20th Century (1951 - 2000)

Work started at 8:00 a.m. on January 3rd by the McWilliams Dredging Company [NOLA] on the west side of Pass Christian, Mississippi building a sand beach at the rate of 500 feet per day.(The Daily Herald, January 3, 1951, p. 1)
Biloxi's newly elected City Officials, Mayor R. Hart Chinn (1888-1972) and Commissioners J.A. 'Tony' Creel (1901-1992) and R. Gordon Dacey (1896-1953), were sworn in by Judge Lawrence C. Corban (1900-1989).  The following appointments were made: Jacob D. Guice (1915-2009), City Attorney; John M. Sekul (1911-1984), City Judge who succeeded Joseph D. Stennis (1900-1958); Earl F. Wetzel (1910-1962), Police Chief; and Henry W. Cook Jr. (1913-1951), assistant Police Chief.(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1951, p. 1 and p. 2)
Ferson Optical Company was chartered in Harrison Co., Mississippi on January 6th by Fred B. Ferson, Mary Swan, and Peter Lenart Jr.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Chattel Deed Bk. 126, p. 380)
Charles H. Sentell (1884-1951), former Biloxi Fire Chief, expired on January 25th.[The Daily Herald, January 26, 1951, p. 12] 
The West End Pharmacy opened in the new brick building of Nick Eliopolos on the NW.C of Porter and Cemetery Street [Irish Hill Drive].  Owned by Raymond Bass, the pharmacy is managed by Ned Fremin, who was pharmacist at the Avenue Pharmacy for 13 years. The new building is 26 feet wide by 58 feet deep and made from yellow tile and brick.(The Daily Herald, January 23, 1951)  
Two Biloxi ministers, the Reverend Douglass Carroll of the Central Assembly of God and the Reverend Thomas Albert Carruth of the 1st Methodist Church testified before the Kefauver Crime Commission at NOLA in late January 1951 that slot machines were so pervasive at Biloxi that for each thirty-five residents there was one slot machine!  They also related that Black Jack, dice, and other gamblig activities were flourishing.  The ministers also said that the average age of soldiers at Keesler Field is nineteen years, an age at which they have not matured to avoid places of iniquity.(The Times-Picayune, January 27, 1951, p. 8)
Henry A. Janin (18-1951), former Ford automobile dealer, plumber and electrician, expired on February 8th.
The Buena Vista laundry burned on March 13th.  The $50,000 conflagration saw Anthony Bernard (1908-1951), a volunteer fireman from the central Fire Station, loose his life boarding the fire engine.(The Daily Herald, January 7, 1952, p. 8)
The new and modern B.F. Goodrich store on East Howard Avenue opened in early March.(The Daily Herald, March 2, 1951)
Louis J. Braun (1890-1951), former Biloxi Mayor and entrepreneur, died on March 19th.(The Daily Herald, March 19, 1951, p. 1) 
Lorenzo N. Dantzler III (1898-1951), south Mississippi timber and lumberman, died at Tampa, Florida, in late May.  He had lived at Tampa since 1923.(The Daily Herald, May 30, 1951, p. 1)
The Biloxi Optimist Club was chartered on June 2nd in the Hurricane Room of the Buena Vista Hotel. Harold W. Falter, pres.; J. Floyd Bradford and Frank E. Pringle, vice presidents; James C. Duke, sgt.-at-arms; and Alfred G. Howell, sec.-treas.  Board of Governors: Dr. George L. Percy; William Miller; Lt. Bill Lehman; Daniel Guice; James Quint; and Clark Corley.(The Daily Herald, June 5, 1951, p. 1)
In early June the USAF took a lease on the Gulf Coast Military Academy consisting of 35-acres and eleven buildings.  The USAF planned to host its Tecnical Training Air Force [TecTAF] school here.(The Daily Herald, June 6, 1951, p. 1)
By July, there had been 187 cases of polio reported in Mississippi as compared to 80 cases in 1951.  Hinds, Warren, Yazoo, Humphries and Washington Counties reported the majority of polio attacks.[The Daily Herald, July 9, 1952, p. 1]
Peter F. Martin (1883-1951), native of Castleberry, Alabama who developed the Broadwater Beach Hotel in 1939 died at Biloxi on July 25th.(The Daily Herald, July 25, 1951, p. 1)    
Camp Graveline at Fontainebleau opened on July 2, 1951 through the efforts of Father Herbert Mullin and Father Geoffrey O'Connell.  Operated by Missionaries of the Most Holy Trinity from Alabama.(The Gulf Coast Times, June 7, 1951, p. 1, June 28, 1951, p. 1 and August 2, 1951, p. 1)
Robert I. Ingalls, founder of Ingalls Shipbuilding died on July 12th.(The Gulf Coast Times, July 12, 1951, p. 1)
Clinton C. Blackwell and (1909-1983) Cosman Eisendrath (1906-1985) became managing co-editors of The Daily Herald in early October.  Blackwell joined the local journal in 1928 and Eisendrath in March 1925.(The Daily Herald, October 5, 1951, p. 1)     
The People's Bank planned to enlarge its space by spending $30,000 to remodel and move into the quarters of the MIssissippi Power Company.  The bank had moved here 1924 and the electricity company will relocate to 524 Lameuse Street.(The Daily Herald, October 10, 1951, p. 1)
Senator Lester C. Hunt (1892-1954) (D-Wyo) precided over a Senate Armed Services committee hearing held at Biloxi on October 22nd.  The Senate  investgators were researching gambling and its effects in the vicinity of military bases.  Biloxians and others who were subpoenaed and called to testify before the committee were: MayorR. Hart ChinnA.J. Creel, City Commissioner; Earl F. Wetzel, police chief; Louis Rosetti, police captain; Laz Quave, Sheriff; Luther Maples, District Attorney; Major General James F. Powell, commander Keesler Field; C.P. GalleGriffin McEachern and Pete Leonetti, pinball machine operators; John BertucciE.C. Tonsmeire, bank president; Val C. Redding, manager of the Greyhound Bus Station; Major Charles R. Alexander, Air Police; and J.P. Coleman, D.A. State of Mississippi.  Mayor R. Hart Chinn and Sheriff Laz Quave testified that they intended to enforce Mississippi's anti-gambling laws and remove all slot machines indefinitely.(The Times-Picayune, October 19, 1951, p. 1 and October 23, 1951, p. 1) 
Robert Walter Schultz (1931-1951), native of New Britain, Connecticut and recently discharged from the military, drowned in Biloxi Bay on November 29th, when his automobile plunged through the draw on the bridge to Ocean Springs.(The Daily Herald, November 29, 1951, p. 1)             
The $6,200,000 Wherry Housing Project for KAFB , named for Senator [Rep.] Kenneth S. Wherry (1892-1951) of Nebraska, and consisting of family 1, 2, and 3 bedroom units was completed in mid-November.  Wilkinson-Snowden-McGeheeConstruction Company of Memphis built the units as part of the $36,675,000 KAFB expansion which included barracks, dining hall, academic buildings, and a motor pool.(The Daily Herald, November 14, 1951, p. 1 and November 29, 1951, p. 1)      
A new arkansas-tile, U-shaped building [173 feet by 92 feet] designed by John T. Collins and Associates of Biloxi, was contracted to Currie and Corley of Raleigh, Mississippi for the St. Martin School in Jackson County. The $64,000 stucture was erected to supplement the exisiting building.(The Daily Herald, November 27, 1951, p. 3)
Major General James F. Powell (1893-1983) announced that Coast gambling was off limits to KAFB personnel.(The Gulf Coast Times, December 6, 1951, p. 1)
Postmaster Elvas V. Shove (1899-1987) related that effective December 1st due to the increase in population in Rural Route 3 of West Biloxi. it would brought into the City Delivery system and two mail carriers would service the area.  Stamps and money orders would not be sold by the carriers and had to be purchased at the Post Office.(The Daily Herald, December 1, 1951, p. 1)
Henry W. Cook Jr.  (1913-1951), assistant Police Chief, died on December 17th from injuries acquired in an automobile accident in late November 1951 near Sulphur, Louisiana.  John Chester Manduffie (1914-1951) and Freida Mae Jacobs (1929-1951) were killed in the accident, which H.W. Cook Jr. survivied until December.(The Daily Herald, November 28, 1951, p. 1 and December 18, 1951, p. 1)
Dorothy Dix (1861-1951), nom de plume of Elizabeth Meriwether Gilmer and nationally syndicated columnist, died at NOLA on December 16th.(The Daily Herald, December 17, 1951, p. 1)
The Clara Foutain, owned by Carey Galle', and Warren Galle, owned by Cecil Galle', both sank in the Chandeleur Islands in mid-December, victims of a strong nortwesterer.  The water pump on the Clara Fountain, which was manned by Carey Galle' and Cecil Galle', broke and the Warren Galle, with Moze Hebert and Nickie Hebert aboard, went to her aid when both vessels got caught in a winter storm and sank in shallow water.  The fishermen were rescued by the Nike, a USCG cutter. (The Daily Herald, December 17, 1951, p. 1)
Albert B. Austin (1876-1951), native of Paris, Illinois, Biloxi entrepreneur, banker and realtor, expired at his home in Ocean Springs on December 14th.(The Gulf Coast Times, December 20, 1951, p. 1)
General James F. Powell (1893-1983) was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club.(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1952, p. 1)                                                             
The new Bay View Homes Addition, another project of the Biloxi Housing Authority, opened on January 1st when the John Babuchna (1909-1973) family moved into their new quarters.  The addition consisted of six, two-story brick, apartment buildings.  The $310,000, low rent, public housing project was designed and engineered by Landry & Matthes and John T. Collins, local architects.  Stanley W. Newman Company of Mobile, Alabama was the general contractor.  Rents ranged from $11 to $34 per month.(The Daily Herald, January 5, 1952, p. 1) 
John Edward 'Eddie' McDonnell (1912-1986) was sworn in as Sheriff of Harrison County, Mississippi in early January with Dewey Lawrence, Beat 1 supervisor; Frank 'Tater' Hightower, coroner and ranger; Albert Demoran, constable beat 1.(The Daily Herald, January 7, 1952, p. 1)
The new Medical Arts Building at 1145 West Howard Avenue built by Sydney Manuel, designed by John Collins, and owned by Gordon Dacey had two tenants-the pharmacy of George Pitalo and The Children's Clinic of Dr. F.J. Vlazny and Dr. R.D. Hawkins.(The Daily Herald, January 16, 1952, p. 6)
Mary L. Meaut Michel (1887-1952), assistant principal of Biloxi High School, expired at NOLA on February 17th.(The Daily Herald, February 19, 1952, p. 1)
Mary Ethel Dismukes (1870-1952), Biloxi public school and private art teacher, expired on February 18th.(The Daily Herald, February 18, 1952, p. 4)


Charles H. Hegwood (1914-2001) succeeded Ted Hoffa as football coach at Notre Dame High School in late May 1952. Hoffa had been at the school for 1 1/2 years and compiled a record of 4 wins, 4 loses, and a tie. Hegwood was a Millsaps graduate and played all sports and coached by T.L. Gaddy, former Biloxi High coach.  Coach Hegwood came to the Coast from Taylorsville High School. Returning lettermen for his 1952 football squad were: George Vuyovich; Aloysius Schneller; Louis Feranda; Ronald Nungesser; and Ray Pisarich.(The Daily Herald, May 21, 1952, p. 10)   

Betty Hebert was selected as Shrimp Queen for the Blessing of the Fleet.
Federal Judge Sidney Mize ordered the destruction of 42 slot machines seized in February.(The Daily Herald, June 19, 1952, p. 1)
Florence Crofton Duncan (1871-1952), native of NOLA, Spanish American War veteran nurse and longtime Biloxi nurse and volunteer died in late June.(The Daily Herald, June 20, 1952, p. 3)
The Mullin-Kille Company of Chillocothe, Ohio arrived in Biloxi and will remain for two months gathering data for the new Biloxi City Directory.  The office was situated at 913 East Howard Avenue and 6 local people were hired to assist the three company employees.(The Daily Herald, June 21, 1952, p. 3)
Olivia H. Sones Bolton (1868-1952), wife of Dr. Walter T. Bolton (1859-1923), died on June 24th.
Gulf Refining Company and Melben Oil were drilling at 7400 feet at Mississippi's first offshore exploratory well.  The wildcat was situated in Grand Island Pass off Point Clear in Hancock County, Mississippi.[The Daily Herald, July 28, 1952, p. 1]
Fenton Hunt Kimbrough (1874-1952), native of Stanton, Tennessee and long time Biloxi druggistexpired on October 1st.  He retired from business in 1940 when partnered with Mr. Quint.  Mr. Kimbrough resided on East Beach and at Cedar Lake.  He was Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen in 1942.  F.H. Kimbrough's first wife, Rae Bonsted (1879-1922), died at Biloxi in April 1922.  He married Ruth Pulliam (1892-1965) in June 1926.  She expired in October 1965.(The Daily Herald, October 1, 1952, p. 1, April 20, 1922, p. 1, and October 4, 1965, p. 2) 
Mississippi produced 43,600 tons of tung nuts valued at $2,834,000-a record harvest.(The Daily Herald, September 5, 1952, p. 17)
In early October, a USAF T-7, twin-engine, transport aircraft crashed upon take off from KAFB.  The plane landed in Back Bay 500 feet south of Brodie Point.  Three servicemen died in the accident.(The Daily Herald, October 10, 1952, p. 1)
A new, $30,000 fire station for Biloxi's West End on Jeff Davis Avenue and the L&N RR was proposed from the $999,000 bond issue passed by Biloxi denizens in October.(The Daily Herald, December 24, 1952, p. 10)     
E.H. Tardy was given the VFW award for his outstanding service to veterans.(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1957, p. 1)
Mrs. Dora F. Gilly was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club.               
In early March, the dredge Natchez, owned by McWilliams Dredging Co. of NOLA, commenced dredging sand for Biloxi's Beach as part of the $4.5 million dollar, 28-mile long, man-made beach, hyped as 'The World's Largest Man-Made Beach'.(The Daily Herald, March 7, 1953)
The Popp's Ferry Bridge formally opened in April.(The Gulf Coast Times, April 16, 1953, p.1)
The first Little League games were played at the Lee Street fields at Biloxi on May 8th.  Reverend Edward A. DeMiller (1889-1959) threw out the first baseball to initiate play.  There were two leagues-the Shrimp League and the Oyster League.  In the Shrimp League, Wadlington Appliance beat the Exchange Club 9-4; Shorty's Shell defeated Sumrall's Service 14-4.  Two Oyster League games were also played: Southern Shell beat Mavar Packing 5-4 and DeJean's Packing Company beat the Cruso Canning Company.  James D. Hadaway of the Biloxi Recreation Department oversaw organization of the Little League at Biloxi.(The Daily Herald, April 14, 1953, p. 12, May 8, 1953, p. 26, and May 9, 1953, p. 14)
Olivia Mavar [Sliman] (b. 1935) reigned as Queen of the Blessing of the Fleet.  Neva Jane Langley (b. 1933), Miss America 1952, made an apparance at the event.(The Gulf Coast Times, May 14, 1953, p.1 and The Daily Herald, May 11, 1953, p. 1)
Dudley Joseph Andrews and Bonnie Jean Elliott were respectively Valedictorian and Salutatorian of the Class of 1953 BHS.  Pat Pierce, Student Body President, was Class Orator.(The Daily Herald, May 13, 1953, p. 11)
Laz Quave, (1910-1986), former Police Chief and Harrison County Sheriff, defeated R. Hart Chinn, incumbent Mayor, for the office of Mayor of Biloxi.  Carl Short Jr. and A.J. 'Tony' Creel were elected City Commissioners.(The Times-Picayune, May 20, 1953, p. 14)
Douglas T. Watson (1884-1953), former Biloxi insurance agent and yachting enthusiasts, expired at NOLA in mid-May.(The Daily Herald, May 18, 1953, p. 15)
A new, Albatross [UF1G] aircraft for the Biloxi Coast Guard Air Detachment was being flown from the Grumman Air Craft factory at Long Island, New York to Biloxi.(The Daily Herald, July 9, 1953, p. 8)
The Lyman C. Bradford Veterans of Foreign Wars [VFW] planned to dedicate their new building at 212-214 Lameuse Street in late July.  The two-story structure had Southern Life & Insurance Company and Barton, Pile & Wermuth on the first floor while the VFW occupied the second floor. (The Daily Herald, July 9, 1953, p. 8)
W.C. McElroy opened his McElroy Nash Company at 510 Caillavet Street in late July in an Adrian Weill built building of 1800 square-ft..  Mr. McElroy was the only Nash auto dealer between NOLA and Mobile.  He hired Robert Mohler as his sales manager.[The Daily Herald, July 29, 1953, p. 6]
At the 1953 Slavonian Benevolent Bazaar, Miss Elmerita Mihojevich was crowned Miss Jugoslavia by Clare Sekul Hornsby.  Miss Hillbilly of Mississippi was Barbara Mae Knebel and her tiara was placed by Mrs. Hank Williams [Billie Jean Jones (b. 1933)].(The Daily Herald, August 3, 1953, p. 6)
Notre Dame High School opened in September in its new $220,000 building with $40,000 residence for it Brother's faculty..  Brother Rex, C.S.C. was principal.(The Daily Herald, September 1, 1953, p. 1)
The Irish Hill [postal] Station opened on Bailey Street and West Howard Avenue on 6 October, 1953. It was a yellow-brick structure of 2040 sq.-ft. erected by Collins Building Services and leased to the USPS for ten years.[The Daily Herald, October 3, 1953, p. 1 and October 6, 1953, p. 7]
The Sunkist Country Club formally opened in late October.  William E. Beasley (1881-1963) and Ashton C. Barrett (1901-1990) were the motivators and founders of this private golf club.(The Daily Herald, October 27, 1953, p. 1)
Zona W. Carter (1879-1953), well-known Biloxi boat builder and designer, expired on November 20th.(The Daily Herald, November 20, 1953, p. 7)
John F. Eistetter (1882-1953), former Biloxi Councilman, masonry and building contractor, died on November 27th.  He was survived by Mary Chinn Eistetter (1891-1958) and two children.(The Daily Herald, Novemebr 28, 1953, p. 7)
Dewey Lawrence was given the VFW award for his outstanding service to veterans.(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1957, p. 1)
Cosman H. Eisendrath (1906-1985) was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club.                                                              
Grego Anticich (1886-1954) was killed in an automobile accident west of Bay St. Louis.  He was the owner of the Anticich Packing Company.(The Daily Herald, February 10, 1954, p. 1)
Harry E. Haise (1854-1954), native of Clinton, Illinois and longtime Biloxi building contractor, expired on February 10th.(see also The Daily Herald, August 3, 1950, p. 2) 
The litigation "United States v. Gulf Coast Shrimpers' and Oystermen's Association" began at Biloxi on February 10th.  The Association and four officers were on trial for alleged violation of the Sherman Act, conspiring to fix prices in restraint of trade.  The trial ended in a mistrial on February 18th.(The Daily Herald, February 10, 1954, p. 1 and February 19, 1954, p. 1)
Tommy Munro (1931-2009), son of Mrs. John C. Munro, was featured in the February 1954 issue of Saturday Evening Post about his driving skills and awards won in state and national truck driving competition since he first competed in 1948 and two second place national awards since that time.(The Daily Herald, February 16, 1954, p. 21)
In March with the retirement of William Knox, Herman Creel (1908-1976) was named assistant fire chief.(The Daily Herald, March 2, 1954, p. 6)
In April 1954, Mayor Laz Quave and the City of Biloxi sold Harrison County a small tract of land fronting Bayview Avenue.  The County built a Health Center here in 1954.  It was designed by architect John T. Collins.  The HARCO Health Center closed circa 1995 and moved to a new building on Railroad Street.  This structure was torn down in 2000.  A new structure was erected here in ? (HARCO, Ms. Land  Deed Bk. 383, p. 190)
Marshall L. 'Slow' Michel (1886-1954), former Biloxi City Commissioner, died at NOLA on May 15, 1954.  he had retired for his civic duties in 1948.
Margaret V. Pringle [m. Walter W. Flowers Jr.] represented Biloxi in the State Miss Hospitality pageant held in late June.(The Daily Herald, June 13, 1955, p. 1)  
Gordon A. Dacey (1918-1954), former two term [1948-1956] City Commissioner, died July 16th at his home 312 Kensington Drive.(The Daily Herald July 17, 1954, p. 1) 


