818-1893).(The Daily Herald, April 11, 1908, p. 1. February 2, 1912, p. 5, and February 6, 1917, p. 6) 
    
 
James Knox Henley (1856-1917), former L&N agent at Mississippi City and Biloxi, died on February 17th.(The Daily Herald, February 17, 1917, p. 1)
    
 
George Quint (1886-1967), King Arguis VI, and Mary Chinn (1891-1958) [who later m. John F. Eistetter (1881-1953)], Queen Ixolib, ruled the Biloxi Mardi Gras on February 20th.  There were six floats in this night parade designed by N. Salvadore Navarro (1869-1953).
 
      
Mayor Edward Glennan (1854-1933) was president of the Biloxi Mardi Gras Association.(The Daily Herald, January 13, 1917, p. 1 and February 21, 1917, p. 1)
     
 
The United States declared war on Germany on April 6th.
     
 
John Harry Portman (1878-1917), former G.E. Ohr pottery assistant and lighthouse keeper at Round Island and Sand Island, expired on June 13, 1917 at the Marine Hospital in Mobile.  Corporal remains interred in the Biloxi Cemetery.(The Daily Herald, June 14, 1917, p. 3)
      
 
Captain John Meunier (1880-1944), Biloxi Postmaster, lead US Army Biloxi Troop B to Camp Jackson, Mississippi on August 30, 1917 for training in preparation to fight in WWI.  A reception and dance was held for the soldiers at the Pizatti Pavilion the evening before departure.  The Biloxi Red Cross dispensed 'kits' and Mr. Keife of the Log Cabin Grocery on Porter gave away cigars.(The Daily Herald, August 29, 1917, p. 1) 
    
 
Biloxi's boat carpenters built 21 large vessels in 1903.(The Daily Herald, November 17, 1903, p. 6)
    
 
The citizens of Biloxi voted on December 31, 1917 to change their city government to the Commission Form by a vote of 340 for and only 43 against.(The Daily Herald, January 4, 1918, p. 1)
 
 
 
1918

Mayor Edward Glennan (1854-1933) started his final year as Mayor of Biloxi with turmoil in the Police Department.  In January 1918, when it was time to reappoint patrolmen, Walter H. Hunt (1887-1961), 1st Ward Alderman, opposed that Frank J. ‘Zudie’ [Sablich] Hightower (1890-1976), Peter Bellande (1871-1933), and John W. Mabry (1873-1940) continue with the force.  The Board of Aldermen appointed Joseph Mattina (1889-1969), a barber; Willie Ryan (1876-1958), Biloxi Yacht Club keeper; and Martin Green Jr. (1875-1951), a boat dealer, to replace the three men.  None of the City Council’s new policemen had any law enforcement experience and they had to be trained by Chief R.M. Randolph.  Chief Randolph further stated that he was greatly surprised and was unwilling to part with Officer Bellande.  He declares that Officer Peter Bellande has always proven himself a very efficient Police Officer.  Officer Bellande also has a large number of friends in the city administration as well as among citizens who are nor connected with the city.(The Daily Herald, January 3, 1918, p.  1)

 
 
Miss Maud White and Mrs. M.C. McGuire bought the Bohn property at 710 West beach for $5000.(The Daily Herald, January 5, 1918, p. 3)
     
 
Lee V. Pringle (1866-1938) was elected president of the Turpentine and Resin Association of New Orleans in January 1918.(The Daily Herald, January 26, 1918, p. 3)
      
 
The Biloxi Golf Club was chartered on May 22nd.  Construction had begun in March with Jack Daray (1881-1958), a professional golf superintendent domiciled at Grand Rapids, Michigan, in charge of the operation.(Harrison Co., Ms. Charter Bk. 18, p. 254 and The Daily Herald, March 23, 1918, p. 1)
    
 
George E. Ohr Jr. (1857-1918), Biloxi's 'Mad Potter', expired on April 7th.
      
 
The band from the Naval Station in Gulfport played for a flag raising ceremony at St. Mary's Catholic colored school on Reynoir Street.  Father Schappert, J.C. Elmer and Edgar Beale spoke at the occasion.(The Daily Herald, June 29, 1918, p. 3)
     
 
John F. Popp (1835-1918), Danish immigrant and successful lumber merchant and ferry operator, expired at NOLAon September 13th.(The Daily Herald, September 14, 1918, p. 3)
     
 
Thomas J. Grayson (1897-1962), First Lieutenant, U.S. Army, 28th Infantry Regiment, 1st Division, A.E.F. Date of Action: October 2 - 3, 1918-General Orders No. No. 16, W.D., 1920 Citation: The Distinguished Service Cross is presented to Thomas J. Grayson, First Lieutenant, U.S. Army, for extraordinary heroism in action near Exermont, France, October 2 - 3, 1918.
 
 
Foucher Dunbar (1880-1918) former bookeeper for the Dunbar-Dukate Company died at NOLA in mid-October.(The Daily Herald, October 14, 1918, p. 3)     
   
 
World War I ends in November 1918.
   
 
In the November election, John J. Kennedy, Biloxi businessman, won the Mayoral race over incumbent Edward Glennan by two ballots.  W.H. 'Skeet' Hunt and M.L. 'Slow' Michel were elected City Commissioners, the first to serve under the commission for of municipal government.(The Daily Herald, November 21, 1918, p. 1)
 
 
 
1919
Prohibition was instituted with ratification of the Eighteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution on January 16, 1919, which prohibited the "...manufacture, sale, or transportation of intoxicating liquors within, the importation thereof into, or the exportation thereof from the United States..." Congress passed the "Volstead Act" on October 28, 1919, to enforce the law, but most large cities were uninterested in enforcing the legislation, leaving an understaffed federal service to go after bootleggers. 
     
 
In January 1919, the Biloxi City government changed to the Commission format with city officials elected every four years.  John J. Kennedy (1875-1949) was the first Mayor elected to this new scheme defeating Edward Glennan (1854-1933) 273 votes to 271 votes.  This election was decided by the State Supreme Court in March 1919.(The Daily Herald, November 21, 1918, p. 1 and March 4, 1919, p. 2)
     
 
On January 19th, forty-five soldiers of Troop B, Biloxi Cavalry led by Captain John R. Meunier (1880-1944) returned from WWI.  Ninety-five troopers left Biloxi on August 17, 1917 for Camp Beauregard near Alexandria, Louisiana for training.  They were transferred  to a caisson company of the 114th Ammunition Train and arrived at Brest, France on September 12, 1918.(The Daily Herald, January 20, 1919, p. 1)
     
 
Mayor John J. Kennedy declared January 28th as 'Welcome Home Day' for American serviceman.  A parade with marching bands was held in the city.(The Daily Herald, January 27, 1919, p. 1)
      
 
In March, the Cleophan Club planted twelve palm trees in City Park as living memorials for twelve Biloxi soldiers lost during WWI.  These brave men were: Sgt. Charles L. Baudry (1891-1918); William Haenns; Chester Wesley Hayes; Clarence Avner Nelson; Sgt. Charles Nicovich(1892-1918); John J. Price; Pvt. Walter N. Quave (d. 1917); Pvt. James Roberts (18-1918); Alfred James Rutherford; George C. Ryan; Edwin Wein; and Henry C.T. Wurdemann (1889-1918).(The Daily Herald, March 17, 1919, p. 1)
     
 
The Commercial Club became the Biloxi Chamber of Commerce on May 5th.  It also became affiliated with the US Chamber of Commerce and a new charter was applied for from the State.  Officers at this time were:  John W. Apperson, pres.; George W. Grayson, vice-pres.; G.J. Wiltz, 2nd vice-pres.; A. Swanzy, 3rd vice-pres.; O.G. Swetman, treasurer; and John E. Breaux Jr., secretary.(The Daily Herald, May 6, 1919, p. 1)

 

In June 1919, Harry T. Howard (1856-1930) sold the former Nixon Hotel lot and more acreage to the Biloxi Hospital Association for $15,000.  The lot had 222 feet on the Gulf and ran north to Water Street.  Excepted was a lot 79 feet by 128 feet in the northeast corner of the tract.   Mr. Howard acquired the Nixon Hotel lot in September 1886 for $4000 from the Nixon heirs.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Land Deed Bk. 124, p. 14 and Bk. 21, p. 492)  

 
 
The first ELK-PAT [Elks Pull All Together] celebration was held on July 4th.  The event was a fundraiser for the Biloxi City Hospital and sponsored by the Biloxi Elks Lodge.(The Daily Herald, July 1, 1919, p. 1)
      
 
J.B. Lemon (1862-1919), former proprietor of Lemon's Drug Store in Biloxi expired on August 6th at Ocean Springs where he had been in the pharmacy business since March 1918.  Pansy Belle Robarts (d. 1943), his widow, was the sister of  Adele Robarts Arndt (1875-1945), the wife of George E. Arndt (1857-1945), prominent Ocean Springs businessman.(The Daily Herald, August 7, 1919, p. 4)
 
 
During the past six months, Biloxi added the following new businesses: The Myrtice Shop; Queen City Tire Works; Hosford Motor Company; Barker Bakeries; Southern Automotive and Equipment Company; Lopez Canning Company; Elmer & Spottswood Canning Company; Fishermen's Packing Company; Collins Brothers Automobile Business; Southern Fish & Shrimp Company; Biloxi Fisheries Inc.; and  Harrison County Sales Company.(The Daily Herald, September 23, 1919, p. 3)
       
 
On November 3rd, fifty veteran soldiers and sailors met at the Maccabbee Hall on West Howard Avenue and formed the Charles L. Baudry American Legion Post in Biloxi..  Sgt. Charles L. Baudry (1891-1918) was the only Biloxi soldier killed in WWI.  He died in France on October 4, 1918.(The Daily Herald, November 4, 1919, p. 1)
        
 
On November 27th, Charles L. Lanius led a parade in downtown Biloxi composed of members of the Baudry American Legion Post, Spanish American War veterans, Condederate veterans, Gulf Coast Military Academy cadets, and a detachment from the Gulfport Naval Training Station.(The Daily Herald, November 25, 1919, p. 1)
 
 
 
1920
Dejean Packing Company founded by Charles DeJean (1879-1961), Frank G. Bosarge (1878-1932), and Elmer Williams (1898-1985).
     
 
George Petro (1882-1920+), Biloxi photographer, 1893 Syrian immigrant and husband of Clemence Mickoul (1897-1920+), sold his business to C.F. Gilligan (1861-1943) of Akron, Ohio, and relocated to Hattiesburg, Mississippi to manage a large studio.(The Daily Herald, January 19, 1920, p. 3)
 
 
The Biloxi Athletic Club was founded at 409 West Howard Avenue in March to promote boxing, swimming, baseball, football and other sporting endeavors for its membership.  Founding officers were: William O'Brien, president; Calvin A. Davidson, v. pres.,; Jesse Smith Jr., treas.; and Chester H. Rose, sec.  Those at the seminal meeting were: E. St. Amant; Hugh Latimer; P. Lamarque; Roy Kennedy; Edwin Catchot; Evan Swetman; William O'Brien; Augustine Marie; R. Bourgeios; W. Barthes; Otto Emile; D. Santa Cruz; Calvin A. Davidson; Noel Staehling; L. Hilderbrand; W. Caillavet; Jessie Smith Jr.; C. Gutierrez; Louis Cazeau; Marks Burdine; Nassie George; Chester H. Rose; Ralph Mattina; Joseph Bataya; Otto Emile; and Magell [Miguel] Acevedo.(The Daily Herald, March 17, 1920, p. 1)
 
 
John J. Kennedy, Biloxi Mayor and other Coast officials, were aggrevated by last summer's women's one-piece, silk bathing suits and planned to pass regulations to ban them from the seashore.  Kennedy thought that"the bathing suits of last year went the limit and must be curtailed this year."(The Daily Herald, March 22, 1920, p. 3)
 
 
The D.A.R. dedicated a monument on April 8th on the shore of Back Bay in North Biloxi commemorating the landing of Iberville in 1699.(The Daily Herald, April 9, 1920, p. 1)
      
 
James C. 'J.C.' Elmer (1883-1920), died at NOLA on April 30th.  He was a former Biloxi City Judge, Harrison County Sheriff and District Attorney.(The Daily Herald, April 29, 1920, p. 1 and May 1, 1920, p. 3)
     
 
Martin F. Hass (1903-1990), 1920 BHS graduate, entered the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, New York with 598 other plebes.(The Daily Herald, July 6, 1920, p. 4)
 
 
Boy Scouts of America Troop 2 was organized by the Biloxi Knights of Columbus at its West Howard Avenue hall with Charles L. Rushing as Scoutmaster.  Troop 2 had 48 boys and was organized into 6 patrols of 8 scouts.(The Daily Herald, September 15, 1920, p. 3 and September 30, 1920, p. 3)
      
 
Edward H. Benedict (1868-1920), a printer associated with the Biloxi Review and Herald Printery and a politician and active in the civic and social affairs of Biloxi, expired on December 17th.(The Daily Herald, December 18, 1920, p. 1)
 
 
The population of Biloxi was 10,937 people.(The Daily Herald, December 24, 1926, p. 1)
 
 
 
1921
Edward Herbert Wolcott (1894-1918), who passed from pneumonia at Flanders Field Base Hospital No. 47 at Beaune, France on October 23, 1918, was buried on January 15, 1921 in the Biloxi Cemetery. Services were conducted under the auspices of the Catholic Church and pallbearers were selected from the Charles Baudry American Legion Post. A firing squad of eight men and a bugler under the command of a petty officer from the Gulfport Naval Station accompanied the body to its final resting place.The deceased was survived by his parents, Mr. and Mrs. H. Wolcott; five brothers, Oliver C. Wolcott; Ralph Wolcutt; Harold Wolcutt; Frank Wolcutt; and Payne Wolcutt; and one sister, Miss Lee Vicie. Edward was reared in Biloxi and resided here prior to enlisting inthe 1st Alabama Infantry at Mobile.(The Daily Herald, January 25, 1921, p. 2)
 
 
The Daily Herald had a circulation of 3005 subscribers.(The Daily Herald, January 28, 1921, p. 1)
 
 
Williard L. Via (1855-1921), resident of Mobile, and former Biloxi businessman, politician, and BYC Commodore expired on January 26, 1921.(The Daily Herald, January 26, 1921, p. 4)
     
 
In March, the Reverend Henry W. VanHook, president of the Seashore Camp Ground School, organized a company of Boy Scouts with a membership of forty youngsters.  Meetings held in the 1st Methodist Church.(The Daily Herald, March 10, 1921, p. 4)
     
 
In late May, Commissioner Hunt related that Lameuse Street would be paved from Howard Avenue to the Beach.(The Daily Herald, May 26, 1921, p. 3)
     
 
James V. Hagan (1874-1929), former City Clerk, built 'Hagan's Pier' at the foot of Reynoir Street and opened for business in June.  He rented bathing suits, sold refreshments, and held dances under the large pavilion.(The Daily Herald, June 10, 1921, p.6 and June 18, 1921, p. 8)
      
 
Michel John Louge (1847-1921), spouse of Mary E. Fayard (1847-1891) and former City Alderman, bailiff, and house carpenter, died on July 12th.  In the 19th Century. M.J. Louge owned the NW/C of Lameuse and Howard Avenue, which became the site of the 1896 People's Bank Building.(The Daily Herald, July 13, 1921, p.3)
    
 
The Biloxi Rotary Club was founded on August 5th at the Riviera Hotel with Edgar S. Beale (1882-1950), president; Louis J. Braun, vice-president; George Barrow Cousins, secretary; M.R. Williamson, treasurer; and F.R. Gifford, sgt.-at-arms.(The Daily Herald, August 6, 1921, p. 1) 
    
 
The Slavonian Benevolent Association of St. Nikolai was chartered by Peter Pavlov (1882-1951), Toney M. Pitalo, Peter J. Radich (1875-1954), Luka Kuljis, Steve M. Sekul, and Frank Bohanovich in August.(The Daily Herald, August 19, 1921, p. 2)
    
 
The Daily Herald increased its circulation from 2631 to 3499 customers between October 1920 and October 1921.(The Daily Herald, October 18, 1921, p.1)
    
 
Francois Sartre (1854-1921), native of Bordeaux, France, and restaurateur at NOLA and Biloxi, expired at NOLA on October 26, 1921 at 938 Esplanade, his domicile.  Francois came to Biloxi in 1895 and established Francois' Restaurant.Jeanne L' Hospice Sartre (1854-1897), his spouse, died at Biloxi and here remains were interred in the Biloxi Cemetery.  Monsieur Sartre's corporal remains were entombed in St. Louis Cemetery No. 1 and brought to Biloxi in in late June 1922 for burial besides his wife.(The Times Picayune, Ocotber 27, 1921, p. 6 and The Daily Herald, October 27, 1921, p. 3 and June 29, 1922, p. 2)
 
 
With the completion of a graded and gravel road from the Chef Menteur to the Rigolets, the 100 mile trip by car from the Mississippi Coast to NOLA was reduced to about five hours.  One left Henderson Point, west of Pass Christian and took a ferry across the Bay of St. Louis and then drove to Logtown and Howe's Point on the Pearl River.  A ferry was boarded for the journey to the Rigolets and then by car for nine miles to the Chef Menteur where after a short ferry ride, the final twenty miles to New Olreans on a gravel road.(The Daily Herald, May 25, 1921, p. 1 and November 22, 1922, p. 1)                                                                   
 
 
1922
All Biloxi resident males between 18 and 55 years of age, not exempt by law, were notified that theywere required to work on the streets, avenues, and alleys of Biloxi for a period of six, ten-hour days each year.  In lieu of this service, one could pay the City Clerk $3 no later than March 5th.  After that date, an additional 1$ was added to the fee.(The Daily Herald, March 4, 1922, p. 4)
 
 
In late March, Joseph Mattina (1889-1969), a Biloxi policeman, shot and killed Adolph Hunt (1884-1922) in downtown Biloxi.  The incident was ruled as self-defense.(The Daily Herald, March 28, 1922, p. 1)
      
 
The Gulfport & Mississippi Coast Traction Company was active in the Back Bay section of Biloxi.  On Reynoir Street, workers were relocating track to the center of the street in order to have a double driveway.  A sidetrack was being built on the Back Bay to the R.B. Dacey Lumber Company [near Heidenheim and Bayview Avenue] and workers were  replacing older rail ties from the Bay to the L&N station. When completed there will be a new trolley wire from Back Bay to the Riviera Hotel [corner of East Beach Boulevard and Lameuse Street].(The Daily Herald, April 25, 1922, p. 1)
    
 
Randolph D. Peets (1889-1985), native of Copiah Co., Mississippi and Principal of the Biloxi Central High Schoolresigned in early May after only one year as principal.  He moved to Jackson, Mississippi where he died in 1985.(The Daily Herald, May 10, 1922, p. 4)
     
 
In mid-May,Charles Dunbar Lancaster (1841-1922), native of Woodville, Mississippi, died at his farm on the Wolf River at Cuevas, Harrison Co. Mississippi.  Professor Lancaster was a former school teacher, Harrison Co., Mississippi Superintendent of Education, and principal of the Biloxi Public school in the late 1880s.(The Daily Herald, May 15, 1922 and May 20, 1922)
   
 
Naval Reserve Park was having a baseball field built under the supervision of Louis Mangin and William Dalzell.(The Daily Herald, May 28, 1923, p. 3)
     
 
In early June, the 'new' Wachenfeld Pavilion was dedicated.  Both the pier and pavilion were enlarged considerably.  The diving tower at the end of the new pier is a new feature.  Charles W. Wachenfeld (1868-1936) was the owner.(The Daily Herald, June 8, 1922, p. 3)
 
 
Miss Sarah Hardiman won Biloxi's First Annual Bathing Revue on July 4th.(The Times-Picayune, July 6, 1922, p. 25)
     
 
Biloxi women voted for the first time as Mayor John J. Kennedy (1875-1949) was re-elected on July 6th.  1529 ballots were cast in the Democratic primary.  Kennedy received 771 votes defeating Edward Glennan [376 votes], George W. Grayson [367 votes], and Dr. Anthony Ferrer [6 votes].(The Daily Herald, July 7, 1922, p. 1 and The Times-Picayune, July 6, 1922, p. 5)
     
 
On July 31, 1922, the Biloxi Artesian Ice Manufacturing Company took a 10 year lease from Robert E. ‘Lee’ Elder (1865-1931) on tract north designated as No. 135 West Back Bay - Chartres Street, now East Bay View Avenue.  William Gorenflo, was president and E.L. Dukate, secretary, of the company.(HARCO, Ms. Land  Deed Bk. 135, p. 244)
      
 
Dejean Packing Company was destroyed by fire in August 1922 and rebuilt in nineteen days.  It was chartered in November 1922 by Charles DeJean (1879-1961), Frank G. Bosarge (1878-1932), and Elmer Williams (1898-1985).(The Daily Herald, September 13, 1922, p. 3 and Harrison County, Ms. Charter Bk. 7, p. 425)
    
 
George A. Swan (1878-1922), native of Cheyenne, Wyoming, and Biloxi insurance executive and fruit farmer, expired at Baltimore, Maryland on November 16th.(The Daily Herald, November 16, 1922, p. 1 and November 18, 1922, p. 1)
    
In November, the BHS football team and fans traveled to Pascagoula for a football game via motorboats.  Biloxi was leading the game 12-0 in the third quarter when a donnybrook broke out on the field with Pascagoula fans joining the melee.  The referee from Gulfport stopped the contest and declared Biloxi the winner by forfeit.(The Daily Herald, Novemebr 20, 1922, p. 1)
  
 
The Biloxi Dam of Beavers with a charter membership of fifty-five was organized on November 21st. The organization expected about one hundred members to eventually complete the group.(The Daily Herald, November 22, 1922, p. 3)

 
1923
Jens Nielson (1847-1923), jeweler and watchmaker whose business and photo studio was on Reynoir Street near the L&N Depot died on January 31st.(The Daily Herald, February 3, 1923)
 
 
The Reverend C.T. Stamps, colored clergyman  and involved in church and educational improvements for his race, was appoined a delegate by Governor L.M. Russell to attend the Inter-Racial Conference at Washington D.C.(The Daily Herald, February 14, 1923, p. 6)
 
 
Robert B. Dacey (1864-1923), native of Grove Hill, Alabama and Biloxi lumberman and building materials proprietor,expired on March 15th.(The Daily Herald, March 15, 1923, p. 1)
   
 
Charles Latham Rushing (1881-1923), Biloxi attorney and native of Madison, Lauderdale County, Mississippi, expired on May 21st.  Mr. Rushing had come to Biloxi in 1908 and had represented Harrison County in the State Legislature.  He served as Circuit Judge for Harrison County after the demise of Judge James H. Neville. Mr. Rushing was a principal with the firm of Rushing & Guice and had been City Attorney and the Mississippi Oyster Commision since its inception.  He was survivied by his spouse, Clara G. Rushing.(The Daily Herald, May 22, 1923, p. 1) 
 
 
The O'Keefe Funeral Service opened its funeral parlor at 601 West Howard Avenue on June 4th.  Jeremiah J. 'Ben' O'Keefe II (1895-1954) and Joseph H. 'Jody' O'Keefe (1897-1932) were the proprietors.(The Daily Herald, June 4, 1948, p. 9)
 
 
Two carloads of A-1 brick arrived at Biloxi last week and were unloaded on West Beach.  After the waterworks are reconfigured and storm drain work is finished, the Front Beach roadway from Point Cadet to Porter Avenue will be started.(The Daily Herald, July 31, 1923, p. 3)
 
 
The July 1923 BYC Regatta was featured in Rudder and Boating, two national magazines. The articles written by Anthony V. Ragusin (1902-1997) of the Biloxi Chamber of Commerce with images by Southland Studios.(The Daily Herald, August 20, 1923, p. 3)
   
 
In August, Julius M. Lopez (1886-1958), Edward Brady (1874-1939), Dr. George F. Carroll, and John D. Minor (1876-1937) of the Biloxi Gun Club participated in the North American Handicap at Chicago. Mr. Lopez shot his way to the Grand American prize for Class C by breaking 194 out of 200 birds.(The Daily Herald, August 25, 1923, p. 3)
   
 
In late August 1923, the Morgan Paving Company was contracted to pave a section of the West Beach Road from Heartsease Park to Beauvoir.  Morgan subcontracted the work to local contractors, Ahern and Guiterrez, but continued to supervise the project.  Funds for the work was provided by the Federal government and the State Highway Commission.  The scheme called for a roadway with a six-inch, concrete base covered with a thick asphalt layer.(The Daily Herald, August 27, 1923, p. 3) 
   
 
Dr. Walter Tetford Bolton (1859-1923), native of Hickory, Newton County, Mississippi, died at Biloxi on August 28th.  He arrived at Biloxi in 1888 coming from Perkinston, Mississippi where he was also the US Postmaster.  Dr. Bolton served as Biloxi's City Health Officer for fifteen years.(The Daily Herald, August 28, 1923, p. 1)
   
 
The clubhouse of the Biloxi Golf Club, designed by Carl Matthes and built by T.J. Rossell, was completed.(The Daily Herald, August 30, 1923, p. 1)
   
 
In September, contract for erection of the Buena Vista Hotel was awarded to the Underwood Construction Company of NOLA.  The modern, 105-room, Spanish Colonial Revival building was designed by Carl Matthes for the Buena Vista Hotel Company of John W. Apperson, pres.; Milton J. Anderson of Memphis, v. pres.; and Robert Hays Holmes (1896-1949), sec.-treas.(The Daily Herald, September 7, 1923, p. 1)
 
 
L&N Fast Train No. 1 collided and sideswiped the L&N Piedmont Special near Lee Street on the eveing of October 4th.  Wiley Lauzon, Mobile resident and engineer of Fast Train No. 1, was killed and his fireman, Sylvester Anthony, was severely injuried.  Several passengers were taken to the Biloxi Hospital.(The Daily Herald, October 5, 1923, p. 1)
 
 
Trustees of the Confederates Home [Beauvoir] let a contract to W.T. Beckelheimer of Jackson for the erection of a $38,000,two-story, brick hospital.(The Daily Herald, October 19, 1923, p. 1 and October 22, 1923, p. 1) 
 
 
Margaret Covacevich and sister opened up a sewing parlor in their home at 902 East Howard Avenue. The sisters were expert dressmakers and pleaters.  The Covacevich sisters offered 24-hour service to their clientele.(The Daily Herald, October 13, 1923, p. 3)
 
 
On November 22nd, Julius Croncich (1904-1923), son of John F. Croncich (1868-1927) and Frances Hightower (1878-1963), fell from the schooner Anais off Gulfport, Mississippi and drowned.  His body was found on December 9, 1923 on the east end of Horn Island.  After burial on the island, his corporal remains were brought to Biloxi for internment on December 14, 1923 in the Biloxi Cemetery.(The Times-Picayune, November 26, 1923, p. 6, December 12, 1923, p. 20 and December 14, 1923, p. 4 and Bradford-O’Keefe Burial Book 12, p. 266)  
 
 
The Strand Theatre was built in the Lopez Building on West Howard Avenue in the winter of 1923.  It opened in early January 1924 with a feature picture, comedy, and high class vaudeville act and orchestra.  It was a modern theater with seating capacity of six-hundred fifty.  Its interior featured a modern finish with lighting appropriate for projection and illumination of the building.  The Strand also was equipped with a modern projector.(The Daily Herald, January 4, 1924, p. 1)
 
 
1924      
"The Magnolia Route", an organization to promote the highway between the Mississippi Gulf Coast and Chicago, was incorporated by Mr. Jagoe, Gulfport; N.L. McGlathery, Pass Chrisitan; Dr. H.B. Powell, Ocean Springs; E.C. Tonsmeire, Biloxi; and J.L. Taylor, Gulfport.(The Daily Herald, January 2, 1924, p. 1)
        
 
The Avelez Hotel on West Howard Avenue opened on January 1st.(The Daily Herald, January   , 1924, p. 1)
      
 
The Strand Theatre in the Lopez building opened on January 5th.  The theater sat 650 people and was formatted for moving pictures and vaudeville shows.(The Daily Herald, January 24, 1924, p. 1) 
      
 
On January 22, 1924, Pearl Bradford, Sherwood Bradford et al and R.E. “Lee” Elder (1865-1931) conveyed for $3500 to the City of Biloxi, a lot 92 feet fronting on Back Bay to the north, south 768 feet to Elder Street.  Here the City of Biloxi created the Back Bay City Park.  Here in December 1925, the City planned to move and remodel as a Community House and Club, the home formerly owned by John C. Bradford (1855-1928).(HARCO, Ms. Land  Deed Bk. 139, 292-293 and Bk. 140, p. 371 and The Daily Herald, December 16, 1925, p. 2) 
    
 
The American Legion pavilion on Back Bay and Reynoir Street opened on June 3rd.  Seating capacity between 2000 and 2500 people.(The Daily Herald, June 4, 1924, p. 3)
      
 
The Mississippi Coast Hotel Keepers' Association was organized on June 2nd at the Avelez Hotel.  Officers elected were: Walter L. Read, Hotel Belmar, pres.; H.C. Babcock, Hotel Weston of Bay St. Louis, vp; George D, Stannus, Hotel Biloxi, sec.;  andDr. Henry B. Powell, Bayou Inn, Ocean Springs, treas.(The Daily Herald, June 3, 1924, p. 1)
      
 
The J.C. Penny Company department store opened at Biloxi on August 30th in the Peoples Bank Building.  The five year lease was taken in late December 1923 from Daniel J. Gay, bank president, which cost the company $208.33 per month.  The store carried a large stock of high class merchandise.(The Jackson County Times, August 30, 1924, p. 5 and Harrison Co. Mississippi land Deed Bk. 140, p. 380)
      
 
In September, George W. Ditto (1895-1975), Alabama native and educator, arrived at Biloxi to assume his duties as Principal of the Biloxi Central High School.(The Daily Herald, September 2, 1924, p. 3)
      
 
The Buena Vista Hotel opened on July 3rd.
     
