Biloxi Mayors and Politicians





The Biloxi Herald, 






Lyman B. Holley [1868; 1870 see Harrison Co., Mississippi Chancery Court Land Deed Bk. 11, p. 372]



[No Records? from 1869-1875]



Raymond Caillavet (1838-1898) called "Medeaux" was born at Biloxi in 1838.  He was the eldest son of Francois Caillavet (1815-1883), a carpenter, and Euranie Fayard (1818-1895).  Raymond Caillavet was the grandson of Louis Arbeau Caillavet (1793-1860), a native of the Opelousas Post, Louisiana and Marguerite Fayard (1787-1863) of Biloxi.  Louis A. Caillavet was baptized on March 31, 1793, with Louis Carriere and Marie Despaux standing as his godparents.  L.A. Caillavet's father, Symphroen Caillavet (1746-1806), was born at Bordeaux, France.  His mother was Marie Rose Carriere (1766-c. 1855), a native of New Orleans.


The Caillavet family at Biloxi was well respected.  Louis A. Caillavet, the progenitor of the family here, had arrived in 1809, from Opelousas, Louisiana.  His mother, Rose Carriere and brother, Adolph Caillavet (c. 1803-1842) joined him at Biloxi later . 


L.A. Caillavet (1793-1860) married Marguerite Fayard (1787-1863) circa 1811.  She was the daughter of Jean Baptist Fayard, Jr. (1752-1816) and Angelique Ladner (1753-1830).  These families are among the oldest at Biloxi.

L.A. Caillavet was fluent in the French and English languages and acted as an agent-interpreter and representative to wealthy Creole families from New Orleans as well as his neighbors in land and legal matters.  He was often called as a witness in Probate (Chancery) Court matters and his depositions in several court cases reveal something about his life.  From Nap Cassibry's excellent two volume series, Early Settlers and Land Grants at Biloxi, the following has been extracted concerning L.A. Caillavet:

1.  was in Biloxi in 1809 and no later than 1812.

2.  sometimes he was the only one in Biloxi who could write.

3.  served as an interpreter and notary in legal matters.

4.  he was blind by 1848.


L.A. Caillavet acquired much land on the Mississippi coast.  In February 1837, he received a U.S. Government land patent on 71.85 acres at Jackson County, Mississippi described as Lot 1 of Section 32 T7S-R8W.  It comprised the NE/4 and SE/4 of the NE/4 of that section.  This land is located on the beach front at east Ocean Springs west of Halstead Road.  Louis A. Caillavet was elected treasurer of the Harrison County Board of Police (Board of Supervisors) for the term 1841-1843.(JXCO, Ms. Land Deed Bk. 96, pp. 325-326)


As a young man, Raymond Caillavet took the call of the Confederate cause and joined Company E (Biloxi Rifles), 3rd Mississippi Infantry, C.S.A.  He served as a private.  The Biloxi Rifles were mustered into State service on May 21, 1861, at Jackson, and Confederate service at Shieldsboro (Bay St. Louis) on October 5, 1861.  They were originally expected to be sent to Virginia, but Governor Pettus thought they would be better utilized as a home guard protecting the Mississippi Coast from Union excursions.  Young Caillavet must have left the Coast during the Civil War for New Orleans.  Here he met and married Celina Joucheray (1841-1903) circa 1864.  Their first two children were born at New Orleans.  They returned to Biloxi for birth of their third child in 1869. 


Celina Joucheray

Young Caillavet must have left the Coast during the Civil War for New Orleans.  Here he met and married Celina Joucheray (1841-1903) circa 1864.  Celina Joucheray was born at New Orleans on November 24, 1841.  Her father was Pierre Joucheray (1809-1842) and mother, Louise Denis (ca 1812-ca 1849).  Pierre Joucheray was born at Chare sur Argos, Canton Conde, Department of Maine andLoire on March 16, 1809, while Louise Denis was a native of Sable, Department of Sarthe.  The Joucherays were married at Paris, France circa 1836. 


Joucheray, Celina

Be it remembered that on the day to wit: the fourteenth of November of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and forty two and the sixty seventh of the Independence of the United States before me, Alfred E. Farstall, duly commissioned and sworn Recorder of Births and Deaths in and for the Parish and City personally appeared.  Mrs. Louise Denis, widow of the late Mr. Pierre Joucheray, a native of Sable, Department of the Sarth in France, about thirty years of age and residing on Royale Street No. 358 in the first Municipality of New Orleans who in the presence of undersigned witnesses , doth declare that she bore a female child Celina Joucheray, the legitimate child of the late Mr. Pierre Joucheray born at Chare sur Argoz Canton Conde , born at Chare sur Argos Canton Conde Department of Maine and Loire in France, on the sixteenth of March eighteen hundred and nine and since about six years ago married at Paris in France, in (illegible) Department.  The child was born on the twenty fourth of November eighteen and forty one at half past eleven o’clock A.M. in a house on Louise? Street between Marigny  and Mandeville Streets in the first Municipality of this city.(Louisiana Department of Archives, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, Birth Records Volume 7, p. 189) 