In late July, Miss Kay Freeman was crowned Biloxi's Shrimp Queen at the 10th annual Shrimp Festival.  Her royal court consisited of: Olivia Sekul; Judy Kay Sekul; Patsy Cerenich; and Genevieve Cecelia Skrmetta [Creel].(The Daily Herald, July 31, 1954, p. 1)
Brigadier General Martin F. Haas (1902-1990) retired from the U.S. Army after thirty years service.  General Haas was well-decorated for his military career which took him to the Canal Zone, Hawaii, and Europe.  Among his foreign honors was the Croix de Guerre with Palm (France) and the Order of the British Empire.(The Daily Herald, August 7, 1954)
Clark Brothers Construction Company of Jackson, Mississippi were awarded the $863,535 contract to build the multi-lane strip of US Highway No. 90 from the Biloxi Lighthouse to Myrtle Street at Point Cadet.  The project consisted of four, 12-foot lanes and two auxiliary lanes 10 1/2 feet wide with sidewalks and a 13-foot neutral [median] ground.(The Daily Herald, August 11, 1954, p. 1 and November 10, 1954, p. 1)
Calvin E. Dees (1877-1954), native of Grand Bay, Alabama and retired Wiggins merchant died on August 24th. He was elected to the Senate to represent Harrison County in 1940; served two terms in the State House; and was elected Stone County District 1 Supervisor.(The Daily Herald, August 24, 1954, p. 1)
Jeremiah J. 'Ben' O'Keefe II (1895-1954), native of Ocean Springs, Mississippi and owner of the O'Keefe Funeral Parlors, died on November 19th.   
John 'Jack' C. Munro (1894-1954), president of Munro Paint & Oil Company, passed on November 28th.  He was a native of Woodstock, Ontario, Canada. Jack  and his family were residents of Biloxi since 1941 coming from Atlanta after living at NOLA and St. Louis.  Mr. Munro was survivied by spouse,  Lucille F. Munro (1899-1979), and sons: Owen B. Munro (1921-1980); Donald C. Munro (1924-2000) m. Deveaux Walker Baxter (1922-2009); and John 'Tommy' Thomas Munro (1931-2009) m. Elizabeth Falls.   Burial at Southern Memorial Park.(The Daily Herald, November 29, 1954, p. 1)
6 hour old baby boy was left in the hallway of the Biloxi Hospital on November 28th.  An on-duty nurse cut the child's umbilical cord.(The Daily Herald, November 29, 1954, p. 1)
Kay Freeman, Queen of the 1954 Blessing of the Fleet, also presided over the 15th Annual Shrimp Bowl which was played on December 3rd.  Judy Sekul and Olivia Sekul were maids.(The Daily Herald, November 30, 1954, p. 2)
The dedication of the US Highway No. 90 four-lane road spanning Harrison County was held on December 2nd. The roadway left the Biloxi Lighthouse in the median.  Harrison County became Mississippi's only county with a four-lane road running completely through it entirely.(The Daily Herald, Decemebr 2, 1955, p. 1)
Jacob Guice was given the VFW award for his outstanding service to veterans.(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1957, p. 1)
Kline Coquet (1911-1969 ) was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club.
In mid-January, American Legion Charles L. Baudry Post No. 33 held a kick-off fund raiser for its new $25,000 Legion building.  Dr. George L. Percy was post commander.(The Daily Herald, January 12, 1955, p. 10)
The East Harrison County Lions Club was chartered in mid-January by 25 Biloxians led by Col. E.V. Hughes, Tony Rosetti; Walker Tucei; Louis Gutierrez, Frank Desporte, Joseph Killebrew; James O'Donnell; Curtis Fairley; Col. O.K. Cannon, and Lawrence Semski.(The Daily Herald, January 13, 1955, p. 8)
Captain Larney B. Summerlin (1897-1955) drowned off Biloxi on January 11th, when the Katherine W. carrying about 400 barrels of oyster, capsized in the Biloxi Channel.  Maynard Hall (b. 1929), his son-in-law, escaped the capsized vessel.  Captain Summerlin worked for the Weems Brothers Cannery on Oak Street and Back Bay.(The Daily Herald, January 12, 1955, p. 1)   
In April, the Grove Club on West Beach was destroyed by fire.  Owners, Louis Uchello (1909-1996) and Guy Uchello (1895-1962) valued the 1940 structure and a 1946 addition at $75,000.  They averred that $10,000 was left in the safe. (The Daily Herald, April 11, 1955, p. 1)
The Biloxi School Board planned expansions of the elementary schools.(The Daily Herald, April 26, 1955, p. 1)  
The First Bank of Biloxi became the First National Bank of Biloxi in late April.  It opened on March 1, 1893 on Lameuse and Jackson Street and in 1896 erected a new building on Lameuse and Howard Avenue.  Edward Craft Tonsmeire Jr. (1911-1972) and Albert 'Lynd' Gottsche (1901-1974) were president and vice-president of the bank at this time.(The Daily Herald, May 2, 1955, p. 1)
The Central Assembly of God opened its doors to worshipers on May 1st.  The Reverend Douglass Carroll ministered to his congregation.(The Daily Herald, May 2, 1955, p. 15)
On May 4th, the Reverend G.C. Hodge resigned his ministry from the 1st Baptist Church.  He came to Biloxi in 1931.(The Daily Herald, May 5, 1955, p. 1)
Class of 1955 BHS graduates, Carolyn Bolton, valedictorian; Jean Andrews, salutatorian, and Arthur Richards, class orator, were honored.(The Daily Herald, May 11, 1955, p. 17) 
The Biloxi School Board announced that for the 1955-1956 public school session, teachers with AA certificates would start at $2600 annually while those with an A certificate or less would be remunerated $2000 annually.(The Daily Herald, May 17, 1955, p. 1)

 The new Beach Boulevard [US Highway No. 90] improvements from Gill Avenue to Couevas Street by Clark Brothers opened in mid-June.  Work proceeded eastward towards Main Street.(The Daily Herald, June 9, 1955, p. 16)
Kay Freeman (b. 1936) represented Biloxi in the State Miss Hospitality pageant held in late June.(The Daily Herald, June 13, 1955, p. 1)  
 BSA Camp Tiak, near Wiggins,  was dedicated on June 12th.  L.O. Crosby of Picayune led the efforts to build the $200,000 facility.(The Daily Herald, June 13, 1955, p. 1)
Elvis Presley (1935-1977), Sun Records recording artist and Louisiana Hayride particpant, appeared at the improved Slavonian Lodge on June 26, 1955.  Louis Tremmel & Son had recently installed an air conditioning system making the Lodge the only air conditioned auditorium on the Coast.  Improvements to the structure exceeded $30,000.(The Daily Herald, June 22, 1955, p. 7, June 23, 1955, p. 6, June 25, 1955)
Catherine Ann Baricev (b. 1937), daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Anthony M. Baricev, was crowned Biloxi's Shrimp Queen for the 11th Annual celebration in late July.  Patsy Ann Thorton was runner-up.(The Times-Picayune, July 31, 1955, p. 28)
Our Lady of Fatima in west Biloxi had its first Mass offered on September 11th.  Monsignor Geoffrey T. O'Connell (1900-1976) was the celebrant.  J.P. Starks was the buildings' contractor and a formal dedication by Bishop R.O. Gerow was planned at a future date.(The Daily Herald, September 8, 1955, p. 10)  
Nativity BVM started the construction of a $200,000 elementary School on September 22nd.  James Starkswas general contractor.(The Daily Herald, September 22, 1955, p. 8)
The Buena Vista Hotel planned a $400,000 development on the south side of US Highway 90.(The Daily Herald, December 22, 1955, p. 1)   
Earl Moore was given the VFW award for his outstanding service to veterans.(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1957, p. 1)
Dr. D.L. Hollis (1893-1975) was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club.                                                 
In late January, the KAFB Mess Hall and the Tropic Club on Biloxi's West Beach were consumed by fire.(The Daily Herald, January   , 1956, p.   )
The Mississippi National Guard raided the Fiesta Club, west of Biloxi's city limits, destroying gaming devices and alcoholic beverages.(The Daily Herald, May   1956, p.  )
Albert Baldwin Wood (1879-1956), 501 East Beach Biloxi resident and Superintendent of the Sewerage and Water Board for the City of NOLA from 1939 until 1956, died on his beloved Nydia, a sailing sloop, in the Biloxi Channel on May 10th.  The Nydia was enshrined at the Tulane Center at NOLA in July 1975.(The Times Picayune, May 11, 1956, p. 1 and July 6, 1975, p. 72)       
Luka Kuljis (1885-1965) and Marjorie DuKate (b. 1935), daughter of Mr. and Mrs. William Kennedy DuKate, reined as Biloxi's Shrimp King and Shrimp Queen respectively in late July.  In late September, Marjorie DuKate and Mary Jane McAllister, Shrimp Queen runner-up, visited Chicago for several days with Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Baricev, Mr. and Mrs. John Mavar Jr., and Anthony V. Ragusin secretary of the Biloxi Chamber of Commerce.(The Times-Picayune, July 29, 1956, p. 46 and September 25, 1956, p. 7)
The Broadwater Beach Hotel was sold in August by Seaview, Inc., T.W. Richardson, president, and Darby Sere (1899-1967), stockholder from New Orleans, to a syndicate consisting of Phillip J. Liuzza of Pass Christian and James J. Culotta, a hotel resident, for $550,000.  The hostelry occupies 27.5 acres with 1 756-foot front on the Mississippi Sound.(The Daily Herald, August 20, 1956, p. 1)
Hurrican Flossy was a tropical disturbance that moved northward, crossing Guatemala from the eastern Pacific ocean into the northwest Caribbean Sea between September 20 and September 21. It became a tropical cyclone soon after emerging into the Caribbean, and moved across the Yucatan Peninsula as a tropical depression before becoming a tropical storm in the Gulf of Mexico on September 22 and a hurricane on September 23. It turned sharply east-northeast across the Mouth of the Mississippi river on September 24 as a minor hurricane. The storm continued east-northeast and made landfall in Florida east of Pensacola.  Biloxi had heavy rain and winds to 66 mph.  Only nuisance damage was seen, i.e.:  downed trees, TV antennas, electrical wires and some crop damage.(The Daily Herald, September   1956, p. 1)
The Folkes Building on the SE/C of West Howard and Reynoir had its second floor destroyed by fire in early November.  Damage to the structure was estiamted at $90,000.(The Daily Herald, November   , 1956, p, 1)
Republican Dwight 'Ike' David Eisenhower (1890-1969) was elected to his 2nd term as President of the United States on November   .  2004 Biloxians voted for Adlai E. Stevenson (1900-1965), the Democratic nominee while 1525 cast ballots for President Eisenhower.(The Daily Herald, November   , 1956, p. 1)
Manager Jimmie Love of the Hotel Buena Vista was issued a building permit for a new $370,000, deluxe, 84-room, motel to be located on the beach opposite the hotel.  General contractor was G.E. bass and Company of Jackson.  Compton's Electric Company was awarded the electrical contract and Davis Plumbing of Jackson, the mechanical work.  Project architects were Biggs, Weir and Chandler of Jackson, Mississippi. (The Daily herald, November 9, 1956, p. 1)
The Barthes-Sentell Fire Station No. 5, a $25,000 structure situated on Father Ryan Avenue, was dedicated on December 18th.  It was named in honor of Frederick Auguste Barthes (1864-1948) and Charles Henry Sentell (1884-1951), former Biloxi Fire Chiefs.(The Daily Herald, December 17, 1956, p. 21 and December 19, 1956, p. 1)                
John T. Collins, Biloxi architect, was given the VFW award for his outstanding service to veterans.(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1957, p. 1)
Frank P. Corso (1898-1986), native of Trapani, Italy and Biloxi businessman since 1924, was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club.(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1957, p. 1)                                 
Gollott & Sons Transfer and Storage at 1255 Caillavet Street was chartered in late March by Houston C. Gollott (1911-1988), Ida Quave Gollott, Thomas A. Gollott, Gary F. Gollott, and Tyrone J. Gollott.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Chancery Court Charter Bk. 182, p. 398)
The Irish Hill Postal substation on Pass Christian Road was enlarged by 1200 square-feet.  Collins Building Services contractor.(The Daily Herald, January 3, 1957, p. 8)
Mardi Gras-March 5, 1957
Roy P. Bellande, King d'Iberville, and Carolyn Bolton, Queen Ixolib, ruled the City on Mardi Gras Day.(The Daily Herald, March 5, 1957, p. 1)
In early May, Paul S. Bradford (1894-1983) and Ruth Gates Bradford (1899-1986) sold the Bradford Funeral Home with all property, ambulances, etc. located on East Howard Avenue to Jeremiah O. 'Jerry' Keefe III (b. 1923) for $150,000.  The new organization became the Bradford-O'Keefe Funeral Service.(Harrison Co. Land Deed Bk. 422, pp. 317-326)
David Rosemblum (1912-1975), native of McHenry, Mississippi and Biloxi-Gulfport merchant, expired on May 21st.  He owned David's Department Store, Rosenblum's Department Store, and Kean's in Biloxi and Kean's in Gulfport.(The Daily Herald, May 2, 1957, p. 1)
Captain Martin Fountain and Regina Meadows of Gulfport were King and Queen respectively of the Biloxi Shrimp Festival in early June.  Elizabeth Ann Corso [Joachim] of Biloxi was alternate.(The Times-Picayune, May 30, 1957 and June 9, 1957, Section V, p. 22)
In early July, Governor J.P. Coleman dedicated the new $14 million dollar Mississippi Power Company electrical generating plant [later named Plant Watson for A.J. Watson Jr. who became company president in 1958] on Lorraine Road at Gulfport. Construction began in 1955 (The Daily Herald, July 8, 1957, p. 1)
Montana cowboy, Dale Morris, escaped from the Harrison County Jail on June 6th while awaiting his 4th trial for the murder of Charles Flink (1916-1955) at Bay St. Louis in 1955.  Aden S. Bellew, Preston Bellew, Thomas Bellew and Ruth Johnson were alleged accomplises in Morris' escape.(The Times-Picayune, September 24, 1957, p. 1)
Dr. Rudolph Matas (1860-1957), native of Bonnet Carre, St. Charles Parish, Louisiana and pioneer vascular surgeon, expired at Touro Infirmary at New Orleans on September 23rd.(The Times-Picayune, September 24, 1957, p. 1)
Arthur E. Scruggs (1897-1957), native of Tate County, Mississippi, educator and former BHS principal and Biloxi School Superintendent since 1946, died on October 8th.  Both public and parochial schools in Biloxi closed a half day on October 10, 1957, the day of Mr. Scruggs  internment at the National Cemetery in Biloxi.(The Daily Herald, October 9, 1957, p. 1)
Captain J.P. Marchant (1869-1957), the first veteran to be admitted as a patient to the Biloxi VA Center, died on November 28, 1957 at the Biloxi VA Hospital.(The Daily Herald, November 28, 1957, p. 2)  
Dr. B.Z. Welch was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club.                                        
In April, the Buena Vista Hotel formally opened its new 84-unit motel on four-acres fronting the Gulf across U.S. 90 from the hotel and convention center.(Down South, May-June 1958, p. 25)  
McDonnell Park and playground on Crawford Street was dedicated in early May by Mayor Laz QuaveHoward McDonnell (1909-1992), Biloxi attorney, turned on the lights and Donal Snyder gave a brief history of the park.  Ray Buttefield acted as Master of Ceremonies.(The Daily Herald, May 3, 1958, p. 3)
The Fishermen and Allied Workers Union went on strike against DeJean Packing Company.  The disagreement was over trash fish.(The Daily Herald, May 3, 1958, p. 12)
In early May, Nancy Carol Ray [m. Williard M. Newman], Kathleen Scholtes [m. Lawrence Cosper] and David Gatto were honored as Valedictorian, Salutatorian and Class Orator of the 1958 BHS graduating class.(The Daily Herald, May 7, 1958, p. 14)
In early May, Governor J.P. Coleman (1914-1991) signed three bills for economic development on the Coast.  One bill provided for the creation of a County development commission to promote a proposed seaway between Biloxi Bay and Bay St. Louis.  Another was to allow bonds to be issued for the construction of the new US Highway 90 bridge across Biloxi Bay and the third allowed gasoline tax refund dollars to pay for the seaway and US 90 bridge projects.(The Daily Herald, May 7, 1958, p. 1)
Donal M. Snyder (b. 1924), track coach and physical education director at Biloxi High School, replaced James Hadaway as Director of the Biloxi Recreation Department in early August.(The Daily Herald, August 10, 1958, p. 18)
Dedication of the Beth Israel Community Center on the corner of Camellia and Southern Avenue in the Greater Biloxi Subdivision occurred on August 31, 1958.  It was the first Jewish synagogue and community center on the Mississippi Gulf Coast.  Officers of the congregation were: Abraham H. Silver (1919-1997), president; Rubin Goldin (1893-1989), v.p.; Gerald Piltz, treasurer; and Bernard Horn sec.  Trustees were: George Altbach (1902-1986); James Rosenblum; Zondel Katz; and Earl Friedman (1908-1966).(The Daily Herald, August 30, 1958, p. 8)
Judge Dan M. Russell (1871-1958), native of Smith County, Mississippi and Chancellor of the 8th Judicial District died in late August.(The Daily Herald, August 31, 1958, p. 1)
Mary Ann Mobley of Brandon named 1959 Miss America. She visited Biloxi and other Coast cities on October 7th.(The Daily Herald, October 8, 1958, p. 1)
The Biloxi School Board awarded a $437,370 contract to W.M. Craig of Gulfport to build the Beauvoir Elementary School on Pass Road.(The Daily Herald, October 8, 1958, p. 1)
Matthew B. 'Pop' Lytle (1863-1958), native of Higginsville, Illinois and a reporter and member of the editorial staff of The Daily Herald rom 1911 to his retirement on May 3, 1940, died on November 25th.  He made his home in Gulfport.(The Daily Herald, November 26, 1958, p. 1)
On December 8th, the Gulf Coast Shrimpers & Oystermens Association sold the former Kennedy Hotel  building on Reynoir and Railroad Streets to Steve Anthony Braun and Edward R. 'Buster' Braun for $42,000. George Williams was president of the organization with J.B. Ferrill, Howard Galle, and Albert Fountain Jr. and Board members.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Land Deed Bk. 443, p. 212)   
Frotscher R. Steckler (1908-1971) was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen of 1958 by the Lions Club.(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1959, p. 1)                                                                          
Lynda Lee Mead of Natchez named 1960 Miss America.
Joe Worlick Brown (1897-1959), native of  Young County, Texas, died at NOLA on February 15th.  He was a successful oil man and realtor in north and south Louisiana.  Joe was the owner of the Broadwater Beach Hotel at Biloxi and possessed a fine racing stable at the Fair Grounds at NOLA.  The corporal remains of Joe and Dorothy Dorsett Brown (1896-1989), his spouse, were placed in the Lake Lawn Park Mausoleum at New Orleans to rest eternally.
Sue's Pharmacy at 460 Reynoir Street closed on March 1st.  Reba McFarland, the owner, acquired the business in 1939 when Flossie Ford and Sam Feinberg were the pharmacists.(The Daily Herald, February 25, 1959, p. 8)
Dr. Gilbert Mason (1928-2006) was arrested on May 14th when he attempted to integrate the beach at Biloxi with a small group of protestors.(The Sun Herald April 27, 2009, p. A-1) 
In late May, The Sun-N-Sand Motel and restaurant were sold by Alexander E. Bailey, builder and native of Pennsylvania, to R.E. Dumas Milner of Jackson, Mississippi.  Milner owned the King Edwards Hotel in Jackson and Beaumont, Texas.[The Daily Herald, May 30, 1959, p. 1]