 
The Gulfport and Mississippi Coast Traction Company was acquired by the Mississippi Power Company in late December.(The Daily Herald, December 29, 1924, p. 1)
     
 
In 1923-1924, the Gorenflo School was designed by architect Carl E. Matthes (1896-1972) and erected.  It was originally called the Back Bay Elementary School.  Its area of educational responsibility included: All north of the L&N Railroad from Caillavet to Lee Street, including the east side of Caillavet and the west side of Lee; north of Division bounded by Caillavet and Seal. 
      
 
The Gulf and Ship Island Railroad merged with the Illinois Central Railroad. 
     
 
The Henry M. Piaggio $300,000 Italian Villa at Gulfport, Mississippi was acquired by Charles Glenn Collins of New Orleans.  He planned to convert it into the Gulf Coast Sanitarium for utilization by Louisiana and Mississippi physicians.  Henry M. Piaggio (1874-1921), a native of Genoa, Italy, was one of the founders of the International Shipbuilding Corporation at Pascagoula.  Mr. Piaggio built the Merry Mansion, but died before it was completed.(The Jackson County Times, 1924, p. 1 and The History of JXCO, Ms., 1989, pp. 25-26)
      
 
James Joseph 'Gene' Tunney (1897-1978), champion light weight pugilist, was in Billoxi training for his December 8, 1924 fight at NOLA with Jeff Smith.(The Daily Herald, December 1, 1924, p. 2)
    
 
Frederick W. Elmer (1847-1924), entrepreneur, former Biloxi Mayor, high school principal and County School Superintendent, member of the Board of Supervisors and former State legislature, died at his home on Beach Street and Magnolia on December 23rd.(The Daily Herald, December 24, 1924, p. 1)
 
 
1925
The Peoples' Theatre Building on Point Cadet and owned by D.M. Schneider of Bogalusa, Louisiana, was gutted by fire on January 13th.  The building housed a dance hall and several small enterprises.  Damaged was estimated at $1000.(The Daily Herald, January 13,1925, p. 1)
 
 
The Harrison County seawall, the largest construction project ever planned for Mississippi, to commence in June.(The Chronicle-Star, January 30, 1925, p. 1)
    
 
Louis Goldman (1882-1925), former Biloxi City Attorney, expired at New Orleans on March 11th.  He practiced law in New York.(The Jackson County Times, March 14, 1925, p. 5)
    
 
In late April, the Harrison County Board of Supervisors approved construction of a 14-mile, concrete, reenforced Seawall.  H.D. Shaw of Gulfport and Arthur Shaw of NOLA were engineers for the project.   Bids were opened in late May at Gulfport.  The McDougal Construction Co. of Atlanta was the low bidder at $1, 956,000.(The Daily Herald, April 28, 1925, p. 1 and The Jackson County Times, May 30, 1925, p. 1)
    
 
In June, Melvin G. Ness (1897-1975), an Iowan, begin his Ness Ice Cream Factory, an ice cream plant, in the former Baptist Church on Lameuse and Washington Street.(The Daily Herald, June 9, 1925, p. 3) 
    
 
New Orleans native, Aristede Hopkins (1839-1925), NOLA and Biloxi realtor, expired in late June at his summer home on West Beach Boulevard at Biloxi.(The Daily Herald, June 29, 1925, p. 3)
     
 
In early June 1925, an inspection trip aboard the Jolly Jack, to the Isle of Caprice was made by Walter H. Hunt (1887-1960), called Skeet, Colonel John W. Apperson (1862-1939), Architect Carl Matthes (1896-1972), and Eric Johansen (1899-1947), contractor.  Piling for the pier had been set and other projects on the site had been commenced.  Manager Hunt related that concessionaire applications were being received.(The Jackson County Times, June 6, 1925, p. 1)
     
 
On the eve of July 5, 1925, the Isle of Caprice resort opened for business.   Fun seeking tourists departed for the resort from landings at theBiloxi Yacht Club, White House, Riviera Pavilion, and Wachenfeld’s Pier.  The Silver Moon, commanded by Ed L. Moran (1888-1951), the brother of A.P. ‘Fred’ Moran (1897-1967) of Ocean Springs, Jolly Jack, Charles Redding, and Margaret  provided transportation.  In the new pavilion, music was made by the Buena Vista Orchestra.(The Daily Herald, July 6, 1925, p. 3)
     
 
The Biloxi Chevrolet Company was incorporated by John A. Matiniere-Shubuta, Mississippi; and E.L. Martin and W.G. Gerard-Biloxi in July. Messrs. Matiniere and Martin with Benjamin Harrison of Pass Christian had acquired the Adams Motor Company at Pascagoula in February and renamed it the Utility Motor Company.(The Daily Herlad, July 31, 1925, p. 8 and February 27, 1925, p. 5)
 
 
In early August, the contract let to A.M. Blodgett, Inc. for new $326,000 concrete bridge across Back Bay between North Biloxi and Biloxi.(The Daily Herald, August 8, 1925, p. 2)
   
 
Coach T.L. Gaddy (1894-1975) became head football coach at Biloxi High.   He came to the Biloxi High Yellow Jackets from the Gulf Coast Military Academy team at Gulfport.(The Daily Herald, September 1925, p.  )
    
 
Rabbi Alfred S. Moses of Mobile, who was at the Gulport Naval Station in WW I, met in early December with Biloxi Jews to organize the Jewish Coast Society.  Phillip Levine, pres.; I.B. Rau, vice-pres.; and Miss Sophie Schwartz, sec.(The Daily Herald, December 2, 1925, p. 2)
 
 
Laura F. Hinsdale (1845-1925) ,widow of Rev. Dr. Robert G. Hinsdale, former rector of the Church of the Redeemer, died on December 11th.  Mrs. Hinsdale wrote Legends and Lyrics of the Gulf Coast (1896) among others.
     
 
Coach Tranny Lee Gaddy(1894-1975) was the first Coach of the Biloxi 'Warriors'.  Gaddy directed his Biloxi football team to mythical State Championship in 1926.
 
 
 
1926
George Soule (1834-1926), native of Barrington, New York andfounder of Soule's Business College at NOLA, died in the Crescent City on January 26th.(The Daily Herald, January 27, 1926, p. 1)
    
 
Mississippi Power Company planned a forty-six mile power line from the Miss.-Ala. state line to Gulfport where a large step-down transforming station will be built.  Power for the line will come from hydro-electric plants on the Coosa and Tallapoosa Rivers in Alabama.  With no difficulties, hydro-electric power should be available on the Mississippi Gulf Coast by January 1, 1927.(The Biloxi News, March 28, 1926, p. 19)
    
 
In February, Mathilda Drewes Donaldson (1870-1931) et al petitioned the County to open Rodenberg Avenue from the L&N Railroad to Pass Christian Road.(Harrison Co., Ms. Board of Supervisors Minute Bk. 19, p. 506)
    
 
The Edgewater Hotel, a $2,000,000, 400-room hotel on Biloxi beach, was under construction, as well as the Edgewater Golf Club located north of the hotel.  Harry J. Collis, architect of the Floosmoor Country Club and Olympia Fields at Chicago, had seventy-five men and eight tractors at work on the course.(The Biloxi News, March 21, 1926, p. 1 and April 25, 1926, p. 3)
    
 
Edgewater Park, a sixty-seven acre and 195 lot, highly restricted and exclusive residential development, was formally opened in March.  J.F. Cornelius & Company were the exclusive agents for the development with R.M. Nelson, their local agent.  This Edgewater Park Subdivision was platted on March 12, 1926 by two gentlemen from NOLA, James W. Billingsley, pres., and Sidney W. Souers, vice pres., of the Edgewater Park Company.  The three parcels for this housing development cost $300,000 when acquired in November 1925, from the Edgewater Development Company, S.L. McGlatheny, pres.(The Biloxi News, March 28, 1926, p. 16, Harrison Co., Mississippi Land Deed Bk. 155, p. 183, and Harrison Co. Mississippi 2nd JD Chancery Court Plat Bk. 11, p. 29)
    
 
The Biloxi News, a weekly thirty-two page local journal, began publication in March.  E.T. O'Connell was the editor and publisher; Ligon Smith Forbes, advertising mgr.; Earline White, business mgr.  Miss Irma Dukate wrote a 'Society' column and Bob Lyle penned the fishing news.(The Biloxi News, March 28, 1926, p. 16)
      
 
In March 1926, the Mississippi Power Company announced that a hydro-electric line paralleling the Coast would be included in its $70 million development plan.  The companies hydro-electric plants were situated on the Coosa and Tallapoosa Rivers in Alabama and a 110,000 volt line would be built from the Alabama-Mississippi state line to a step-down transformer station at Gulfport.  Permission had been granted to the company to construct power lines on the bridge across the Back Bay of Biloxi from D’Iberville.(The Biloxi News, March 28, 1926, p. 1)
   
 
W.L. Covel (1836-1926), native of New York and Biloxi resident since 1886, expired on April 13th.  Mr. Covel was a watchmaker, civil engineer, and entrepreneur.  He ran for Mayor in 1890 and was preceded in death by Jane Hall Covel (18-1923), his spouse.  Mr. Covel lived at 327 Main Street with Mamie Reese Covel, his second wife.(The Daily Herald, April 13, 1926, p. 1)   
   
 
The Biloxi Boys Band was organized in April by the Chamber of Commerce with Professor Charles D. Carnovale (1896-1966) in charge.  Bands members were: Woodrow James; Loren Bosarge; Brooks Higdon; Charles Hopkins; John Mavar; Louis Tremmel (1908-1987); Glen Collins; Harold Collins; Edward Bridges; A. McAllister; Carl Welch; Henry Janin; Tony Corso; Bowman H. Broadnax (1907-1991); Martin Stanovich; Earl Master; Joe Dellinger; Vincent Morice; J.T. Tremmel; M.L. Michel; Keith Hester; Walter Wentzell; Fenton Bosarge; Floyd Balius; Connie Collins; John Dubaz; J. Beaudreaux; Fred Newroth; F. Williams; Red, The Drummer, J.J. Stanovich; and Bill Master.(the Biloxi News, May 2, 1926, 19) 
      
 
James Walker Elder (1852-1926), founder of the Elder & Bradford mill on Back Bay, expired at Biloxi on May 1st.(The Daily Herald, May 3, 1926, p. 2) 
 
  
Hyman M. Folkes (1871-1926)
[courtesy of Elmer E. 'Eddie'  Lemien (1925-2009)
 
 
Dr. Hyman M. Folkes (1871-1926) expired at Biloxi on May 1st.(The Biloxi News, May 2, 1926, p. 1) 
      
 
Paul Skrmetti announced Biloxi's newest Subdivision, called Lamar Beach.  it was situated on Back Bay between the Back Bay Bridge and Bay Terrace.  Lamar Beach has 14 lots and the small tracts will be sold through Skermetti Realty.(The Daily Herald, May 21, 1926, p. 3)
 
 
On May 23rd, A large fire on West Howard Avenue destroyed the Yerger Building which housed the Variety Store, Electrik Maid Bakery, Newman Furniture Company, and Biloxi Mercantile Company.  Losses were estimated between $75,000-$100,000.(The Biloxi News, May 23, 1926, p. 1 and The Daily Herald, May 24, 1926, p. 1)
    
 
The Tivoli Hotel on East Beach began construction on June 14th.  Louis J. Braun,(1890-1951), Karl R. Dorries (1898-1927+) and Carl E. Matthes (1896-1972) are the proprietors of the Dorries Hotel Company, promoters of the $500,000, 124 room, structure designed by Carl E. Matthes in the Spanish Mission style.(The Biloxi News, May 23, 1926, p. 1 and June 13, 1926, p. 11)
      
 
Edgar Pipes Guice (1898-1970), manager of the Mississippi Ice and Utilities, opened a drive-in retail ice dispensing system at the companies two Biloxi outlets on Lameuse and Railroad and Porter and Howard,  Another drive-in ice station is planned for East Biloxi.(The Biloxi News, June 27, 1926, p. 13)
    
Aerial Photographic Service of Chicago completed in early July an aerial topographic survey [1 inch representing 500 feet] of the Mississippi Gulf Coast from Point Cadet to Henderson Point.(The Biloxi News, June 27, 1926, p. 1)
 
 

The Cumberland Telephone and Telegraph Company changed its name to the Southern Bell Telephone and Telegraph Company.(The Daily Herald, July 3, 1926, p. 2)

The Biloxi Chevrolet Company founded by John A. Matiniere (1877-1947) in 1925 on Howard Avenue and Main Street changed its name to Dees Chevrolet in June when owned by Mr. Martiniere's brother-in-laws, Clifton L. Dees (1886-1963) of Vancleave and Mendum H. Dees (1884-1949) of Biloxi, who were president and sec.-treasurer respectively of the new enterprise.(The Daily Herald, July 16, 1926, p. 2)
    
 
Bessie Hunt Dantzler (1870-1926), wife of Lorenzo N. Dantzler (1866-1943), expired at Asheville in late May.  Her corporal remains were sent to Vicksburg for internment.(The Daily Herald, June 28, 1926, July 16, 1926, p. 5)   
    
 
D.H. Holmes, a NOLA department store, planned to hold their annual picnic in August on the grounds of the White House Hotel.  Two entire trains would be used to bring the 1200 employees to Biloxi for the gala event.(The Biloxi News, July 11, 1926, p. 1)
     
 
The Hertz Drivurself System opened a branch at Biloxi when they acquired the U Drive It Car Company owned by George Ahern (1886-1939) on Reynoir Street.  The Hertz System is owned by the Yellow Cab & Coach Company, a subsidiary of the General Motors Corporation.  Tom McCaleb (1871-1932), manager of the Checker Cab Company, will bein charge of Hertz operation on Reynoir Street.  He will contine to operate his Checker Cab business.(The Daily Herald, August 8, 1926, p. 2)
     
 
The Wachenfeld Apartments of August Wachenfeld, a modern two-story, stucco, eight-unit, apartment building on the northwest corner of Water and Croesus Street was completed in mid-August.  The Collins Brothers of Biloxi were the contractors and commenced work on the structure in March 1926.(The Biloxi News, March 21, 1926, p. 29 and Daily Herald, August 16, 1926)
      
 
In late August, the dredge Bisso of NOLA and owned by the Bisso Towboat Company began pumping fill behind the seawall.  (The Daily Herald, August 30, 1926, p. 1) 
    
 
The construction of the Edgewater Gulf Hotel, a $2 million dollar edifice, was on schedule and its formal opening anticipated in early January 1927. Arthur Clement was the managing director for the hotel company and Benjamin Marshall, architect.(The Daily Herald, September 11, 1926, p. 1)
    
 
In the fall of 1926, Biloxi High School changed it moniker from the "Yellow Jackets" to the "Redskins".  The new School colors became maroon and white replacing the former black and gold. Coach Tranny L. Gaddy (1894-1975) was responsible for the change.(The Daily Herald, September    1926, p.  )
    
 
Moose Lodge was formed at Biloxi led by Mayor John J. Kennedy.(The Daily Herald, October  18, 1926, p. 1)
      
 
Under the advisement of the Biloxi Lions Club, the City of Biloxi obtained its first traffic light.  It was made operational at Howard Avenue and Lameuse Street on November 12, 1926.  The light was made by the Essco Manufacturing Company and installed under the supervision of A.L. Mangin for City Commissioner John Swanzy who directed Biloxi Public Works.  The second traffic light went on in late December 1926, at Caillavet Street and Division.(The Daily Herald, October 21, 1926, p. 1, October 29, 1926, p. 2November 13, 1926, p. 2. and December 23, 1926)
 
 
The Biloxi High School football squad was crowned State gridiron champions, having tied the undefeated Sunflower County Agricultural High School from Moorehead at Greenville, Mississippi on December 6, 1926, by a score of 7-7.  The game went five quarters, although the Indians were outweighed 24-pounds per man.  Coach Tranny Lee Gaddy (1894-1975), Mississippi A&M College, 3-sport letterman, led the team.  Coach Gaddy died at Jackson, Mississippi on October 12, 1975.(The Daily Herald, December 7, 1926 and October 13, 1975, p. A2)
      
 
The Pine Hills Hotel on the north shore of Bay St. Louis opened on December 20th.(The Times Picayune, February 6, 1927, Section I-B, p. 5)
 
 
1927
 
The 1927 population of Biloxi was estimated at 16,506.(The Daily Herald, December 24, 1926, p. 1)
    
 
The Edgewater Gulf Hotel opened on January 10th.(The Jackson County Times, January 10, 1927, p. 1 and The Daily Herald, February 6, 1927, p. 1))
   
 
The Markham Hotel at Gulfport opened on January 31st.(The Times Picayune, February 6, 1927, Section I-B, p. 5)
    
 
The Tivoli Hotel a five-story, apartment hotel costing $750,000 and built by the Kaucher-Hodges Company of Memphis on East Beach opened on February 10th.  Harry Compton was the first manager.(The Times Picayune, February 6, 1927, Section I-B, p. 5)
 
 
 
              1927 Back Bay Bridge
             [Circa 1926 under construction.  Note 1901 wooden bridge in background.]
 
 
The Biloxi-North Biloxi [D'Iberville] Bridge was dedicated on January 12th.  Two parades, the largest barbecue ever staged in this area, public speaking, and an amusement show were part of the ceremony.  Mayor William E. Dever (1862-1929) of Chicago was invited to speak.(The Daily Herald, December 30, 1926, p. 1 and January 6, 1927, p. 1)
      
 
Ground was broken on January 15th, for the Edgewater Park L&N passenger station north of the Edgewater Hotel.  The station will have an 800-foot train shed.  Dismantled in 1925.(The Jackson County Times, January 10, 1927, p. 1)  
    
 
[from The Daily Herald, May 1929]
 
 In March, The Collins Brothers, William D. Collins (1891-1979) and James E. Collins (1888-1974), acquired a lot on Caillavet Street for $10,000 situated between Howard Avenue and the L&N RR.  Here they built a two-story, frame building [40 feet by 70 feet] with rock-face, brick siding.  The structure served as a garage and office.  Here the Collins Brothers sold the Hupmobile and repaired and serviced motor cars.  The Collins blacksmith shop, located on West Howard and Caillavet continued to perform general mechanical repairs, shoe horses as well as build oyster dredges and oyster cars. (The Daily Herald, March 18, 1927, p. 8 and September 2, 1929, p. 2) 
 
 
Men from the U.S. Coast Guard base at Biloxi began building a rifle range on Horn Island in late March.(The Daily Herald, April 2, 1927, p. 2)
       
 
The Seabird, a 28-foot vessel with a 9-foot beam, yawl rigged, cabin sloop, built by Martin Fountain for Francis G. Collins and G.E. Moore joined the BYC sailing and motorboat fleet.  It was launched in April 1927.(The Daily Herald, April 9, 1927, p. 8 and June 27, 1927, p. 2)
        
 
The Kress Company began demolition of two buildings on their Howard Avenue property in April in preparation to erect a two-story, modern structure.  The Meyer Eiseman building and other structure was demolished by Louis Braun.
 
 
The City Commissioners heard objections to 'white way' and curb and gutter improvements in Biloxi.  There was only one objection to the 'white way', similar to that on Beach Boulevard, which will be laid on Howard Avenue from Nixon Street to Fayard Street; Lameuse Street from Beach Boulevard to Howard Avenue; and Reynoir Street from Howard Avenue to the L&N RR.  Concrete curb and guttters will be placed on Bass Street from Washington to Howard Avenue and on Thelma Street from Seal Avenue to Iroquois.(The Daily Herald, April 23, 1927, p. 1)
 
 
Ground broke on the new Kress Building on June 22nd.(The Daily Herald, April 6, 1927, p. 2 and June 22, 1927, p. 1)
     
 
The Gulf Coast Dairy Products Company of O.F. Schleef of Loranger, Louisiana and situated on the corner of Howard Avenue and Fayard Street was preparing to open a 1500 gallons a day milk and ice cream plant.  This will be Biloxi's second ice cream plant.(The Daily Herald, April 6, 1927, p. 2)
      
 
On 26 April, Hart Chinn, Biloxi canner, sent a telegram to the Governor of Louisiana accepting with regret that he was going to have the Mississippi River levee at Poydras, Louisiana destroyed to save the City of New Orleans from flooding.  The fresh water overflow would severely damage or destroy oyster reefs in both states. The following Biloxi canners signed the telegram: Anticich Packing Company; William Cruso; Deer Island Fish and Oyster Company; DeJean Packing Company; Desporte Packing Company; Elmer Packing Company; Gussie Fountain Packing Company; Martin Fountain Packing Company; C.B. Foster Packing Company; Foster-Fountain; Kennedy Packing Company; and Terry Packing Company.(The Daily Herald, April 27, 1927, p. 1)
 
 
In early May, the Collins Brothers Contracting Company owned by William J. Collins (1886-1962) and George Collins (1891-1968) of Biloxi were awarded a $285,000 contract to erect the New Biloxi Hotel on the site of Dr. H.M. Folkes Hotel Biloxi which they had just torn down.  The Biloxi Plumbing and Heating Company headed by Henry L. Schwan (1889-1956) and Grover W. Graham (1893-1964) of Biloxi received the $46,300 contract for plumbing and heating the building while the electrical work to cost about $10,000 was given to the J.M. Johnson & Company of Dallas, Texas.  The Eagle Lumber Company locally managed by W.H. Latimer supplied a large volume of building materials for the edifice.  The New Biloxi Hotel was estimated to cost between $600,000 and $650,000.(The Daily Herald, May 2, 1927, p. 2 and May 11, 1927, p. 1)
    
 
 Vessels led by Captain S.P. Edmonds from Coast Guard Base 15 at Biloxi were some of the first to go to the Mississippi Delta and last to leave as they assisted flood victims of the disastrous spring flood of the Mississippi River.  Biloxi's civilian seamen sent over 400 boats to the inundated region that equipped life saving parties with boats, motors, and supplies.  These first responders carried food, shoes, and clothing to the stricken while rescuing victims from trees and house tops stranded by the Great Flood.  Steve Gorenflo of Biloxi was one for the first releif workers to reach the Delta with Lyle Raymond, T.J. Fountain, Charles Rousseau, L. Crofton, Captain Moran and Voyle F. Moran (1905-1997), his son.  Other known Biloxians assisting in the flood zone were: John Dacey, Cleveland Huggins, and Walter White.  North Biloxians going to the Delta were: George Mitchel, Thomas Fountain, Paul Trochesett, Benny Yerger, Farrell Bosarge, Walt Walton, and Jules Santa Cruz, et al. (The Daily Herald, May 5, 1927, p 2, May 16, 1927, p.1, June 6, 1927, p. 2, and March 29, 1928, p. 3)
      

Captains Jake Rosetti, Tony Cvitanovich, and Frank J. Barhonovich formed a committee to collect money for the relief of flood victims in southeast Louisiana after the Mississippi River was breached in an action called the Poydras Crevasse.  Croatian families donated $176.50 which was given to The Daily Herald for distribution.[The Daily Herald, May 6, 1927, p. 1]

 
The Biloxi Amusement Association was formed to raise funds and erect a new baseball park at Naval Reserve Park.  The new facility was expected to attract a Major League baseball franchise for their spring training.(The Daily Herald, June 18, 1927, p. 1)
 
 
Edna Mae Johnson Longinotti (1891-1927), daughter of John E. Johnson and Ella Pons Johnson, was murdered by Davis in Biloxi on August 15th.(The Daily Herald, August 15, 1927, p. 1 and August 16, 1927, p. 2)
 
 
The Louisiana Shrimp Conservation Act went into effect on August 16, 1927.  The law was passed by the Louisiana State Legislature and prevented non-residents from catching saltwater shrimp and sending them to canning or packing factories outside the State of Louisiana.  An injuction was to be filed in the US District Court to prevent Louisiana from enforcing this law.(The Daily Herald, August 16, 1927, p. 1)    
 
 
In late August, the Biloxi to Isle of Caprice Marathon Racewas won by 'Mobile' Bill Jackson (b. 1903), a professional swimmer from Mobile.(The Daily Herald, August 24, p. 1 and August 25, 1927, p. 1)
     
 
Phyliss Hunt [Graham] (1909-2003), Miss Biloxi, left Biloxi for Atlantic City, New Jersey on September 4, 1927 for the National Beauty Contest.  She was accompanied by her mother and Miss Gladys Moore, Miss New Orleans.  The Biloxi Boy's Band played for the occaision at the L&N Depot.(The Daily Herald, September 5, 1927, p. 2)
 
 
C.W. Johnson, builder, was awarded contracts for the East End Fire Station for $5734 and an addition to the new Community House for $1380.(The Daily Herald, November 22, 1927, p. 3)
      
 
Florian Seal (1852-1939), prominent Biloxi businessman and politician who was five time Harrison County Sheriff and eight time Harrison County Tax Assessor expired on December 11th.(The Daily Herald, December 12, 1927, p. 1)
 
 
The petition for an injunction by the Foster-Fountain Company et al against the Louisiana Shrimp Packing Act was denied.  An appeal to the US Supreme Court was planned by the plaintiffs.The Daily Herald, December 30, 1927, p. 1 and December 31, 1927, p. 1)
 
 
City Commissioner Michel issued about 227 building permits for Biloxi and vicinity totaling $1,932,939 million dollars for 1927.   The major projects included the New Biloxi HotelKress Buildinglocal seawall sectionCedar Lake highwayimprovements at Oak Park; sidewalk constructon; and the paving of several streets including East Howard Avenue.  Home construction was particularly active north of the L&N Railroad and on the East End.(The Daily Herald, February  16, 1928, p. 1)
 
 
1928
 
 
Bennett J. Doty, (1900-1937+), Biloxi WW I Army veteran, Marine, and adventurer, published Legion of the Damned , a biographical account of his life in the French Foreign Legion in the 1920s.
   