John R. Guilhot (1877-1959), a native of France and the popular "Hermit of Deer Island", expired in the Latimer Community, Jackson County, Mississippi on May 27th.(The Daily Herald, May 28, 1959)


In late May, The Sun-N-Sand Motel and restaurant were sold by Alexander H. Bailey, builder and native of Pennsylvania, to R.E. ‘Dumas’ Milner [1917-1992] of Jackson, Mississippi.  Milner owned the King Edwards Hotel in Jackson and Beaumont, Texas.  At this time, the property had 125-units and an oak leaf shaped swimming pool.[The Daily Herald, May 30, 1959, p. 1]


Emery Farish Sadler (1899-1959), Pontiac dealer at Biloxi, was killed in an automobile accident on May 31st on the Kiln Road near Bay St. Louis, Mississippi. Mr. Sadler began his association with Pontiac at Biloxi in 1938, but the Depression saw him close the dealership in 1939.  He reopened in 1945 at 227 Couevas Street and in 1947 moved the business to 319 Main Street.  In late 1950, the business relocated to East Beach Boulevard opposite the Riviera Hotel at Lameuse Street and East Beach.(The Daily Herald, December 9, 1950, p. 6, and The Times Picayune, May 30, 1959, p. 56) 

Amos Ross and Deanna Gill [later Mrs. Glenn Williams] ruled the Blessing of the Fleet.(The Daily Herald, June 3, 1960, p. 1)
I. Daniel Gehr (1895-1959), native of Alexandria, Louisiana, Tulane graduate and Biloxi architect-contractor, expired on July 22nd.(The Daily Herald, July 22, 1959, p. 2)
Brice Building Company of NOLA was awarded a $299,575 contract to erect a Negro High School at Biloxi. 
After I.D. Gehr (1895-1959), project architect died, John T. Collins took his place and also supervised the unfinished portion of the addition to the West End Elementary School, another I. Daniel Gehr project.(The Daily Herald, July 25, 1959, p. 1)
Edward Albert DeMiller (1889-1959), native of Mobile, Alabama and Rector of the Episcopal Church of the Redeemer for thirty-eight years, died at Biloxi on August 9th.  Lillian Harrison Fletcher (1892-1978), his spouse, expired in February 1978.(The Daily Herald, August 10, 1959, p. 1)
The d'Iberville Lions Club went on record as favoring the incorporation of d'Iberville as a separate city.  Joe Poulos was appointed a general chairman to investigate the matter.  A gift for the newly organized Lions Club of Vancleave was approved.(The Daily Herald, August 20, 1959, p. 8)
Joyce Halat [m. Ronald Franklin] was Queen of the 1959 Mississippi Deep Sea Fishing Rodeo.(The Daily Herald, August 24, 1959, p. 1)
Curtis O. Dedeaux (b. 1921), Gulfport meatpacker, was elected Sheriff of Harrison County in late August.(The Daily Herald, August 26, 1959, p. 1)
The Forrest Avenue Baptist Church, a Southern Baptist Church, celebrated its fourth anniversary on August 23rd.  The Reverend David J. Williams led the 161 congreants.(The Daily Herald, August 25, 1959, p. 6)
In late August, Curtis O. Dedeaux (b. 1921), Gulfport meat packer, was elected Sheriff of Harrison County edging former Sheriff, Eddie McDonnell (1912-1986) of Biloxi.(The Daily Herald, August 26, 1959, p. 1)
In August?, the A&P grocery market on West Howard was destroyed in a large conflagration.  The frame building had been built by Sam Mitchell in 1945 and remodeled in 1950.  It was valued at $100,000.  Fire Chief Walter Clark reported that all Biloxi fire units and the LeMoyne Volunteer Fire company extinguished the blazing building in forty-five minutes.(The Daily Herald, August ?, 1959, p. 1)
[L-R: John T. Collins, architect; contractor; Postmaster Shove; and construction supervisor]
The US Post Office opened for business in the  new federal building on Main Street on November 9th.  Postmaster E.V. Shove noted that there were about 700 box holders at this time.(The Daily Herald, November 6, 1959, p. 10)
Billy Blankenship (b. 1942), stage name Billy Blank, released a new recording by Big R Records.(The Daily Herald, December 1, 1959, p. 10)
G.E. Bass and Company, Jackson, Mississippi was awarded the $1,455, 363 contract to build a new public high school on Father Ryan in West Biloxi.(The Daily Herald, December 4, 1959, p. 1)
[L-R: West side stands and East side stands.  Image made by Ray L. Bellande in January 2010]
The new Biloxi Municipal Stadium (called Yankee Stadium for Frank 'Yankee' Barhanovich) on Lee Street was formally dedicated  on December 4th with the 20th Annual Shrimp Bowl game.  Claude 'Monk' Simon of NOLA described it as 'one of the finest I've seen in the Deep South'.  Biloxi defeated De La Salle of NOLA 20-12.(The Daily Herald, December 5, 1959, p. 8 and p. 16) 
Frank 'Yankee' Barhanovich (1915-1987) was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen for 1959 by the Biloxi Lion's Club.(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1960, p. 1)
Jack Nelson (1929-2009), Notre Dame of Biloxi graduate and former Daily Herald reporter, was named a 1960 Pulitzer Prize winner in Journalism for his reporting on the condition of mental institutions in Georgia while employed by The Atlanta Constitution.
Judge Sidney C. Mize and a twenty-three person Federal Grand Jury met at Biloxi in early January to determine whether an investigation into the murder of Mack Charles Parker (1936-1959), a negro man from Lumberton, Mississippi who was murdered on April 25, 1959 in Pearl River County, Mississippi by a mob, was warranted.  Mr. Parker was alleged  to have beaten and raped a pregnant white woman near Lumberton, Mississippi.(The Times-Picayune, January 5, 1960, p. 1)
In early January, Edward A. 'Buster' Braun (1906-1990), one of the proprietors of The New Park Hotel, at 444 Reynoir Street was having the old hotel demolished for salvage.(The Daily Herald, January 8, 1960, p. 17)
Ernest V. Landaiche (1895-1966), proprietor of Bayview Lanes, on Lameuse and Bayview Avenue, opened his new bowling alley on January 19, 1960.  It was formally dedicated January 30-31st.(The Daily Herald, January 19, 1960, p. 6 and January 28, 1960, p. 27)
Walter L. Nixon (1895-1960), native of NOLA and former Harrison County Beat I Supervisor, died in February.(The Daily Herald, February  16, 1960. p. 1)
J.B. Michael & Company planned to start construction of the new, $6 million, Biloxi-Ocean Springs Bridge in sixty days.  The Biloxi Concrete Casting Company on Clay Point was ready to commence casting for the new span in early March.(The Daily Herald, March 11, 1960, p. 1)
Frank Warnock, principal of BHS since 1958, announced his resignation in early March to go to Vicksburg.(The Daily Herald, March 15, 1960, p. 1)
J.O. Collins, general contractor, planned to have Biloxi City Hall ready for occupancy by April 2nd. The $40,000 refurbishment of the former Post Office building on Lameuse and Jackson cost about $40,000.(The Daily Herald, March 15, 1960, p. 1)
A $50,000, covered walkway across US Highway No. 90 at the Sun-N-Sand Motel was planned by R.E. Dumas Milner, president of Milner Enterprises.  The two curving sections of the arch, which will rise 80-feet above the roadway, will be of pre-cast concrete.  The arch will connect the new development on the north side of the highway with the present facility on the south side.  General contractor will be the G.E. Bass Company. Completion is anticipated by June 1st.(The Daily Herald, April 18, 1960, p. 1)
Earl Skinner, principal of Picayune High School, was named BHS principal to replace Frank Warnock, who took a position at Greenville, Mississippi.(The Times-Picayune, April 21, 1960, Section IV, p. 10)
John S. Mavar Sr. and Emily Germanis ruled the Blessing of the Fleet.(The Daily Herald, June 3, 1960, p. 1)
The merger of the Bradford Funeral and O'Keefe Funeral services was to be completed by July.  The company now called Bradford-O'Keefe Funeral Homes was situated at the former Bradford funeral parlor on East Howard Avenue where improvements and additional parking had been acquired on the north side of the street.  The O'Keefe funeral parlor on West Howard Avenue was demolished and a Goodyear Service Center was built on its former location.(The Daily Herald, June 17, 1960, p. 2)
Major General John S. Hardy (1913-2012), native of Logansport, Louisiana, was named the 16th Commander of KAFB.(The Daily Herald, July 1, 1960, p. 1)
Eugene P. Wilkes (1885-1980) was named the Mississippi Coast Outstanding Citizen for 1960 and was crowned King Neptune I at the Gulfport Deep Sea Fishing Rodeo.  News commentator and radio personality, Paul Harvey (1918-2009), presented Mr. Wilkes with the trophy.(The Daily Herald, July 1, 1960, p. 1)
Fred B. Rounsaville (1911-1996),  and wife, Nora Rushing Rounsaville (1913-1991), a nurse, founded the Biloxi Funeral Chapel at 1077  West Howard Avenue in July.  Mr. Rounsaville was formerly a funeral director and embalmer for Bradford-O'Keefe Funeral Home. He was a graduate of the School of Mortuary Science at St. Louis.(The Daily Herald, July 16, 1960, p. 6) 
John S. Mavar Sr. (1880-1960), native of Molat, Croatia, and former oysterman and founder of Mavar Fish and Oyster Company with John S. Mavar Jr. (1907-1973) in 1927, died on August 13th.  He was King of the Biloxi Shrimp Festival and Blessing of the Fleet in June 1960.(The Daily Herald, August 15, 1960, p. 2) 
Julia Cook Guice (1928-2013) was appointed in September by Dewey Lawrence of  the Harrison County Board of Supervisors to the position of Director of the Harrison County Civil Defense Council.  Mrs. Guice had served as Biloxi's director of plans and training for the Biloxi Civil Defense unit since 1957.(The Daily Herald, September 17, 1960, p. 1)
The new, 6500 sq-ft., Goodyear store building at 601 West Howard Avenue opened in late October. In addition to selling new tire, the enterprise did front end alighnments and wheel balancing,as well as replacing mufflers and tail pipes.`General Electric appliances were sold.(The Daily Herald, November 2, 1960, p. 12)
Gulf Towers
[The Daily Herald, November 5, 1960, p. 1]
Gulf Towers, a ten-story, a $2 million, apartment building at 824 Central Beach Boulevard, was ready to break ground.  Barlow and Plunkett designed the structure for Gulf Towers Inc. lead by  Charles Crisler Jr., Jackson attorney, and Jerry J. O'Keefe, Biloxi businessman.  Howie Construction of Jackson was the contractor.(The Daily Herald, November 5, 1960, p. 1)
Rear Admiral Ernest Lee Jahncke (1877-1960) expired at his Pass Christian residence on November 16th. Admiral Jahncke was an 1899 engineering graduate of Tulane University; Asst. Secretary of the Navy [1929-1933]; 1915 King of Rex; Boston Club; Commodore of the Southern Yacht Club; Special representative of the Bureau of Ships, Gulf area during WWII; and owned a summer home on East Beach at Biloxi from 1924-1932.  Ernest L. Jahncke had married Cora Van Voorhis Stanton (1885-1970) in 1907.  Their daughter, Cora 'CoCo' Jahncke Seemann (1915-1996) was Queen of Carnival in 1936.(The Times-Picayune, November 17, 1960, p. 2) 
Gycelle Tynes (1910-1997) resigned as Biloxi School Superintendent on June 30th.  He died at Clarksdale, Mississippi on November 12, 1997.  Replaced by R.D. Brown.(The Daily Herald, December 4, 1959, p. 1)
In September, R.D. Brown, Superintendent of the Biloxi Public Schools, announced that 7376 students were enrolled in Biloxi city schools.  BHS had 941 students at this time.(The Daily Herald, September 14, 1960, p. 2)
John T. Collins (1904-1985), Biloxi architect and builder, was named Outstanding Citizen of Biloxi by the Lions Club.(The Daily Herald, January 2, 1961, p. 1)
Walter H. 'Skeet' Hunt (1887-1961) well-known Biloxian died on January 13th.  Mr. Hunt assisted in organizing the Biloxi Mardi Gras (1908); worked at Washington D.C. in several positions in the U.S. Senate; and was the annual parade chairman for the Biloxi Mardi Gras for most of his life.(The Daily Herald, January 13, 1961, p. 1)
Dedication of the new First Church of the Nazarene took place in mid-January.  This church was organized at Biloxi in July 1944 by the Rev. E.J. Miller.(The Daily Herald, January 19, 1961, p. 19)
The new Biloxi High School commenced classes on March 1st.(The Daily Herald, March 4, 1961, p. 2)
On March 4th, a petition to incorporate West Biloxi Beach, a new proposed municipality between the western city limits of Biloxi, then near Rodenburg Avenue, to DeBuys Road, then the eastern boundary of the unincorporated area of Mississippi City, was filed in Harrison County, Mississippi Chancery Court at Gulfport.  The petition was signed by 700-800 voters in the area and asked the court to designate a Mayor and seven aldermen as follows: Clifford T. Switzer, mayor; James E. Meyers; Adrian Weill; William T. Brady; Pearl M. Walters; John W. Akinson; John R. Evans; and Alfred H. Kruse.  Mayor Laz Quave and the City of Biloxi opposed the incorporation and filed a counter suit in the Chancery Court.(The Daily Herald, March 4, 1961, p. 1 and March 10, 1961, p. 1)
In March, contracts of  over $2 million were awarded to erect the new Howard Memorial Hospital. on Back Bay.  Construction is expected to require 600 calendar days.(The Daily Herald, March 10, 1961, p. 1)
Shell Oil Company in its quest to locate hydrocarbons in the Mississippi Sound was making seismograph studies using marine seismic methods over water bottoms that it had leased from the State.  An inspector with the Mississippi Marine Conservation was aboard the shooting boat to monitor the dynamite shots and make sure that oyster reefs were not threaten by the explosions create form the seismic surveys.(The Daily Herald, April 20, 1961, p. 24)
The Southern Outboard Championship held on Back Bay on June 10th.(Down South, May-June 1961, p. 8)
In early July, Chris Taranto, pitching ace of Notre Dame High School baseball team, signed a professional baseball contract with the new Houston Colts .45s of the National League.  The Colt .45s became the Houston Astros in 1965.  In the 1961 baseball season, Chris won fifteen games and lost only one.  He threw nine no hit games, two one hit games, four two hit games and one three hit game.  In his three years on the mound for Notre Dame, Taranto won 26 games and lost 2.  He struck out 235 of 435 batters that he faced in 112 innings, walked 81 and gave up 13 runs.(The Daily Herald, July 3, 1961, p. 11)
The Ramsay Springs Hotel was razed in July.(The Clarion-Ledger, July 16, 1961)
Charles DeJean (1879-1961), founder and former president of DeJean Packing Company, expired in mid-October.(The Daily Herald, October 20, 1961, p. 2)
E.V. Shove (1899-1987), Biloxi's US Postmaster since 1945 and postal employee since June 1929, retired on November 1st.(The Daily Herald, September 21, 1961, p. 1 and November  , 1961)
George C. Quint was named Outstanding Citizen of Biloxi by the Lions Club.(The Daily Herald, January 2, 1962, p. 1)
NASA began acquiring the 13,000-acre site for a static rocket test stand located in coastal Hancock and Pearl River County, Missisippi.  Another 125,000-aces would be bought as a buffer zone for the facility.[The Times-Picayune, Mach 16, 1962, p. 2]

Former Biloxian, Brigadier General Thomas Jackson Grayson (1897-1962), son of George W. Grayson and Mamie Pol Grayson, died on April 6, 1962.  While a First Lieutenant with the U.S. Army, 28th Infantry Regiment, 1st Division, A.E.F., Grayson was awarded the Distinguished Service Cross for extraordinary heroism in action near Exermont, France, October 2 - 3, 1918.  His innterment was in Arlington National Cemetery. General Grayson was former Adjutant General of Mississippi, head of the Mississippi State Draft Board and the husband of Elizabeth Dantzler (1901-1946).
Edward Dewey Lawrence Sr. (1898-1962), Harrison County District 1 Supervisor, died in Biloxi on April 25th.(The Daily Herald, April 25, 1962, p. 1)
Biloxi and Ocean Springs were to get direct long distance dialing in August.(The Daily Herald, May 4, 1962, p. 1)
William J. Collins Sr. (1887-1962), native of NOLA and associated with Collins Brothers Construction Company for many years, expired in mid-June.  Among some of their erections in Biloxi were: Hotel Biloxi; Gorenflo School; Howard No. 2 School; Barq's Building; and the New Biloxi Hospital [once situated on East Beach Drive between Main and Bellman Streets].(The Daily Herald, June 19, 1962, p. 1)
Janice Murray was named Biloxi's Miss Hospitality in late June.(The Daily Herald, June 25, 1962, p. 1)
Direct dialing telephone service in the Biloxi-Ocean Springs area began on August 12th.(The Daily Herald, May 4, 1962, p. 1 and July 31, 1962, p. 1)
The new Popps Ferry Shopping Center located on Pass Road will be finished about mid-September according to W.A. Alexander, owner of Picayune, Mississippi.  The center will house West Brothers, Delchamps, Morgan & Lindsey, Calvert Drugs, Buddie's Barber Shop and French Coin Laundry.  McClendon Building Service of Gulfport contracted the $ 1/2 million dollar project which has over 60,000 square-feet of floor space.  Parking for over 300 automobiles.(The Daily Herald, September 4, 1962, p. 8)
Police Chief Earl Wetzell (1910-1962) expired on September 20, 1962.
Bernard L. Knost (1896-1962), prominent Pass Christian building contractor, yachtsman and founder of the Knost Cup, an annual regatta for Coast women, expired on September 30th.(The Daily Herald, October 2, 1962, p. 2) 
Governor Ross Barnett broke ground at the Port of Gulfport for a $2 million dollar banana terminal.(The Daily Herald, October 22, 1962, p. 1)
Jacob D. 'Jackie Jack' Covacevich (1875-1962), native of Pass Christian and former Biloxi councilman and reknown ship carpenter and boat designer, expired on October 28th.  Some of the Biloxi schooners built by Mr. Covacevich were: H.E. Gumbel, I. Heidenheim, Mary Margaret, and Artemise C.  He built the fast power boat, Belle L., for Julius M. Lopez.(The Daily Herald, October 29, 1962, p. 2)
BAYVIEW LANES-December 1962
[images courtesy of Betty Bellande-Toland, November 2011]
Bayview Lanes, formerly the Bayview Theatre building, NW/C corner of Lameuse Street and Bayview Avenue was destroyed in a great conflagration on November 29th. Loss to structure and equipment was estimated at $450,000.  
Douglas I. Smith (1901-1979) opened a theatre, flower shop and drug store here in 1946.  In 1959, the building was remodeled into an 8-lane bowling alley and opened in January 1960 when owned by Ernest V. Landaiche (1895-1966).  The bowling alley was later expanded to 20 lanes.(The Daily Herald, January 19, 1960, p. 6, January 28, 1960, p. 27 and November 30, 1962, p. 1)
The Biloxi Housing Authority lead by Victor Pringle et al contracted for $900,395 with Algernon Blair Inc. of Montgomery, Alabama to build additions to the East End Home and Bayou Auguste Homes, Biloxi public housing projects.  The new construction was designed by John T. Collins and Leonard A. Collins.(The Daily Herald, November 30, 1962, p. 1)
The Indians of BHS won the Big Eight Championship in the Shrimp Bowl on November 30th.  They defeated Vicksburg 26-13 in Yankee Stadium and ended the footbal season with a 10-0-1 record.  Arthur Gill (1945-2004) and Wallace 'Chip' Barnes were named outstanding lineman and offensive back respectively.  Coach W.D. 'Willie' Wiles (1923-1998) was named Coach of the Year and Arthur Gill, Chuck Wilkes, Elbert Troney, Bill Hodges, and Troy Craft, graduating seniors, were awarded football scholarships to USM-Hattiesburg, Mississippi.(The Daily Herald, December 1, 1962, p. 16, December 10, 1962, p. 23, and December 13, 1962, p. 34) 
The Bungalow at 613 Central Beach Boulevard was incorporated in early December by Sam Mitchell (1903-1984) and Mae Pringle Mitchell.(The Daily Herald, May 4, 1962, p. 1 and December 12, 1962)
Mary Mills, native of Gulfport and outstanding golfer, was named the first Rookie of the Year by the LPGA.(The Daily Herald, December 12, 1962, p. 26)
Mayor Danny D. Guice was named Outstanding Citizen of Biloxi by the Lions Club.(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1963, p.1 and The Sun Herald, February 11, 2010, p. A5)
John T. Collins planned to erect a $63,000 building at 912 West Howard Avenue for Universal CIT Credit Corporation. J.O. Collins, contractor, would build the structure designed by Leonard Collins and John T. Collinbs.(The Daily Herald, January 8, 1963, p. 8)

 The $2.5 million dollar Biloxi Memorial Hospital on Back Bay dedicated on March 16th.(The Ocean Springs News, March 21, 1963, p. 3 and The Daily Herald, March 19, 1963, p. 1;  and March 21, 1963)

Charles W. DeVault was promoted to assistant postmaster of Biloxi on April 13, 1963.  He had come to the Coast in October 1941 from Camp Shelby when he was transfrred to Keesler Field as a dispatch clerk with the US Post Office.  Mr. DeVault was a native of Okolona, Mississsippi.(The Daily Herald, April 13,1963, p. 1 and October 8, 1941, p. 8) 
James R. McElroy (1887-1963), native of Laudedale, Mississippi and resident of Biloxi since 1898 expired on July 9, 1963.  He owned and operated the Biloxi Machine and Foundry Company and McElroy's Machine Shop.(The Daily Herald, July 9, 1963, p. 2)
The old span of the 1930 Biloxi-Ocean Springs Bridge was removed on August 19th, placed on barges, and towed to the Escatawpa River.  It will replace a span on the bridge that joins Moss Point and Escatawpa, in Jackson County, Mississippi.  Gordon Walker of Pascagoula was the contractor.(The Daily Herald, August 19, 1963, p. 2)
The Bryan Motel on Biloxi's West Beach, owned since May 1949 by Selma L. Bryan and Edna A. Bryan, his spouse was sold to James J. Curro and Associates of NOLA in early November.  There were 48-brick units, a large Olympic size pool, and a restaurant situated on the south side of US Highway 90.(Harrison Co. Mississippi Land Deed Bk. 321, p. 288 and The Daily Herald, November 7, 1963, p. 6) 
Louis J. Rosetti (1915-1971) was appointed Chief of Police by the Biloxi City Commissioners in mid-December 1963.  He had served as acting Police Chief for about a year. F. P. Vincent was appointed to Chief of Detectives and Leslie Montgomery was chosen as Assistant Chief of Detectives.  Chief Rosetti has served on the BPD for 21 years working his way through the ranks.  A native of Biloxi, Louis J. Rosetti resides at 202 Rose Street.(The Daily Herald, December 19, 1963, p. 1)   
In late December, Matthew P. Lyons (1918-1999) was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen for 1963, by the Lions Club.(The Daily Herald, January 6, 1964, p. 1)
Marcel J. 'Mickey' Bellande (1909-1982) was named Biloxi's "Man of the Year"by the Junior Chamber of Commerce.(The Ocean Springs News, January 31, 1964, p. 1)
John Edward 'Eddie' McDonnell (1912-1986) was sworn in as Sheriff of Harrison County, Mississippi on January 6th.(The Daily Herald, January 6, 1964, p. 1)
The poll tax was repealed on January 23rd by the 24th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.
Queen Ixolib Marie Elizabeth 'Betty' Perusse [m. Charles E. Bundy] of Gulfport and King d'Iberville Alphonse Babin rule Mardi Gras.
Chester A. Delacruz (18-1964), former Mayor and seafood packer, expired at Biloxi on March 8, 1964.(The Daily Herald, March 9, 1964, p. 1)
Mary Alma Ritch (1890-1964), long time Gorenflo Elementary School principal and teacher, died on April 14th .(The Daily Herald, April 14, 1964)
George Misko (1878-1971), 1903 Croatian immigrant from Brac and longtime Biloxi fisherman, was King of the Shrimp Festival.(The Daily Herald, April 22, 1971, p. 2)
On May 2nd at San Francisco, Captain John E. Dacey (1916-1991), USN, took command of the USS Chicago, a guided missile cruiser.  Captain Dacey expired on May 2, 1991.(The Ocean Springs News, April 23, 1964, p. 3)
Marcel J. 'Mickey' Bellande (1909-1982) became the first golfer to win all three Mississippi State golf titles: State Open (1955), State Seniors (1962), and State Amateur (1964), which he won at the Edgewater Park course in his native Biloxi in June 1964.(The Clarion Ledger, June 15, 1964, p. 4)
Father Kenneth Lewis Harris (1912-1964), native of Biloxi and a Roman Catholic priest since May 16, 1940, died at New Orleans on June 22nd.(The Daily Herald, June 22, 1964, p. 1)
General Romulus Wright Puryear (1911-1984)
In July 1964, General Romulus Wright Puryear (1911-1984), native of Hartsville, Tennessee, arrived at Keesler AFB to take command. The General came from RAF Station Northolt, England where he commanded the 3rd US Air Force.  General Puryear replaced Colonel Kenneth A. Cavanah, who had arrived at the Biloxi base in early July 1964 from Chanute AFB, Illinois.  General Puryear retired from the USAF on August 1, 1967.(The Daily Herald, July 1, 1964, p. 1 and July   , 1964, p. )
In early September, an addition to the new Biloxi High School was almost complete.  The addition was in the same style as the original building.  Cafeteria space was increased by 1/3.(The Daily Herald, September 1, 1964, p. 1)
As a result of litigation describes as, "Gilbert R. Mason v. The Biloxi Municipal School District", a plan was submitted to Federal authorities to desegregate the 1st grade in Biloxi Public schools for the 1964-1965 school year.  15 Biloxi schools were effected.  The pupil population in the 1963-1964 school year was 8169 students with 1255 students being colored.(The Daily Herald, July 15, 1964, p. 1)
May Darnell Eleuterius (1946-1964) of Biloxi and Joseph L. Zahra (1943-1964), USAF serviceman from Livonia, Michigan, were shot and killed at Ocean Springs, Mississippi on July 6th.(The Daily Herald, July 7, 1964, p. 1 and July 8, 1964, p. 2)
The new L&N Depot, a metal building [120 feet by 32 feet] situated just west of the 60 year old wooden depot, was schedule to be completed in early August.  It was erected by the Marion Brick, Tile, and Cement Company.  The old structure was to be dismantled.(The Daily Herald, July 9, 1964, p. 5)
The City of Biloxi proposed to annex an area west of DeBuys Road.(The Daily Herald, July 18, 1964, p. 1)
Construction commenced on the MGCCC Jefferson Davis campus at Gulfport.
Holiday Inn, owned by Gulfshore Inc. & asssociates was commenced in August.  Sherwood Ray Bailey (1921-1989), lumberyard proprietor and home builder who came to Gulfport on the Mississippi Gulf Coast in 1951, was president of the company.  WOB Construction Company of Memphis was named general contractor.(The Daily Herald, August 12, 1964, p. 1)
Dr. Gilbert R. Mason (1928-2006) was fined $300 and sentenced 10 days by City Judge John Sekul for the alleged assault and battery of William H. Batia (b. 1947), a minor.  The incident took place in the Howard Memorial Hospital cafeteria. Batia testified that he accidently spilled hot coffee on the back of Dr. Mason which led to an altercation and conflict concerning verbal exchange between the two before blows occurred.  Dr. Mason appealed the verdice to the County Court which met in September.(The Daily Herald, August 18, 1964, p. 1)
Mrs. Joe W. Brown, nee Dorothy Dorsett (1896-1989), had her new $100,000, 56-foot long, luxury yacht brought down the Mississippi River to her new $3.5 million Broadwater Marina in late August.  The vessel was built by Roamer Yachts of the Chris-Craft Corporation at Holland, Michigan.(The Daily Herald, August 25, 1964, p. 21)
The new St. Michael's Catholic Church was dedicated by Bishop R.O. Gerow of the Natchez-Jackson Diocese on August 25th.  The $500,000, 10,300 square-ft. structure was designed by James T. Canizaro, architect, and erected by McClendon Building Services of Gulfport.  Construction commenced in October 1962.  Father Herbert Mullin was the pastor.(The Daily Herald, August 24, 1964, p. 16 and August 26, 1964, p. 1)
Construction began in August on the $418,000 Hickory Hill CC and Golf Course at Gautier.  Earl Stone designed the 7100 yards championship links.(The Ocean Springs News, August 27, 1964)


The 1st Grade at Gorenflo (7), Dukate (4), Lopez (3), and Jeff Davis (2) elementary public schools at Biloxi were integrated on August 31st by 16 negro children-12 girls and 4 boys.  The first day of integration of the Biloxi Public schools were reported by Superintendent R.D. Brown as "no incidents during the first day of school."(The Daily Herald, Augsut 31, 1964, p. 1 and September 1, 1964, p.8)


New fire station
The new $54,000 East End Fire Station was dedicated on September 12th completing the first phase of Mayor Guice's 4-point modernization program. The W.L. Easterling Company of Ocean Springs erected the 3984 square-ft. structure on the site of the old fire station.  The building was designed by H.F. Fountain Jr. & Associates.(The Daily Herald, September 3, 1964, p. 5, September 11, 1964, p. 9, and September 14, 1964, p. 1)


The Pat Harrison Avenue [Veterans Blvd.] branch building of the Gulf National Bank was dedicated on September 12th.  Laz Quave, Beat No. 1 Supervisor, cut the ribbon.(The Daily Herald, September 10, 1964, p. 5 and September 14, 1964, p. 10)


The New Biloxi Hospital Convalescent Facility on East Beach and located in the old Biloxi Hospital was scheduled to open in October.  The $150,000 remodeling and furnishing began in late March. Mrs. Celia Vaughan was the director under the supervision of  S. Earl Grimes, administrator of the Howard Memorial Hospital.(The Daily Herald, September 17, 1964, p. 1)
In late August, Biloxi's annexation proposal to annex lands from its city limits west to DeBuys Road was approved by the Harrison County Chancery Court.  The city had adopted an ordinance on May 5, 1962 to proceed with this process.  Final decree of the Chancery Court was issued in late September.(The Daily Herald, September 1, 1964, p. 1 and September 25, 1964, p. 1)
On October 13th, Jo Wilkes Reicker (1911-1977) was named publisher of The Daily Herald succeeding Eugene P. Wilkes (1885-1980), her father, who remained editor.(The Ocean Springs News, October 8, 1964, p. 4)
Mary Mahoney's Old French House Restaurant and Slave Quarter Lounge opened in the 1850s, restored Daniel Goss House.(The Ocean Springs News, October 8, 1964, p. 4)
Mary Marinovich was chosen Shrimp Bowl for the 25th Annual football contest.(The Daily Herald, December 5, 1964, p.3)
Plans for the Harrison County 2nd Judicial District Courthouse designed by John T. Collins and Leonard A. Collins of Collins, Baricev, and Collins were submitted.(The Daily Herald, December 5, 1964, p. 1)     


The Red Carpet, a casino-style, gambling venue situated in a former residence on the north side of US Highway No. 90 on Biloxi's West Beach 'Strip', was declared "off-limits" for military personnel.  Buddy's Ranch House on Pass Road and the B&B Blue Room were included in the order.(The Daily Herald, December 9, 1964, p. 1)


Beat 1 Harrison County voters approved an initiative to create the 2nd Judicial District at Biloxi by 3164 for and 813 against.  Over 3300 registered voters had signed the petition to put the issue to a referendum.(The Daily Herald, December 9, 1964, p. 1)

In December, the old Crystal Ice Company plant on the NW/C of Lameuse Street and Railroad Street, now Esters Boulevard, was destroyed by fire.  Damage to the approximately sixty year old structure [280 feet by 90 feet] was estimated at $182,000 and was fought for 32 hours by Biloxi and other local firemen.(The Daily Herald, December 10, 1964, p. 1 and December 11, 1964, p. 2)
Emile J. Fallo Jr. was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen of 1964 by the Lions Club.(The Daily Herald, December 24, 1964, p. 1)
The Folkes Building on the SE/C of West Howard Avenue and Reynoir Street was destroyed by fire on Christmas Eve.  Fire Chief Frank Gabrich related that the loss was about $230,000 and affected the following Biloxi businesses: Kent's Men Store, Earl Friedman; Royal Credit Jewelers; and Acme Photo, William T. Dunn.(The Daily Herald, December 26, 1964, p. 1)
In late December, Fred Haise (b. 1933), 1959 Oklahoma University aeronautical engineering graduate and 1951 BHS graduate, completed the aerospace research pilot school at Edwards AFB, California.(The Daily Herald, December 28, 1964, p. 12)          
On New Years Day, Dr. Carl DeForest (1887-1968) was the first tenant to move into the new Seashore Manor, a $1 1/2 million dollar, apartment buiding situated on the Methodist Seashore Assembly Camp Ground.  Also Josie Featherstone Leggett (1876-1968), age 88 years and widow of the Reverend James Thomas Leggett (1865-1949) moved from Jackson, Mississippi into the new building.(The Daily Herald, January 5, 1965, p. 9)
The Roxy Theatre on East Howard Avenue, which had been closed for nearly eight years, burned on January 3, 1965.  A residence and trailer in the rear of the movie house were also destroyed resulting in total losses of about $26,000.  Mrs. Francis C. Smolich (1901-1979) was the owner.(The Daily Herald, January 4, 1965, p. 1)
On January 19th, City Hall was ransacked and $5000 in cash and $90,000 in checks were stolen from the vault.(The Morning Advocate [Baton Rouge], January 20, 1965, p, 4A)
In February, Jack Nelson (1929-2009), Notre Dame of Biloxi graduate, was named Southern Bureau Chief for The Los Angeles Times.  Jack had been with The Atlanta Constitution since 1952 and had been awarded a Pulitzer Prize in Journalism in 1960 and a Nieman Fellowship to study Political Science at Harvard University.(The Daily Herald, February 12, 1965, p. 1)
Luka Kuljis (1885-1965), a 1904 Croatian immigrant from Milna, Brac, expired on March 1st.  Luka was Biloxi 1st Shrimp King [1956], 2nd president of 1st Federal Savings & Loan, a fisherman, grocerman, marine oil dealer, and trawl and net maker.  he lived at 1502 East Beach.(The Daily Herald, March 2, 1965, p. 2)
Queen Ixolib Linda Dorothy Ingrassia (b. 1943) [m. John Calvin Mozingo II] of Gulfport and a senior at Ole Miss, and King d'Iberville T.M. Dorsett (b. 1915), native of Texas City, Texas and manager of construction and marina at Broadwater Beach Hotel, ruled the Mardi Gras on March 2nd.(The Daily Herald, March 2, 1965, p. 1 and March 3, 1965, p. 1)
The wreckage of a single engine aircraft was found on the south side of Cat Island on July 9th by the Sailor Bob, a fishing boat, our of Houma, Louisiana.  Richard B. Rinehart of Rome, Georgia and Berny Whitman of Mobile were killed in the crash which occurred on 4  July 1964.(The Daily Herald, July 10, 1965, p. 1)
Dorothy Dorsett Brown, widow of Joe W. Brown and proprietor of the Broadwater Beach Hotel, sold her 400-acre race track at Las Vegas for $150 million dollars to Marvin Kratter representing investors from New York.(The Ocean Springs News, August 12, 1965, p. 3)
R.D. Brown, Biloxi School Superintendent, announced that this year's public school enrollment reached a record enrollment of 9043 students.(The Daily Herald, September 8, 1965, p. 1) 
John A. Swanzy (1881-1965), who served the City of Biloxi for thirty seven years as Street Commissioner and Public Works Commissioner, expired in early September.(The Daily Herald, September 8, 1965, p. 2) 
The L&N Edgewater Park Station was dismantled.
Captain Jimmy Skrmetta of the New Pan American Clipper particpated with Captain Felix Dalgo and five seaman in the sealift of about 1500 cuban efugees from the port of Camarloca, Cuba to Florida.[The Daily Herald, November 13, 1965, p. 2]
Mosline Savarro (1899-1967) was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen of 1968 by the Lions Club.(The Daily Herald, December , 1965, p. 1)
A sixty-foot section of the Popps Ferry Bridge was taken out on February 10th when struck by a barge towed by the tug, Black Jack. W.R. Fairchild Construction Company of Hattiesburg, Mississipi was low bidder at $49,823 to perform emergency repairs to the span.(The Daily Herald, February 11, 1966, p. 1 and February 22, 1966, p. 8)
Garner Hugh Tullis (1893-1966), native of St. Joseph, Louisiana and insurance and brokerage executive of NOLA, expired on February 18th aboard Windjammer II in the Gulf of Mexico off the coast of Appalachicola, Florida from an apparent heart attack.(The Times Picayune, February 19, 1966, p. 1 and February 19, 1966, p. 6)

Jo Ellen Kalif

James E. Alexander, MD and Jo Ellen Kalif  ruled Mardi Gras on February 22nd.(The Ocean Springs News, February 24, 1966, p. 1)