 
The New Biloxi Hotel opened on January 12th by Harold R. Bechtel (1894-1987), proprietor and bond broker of Davenport, Iowa. Building converted to Chateau Le Grand in 1981 by George J. Sliman (1934-1997).(The Daily Herald, January 10, 1928, p. 1 and The Gulf Coast Times, December 7, 1981, p. 1)
    
 
Six houses costing about $50,000 were to be built in the Briarfield Subdivision situated between the Edgewater Hotel and Beauvoir.(The Daily Herald, January 12, 1928, p. 18) 
    
 
The Elmer Packing Company on Back Bay was destroyed by fire on January 31st.  It was leased to Louis A. Lundy of Ocean Springs at the time of the large conflagration.(The Daily Herald, January 31, 1928, p. 2)
    
 
The ‘new’ Nonpariel  was built by the Frentz Brothers Shipyard on Back Bay.  It was nearing completion in February 1928.(The Daily Herald, January 31, 1928, p. 2)
    
 
The last ninety feet of the Harrison County Seawall was poured near Oak Street at Biloxi by the C.F. Lytle Construction Company on February 8, 1928.(The Daily Herald, February 8, 1928, p. 2)
     
 
Police Chief George Bills (1867-1945) added two new men to the BPD force, Felix Mattina (1886-1946) and Frank Hecht.  The night patrol is manned by: Charles Lowd, Omer Graves (1886-1933), Evon Swetman, Richard Grady (1891-1958), and Lawrence Stockton (1893-1956).  Chief Bills and Alonzo Gabrich, city detective, form the day force.  The hiring of the two new officers fills the vacancy created by the recent death of Jake Stanovich (1891-1927).(The Daily Herald, February 8, 1928, p. 2)
     
 
The Biloxi Laundry was incorporated by John W. Apperson, John A.W. O'Keefe (1891-1985), George J. Collins, Eugene Dowling (1880-1944); and W.L. Guice (1887-1971).(The Daily Herald, March 21, 1928, p. 2)
    
 
Harrison County seawall to be completed on May 5 th.(The Jackson County Times, March 31, 1928, p. 1)
    
 
The Pascagoula River Bridge and Escatawpa River Bridge in Jackson County were dedicated on April 14th.  The completion of the Pascagoula River Bridge completed the last gap of the Old Spanish Trail [US Highway 90] on the Mississippi Gulf Coast.(The Daily Herald, April 13, 1928, p. 1)
    
 
The first span across Popp's Ferry was completed in mid-April.  The new bridge cost about $70,000 and was 700-feet long and 18-feet wide.  It was constructed from creosoted timber and pilings.  Before the new Popp's Ferry Bridge opened for traffic, it was severely damaged by floodwaters in early June 1928.  Alonzo B. Desporte repaired the damaged structure in August and September at a cost of about $6400.(The Daily Herald, April 18, 1928, p. 1 and June 7, 1928, p. 1)  
     
 
Johnny Weissmuller (1904-1984), Olympic champion swimmer and later the movie "Tarzan", and Ulise J. 'Pete' Desjardins (1907-1985), Olympic diving champion, were invited to the Harrison County seawall dedication held on May 10th.  It cost $3.4 million dollars and was designed by Hobart D. Shaw (1908-1973) of Gulfport.(The Daily Herald, May 11, 1928, p. 1 and The Jackson County Times, May 5, 1928, p. 1)
    
 
The initial bridge to span Biloxi Bay at Popp's Ferry opened for traffic in late December.  Walter Nixon Sr. (1895-1960) was Beat 1 Supervisor for the $60,000 structure.(The Jackson County Times, December 22, 1928, p. 1)
     
 
Catherine Lee Ferguson (1841-1928), widow of Brigadier General Samuel Wragg Ferguson (1834-1917),CSA, died May 27th at Mississippi City.  Her corporal remians were interred in the Beauvoir Cemetery at Biloxi, Mississippi.(The Daily Herald, June 1, 1928, p. 2)
     
 
The Biloxi Milks Products Company opened in early June in its new home on Caillavet Street.  Officers of the company were: R.G. Irby of NOLA, president, and Oglesby Allen and Lyndia Allen, secretary and treasurer.  The Allens formerly operated the Woodlawn Dairy.  Ice cream, milk, cream cheese, buttermilk and cream will be processed by the company.(The Daily Herald, June 1, 1928, p. 2)
     
 
An addition to the White House Hotel began on August 13th with Senator Pat Harrison at the ground breaking.(The Jackson County Times, August 11, 1928, p. 3)
    
 
In 1928, the largest buildings started or completed at Biloxi were: Back Bay Bridge; White House Hotel addition; Saenger Theatre; City Hospital; Howard No. 2 School; and the Biloxi High School Gymnasium.(The Daily Herald, January 7, 1929, p. 2)
    
 
Former Mayor John Comstock Bradford (1855-1928) died at Biloxi on December 31st.(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1929, p. 1)
 
 
1929
 
Edgewater Park Subdivision opened on January 1st with H.S. McLeod as sales director.  Financial interest from New Orleans and Chicago developed the new subdivision.(The Daily Herald, January 7, 1929, p. 6) 
    
 
The Biloxi Kennel Club, greyhound racing track, owned by Biloxi Amusements, Inc. opened on Pass Road on January 12th.  Biloxi Amusements, Inc. was incorporated in Mississippi on December 8, 1928 by Thomas Hobin, William Connors, and John H. Adams.(The Daily Herald, January 14, 1929, p. 3)
   
 
The $200,000 Biloxi Saenger Theatre opened on Reynoir Street in mid-January by Saenger Theatres Inc.  Harold S. Orr was the local manager and E.V. Richards, V.P. and General Manager of the Shreveport, Louisiana based organization.  A.H. Percy was the building contractor; Roy A. Benjamin, architect; and Ray Dilschneider, construction foreman..(The Daily Herald, January 14, 1929, p. 1)
   
 
In early February, Street Commissioner, John Swanzy, had men and machines opening opening Elder Street from Lameuse to Main Street.  It was graded and shelled through the former E.C. Joullian property acquired by the City.(The Daily Herald, February 7, 1929)
     
 
Pearl Lee Atkinson [married later to Louis Gutierrez] and Anthony J. Catchot (1864-1954), Mayor of Ocean Springs ruled the Biloxi Mardi Gras.(The Daily Herald, February 13, 1929, p. 1)
   
 
The Mississippi Coast Amateur [baseball] League was organized in February.(The Daily Herald, February 16, 1929, p. 3)
     

 

Governor Bilbo appointed Mayor John J. Kennedy as Mississippi's official represented to the Boulder dedication ceremony at St. Augustine, Florida.  This historic event marked the completion of the "Old Spanish Trail" from San Diego to the east Florida Coast.(The Daily Herald, March 18, 1929, p. 1)

 
 
In March, Don Hamilton of the Chicago's Olympia Field Country Club beat Don Armstrong, defending champion from Aurora, Illinois, 1 up after 37 holes for the Gulf States Golf Championship at the Biloxi Golf Club.(The Daily Herald, March 21, 1929, p. 8 and March 23, 1929, p. 3)
     
 
In early April, the U.S. Coast Guard Base, Base No. 15, on Back Bay in Naval Reserve Park was dedicated by Rear Admiral F.C. Billiard (1873-1932), Commandant of the USCG.  Captain Samuel P. Edmonds (1867-1943) was in charge of the base until his retirement in 1931.(The Daily Herald, April 8, 1929, p. 1)
       
 
Two monkeys, a brush deer, a sugar bear, and a flamingo were added to the Naval Reserve Park Zoo in early April.  Also Walter M. Lampton donated the funds to build a large fish pond for the park.(The Daily Herald, April 8, 1929, p. 2)      
      
 
The $125,000 sixty-bed, Biloxi Hospital on Front Beach was dedicated July 3rd.  It was designed by Carl Matthes and built by the Collins Brothers of Biloxi with A.L. Mangin, electrical contractor and Biloxi Plumbing and Heating.  The old hospital was demolished in late May and sold to George Seidule.(The Daily Herald, May 17, 1929, p. 1., May 28, 1929, p. 2)
 
      
 
Dorothy Dell Goff (1914-1934) receivied the Miss Biloxi award from Mayor John J. Kennedy (1875-1949) on the 4th of July.  She would go to Hollywood and become 'Dorothy Dell' and makethree movies in 1934.  Dorothy Dell was killed on June 8, 1934 in an auto-train accident in Pasadena, California.  Her corporal remains were intered in the Metairie Cemetery.(The Daily Herald, July 5, 1929, p. 1 and June 14, 1934, p. 1.)
 
 
Audrey Wilkes was named Miss Biloxi.(The Daily Herald, August 25, 1930, p. 2)
 
 
The Curtiss Flying Service of Chicago was considering Biloxi as a winter aviation base.  The planes to be used were amphibian and would land in Back Bay.(The Daily Herald, November 4, 1929, p. 1)
        
 
The Jugo-Slavian Society dedicated their new home on East Howard Avenue on December 26th.  The organization was started circa 1914 with Jake Stanovich (1891-1927), as president, and Phillip Williams, sec.-treasurer. (The Daily Herald, December 27, 1929, p. 1)
      
 
U.S. Post Office was established at the Edgewater Hotel on December 27th.  Thomas Burns, hotel manager, was named postmaster of the station known as Edgewater Park.(The Daily Herald, December 27, 1929, p. 1)
        
 
Ness Creameries, Washington and Lameuse Street, announced a slight increase in the price of their product.(The Daily Herald, December 31, 1929, p. 2)
       
 
The Buena Midget 18 hole putting course opened on West Beach and Hopkins in late December.(The Daily Herald, December 31, 1929, p. 2)
 
 
1930
In January, Robert White bought the Caldwell property at West Howard Avenue and Reynoir Street including the W.V. Joyce Company store building, the five stores in the Caldwell Building, and the lot adjoining the two Howard Avenue properties with a frontage on Reynoir Street.(The Daily Herald, April 23, 1930, p. 12)  

 

Josiah 'J.C.' Coger Clower (1859-1930) expired on January 30th.  He was a native of Scott County, Mississippi and came to the Mississippi Coast circa 1894 and established popular furniture stores in Biloxi and Gulfport.  Mr. Clower was an entrepreneur an active in banking, syrup making, and many other enterprises in South Mississippi.

 

The Back Bay Lumber Co. is removing the derrick and salvaging lumber at a site near the Sunkist Place on Back Bay where the Dalton Oil Company had planned to dig an exploratory oil well.(The Daily Herald,  February 5, 1930, p. 2)

 

Harry T. Howard (1856-1930), native and former Mayor and Biloxi philanthropist, expired at New Orleans on February 19th.  Internment at the Metairie Cemetery.(The Daily Herald, February 19, 1930, p. 1)

 
In April, Robert White and Fred D.P. Snelling of Chicago have taken possession of the H.H. Roof property at 618 West Beach Boulevard.  W.E. Beasley of the Watson Agency made the $9000 sale.  Mr. Snelling is the owner of another West Beach Boulevard lot which he acquired several years ago.(The Daily Herald, April 23, 1930, p. 12) 
   
 
The City of Biloxi passed it first zoning ordinance in late April.  The order regulated the the erection of structures ib District 1, that land lying south of Beach Boulevard from Couevas Street west to the city limits.  The ordinance was passed to prevent the obstruction of wind or of the view from any street running north and south into the beach area within District 1.  In addition, the architecture of structures located within District 1 was to be compatible with builings lying north of the zoned area.(The Daily Herald, May 2, 1930, p. 1)
     
 
The Harrison County, Mississippi Board of Supervisors authorized the acquistion of 1200 acres at Ship Island in May 1930 for $17,837.50.(The Daily Herald, May 6, 1930, p. 1)
       
 
The impressive new Biloxi-Ocean Springs Bridge was dedicated on June 3, 1930 and named The War Memorial Bridge to honor the men and women of Harrison and Jackson County, Mississippi who had served during WW I.  The scenario of the day was Army and Navy airplanes flying overhead; the fishing fleeting and Coast Guard cruising Biloxi Bay;parading by Confederate veterans here for their 40th Reunion and the Coast Guard Patrol, and American Legionnaires with music by the U.S. Marine Band.  Lois Murphy, daughter of Thomas M. Murphy, Commander of the American Legion Post at Ocean Springs and Jack Tardy, son of E.H. Tardy, American Legion adjutant of Biloxi, cut a silk ribbon officially opening the Biloxi Bay span.  The War Memorial Bridge was christened with a bottle of artesian water broken on the span's safety railing by Sara H. Lemon Anderson (1910-2007).  She is the daughter of J.K. Lemon and Sarah George McIntosh Lemon (1884-1939).  The dedication ceremonies concluded with speeches by Dan W. Spurlock, national committeeman of the American Legion, and Rear Admiral Thomas P. Magruder (1867-1938).(The Daily Herald, June 3, 1930, p. 1)
 
 
Dr. Daniel Lester Hollis (1893-1975), physician and surgeon and native of Sulligent, Alabama,opened his office in the Yerger Building [Barq's Building] in July.  Dr. Hollis moved Vola C. Hollis (1897-1994), his wife, and two sons, Daniel L. Hollis II (1924-2000) and Charles Dixie Hollis (1931-2002) from Tampico, Mexico where he had been the surgeon for Royal Dutch Shell Petroleum Company.(The Daily Herlald, July 31, 1930, p. 2)
  
 
Bobbie McManus and John McManus of 316 Gill Avenue in the 'Royal High Oak' were attempting to set a new world record for endurance 'tree-sitting'.  In late July they had been in their tree for 336 hours.(The Daily Herald, July 31, 1930, p. 2)
 
 
Gloria Keller was named Miss Biloxi in late August.  Miss Evelyn Gass was runnerup(The Daily Herald, August 25, 1930, p. 1)
      
 
On August 24th, the Avelez Hotel on West Howard Avenue was severely burned and inflicted about $60,000 in damages.(The Daily Herald, August 25, 1930, p. 1)
      
 
The new Fernwood School opened for students in early September.  The buildingcost $25,000 and had an auditorium with stage that could accommodate an audience of 270 people.  The new school opened with five teachers to supervise and instruct grades one through ten.  All 11th and 12th grade pupils attended Biloxi High School.(The Daily Herald, September 9, 1930, p. 1)
      
 
 The Reverend John Campbell (1863-1937), pastor of the Presbyterian Church planned to retire soon.  He was a native of Glascow, Scotland and an 1892 graduate of Princeton College (NJ).  Reverend Campbell had been in Biloxi since 1914.  He expired  on November 22, 1937.(The Daily Herald, September 10, 1930, p. 2)
 
 
J.W. Mitchell of the Sanborn Map Company is at Biloxi making a new insurance map of the City, which will include an outline of every building in the Biloxi, details of the streets, fire plugs, and other fire information.  Mr. Mitchell has been here two weeks and will remain for another week.  His office is in Atlanta and he will go to Opelousas, Louisiana after completing his work here.  New Sanborn maps are made about every five years.(The Daily Herald, September 16, 1930, p. 2)
 
 
In September 1930, Professor William Woodward was named to 'Who's Who in America'.  He was the first Mississipp artist to be honored and the second Biloxi resident.  Dr. Robert Sharp (1851-1931), former president of Tulane University [1912-1918], had been named earlier.(The Daily Herald, September 24, 1930, p. 2)
 
 
Biloxi High School played Mississippi's first night football game on September 26, 1930 defeating the Lamar County Aggies 58-0 before a crowd of about 2000 spectattors who came from all Coast points to seee this inaugral sporting event.  Captain Chester Juanico led the Indians.  Walter H. Hunt, Eddie Janin and Arnold Davidson headed the committte to erect the lighting scheme.  The  26 lights were placed on seven forty-foot poles were placed five feet from the field on each side of the playing surface.  The 1500-watt globes produced about 56,000 candles of light.(The Daily Herald, September 22, 1930, p. 3 and September 27, 1930, p. 3) 
        
Curtis Ellzey is completing a new bakery building at 1327 East Howard Avenue.  It is a modern bakery of concrete and frame construction and will replace the present bakery on Oak Street.  The ovens are being built by Johnnie Guilder.  Mr. Ellzey has been in Biloxi for about 15 years and in the bakery business for 8 years.(The Daily Herald, October 9, 1930, p. 2)
 
 
 
1931
The W.W. Baltar (1870-1928) home on West Beach and Benachi was heavilty damaged by fire in January.  The edifice suffered $6000 in fire related damages and Miss Juanita Baltar (1912-1986) and John Baltar were present during the conflagration. The house was planned to be rebuilt.(The Daily Herald, January 22, 1931, p. 2)
 
 
Biloxi resident, Dr. Robert Sharp (1851-1931), president of Tulane from 1912-1918 and native of Lawrenceville, Virginia, expired at New Orleans on January 23rd.  Burial Metairie Cemetery.(The Times-Picayune, January 24, 1931)
 
 
In March, Dr. William J. Mayo (1861-1939) of the renown Mayo Clinic of Rochester, Minnesota was in Biloxi en route to Louisiana to join his large yacht and return it up the Mississippi River to Minnesota.  He visited with Dr. J.T. Detweiler while staying at the Buena Vista Hotel.(The Daily Herald, March 12, 1931, p. 1)
The old Arthur Reynoir House on Back Bay west of the Biloxi-North Biloxi Bridge burned to the ground on March 13th.  At this time, it wasvalued at $11,000 andowned by Joseph A. Lawrence (1867-1952).(The Daily Herald, March 13, 1931, p. 1)
 
 
Marcel 'Mickey' Bellande (1909-1982), shortstop for the Springhill College [Mobile] Badgers had three hits including a dinger against the Washington Nationals of the American Association in an exhibition game at the Biloxi Stadium.(The Daily Herald, March 21, 1931, p. 3) 
      
 
Nathan Bedford Forrest II (1872-1931), grandson of Nathan Bedford Forrest (1821-1877), CSA general and founder of the KKK, expired in White Springs, Florida on March 11th.  He was a resident of Biloxi in 1922 before his relocation to Atlanta.(The Daily Herald, March 12, 1931, p. 1)
 
 
In April, eighteen local dairies were supplying Grade A milk to the Biloxi were: Bienville Dairy; Bellew Brothers; Barthes Dairy; Cruthirds Dairy; F. Frentz; Holland [sic] Grantham; Jack Kornman; Jake Kornman; Keegan's Dairy; John Lundy; T.C. Peters; Charles Rushing; Rodenberg Dairy; Arnot Smith; Imperial Dairy; Mack Taylor; L.H. Scarborough; Ed Burt; and Ness Creameries, which had pasteurized Grade A milk.   E.E. Moore was the public health officer for Biloxi. (The Daily Herald, April 18, 1931, p. 2)
      
 
Joseph C. DeLamarre (1851-1931), former Biloxi City marshal, superintendent of the Naval Reserve Park, and employee of Great Southern Golf Club at Gulfport, expired on May 4th.(The Daily Herald, May 5, 1931, p. 8)
       
 
An informal meeting of the Mississippi Coast Historical Society was held at Biloxi City Hall on May 10th to consider the desirability of restoring the old house on Porter Avenue and naming it "The Old Louis Fasier Home".  All members and others interested and especially everyone old and young of the Fayard blood were urged to attend.(The Daily Herald, May 7, 1931, p. 2)
     
"Sunkist Place", the old John F. Popp place on Big Lake near the confluence of the Tchutacabuffa River, burned in late May.(The Daily Herald, June 1, 1931) 
        

The Biloxi Charter of Incorporation of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers [IBEW] was completed on June 3rd.  Elected officers were: E.L. James, pres.; Clemment [sic] Dellinger [sic] (1909-2001), vice pres.; C.A. Davidson, sec.; and George L. Quigley (1913-1976), treas.  Charter membership as follows: Emile Demorelle [sic] (1906-1992); E.E. Burt; Gabriel Kasovich (1909-1975); C. Middleton (1885-1960); Albert Mangin; W.L. Scara; J.A. Stafford; and A.J. Illing.(The Daily Herald, June 4, 1931, p. 2)

 
Edward Carey Joullian (1863-1931), Biloxi packer and spouse of Ophelia Lillian Foster (1865-1924), died on June 4th.
      
 
Charles B. Foster (1877-1931), husband of Mary Caillavet (1877-1951) and Biloxi seafood pioneer and entrepreneur, expired on June 7th.     
      
 
The Biloxi Boys' Band was organized in early June with Professor Charles Carnevale (1896-1966), director; Louis Carron, president; Keith Hester, vp; Edward McDonnell, sec.; Francis Bulber, treasurer; and Bowman Brodnax, business manager.  The directors were: Snow Wetzell; Dominic Fallo (1911-1996); Connie Collins; Floyd Balius; and Oswald Bernich.  The band planned to raise money to attend the 1932 Confederate Reunion at Richmond, Virginia, which was held June 21-June 24, 1932.(The Daily Herald, June 10, 1931, p. 2) 
       
 
Margareth Muller Santini (1828-1931), native of Gutenberg, Bavaria and widow of Joseph Santini (1817-1874), died at 860 West Beach on June 12th.  She had celebrated her 103rd natal anniversary on May 28th.  Her corporal remains were sent to NOLA for internment in St. Louis Cemetery No. 3.(The Daily Herld, June 12, 1931, p. 1 and The Times-Picayune, June 13, 1931, p. 2)
 
 
On August 7th, C.A. Delacruz. Bernard Taltavull and Carroll Williams Jr. chartered the Boatmen's Co-Operative.  They were in business to buy and sell petroleum products and operate storage tanks for petroleum products.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Chattel Bk. 50,p. 549)
       
 
Coach Tranny Lee Gaddy (1894-1975), former Biloxi head coach, was head football coach at Millsaps College.  Curtis Galle, Lloyd Caillavet, Snow Wentzell, and Hyman Schneider were expected to join him at Jackson, Mississippi where Chester Juanico, last year's captain of the Biloxi High team was playing football.(The Daily Herald, August 24, 1931, p. 2)      
  
 
Sir Thomas Johnstone Lipton (1845-1931), Scottish entrepreneur and yachtsman, died on October 2nd.  He lost five challenges to win the America's Cup between 1899 and 1930.
 
 
In late October, Joseph Henry Lamas (1897-1931), keeper of the Naval Reserve Park zoo, was mauled by a bear on October 29th while in the bear's cage at the zoo.  His wife shot and killed the bear.  Mr. Lamas died shortly after the incident.(The Daily Herald, October 29, 1931, p. 1 and October 30, 1929, p. 1) 
 
 
William Franklin Swan (1848-1932) was named Biloxi's 'Outstanding Citizen' of 1931 by the Lion's Club.(The Daily Herald, January 2, 1932, p. 2)
 
 
1932
Martin Sennett 'Mike' Connor (1891-1950) was inaugurated Governor of Mississippi on January 19th.(The Daily Herald, January 18, 1932, p. 1)
    
 
Virginia Theobald [married later to John William Lockett] and Hermes Gautier (18-19), ruled the Biloxi Mardi Gras.(The Daily Herald, February 10, 1932, p. 1 and p. 2)             
      
 
William Gorenflo (1842-1932), native of Bay St. Louis and pioneer seafood canner and Biloxi entrepreneur, died on February 16th.(The Daily Herald, February 17, 1932, p. 1) 
      
 
John E. Beggs, jeweler, and Dr. C.S. McAllister, optometrist, took over the Gabriel Jewelry Company at 200 West Howard Avenue.  Mr. and Mrs. Heyman Gabriel returned to their home at Mobile.(The Daily Herald, February 22, 1932, p. 2)
      
 
Theo Brune (1854-1932), Hanover, Germany born, immigrant architect of NOLA, who designed many buildings at Biloxi, expired in the Crescent City on March 8th.  His corporal remains were interred at St. Joseph's Abbey at Covington, Louisiana, which he also designed.  The Mater Dolorosa Church at New Orleans was another creation from his drafting table. (The Times-Picayune, March 9, 1932, p. 1 and The Daily Herald, March  9, 1932, p. )       

 

In mid-March, the Mayo brothers, Dr. W.J. Mayo (1861-1939) and Dr. C.H. Mayo (1865-1939), were in Biloxi with their large yacht, which had been stored at Lockport, Louisiana for the winter, and moored at the Deweiler Pier on East Beach for a one week sojoun.  They entertained the following doctors and spouses and nurses from the medical community with a trip up Back Bay: Dr. J.F. Detweiler; Dr. P.E. Werlein; Dr. D.L. Hollis; Dr. B.Z. Welch; Dr. G.F. Carroll; Dr. E.A. Trudeau; Dr. W.W. Eley; Dr.C.G. McEachern; Inez Ramsay; Cora Westbrook; Katherine White-Spunner; Doris Trochesset; Hazel O'Regan; and Jeanne DuRocher.  The Mayo brothers were enroute to Flordia.(The Daily Herald, March 16, 1932, p. 2)

 
The USS Constitution, 'Old Ironsides', was moored at Gulfport in late March and visited by many thousands.  On March 27th, at a ceremony in Gulfport, Mayor John J. Kennedy of Biloxi greeted visitors and especially welcomed those on behalf of Coast residents to the multiple events on that day.  The Washington Senators were playing Baltimore and an air circus was being held at Gulfport's Municipal Airport.(The Daily Herald, March 28, 1932, p. 1)
 
 
Melvin G. Ness (1897-1975) began constructing the Ness Building on the northwest corner of Howard Avenue and Caillavet Street.  Currie and Corley of Raleigh, Mississippi were the contractors.  In later years Borden's, a milk company, occupied this space, now home to Josette's, a costume rental agency.  The Ness Creameries plant was expected to be completed in mid-June.(The Daily Herald, April 5, 1932, p. 2, and May 6, 1932, p. 2)

 E.E. Moore, City Health Officer, reported in  late July that Biloxians were receiving healthful milk from the following dairies: Barthes; Bellew; Bienville; E. Burt; Cruthirds; F. Frentz; Grantham; Keegan; Jack Kornman; Jake Kornman; John Lunday; Albert Meaut; Ness; T.O. Peters; Rodenberg; C. Rushing; L. Scarborough; Imperial; A. Smith; and M. Taylor.  Only three of these dairies show an average bacteria count of 25,000 or more.  Since the milk ordiannce went into effect about a year ago, the quality has greatly improved and all of it is being handled under the aegis of strict sanitary regulations.(The Daily Herald, July 28, 1932, p. 2)
 
The J.F. Imbs Milling Co.  of Belleville, Illinois shipped about 1800 sacks of flour to Biloxi for the Red Cross to distribute to needy families.(The Daily Herald, August 2, 1932, p. 2)
     
The 9 week Biloxi fishermen's strike ended on October 7th.  A parade was held from the Red Triangle, their headquarters at Point Cadet, to downtown Biloxi and back.  Nearly 1000 fishermen paticipated in the celebratory walk led by Joseph Randazzo and Alec Ewing of the Biloxi Police Department, Roy Hepler, chairman of the organized fishermen's, committee members, and the Biloxi High School band.(The Daily Herald, October 8, 1932, p. 1)
 
 
The Gulf Coast Shrimpers and Oystermens Association received its State charter on October 10th.  The purpose of this organization was to 'work together for the improvement and betterment of ourselves and our community and to have a legally contitutional and authorized medium by and through we may take better take up and discuss with those for who we work the matter of securing better prices for our catches, and better working conditions for ourselves and co-workers.'  Thefounding members were: Nels K. Nelson (1900-1965), Matre Pitalo, Roy W. Hepler, Martin Newman, and Frank Dismukes.  Joseph Ragusin, a striking fisherman, was wounded in the arm when attempting to stop four Black fisherman from leaving to break the strike.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Chattel Deed Bk. 52, p. 507)

 

The Southern Memorial Park cemetery was founded December 27, 1932 by Robert Hays Holmes (1869-1949).   