The Buck Theatre, Collins and Laughran buildings on Lameuse Street burned on Mardi Gras eve during the parade.[The Daily Herald, February 23, 1966, p. 2]
George Bernard Wink (1888-1966), native of NOLA and Biloxi resident since 1906 expired on March 17th.  Mr. Wink was a former barbershop operator, Beat 1 Justice of the Peace, and deputy clerk and deputy tax collector for the City of Biloxi.  George B. Wink had married Marguerite Stanovich (1894-1983) in 1912 and they were the parents of: Marguerite Wink (1913-2000) m. Sherwood L. 'SL" Fayard (1908-1986); Georgette Wink (1914-1978) m. Lester J. Thompson Sr. (1910-2002); Doris Wink (1920-2007) m. Eugene A. Peresich; and Bernard 'Bernie' Wink (1925-1992) m. Raymond V. Bass (1920-2002).(The Daily Herald, March 18, 1966, p. 2)
The new Sister of Mercy Convent was dedicated on May 8th.(The Daily Herald, May 6, 1966, p. 1)
The fifth floor of the Buena Vista Hotel's East Wing caught fire at 5:45 p.m.on July 20th.  125 rooms were burned resulting in damages estimated at $150,000.  All 360 rooms of the luxury hotel were in use as the Alabama Farm Bureau Federation was holding its annual meeting.  Local fireman extinguished the blaze in about three hours.  The Buena Vista reopened for business on July 21st.(The Times-Picayune, July 21, 1966, p. 1)
The first legal liquor shipment in Mississippi from State warehouses controlled by the Alcohol Beverage Control Division occurred on July 21st.  The Broadwater Beach Hotel at Biloxi was the first venue to be approved to sell spiritous beverages in Mississippi in 58 years.(The Daily Herald, July 22, 1966, p. 1)
Professor Charles D, Carnavale (1892-1966), native of Naples, Italy and renown music teacher and band director, who came to Biloxi in 1925 and formed the Biloxi Boys' Band in 1926, died on October 23rd.  C.D. Carnavale assembled the Biloxi High School Band and taught in the public school system until 1939, when he went into the music business with Marion 'Prof' Carpenter.(The Daily Herald, October 24, 1966, p. 2)    
Julian K. Cook (1908-1994) was hired as Biloxi's first full-time City gardener in December.(The Ocean Springs News, December 27, 1966, p. 1)
Jeremiah J. O'Keefe III (b. 1923) was named Outstanding Citizen of Biloxi by the Lions Club.(The Daily Herald, December 28, 1966, p. 1 and The Sun Herald, February 11, 2010, p. A5)
Fred W. Haise Jr. (b. 1934), BHS graduate and former Marine aviator and NASA test pilot, was among nineteen men chosen to report to the NASA Manned Space Center in Texas to begin further training for the Apollo astronaut program.(The Daily Herald, April 4, 1966, p. 1)                                                       
The Popps Ferry Bridge which  was taken out on February 10th when it was hit by a tow barge was struck again on April 14th when the tug, Ed Colle, towing three pulp wood barges rammed into it.  The span was scheduled to reopen to road traffic in two weeks before the latest collision.(The Daily Herald, April 15, 1966, p. 1)  
Dr. William Cecil Guyton of Ocean Springs and Lydia Mary Salloum [Werby] of Gulfport ruled Mardi Gras at Biloxi in February.(The Daily Herald, February 9, 1967, p. 1)
Dr. Riley Wilson Burnett (1891-1973), native of Ackerman, Mississippi, expired in July.                                            
The New Orleans Saints played their first NFL on September 17th in Tulane's Sugar Bowl Stadium against the Los Angeles Rams losing 27-13..(The Daily Herald, September 18, 1967)
On December 16, 1967, Harry Bennett (1902-1967), native of Opelousas, Louisiana and Biloxi gambler, was murdered gang land style outside of his apartment at 4900 Southern Avenue in west Biloxi.  Harold Donald Diddlemeyer (1943-2007) , an escapee from the Mississippi State Penetentiary, was accused of his murder and in 1969 asked the court to take a lie detector test to prove his innocence of this crime.(The Daily Herald, December 16, 1967, p. 1 and April 1, 1969, p. 2)
The 2nd Judicial Harrison County Courthouse which was commenced in 1967 was completed in 1968.  John T. Collins and Leonard A. Collins designed the two-story, masonry structure which was built on the NE/C of Washington and Lameuse Street by Brice Building Company, Inc. of NOLA  Laz Quave represented Beat I during the erection of the new courthouse.            
On December 20, 1967, Southern Bell Telephone and Telegraph Company formed South Central Bell Telephone Company to operate in five of its nine states (Alabama, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Tennessee).
Leo Kempton Crapo (1928-1975) was named Outstanding Citizen of Biloxi by the Lions Club.(The Daily Herald, January 2, 1968, p. 1 and March 3, 1975, p. 1)
In late February, Charles C. Moschella (1929-2006), president of Oakwoods Apartments Inc.-Gulfport, announced that a 64-unit, two-story, apartment complex called Chateau Versailles would be erected on the from 500-feet of the former Edgar Monroe tract on Biloxi's West Beach.  The project consisted of eight buildings, a social and laudry building and two swimming pools.  Mr. Moschella was the general contractor working from plans drawn by Biloxi architects, John T. Collins and Leonard A. Collins.(The Daily Herald, February 19, 1968, p. 13)
The A & P  Super Market on West Beach Boulevard in Biloxi burned in an early morning fire on February 1st.  Damage was estimated at $100,000.(The Daily Herald, February   , 1968 and February 24, 1968, p. 1)
The 2nd February A & P Super Market conflagration in Biloxi occurred on February 23rd, when the A & P on West Howard Avenue burned in a flash fire.  Battalion Chief Frank Hecht noted that fire trucks had difficulties getting to the blaze due to heavy smoke which dimenished visibility.  Sam Mitchell owned the building that had been erected in 1948 [sic].  The structure had been heavily damaged by fire in 1958 [sic].  Merchiston-Hall Galleries, a furniture store east of the A & P store and owned by Leo Crapo, received about $2000 in damages when large windows and doors shattered due to the extreme heat emanating from the fire.(The Daily Herald, February 24, 1968, p. 1 and The Daily Herald, August 26, 1959, p. 1)
Donald W. Cumbest of Pascagoula and Sandra Hatten of Gulfport ruled  Mardi Gras at Biloxi on February 27th.(The Daily Herald, February 27, 1968, p. 1)
The Popp's Ferry Bridge was damaged on April 10th.
The Blessing of the Fleet was held on June 2nd.  Peter L. Semski (1889-1981) was King and Kay Deloney was Queen.  The Reverend Morgan Kavanagh of St. Michael's Catholic Church was assisted by the Reverend Kevin Bambrick to bless the Biloxi shrimp fleet.(The Daily Herald, June 3, 1968, p. 1)
The 1st National Bank of Biloxi and the 1st National Bank of Hattiesburg merged in August to create a $60 million dollar bank.  Edward Craft Tonsmeire Jr. (1911-1972) was Chairman of the Board and Albert Lynd Gottsche (1901-1974) President of the 1st Bank of Biloxi, at this time.  Mr. Gottsche had been elected Cashier of the bank in June 1941.(The Daily Herald, August 21, 1968, p. 1 and June 30, 1941, p. 7) 
The new $500,000, 36,000 square-foot Harrison County 2nd Judicial Court House was scheduled to open August 31st.(The Daily Herald, June 1, 1968, p. 1)
Senator Robert F. Kennedy (1925-1968) [D-Mass], former US Attorney General and US Presidential candidate, was assassinated at Los Angeles on June 6th by Sirhan Bishara Sirhan.
Dr. Gilbert R. Mason (1928-2006), Biloxi physician and elected caucus member from the 5th Congressional District, was the first Negro chosen to represent Mississippi at a National Democratic Party Convention.  The 1968 convention was held at Chicago.(The Daily Herald, June 11, 1968, p. 1)
Walter L. Nixon Jr. (b. 1929), Biloxi attorney since 1952, was confirmed by the US Senate in mid-June as a Federal judge.  He was the youngest of the four hundred Federal judges in America.(The Daily Herald, June 13, 1968, p. 1)
The intial site work and dredging to build the new $130 million West Bank Shipyard for Ingalls at Pascagoula, Mississippi commenced in June.(The Daily Herald, June 14, 1968, p. 1)
HUD approved an advanced planning grant of $237,223 for the $6,698,000 million Biloxi Downtown Revitalization project.(The Daily Herald, June 14, 1968, p. 1)
The new West Biloxi Public Library on Pass Christian Road was nearing completion.  J.O. Collins was the general contractor for the structure designed as a 10,000 volume library.(The Daily Herald, June 17, 1968, p. 6)
Dr. Benton Z. Welch (1878-1968), native of Covington County, Mississippi, expired at Howard Memorial Hospital on July  19th.  Ella Grace Jordan Welch (1878-1974), his spouse, expired on August 27, 1974, also at Howard Memorial, (The Daily Herald, July 20, 1968, p. 1 and August 28, 1974, p. 2)
The old Coca Cola bottling plant, also known as the Hypo Company and situated on Division Street near Caillavet Street, was demolished in December.(The Daily Herald, December 11, 1968, p. 1)
Laz Quave (1910-1985) was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen of 1968 by the Lions Club.(The Daily Herald, December 18, 1968, p. 1)                                                                         
John P. McDermott Jr. (1929-1982), native of Mobile, Alabama, was reappointed to a five-year term as administrator of the Howard Memorial Hospital.  Prior to his becoming Howard Memorial Hospital's administrator circa 1966, Mr. McDermott had served the Biloxi Public schools as their business manager.  His wife, Martha Peresich, was a Biloxi native.(The Daily Herald, February 14, 1969, p. 1)
General Dwight D. Eisenhower (1890-1969), former two-term, American President expired on March 28th at Walter Reed Medical Center in Washington, D.C.
In April, Mississippi Power Company announced plans to double the capacity of its Jack Watson Plant, north of Handsboro, with a $62.8 million building program.  A 500,000 KW steam-electric generation unit will be completed by the spring of 1973 and a $3.3 million 40,000 KW combination turbine generator would be in operation by 1970.  New transmission lines were also being erected.(The Daily Herald, April 14, 1969, p. 1)
Percy Edward Hatch (1908-1969), native of Scott Co., Mississippi and a Methodist pastor and mathematices teacher, died on April 17th.  He was pastor of the Epsworth Methodist Church at Biloxi, but lived and taught in Long Beach, Mississippi.(The Daily Herald, April 18th, 1969, p. 2)
In April, a $1 million Ramada Inn was planned for West Beach on the grounds of the old Bryan Motel, which was recently demolished.(The Daily Herald, April  18, 1969, p. 1)
In April, Consolidated Construction Company was awarded the $104,370 contract to erect the West Biloxi Postal Station, a 6300 square-ft., single story, building, at 124 Fernwood Road.  The USPS leased the builing for ten years.(The Daily Herald, April 18, 1969, p. 15)
Lt. General James H. Doolittle (1896-1993) led 38 of the 53 survivors of the April 18, 1942 raid on Tokyo, Japan at its annual reunion held April 17-April 19, 1969 at the Edgewater Gulf Hotel.  By April 2011, only five men of the Doolittle's Raiders were extant for its 69th reunion held in Nebraska.(The Daily Herald, April 18, 1969, p. 1)  
In April, Clarence Day of the Day Companies sold the Trade Winds [formerly Tivoli Hotel] to ROLANE, Inc. of Atlanta, Georgia.  At this time, the building had 104 rooms and apartments and its 16 room motel which was built about ten years past.(The Daily Herald, April 19, 1969, p. 1)
Mayor Daniel Guice and Laz Quave, Beat 1 Supervisor, signed contracts for the $1,159,831  Biloxi small craft harbor and marina.  L&A Construction Company and W.R. Fairchild Construction Company were to commence work in forty five days and complete the project in 390 days.(The Daily Herald, April 29, 1969, p. 1)
J.O. Collins was the low base bidder to erect the $289, 395 Sacred Heart Catholic Church in North Biloxi. Father Francis Farrell was pastor and H.F. Fountain Jr. & Associates were architects.(The Daily Herald, April 30, 1969, p. 1)
Daniel Dicks Guice won the Democratic nomination for Biloxi Mayor over Richard Creel and Ernest Melvin. W.K. 'Bill' Dukate, former City Commissioner, dropped out of the Mayor's race in April.  Peter Parker (1908-1985) and Dominic A. Fallo (1911-1996) won the City Commissioners Democratic nominations.(The Daily Herald, April 17, 1969, p. 23, May 14, 1969, p. 1 and May 21, 1969, p. 1)
Dr. Percy P. Haslitt (1880-1969) expired at Biloxi on May 19th.  He was a native of Marshall, Illinois and first came to Biloxi in 1935 with the V.A.  In March 1951, retired from Federal service, he opened an office in Ocean Springs on Washington Avenue.  Martha Gagen (1883-1943), his first wife also from Marshall, Illinois, died at NOLA on February 5, 1943.(The Daily Herald, February 5, 1943, p. 5 and May 20, 1969, p. 2)  
Dr. Braxton Bragg O'Mara (1896-1969), native of Holmesville, Pike Co., Mississippi and pediatrician and internist expired at Biloxi on May 24th.  Lydia B. Bragg (1906-1991), his spouse, died on January 31, 1991.(The Daily Herald, May 24, 1969, p. 2)
Major General James C. McGehee and Major General Thomas E. Moore
With the retirement of Major General James C. McGehee (1910-1979) after 35 years in the USAF, he was replaced on August 1, 1969 by Major General Thomas E. Moore (1912-2007).  General Moore came to KAFB form the Alaskan Air Command.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 24, 1969, p. 10)
The merger of the First National Bank of Biloxi and the First National Bank of Hattiesburg became effective on 1 September.  A. Lynn Gottsche was president of the Biloxi banch and Paul W. McMillan of the Hattiesburg bank.  Shareholder and Comptroller of the Currency approval had been completed by mid-July.  The new bank, First Mississippi National Bank, had assets of $70 million dollars.[The Daily Herald, August 21, 1968, p. 1, February 12, 1969, p. 1, and July 18, 1969, p. 1]
Hurricane Camille made an unforgettable visit to the Mississippi Gulf Coast  on August 17th.
In October 1969, a Joe Moran (1915-1999) oil painting of Biloxi shrip trawlers was presented to Spiro T. Agnew, vice president of the United States, for his assistance following Hurricane Camille of August 1969.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 23, 1969, p. 10)
John P. McDermott Jr. was named Outstanding Citizen of Biloxi by the Lions Club.(The Daily Herald, January 2, 1961, p. 1)
Astronaut Fred W. Haise
Fred W. Haise (b. 1933), Biloxi native, was lunar module pilot on the ill-fated Apollo XIII Moon Mission, which ran from April 11 to April 17.  Fred  would have been the sixth man to walk on the Moon, if the mission had not been aborted due to mechanical issues.
Major Eugene A. Hiller (1898-1970), native of Calhoun County, Mississippi and retired VA director expired on January 24th .  Major Hiller attened Mississippi State College and served in WWI.  He was survived by Lottie Webb Hiller, his wife, Eugene Webb Hiller, his son.  Major Hiller joined the Biloxi VA in 1936 as assistant director and retired from his post on January 1, 1968.(The Daily Herald, January 25, 1970, p. A2 and The Mobile Press Register, January 28, 1968, p. C-3)
Mayor Daniel D. Guice plans North Biloxi annexation.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 3, 1970, p. 1)
The new Daily Herald $1.8 million printing plant and building on DeBuys Road was dedicated in early December. The Wilkes family had sold the daily newspaper to the State Record Company in 1968.(The Daily Herald, December 12, 1970, p. A1)                                                                  
Walter F. Fountain (1920-2003) was named Outstanding Citizen of Biloxi by the Lions Club.(The Daily Herald, January 2, 19, p. 1)
Adrian Weill (1903-1971), native of Osthaffen, Alsace-Lorraine, expired at Biloxi on February 21st.  He came to America in 1920 and located to Lutcher, Louisiana.  Mr. Weill arrived in Biloxi circa 1930 and made his fortune in real estate and property development.  He built Biloxi's first shopping center, Weill's Shopping Center, on West Beach Boulevard.  Jeanette Dees Weill (1916-2002), his wife, died on April 16, 2002.(The Daily Herald, February 22, 1971, p. 1 and The Sun Herald, April 21, 2002, p. A8)
Lyman Bradford Post 2434 VFW awarded a construction contract to H. Gordon Myrick of Gulfport to erect its new hall in East Biloxi.  The $110,000 structure was situated between Holley Street and the Trade Winds Hotel on East Beach.  H.F. 'Buddy' Fountain Jr. & Associates designed the 6500 square-ft. facility.(The Daily Herald, May 20, 1971, Section 4-p. 3]
Frotscher Richard Steckler (1908-1971), native of NOLA, expired at Biloxi in August.  He worked with his father at the Steckler Seed Company and came to Biloxi in 1929 as a horticulturist and landscape architect.  Steckler joined the Biloxi VA circa 1936 and was head gardener retiring about 1961.  He was Biloxi's 1958 Most Outstanding Citizen.  Frotscher had married Doris M. Trochesset (1911-2004) in February 1933 and they had five children.(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1959, p. 1 and August 1971, p. 2)   
The USO was dedicated on September 13th.  It occupied the former Dantzler House on West Beach near the Biloxi Lighthouse.(The Daily Herald, September 12, 1971, p. A7) 
The Gulf Hills Hotel near Ocean Springs burned to the ground on Christmas morning.
Reverend David C. Ehrenfeld was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen of 1964 by the Lions Club.(The Daily Herald, , 1971, p. 1)                                                                           
The Gulf Coast Research Lab at Ocean Springs opened its Environmental Education Center in a metal building at Point Cadet.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 16, 1972, p. 1)
In April, Mayor Daniel D. Guice announced his candidacy for Representative to Congress from Mississippi's 5th Congressional District.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 13, 1972, p. 1)
Antonio 'Tony' Mihojevich  (1902-1982) and Linda Kennedy, ruled the Blessing of the Fleet.(The Daily Herald, June 24, 1973, p. 1)
The 1885 Ship Island lighthouse caught fire on June 27th.  The 73-foot wooden tower was consumed by the conflagration leaving only the concrete foundation.(The Daily Herald, June 28, 1972, p. 2)
Carl E. Matthes (1896-1972), native of Chicago and renown Biloxi architect expired on August 28th.  His most significant works were: Hotel Buena Vista , Tivoli Hotel (Trade Winds), Biloxi City Hospital, Mary L. Michel Junior High School, the 1961 Biloxi High School, and the First United Methodist Church of Biloxi.(The Daily Herald, August 29, 1972, p. 2)  
Priscilla Ritch (1893-1972), long time Gorenflo Elementary school teacher, expired on October 18th.(The Daily Herald, October 19, 1972)

The Accomo Hotel and Restauant, formerly the Paradise Gardens at 744 Main Street, was gutted by fire on November 22, 1972.  A post-WW II, negro night club and was once the venue for entertainers such as: Antoine "Fats" Domino [1928-2017]; Guitar Slim [Eddie Jones (1926-1959)]; Chuck Willis [1928-1958]; and Johnny Otis [1921-2012].  Damage to the structure was estimated at $30,000.  It was owned by Joseph T. Hathorn and William E. Jones.  The fire was discovered while BFD firemen were fighting another blaze at the Auction City Furniture building 445 East Division.  Fire Chief Frank Gabrich estimated that W.M. Krohn and Ronnie Krohn, owners, loss at $5000 to their $10,000 structure.[The Daily Herald, November 22, 1972, p. 2]

In December, the Avelez Hotel on West Howard Avenue was being demolished by the Harris Wrecking Company.  The company was paid $25,000 to accomplish the task in one month.(The Daily Herald, December 1, 1972)
Glenn Lyle Swetman (1901-1994) was named Outstanding Citizen of Biloxi by the Lions Club.(The Daily Herald, January 2, 1973, p. 1)
John S. Mavar Jr. (1907-1973), Biloxi canner, civic leader, and stalwart Knight of Columbus, died at New Orleans on January 14th.(The Daily Herald, January 15, 1973, p. 2) 
Merritt Brunies (1895-1973), a member of the original New Orleans Five jazz band died on February 5th.  His corporal remians were interred in the Lafayette No. 1 Cemetery at New Orleans.(The Daily Herald, February 6,1973, p. 2)
The Biloxi City Council adopted a new and amended, comprehensive zoning ordinance in early March.  The Comprehensive Zoning Law of 1966-Ordinance No. 1083 was amended.(The Daily Herald, March 7, 1973, p. 1)
Governor William 'Bill' Waller (b. 1926) signed the Coastal Wetlands Protection Act into law in March.  It was authored by Gerald H. Blessey, Harrison County representative to the House.(The Daily Herald, March 23, 1973, p. 1)
Caillavet Street from West Howard Avenue to Beach Boulevard was opened on May 2nd.  Mrs. Anita Caillavet Wetzel (1886-1975) represent the Caillavet family at the ribbon cutting ceremony.(The Daily Herald, May 2, 1973, p. 2)
Professor Marion L. Carpenter (1917-1983) was named Biloxi's Musician of the Year.  Others winner of this award had been Johnny Bertucci, Charles Carnovale, Merritt Brunies, Raymond Egers, Vernon Williams, Frank Marchioni and Earl Blessey Sr.(The Daily Herald, May 2, 1973, p. 32)
Howard Memorial Hospital's cardio-medical staff were the first to implant pacemakers in Harrison County.(The Daily Herald, May 12, 1973, p. 2)
William V. Joyce Jr. (1911-1973), Biloxi merchant and Deputy Circuit Clerk 2nd JD Harrison County, Mississippi died at Biloxi on June 23rd at Biloxi.  Mr. Joyce graduated from BHS in 1929.  He attended the University of Alabama where he played football and ran track.(The Daily Herald, June 24, 1973, p. A2)
Lynn Pitalo and Laz Quave
[from The Daily Herald, June 24, 1973, p. 1]
Laz Quave (1910-1985), veteran politician, and Lynn Pitalo, daughter of George Pitalo and Hazel Marie Langlinais, ruled the Blessing of the Fleet on June 24th.(The Daily Herald, June 24, 1973, p. 1)
Miss Sue Collins (1894-1973), native of NOLA and former nursing supervisor at the Biloxi Hospital [1933-1940] and graduate of Hotel Dieu Hospital [1919] and Charity Hospital [1935] at NOLA, expired in early September.(The Daily Herald, September 29, 1973, p. 2)        
Construction began on October 12th at the $12.6 million, Biloxi Hilton Hotel by John C. Yemelos, president of Yemco, Inc.(Down South, Vol. 23, No. 6, p. 13) 
There were a number of UFO sighting as Biloxi and Ocean Springs throughout the month of October.(The Sun Herald, October 17, 1973, p. A2)
Mississippi Coast Coliseum [image made October 2011]
F. 'Yankee' Barhanovich and H.F. Fountain Jr. related that site clearing for the Mississippi Coast Coliseum would begin within 30 to 45 days.  Fifteen of the sixteen tracts for the project had been acquired.(The Sun Herald, October 17, 1973, p. A-2)
The Lyman C. Bradford Post 2434 V.F.W. Post building at 844 East Howard Avenue was dedicated  on October  20th.  The old building on Fred Haise Boulevard [Church Street] had been damaged in Hurricane Camille.  
H. Gordon Myrick Inc. of Gulfport were general contractors who erected the structure from plans by H.F. Fountain Jr., Biloxi architect.(The Sun Herald, October 21, 1973, p. A12)
Dr. Harry Johnson Schmidt Sr. (1905-1997) was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club.

John R. Blossman (1943-2009)

John R. Blossman (1943-2009), King d'Iberville, and Laurie James Turnbough, Queen Ixolib, ruled the Gulf Coast Carnival Association Mardi Gras at Biloxi on February 26, 1974.  The theme was the 250 Anniversary of the Biloxi Bay Colony.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 28, 1974, p. 1)

Ronnie Pierotich was named president of the Biloxi Port Commission in March 1974, replacing Sam Mavar (1912-1993).  Mr. Pierotich was appointed to the commission in 1969 by Governor John Bell Williams (1918-1983).  The Biloxi small craft harbor was dedicated in late March 1974.(The Times Picayune, March 20, 1974, p. 7)
In early April, the Friendship Fountain was dedicated at the International Plaza, which was named that day by O'Keefe for the former US Coast Gurad base on the site.  Various dignities attended the ceremony including Mayor O'Keefe, Mrs. Bill Waller, Jean-Jacques Peyronnet, General Consul of France and Major General Brian M. Shotts, commander KAFB.(The Daily Herald, April 7, 1974, p. A-2)
In April , the City of Biloxi hired Albert Walter Hagan, an engineer who came here from Galveston, Texas.  He was the first 'city engineer' in the history of the city and was paid $16, 600 annually.  Walter resigned  his position on July 31, 1975.(The Daily Herald, July 9, 1975)
The Blessing of the Fleet was held in early June with Reverend John P. Robinson of St. Michael's blessing over two hundred boats.  Leo Eleuterius Sr. (1907-1981) was the Shrimp King and Rachel Gabrich [m. Chevis Roy Hatten III] was his Queen.(The Times Picayune, June 3, 1974, p. 40)
Biloxi Elks Lodge No. 606 sold their lot and building on Lameuse Street to the City of Biloxi for $252,000.  Biloxi planned to use the property as a cultural center.(The Daily Herald, October 3, 1974)
On December 2nd, Art Weinberger (1896-1974), Biloxi merchant and the proprietor of Art's Levis on Howard Avenue, was distracted by John 'Willie' Durengo Reddix (b. 1954) in order that Larry 'Catfish' Jones (b. 1954), Reddix's companion on that day, could sneak up behind Mr. Weinberger and kill him with repeated blows from a wrench. Reddix and Jones then took money and clothes from the store and fled.  Larry Jones was convicted of  murder and is serving a life sentence in Parchman Prison.(The Daily Herald, December 3, 1974, p.A 2 and December 4, 1974, p. A2)
Reverend W.C. Wyatt was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club.
Metropolitan Bank
New bank, Metropolitan Bank,  designed by Guild & Grace of Gulfport planned for Biloxi.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 9, 1975, p. 5)
Louise Josephine Mallard (1900-1975) artist, thespian, school teacher, and bon vivant expired at Biloxi in late January.(The Daily Herald, January 29, 1975, p. A2)
In early February, Marcel J. 'Mickey' Bellande (1909-1982) was inducted into the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame at Jackson, Mississippi. Bellande excelled in football, baseball and golf.  His selection was based on his outstanding record in national, regional and local golf tournaments.  Mickey was the first golfer to win all three State titles-Open (1950), Amateur (1964) and Seniors (1964, 1965, 1967, 1968, 1969, and 1973).(The Sun Herald, February 9, 1975, p. B-6) 
Leo Kempton Crapo (1928-1975), native of New Bedford, Massachusetts, and proprietor of Merchiston Hall, a Biloxi furniture and home decorating center, died at Biloxi, on Sunday, March 2, 1975.  Leo was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen in 1967 and lauded for his active community leadership and unselfish devotion to many civic organizations and programs. He was active in the Biloxi Chamber of Commerce; Mississippi Coast Transportation Authority; the Boy Scouts of America; Biloxi Planning Commission; United Way; Air Force Association; and president of the Parish Council at Nativity BVM Catholic Church. In addition Leo was in 1966 the third recipient of the Laurel Wreath Award given by Coast Federal & Savings to the Outstanding Citizen of the Coast.(The Daily Herald, March 3, 1975, p. 1) 
In early March, the City of Biloxi placed the "red caboose" situated on Jackson Street on its pad.  The caboose was acquired from Ruth J. McFalls of Ocean Springs in December 1974 for $3850.  It was utilized by Senior Citizens as a retail outlet for ceramics and other handicrafts.(The Daily Herald, March 6, 1975, p. 2)
In March, Harry Reeks (1920-1982), Ocean Springs sculptor, and Mayor Jerry O'Keefe (b. 1923), presented his proposal for 'The Golden Fisherman', a welded, 12 foot, bronze statue to be electroplated with 14 carat gold, to the Biloxi Planning Commission and Urban Renewal Commission.  The project was expected to cost between $30,000 and $35,000.  Reeks was commissioned to create the Golden Fisherman in mid-April for $34,000.  The sundial was to be replaced by the Golden Fisherman.(The Daily Herald, March 21, 1975, p. A2 and April 18, 1975)
Shrimp Queen Tonya Gollott and King Mike Kulivan
Six of 12 Vietnamese refugees who made their home on the Mississippi Coast came to Biloxi in late May from the Eglin AFB Refugee Center.  Vincent and Margaret Sherry sponsored the families and gave the Vinh family temporary shelter in ther home.  The former South Vietnamese airforce officers and pilots and families were: Nguien Quan Vinh, Tuyet, his spouse, and 18-month old daughter, Van Anh, and Hoang Thanh Nha, Yen, his wife, and 7-year old, daughter, Nhi.  Others expected to arrive were Phan Huu Minh and his family(The Daily Herald, May 28, 1975, p. 1)
Tonya Gollott and A. Mike Kulivan (1921-2003) ruled the June Shrimp Festial at Biloxi.(The Daily Herald, June , 1975, p. )
William C. Cruso (1892-1975), Biloxi canner, native of NOLA and resident of Biloxi since 1904, died on May 30, 1975.  He was preceded in death by his spouse, Lillie Toche (1896-1968), who died on November 30, 1968.(The Daily Herald, November 30, 1968, p. 2 and June 1, 1975, p. A2)
William Patrick Kennedy III (1926-1975), son of W.P. Kennedy Jr. and Beatrice Hardisty Kennedy, expired at Biloxi on June 20th.  Mr. Kennedy became president of Kennedy Marine Engine Company at Biloxi in 1967.  He was a graduate of  Biloxi schools and attended Marion Institute [Alabama], the Merchant Marine Academy [King's Point, New York], and General Motors Institute [Detroit, Michigan] and was active in the seafood and boat building industries at Biloxi.  Mr. Kennedy was a member of the BYC and served as Commodore in 1961.(The Daily Herald, June 22, 1975, p. A2)
Althea Harkness Peresich (1897-1975), widow of Eugene A. Peresich Sr. (1895-1960), expired at Biloxi on August 9th .  Mrs. Peresich had been chosen Biloxi's Outstanding Mother of the Year, was a charter member of the Fortnightly Club and had been active in the Biloxi Elks Pats for several years.  She helped organize and operate the Women's USO at Biloxi during WW II.  In addition, Mrs. Peresich had been the owner of the Watson Insurance Agency and Eugene Perersich and Sons Inc., Southland Studios and a major owner of the Biloxi Building Association.(The Daily Herald, August 10, 1975, p. A2)
Melvin George Ness (1897-1975), native of Kenyon, Minnesota, who came to Mississippi in 1925 to establish a milk and ice cream business, died at Biloxi Veterans Administration Hospital on October 8th. Internment was in Southern Memorial Park.(The Daily Herald,October 8, 1975, p. A2)
Coach Tranny Lee 'T.L.' Gaddy (1894-1975), native of Itawamba County, Mississippi, who joined Biloxi High school as head football coach and athletic director in 1926, was honored April 18, 1975 with a "Coach T.L. Gaddy Day" and appointed Honorary Mayor of Biloxi for the day.  A resolution paying tribute to Coach Gaddy was made part of the city records and a copy placed in the Biloxi High School trophy case.  During his years as head coach at Biloxi until 1931, he brought Big 8 championship [sic] and other honors to the school.  Coach Gaddy died at Jackson, Mississippi on October 12, 1975.  He was enshrined in the Mississippi  Sports Hall of Fame and Museum in 1965. (The Daily Herald, October 13, 1975, p. A2)
In early May 1979, descendants of Biloxi seafood pioneers, Lopez, Maycock, and Gorenflo, unveiled a marker on Bayview Avenue at the head of Reynoir Street commemorating the 1881 founding of the Lopez, Elmer & Company.  The ceremony was a part of the Biloxi Heritage Week celebrations of May 6-12, 1979.(The Daily Herald, May 15, 1979, p. B-1)
Dr. Daniel Lester Hollis (1893-1975), native of Sulligent, Alabama expired on April 19th.  Dr. Hollis, was a physician and surgeon, former Canal Zone health officer, long time BHS football team physician, former president of the Biloxi school board member, Biloxi Lions Club 1955 Citizen of the Year, former president and secretary of the Biloxi Hospital staff, and a member and leader of many more civic and professional associations.(The Daily Herald, April 20, 1975, p. A2) 
William C. Cruso (1892-1975), NOLA native and Biloxi pioneer seafood packer, expired at Biloxi in late May.(The Daily Herald, June 1, 1975, p. A2)
U.S. Interstate I-110 Back Bay Bridge between D'Iberville and Biloxi opened on June 22nd.(The Daily Herald, June 26, 1975, p. 1)
Gerald H. Blessey, assistant to Mayor Jeremiah J. 'Jerry' O'Keefe III and counsel for Federal grant programs, resigned in September.(The Daily Herald, September 18, 1975.
The Biloxi City Council approved the contract for the sale of the Biloxi City jail to the Harrison County Board of Supervisors.  The City will pay $3 per day to the County to house and feed its prisoners in the contract.(The Daily Herald, October 2, 1975, p. B-1)
Plans for the $1 million, pedestrian Howard Mall were presented to the Biloxi Planning Commission and the Biloxi Merchants Association by H.F. “Buddy” Fountain.  He related that the project would take about one year to complete and consist of  “canopied walkways, open spaces, shade trees, park benches, fountains and a comfort station, information center and director’s office.”  No vehicular traffic, exception those of emergency agencies, was to be permitted between Lameuse Street and Reynoir Street.[The Daily Herald, October 17, 1975, p. B-1]
Turnbull & Associates of San Francisco, architects for the proposed Biloxi library-cultural center, began receiving bids on the project.  They ranged from $1,265,000 to $1,686,000.  Holiday Inn Construction Division of Memphis, Tennessee was the low bidder at $1,265,000.(The Daily Herald, October 2, 1975 , p. B-1)
In early November, Black students at Biloxi High School demonstrated against school grooming policies.  The activists demanded that the Biloxi school system adopt a policy that would allow Black students to plait thier hair into 'corn rows'.  A disturbance the prior week when a Black student and White student had an altercation on campus resulting in a suspension for the African-American was also a salient feature of the student unrest.(The Daily Herald, November 7, 1975, p. A-2)
In December, The Caboose, a gift from Ocean Springs, was located in the Magnolia Mall, a pedestrian shopping district in downtown Biloxi.  Senior Citizens used the sturcture to vend their handicrafts-needle work, ceramics, metal sculptures, etc.(The Daily Herald, August 11, 1976)
Austin H. Moritz (1917-1991) was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club.



On 2 February, Gregory Constructors of Gulfport was awarded the $862,000 contract by the city of Biloxi contract to erect the Howard Mall.  The project’s initiation was awaiting the opening of the Washington Loop before construction would commence, which was anticipated in two weeks.[The Daily Herald, February 3, 1976, p. B-1]

Theo Savoy (1903-1983) was Biloxi's Shrimp King.  He died at Biloxi in September 1983.(The Sun Herald, May 23, 1976, p. A1)
A 244 bed acute care center, The Gulf Coast Hospital, which became known as The Gulf Coast Medical Center at 180 DeBuys Road in Biloxi opened in May 1976.
Monsignor Jeffrey T. O'Connell (1900-1976), founder of Notre Dame High School and longtime priest at Nativity BVM expired on May 9, 1976.  His internment was in Dublin, Ireland.
The Mississippi Supreme Court upheld the 1974 ruling by Harrison County Chancery Court that denied the annexation attempt of North Biloxi by Biloxi.(The Sun Herald, May 25, 1976, p. A1)

Police Chief Lester J. Thompson (1941-2010) submitted his resignation in June for medical reason.  Mayor O'Keefe named Edward L. Ryan acting Police Chief effective 5 July.[The Daily Herald, June 12, 1976, p. 1]

Bishop Richard O. Gerow (1895-1976), native of Mobile and retired Catholic Bishop of Natchez from 1924 to 1966, died at Jackson, Mississippi in December.
Jefferson Bank
Newly chartered Jefferson Bank acquired lot on Howard Avenue between Fayard and Reynoir Street from the Biloxi Development Commission for about $50,000.[The Daily Herald, August 9, 1976, p. A-10.
Albert Mangin Sr. (1892-1983) was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club.
In February  1977, the 'Golden Fisherman” of Ocean Springs' sculptor, Harry Reeks (1920-1982) was positioned on the south side of Howard Avenue near the Biloxi Regional Medical Center.  It was relocated to the Point Cadet Plaza in late September 1998, shortly before Hurricane Georges struck the region.  The City of Biloxi has plans to re-erect the statue at a location not yet determined.(The Sun Herald, February 18, 2006, p. A9)
The dedication of the Howard Mall on March 4-5 essentially culminated the urban renewal era of Biloxi.  At this time the integration of the Magnolia Mall and Howard Mall became known collectively as the “Vieux Marche”.  Among the many music, choral and college band venues at the two-day fete were local art and cultural events: the dedication of the Golden Fisherman of Harry Reeks; Yugoslavian folk dancers and singers; square dancers; cast net throwing and oyster shucking; bike decorators; a Fais Dodo, street dance; and mullet fish fry.[The Daily Herald, Mach 4, 1977, p. C-1]
Betty Sekul, spouse of Dr. W. Steve Sekul, was named Biloxi's Mother of the Year by the Lions Club. Tony Rosetti present her the award at its 23rd annual venue.{The Sun Herald, May 8, 1977, p. A-2]

Bishop Howze (1923-2019)

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Biloxi was established on March 1, 1977, when it was split from the Roman Catholic Diocese of Jackson.  In ceremonies at Nativity BVM Cathedral. June 6th 1977, Joseph Lawson Howze, D. D., was installed as first Bishop of the Biloxi Diocese.


 In 1977, Save The Fort Inc. was lauded for its preservation efforts at the 11th Annual Military History Conference held at Fort Monroe, Virginia.   M. James Stevens of Biloxi was president of the organization.(The Daily Herald, May 4, 1977, p. 2)


Elvis Aron Presley (1935-1977), The King and the most widely recognized entertainer of the 20th Century, expired at Memphis, Tennessee on August 16th.