 
Building permits at Biloxi in 1932 totaled $46925.  The new Ness Creameries accounted for $35,475 of the total building permits.(The Daily Herald,  December 31, 1932, p. 8)
 

In late December 1932, Laz Lopez (1907-1968) and Jack [John] Lopez (1915-1970) discovered an Indian mound on their West Beach property.  Joseph Paulos [Poulos?], an amateur archaeologist, and local Historian, Anthony V. Ragusin, examined the find which consisted of human bones and pottery.(The Daily Herald, December 31, 1932, p. 1)

 
Total fire loss at Biloxi less than $12,000 for 1932.  In January the W.G. Gorenflo home on Joyner Avenue- loss estimated at $5000;  house on Bohn Street in February loss about $4000; Zingle home on Pine Street burned in March loss $2000; and in July, Tremmel store on Couevas Street loss $1000.(The Daily Herald, December 31, 1932, p. 8)
 
 
Edward Everette 'E.E.' Moore (1879-1947) was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club.(The Daily Herald, January 2, 1933, p. 1)                         
 
 
Prominent Biloxi citizens to die in 1932 were: David Joseph Venus Sr. (1877-1932).
 
 
1933
 
Cleveland Pol Huggins (1885-1933), Harrison County Sheriff, expired from pneumonia on January 25th. Governor Martin Sennett 'Mike' Connor (1891-1950) appointed his spouse, Virginia Greaves Huggins (1890-1974), as the first woman Sheriff of the County until a special election was held in March.  She lost to Oscar L. Meador (1880-1973) of Gulfport.(The Daily Herald, January 26, 1933, p. 1, March 19, 1933, p.1 and March 13, 1933)       
 
 
Florence Friedhoff  (1906-1933+) began her tenure as head of the Biloxi Public Library in February.(The Daily Herald, January 27, 1933, p. 2)   
    
 
The Biloxi Public Library was visited by almost 28,000 patrons who borrowed 33,380 books in 1933.(The Daily Herald, February 17, 1934, p. 2)
    
 
The Washington Nationals of the American League arrived at Biloxi on February 21st.  Their baseball training camp opened on February 24th.  The 3rd annual 'Baseball Night' in honor of Clark Griffith and Joe Cronin and the team was held at the Saenger Theatre on March 22nd.(The Daily Herald, February 21, 1933, p. 2, February 24, 1933, p. 10, and March 20, 1933, p. 2)
      
 
In April 1933, as a child, Mary Margaret Truman Daniel (1924-2008) and her parents, the future President Harry S. Truman (1884-1972) and Elizabeth 'Bess' Virginia Wallace Truman (1885-1982), stayed with Willis A. Luxich (1890-1963) and Thelma Gutierrez Luxich (1898-1986) at Biloxi.  Margaret was prescribed the 'easy Coast climate' and she and Mrs. Truman planned to stay with the Luxich family on West Beach, east of Holmhaven, until June.   In October 1960, Thelma traveled by bus to Baton Rouge to visit the Trumans who were on the campaign trail for JFK in south Louisiana.(The Daily Herald, April 11, 1933, p. 2 and The Morning Advocate, October 23, 1960, p. 8-B)
 
 
The U.S. Coast Guard begin closing its base at Biloxi.  By late June 1933, only three Coast Guard vessels remained in Biloxi.(the Daily Herald, June 2, 1933, p. 9)
     
 
Robert W. Jacobs, Sedalia, Missouri, has leased The Biloxi News from Clayton Rand and is now publisher of the journal.  Mr. Jacobs worked for The San Angelo Times in advertising and was business manager for The Herald at Big Springs, Texas.  He attended the University of Missouri.(The Daily Herald, June 7, 1933, p. 5)
     
 
The Biloxi Boys' Band planned to attend the 1933 Chicago World Fair.  Louis Carron (1910-1998), president; Oswald L. Bernich (1915-1942), vice-president; John E. Dacey (1916-1991), secretary; Edward McDonnell (1912-1986), treasurer; Bowman Brodnax (1907-1991), business mananger; Rames Khayat (1913-1972), drum major; and Professor Charles D. Carnavale (1892-1966), band director.(The Daily Herald, June 7, 1933, p. 5)
     
 
In early June, at a public meeting in City Hall, City Commissioners Michel and Swanzy decided that the Biloxi public bus system become permanent and replace the street car system.  On May 15th, the Gulfport & Mississippi Coast Traction Company had asked permission to abandon the use of the street cars in Biloxi and operate busses in place of the street cars.(The Daily Herald, June 7, 1933, p. 1 and Minutes of the City of Biloxi, Minute Book 15, p. 52)
     
 
Jules Sablich, aka Zudie Hightower,was accused of murdering Frank Anderson (1881-1933) on April 15th.  He was found not guilty in the Circuit Court of Harrison County, Mississippi in June 1934.(The Daily Herald, June 15, 1933, p. 1 and June 23, 1934, p. 1)
       
 
Mississippi National Guard Battery F, 114th Field Artillery located at Biloxi was organized on April 30th.  Captain Hayes Holmes is in command.(The Daily Herald,  May 1, 1935, p. 2) 
      
 
The Club Royale, formerly the Gulf Nite Club, opened on July 1st with Louis Prima (1910-1978) and his Movieland Orchestra.(The Daily Herald, July 1, 1933, p. 2)     
      
 
Mayor John J. Kennedy (1875-1949) resigned from office on July 1st to become Comptroller of Customs at NOLA.  He was appointed to the position by President Franklin D. Roosevelt through the political actions of Byron 'Pat' Harrison (1881-1941),Senator (D-MS).(The Daily Herald, June 13, 1933, p. 1 and July 3, 1933, p. 1)     
      
 
Evelyn Ruth Gass [Husley] (1919-2003) was named Miss Elk-Pat for 1933.(The Daily Herald, July 5, 1933, p. 1)     
     
 
The Biloxi Veterans Administration home at Biloxi opened on August 10th.(The Daily Herald, July 31, 1933, p. 3)     
     
 
Alonzo Gabrich (1894-1948) Police Chief; Arnold 'Skinny' Davidson, City Electrician; and W. Lee Guice, City Attorney, resigned from office.  Chief Gabrich was replaced by George Bills and Mr. Guiceby Walter Wadlington.  Julius M. Lopez became water works superintendent and Frederick Auguste Barthes (1864-1948), fire chief for thirty-three years retired and was replaced by Charles Sentell. (The Daily Herald, August 18, 1933, p. 1 and January 1, 1934, p. 2, and January 2, 1948, p. 1)     
      
 
R. Hart Chinn was elected Biloxi's Mayor in late August defeating Dr. G.F. Carroll.(The Daily Herald, August   1933, p. 1)
 
 
Joe L. Graham American Legion Post 119 of Gulfport acquired Ship Island for $15,000 from the Federal government on September 15th.  The island was about 1260 acres at this time.Ship Island, then about 674 acres,was sold in December 1972 to the Federal government by the Joe L. Graham Post 119 for $102,000.(Harrison Co., Ms. Land Deed Bk. 119, p. 197 and  2nd JD Land Deed Bk. 34, p. 117)
      
 
The new $40,000 Sacred Heart Academy was completed in September.(The Daily Herald, September  1933, p. )
 
 
Frank P. Corso lost his warehouse and goods on Caillavet Street and valued at $6000 to a fire on October 11th.
 
 
In late 1933, Marco Skrmetti or Skrmetta planned to moved his packing operations to Bayou LaBatre, Alabama to to avoid conflict with the seafood worker's union, but the Biloxi union leaders organized the fishermen there and claim to have approximately 115 members.  Jake Rosetti will probably operate the Deer Island Fish and Oyster Company at Biloxi.(The Daily Herald, November 6, 1933, p. 1 and July 27, 1934, p. 1)
   
 
The U.S. Coast Guard awarded B.L. Knost of Pass Christian the contract to erect an airplane hanger for $44,500 at its site on Point Cadet.(The Jackson County Times, November 18, 1933, p. 1)
      
 
The Repeal of Prohibition in the United States was accomplished with the passage of the Twenty-first Amendment to the United States Constitution on December 5, 1933. 
     
 
Former Mayor and merchant, Edward Glennan (1854-1933), expired at his West Beach Biloxi home on December 16, 1933.(The Daily Herald, December 18, 1933, p. 1)
     
 
Tom Mix (1880-1940), 'King of the Cowboys', a cinema Western star, appeared at the Saenger Theatre on December 22nd.  He came in his $10,000 Rolls Royce.  Mix's entourage consisted of:  a stage band, trucks, and automobiles.(The Daily Herald, December 22, 1922, p. 2) 
    
 
The Pastime Cafe was incorporated in early December by James Vlahos (1885-1973), Nick Vlahos (1897-1987), and Angeline Vlahos (1893-1985).(Harrison Co., Mississippi Chattel Deed Bk. 54, p. 26)
      
 
Paul W. Brielmaier (1868-1933), native of Canton, Ohio and Biloxi millwright, died on December 24th.(The Daily Herald, December 26, 1922, p. 2)
   
 
Walter G. Wilkes was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club.
 
 
Prominent Biloxi citizens to die in 1933 were: Peter Bellande (1871-1933), policeman; Fred Bleur (1870-1933)-jeweler and watchmaker; John Schwenck; Sheriff Cleveland Pol Huggins (1885-1933); Edward Glennan (1854-1933) former Mayor and merchant; and Paul W. Brielmaier.(1868-1933) glass works.(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1934, p. 2)
 
 
1934
The $4,000,000 Shushan Airport [now Lake Front Airport]at NOLA on Lake Ponchartrain was dedicated on 9 January.  It was named for Abraham Lazar Shushan (1894-1966), president of the Orleans Parish Levee Board.(The Daily Herald, January 5, 1934, p. 1)
 
 
The Zulu Parade, a Negro Mardi Gras festivity, rolled on February 13th.(The Daily Herald, February 13, 1934, p. 1)
        
 
Evelyn Ramsay of Ocean Springs and John McDonald of Bay St. Louis ruled the Biloxi Mardi Gras.(The Daily Herald, February 14, 1934, p. 1)
       
 
Mardi Gras was celebrated in North Biloxi with Mary Blanche Greenwell (b. 1908) and John J. Kennedy ruling the Carnival Ball.(The Daily Herald, February 17, 1934, p. 2)
        
 
John A. Swanzy  (1881-1965), City Commissioner, was in charge ofconstruction of the new Biloxi Airport.  Swanzy had about 40 FERA men hauling dirt and removing stumps.  Joe Tucci, foreman, had four city truck and two private trucks on the job.  The City aspired to complete the work by summer's end.(The Daily Herald, April 27, 1934, p. 1)
     
 
The Fleur de Lis Society was founded in the home of Clarence Boudin in 1934.(The Daily Herald, May 3, 1958, p. 4)
     
 
Fritz Salmen (1854-1934), founder of the Salmen Brick & Lumber Company of NOLA and Slidell in 1884, expired in May.  In November 1882, he had married Rose Liddle of Handsboro, Harrison County, Mississippi.  Mr. Salmen's corporal remans were interred at Slidell, Louisiana.(The Daily Herald, May 30, 1934, p. 3)
     
 
Rudolph Anthony Lesso (1921-1990), student at Howard No. 2 Public School and under the tutelage of Miss Annie Lang [Strayham], was marble shooting champion of South Mississippi.(The Daily Herald, June 22, 1934 and June 23, 1924)
 
 
Thomas Burns, manager of the Edgewater Hotel since its opening, will become the manager of the Jung Hotel in NOLA.(The Daily Herald, June 26, 1934, p. 2) 
     
 
United Novelty, State appointeddistributor of the Wurlitzer auto phonograph, Pace penny weighing scales, Balley marble tables and contact marble tables, planned to open an office in Jackson.  William C. Caillavet was Biloxi manager andJ.P. Howard, the new Jackson manager. J.J. Bertucci would divide his time between the two offices.(The Daily Herald, June 27, 1934, p. 5)
      
 
In June, George Seidule has acquired the old Pablo home on East Beach and started demolition today.  The building is a landmark that has been here for years, but is now in a dilapidated condition.(The Daily Herald, June 28, 1934, p. 5)
   
 
In late June, O.E. Thompson (1874-1944) made extensive improvements to the Hahn Building on West Howard Avenue amd Magnolia Street.  Louis Hahn will move his Parlor Shoe Store to the east side of the building and J.E. Eliot Jewelery and Millinery Store will occupy the west half.(The Daily Herald, June 29, 1934, p. 8)
     
 
Over 500 boats and 5000 workers were engaged in the seafood industry at Biloxi when the shrimp season opened on August 15th.  On July 26th, the Seacoast Packing Company opened its remodeled packing room designed to meet the requirements of the pure food and drugs administration and the recommendations of the National Cannery Association.(The Daily Herald, July 27, 1934, p. 1)
      
 
Brother Isaiah, nee John Cudney (1847-1934), healer and miracle worker, who lived in the St. Martin area of Jackson County in the early 1920s, passed on at Oroville, California in late July 1934, breaking the pledge to his faithful cult that he would never die!(The Jackson County Times, July 28, 1934, p. 2)
      
 
Local seafood packers endorsed and supported the 1st   'Oyster Festival' sponsored by the Lodge of the Biloxi Elks Club.  Miss Violet Magas representing the Anticich Packing Company won the eventMiss Elizabeth Misko representing the DeJean Packing was second and Miss Josephine Tremontana place third.  Other ladies particpating were: Eva Taliancich-Kuluz brothers Packing Company; Yvonne Blanchard-Dorgan-McPhillips Packing Company; Floris Kullivan-Mavar Fish & Oyster Compnay; and Evelyn Melerine-C.C. [Cruso Canning] Company(The Daily Herald, August 28, 1934, p. 1, August 30, 1934, p. 1, and September 3, 1934, p. 1)
      
 
Arthur E. Scruggs was elected principal of the Biloxi High School replacing George Ditto who was named Biloxi School Superintendent by the local school board.(The Daily Herald, August 29, 1934, p. 1)
 
 
Henry Joseph Meaut (1842-1934), long time Biloxi public servant and Civil War veteran, expired on September 30, 1934.(The Daily Herald, October 3, 1934, p. 1)
      
 
Mayor R. Hart Chinn was bound over to the Grand Jury for striking City Commissioner John A. Swanzy on August 22nd.(The Daily Herald, October 3, 1934, p. 1)
      
 
Anthony V. Ragusin (1902-1997), Secretary of the Biloxi Chamber of Commerce, was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen of 1934 by the Lions Club.(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1935, p. 1 and and January 4, 1935, p. 2)
    
 
1935
In early January, former Mayor R. Hart Chinn (1888-1972)refused to leave City Hall and Mayor elect, John A. O'Keefe (1891-1985), with three deputy sheriff, a constable, Alonzo L. Gabrich (1894-1948), former Chief of Police, and an armed force of loyal supporters took City Hall by force and occupied it until Chinn's issues were resolved by the law.(The Daily Herald, January 5, 1935, p. 1, Janaury 7, 1935, p. 1, January 8, 1935, p. 1, January 19, 1935, p. 1 and January 24, 1935, p. 1)
       
 
The Carnival Association elected not to have a Mardi Gras parade held in 1935.
        
 
Francis Delmas 'Peter' Moran (1853-1935), oldest native Biloxian and former Ship Island bar pilot, died at his Back Bay residence on January 26th.(The Daily Herald, January 26, 1935, p. 1)
 
 
Washington Senators arrive at Biloxi
[L-R: Mayor John A. O'Keefe (1891-1985); Frederick A. Tucei (1889-1954), City Commissioner; Clark C. Griffith (1869-1955), owner Washington Senators; John A. Swanzy (1881-1965), City Commissioner. Image by A.V. Ragusin (1902-1997) from the Ray L. Bellande Historical Imagery Archives]
        
Clark C. Griffith (1869-1955), owner of the Washington Senators, arrived at Biloxi in mid-February to complete arrangements for the opening of the 1935 Baseball spring training session.(The Daily Herald, February 19, 1935, p. 6)
       
Mona Khayat Terretta, formerly of Biloxi and now of Hollywood, California, had a minor role in "The Lives of a Bengal Lancer", a 1935 movie production, about British  soldiers defending the borders of India from nomadic raiders.  It starred Gary Cooper, Franchot Tone, Richard Cromwell, and others.(The Daily Herald, March 2, 1935, p. 2) 
       
Southern Memorial Park cemetery on Front Beach owned by Robert Hayes Holmes (1869-1949) officially opened on April 21, 1935.  Some fo the earliest internments were Maude Dell Easterling Lewis (1878-1935), Laura Bagley Gay (1905-1935), Sarah M. Wentworth (1842-1935).  By September 2014, more than 5500 burial had been recorded.(The Daily Herald,  April 20, 1935, p. 5)
      
Mississippi National Guard Battery F, 114th Field Artillery located at Biloxi was organized on April 30th.  Captain Hayes Holmes in command.(The Daily Herald,  May 1, 1935, p. 2)
   
On May 6, 1935, the Works Progress Administration (W.P.A.) was created to help provide economic relief to the citizens of the United States who were suffering through the Great Depression.
     
 W.H. Bouslog (1851-1935), native of Indiana and resident of Gulfport, Mississippi since 1903, died on May 23rd at Gulfport.  He was elected Mayor of Gulfport in 1912, but was reknown for his development of the agricultural and horticultural resources; real estate and commercial ventures; and entrepreneurship on the Mississippi coast.(The Daily Herald, May 23, 1935. p. 1)
     
The Holmes Motor Company of Robert Hays Holmes (1869-1949) and sons, the local Ford agency, was acquired by brothers,L.V. Pringle Jr.(1902-1974); Robert H. Pringle (1904-1981); Thomas N. Pringle (1906-1970); and Victor B. Pringle (1909-1977); cousin, Frank E. Pringle Jr. (1909-1957); and Dewey R. Reagan (1897-1969).  The business, the Pringle-Reagan Company, was situated on the northeast corner of Caillavet and West Howard.  The new agency opened late June with personnel that included: E. Jacquot and John Stojich; T.N. Lightsey and J.W. Watts-salesmen; and George Wilson, Robert Illsley, Dudley Powell, and H. Campbell-shop force.  By June 1940, the company had 18 employesss and a payroll of $19,224.(The Daily Herald, June 2, 1935, p. 2, July 1, 1935, p. 2)
 
Frances Pavlov, age 19, daughter of Captain and Mrs. Peter Pavlov was named Oyster Queen at the Elks Frolic on Labor Day.  The court was composed of Katherine Lepoma; Agnes Langlinais; Camelia Ryan; Inez Brousssard; Eleanor Groue; and Joan Moore.  Miss Pavlov was sponsored by Captain Steve Sekul, plant manger of the the Seacoast Packing Company.(The Daily Herald, August 14, 1935, p. 1 and September 2, 1935, and September 3, 1935, p. 2)
 
Oil leases in Jackson, Harrison, Hancock, Stone, Pearl River, George, Greene, Perry, Forrest, Lamar, and Marion Counties in south Mississippi were held by Sun Oil, Gulf Refining Company, Standard Oil, Texas Company, Humble Oil & Refining, Pelican, Magnolia Petroleum, and United Gas.  Acreage under lease totaled 2,500,000 acres.  Gulf Refining held about 1,250,000 acres in the region.  F.P. Benjamin in June 1935 leased 125,000 acres mostly in Harrison County.(The Daily Herald, September 4, 1935, p. 1)
     
In mid-September, the Wesson Oil Company through the Southern Shell Fish Company, its subsidiary, acquired the former C.B. Foster Canning Company on Back Bay from the Peoples' Bank.  The plant had been idle for about two years.  Chester A. Delacruz was named plant manager.(The Jackson County Times, September 14, 1935, p. 1)
 
Peter Cerenich, John Sekul, Matre Pitalo, Matt Trebotich and Tony Barhonovich left Biloxi on 12 September for Baton Rouge to attend the funeral of Louisiana's assaininated governnor, Huey P. Long Jr. (1893-1935).(The Daily Herald, September 12, 1935, p. 4)
        
 
      Thomas Henry Gleason(1857-1935)
 
Thomas H. Gleason (1857-1935), resident of Biloxi since 1895, died on October 1st.  Judge Gleason was an active Mason, commercial photographer, successful politician, coroner, and one time undertaker.(The Daily Herald, October 2, 1935, p. 2)
    
Eugene P. Wilkes (1885-1980), co-publisher and managing editor of The Daily Herald, was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen of 1935 by the Lions Club.(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1936, p. 1)
 
 
1936
The Billikens, a carnival club of seventy-five maids and matrons, was organized at Biloxi on January 3, 1936.  The initial officers were: Myrtis B. Whetstone [Cline] captain; Eleanor G. Youska Baker, secretary; Annie Lang [Strayham], treasurer; Avis Linnelle Welch [Vignes]; Ada Moore, and Mrs. John Gryder, board members.  The Billikens held their first masked dance on February 7, 1936.(The Daily Herald, January 7, 1936, p. 2)
 

General John W.A. O’Keefe
 
Mayor John A. O'Keefe of Biloxi became Adjutant General of Mississippi on January 22, 1936.  Hugh Lawson White (1881-1965), the Mississippi Governor-elect, had promised O’Keefe this position in his administration for the Mayor’s influence and political support during his campaign for the office to lead Mississippi. Mayor O’Keefe’s announced to his constituency that he would resign as Biloxi’s Mayor on February 10, 1936 to lead the State’s 2000 National Guardsmen. The salary was $2700 per year.  Mayor O’Keefe succeeded Thomas Grayson, also from Biloxi, and an appointee of Governor Martin Sennett ‘Mike’ Connor (1891-1950).
 
 
Hugh Lawson White (1881-1965) was inaugurated Governor of Mississippi on January 25th.
      
 
Captain Bob Ward, Hollywood stuntman and daredevil driver, came to Biloxi as the guest of Dees Chevrolet to perform.(The Daily Herald, January 9, 1936, p. 5)
     
 
Peter Quave (1856-1936), North Biloxi businessman, expired on January 10th.(The Daily Herald, January 10, 1936, p. 1)
    
 
Josephine Gorenflo [married Lewis E. Curtis Jr.] and John A. Swanzy  (1881-1965), City Commissioner of Biloxi ruled the Biloxi Mardi Gras.(The Daily Herald, February 13, 1936, p. 1)
     
 
Walter Hagen (1892-1969), professional golfer and Joe Kirkwood Sr. (1897-1970), Australian golf pro and golf trick shot artist, were at the Biloxi Country Club on February 26th for an exhibition match with local golfers.(The Daily Herald, February 26, 1936, p. 8)   
     
 
Factory owners and fishermen agreed on the price for shrimp between $5 and $6 per barrel depending on size.  Factory owners also paid $1.50 per barrel for freight and furnished ice.  A $.50 increase per barrel would commence after October 1st.(The Daily Herald, April 8, 1936, p. 1)

 

On May 24, 1936, Albert B. Austin (1876-1951), Biloxi realtor and entrepreneur, departed New Orleans with a tour group for San Francisco where he sailed on May 29th on board the SS President Pierce of the Dollar Line for Honolulu, Hawaii and Manila, Philippines.  The ship reached Japan on 15 June and Albert visited the interior of the country departing on 26 June for Bombay, India.  He spent from 23 July to 7 August in India.  The SS President Harrison embarked for Alexandria, Egypt from Bombay and arrived there on 18 August.  On 1 September, Albert left Egypt on the SS President Hayes for Marseille, France and had avoided visiting Palestine.   He landed on French soil on 9 September where the tour ended.  In France, Mr. Austin continued his extended holiday independently.  He spent two weeks in France visiting its principal cities with excursions to battlefields and chateaus of former royalty.  A month was enjoyed in the United Kingdom touring England, Ireland and Scotland.  Albert then went to Holland and Germany for two weeks.  He remained ten days in Switzerland reveling in the beauty of the Swiss Alps.  Austin’s three weeks in Italy were highlighted by an audience with Pope Pius XII, seeing Mussolini, the benevolent dictator, and a visit to the Isle of Capri.  Mr. Austin sailed from Marseille, France on November 19, 1936.  The ship went west and was in range of the Spanish coast and eased past Gibraltar headed for the Azores.  A.B. Austin arrived at New York City and returned to Biloxi in the first week of December.((The Daily Herald, May 24, 1936, p.5) and December 14, 1936, p. 4)    

 
 
The Biloxi Pilot Club received its charter on May 22, 1936 at the White House Hotel.  Elected officers for the newly chartered civic group were: Louise Mallard, pres.; Edna Schewrich, v. pres.; Kate Peppard, 2nd v. pres.; Cary F. Goodman, rec. secretary; and Ruth Holleman, treasurer.(The Daily Herald, May 25, 1936, p. 5)
 
 
Bessie Hunt Dantzler (1879-1936), spouse of L.N. Dantzler Sr. (1866-1943), expired at Asheville, North Carolina on June 28th.  Her corporal remains were interred at Vicksburg, Mississippi.(The Daily Herald, July 2, 1936, p. 5)   
     
 
The Biloxi Sports Carnival began on July 3rd. The Marathon swim was won by Freddie Anderson of Memphis.  Edward J. Brou (1921-2004) of Ocean Springs was second and Rene Trochesset (1914-1985) of Biloxi placed third.(The Daily Herald, July 1, 1936, p. 1 and July 3, 1936, p. 8)   
     
 
Governor Hugh L. White (1881-1965) was named honorary Commodore of the BYC on July 8th.(The Daily Herald, July 9, 1936, p. 1)
    
 
Captain Dewey Richard Reagan (1897-1969) led Battery F, 114th Field Artillery to Camp Shelby.(The Daily Herald, July 3, 1936, p. 2)
     
 
Amera Court, six, three-room bungalows, were being built at 111 West Water Street behind the Castenara property.(The Daily Herald, July 4, 1936, p. 2)
    
 
Eddie Blake found a copper, French Colonial coin dated 1721 on East Beach Boulevard.(The Daily Herald, July 13, 1936, p. 5)
    
 
dredge boat operated by the Louisiana Materials Company and supervised by Garner Brothers engineers began building a sand beach at selected sites on Biloxi's Front Beach and Back Bay.(The Daily Herald, July 16, 1936, p. 1)
     
 
Colonel Dallas B. Smith (1882-1936), native of Opelika, Alabama and first director of the Biloxi VA died on August 1st.  he was replaced by Major Eugene A. Hiller (1898-1970).  Major E.A. Hiller was born at Ellzey, Calhoun County, Mississippi and a veteran of WWI.(The Daily Herald, January 25, 1970, p. A2) 
 

August 1936, Adjutant General John A. O’Keefe (1893-1985), formerly of Biloxi, and 2175 officers and troops of the 155th Infantry-Mississippi, the 156th Infantry-Louisiana, the 106th Quartermasters Regiment-Mississippi and other Louisiana National Guard units spent two weeks training at Camp Beauregard near Alexandria, Louisiana.  The medical detachment from Biloxi led by Lt. Eldon L. Bolton (1910-1990), the Quartermasters unit from Ocean Springs in charge of Lt. Walter Holloway, and Company M out of Gulfport with Captain Glenn Rutledge in command were also encamped. (The Daily Herald, August 24, 1936, p. 2)

 
Camp McClellan, Mississippi National Guard base, located in Jackson County was being dismantled and relocated to Camp Shelby.(The Daily Herald, August 24, 1936, p.2)
     
 
The Buck Theatre, formerly the Gaiety Theatre, on the northwest corner of Lameuse and Jackson Streets opened in late December.  Arsene O. Bourdon (1868-1959) was the manager of the movie house, with over four hundred seats, which approximately one hundred were in the balcony for Colored folks.(The Daily Herald, December 17, 1936, p.1)
     
 
Mayor Louis J. Braun (1890-1951), John T. White, Ross L. Fickes, and A.V. Ragusin went to Marianna, Florida to convene on the promotion of tourist travel on The Old Spanish Trail.(The Daily Herald, November 26, 1936, p. 1)
 
 
Charles Morrison has commenced work on a new five-room home for Edward Barq adjacent to the new Barq's Bottling Plant on Lameuse Street and the L&N Railroad. The home will be ready for the Barq's occupancy about the middle of January1937.(The Daily Herald, November 2, 1936, p. 5)
   
 
Frank E. Bowes (1882-1963), Division Manager for SW Gas and Electric was named Biloxi’s Outstanding Citizen for 1936.(The Daily Herald, 
 
 
 