The Committee appointed by the Biloxi City Council in April to study the Mayor-Council form of municipal governcy voted 11 to 4 in favor of this rule.  Bay St. Louis, Mississippi adopted this systerm in 1977 and it has been in place at Jackson and Greenwood, Mississippi.(The South Mississippi Sun, September 21, 1977, p. A1)
Raymond Matthew 'Ray' Thompson (1898-1977), native of Lee Township, Fayette County, Ohio expired at Gulfport, Mississippi on Christmas Day.  In 1940, Mr. Thompson with Ellen Ursula 'Sue' Thompson, his spouse, came South, probably from Youngstown, Ohio where he was the proprietor of an advertising agency.  They resided initially at New Orleans where he began to write about history and travel.  In the early 1950s, they relocated to Biloxi, Mississippi where Ray wrote for Down South, a regional magazine.  In March 1956, he began a long running weekly series of journal articles, Know Your Coast and Know Your State, which were published in The Daily Herald, The Jackson Daily News, and The Clarion-Ledger.  Ray M. Thompson also authored: New Orleans From A to Z, The Land of Lafitte the Pirate, and The Confederate Shrine Beauvoir, the Last Home of Jefferson Davis (1957).  In 1962, he was editor of the Jefferson Parish, Louisiana Yearly Review.(from biographical information provided by Yvonne Arnold of the McCain Archives, University of Southern Mississippi)
John Pettus was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club.
Lillian Harrison Flectcher DeMiller (1892-1978), spouse of Rev. E.A. DeMiller (b. 1889) expired in Biloxi in February.   
Lewis 'Geebe' G. Moore (1900-1978), native of Rankin County, Mississippi and proprietor of Moore Seafood, expired on July 26th.(The Daily Herald, July 27, 1978, p.  A2)
The R.C. Haynie Jr., a menhaden fishing vessel owned by Zapata Haynie of Houston, Texas, sank three miles south of Ship Island on August 7th. One crewman died in the accident.(The Daily Herald, August 9, 1978, p. 1)     
The Mississippi Supreme Court upheld an August 12, 1977 Chancery Court ruling allowing the City of Biloxi to annex land in North Biloxi.  The decision excluded the Pine Crest and Cedar Lake Subdivisions.  The annexed area had a population of about 5100 people in about eight sqaure miles.(The Daily Herald, August 9, 1978, p. 1)
On August 10th, Philip Levine, president of the local union, International Association of Fire Fighters, led a 'walk-out' during a meeting with Mayor Jeremiah J. O'Keefe III, to protest the O'Keefe decision not to allow a Federal mediator to ameliorate differences between the City of Biloxi and the union.  Biloxi Policeman in attendance supported the firemen and walked out of the meeting with them.(The Daily Herald, August 10, 1978, p. 1)
The City of Biloxi received a $2 million Federal Grant.(The Daily Herald, October 5, 1978, p. 1)
William R. 'Billy' Lyons named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club.                                                                      
J.C. Penny opened its 80, 664 square-ft. store in the Edgewater Mall on January 24th.  Mayor Jeremiah J. O'Keefe III cut the ribbon.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 25, 1979, p. 1)
The Popps Ferry Bridge and Causeway estimated to cost $5.2 million was five months behind schedule.  L&AConstruction of Hattiesburg, Mississippi was the contractor.(The Daily Herald, February 6, 1979, p. 1)
Cheryl Prewitt of Ackerman named 1980 Miss America.

On October 18,1979, the Biloxi Development Commission Urbam Renewal Agency, City of Biloxi, Mississippi conveyed a quitclaim deed to the United Postal Service for a large lot on Main Street between Jackson and Water Streets.[Harrison Co., Mississipp 2nd JD Chancery Court Land Deed Bk. 96, p. 259

Matre Pitalo (1898-1981) was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club.

James C. Corso (1935-1990) and Lisa Ann Lewis [m. G.W. McAllister], Biloxians, ruled the Mardi Gras of the Gulf Coast Carnival Association.(The Daily Herald, February 19, 1980, p. 1
The Harrison County Chancery Court ruled that Biloxi's attempt to annex the Fernwood area was void because they did have the permission of the MGCCC.(The Sun Herald, August 11, 1980, p. A2)
Bruce C. Stewart was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club.
From data gathered in the 1980 Federal Census, the population of Biloxi was estimated to be 49,311 people making it the second largest city in Mississippi.  Meridian with 46,311 and Hattiesburg with 40,829 people followed.  All were well behind the Capital of Jackson with 202, 895 individuals.(The Daily Herald, April 24, 1981, p. B-1)
State Representative Gerald H. Blessey (b. 1942) was elected Mayor of Biloxi on June 23rd defeating Frank Barhanovich (b. 1943) and garnering 65% of the approximately 7700 ballots cast.  Elected with Blessey as Councilmen were: Laz Quave (1910-1985); Michael Esters; Lewis Langlinais; Mary Carpenter; Roy Mattina; W.C. McManus; and Margaret S. Sherry (d. 1987).(The Daily Herald, June 24, 1981, p. 1 and Sec. II, p. B1)
The 1928 Biloxi Hotel was converted to the $3.6 million, Chateau le Grand, a condominium complex at 1304 West Beach Boulevard. Dedication took place on December 7, 1981.(The Gulf Coast Times, December 7, 1981, p. 1 and The Ocean Springs Record, December 10, 1981, p. 3)
Dr. William Pontius of Ocean Springs was elected Chief of Staff of the Biloxi Regional Medical Center in December.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 10, 1981, p. 3)
Lloyd Moon and L.J. 'Blue' Caillavet were named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizens by the Lion's Club.                                                              
Dudley Charles Andrews (1896-1982), proprietor of the Biloxi Lumber Company, extraordinary human being, and excellent craftsman, died on January 21st.
Marcel J. 'Mickey' Bellande (1909-1982) expired on March 5th.  Bellande was a partner in the Bellande Beverage Company and a star athelete at BHS and Springhill College where he played football and baseball.  He played minor league baseball in the Cleveland Indians farm system. but excelled in golf in his later sporting career.  Bellande was the first Mississippian to win all three State titles-Open (1950), Amateur (1964) and Seniors (1964, 1965, 1967, 1968, 1969, and 1973).  He was inducted into the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame in February 1975.(The Sun Herald, February 9, 1975, p. B-6 and March 5, 1982)
In late May, interested and enthusiastic Biloxians met at the East End Fire Station to consider organizing a Biloxi Seafood Museum.  Among those present were: Jerry Bodin, Mayor Gerald Henry Blessey, Anthony V. Ragusin, Houston Gollott, Larry Dubaz, Margaret Sherry, and Tommy Gollott.(The Biloxi Press, June 2, 1982, p. 1)
Wallace Chapman (1903-1982), former Mississippi Power Company local manager and former BYC commodore, expired on September 1st.(The Daily Herald, September 2, 1982, p. A2)
William Connell Gryder Jr. (1900-1982), Mississippi Coast shoe merchant, expired on August 12th.
ETV presented a program on the works of Eunice Lyle "Dusti" Swetman Bonge' (1903-1993), Biloxi artist, on September 30, 1982.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 6, 1982, p. 24)
In the early morning of November 8th, 28 people died and more than 30 injured in a fire in the Harrison County jail on Delauney Street and McElroy Street in Biloxi.  Robert Eugene Pates (b. 1951) was charged with 28 counts of capital murder when he was named the alleged conspirator of the conflagration.  Pates was sent ot Parchman immediately.(The Daily Herald, November 8, 1982, p. A1 and November 9, 1982, p. A2)
The newly chartered Biloxi Seafood Museum, Incorporated elected officers in early December at the Biloxi Community Center.  Jerry Bodin was elected president; Duane Diaz, vice-president; Walter Fountain, secretary; and Chevis Swetman, treasurer.  Board members elected were: Carroll Kovacevich; Charles Weems; Billy Gollott; Thomas Schultz Jr.; Steve Marinovich; Gerald Cochran; Mike Chance; Joe Moran; Della McCaughn; Cheroe Arceneaux; Rosa Martin,; and Charles Bassett.The Biloxi Press, December 8, 1982, p. 1.
Nina M. Schwartzman (1916-1999) was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club.


On December 31, 1982, the corporate entity known as the Louisville & Nashville Railroad Company was officially merged into the Seaboard System Railroad, ending the L&N's 132-year existence under a single name. The Seaboard System quickly lost its own corporate identity as it and the Chessie System became CSX Transportation in 1986.

Alan Bond, of the Royal Perth Yacht Club, defeated Liberty at Newport, Rhode Island to become the first challenger in 132 years to win the America's Cup.
Haroll D. Castle of Ocean Springs and Melissa Jaynell Schloegel [Marion] of Gulfport ruled the 57th Biloxi Mardi Gras.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 17, 1983, p. 1)
Estelle Fortner Wilkes (1911-1983), native of Gulfport and former owner of The Daily Herald, expired on March 1st.(The Daily Herald, March 2, 1983, p. 2)
George L. Sumrall (1908-1983), service station operator and Biloxi sports booster, died on March 3rd.(The Daily Herald, March 4, 1983, p. A2)
Sheriff Howard Leroy Hobbs (1934-2008) was arrested on June 16, 1983 with David J. Venus III; Chief Deputy Sheriff Craig Monroe; D.J. Venus IV; George Mims Venus; Bill Carroll; Jim Blackwell; John Higgins; and Wayne Ford.    Phillip Baugh was arrested on 20 July in connection with this case which involved cocaine conspiracy.(The Daily Herald, July 28, 1983, p. A-2, July 29, 1983, and August 3, 1983)
Professor Marion Carpenter (1917-1983), popular BHS band leader, expired in March. He came to the Biloxi Central High School as Band Director in the early 1940s from the Georgia Teachers' College at Statesboro, Georgia.  Professor Carpenter resigned his position at Biloxi school in May 1945 and was hired by the Sacred Heart Academy of Biloxi to organized an all-girl marching band in October 1946.   George A. Wimberly (1920-1996) replaced Marion Carpenter as the BHS band director in October 1946.(The Daily Herald, October 22, 1946, p. 4 and October 30 1946, p. 4)
Arthur Godfrey (1904-1983), long time radio entertainer, expired on March 16th.
John Bell Williams (1918-1983), Governor of Mississippi from 1968-1972, expired at Brandon, Mississippi on March 25th.
Michael L. Esters
Michael L. Esters, (1952-1983), Biloxi's first Black Councilman, was killed on March 24th in a train-car collision.  He was elected to represent Ward II in 1981.(the Daily Herald, March 24, 1983, p. 1 and March 25, 1983, p. 2)
The new headquarters at the Gulf Islands National Seashore at Ocean Springs was named for US Congressman
William M. Colmer who was instrumental in the 1971 creation of this Federal nature preserve.  The building was dedicated on April 1st.(The Daily Herald, March 21, 1983, p. 2) 
Vincent 'Vici' Joseph Rosetti (1908-1983), proprietor of Rosetti's Restaurant and Lounge, a legendary Biloxi cafe established in 1933, by Jake P. Rosetti (1884-1959), his 1903 Croatian immigrant father, died on May 18th in his native Biloxi.  Vici was elected president of the Gulf Coast Chapter of the Mississippi Restaurant Association in September 1964.(The Daily Herald, September 9, 1964, p. 1 and May 19, 1983, p. A2)
Ernest Melvin was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club.
The Daily Herald began celebrating it Centennial Anniversary in January.  The journal was founded on October 4, 1884 by George Washington Wilkes and M.B. Richmond.  Gulf Publishing Company, a subsidiary of the State Record Company of Columbia, South Carolina, acquired the newspaper in July 1968.(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1984, p. A1)
Clark D. Shaughnessy Jr. was elected Commodore of the BYC with Dr. Richard Schmidt, vice-Commodore and William Pittman, rear-Commodore.  The board consisted of: Dallas Burns, Clinton Bolton, W. Gray Slay, Patricia Howell, Eddie Migues, and Harold Catchot.(The Daily Herald, January 3, 1984, p. A9)
The Reverend Louis Peyton Sr., native of Grand Bay, Alabama, died on March 27, 1984.  He was associate minister of the First Faith Missionary Baptist Church and had been ordained in January 1965.  Brother Peyton was honored as Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen in 1972 and 1973.  A eastern part of Washington Street was named in his honor in 19??.(The Daily Herald, March 29, 1984, p. A-2)
The J.L. Scott Marine Education Center and Aquarium on Point Cadet was dedicated on June 20th.  It was named for J.L. 'Jake' Scott (1915-2001), a educator and founder of the Gulf Coast Research Laboratory at Ocean Springs.  Mr. Scott died at Jackson, Mississippi on April 25, 2001.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 14, 1984, p. 5 and Biloxi-D'Iberville Press, April 25, 2001, p. A7)                                      
Albert J. Misko (1915-2006) and Jennifer Gollott were King and Queen of the Blessing of the Fleet on June 3rd.(The Daily Herald, June 2, 1984, p. A1, June 3, 1984, p. A1 and June 4, 1984, p. A1)
June 16th was Joseph C. Canizaro Day in Biloxi.  Mr. Canizaro was honored for his success as a developer at NOLA.  Some of his accomplishments were: Lykes Center; Canal Place; Texaco Center; Crowne Plaza Hotel; Xerox Center; owner of the NOLA Breakers, a professional football team.  Before 2008, Canizaro would develop The Tradition, a retirement resort community, in Harrison Couny, Mississippi.  He generously donated land from Tradition for two educational institutions: St. Patrick Catholic High School, an amalgamation of St. John's of Gulfport and Mercy Cross, formerly Notre Dame, of Biloxi, and William Carey College, which moved from its location on the seashore at Gulfport following Hurricane Katrina in 2005.
Major General Romulus W. Puryear (1911-1984), native of Hartsville, Tennessee, West Point graduate,  WWII combat veteran, and former Commander KAFB (1964-1967) expired on June 16th.   Alice Denning Puryear (1914-2010), his spouse and native of Gallatin, Tennessee, passed on May 8, 2010 at Ocean Springs, Mississippi.  Their corporal remains were interred in the Arlington National Cemetery.(The Sun Herald, June 18, 1984, p. A2 and May 13, 2010, p. A5)
Sam S. Mitchell (1903-1984), Biloxi entrepreneur and native of Hancock County, Mississippi, died at Biloxi in mid-June.  Mr. Mitchell and spouse, Mae Pringle Mitchell, owned the Bungalow, Inc. and Mitchell Associates, Inc.(The Daily Herald, June 18, 1984, p. A2) 
Major General Romulus Wright Puryear (1911-1984), native of Hartsville, Tennessee and former Commander of KAFB [July 1964 to his retirement in July 1967] and one of the founders of Metropolitan National Bankexpired at Ocean Springs in mid-June. His corporal remains were interred at Arlington National Cemetery in Virginia.  Alice Denning Puryear (1914-2010), his spouse, died on May 8, 2010 at Ocean Springs.(The Daily Herald, June 18, 1984, p. A2 and The Ocean Springs Record, July 27, 1967, p. 1)
Thomas 'Tommy' Gollott was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club.
Elmer Williams (1898-1985), one of the founders of the DeJean Packing Company, expired on January 29, 1985.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 31, 1985, p. 6) 
On May 5th, 76 Inc. [Joseph R. Thornton III and Shirley M. Thornton] leased 1500 East Beach Drive to the Factory Restaurant.  The rent was $1500 per month.  The Thorntons acquired the 90-foot lot on East Beach Drive from the Peoples Bank in May 1976.(Harrison Co., Mississiippi 2nd JD Land Deed Bk. 170, p. 446 and Bk. 65, p. 599)
Oduse 'Dago' Trahan (1912-2012) was Biloxi's Shrimp King.
Former Governor Paul B. Johnson Jr. (1916-1985) expired at Hattiesburg on October 14th.
John T. Collins (1904-1985), Biloxi architect, expired on Halloween.(The Sun Herald, November 1, 1985, p. A2)     
Mary Antonia Cvitanovich Mahoney (1924-1985), Biloxi's renown restaurateur, expired on December 29th.            
Robert Francis Mahoney (1923-2005) , her spouse, died on August 24, 2005.(The Sun Herald, December 30, 1985, p. 1)
Laz Quave (1910-1985), former Harrison County Sheriff, Biloxi Mayor, and Ward I City Councilman died on December 20th.   
S.L. Fayard was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club.
The Seafood Industry Museum opened at Point Cadet in March.  Destroyed by Katrina on August 29, 2005.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 20, 1986, p. 16)
John Edward 'Eddie' McDonnell (1912-1986), former, two term (1952-1956 and 1964-1968) Sheriff of Harrison County, humanitarian, and 'one of the last of the Great Politicians of the Mississippi Gulf Coast', died on June 13th at his home on the Tchoutacabouffa River.(The Sun Herald, June 14, 1986, p. A1 and June 15, 1986, p. A2)                
On 1 September, Tommy Moffet [b. 1950] became Biloxi's first African-American Chief of Police replacing George W. Saxon [1927-2018] who became Public Safety Director.(The Sun Herald, August 14m 1986, p. A-1)
Frank L. Gabrich (1913-1986), retired Biloxi fire chief [1961-1974], died on August 20th.(The Sun Herald, August 21, 1986, p.   )    
Two Biloxi firemen, Carl Ohr Jr. (1952-1986) and Edwin Kurt Jacquet (1956-1986), died while fighting an apartment house fire in Biloxi on October 20th.  The old frame house had been divided into seven apartments with ten residents-all escaped injury. (The Times-Picayune, October 21, 1986, p. 1)                                                 
Joseph J. Duffie Jr. (1927-1994) was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club.
C.F. Gollott (1911-1987), seafood packer and Dixieland Jazz musician, expired on January 19th.(The Sun Herald, January 21, 1987, p. A4)
Frank 'Yankee' J. Barhanovich (1915-1987) died on April 7th.  Unarguably one of Biloxi's greatest ambassadors and promoters.  Mr. Barhanovich won many honors and awards for his untiring efforts for his fellow Croatians; the Catholic Church and Knights of Columbus; Biloxi athletics, especially the Shrimp Bowl and 'Yankee Stadium'; and many social and philanthropic groups, including the Lions Club, Chamber of Commerce, Biloxi Doll and Toy Fund, Girl Scouts, and many more.
Biloxi's attempt to annex D'Iberville and its 14000 denizens and 18 square-miles was denied by Judge Jason Floyd who cited flaws in Biloxi's annexation ordinance that could not be corrected by amendants.(The Sun Herald, May 22, 1987, p. A1)
Captain Breezy [Tony] Gruich (1918-1996) was named Shrimp King.
Vincent J. Sherry (1929-1987), Harrison County Circuit Judge and Margaret J. Smith Sherry (1929-1987), his spouse and former Biloxi Councilman, were murdered on September 14th.(The Sun Herald, September 9, 2007, p. A1)
Sheriff Larkin Smith (1944-1989) was re-elected Sheriff of Harrison on November 3rd.  He garnered 75% of the approximately 24,000 votes cast beating Democrat candidate Perry Ladner.(The Sun Herald, November 4, 1987, p. C1)
Federal Judge Walter L. Nixon (b. 1928) was removed from office by the US Senate on November 3, 1987 after he was impeached by the US House of Representative.(The Sun Herald, March 28, 1990, p. C1)
Europa Star at Biloxi
[image by Ray L. Bellande-ca 1988]
The Europa Star, a 167-foot cruise ship that features dining, entertainment and gambling  commenced operating from Point Cadet Marina on December 20th under a court order.(The Sun Herald, November 14, 1987, p. 1 and February 20, 1988, p. 3)
Olon Ray was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club.                               
 'Skeet': The Public Life of Walter Henry Hunt, by Murella Hebert Powell was published in 1988 by Phyllis Hunt Graham and Shaughnessy Print Co. of Biloxi.
The City of D'Iberville was incorporated on February 10, 1988.
Ray Boise Butterefield (1923-1988), native of Macomb, Illinois and radio announcer when WLOX when on the air on May 28, 1948 and instrumental in the acquistion of a license for WLOX Broadcasting Company which began TV broadcasting at Biloxi in 1962, died on May 25th at Birmingham, Alabama.(The Sun Herald, May 27, 1988, p. A-3)
Sagasta 'Sang' Langlinais (1911-2001), native of New Iberia, Louisiana, reigned over the 60th Annual Biloxi Blessing of the Fleet.(The Sun Herald, May 29, 1988, p. A-1)
The I-110 connector from US Highway 90 to Interstate Highway 10 was opened in February.(The Sun Herald, February 20, 1988, p. A3)
Ernest Charles Melvin (1919-1988), three term Beat 1 Board of Supervisor [1972-1984], expired on July 21st.(The Sun Herald, July 23, 1988, p. A4)
Margaret S. Speir (1895-1988), retired Dukate Elementary principal and long time Biloxi school educator, died on July 21st.(The Sun Herald, July 23, 1988, p. A4)
Dick E. Wilson was named Outstanding Citizen of Biloxi by the Lions Club.(The Sun Herald, February 11, 2010, p. A5)                                                                              