1937       
In February, construction at Biloxi saw the new Frank P. Corso home and warehouse, new Sinclair station, and Veteran's Facility being erected.  Improvement were being made to the new Barq's Root Beer plant.(The Daily Herald, February 3, 1937, p. 2)
 
 
Biloxi's new 1 and 1/2 mile sand beach was completed in March.  It cost $80,000 and was built by dredges of the Louisiana Materials Inc, and Jahncke Services Co. Inc. that pumped 70,000 cubic yards of quartz sand onto the south side of the seawall.(The Daily Herald, March 15, 1937, p. 1)
 
 
The Pan American Clipper, a $15,000, diesel powered, excursion boat, recently completed by Toche Brothers Shipyard on East Beach, has been operating for several weeks between Biloxi and Ship Island with Captain Peter Martin Skrmetta (1885-1963) at the helm.  The vessel was built for the Mavar Fish and Oyster Company and runs at 12 mph.  The boats runs from her main landing at the foot of Delaunay Street [Baltar Pier?] and makes stops at the Buena Vista, Hotel Biloxi, and White House piers on its regular schedule of three trips daily.(The Daily Herald, March 30, 1937, p. 3, May 29, 1937, p. 6, and June 25, 1938, p. 3)
 
 
In April 1937, The Daily Herald reported that "The Camp of the Saints" has located on the M.R. Davis place on the Meunier property in North Biloxi. The followers of the late Brother Isaiah (1847-1934), which numbered about twelve and were primarily men, decided that the Biloxi area was an ideal location. They were seeking a large farm to share crop. The disciples of Brother Isaiah believed in making their livelihood from agriculture, not from donations. They did not plan to practice any form of healing like their deceased leader. The religious cult had disbanded in 1936, in northern California.  The 'Saints' had left Biloxi in 1925 for Fort Meyers, Florida before relocating to Raceland, Louisiana circa 1929.  Their journey had ended in Oroville, California.(The Daily Herald, April 20, 1937, p. 10)      

 

On April 1st, work began on the new Central Fire Station near City Hall between Main and Elmer Streets.  The new station was designed by John T. Collins and is 47 feet by 70 feet with a dormitory for 7 men and a kitchen.  It is taking the place of the Fayard Street fire station and fire apparatus from Mississippi Hook & Ladder Company No. 1 will be utilized.  Christian A. Thompson is superintendent of the 20 man work force erecting the $10,000 structure.  The new station was dedicated on July 1, the birthday of Mayor Louis Braun who is also fire commissioner for the City.(The Daily Herald, April 20, 1937, p. 1 and July 1, 1937, p. 1)

 

The new West End Fire Station was dedicated on July 8th. John T. Collins was project architect and Robert Conway built the fire engine.  Mayor Louis Braun reminded the audience that 15 months prior while a candidate for Mayor, he promised that he would make improvements to Biloxi's Fire Department if elected.(The Daily Herald, July 9, 1937, p. 1)

 

The new Back Bay Fire Station was dedicated on July 20th during the annual Picnic and Bazaar of the Fourth Ward Regulars.  John T. Collins was architect and Robert Conway had built the company's fire engine which had an 85 HP motor and 850 feet of regular hose.  It was the 5th fire apparatus for the Back Bay Fire Company since its 1904 organization.(The Daily Herald, June 21, 1937, p. 1)

 
President Franklin Delano Roosevelt (1882-1945) visited the Mississippi Gulf Coast in late April visiting Beauvoir and the Gulfport VA Hospital.(The Daily herald, April 30, 1937, p. 11) 
      
 
Eurilda Glavan (1915-2002) entered the St. Joseph's Academy in NOLA on March 19, 1937 as a novice in the Society of the Sisters of St. Joseph.(The Daily Herald, March 20, 1937, p. 2)
      
 
Joseph W. Swetman (1863-1937), native of Handsboro and former Biloxi Mayor and businessman, expired on May 31st at 433 Delauney Street, his residence.(The Daily Herald, May 31, 1937, p. 1)
      
 
W.W. Bergoffen, New Jersey native, was named ranger for the Biloxi District of the Desoto National Forest.  He replaced Max Brown.(The Daily Herald, July 17, 1937, p. 6)
       
 
Captain Dewey Regan, 1st Lt. George Stannus, and 2nd Lt. John Joyce led the 114th Regiment to Camp Shelby for two weeks training with their 155mm howitzer.(The Daily Herald, July 17, 1937, p. 6)
       
 
James A. Brodie (1855-1937), native of Scotland and horticulturist living in North Biloxi, expired on October 26th.
 
 
The new Barq's Root Beer Company plant on Lameuse Street and the L&N Railroad was dedicated in early December.(The Daily Herald, December 8, 1937, p. 3)
       
 
Mayor Louis J. Braun (1890-1951) named Biloxi’s Outstanding Citizen for 1937.(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1938, p. 1)
 
 
1938
The Centennial Anniversary of Biloxi’s city charter was recognized.(The Daily Herald,  January 12, 1938, p. 1)
     
H.R. Richmond and J.B. Richmond will enter four floats in the Junior Carnival parade on Mardi Gras Day. Every year, the children in their neighborhood have held a juvenile parade.  This year they will form a part of the Coast wide Mardi Gras parade on Mardi Gras Day.(The Daily Herald, February 24, 1938, p. 2)
 
Madeline Kuljus, daughter of Luka Kuljis (1885-1965), was named Miss Biloxi.(The Daily Herald,  February 11, 1938, p. 8)
    
Anson Holley beat W.E. ‘Bill’ Beasley to win the Biloxi Country Club championship 3 and 2.(The Daily Herald,  February 23, 1938, p.6)
    
The Philadelphia Phillies began their spring training camp at Biloxi in late February. (The Daily Herald, February 28, 1938, p. 3)
    
Claude Passeau (1909-2003), outstanding Gulf Coast athlete and pitcher for the Philadelphia Phillies, was honored at Biloxi on March 27th by it being proclaimed 'Claude Passeau Day'.  Claude joined the Phillies in 1936.(The Daily Herald, March 26, 1938, p. 7)
     
Anthony V. 'Tony' Ragusin (1902-1997) entered  26 images in the Mississippi Art Association exhibit with subjects ranging from fishing, fisheries, bridges, and birds.(The Daily Herald, March 31, 1938, p. 6)
     
On April 18th , the City of Biloxi leased the NE/4 of Naval Reserve Park to Boy Scouts Camp Inc., E.P. Wilkes, president.  The site included 11 buildings, a pier built for scout purposes, and the land was surrounded by a fence.(Harrison Co., Ms. Land Deed Bk. 221, pp. 566-567 and City of Biloxi Minute Bk. 17, pp. 399-400)
    
In mid-May, Jack Fayard, Biloxi architect and builder, accepted bids for the Slavonian Lodge building.
      
 
John Elmer Dacey (1916-1991), Biloxi native and 1934 BHS Valedictorian, graduated first in the 1938 Class of the US Naval Academy of 439 Midshipmen.  Dacey also received numerous academic awards at the military academy in Annapolis, Maryland.  He died in Florida as a retired Rear Admiral and his corporal remains interred at Arlington Cemetery.(The Daily Herald, May 3, 1938, p. 1)
     
The Biloxi Tree Association was organized on June 5th under the large Live Oak tree at the Garner Tullis home-953 East Beach Drive.  Edward C. Tonsmeire was elected president; Donald R. FitzRoy, vice-president; and Mrs. W.O. Clark, secretary.  (The Daily Herald, June 6, 1938, p. 8)
 
Camp Wilkes, the new Boy Scouts of America camp and named for Eugene P. Wilkes (1885-1980), was dedicated in early June.(The Daily Herald, June 7, 1938, p. 1)
 
The new Biloxi Community House [WPA Project 20,814] was approved by the President in June 1938. John T. Collins was the architect of the wood-frame Colonial style structure with an auditorium seating of 850 people and 350 people in the balcony. The new building replaced the old community house and the cost to erect the building was $17,054 of which Biloxi was to fuenish $6,287.(The Daily Herald, June 15, 1938, p. 1) 
     

Ethel Arguelles (1897-1938), principal of the Howard No. 1 primary school for 13 years, died at the Biloxi Hospital on July 28th. She had graduated from Biloxi High School in 1916 and began as a substitute teacher at the old East End School. Ethel had studied during the summers at Tulane, Peabody College, Loyola, and the State Teachers' College at Hattiesburg. (The Daily Herald, July 28, 1938, p. 1)Frances Kuluz was named Miss Biloxi and Clare Sekul elected Miss Yugoslavia.(The Daily Herald, August 2, 1939, p. 5)


    

 
Miss Claire Sekul [Hornsby] (1921-2017) was named Miss Yugoslavia by the Slavonian Benovelent Association.(The Daily Herald, August 8, 1939, p. 5)
 
 
The Burns Hotel, formerly the Kennedy Hotel, on the southeast corner of Reynoir and Railroad Street was damaged by fire and water on October 8th.(The Daily Herald, October 8, 1938, p. 1)
     
The new St. Nicholas Slavic Benevolent Society Lodge [Slavonian Lodge] on First Street and Myrtle at Point Cadet was dedicated on November 20th.  The $20,000, two-story structure was erected by the Collins Brothers, general contractors, from a design by Jack Fayard, the architect.  Steve Kuljis was president of the organization at this time and building sponsors were Mary Anticich and Alonzo Gabrich.(The Daily Herald, November 19, 1938, p. 3)
     
Joseph E. Combel (1853-1938), native of Bay St. Louis and former BIloxi and NOLA hardware merchant, died at Mobile, Alabama on November 24th.  His corporal remains were sent to the Greenwood cemetery in NOLA for internment.(The Times-Picayune, November 25, 1938, p. 2)
   
The Reverend Edward A. DeMiller (1889-1959), Rector of the Episcopal Church of the Redeemer, was named Biloxi's Citizen of the Year by the Lion's Club.
 
 
1939
 
The new Beach Community House was dedicated in March?(The Daily Herald, January 11, 1939, and March  1939, p.  )
    
On May 28th, Mayor Louis J. Braun and his Board organized the Biloxi Housing Authority to create low-cost, public housing in local, blue collar neighborhoods.  The first BHA board consisted of: H.L. Schwan, chairman; Chester A. Delacruz; Dr. Robert F. Smith; C.N. Ellzey Sr.; and W.J. Collins.  Jules A. Schwan was sec.-treas.(The Daily Herald, January 5, 1952, p. 2)
    
On 19 January by a vote of 877 for and 443 against, the citizens of Biloxi effective 1 February approved a salary increase for the Mayor and City Commissioners from $200 to $300 per month.(The Daily Herald, January 20, 1939, p. 1)
 
The Reverend Byron Holley (1855-1939), native of Rochester, New York and former pastor of the Episcopal Church of the Redeemer and president of the Biloxi City Hospital [1917-19210, expired at Burbank, California om 2 May 1939.  His corporal remains were sent to NOLA for interrment in the Masonic Cemetery No. 1.(The Daily Herald, May 9, 1939, p. 1)
 
 
The Gulf Coast Examiner, a weekly journal "dedicated to Good Government" and published by the Gulf Coast Publishing Company and located at Lameuse and Washington Streets, published its first issue on June 15th.  E.J. Hosch, formerly assistant publicity director at Mississippi State College was editor and publisher.  Edward Brumfield, formerly of the Mississippi Guide, was advertising manager and superintendent of the mechanical engineering department. Other employees were: Virgil England, fomerly with the Miami, Oklahoma Daily News Record; Samuel Wells; Clyde Campbell; and Mrs. E.J. Hosch.(The Daily Herald, June 15, 1939, p. 3)
 

Dr. Robert Bruce McGehee (1884-1939), first president of the Gulf Coast Military Academy, died at Troy, Alabama on July 26, 1939.(The Daily Herald, July 27, 1939, p. 1)

 
Construction commenced in May on the Broadwater Beach Hotel.(The Daily Herald, August 20, 1956, p. 1)  
    
Veronica Anticich Cangemi (1919-1998) was named Miss Yugoslavia garnering 12,450 votes to beat Frances Pavlov who had 2880 votes.(The Daily Herald, August 2, 1939, p. 5)
    
Florian Seal (1852-1939), prominent Biloxi businessman and politician who was five time Harrison County Sheriff and eight time Harrison County Tax Assessor expired on December 11th.
    
Louise Andre' McDonnell (1888-1975), Biloxi nurse and social worker, was the first woman to be recognized by the Biloxi Lions Club as it 'Outstanding Citizen' in December 1939.  She was in charge of the Evangelical Lutheran Clinic [formerly known as the Back Bay Mission-in 2011 IP Casino on part of this property] on Back Bay.  Louise died at Biloxi on March 31, 1975.(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1940, p. 1)
    
By the end of 1939, Biloxi with the aid of the WPA had paved 21 miles of its streets.  Four more miles of street remained to be paved, while over 30 miles of Biloxi roads had been paved before the WPA became involved.(The Daily Herald, January 2, 1940, p. 1)
 
Biloxi had 2166 telephones.(The Daily Herald, January 17, 1947, p. 9)
 
 
1940-1949
Biloxi like the rest of the nation was still in the Depression as the new decade began.  Economic news improved when the Federal government began the of  construction of Keesler Field in the spring of 1941.  With the bombing of Pearl Harbor, Hawaii on December 7, 1941, America became engaged in WWII with the Empire of Japan.  This conflict and the entry into the European Theatre against Germany and Italy in 
 
 
1940    
E. Dewey Lawrence succeeded Walter Nixon as Beat 1 Supervisor.(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1940, p. 1)
   
R.C. Edwins took the oath of Sheriff to protect the citizens of of Harrison County.(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1940, p. 1) 
   
Calvin E. Dees (1877-1954) took office torepresent Harrison and Stone Counties in the State Senate, while Howard McDonnell became Harrison Counties representative in theState House.(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1940, p. 1 and p. 5)
     
F.A. Tucei, City Commissioner, was ready to commence the $17,000 WPA program for the new athletic field on Lee Street north of the L&N Railroad.  The project included grading, drainage, fencing, construction of a playing field, 1/4 mile track, and three practice fields.  John T. Collins was the project architect.(The Daily Herald, Jnauary 1, 1940, p. 1) 
     
The Jackson Brewing Company of NOLA celebrated its 50th anniversary.  Cornerstone laid on June 6, 1890 for the new brewery by Lawrence Fabacher (1863-1923).(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1940, p. 4)
     
 
 
The Back Bay of Biloxi froze over on January 27, 1940.  This was the  first time since February 13, 1899, when the mercury fell to one degree Fahrenheit on the Mississippi Gulf Coast.(The Daily Herald, January 27, 1940, p. 1)
     
Louisiana legislation passed to hurt Coast fishermen.(The Jackson County Times, February 2, 1940, p. 1)
     
The new Bradford Funeral Home opened in early February.(The Daily Herald, February 3, 1940, p. 3) 
     
Mardi Gras was celebrated onFebruary 6th with theJunior Carnival parade of 12 floats and nine bands.  W.P. Kennedy III (b. 1926) was King Leo III andHulda Velma Cousins(b. 1927)[married James E. Howell] was his Queen.(The Daily Herald, February 5, 1940, p. 1, February 7, 1940, p. 1 and Febraury 8, 1940, p. 12) 
     
Odeus Meyers (1884-1968) and Calus C. Meyers (1909-1999), store owners on Division Street who came to Biloxi in 1929 from Erath, Louisiana, announced in February that they would build the Myers Theatre on the southeast corner of Lameuse Street and Division.  The theatre would have 600-seats, cost $11,000 and Jack Fayard of Biloxi was their architect.  The new theatre opened on May 17th.(The Daily Herald, February 10, 1940, p. 1, February 16, 1940, p. 1, April 26, 1940, p. 2, and May 17, 1940, p. 2)
     
Phillip W. Levine (1890-1940), Biloxi entrepreneur, expired on February 15th.  He was born in Wablenk, Russia and came to the USA in 1900 and Biloxi in 1909.  Mr. Levine became an American in July 1919.(The Daily Herald, July 11, 1919, p. 3 and February 16, 1940, p. 1)
     
Father J.P. McGlade of St. John's Catholic Church planned to Bless the Fleet on Back Bay on August 5th.(The Daily Herald, July 19, 1945, p. 1)
     
Byrd Enochs (1875-1940), spouse of Cora Elmer (1878-1962), lumber and building materials entrepreneur and yachting enthusiasts, died on February 29th.
      
Harriet Waters Baker Aken (1839-1940), Centurian and long time resident of Deer Island, expired on March 21st.  She was the daughter of Harry Waters and Hannah Nickle.(The Daily Herald, September 18, 1939, p. 1 and The Daily Herald, March , 1940, p.  ) 
     
The 1st Baptist Church [Colored], whichbegan at Biloxi in 1877, celebrated its 63rd anniversary in mid-April.(The Daily Herald, April 22, 1940, p. 5)
     
A Chicago & Southern Airlines [merged with Delta Airlines in 1953], DC 3 landed at the Biloxi airport in late April.  The $125,000, 21-passenger aircraft had flown 19 businessmen from St. Louis to Biloxi in 4 hours and 8 minutes with 15 minutes stops at Jackson, Mississippi and NOLA.  Mayor Braun and Forrest Runnels, manager of the Buena Vista, met the visitors who were investors and had shown interest in Biloxi's potential as an air tourist destination.(The Daily Herald, April 27, 1940, p. 1)
   
Mary Lee Tullis Eaves Crutcher (1919-2006), daughter of Garner H. Tullis (1893-1966) and Mary Lee Brown Tullis (1897-1940+) planned anearly June wedding with Norman Eustis Eaves (1917-1995). Malcolm McCulloughTullis (1917-1985), her sister, had married Laurence Moore Barkley (1916-1963) last Ocotober.(The Daily Herald, April 29, 1940, p. 2)   
   
Beauvoir planned to open on July 1st.  The opening did not happen until June 3, 1941.(The Daily Herald, May 2, 1940, p. 1, February 6, 1941, p. 1, February 8, 1941, p. 7 and February 10, 1941, p. 8)
     
On May 8th, hearing was held at City Hall in regards Biloxi adopting a zoning ordinance.(The Daily Herald, May 9, 1940, p. 1)
   
Laz Quave, King Raw Stock II, andMaizie Mouton, Queen Pearl, ruled the annual Oyster Festival held in mid-Mayat the Slavonian Lodge.(The Daily Herald, May 13, 1940, p. 3) 
 
In mid-May, theCanal Bank & Trust Company of NOLA acquired the Avelez Hotel, which was in foreclosure, for $33,000.  John T. Powers had been operating the 88-room facility for the past almost three years and continued in this capapcity.(The Daily Herald, May 14, 1940, p. 1)
     
Kenneth Lewis Harris (1912-1964), native of Biloxi, was ordained a Roman Catholic priest on May 18th.  He died at New Orleans on June 22, 1964.(The Daily Herald, May 16, 1940, p. 6, May 17, 1940, p. 1, and May 18, 1940, p. 1, and June 22, 1964, p. 1)
     
John A Sutter (1868-1940),pioneer artesian well digger and pecan farmer of Pass Christian, Mississippi, expired on May 27th.  Mr. Sutter dug two wells on Ship Island.(The Daily Herald, May 28, 1940, p. 1)
     
Meyer Eiseman (1882-1940), NOLA realtor and Deer Island Improvement Company promoter, expired at NOLA on June 6th.
    
On June 8th, Ingalls Shipbuilding at Pascagoula launched their first ship, Exchequer, an all welded, 18,000 ton vessel.(The Daily Herald, June 8, 1945, p. 1)
      
Captain Steve Rodolfich (1883-1960) of 116 Maple Street was honored with a silver loving cup for his contributions to the oyster industry by Dunbar-Dukate and the Louisiana Conservation Department for delivering the best oysters to Violet, Louisiana for the 1940 oyster season and for the discovery of oyster reefs in Lake Borgne.(The Daily Herald, June 28, 1940, p. 8)
   
On September 9, 1940, Sheriff Raleigh C. Edwins (1897-1960) announced a ban in Harrison County on slot machines, liquor, dice and other forms of gambling.  This included bank nights and bingo as well as counter games, like ‘high dice’ or ‘double or nothing’, being held in cigar stands and cafes.(The Daily Herald, September 11, 1940, p. 1)
   
In September, Biloxi's fisherman struck the local seafood packers wanting $8 per barrel of shrimp rather than $7 per barrel.(The Daily Herald, September 13, 1940, p. 1) 
    
In September, the Biloxi Housing Authority contracted for $257, 179 with Pittman Brothers of NOLA and Ray V. Pisarich (1905-1988) local plumber and electrician, for the construction of the Bay View Housing projects on Bay View Avenue and Fountain's Alley.  This endeavor consisted of 16 buildings with 96 units designed by Matthes & Landry and John T. Collins, local architects.  This was the first low-rent public housing at Biloxi.  Their next project was the Bayou Auguste Homes for Black people.  At this time, the BHA board consisted of: Chester A. Delacruz, chairman; Mendum H. Dees, vice-chairman; C.N. Ellzey; Victor B. Pringle; and Warren Goodman.(The Daily Herald, September 23, 1940, p. 1) 
    
The newly created Biloxi Port Commission had its first meeting on September 25th at the Baltar Realty office.  Members were: John E. Swetman; R. Hart Chinn, appointed by Paul B. Johnson, Governor; and Jacinto Baltar, appointee of the Board of Supervisors.(The Daily Herald, September 25, 1940, p. 2) 
    
The new Mississippi River Bridge at Natchez, Mississippi-Vidalia, Louisiana was dedicated on September 26th.  It was the 5th bridge to span the Mississippi River below Memphis.  The others were at: Greenville, Mississippi; Vicksburg, Mississippi; Baton Rouge, Louisiana; and the Huey P. Long Bridge at NOLA.
    
The 1940 September enrollment for all Biloxi Public schools was 2787 students compared with 2669  students in September 1939.(The Daily Herald, September 30, 1940, p. 8)
   
Nageeb J. Bittar (1886-1979), native of Syria, was elected head of the Mississippi State V.F.W.(The Daily Herald, October 2, 1940, p. 1)
   
Dr. Presley E. Werlein (1891-1971) was elected president of the newly organized Biloxi hospital board and staff group.  Present at the meeting were: Dr. D.L. Hollis (1893-1975); John J. Kennedy (1875-1949), pres. of the Biloxi hospital board; Dr. Eldon Bolton (1910-1990); Dr. James E. Wallace (1876-1942); Dr. Joseph Kuljis (1908-1988); Dr. Felix J. Harrell (1906-1980); Dr. J.A. Graves; Dr. Ben Martinez; Dr. George W. Wallace (1874-1960+); Dr. Braxton Bragg O'Mara (1896-1969); Dr. Frank E. Schmidt (1902-1975); Dr. R.F. Annis; and Dr. P.E. Werlein.(The Daily Herald, October 4, 1940, p. 6)
   
In mid-October, William Bond of Gulfport was building an adobe home on Division Street and Porter.  Blocks for the structure were made from local sand and clay mixed with 5% cement.(The Daily Herald, Ocotber 14, 1940, p. 2)
 

Lewis W. Hines (1874-1940), sociologist and photographer, expired at Dobbs Ferry, New York on 3 November.  He was a crusader against child labor and made dramatic images of children working in the seafood industry in Mississippi and Louisiana circa 1910.

 
On December 10th, Max N. Tobias for $18,000 sold to the Gulf Coast Shrimpers & Oystermens Association the Burns Hotel [formerly the KennedyHotel] building for their meeting and social affairs.  John Ewing was president of the local union which had 2000 paying Biloxi members, 150 in Pass Christian, 100 in Bay St. Louis and 75 at Ocean Springs.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Land Deed Bk. 236, p. 97 and The Daily Herald, March 4, 1941, p. 10)          
   
George W. Ditto was named Citizen of the Year by the Biloxi Lions Club.                                                  
 
 
1941
Camp Shelby, south of Hattiesburg, Forrest Co., Mississippi, was nearing completion with 1300 buildings and a 2000-bed hospital.  The military reservation was built for about $22,500,000.(The Daily Herald, February 8, 1941, p. 10, February 10, 1941, p. 5, February 22, 1941, p. 1, February 26, 1941, p. 1 and February 27, 1941, p. 1)
   
Alves Romero (1915-1941), native of Lafayette, Louisiana, was killed by Eddie Longon (1906-1941+) at the Mavar factory camp on February 12th.  Mr. Longon claimed that he hit Romero in the skull with a hammer in self-defense.(The Daily Herald, February 13, 1941, p. 1)
   
Currie & Corley General Contractors of Raleigh, Mississippi, anticpated commencement of the East End Homes, a public housing project on Point Cadet, in late February.  Edward 'Buster' Braun, foreman of thedemolition crew, had removed approximatelytwenty structures from the buidling site.  The Biloxi Housing Authority began taking applications in the fall of 1941 for tenants and by October 1941, 52 of the 96 units had tenants that had been approved and accepted by the agency.(The Daily Herald, February 12, 1941, p. 6 and October 9, 1941, p. 7)
   
 Captain Eddie Ford and the Bonnie Yvonne, a power boat, again brought artifacts from a sunken vessel that he had disocvered fifteen miles south of Bay St. Louis in the St. Joe's Channel. Captain Ford had recovered in his trawl, a musket, 3" cannon balls, and other relics, which he brought to Biloxi.(The Daily Herald, February 12, 1941, p. 8)
   
Paul Browne (1858-1941), former Biloxi resident of 845 East Beach, now owned by Reed Morse,died at Rhinelander, Wisconsin on February 20th.  Mr. Browne was associated with theRhinelander Paper Company since 1903 and the Browne Insurance Company.  He left Biloxi about five years past.(The Daily Herald, February 20, 1941, p. 14)
   
Alonzo Parker, King Roxie, and Alice Wells, Queen Isabella, led eight floats with Colored riders through Biloxi's Downtown from Main and Division Streets celebrating Mardi Gras.  The Black paraders also rode horses, cars, and bicycles.  The White communty did not parade in 1941.(The Daily Herald, February 23, 1941, p. 6, February 24, 1941, p. 3 and February 25, 1941, p. 1)
    
M.C. Sherman, realtor for three Shreveport, Louisiana banks,planned to move to Biloxi in March and share an office with G.J. Wiltz at 204 Lameuse Street.(The Daily Herald, February 22, 1941, p. 2) 
    
Judge John M. Sekul (1911-1984),after a warning for their own personal safety, dismissed several Jehovah Witnesses from the Latimer Community. The Witnesses had been demonstrating in downtown Biloxi and almost caused a riot when citizens became incensed over their placards-one which read 'Down With Religion'.  They were also distributing pamphlets.(The Daily Herald, March 6, 1941, p. 1)
 
Corbet Summerlin (1897-1941), native of Theodore, Alabama, and a crewman on the Lillian Holley drowned in Back Bay on March 8th near the Southern Shell Fish Company factory.(The Daily Herald, March 8, 1941, p. 1)
   
Henry Elisha Latimer (1855-1941), former sawmill owner, lumber and drayage operator, and road contractor expired on March 21st.  Mr. Latimer was also a former Alderman and in the seafood business.  He had married Mary Holley (1856-1942) in December 1884.(The Daily Herald, March 22, 1941, p. 1)
     
In March, Biloxi was selected as the site for an Army Air Corps school.(The Jackson County Times, March 22, 1941, p. 1)
      
Cyprian A. Sporl II (1905-1999) donated Cocheco, his $30,000, 76-foot disel yacht, to the USCG in April 1941. He also enlisted in the USCG at this time.  The Cocheco was to be used for patrol duty.   During WWII, the C.A. Sporl family of NOLA allowed their home on East Beach to be used by the Women’s U.S.O. for a small rental fee.(The Times-Picayune, April 21, 1941, p. 5 and The Daily Herald, November 5, 1964)
     
In April, the Biloxi Port Commission accepted the $43,322 bid of general contractor, Currie & Corley of Hattiesburg, Mississippi, to erect a steel building [$18,486] to be used as a boat plant at the foot of Lee Street on East Back Bay.  Albert J. Ragusin was awarded the plumbing contract [$3549]; Ray V. Pisarich, electrical [$1522]; and roofing [$1365] to  Biloxi Roofing and Sheet Metal.(The Daily Herald, April 16, 1941, p. 1)
   
Beauvoir, the Jefferson Davis Shrine at Biloxi,was dedicated on June 3rd.  Governor Paul B. Johnson (1880-1943) cancelled his appearance, but the hiearchy of the UDC and SCV were on hand for the occasion.  F.H. Kimbrough of Biloxi was elected vice commander of the SCV.(The Daily Herald, June 3, 1941, p. 1) 
   
Herbert McDonnell, former BPD city detective,was elected Constable of Beat 1, a newly created office.  He out polled George Mon and Felix Mattina handily.(The Daily Herald, June 11, 1941, p. 1)
     
Pepsi Cola opened a bottling plant on Caillavet Street in May 1941. N.H. Hatten of Gulfport acquired the plant in November 1946.(The Daily Herald, August 19, 1948)
     
In May 1941, the City of Biloxi leased the 685-acre Naval Reserve Park to the Federal Government for an aviation school.  In mid-August 1941, 2000 soldiers were living in tents in the Naval Reserve Park.(Harrison Co., Ms. Land Deed Bk. 241, pp. 119-130 and The Daily Herald, August 14, 1941)
     
In June 1941, the U.S. Army Air Corps activated Station No. 8, Aviation Mechanics School, at Biloxi, Mississippi.  By late August 1941, this military installation had been dedicated as Keesler Army Airfield, in honor of 2nd Lieutenant Samuel Reeves Keesler (1896-1918), a native of Greenwood, Mississippi.  Lieutenant Keesler had died in France from wounds received while in aerial combat against Germany during the Great War.  Keesler Army Airfield not only became technical training center, but trained basic recruits.  The first contingent of recruits arrived at Biloxi on August 21, 1941.

The Gaynel Land Company was incorporated in the State of Mississippi on June 12, 1941 by Eugene A. Peresich (1895-1960), Mendum H. Dees (1884-1949), both of Biloxi, and Walter J. Gex Jr. (1906-1958) of Bay St. Louis, Mississippi.  The purpose of the company was to acquire and subdivide land and to erect houses within their land subdivisions.(The Daily Herald, June 20, 1941,p. 7)

In June 1941, with the construction of Keesler Field announced and in its incipient building phase, Gaynel Land Company began aggressively with the acquisition of 78 lots in the Oak Park Subdivision at Biloxi.  It also took option on two parcels of lots in west Biloxi-one tract had 55 lots and the other 84 lots.  The company planned to erect 217 homes.(The Daily Herald, June 20, 1941, p. 1)

In June, a $10 million dollar contract was awarded to the construction companies of F.T. Newton (Hattiesburg), F.S. Glenn (Hatttiesburg), J.A. Jones and Bernard Knost (Pass Christian) to erect the Army Air Corps school at Biloxi.  Ground was brolen on June 18th.  The contractors expected to have 2000 men working on the base in two weeks and 10000 laborers in a month.
   
Byron Patton 'Pat' Harrison (1881-1941) of Gulfport, former Congressman (1911-1919) and US Senator (1919-1941) died in Washington D.C. on the 22nd of June.
   
Lt. Colonel Arthur Brock Jr. was named Commanding Officer of the Biloxi Army Air Corps Technical School in late June.(The Daily Herald, June 26, 1941, p. 1)  
    
In July, the telephone company announced a $70,000 improvement plan at Biloxi to provide permanent telephone facilities at Keesler Field.  A new cable with a 1200 phone line capacity will be laid on the north side of Howard Avenue commencing at Fayard Street to the military base.(The Daily Herald, July 1, 1941, p. 1)
     
TheHarlem Theatre, a movie house for Blacks located on Main Street near Division Street, opened on July 5th. Henry Meyers (1914-2004), owner and manager, of the 40 feet by 105 feet, steel-framed building with a 525 person seating capacity and costing $15,000.(The Daily Herald, July 4, 1941, p. 7)
   
Eustis McManus (1888-1941), Harrison County Chancery Clerk, died at Gulfport on July 6th.  He was a native of Ellisville, Jones Co., Mississippi and had married Leocadia Fisse.  McManus was elected Chancery Clerk in 1920. On July 8th, Governor Paul B. Johnson appointed Bonnie Clower Darnall to replace Mr. McManus.(The Daily Herald, July 7, 1941, p. 1)
     
In mid-July, 5809 workers were employed building the air school.(The Jackson County Times, July 19, 1941, p. 1)
     
On July 22nd, the citizens of Biloxi approved a waterworks bond issue to build a $1,400,000 sewerage system and $209,000 in waterworks improvements.(The Daily Herald, July 24, 1941, p. 1)
     
By late July, the foundations for 233 buildings had been laid at Keesler Field.  The new military base was 6.4% completed and there were 9877 laborers employed in its construction.(The Daily Herald, July 26, 1941, p. 3)
     
Anthony 'Tony' V. Ragusin (1902-1997), Secretary of the Chamber of Commerce, to enter the Army Air Corps.  Ragusin was assigned to Keesler Field as public relations officer.(The Jackson County Times, July 28 1941, p. 1)
     
In late July, the City of Biloxi led by Mayor Louis Braun acquired the Lighthouse Keeper's house and tract on West Beach to use as a permanent home for the Chamber of Commerce.  The Chamber was located in the ground floor of the Avelez Hotel at this time.  In late October, Warren Jackson (1886-1972) was elected Secretary of the Biloxi Chamber of Commerce to replace Anthony V. Ragusin (1902-1997), who had enlisted in the Army Air Corps. Mrs. Monte Hance had served as acting secretary since Ragusin's departure.(The Daily Herald, August 1, 1941, p. 3 and October 29, 1941, p. 1)  
   
In mid-August,Dan Markotich (1892-1964)sold the French Restaurant to Joseph Baricev (1904-1999). Markotich had operated the restaurant for six years.(The Daily Herald, August 13, 1941, p. 6)
   
Clyde Dunnaway (1908-1986)of Jackson purchased McAllister's Cafe in mid-August.(The Daily Herald, August 13, 1941, p. 6)
 
The Bayou Auguste Homes, a $358,000, sixteen-building, public housing project for Biloxi's negro population was opened in August.(The Daily Herald, November 1, 1946, p. 4)
 
James S. Love Jr. was named president and managing director of the Buena Vista and White House Hotels.  George Sturm, resident manager of the White House, will become general manager of the White House and promotional manager of the Buena Vista.  Forrest Runnels, manager of the Buena Vista Hotel since May 1, 1938, was staying at Gulf Hills with his family and would make a public announcment soon as to his future plans.(The Daily Herald, September 3, 1941, p. 1)
     
In mid-September, the Biloxi Gun Club held its first shoot on its new range at Clay Point in east Biloxi.  F.J. Gautier, Peter L. Martin, Russell Braun, Warner Goodman, Kline Coquet, Dr. Joseph Kuljis, E.B. Noble, and Tom Pringle were active skeet and trap shooters at this time.  The 1942 State Shoot was to be held at the Biloxi Gun Club.(The Daily Herald, September 15, 1941, p. 2)
 
Irie Letort (1919-1996), Veryl Cannette, Wilbur Cannette (1916-1993), and Joseph Marinovich (1914-1984), Biloxians serving in Battery F at Camp Blanding, Florida, planned to make a musical recording of songs that they have composed.(The Daily Herald, September 17, 1941, p. 7)
 
 
     
Westergard Boat Works 
     
By mid-September, the 16-month efforts of the Biloxi Port Commission and from city officials and leading Biloxi citizens, were nearly realized with the completion of the Westergard Boat Works on Back Bay at the foot of Lee Street.  I. Daniel Gehr (1895-1959), local architect supervised the construction of the warehouse, fabricating buiulding, loft and drafting buildings, general offices, and work sheds.  The larger strutures were of fabricated steel construction with concrete foundations while the smaller buildings were modern, frame structures.  Currie & Corley of Hattiesburg, Mississippi was the general contractor while other employed to erect the shipyard were: Iron Steel Products Company; Albert J. Ragusin-plumbingRay V. Pisarich, electricaland roofing-Biloxi Roofing and Sheet Metal.  The Jackson County dredge built the channel into the boatyard which had a 400-foot frontage on Back Bay.(The Daily Herald, September 20, 1941, p. 3)
   
The new Biloxi High School football field on Division and Lee Streets was first used in September 1941.(The Daily Herald, September 17, 1941, p. 6)
   
The Biloxi VFW-Lyman C. Bradford Post located at 518 Reynoir Street and operated by theDallas B. Smith VFW Post at the Biloxi VA hospital was open for the use ofsoldiers stationed at Keesler Field.(The Daily Herald, October 7, 1941, p. 7)
   
The R.P. Farnsworth Company had 250 men working on Harrison Court, a $586,000 defense housing project at Bay Terrace.  The finaldevelopment would consist of eighty-seven buildingsto house 175 families with a completion date of January 1942.(The Daily Herald, October 17, 1941, p. 1)
   
The Westergard Boat Works laid the keel for a US Navy submarine chaser on October 21st.  The second submarine chaser of the two boat Navy contract wascommenced in early November 1941.  Frederick D. Lawley (1878-1953),Boston naval architect, designed the vessels.(The Daily Herald, October 22, 1941, p. 1 and November 5, 1941, p. 1)
   
Several buildings were moved by Ojo Ohr to the new site of Camp Wilkes.  Among them were eight cabins, the keeper's house and a warehouse.(The Daily Herald, October 27, 1941, p. 7) 
     
The L&N Railroad has started work on the passenger shed at its Biloxi depot.  B.R. Keebler, bridge foreman, has a crew of 20 men building the steel, passenger shed from Reynoir Street to the west end of the Express office, a distance of 350 feet.  The project will take three weeks.(The Daily Herald, October 30, 1941, p. 7) 
   
Anthony G. Osoinach (1873-1941),City Editor for The Daily Herald, expired on October 29th at Gulfport.  He was replace by Charles C. Blackwell in early November 1941(The Jackson County Times, November 1, 1941, p. 1, The Daily Herald, October 29, 1941, p. 1, October 31, 1941, p. 5, and November 4, 1941, p. 1) 
   
In November,J. Allen Bradford, John T. Collins, Gordon A. Dacey and George Collins Jr. founded Bradford, Collins, Dacey & Collins to provide architectural and engineering services necessary for the completion of the sanitary sewerage system and disposal plant at Biloxi.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Chancery Court Chattel Deed Bk. 79, p. 55)
 
The bronze memorial to Captain Joseph T. Jones (1842-1916), founder of Gulfport, Mississippi, was reported to have been completed by Charles Keck (1875-1951),New York sculptor.(The Daily Herald, November 3, 1941, p. 3)
   
Gulfport defeated Biloxi 20-7 at the Gulfport Fairgrounds in their annual Thanksgiving football contest which began in 1920.(The Daily Herald, November 21, 1941, p. 5)   
     
In November, James A. Mustard (1906-2000), golf professional, was hired by Gulf Hills for the winter season. Mr. Mustard came to the USA from Scotland in 1928 and had formerly worked at the Biloxi Country Club with Edward Rankin. James A. Mustard spent the summer golf season at Janesville, Wisconsin.  Mr. Rankin will join him at Gulf Hills coming from Detroit.(The Daily Herald, November 22, 1941, p. 5)
   
Joseph W. Havens (1881-1941),native of Vancleave, Jackson Co., Mississippi, formerHarrison County Tax Assessor; two term Harrison County Sheriff [1920-1924 and 1928-1932]; and Superintendent of the Jefferson Davis Home for Confederate Soldiers-Beauvoir expired on November 24th at Gulfport.  Mr. Havens lived at Nugent eight miles north of Gulfport with Leona Hutto Havens, his wife.(The Daily Herald, November 24, 1941, p. 1)  
   
Tri-State Construction Company of Atlanta was low bidder at $89, 134 to erect the USO recreation center at Biloxi.(The Daily Herald, November 25, 1941, p. 1)
   
On December 7th, the Empire of Japan attacked Pearl Harbor in the Hawaiian Islands.  America declared war on Japan the next day.  Germany and Italy sign an alliance with Japan and enter the war on December 11th. 
     
On December 7th, the Biloxi Knights of Columbus All-Stars managed by Frank 'Yankee' Barhanovich (1915-1987) lost 12-0 to Bay St. Louis All Stars in a football game played at Biloxi to support the Biloxi Doll and Toy Fund and the Bay St. Louis Christmas Fund.(The Daily Herald, November 29, 1941, p. 2 and December 8, 1941, p. 3)
   
In late December, $75,000 was allocated by the Defense Public Works to complete the Biloxi Junior High School building. The WPA had closed down the project several months ago due to a paucity of WPA labor at Biloxi. The WPA had already expended $27, 937 on the school's construction and the land cost was $15,000.  Voter's had also approved $47,000 in funding for the new school. The plant was to have eighteen classrooms, as well as, home economics, science and manual training facilities. Work was anticipated to start in thirty days from a John T. Collins design.(The Daily Herald, December 31, 1941, p. 1) 
 
Mary Belle Beeman (1892-1981), spouse of Joseph Henry Beeman (d. 1961) wasnamed Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club for 1941. She was very active in civic and philanthropic causes on the Coast, and in particular garden clubs, Beauvoir, Red cross, and KAFB.(The Daily Herald, June  , 1981, p. A2)
                                                                          
 
 
1942
On January 1st, the Sisters of St. Francis of Glen Riddle, Pennsylvania began operating the Biloxi Hospital.  Miss Celestine Pratt, former superintendent, returned to Mobile, her home.(The Daily Herald, December 31, 1941, p. 1) 
 
 
      
Frederick C. Querens Jr.
 
Frederick C. Querens Jr. (1858-1942), NOLA tobacco executive and Biloxi real estate magnate, died on January 4th in the Crescent City.  Querens Avenue at Biloxi, once perjoratively called 'Hard Shell Alley', was named for him.(The Times-Picayune, January 6, 1942, p. 2 and The Biloxi Daily Herald, March 19, 1908)
     
 
Captain Oswald Lester Bernich (1915-1942) was killed when the B-29 Flying Fortress that he was aboardcrashed twenty miles east of Ardmore, Oklahoma on February 12th.(The Daily Herald, February 14, 1942, p. 5) 
     
 
George Barrow Cousins Sr. (1878-1969) became Biloxi's acting Postmaster on February 29th.  He replaced Ernestine G. Meunier.(The Daily Herald, February 19, 1944, p. 1)
     
 
The United Service Organization [USO] Building was dedicated in March.(The Daily Herald, March 13, 1942, p. 1 and March 16, 1942, p. 1)
 
I
n mid-March, the US Weather Bureau [Atlanta, Georgia] removed its record keeping site from the Biloxi Yacht Club to Keesler Field.  J.G. Manuel of the Civil Aeronautics Authority was placed in charge of recording daily weather phenomena.  John Grady had kept the weather data at the BYC.  It was believed that weather conditions with exposure over water were not exactly indicative of the temperature over the city.(The Daily Herald, March 20, 1942, p. 5)
     
 
Sparks Vignes Sr. (1885-1942), Biloxi merchant who operated The Specialty Store, expired on April 3rd.(The Daily Herald, April 3, 1942, p. 1)
    
 
Bob Hope (1903-2003) made his first visit to Keesler Field to entertain the troops on May 20th.(The Daily Herald, May 20, 1942, p. 12)   
    
 
In late May, Vic's Bowling Alley, later Brown's Bowling Alley, on Reynoir Street opposite the Saenger Theatre, opened as Mayor Louis J. Braun (1890-1951) rolled a strike on his first ball at the eight lane facility.(The Daily Herald, June 1, 1942, p. 3)
     
 
USN Lt. Commander August A. 'Al' Barthes (1916-2007), Biloxi native, rescued USN Naval Aviator Thomas White Ramsay (1918-1942), the son of Inman White Ramsay (1889-1983) and Mary L. Ramsay of Ramsay Springs, Mississippi on June 16, 1942 following the Battle of Midway.  The two men had been classmates at Mississippi State College.  Commander Thomas Ramsay, a naval test pilot, was killed June 25, 1948 when his fighter jet aircraft plunged into Chesapeake Bay off Potuxent, Maryland.  Barthes was honored for his heroism by the US Navy in November 1942 and by the Biloxi Elks also in November 1942.(The Daily Herald, June 26, 1948, p. 1, November 13, 1942, p. 2, and November 19, 1942, p. 5)
     
 
John E. Breaux (1882-1942), native of NOLA and resident of Biloxi since 1913 and manager of Southern Bell Telephone for past 29 years, died on June 29th.  Mr. Breaux was an active Elk and Rotarian.  He founded the Elkpat Celebration which was held on July 4th for many years andthe Elk Frolic held during Thanksgiving week for the fiancial support of the Biloxi Hospital.(The Daily Herald, May 5, 1927, p. 2 and June 29, 1942, p. 1)
     
 
Postmaster John R. Meunier retired on June 30th.  Ernestine Gorenflo Meunier, his spouse, became acting Postmaster of Biloxi.(The Daily Herald, June 29, 1942, p. 1 and January 11, 1944, p. 1)    
     
 
On July 14th, Chester A. Delacruz (1889-1964) was elected Mayor defeating incumbent Mayor Louis J. Braun (1890-1951) 1536 to 1049 votes.  Joseph A. 'Tony' Creel (1901-1992) was elected City Commissioner for the first time defeating Walter H. 'Kenner' Hunt.  (1881-1965) was elected the other City Commissioner.(The Daily Herald, July 15, 1942, p. 1 and July 22, 1942, p. 1)
      
 
USS BILOXI
 
Katherine Garrison Braun (1892-1983) wife of Mayor Louis Braun (1890-1951), acted as sponsor and Martha Burnett, daughter of Dr. Riley Burnett, as maid of honor, at the launching of the U.S.S. Biloxi [CL-80], a light naval cruiser, on August 1st in Newport News, Virginia.  The USS Biloxi earned nine battle stars for her service in the South Pacific against the Empire of Japan.  She was scrapped in 1962 by a Puget Sound metal recycler situated at or near Port Angeles, Washington.(The Daily Herald, June 3, 1942, p. 1)
     
 
The Main Street Methodist Church celebrated its 100th anniversary on June 9th.  The church commenced in June 1842 with 5 members and had 980 parishioners in June 1942.  The present sanctuary was built in 1904-1905 when Reverend Henry Ware Van Hook (1866-1947) was pastor.  The present pastor is Clyde H. Gunn (1902-1980) with William C. Fulgham as his assistant.  Both men were Millsaps graduates.(The Daily Herald, June 9, 1942, p. 5 and November 23,1942, p. 1)
     
 
 
In September, the corporal remains of Samuel Emory Davis (1756-1824), father of Jefferson Davis, were removed from the Hurricane Plantation cemetery in Warren County, Mississippi and interred in the Confederate Cemetery at Beauvoir, the Davis home at Biloxi.(The Daily Herald, September 9, 1942, p. 6)
    
 
C.A. Thompson, Biloxi contractor, was awarded the $66,274 contract  to erect the Inner Harbor at the foot of Main Street.  The facility will include docks and piers and be available to Key Field of Meridian and Keesler Field for mooring crash boats used by the Army Air Corps for air-sea rescue.(The Daily Herald, November 11, 1942, p. 1)
   
 
A practice Black-Out for the Mississippi coast was held in early November by Civil Defense units.(The Daily Herald, November 11, 1942, p. 1)
 
 
 The S.H. Kress store on West Howard Avenue sustained $2000 in damages from a fire in mid-November.  O.W. Trawick was store manager.(The Daily Herald, November 13, 1942, p. 2)
  
 
On November 22, 1942, the Biloxi All-Stars played the Moss Point All-Stars in the second annual charity football game that would become known as the Shrimp Bowl.   Elbert E. Manuel (1914-1989) coached the Biloxi squad made up of the following players: backfield-Joe Mattina; Jimmy Wallace; Blaine Alleman (1920-1995); George Budinich (1914-1957); Louis Demourelle (1910-1983); Arnold Entrekin (1918-2010); and Gerald Entringer (1923-1998).  Linemen-Dalton Mattina (1922-2005); Thomas Esposito; Albert Lamas (1924-1978); Noley Dunn (1920-2001); George Purcell; Walter Ewing; Elbert Kostmayer (1919-2010); Fred Dick (1915-1969); and Frank Barhanovich (1915-1987).  On a Sunday night in a light rain, a small group of spectators watched the two squads fight to a 0-0 game score.(The Daily Herald, November 11, 1942, p. 2 and November 23, 1942, p. 2)
    
 
BHS beat Gulfport 26-0 in football on Thanksgiving Day.(The Daily Herald, November 27, 1942, p. 2) 
 
 
In late November, the 1st National Bank of Biloxi for $4000 sold lands in Section 14 and Section 23, T7S-R10W, on the north shore of the Bay of Biloxi to the Boy Scouts of America.(Harrison Co., Ms. Land Deed Bk. 252, p. 284)
    
 
On December 1, 1942, the Westergard Boat Works was recognized again for its excellence in building boats and barges.  8th District Naval Headquarters awarded the plant with the Navy ‘E’ Pennant with two white stars.  The boatyard was first lauded for its work in February 1942.(The Daily Herald, November 30, 1942, p. 6)
   
 
In mid-December, outgoing Mayor Louis J. Braun (1890-1951) was presented a 1941 Plymouth coupe and war bonds by James S. Love Jr., manager of the Buena Vista and White House Hotels,in appreciation for his outstanding service to the City of Biloxi during his recent term.  During Braun's four years as Biloxi's Mayor the citizens saw the following accomplished:  Keesler Field; Biloxi Community House; USO Building; Westergard Boat Works; a two-lane Beach Drive; a new sewer and water works system; and the filling-in of low lands in eastern Biloxi with channel spoil.(The Daily Herald, December 16, 1942, p. 1)
   
 
The Biloxi Public School enrollment was 3278 students.  Dukate-424; Gorenflo-366; Lopez-501; BHS-667; Colored School-509.(The Daily Herald, December 17, 1942, p. 8)
   
 
The two Sugar Bowl opponents, Tulsa (10-0) and Tennessee (8-1-1), trained on the Mississippi Gulf Coast for the New Year's Day contest at NOLA.  Tulsa was situated at Bay St. Louis and the Volunteers at Edgewater Park. Tennessee won 14-7 at Tulane Stadium.(The Daily Herald, December 21, 1942, p. 5)
 
 
Earl F. Cook (1907-1999) was appointed assistant Fire Chief in late December.  He had been with the BFD since May 1935.(The Daily Herald, December 23, 1942, p. 15) 
   
 
Fenton H. Kimbrough(1874-1952), native of Stanton, Tennessee and Biloxi entrepreneur involved in the banking [First Bank of Biloxi], pharmacy [Kimbrough & Quint], seafood and ice business, was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizenof 1942.(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1943, p. 1)
 
 
1943
Mayor elect, Chester A. Delacruz (1889-1964), and elected City Commissioners, Joseph A. 'Tony' Creel (1901-1992) and John A. 'Honest John' Swanzy (1881-1965), took office in early January.(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1943, p. 1)
     
 
Laz Quave (1910-1985),was appoined Police Chief on January 4th, replacing Alonzo L. Gabrich (1894-1948). He had served for nearly four years as a Harrison County, Mississippi Deputy Sheriff.(The Daily Herald, January 4, 1943, p. 1)
 
 
 
USS BILOXI
The USS Biloxi (CL-80), a light naval cruiser, was launched 23 February 1943, at Newport News, Virginia by Katherine G. Braun (1892-1983), spouse of Biloxi Mayor, Louis E. Braun (1890-1951).  Construction began on 9  July, 1941.     The USS Biloxi earned nine battle stars for her service in the South Pacific against the Empire of Japan.  She was scrapped in 1962 by a Puget Sound metal recycler situated at or near Port Angeles, Washington.(The Daily Herald, June 3, 1942, p. 1, February 24, 1943, p. 8, and February 26, 1943, p. 1)
     
 
On February 23rd, the Heirs-at-Law of Claudia G. Vick. Dacey (1869-1937) and Marguerite Dacey (1900-1942) , executed a one-year lease with an option to purchase to the principals of the Westergard Shipyard, William P. Kennedy II (1873-1951), Victor B. Pringle (1909-1977), Thomas N. Pringle (1906-1970), James W. Pringle (1914-1971) and W.B. Goodman, a co-partnership, onthree tracts of land situated on Rhodes Point on the Back Bay of Biloxi.  The lease ran from February 20, 1943 to February 20, 1944 and cost $1200 per year.  If the option were executed during the lease period, the Dacey Heirs would sell their three parcels for $8000.(Harrison Co. Chancery Court Land Deed Bk. 255, p. 69)
     
 
Lorenzo Nolley Dantzler, Sr. (1866-1943) died on February 27th.(The Daily Herald, March , 1943, p. )
 
      
 
Ray L. Bellande
 
Ray L. Bellande was born at Biloxi, Mississippi on March 4th.(The Daily Herald, March 5, 1943, p. 3)
     
 
Andre Kostelanetz (1901-1980) was scheduled to conduct the Keesler Field concert orchestra and band on April 14th.
     
 
Edward C, Barq (1871-1943), expanded the Biloxi Artesian Bottling Works into Barq's Beverages and developed the regional favorite carbonated drink-Barq's Root Beer, died on May 22nd.(The Daily Herald, May 24, 1943, p. 1)
     
 
The BYC won the Mobile Regatta held in late May.  The Biloxi team of Alf DantzlerRobert Brodie, and G.E. Moorefinished ahead of: Gulfport; Mobile; Pensacola and Buccaneer [tied]; Southern; and Pass Christian was last.  Ed Moore of Biloxi won the 2nd race.(The Daily Herald, May 31, 1943, p. 2)
     
 
Dr. Calvin H. Grainger (1882-1943), husband of Corrie Haney and a native of Franklin, Kentucky and an osteopath who practiced in North Carolina, Kentucky, Hattiesburg, Jackson, Gulfport and Biloxi,  died on June 5th at his residence at 1053 West Howard Avenue.  His corporal remains were sent to Hatteisburg, Mississippi for internment.
    