Biloxi's first Buddhist pagoda opened on December 11, 1988 when Monk Chon Thich greeted fifty people at 1100 East Howard Avenue.[The Hattiesburg American, December 13, 1988, p. 3]


Helen Werby and Tommy Munro ruled a cold Fat Tuesday in early February.  Keely Rochelle Dinero was Queen Venus VIII of the Krewe of Neptune.(The Sun Herald, February 8, 1989, p. A1)
Judge Lawrence C. Corban (1900-1989), native of Fayette, Mississippi and former OS City attorney from 1953-1959, Circuit Court Judge (1939-1953), Jackson County Chancery Court Judge (1959-1975) and outstanding Coast citizen and Mason, expired on April 3rd. 
Kat Bergeron was named Biloxi's Historian of the Year.  Bergeron teaches Mississippi folklore and history at the Elder Hostel Program in Biloxi.  She is a Gulfport East High School graduate and matriculated to Marshall University in West Virgiina to study journalism.  Kat is the author of Gulf Coast Chronicles for The Sun Herald.  She was named Gulfport Jaycees Media Person of the Year in 1989 and received the Gulf Publishing's Eugene P. Wilkes Award.(The Sun Herald, May 19, 1989, p. B-1)
Mayor Jerry Lawrence and his five councilmen, Thomas J. Moore Jr., Linda Davis, A.J. Penrow, Les Barnett Jr., and Oliver Diaz Sr., the first city government of D'Iberville, Mississippi was sworn into office on July 1, 1989.(The Biloxi-'Iberville Press, July 14, 1989, p. 1)
Larkin I. Smith (1944-1989), former Gulfport Police Chief and Harrison County, Mississippi Sheriff and current US Representative 5th Mississippi Congressional District, was killed in Perry County, Mississippi on August 13th, when his airplane crashed.  Gary Eugene 'Gene' Taylor (b. 1953) of Bay St. Louis won his seat in a special election and assumed was sworn into Larkin I. Smith's vacated Congressional seat in October 1989.
Dorothy Dorsett Brown (1896-1989) died at NOLA on October 14th.  She was a native of Texas City, Texas and the spouse of affluent oilman and sportsman, Joe W. Brown (1897-19  ).  The Browns were the owners of the Broadwater Beach Hotel.
Clare Sekul Hornsby was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club.
James C. Corso (1935-1990), Biloxi businessman and former King D'Iberville of Mardi Gras, expired on February 19th.
The population of Biloxi in 1990 was 46,319 [34,547 white and 8625 black].(The Sun Herald, March 9, 2001, p. A10)
Sie J. Simon (1910-1990), Biloxi businessman, whose Sie's Place on the NW/C of Division and Reynoir Streets was the venue of many outstanding musicians and singers from 1950 to 1971, died on March 18th. Sie had such country stars as, Hank Williams, Ray Price, Johnny Horton 'Lefty Frizell Ernest Tubb, Jerry Lee Lewis, Billy Walker, Elvis A. Presley, and Darla Woods, play his club. Mrs. Simon, Edna Terry (1912-1992), passed in December 1992.(The Sun Herald, March 19, 1990, p. C-1)
The trial of Gerald H. Blessey and Michael Cavanaugh, Biloxi lawyers and business partners from 1979-1983, accused of conspiring to extort 25 per cent of the bond fee paid to Page, Mannino & Peresich, the Biloxi law firm hired by Blessey for the City of Biloxi's legal business when he was Mayor took place in March.  The prosecution avered that Page, Mannino & Peresich which were paid $2.8 million during Blessey's term as Mayor [1981-1989] feared that it would lose the City's business if Mr. Cavanaugh were not paid.  The Government siad that Cavanaugh did no work for the $134,267  he is alleged to have extorted from the law firm.(The Sun Herald, March 20, 1990, p. A-1)
M. James Stevens (1909-1990) was born July 6, 1909 at Elizabeth, New Jersey.  He settled on the Coast in 1948 and owned the Confederate Inn and Restaurant. at Gulfport.  Mr. Stevens became a great Mississippi Gulf Coast Historian and amassed a large archives of documents pertaining to Mississippi Gulf Coast chronology, which are now known collectively as, 'The M. James Stevens Collection'.  He expired at San Antonio, Texas on June 4, 1990.  In March 1990, M. James Stevens became the first to be awarded the Dunbar Rowland Award by the MDAH at its annual meeting in Jackson, Mississippi.  William T. Holland, Biloxi wooden boat buildre was recognized for his preservation crafstmanship construction when build the Glen Swetman, a Biloxi schooner replication.  Charles L. Sullivan, history professor at MGCCC-Perkinston was recognized for the 'Magnolia Series', a series of publications and vidotapes which commenced in 1988.  Sullivan would be awarded the Dunbar Rowland prize in March 2010.(The Sun Herald, March 22, 1990, p. B1 and The Sun Herald, June 12, 1990, p. C1)  
Former Governor (1956-1960), James P. Coleman (1914-1991), native of Ackerman, Choctaw County, Mississippi, died on September 28th. 
Brig. General Martin F. Haas (1902-1990), Biloxi native and 1924 graduate of West Point, died at Biloxi on October 13, 1990).  His corporal remains were interred in the Arlington National Cemetery at Arlington, Virginia.(The Sun Herald, October 16, 1990, p. C2)
'Fiddlin' Peter Lepre (1899-1990), long time resident of D'Iberville and well-known musician, expired on October 15th at Biloxi.(The Sun Herald, October 16, 1990, p. C2)
Dr. Eldon L. Bolton (1910-1990) was born January 11, 1910 at Biloxi and died here on December 25th.  He practiced family medicine at Biloxi for fifty-six years, following his father, Dr. Walter T. Bolton (1859-1923), also a along time Biloxi physician.(The Sun Herald, December 26, 1990)
Joseph "J.J." Wittmann (1911-1990), Harrison County Sheriff (1956-1960) and Mayor of Pass Christian (1968-1974), died on December 3rd at Pass Christian.(The Sun Herald, December 5, 1990, p. C2)                                      
Chevis Swetman was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club.          
Russell 'Rusty' C. David was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club.
Captain Lewis Voorhies 'Captain Hooks' Langlinais (1916-2007) served as Shrimp King for the 1991 Shrimp Festival.(The Sun Herald, May 25, 1991, p. A2)

Buena Vista Fire-1991

On June 25th, the Buena Vista Hotel was severely damaged by fire and Steve Moore, Biloxi Fire Chief, estimated that the fire resulted resulted in damages of "hundreds of thousands of dollars and a total loss."  It was leased to the Sea, Air and Space Museum, headed by Anthony Mattina, a Biloxi Councilman.  The structure was owned by South Sea Cruises Inc.-Dewayne Williams, president.(The Sun Herald, June 26, 1991, p. A-1)

Barney M. Giles (1922-1992), Texas native and Biloxi restaurateur, died on January 11, 1992.  Barney came to Biloxi in 1948 and ran Barney's Drive In and the Ship-in-Shore.(The Sun Herald, January 13, 1992, p. A2) 
Howard McDonnell (1909-1992), Biloxi attorney and former State Senator and Floater Representative, expired on February 19th.
Monsignor Eamon Joseph Mullen (1918-1992), native of County Sligo, Ireland who was ordained a Catholic priest at St. Patrick's College, Carlow Ireland in June 1942, expired at Jackson, Mississippi on March 19th.(The Sun Herald, March 22, 1992, p. A2)
The Biloxi Belle Casino, owned by Mississippi Riverboat Amusement Corporation, announced plans for a dockside gaming vessel at Biloxi to open in late summer of early fall.  Operators touted that the enterprise would create 700 new jobs with a yearly payroll of $13 million.(The Sub Herald, May 19, 1992, p. A1)
Leroy Duval (1943-2014) was named Shrimp King.
Mavar Inc. situated at 1140 Beach Boulevard in Biloxi leased their land in Block 1 of the Summerville Addition Subdivision to Grand Casino of Mississippi Inc., a Minnesota Corporation, located at Plymouth, Minnesota.  The 99-year lease began in June 1992.(Harrison Co., Mississippi 2nd JD Land deed Bk. 251, p. 588)    
On August 1st, dockside gambling commenced at Biloxi when two riverboat casinos from Iowa, the Diamond Lady and the Emerald Lady, opened for business as The Isle of Capri Casino.(The Biloxi-d’Iberville Press, July 22, 1992, p. 1 and The Sun Herald, July 29, 2007, p. G1)
Bill Holmes was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club.

In January, the Mississippi Secretary of State signed a 15 year lease commencing August 1, 1993 and ending July 31, 2008 with Grand Casino of Mississippi.  The annual rental for the 222,475 square-feet of water bottoms was $405,000.(Harrison Co., Mississippi 2nd JD Land Deed Bk. 251, p. 616)

Lyle Morse Page (1932-2011) ruled the Mardi Gras as King D'Iberville.  
Hugo L. Rungo (1909-1993), founder of Hugo's, the coast first pizza parlor situated on Division Street and Porter Avenue, expired on  the 9th.  Hugo L. Rungo Jr. (1933-2008) died at Spring Hill, Flordia in early April 2008.(The Sun Herald, April 19, 2008, p. A12)
Edmond Boudreaux Jr. was named Biloxi Historian of the Year.(The Mississippi Press, May 20, 1993)
The Fisherman's Hangout, a landmark pool hall and tavern that operated on Back Bay since 1948 by Lionel 'Nellie' Creel (b. 1918) closed in May.(The Sun Herald, May 23, 1993, p. E1)
Jack Charles Jessup (1916-1993), an affiliate of the Fellowship Revival Association and pioneer, radio minister with offices at 2327 25th Street Gulfport, Mississippi and a sound studio in his home at Biloxi from which he recorded tapes for his religious radio programs which were broadcast from Del Rio, Texas on radio station XERK and radio station XEG at Monterrey, California, died at Gulfport on July 10th.(The Sun Herald, July 11, 1993, p. A-2)
The Buena Vista Hotel was planned to be demolished in November for 800 parking places for the Biloxi Belle Casino.  The Biloxi Belle Casino aspired to build three-story casino to open in the summer of 1994.(The Sun Herald, October 27, 1993, p. D-5)
Eunice Lyle "Dusti" Swetman Bonge' (1903-1993), Biloxi artist, and widow of Archie Bonge', expired on November 23rd.(The Sun Herald, December 2, 1993)
was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club.
Joe Scholtes
[Courtesy of Lawrence Cosper, son-in-law]
Leo J. 'Joe' Scholtes (1917-1994), Biloxi local historian, author, photographer, and excursion boat owner [Sailfish], died on January 13th.(The Sun Herald, January 16, 1994, p. A2)
Lorie Blossman and Frank D. Bertucci ruled the Gulf Coast Carnival Association at Biloxi..(The Ocean Springs Record, February 24, 1994, p. 10)
The Popp's Ferry Public Library was renamed the Margaret Sherry Memorial Library by the Biloxi City Council in an early March meeting.[The Sun Herald, March 2, 1994, p. C-2.]
Glen Lyle Swetman (1901-1994), long time Biloxi banker, expired on April 30th.  Authored Biloxi-A Banker's Day Book (1994) with Glenn Swetman, his son.(The Sun Herald, May 1, 1994, p. A1)
Cosmos Broadcasting of Greenville, South Carolina signed a letter of intentto acquire Love Broadcasting Company, the owner of WLOX-TV 13, an ABC affiliate. James S. Love III and his two sisters were the major share holders in the local TV station.(The Sun Herald, September 2, 1994, p. 1)
Susan 'Sue' Tonsmeire (1909-1995), long time Biloxi educator expired on March 8th.
Tommy Munro (1931-2009) was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club.
Shannon Suarez, former US Marine and Biloxi native, was inducted into the Louisiana High School Atheletic's Coaches Hall of Fame on January 24th. He coached 17 years at Sulphur High School, Sulphur, Louisiana compiling a record of 144-47-4.  Prior to his career at Sulphur, he coached the Ocean Springs Greyhounds winning 29-11-1 from 1959-1962.(The Sun Herald, January 17, 1996, p. A-1 and The Ocean Springs Record, December 14, 1995, p. 15)
Chester L. Delacruz (1911-1996), native of Violet, Louisiana and former manager of the Southern Shell Fish Co., expired on July 6th.(The Sun Herald, July 8,1996, p. C2)
Louis C. Uchello (1909-1996), a native of Gretna, Louisiana, the son of Italian immigrant farmers, who moved to the Coast more than 60 years ago and became a self-made businessman, died in late July.  Mr. Uchello first opened The Grove nightclub at the corner of DeBuys Road and U.S. 90, and later opened the Harbor Light Restaurant, which was destroyed by Hurricane Camille. He built the Sun Tan Motel, still in operation today on U.S. 90.(The Sun Herald, July 28, 1996)
Albert E. Bessey (1895-1996), "Mr. Biloxi Tennis", expired on September 16, 1996 at 101 years of age.
Liz Corso Joachim, spouse of John 'Jack' Schappert Joachim Jr., was named Outstanding Citizen of Biloxi by the Lions Club.(The Sun Herald, January 15, 1997, p. C1 and February 11, 2010, p. A5)
Anthony W. 'Tony Jack' Covacevich (1907-1997), long time Biloxi ship carpenter, expired on February 3rd.  His last wooden boat was the New Florida Girl built before and after Camille in 1969.(The Sun Herald,February  1997, p. )
Randi Carolyn Peresich, Queen Ixolib, and Kind d'Iberville, Alben N. 'Al' Hopkins, ruled the MGCCA Mardi Gras season.  Parades rolled on Mardi Gras Day February 20th.(The Sun Herald, February 20, 1996, p. A1)
Anthony V. 'Tony' Ragusin (1902-1997), 'Mr. Biloxi', expired at Biloxi on March 3rd.  Longtime promoter of Biloxi tourism, history, and photography.(The Sun Herald, March 4, 1997, p. C2)
Billy Joe Clegg (1928-1997), native of Oklahoma and Biloxi resident, died on May 1st.  Mr. Clegg, a Baptist minister, had been a candidate for President of the United States seven times commencing in 1972 when he lost to Richard M. Nixon.  During his 1996 primary campaign for the most prestigious office in the world, Mr. Clegg's name was only ballots in New Hampshire and Mississippi.(The Sun Herald, February 21, 1996, p. A2)
Dr. Harry Johnson Schmidt (1905-1997), native of Ocean Springs and long time Biloxi physician, expired on August 31st.
was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club.                                           
Charles R. "Bob" Stein (1920-1998), native of West Virginia, and founder of The North Biloxian (1973) and Biloxi-D'Iberville Press (1975), expired on January 1st.(The Sun Herald, January 3, 1998, p. B2)
Louis Voyle Carron (1910-1998), well-known Biloxi musician and band leader, died on February 15th.  Mr. Carron was employed with Frank P. Corso as a salesman for 43 years.(The Sun Herald, Febraury 16, 1998, p. A9)
W.D. “Willie” Wiles (1923-1998) was born September 23, 1923, at Kosciusko, Mississippi, the son of Dee Wiles and Inez Caldwell.  Coach Wiles graduated from Mississippi Southern College.  He was head football coach at Biloxi High School from 1957-1967?  W.D. Wiles expired at Thibodeaux, Louisiana on February 9, 1998.(The Sun Herald, February 11, 1998, p. A9)
Gus Stevens (1911-1998), native of Chester, Pennsylvania and long time Biloxi restaurateur and night club proprietor, expired at Gulfport on March 10th.(The Sun Herald, March 13, 1998, p. A7)

Iberville statue dedication Beach Boulevard in September
[L-R; Mayor A.J. Holloway and Mary Ott Tremmel Davidson, artist.  Image made September 4, 1998 by Ray L. Bellande]
Annette Saxon O'Keefe (1924-1998), wife of J.J. O'Keefe III (b. 1923), native of Augusta, Georgia, an outstanding pianist and 1942 valedictorian and honor graduate of OSHS, mother of thirteen children, civic leader, supporter of the arts, and philanthropist, died on May 16, 1998.(The Sun Herald, May 18, 1998, p. A7 and The History of Jackson Co., Mississippi 1989, pp. 303)
Brother Jerome Lepre  (1927-1998), Gulf Coast genealogist, author and historian, expired at NOLA on September 19, 1998.  He was named a Fullbright Scholar in May 1968 to the Univeristy of Sophia at Tokyo, Japan.(The Daily Herald, May 13, 1968, p. 5)
The 30 story, $650 million, Beau Rivage Casino opened at Midnight on March 15, 1999.(The Sun Herald, March 15, 1999, p. A1)
Sherwood R. 'Woody' Bailey Jr. and Allison Pemberton ruled the Hibernia Marching Society St. Patrick's Day Parade which ws planned for March 13th.  Rained cancelled the event and it was postponed.(The Sun Herald, March 7, 1999, p. E1 and March 14, 1999, p. A1
Construction of Biloxi's $9 million, three-story, 66,000 sq-ft Public Safety Center commenced on July 24th.  The facility on Porter Avenue was designed by Fountain & Lamas and built by W.G. Yates  & Sons Construction Company.  The structure was erected to house Police and Fire Departments and Municipal Court.(The Sun Herald, July 22, 1999)
was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club.
The population of Biloxi in 2000 was 50644 [36177 white and 9643 black].(The Sun Herald, March 9, 2001, p. A10)   

Archbishop Eugene A. Marino (1934-2000), a Biloxi native and America's first Roman Catholic Black Archbishop, expired at New Rochelle, New York on November 11th.  He was selected by Pope John Paul II on March 15, 1988 for this position and installed at Atlanta, Georgia on May 5, 1988.(The Sun Herald, April 30, 1988, p. A7 and November 14, 2000, p. A1 and p. A5)


F. Walker Tucei (1918-2000), retired executive vice-president and fifty-three year employee of People's Bank, expired on November 22, 2000.(The Sun Herald, November 24, 2000, p. A5)


Laurence M. Oden (1918-2000), classical musician and composer, died at Gulfport, Mississippi on December 9th.  His best known works are: 'Parnell', 'Marie Laveau', and 'Ellegy in Gray'.(The Sun Herald, December 11, 2000)


was named Biloxi's Outstanding Citizen by the Lion's Club.