 
Police Chief Laz Quave announced that parking meters would become operational on June 7th.  Robert Costello of the Biloxi Police force was named traffic officer and collected revenue from the 375 parking meters in Biloxi.(The Daily Herald, May 27, 1943, p. 2 and June 5, 1943, p. 1)
 
In late May, ground was broken for an $84,000 addition to the Biloxi Hospital.(The Daily Herald, June 1, 1943, p. 7)
     
On June 18th, Westergard Shipyard launched its 2nd, composite oil barge.  The $2,000,000 contract called for the construction of thirty oil barges to haul petroleum products from Texas-Louisiana to Jacksonville, Florida via the Intracoastal Waterway.  The hydrocarbons were off-loaded to other barges for shipment to cities on the Atlantic Seaboard.  The barges were 160 feet long, 34 feet wide, and 10 1/2 feet deep with the capacity for 6000 barrels. James W. Pringle was superintendent of the boatyard and Connie Collins supervised construction.(The Daily Herald, June 19, 1943, p. 1)
 
Captain Samuel Preston Edmonds (1867-1943), native of Miami, Missouri, USNA graduate, and former commandant of the Biloxi U.S. Coast Guard Base died at the Biloxi VA Hospital on June 2oth.  'Bessie' Shorey Allen Edmonds (1871-1961), his spouse and native of Baltimore, Maryland, died at Tallahassee, Florida on september 21, 1961.  Their corporal remains rest eternally in the Southern Memorial Park cemetery. (The Daily Herald, June 21, 1943, p. 1 and September 21, 1961, p. 2)
   
Mr. and Mrs. Alf Dantzler donated 550 books to the Biloxi victory book campaign.  They were distributed to the Red Cross Hospital and squadrons at Keesler Field.(The Daily Herald, July 29, 1943, p. 8)
 
Daniel Hollis Jr. (1924-2000) and Jack Arguelleswere appointed to the US Naval Academy.(The Daily Herald, July 29, 1943, p. 8)
 
The Crawford sisters, Louise H. Crawford (1865-1942), Josephine M. Crawford (1878), Mrs. Hunt [Jeanne] Henderson, and Mrs. J.P. d'Heur, donated 100 books to the USO Club-Women's Division library.(The Daily Herald, July 30, 1943, p. 2)    
 
On August 25th, an Army Air Force AT-7 trainer from the navigation school at Hondo, Texas crashed three miles southwest of Biloxi into the Mississippi Sound killing the pilot and three air cadets.(The Daily Herald, August 26, 1943, p. 1)
      
Fred B. Ferson (1897-1969) and Paul Linde with their assistants J.L. McKenzie and J.R. McElroy continued to make range finder prisms and other optical devices in Biloxi for the Frankfort Arsenal as part of the home industrial WW II effort.(The Daily Herald, August 4, 1943, p. 8)
    
Maxie M. Broadus(1906-1985) defeated Arthur W. Lang(1922-2006), Deputy Sheriff, 4836 votes to 3345 votes for the position of Harrison County, Mississippi Sheriff.(The Daily Herald, August 26, 1943, p. 1)
    
On September 8th,the newly created Notre Dame High School, a Catholic all boys educational institution, opened at Biloxi with 125 students in the former A.F. Dantzler House at 1028 West Beach Boulevard opposite the Biloxi Lighthouse.  Brother Francis Borgia, CSC, was the first principal and leader of the faculty composed of Brothers of the Holy Cross Society from Notre Dame University at South Bend, Indiana. Reverend Geoffrey O'Connell (1900-1976), Superintendent of the Mississippi Catholic Schools, was in contact withFrank Leahy (1908-1973), football coach at Notre Dame University,in order to hire a suitable football coach for his new high school.(The Daily Herald, July 26, 1943, p. 1 and September 9, 1943, p. 7)
      
Elbert Lester Dukate (1881-1943), resident of NOLA since 1938 and former manager ofDunbar-Dukate Company, expired in the Crescent City on October 8th.(The Times Picayune, October 10, 1943, p. 8)
      
Former Mayor Louis E. Braun suffered a stroke in mid-October, which paralyzed his right side.(The Daily Herald, October 15, 1943, p. 5)
 
George W. Grayson  (1870-1943), former Biloxi realtor expired at Jackson on March 30th.  Mamie Pol (1873-1951), his wife, died at Biloxi in mid-November 1951.(The Daily Herald, April 1, 1943, p. 10 and November 19, 1951, p. 8)      
   
The 20th Aviation Squadron (Colored) was reviewed at Keesler Field.(The Daily Herald, November 1, 1943, p. 2)
     
Mayor Chester Delacruz and Colonel R.E.M. Goolrick, commanding officer of Keesler Field, attended the opening of the Division Street Colored USO.(The Daily Herald, November 1, 1943, p. 2)
      
On December 3rd, the Biloxi Indians of Coach Dace Davis coming off a Thanksgiving Day victory over Gulfport [7-0], beat the Nicholls' Rebels of the NOLA prep league 14-0 on December 3rd, in what would be called the Shrimp Bowl.(The Daily Herald, December 2, 1943, p. 2 and December 4, 1943, p. 2)
     
General Samuel Reeves Keesler (1866-1943), native of Rock Hill, North Carolina and father of Samuel Reeves Keesler Jr. (1896-1918), name sake of Keesler Field, expired at Greenwood, Mississippi in late December.  General Keesler served three Mississippi governors as the Adjutant General of Mississippi.(The Daily Herald, December 21, 1943, p. 1)
      
Governor Paul B. Johnson (1880-1943) died on December 26th at Hattiesburg, Mississippi.
     
Olivia Hill Sones Bolton (1868-1952) was named Biloxi's Most Outstanding Citizen for 1943.  Cornelia Bolton Reagan, her daughter, accepted the award as Mrs. Bolton was in Arizona visiting her son.(The Daily Herald, December 29, 1943, p. 1)
                                                                              
 
 
1944     
Elizabeth E. 'Betty' Burns launchedthe USS Pehewah, a 110-foot Navyharbor tugboat, at the Westergard Boat Works in late February.(The Daily Herald, February 25, 1944, p. 1)
     
 
George B. Cousins Sr. (1883-1969) succeeded Ernestine G. Meunier as acting Biloxi Postmasteron February 29th. He was appointed acting Postmaster by US Representative William M. Colmer (1890-1980) in January 1944.(The Daily Herald, January 11, 1944, p. 1 and February 29, 1944, p. 8)
     
 
The Gulfport Open, a PGA golf tournament, was held at the Great Southern Country Club from March 3, 1944 to March 5, 1944.  The prize money was $6000 in war bonds. Harold ‘Jug’ McSpaden (1908-1996) won the 72-hole tournament shooting eight under par defeating Sammy Byrd (1906-1981), runner-up, by six strokes.  Byron Nelson  (1912-2006) placed third.  Freddie Haas (1916-2004), NOLA golfer, was the winning amateur.  McSpaden won a $1000 war bond; Byrd a $750 war bond; and Byron Nelson a $550 war bond.  Ashton Barrett was Club President at this time and Jim Wilson. Club Professional.  Byron Nelson went on to win $37,967 in war bonds in 1944 and lead the PGA money list.  Jug McSpaden was second with $23,855 in war bond winnings.(The Daily Herald, March 1, 1944, p. 2, March 3, 1944, p. 2, and March 6, 1944, p. 2)
    
 
PGA golfers, Jug McSpaden, Sammy Byrd and Byron Nelson, went to Keesler Field at Biloxi on March 3, 1944 to demonstrate their links skills to the servicemen.(The Daily Herald, March 4, 1944, p. 6)
  
 
Dr. William W. Eley(1875-1944), native of Scott County, died on April 5th at his home on 1128 West Beach.(The Daily Herald, April 6, 1944, p. 1) 
   
 
John R. Meunier (1880-1944), retired Biloxi Postmaster, died on April 20th.(The Daily Herald, April 20, 1944, p. 10)
     
 
Henry Diaz Sr. (1872-1944), long time Biloxi grocer and owner of Bayview Packing Company and H. Diaz Oyster Company, expired at his residence on 936 Fayard Street.  Charter member of the Back Bay Fire Company and father of ten children withOlivia Boney Diaz (1874-1945).(The Daily Herald, April 24, 1944, p. 8)
     
 
Father Joseph A. Milot (1867-1944), formally at Biloxi, died at Canton, Mississippi on April 23rd.  His corporal remains were interred at Yamachiche, Quebec, Canada.(The Daily Herald, April 25, 1944, p. 5)
     
101 new homes for rental and war workers and their families are being completed by Biloxi Homes, Inc. andMiramar Homes, Inc.(The Daily Herald, April 25, 1944, p. 8) 
     
 
In May, Vincent Kuluz (1898-1987) was elected for the third time to head the Slavonian Benevolent Association.(The Daily Herald, May 19, 1944, p. 5)
     
 
BHS graduated 71 studentson May 30th.  Fairie Lynn Carter was Valedictorian;June Lawrence, Salutatorian, andJackie Logan, Class Orator. Doris Cooke was Miss BHS.(The Daily Herald, May 3, 1944, p. 8, May 23, 1944, p. 7 and May 31, 1944, p. 1
     
 
Henry Eikel (1869-1952), Biloxi tailor residing at 156 Seal Avenue and who came here  from New Orleans in June 1894, celebrated his 75th birthday and 5oth year at Biloxi on June 3rd.  Eikel had married Catherine J. Huth (1870-1935).(The Daily Herald, June 1, 1944, p. 7)
 
 
Captain Lars 'Pete' Peter Eskald (1856-1944), Danish immigrant and maritime trader, died on June 21st.(The Daily Herald, June 21, 1944, p. 1)
 
 
Henry H. Leggett (1892-1966) who came to the Coast in 1922 and owned the Arcadia-Ness Creamery, which he acquired in 1932 sold it to the Borden Company in 1944.  He lived at Handsboro, Mississippi.(The Daily Herald, September 22, 1964, p. 12) 
   
 
Lyman Bradford (1863-1944), native of Jackson County, Mississippi and Biloxi entrepreneur, expired on November 21st.(The Daily Herald, November 22, 1944, p. 1)
   
 
In their 30th renewal, Gulfport beat Biloxi 24-0 at Biloxi on Thanksgiving Day.  Dace Davis was the Indians football coach at this time.  The series was now tied 13-13 with four ties.(The Daily Herald, November 24, 1944, p. 6) 
   
 
On December 8th, the Biloxi Knights of Columbus netted $461 for the Biloxi Doll & Toy Fund from the Shrimp Bowl game proceeds.  Istrouma High of Baton Rouge, Louisiana played Moss Point and won 47-7.(The Daily Herald, December 9, 1944, p. 6 and December 14, 1944, p. 1)
    
 
O.E. Thompson (1874-1944), building contractor who built many of the new structures at Biloxi following the Great Fire of November 1900, expired on December 24th.(The Daily Herald, December 26, 1944, p. 5)
 
 
Major Eugene A. Hiller (1898-1970), Biloxi VA director, was named Citizen of the Year by the Biloxi Lions Club.(The Daily Herald, December  , 1943).  
                                              
 
1945
 
 
Edward 'Eddie' E. Lemien (1925-2009), Jehovah Witness, stated in Federal Court at Biloxi that he was an ordained minister since childhood and did not believe in war.  Lemien had failed to report for induction into military service and claimed that he had filed an appeal which he had never gotten a reply.  Judge Sidney C. Mize instructed the jury to find for the defendant.(The Daily Herald, February 21, 1945, p. 1)

1st Lt. J.J. 'Jerry' O'Keefe III, USMC- (b. 1923)

During his first WW II aerial combat mission flown with the 2nd Marine Air Wing over the skies of Okinawa in April 1945, 1st Lieutenant J.J. 'Jerry' O’Keefe III destroyed five Japanese aircraft, which earned him the "ace" designation. Before the Pacific theater hostilities ended in August 1945, Jerry O’Keefe  had been credited with two additional kills. For his valiant military service, he was bestowed the Navy Cross, Distinguished Flying Cross, Air Medal, and Gold Star. He received these medals on October 14, 1946, at New Orleans. (The Daily Herald, April 25, 1945, p. 1 and October 15, 1946, p. 5)

 
 
President Franklin Delano Roosevelt (1882-1945) died on April 12th.  He was suceeded by Harry S. Truman (1884-1972), the vice-president.
 
 
Ingalls Shipbuilding at Pascagoula planned to build a railroad locomotive.(The States-Item, April 30, 1945, p. 7-B and The Morning Advocate, October 3, 1945, p. 6-A)
 
 
Germany surrendered on May 7, 1945.
      
 
The Embassy Club, formerly the Henry Piaggio (1874-1921) home at Gulfport, was acquired by Anthony Ingassia Jr., John L. Cox, and James F. Porter of Gulfport and renamed the Merry Mansion.  They planned to open in June.(The Daily Herald, May 25, 1945, p. 9)
      
 
Sgt. Julius Boros (1920-1994), who would become an outstanding PGA golfer, was stationedat Keesler AFB in 1945 and was a key player on the successful Keesler golf team.(The Daily Herald, May 23, 1945, p. 7 and May 25, 1945, p. 6)
      
 
BHS graduated eighty seniors in late May.  Pattie Beth Corban was valedictorian; Lucille Filipich, salutatorian; and Helen Fayard, class orator.  James Walker was named coach of the Biloxi Indians by Superintendent Gerorge W. Ditto in early June.(The Daily Herald, May 24, 1945, p. 6, May 26, 1945, p. 5, and May 30, 1945, p. 1)
      
 
In June, the Biloxi Business Men's Club planned to dedicate their new park on Back Bay between Bay Terrace and Oak Park.(The Daily Herald, June 1, 1945, p. 2)
      
 
Joseph Mattina (1889-1969) and Joseph Ewing of the Biloxi Police seized 30 slot machines after R. Hart Chinn signed an affidavit against the owners and managers of venues with gambling devices.  Among them were: Park Hotel Bar; Cottage Inn; Marietta Cafe; Avelez Hotel; Sports Center; and the Brass Rail.(The Daily Herald, June 9, 1945, p. 3)
   
 
Elvas V. Shove was sworn in on July 31st as Biloxi's US Postmaster.  He replaced acting US Postmaster, G.B. Cousins Jr.(The Daily Herald, August 1, 1945, p. 1) 
    
George E. Bills (1867-1945), Biloxi Police Chief from 1917 to 1934, died on July 18th.(The Daily Herald, July 18, 1945, p. 1) 
   
 
Carloss Well Supply Company of Memphis, Tennessee completed a 12-inch well for the City of Biloxi on Main Street flowing 1,500,000 gallons of potable water per day.  They then started digging a 10-inch well to 1000 feet for the Southern Mississippi Ice Company.(The Daily Herald, July 18, 1945, p. 7)
   
 
In July 1945, Miss Louise Mallard (1900-1975) was recognized for her workassisting French students at Keesler Field.  She was given a pinfrom the French Student of Aviation Mechanics in America.(The Daily Herald, July 20, 1945, p. 8)
     
 
Westergard Boat Works on Back Bay cancelled its lease with the Biloxi Port Commission in mid-August.  Since October 1941, the boat yard had built for the US Navy: two submarine chasers-$300,000; ten mine sweepers-$4,000,000; and four harbor tugs-$1,500,000.  For the US Army, the shipyard had built eighteen oil barges-$1,020,000.  In addition, three, steel, trawlers were erected for the seafood industry-$25,000.  During its almost four years of production, the facility had a payroll exceeding $4,000,000 and employed about 500-700 Biloxians who worked on construction contracts exceeding $7.5 million.  William P. Kennedy II was president of the organization.(The Daily Herald, August 14, 1945, p. 1)
   
 
While in the South Pacific in August 1945, Major A.V. 'Tony' Ragusin, US Army Air Corps, with a letter from Mayor Chester A. Delacruz requesting a flag from Captain P.R. Heineman (1896-1979), skipper of "The Busy Bee", USS Biloxi [CL 80], received the battle flag flown by this light cruiser in the Leyte Gulf campaign fought against the Japanese fleet.  The letter also carried an invitation for the entire crew of the USS Biloxi to come to Biloxi after the conflict for a shrimp boil.  Captain Heineman retired from the US Navy as a Rear Admiral in 1949.[The Daily Herald, August 20, 1945, p. 2]
 
 
The East End Methodist Church was organized in September.  Their sanctuary at 1013 East Howard Avenue was built in 1947 and the first worship service was held in the new church in March 1947.(The Daily Herald, January 7, 1949, p. 2) 
 
 
Trebotich Brothers
 
Michelina Trebotich (1891-1978), native of Croatia and widow of George Trebotich, had six sons serving in the US armed forces: Steve Trebotich (1916-2010)-US Coast Guard; Joseph M. Trebotich (1917-1996)-USN; George Trebotich-US Army Air Corps; John L. Trebotich (1920-2003)-US Army; Louis J. Trebotich (1923-2004)-USN; and Peter B. Trebotich (1926-2006)-US Army.  Madeline Trebotich (1924-2006), a daughter, who married Ernest Keenan, was employed at Keesler Field.(The Daily Herald, September 11, 1945, p. 3) 
     
 
The OSHS football team beat the Biloxi High 'B' team 18-0 in mid-September.(The Daily Herald, September 15, 1949, p. 2) 
     
 
In August, Luther Maples (1890-1971),District Attorney, ordered slot machines be removed from commercial premises.  By late September, the gaming machines were coming back to their former haunts.  Slot machines were still rare to find in local grocery stores and restaurants.(The Daily Herald, September 21, 1945, p. 5)
    
 
In September 1945, the American Manufacturing Company of New Orleans established a garment plant at Biloxi on East Back Bay. The machinery was destroyed in the September 1947 Hurricane, but was quickly replaced. By August 1948, the plant employed 40 seamstresses making women's undergarments.  The garments were cut in New Orleans and sent to Biloxi for assembly. Michael Gaglio, production manager, related that the plant made 12,000 panties and 7000 gowns each week.  The women were paid by the piece and earned between $50 and $70 each week. David Rosenblum with the cooperation of the Biloxi Port Commission and the Chamber of Commerce were responsible for this industry at Biloxi.(The Daily Herald, August 6, 1948, p. 4)
 
 
In early September Clare Beatrice Sekul [in April 1947 m. Warren Haywood Hornsby (1922-1996)], a law graduate of Ole Miss, commenced her legal practice in the Barq's Building on West Howard Avenue.  She was the 41st woman to be admitted to the Mississippi Bar and is considered to be the first woman to practice law in Biloxi.(The Daily Herald, May 28, 1945, p. 7, May 30, 1945, p. 7, and September 4, 1945, p. 8)
     
 
St. Michael's Catholic School to cost $224,410 commenced construction in October.  It was the single largest construction project at Biloxi in 1945.(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1946, p. 1)
 
     
Donald R. FitzRoy
 
Donald Roy FitzRoy (1875-1966), native of St. Louis, Missouri  and retired Biloxi lumberman [Fitzroy-Harris Lumber Company] and resident of Biloxi since 1928, was named Citizen of the Year by the Biloxi Lions Club. FitzRoy resided at 922 West Beach and was a member of the Biloxi Park Board, USO-Armory Committee, and vice-chairman of the Biloxi Red Cross.   Mr. FitzRoy died at Biloxi on December 26, 1966.  His corporal remains were interred besides his spouse, Bernice S. Fitzroy (1885-1946), at Southern Memorial Park.(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1946, p.1 and December 27, 1966, p. 2)                                                                   
 
 
1946 
A tornado  or strong wind event struck East Biloxi and Ocean Springs in early January.  The freak storm resulted in about $10,000 in damage.  The most severe destruction at Biloxi occurred between First Street and the Beach and Pine and Maple Street.  Two rows of tenements houses owned by Mavar on East Beach were damaged loosing roofs, electrical wiring, and trees.  At Ocean Springs, principal damage was $500 to the Purity Seafood Company plant operated by Dudley Lang and the Seymour property, both situated at the foot of Jackson Avenue.  No one in either community was injured.(The Daily Herald, January 7, 1946, p. 1)
 
 
David Smith (1856-1946), native of Sydney, Australia, died resulting from an automobile accident on January 2nd. He and his spouse, taught the children of Bayou Puerto [Gulf Hills ] their catechism and they was responsible for the construction of St. Joseph's Chapel. David was killed in an automobile accident at Biloxi, Mississippi on January 2, 1946. His wife died on the day that their last Confirmation class received the sacrament from Bishop R.O. Gerow. His corporal remains were interred in the Biloxi Cemetery.(The Daily Herald, January 3, 1946, p. 5)
 
 
Warren Jackson, secretary of the Biloxi Chamber of Commerce, was replaced by Anthony Ragusin on March 1st.  Major Ragusin had held the position and left in Novemebr 1941 to serve in the armed forces.(The Daily Herald, January 10, 1946, p. 1 and February 28, 1946, p. 3)
 
 
The Biloxi Freezing Company was organized and charter applied for in early January by Lee Paul Gutierrrez (1903-1979), et al.  The freezing plant was to be built on the site of the old Gutierrez home and coal yard on Bohn Street and the L&N Railroad.  Glenn L. Swetman and other Biloxi businessmen are associated with the venture which was formed to provide additional freezing and storage for the seafood industry.  Construction of the ice plant was expected to commence and be ready by the fall or winter.  Lee Gutierrezhad been with the Southern Mississipi Ice Company since 1926.(The Daily Herald, January 10, 1946, p. 1)
     
 
Captain Llewellyn R. Bowen (1866-1946), native of Racine, Wisconsin and retired Ship Island Bar Pilot with over 45 years of service, died on April 29, 1946.  He had been a Mason for over fifty years; an eighteen year member of the Biloxi School Board; memebr of the Perkinston School Board; and a director of the Peoples Bank.(The Daily Herald, April 30, 1946, p. 6)
     
 
The Reverend Edward A. DeMiller (1889-19  ) celebrated his twenty-fifth anniversary at Biloxi in early July.(The Daily Herald, July 8, 1946, p. 2)
      
 
A school bond issue to be voted on in December was proposed for a new, $100,000, colored school at Biloxi.(The Daily Herald, October 2, 1946, p. 1)
 
 
On July 16th, George Barrow Cousins Jr. (1909-1966) defeated R. Hart Chinn (1888-1972) for Mayor of Biloxi.  J.A. 'Tony' Creel (1901-1992), incumbent City Commissioner was reelected and Gordon A. Dacey beat Keener Hunt, John A. Swanzy, Granville Lepre. and Ervin Garec for the other Commissioner post.  R. Hart Chinn challenged the election results but G.B. Cousins was adjudicated Mayor in early October by Judge J.C. Shivers of Poplarville.(The Daily Herald, July 17, 1946, p. 1, August 6, 1946, p. 1 and October 5, 1946, p. 1)
     
 
The Avelez Hotel Corporation was chartered in June by Uriah S. Joachim, Richard R. Guice, Adrian Weill, and Albert Sydney Johnston Jr.(Harrison Co., Ms. Chancery Court Charter Bk. 93, p. 162)
     
Ralph Duncan (1911-1987), Biloxi seafood processor and distributor, made the first air shipment of seafood from Biloxi.  Four thousand pounds of frozen, fresh shrimp aboard a Chicago and Southern Airlines DC-3 was air freighted to Detroit, Michigan in mid-August.  Duncan expected the flight about seven hours.(The Daily Herald, August 13, 1946, p. 1 and August 15, 1946, p. 1)
     
 
Former Mississipppi Governor and US Senator Theodore Gilmore Bilbo (1877-1947) expired at NOLA on August 21st.
     
 
The Avondale Food Store, Father Ryan and Third Street, opened for business in early October.  Zeno Maloney and Alma Maloney were the proprietors with A.J. Mattina, as the butcher.(The Daily Herald, October 7, 1946, p. 6)
 
 
Kennedy-Moran Enterprises Boat Works moved into the abandon Westergard Shipyard on Back Bay in October 1946 and had built 830 boats during its first year of operation. Moran had nine basic boat designs ranging in length from eight to seventeen feet.  The Joseph Moran et al built boats were distributed locally by Bel-Bru Sporting Goods at 112 East Howard Avenue.(The Daily Herald, November 1, 1946, p. 7 and September 13, 1947)
 
 
The Biloxi Little Theatre had its first performance, Love From A Stranger, on October 15th at the Biloxi Community House. Jane Wood Pringle (1917-1977)  and Louise Mallard (1900-1975) were among the stellar cast.(The Daily Herald, October 16, 1946, p. 7) 
 
 
President Harry S. Truman's (1884-1972)order that price controls on livestock, meat and food, and feed products end went into effect on October 15th.(The Daily Herald, October 15, 1946, p. 1)
 
 
A new, $460,000, Post Office and Federal Courthouse were recommened for Biloxi.(The Daily Herald, October 19, 1946, p. 1)
 
 
Leonetti Motors was erecting a garage and dealership to vend the new Kaiser-Frazer automobile at 803-815 West Howard Avenue.(The Daily Herald, October 21, 1946, p. 3)

 

George A. Wimberly (1920-1996), a 1941 graduate of the Southwest Louisiana Institute at Lafayette, Louisiana was hired as the BHS Band Director in late October.  Mr. Wimberly replaced Marion Carpenter (1917-1983) who had ressigned in May 1945 and became the first band director of the Sacred Heart Academy all-girls band in late October 1946.(The Daily Herald, October 22, 1946, p. 4 and October 30, 1946, p. 4)

 

Keesler Field had over 14,000 personnel on base which included 1936 civilian employees.(The Daily Herald, October 30, 1946, p. 4)

 

George W. Ditto (1895-1975), Biloxi Public School Superintendent, resigned his position in late October to be effective January 1, 1947.  Mr. Ditto had been Biloxi's school superintendent since 1934.  Prior to that he  had been principal of the Central High School coming to Biloxi in 1924.(The Daily Herald, September 2, 1924, p. 3 and October 30, 1946, p. 1)

 

Wallace Chapman (1903-1982), area manager for theMississippi Power Company, related that Biloxi had about 5500 elecrtric customers at this time compared to 2200 when the company began its operation here in 1925.  Additional power facilities for Biloxi were under construction including two new substations and an approximately, two-mile long, 22,000 volt power line on Division and Oak Streets.(The Daily Herald, October 31, 1946, p. 13)

 

Bel-Bru Sporting Goods, the partnership of Eddie Bellman (1920-2009) and Edward J. Brou (1921-2004), opened on November 1st at 112 East Howard Avenue.  The business in addition to vending a complete line of athletic goods was the local distributor for the 'Devil' boats manufactured by the Kennedy-Moran Enterprisesat the former Westergard Boat Yard on Back Bay and Lee Street.(The Daily Herald, November 1, 1946, p. 7)

 
The new Bayview Theater on Bayview Avenue and Lameuse Strcet opened on November 30th with Gerard Smith, son of Douglas I. Smith (1901-1979) and Vera Moran Smith (1901-1968), manager.  Kay's Flower Shop which was owned by Kay Carron andlocated in the Smith theatre building opened in mid-October with Miss Florence Wescovich as her assistant.  Mrs. Carron planned to continue as an assocaite buyer with Bay Apparel of Mrs. Mae Henley Hoffman.(The Daily Herald, October 15, 1946, p. 5 and November 28, 1946, p. 1) 
      
 
Professor Marion Carpenter's Sacred Heart All-Girls Band played before an audience for the first time on December 17th.(The Daily Herald, December 18, 1946, p. 8)
     
 
In December, theEarle Hotel Company, a national chain, took along term lease from the Avelez Hotel Corporation.  The Avelez Hotel will be renamed the Earle Hotel and T.R. Brady, manager, will be replaced by H.R. Davern on January 1st.(The Daily Herald, December 17, 1946, p. 1)
 
 
Biloxi had 4663 telephones.(The Daily Herald, January 23, 1947, p. 9)
 
 
Ross Logan Fickes (1886-1979) was named Citizen of the Year by the Biloxi Lions Club.                                                     
 
 
 
1947
 
The Reverend Henry Ware Van Hook (1867-1947) expired at Biloxi on January 28th.  Van Hook was born at NOLA and was educated at Centenary College and Vanderbilt University.  He was at Biloxi from 1901 to 1909 when the new Main Street Methodist Church was erected.  He retired from the Methodist ministry in 1939 and then taught school at Saucier, North Biloxi, and Biloxi.(The Daily Herald, January 28, 1947, p. 1)
 
 
Edward Everette Moore (1879-1947), former owner of the Coast Steam Laundry with W.G. Dalzell, Ward Three Alderman, and Hugo, Oklahoma automobile dealer, expired on May 2nd.(The Daily Herald, May 2, 1947, p.  ) 
 
 
The Pringle Brothers celebrated their new Ford dealership building situated on West Howard Avenue near Caillavet Street with a formal dedication on May 23rd and May 24th.(The Daily Herald, May 23, 1947, p. 5)
 
 
The Lyman C. Bradford Post, VFW began planning for a memorial park between Lameuse and Main Street to honor Biloxians who lost their lives in WWI and WWI.  The memorial was to cost $3500 and will be donated anonymously by a local citizen.(The Daily Herald, June 5, 1947, p. 13) 

 

In July, Jane Vickery [married Thomas M. Kennedy] was named Miss Biloxi in the Kiwanis beauty pageant. (The Times Picayune, July 6, 1948, p. 33)

 

Dr. Lewis Wade Hood expired on July 24, 1947.

 

John A. Swanzy(1881-1965), who served the City of Biloxi for thirty seven years as Street Commissioner and Public Works Commissioner, retired on January 1st.(The Daily Herald, September 8, 1965, p. 2)

 
Laz Quave (1910-1985), Biloxi Police Chief, was elected Sheriff of Harrison County in August 1947.  He succeeded Maxie M. Broadus of Gulfport.(The Jackson County Times, August 30, 1947, p. 1)
     
 
On 17 September, Southern Bell Telephone & Telegraph Company acquired a lot of land for $5420 on West Howard Avenue from Eugene P. Leonetti and Sue Allen Leonetti.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Land Deed Bk. 291, p. 22)
 
Hurricane hits Grand Isle, Louisiana on September 3rd-4th and Biloxi on September 18th and 19th.  Thirteen-foot storm surge wrecks havoc on Biloxi waterfront from Point Cadet westward.(The Daily Herald, September 24, 1947, p. 1)
     
 
David Rosenblum (1912-1957) acquired the J.O. Coleman Guarantee Shoe Store business, which had been in Biloxi since 1920.  Mr. Rosenblum will remodel and open as David's, a ladies ready to wear.(The Daily Herald, September 29, 1947, p. 5)
      
 
Sumner W. Rose (1858-1947), native of Columbus, Ohio, retired printer-publisher and Socialist, who founded Co-opolis on the north shore of the Back Bay of Biloxi in the late 1890s, expired on October 30th at Houston, Texas.(The Daily Herald, November 1, 1947, p. 2) 
     
 
Sunshine and Health, official magazine of the American Sunbathers Association, Inc., announced in its December issue that a new nudist organization is planning a nudist colony on Deer Island.(The Daily Herald, December 18, 1947, p. 16)
      
 
Lewis E. Curtis, Deputy Collector of Customs, announced that 56 boats had been built in Biloxi in 1947 compared to 68 in 1946.(The Daily Herald, January 3, 1948, p. 1)
       
 
Monsignor Geoffrey T. O'Connell (1900-1976) of N.B.V.M. was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Biloxi Lion's Club.(The Daily Herald, January 2, 1948, p. 1)
    
 
1948
 
Laz Quave (1910-1985), former Biloxi Police Chief, was sworn in as the new Harrison County Sheriff in early January.(The Daily Herald, January 5, 1948, p. 1)
 
 
The new Daily Herald building at 209 West Water Street was almost completed.  Collins & Collins, architects, and Collins Brothers Contracting erected the 37-foot by 50-foot structure.(The Daily Herald, January 7, 1948, p. 1)
 
      
American Tung Oil Mill-Creosote Road
 
First Mississippi produced tung oil began to flow in late January at the American Tung Oil Mill at the Landon Community, Harrison County, Mississippi situated four miles north of Gulfport and near US Highway No. 49.  The plant processed nuts from groves in George, Greene, Harrison, Jackson, Hancock, Harrison, Perry, and Stone Counties in Mississippi and Mobile and Baldwin Counties in Alabama.(The Daily Herald, January 29, 1948, p. 1 and June 2, 1949, Sec. II, p. 1)
 
 
The $1,000,000 Phillips Milk of Magnesia plant, a divison of Sterling Drugs, at Gulfport was dedicated on January 30th.(The Daily Herald, January 7, 1948, p. and January 31, 1948, p. 1)
     
 
The Azealean, an L&N Railroad passenger liner, wrecked in a dense fog on the L&N Railroad bridge across Back Bay and the diesel engine almost went into the water.(The Daily Herald, Febraury 6, 1948, p. 1)
 
 
Dr. B.Z. Welch, chairman of the Main Street Methodist Church building committee, announced plans for a new sanctuary on Hopkins Boulevard.  Carl Matthes was named architect.(The Daily Herald, March 1, 1948, p. 2)
 
 
MDOT began work on the Corso-Simon bridge across the Tchutacabouffa River.(The Daily herald, March 1, 1948, p. 2)
 
 
The Crystal Ice Company of Biloxi was founded by Samuel Ross Morgan Jr. (1914-1993), Kathaleen Hobbs Morgan (1917-1996) W.H. White in March 1948.  The Morgans were domiciled at NOLA while Mr. White lived at Gulfport.  The Morgans had founded the Crystal Ice Company of Gulfport with Elbert Ausbon of Amory, Mississippi in August 1947.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Chancery Court Chattel Deed Bk. 103, p. 387 and Bk. 105 ,p. 253)
 
 
D.M. Tice, proprietor of Tice's Roller Rink, reopened his newly constructed roller rink on West Beach near Delauney Street on April 5th.  The new building was larger [40 feet by 90 feet] and stronger than that destroyed by the September 1947 Hurricane. Ray Koppleman sold double-dip frozen custard and Al Gobel entertained on the Hammond organ. Mr. Tice has been in the skating business since 1936.(The Daily Herald, April 3, 1948, p. 3, and April 6, 1948, p. 5)
    
 
The $50,000, Gulf Coast Drive Inn Theatre situated on Pass Road about  1/2 mile west of the VA and owned by Chester A. Knight planned to open abouy May 1st.(The Daily Herald, April 7, 1948, p. 1)
    
 
The Magnolia Motel Cottages of Anson and Lionel Holley and located on West Beach and Magnolia Street opened in April.  There were eight furnished cottages with kitchenettes.(The Daily Herald, April 7, 1948, p. 4)
    
In April, Wayne T. Sandefur, former BHS coach and graduate of Purdue and Indiana University, succeeded C.L. Barrett as principal of BHS.  Other principal positions in the Biloxi School system announced were:  Mrs. W.G. Grayson, Lopez; Lilly Bowen, Howard I; Delphine Holloway, Howard II; Margaret Spier, Dukate; Alma Ritch, Gorenflo; and Fannie Nichols, colored school.(The Daily Herald, April 9, 1948, p. 1)
    
 
Fernwood-by-the-Sea, a 22-unit tourist court, was acquired by R.O. Holt, a native of Memphis.  Mr. Holt came to Biloxi in 1938 and acquired the tourist court fro, F.H. West, the owner since 1936.  R.O. Holt planned to erect a service station in front of the business.(The Daily Herald, April 10, 1948, p. 3)
 
 
The Artic Bar on West Beach near Couevas Street will open about 1 June.  A. Herman and Joseph Cleary announced that the new, $10,000 building will be 30-feet by 40-feet and of tile block construction.  The Arctic bar on Lameuse Street south of the Peoples Bank will remain in operation.(The Daily Herald, May 14, 1948, p. 8)
 
 
John Treuting of Vacation Village has started construction of a new, $6000 grill on East Beach near Main Street which will be operated by Mr. and Mrs. John R. McCaughey.  The 19-ft. by 31-foot structure will have 8 inch brick walls and placed on the lot as not to destroy the beautiful oak trees.  John T. Colins and Associates are the architects and engineers and expect to finish work by 4 July.(The Daily Herald, May 18, 1948)
 
 
The new $60,000, Gulf Coast Drive-In Theatre, located 1/2 mike west of the Biloxi Veterans' Administration Center, opened on May 18th.  Chester A. Knight, proprietor, who is from Bogalusa, Louisiana was pleased with the opening night attendance.(The Daily Herald, May 19, 1948, p. 1)
 
 
Ernest E. Summerlin (1921-1998), recent US Coast Guard serviceman, is clearing lot in the 1600 block of East Howard Avenue to erect a new movie theatre.  The 28-foot by 80-foot, wood frame building with celotex interior will cost $18,000 and seat 300 people.  His brother, Robert Summerlin, will assist in the construction.(The Daily Herald, May 24, 1948, p. 6)
 
 
J.S. Love Jr., executive vice-president, had been advised by the FCC that WLOX radio station was cleared to begin broadcasting program tests on May 27, 1948 from the Buena Vista Hotel.  In addition to Mr. Love, WLOX Broadcasting Company was owned by Mendum H. Dees, president; Dr. Lel J. Smith (1910-1991), vice pres., Dr. B.B. O'Mara, secretary, and C.S. Wentzell, treasuruer.(The Daily Herald, May 26, 1948, p. 1)
 
 
Roy Rosalis (1909-1984) planned to start a $50,000 fish sales company-The Union Fisheries Sales, Inc.  It would be headquartered on Bay View Avenue at the home of the Union Fisheries.  William Lasero, Boston, was to be its sales manager.(The Daily Herald, July 9, 1948, p. 7)
     
 
A new, $140,000, colored school [Nichols?] situated near Bayou Augustine was under construction. It was to be a brick, two-storied structure with 14 rooms and anauditorium to seat 600 people.  H.J. Koski & Company were the contractors.(The Daily Herald, July 10, 1948, p. 6)
     
 
WLOX radio station took a lease from the Buena Vista Hotel for broadcast space on June 15th.(Harrison Co., Ms. Chancery Court Land Deed Bk. 323, p. 50)
     
 
Alonzo L. Gabrich (1894-1948), former Police Chief, expired on June 29, 1948Louis E. Anglada (1910-1955), Gabrich's replacement, retired from the position in December 1949, citing disability as the cause.(The Daily Herald, January 5, 1951, p. 1)
      
 
 
Baricev's Restaurant planned to open in early July after being destroyed in the September 1947 Hurricane.  The new building was 47 feet by 70 feet and was located on the site of the old Marietta Cafe.  Peter J. Baricev of John T. Collins Construction Company designed the new reaturant.(The Daily Herald, June 30, 1948, p. 1) 
     
 
Tommy Munro (1931-2009), son of Mrs. J.C. Munro, and a senior at BHS was named the 'National Safe Driving Champion".  He won a1948 Ford automobile, a week with all expenses to Detroit, trophies, a watch, and luggage. Tommy acquired his skill while  driving a truck for John 'Jack' C. Munro (1894-1954), his father and localShell Oil jobber.(The Daily Herald,  ) 
 
 
In July, Doris Roberts (b. 1929), a native of Atlanta, Georgia and student at BHS, was named Miss Biloxi in the Kiwanis beauty pageant.  She lived with C.F. Bonner and spouse, her brother-in-law and sister.  The Bonners were stationed at KAFB.(The Times Picayune, July 6, 1948, p. 33)
   
 
In late July, the cornerstone for the new $300,000 Bell South building on West Howard Avenue was laid.  It was made of Indiana limestone as was the base of the structure.  Completion was anticpated about November 1st.(The Daily Herald, July 30, 1948, p. 1)
 
 
The Biloxi Lighthouse had its 100th anniversary.  The USCG maintained the structure at this time.(The Daily Herald, August 3, 1948, p. 1)
     
 
AT&T Building-West Howard Avenue
 
The Southern Bell Telephone and Telegraph new telephone exchange building on West Howard Avenue was under construction. The building was erected to house the new dial system. Biloxi was one of the first cities of its size to receive the new technology. Cost for the project was approximately $916,000.(The Daily Herald, August 4, 1948, p. 4) 
 
 
At the New Orleans Country Club in mid-August 1948, Marcel J. "Mickey' Bellande (1909-1980) qualified for the two-hundred and ten man field, US Amateur Golf Championship, which was to be held at Memphis in late August-September.  Gardiner Dickinson of the LSU golf team led the regional qualifiers in the 36-hole format by followed by Bellande, Charles Rosen II, and Junius J. ‘Jay’ Hebert (1923-1997) of Lafayette.  Bellande lost to James G. Jackson of Kirkwood, Missouri in the first round of the match play event. William ‘Willie’ Turnesa (1914-2001) was the eventual winner of the 1948 US Amateur with a 2-1 victory over Raymond E. Barnes.(The Daily Herald, August 19, 1948, p. 2 and August 30, 1948, p. 3)
     
 
The Galloping GaelsBiloxi Youth Center's independent football team and coached by Louis E. Presti (1917-1993) was organized in 1948.
     
 
West Beach Arms, a 14-unit apartment house situated on West Beach Boulevard and Heartease Park was completed in October.  Construction by Emery Sadler (1899-1959), owner, started in February and cost about $107,000.(The Daily Herald, October 1, 1948, p. 1)
   
 
In mid-October, the Teche Greyhound Lines acquired the old Methodist Church property on Main Street behind City Hall from Adrian Weill.  Teche Greyhound Lines was managed locally by Val Lunday and the bus company planned toerect a terminal here.  The Methodist parish house was relocated by Mr. Weill.(The Daily Herald, October 12, 1948, p. 1.)
    
 
The new $125,000, concrete football stadium at Gulfport was named for Joseph W. Milner (b. 1892), Mayor since 1925, Coca-Cola distributor and Gulf Coast Military Academy owner.  Milner Stadium had a seating capacity of 7400 fans.(The Daily Herald, November 13, 1948, p. 1)
   
 
Prince Charles of England (b. 1948) was born on November 14th to Princess Elizabeth, now Queen, and Prince Philip.(The Daily Herald, November 14, 1948, p. 1)
     
 
Anson Holley II (1908-1975) and Lionel J. Holley (1910-1993) opened the new Holley's Triple XXX at 300 West Beach on November 19th.  The old building was built in 1925 and acquired by the Holley family in 1935.  The 1947 Hurricane damaged the structure and a $40,000, 2-story building was erected on the former Triple XXX site. The new 3500 sq.-ft. building with a signature, curved, glass block facade had a lounge, restaurant and private dining room on the 2nd floor.(The Daily Herald, November 17, 1948, p. 12)
   
 
The new Jitney Jungle Store of Richard Creel (1913-2006), a butcher formerly with the H.G. Hill store and A&P, and Oliver F. Diaz (1915-1958), owner of several Quickway Store, opened in mid-November on the north side of West Beach Boulevard between Reynoir and Fayard Streets.  Sam Mitchell had the concrete structure built.  Mitchell's other tenants were: the Biloxi Pottery and Art Gallery of Duckett and an ice cream parlor owned by Ronald Ladnier.(The Daily Herald, November 17, 1948, p. 6)
   
 
Charles E. Hultberg (1874-1948), native of Sweden and retired from American Can Company and resident of Biloxi since 1922, died at his Porter Avenue residence.  Mr. Hultberg, an artist, won the People’s Bank gold medal award for the best oil painting at the 1st GCAA in 1927.(The Daily Herald, February 5, 1927, p. 5 and November 20, 1948, p. 6)
   
 
The Reverend Maynard Michael Miller, native of Lock Haven, Pennsylvaniabecame pastor of the Presbyterian Church in late November.(The Daily Herald, November 27, 1948, p. 6)
   
 
Dr. F.J. Vlazny (1919-1952+), Illinois trained pediatrician,opened his medical practice in the Lopez Building in late November.  Dr. A.L. Vlazney (1916-2000), his brother, was a Biloxi dentist and also officed in the Lopez Building.(The Daily Herald, November 27, 1948, p. 3)
     
 
L. [Lucius] O. Crosby (1869-1948), former Picayune mayor and southwest Mississippi lumber baron, died at NOLA in late November.(The Daily Herald, November 25, 1949, p. 1)
   
 
The new $30,000 Standard Oil Station at West Beach and Porter Avenue opened on December 1st.(The Daily Herald, November 27, 1948, p. 2) 
   
 
In early December, Miss Mary Evelyn Anglada [married Stanley Dellenger] was crowned Queen of the 9th Annual Shrimp Bowl where the Bulldogs of Baton Rouge High School beat the Bay High Tornado of Panama City, Flordia by the score of 6-0.(The Daily Herald, December 4, 1948, p. 4 and p. 6)
   
 
The Wild Duck, a new 65-foot yacht owned by William P. Kennedy II, while on its shake-down cruise exploded and burned east of Ship Island about seven miles off Biloxi in early December.  Mr. Kennedy and wife with their guests, Mr. and Mrs. William C. Gould of Detroit, Michigan, paddled a skiff from the derelict watercraft to Deer Island and saved themselves.(The Daily Herald, Decemebr 6, 1948, p. 1)
     
 
Miss Lillie Theresa Randazzo [married Robert D. Hall] was the 1948 Homecoming Queen for the Galloping Gaels football squad.(The Daily Herald, December 6, 1948, p. 9)
     
 
Nathan V. Boddie bought the 75-year old Cat Island Lighthouse from the War Assets Administration for $440.  He planned to tear it down and salvage the lumber.(The Daily Herald, December 8, 1948, p. 11)        
 
 
Judge Lawrence C. Corban (1900-1989) was named Citizen of the Year by the Biloxi Lion's Club.(The Daily Herald, Janaury 1, 1949, p. 1)                                                        
 
 
1949
Police Chief Louis E. Anglada (1910-1955), retired on January 1st because of poor health  Earl F. Wetzel  (1910-1962) was named Police Chief and Henry W. Cook Jr. (1913-1951), assistant Police Chief, on January 13th.(The Daily Herald, December 9, 1948, p. 1 and January 14, 1949, p. 1) 
     
 
The new$200,000 Methodist Church on Hopkins Boulevard broke ground in early January.  Dr. B.Z. Welch was chairman of the building committee.(The Daily Herald, January 7, 1949, p. 2)
     
 
The East End Methodist Church at 1013 East Howard Avenuewas dedicated in early Jauary.  Cecil Ryals wasthe pastor.  The church had its first service in March 1947.  Former pastors were: Winston O'Neal; A.M. Ellison; T.L. McCurley; Elmer Kilbourne.(The Daily Herald, January 7, 1949, p. 2)
     
 
The City accepted bids on January 17th forthe purchase of 109 parking meters.  They were used for ashort time during WWII.(The Daily Herald, January 7, 1949, p. 2) 
     
 
Dr. Julius M. Fernandez (1916-1983), a 1940 Tulane graduate, opened a medical clinic in the Picard Building, East Beach and Kuhn Street, with Ruby Picard, a registered nurse and his aunt, on January 10th.(The Daily Herald, January 7, 1949, p. 2 and January 10, 1949, p. 2)
     
 
The new Mississippi Highway No. 55 Bridge [called the Corso Bridge in the 1960s] across the Tchutacabouffa River north of Biloxi was completed in mid-January.  W.R. Fairchild Construction Co. of Hattiesburg erected the span for $73,500 commencing on July 15, 1948.(The Daily Herald, January 14, 1949, p. 1)
     
 
Percy L. Elmer (1873-1949), former City alderman and treasurer and husband of Mary Griffin, expired at his home at 236 Bellman Street on January 25th.  Mr. Elmer was a blacksmith and a member of Collins and Elmer, a firm that shoed horses and performed general blacksmithing services.(The Daily Herald, January 26, 1949, p. 2)
 

In February 1949, it was announced that through the efforts of Congressman William Colmer (D)-Mississippi that a rural post office station would open at North Biloxi, referred to as the d'Iberville Community on March 1, 1949.  The North Biloxi postal station was situated in the Quave Brothers Texaco station and was called 'Fletcher's News Stand'.(The Daily Herald, February 19, 1949, p. 2)     

 
Howard McDonnell (1909-1992), Biloxi attorney, and Mary Rose Venus Taconi (1927-1992), ruled the Biloxi Mardi Gras celebration on March 1st. Clinton Bolton (1944-1997), King Arguis, andGayden Fritz Purcell, Queen Tevalliac, were monarchs of the Children's Mardi Gras festivities.(The Daily Herald, March 2, 1949, p. 1) 
   
 
Andrew Gillich (b. 1923) and Jacobina Sekul Wetzel Gillich (1913-2003), proprietors of the City Hall Grocery since 1941, opened their new Food Land Store at 1400 West Howard Avenue onMarch 3rd.  J.P. Starks built the 4500 sq-ft, grocery store building which had an attached three-bedroom apartment. Miss Mary Gillich was theassistant manager.(The Daily Herald, March 2, 1949, p. 6)
   
 
In mid-March, Southern Bell replaced its 1913 telephone equipment at Biloxi and instituted its new dial telephone system in its new telephone building on West Howard Avenue.  The 18,000 sq-ft, building and dial system conversion cost about $1 million dollars.  Mayor G.B. Cousins made the first dial call to C.M. Morgan, a memeber of the Public Service Commission at Hattiesburg.  Oren H. Longcoy (1905-1972) was the Biloxi group manager having joined Southern Bell in 1927.(The Daily Herald, March 18, 1949, p. 1, March 19, 1949, p. 3 and March 21, 1949, p. 1)
     
 
The Russ Murfee Buick Company opened on West Beach onMarch 19th.  Adrian Weill built the new, 7500 sq-ft building for Mr. Murfee's automotive sales business.  The Murfee family was domiciled at 1832 West Beach.(The Daily Herald, March 18, 1949, p. 4)
     
 
The Harrison County Board of Supervisors applied to the US Corps of Engineers at Mobile for a double-leaf, basculebridge across Popp's Ferry in West Biloxi.(The Daily Herald, March 18, 1949, p. 7)
   
 
John Toler was issued a permit to erect 5 tourist cabins valued at $7500 at the Beach Manor Hotel at West Beach [sic] and Nixon.(The Daily Herald, March 21, 1950, p. 8.
 
Austin Moritz (1917-1991) and John Moritz opened Austin's Apparel Store in the former Tot's and Teen's store at 212 West Howard Avenueon March 31st.  Austin Moritz had managed Rosenblum's for the past 2 1/2 years, while John Moritz had been the proprietor of Tot's and Teen's.(The Daily Herald, March 29, 1949, p. 10) 
   
 
The Hick's Battery Manufacturing Company on Back Bay near Lee Street burned on Aprol 6, 1949.  Damage was estimated at $50,000. All five Biloxi Fire Department trucks and two fire engines from Keesler Field answered the fire call.  Fourteen firemen and several volunteers assisted in containing the conflagration.(The Daily Herald, April 7, 1949, p. 1)
 
 
The Biloxi Bulletin, a local newspaper, was incorporated in April by Jimmy Box, James D. Hart and Vito J. Cannizaro (1907-1954). Louise Mallard was the clerk of the company.(The Biloxi Bulletin, April 22, 1949)
      

Laura Belle Maynard sponsored by the St. Michael’s Holy Name Society was chosen Shrimp Queen for the annual blessing of the fleet.  Father O’Hanlon blessed over 100 boats.(The Daily Herald, August 8, 1949, p. 1)

 
John J. Kennedy (1875-1949), former Biloxi Mayor, expired on September 13th at his home at 113 Hopkins Boulevard.  He had been hospitalized in early January 1949 at NOLA in the Eyes, Ears, Nose, & Throat Hospital in the Crscent City.(The Daily Herald, January 4, 1949, p. 5 and September 13, 1949, p. 1)
       
 
Leo J. 'Joe' Scholtes (1917-1994) was named president of the Kiwanis Club in late October.(The Daily Herald, October 25, 1949, p. 1)
    
 
Daniel Judson Gay (1869-1949), native of Emanuel Co., Georgia, teacher, naval stores dealer, banker, real estate magnate at Biloxi and Ocean Springs, died at Tampa, Florida on December 4th.  In 1905, D.J. Gay organized and was president of the Harrison County Bank of Biloxi.  It merged with the Peoples Bank in 1914.  Gay was president of the Peoples Bank for a number of years.(The Daily Herald, December 5, 1949, p. 1)
      
 
Boy Scout Troop 211 was organized on December 8th by Ernest F. Desporte (1919-1994), Scout Master.  Sixteen potential scouts were at the initial gathering.(The Daily Herald, December 9, 1949, p.11)
       
 
Mrs. Jo Wilkes Reicker (1911-1977)was named Citizen of the Year by the Biloxi Lions Club. 
 
 
 
1950
Slot machines began to disappear in Biloxi as Judge Norman Quave renewed his demand for their exit from the city.  He had strong support from the Biloxi Protestant Ministerial Association headed by Reverend Douglass Carroll of the 1st Assembly of God; Reverend G.C. Hodge, 1st Baptist Church of Biloxi; and Reverend Maynard Miller, 1st Presbyterian Church of Biloxi.  Stephen L. Guice, attorney, represented the Protestant church leadership.(The Daily Herald, January 9, 1950, p. 1 and March 30, 1950, p. 1)    
 
 
Dr. Harry J. Schmidt and Ella Mae Barq ruled the Biloxi Mardi Gras.
 
 
The new $125,000 Beach Drive-In Theatre located on West Beach Boulevard near Pat Harriosn, now Veterans Boulevard, will open in April.(The Daily Herald, March 22, 1950, p. 10)
   
 
Leo Muller submitted his resignation as principal of the Biloxi Junior High School.(The Daily Herald, May 31, 1950, p. 12)
 
 
Devoy Colbet's new Beachwater Cafe opened in early August on West Beach Boulevard and Reynoir Street to replace the one lost in the 1947 Hurricane.   The 5500 square-foot, structure was built for $60,000 by Bernard and Byrd Contractors using Ray V. Pisarich, plumbing and heating; August Tremmel and Son, roofing; and O'Neal Electric.  Robert 'Bob' Mahoney was named general manager.(The Daily Herald, August 3, 1950, p. 2)
     
 
The Sun N Sand Motel on West Beach Boulevard opened on September 3rd.(The Daily Herald, September 1, 1950.
 
 
Martin Sennett 'Mike' Conner (1891-1950), Mississippi Governor from 1932-1936, died at Jackson, Mississippi on September 16th.
     
 
The Pringle Building [48 feet by 50 feet] on Jackson and Delauney [now G.E. Ohr Boulevard] was completed in early October.  It was built for Victor B. Pringle by J.P. Starks from a John T. Collins design.  Victor B. Pringle (1909-1977) and Joseph D. Stennis (1900-1958), attorneys, moved to the new structure from the 1st Bank Building.  Rudolph Felson, CPA, was their other tenant.(The Daily Herald, October 3, 1950, p. 8)
     
 
In mid-November, Jack Cameron, former manager of the Bay View Theatre, opened a grill and soda shop on Porter Avenue.  It wasformerly called Carron's.  Home Milk Products Company leased the property to Mr. Cameron.  He had come to Biloxi from Bartow, Florida and had been stationed at KAFB during WWII.(The Daily Herald, November 18, 1950, p. 3)
     
 
Biloxi voter's approved an increase in salaries effective December 1st for the Mayor and City Commissioners.  The Mayor's salary was raised to $600 and the Commissioner's to $550 from $300.  The vote was 1082 for and 450 against.(The Daily Herald, November 22, 1950, p. 1)
     
 
In November, the Biloxi Police Department's radio networking was declared obsolete by the FCC and Chief Earl F. Wetzel (1910-1962) had it replaced with a new 3-way radio system at a cost of $3500. It was installed in three patrol cars and had communication with the Gulfport Police station.  Wadlington Radio and Paul Lamey of Lamey Electric installed the system which had the alphameric address of KKD 486, formerly WJJN.(The Daily Herald, November 29, 1950, p. 11)
     
 
In late November, the Beach Manor Hotel Cottages on East Beach were sold by John L. Toler to E.R. Newcomb and Bernice C. Newcomb of Alexandria, Louisiana.  The property had 52 units with 21 cottages.  It had been owned by Mr. Toler for 30 years.  The resort was managed by Ed O' Reilly and spouse.(The Daily Herald, November 30, 1950, p. 6)
 
 
Notre Dame of Biloxi lost 41-13 to the Neville High School gridsters of Monroe, Louisiana in the 11th Annual Shrimp Bowl.  Gene Lund of the Rebels was their most valuable player in the one sided contest.(The Times-Picayune, December 2, 1950, p. 19)   
 
 
In December, the U.S. Corps of Engineers received a bid of $644,046 dollar for the dredging of a sand beach from the Biloxi Lighthouse to DeBuys Road with sewer system and culverts.(The Daily Herald, December 4, 1950, p. 1)
   
 
The Sadler Pontiac Company relocated from Main Street to their new quarters on the south side of US Highway 90 opposite the Riviera Hotel near Lameuse Street.  The land was leased from H.V. Sherill and JP Starks was general contractor for the 6800 sq-ft building.  Emery F. Sadler (1899-1959).proprietor, had gone from an automobile salesman at Biloxi to a Pontiac dealership in 1938.  Brielmeir Glass, Compton Electric, and Edgar Crawford, plumber were some of the subcontractors of the Sadler car dealership building.  Opening ceremonies were held December 11th. (The Daily Herald, December 9, 1950, p. 6)
    
 
Top ranked and undefeated University of Oklahoma football squad stayed at the Buena Vista Hotel while training for the Sugar Bowl.  They lost to the Wildcats of Kentucky 13-7 at New Orleans on New Years Day.(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1951, p. 2)   
   
 
Eugene A. Peresich Sr. (1895-1960) was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club.