Joucheray, Pierre

Be it remembered that on the day to wit: the fourteenth of November of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and forty two and the sixty seventh of the Independence of the United States before me, Alfred E. Farstall, duly commissioned and sworn Recorder of Births and Deaths in and for the Parish and City personally appeared.  Mrs. Louise Denis, widow of the late Mr. Pierre Joucheray, a native of Sable, Department of the Sarthe in France, about thirty years of age and residing on Royale Street No. 358 in the first Municipality of New Orleans who in the presence of undersigned witnesses , doth declare that her lawful husband Mr. Pierre Joucheray, born at Chare sur Argos, Canton Conde, Department of Maine and Loire in France, on the sixteenth of March eighteen hundred and nine and since about six years ago married at Paris in France, departed this life on the twenty first of May last past at ten o’clock P.M. by falling accidentally into the Blind River Parish of St. Tammany in the state of Louisiana.(Louisiana Department of Archives, Baton Rouge, LouisianaDeath Records Volume 9, p. 383)

After Pierre Joucheray’s death in May 1841, Madame Joucheray and Celina disappear until the Orleans Parish Federal Census of 1850.  At this time, Celina is living in the household of Marcelin Effort (1828-1850+), a Louisiana born pilot, in the first ward of New Orleans.  It appears that her mother remarried or died before 1850. 


Coming Home

Raymond Caillavet and Celina’s first two children were born at New Orleans.  They had returned toBiloxi for birth of their third child in 1869.  On February 26, 1869, Raymond Caillavet bought a lot fronting on North Street at Biloxi from his father.  It was described in the land deed records as having a front of eighty-five feet on North Street and being two-hundred feet deep.  It was bounded on the north by North Street, east by Mrs. Lefaure, south by lands of Cook, and west by a street or road (Cuevas Street?).(2)  He paid $200 for the land.  Here Raymond Caillavet reared his family and made his livelihood as a carpenter.

In June 1869, young Raymond Caillavet for $100 acquired another lot from his father.  It had a width of sixty-five feet and was one-hundred twenty five feet in depth.  The lot was bounded on the north by John Latour Caillavet, east by Charles T. Couave (Cuevas), south by a street, and west by an alley.(3)  Caillavet conveyed this property to Phillip Lestrade (1832-1912) on January 5, 1876, as partial repayment for a debt owed Lestrade in a partnership that they had once participated.(4)


Public Service

Raymond Caillavet also had a career in public service in Harrison County and as a city official at Biloxi.  He served as Justice of the Peace District 1 (1873-1875), Corner and Ranger (1875-1877), Mayor of Biloxi (1877-1882), Corner and Ranger (1889-1891), and City Councilman (1891-1892 and 1894-1895).  In the January 1879 mayoral election, Caillavet defeated J.R. Harkness receiving 151 of the 200 votes cast.


In October 1883, while serving as street commissioner of Biloxi, Raymond Caillavet was lauded in The Pascagoula Democrat-Star for his expertise in opening the beach road from Porter Avenue to a point near the Biloxi City Cemetery to connect with the shoreline thoroughfare from Mississippi City.  Mr. Caillavet removed trees and stumps, but when completed, the road had the appearance of a “long avenue shaded on both sides”.  It was said of Commissioner Caillavet that, “The city fathers could not have appointed a more efficient man for commissioner that the present incumbent.”(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, October 5, 1883, p. 3)


Raymond Caillavet was elected as Secretary of the City of Biloxi in January 1885.  He defeated Thomas D. Bachino 147 votes to 72 votes.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, January 9, 1885, p. 2)


Mr. Caillavet lost to John Walker in the Biloxi mayoral election of 1888.(The Biloxi Herald, March   , 1888)



Raymond Caillavet built a large storage house for the Biloxi Artesian Ice Manufacturing Company.(The Biloxi Herald, February 18, 1888, p. 8)


On February 26, 1869, Raymond Caillavet bought a lot fronting on North Street at Biloxi from his father.  It was described in the land deed records as having a front of eighty-five feet on North Street and being two-hundred feet deep.  It was bounded on the north by North Street, east by Mrs. Lefaure, south by lands of Cook, and west by a street or road (Cuevas Street?).  He paid $200 for the land.  Here Raymond Caillavet reared his family and made his livelihood as a carpenter.(


In June 1869, young Raymond Caillavet for $100 acquired another lot from his father.  It had a width of sixty-five feet and was one-hundred twenty five feet in depth.  The lot was bounded on the north by John Latour Caillavet, east by Charles T. Couave (Cuevas), south by a street, and west by an alley.(3)  Caillavet conveyed this property to Phillip Lestrade (1832-1912) on January 5, 1876, as partial repayment for a debt owed Lestrade in a partnership that they had once partcipated.(4)


Raymond Caillavet also had a career in public service in Harrison County and as a city official at Biloxi.  He served as Justice of the Peace District 1 (1873-1875), Corner and Ranger (1875-1877), Mayor of Biloxi (1877-1882), Corner and Ranger (1889-1891), and City Councilman (1894-1895).  In the January 1879 mayoral election, Caillavet defeated J.R. Harkness receiving 151 of the 200 votes cast.


Raymond and Celina J. Caillavet reared their family at New Orleans and Biloxi.  Their children were: Marie Blanche Caillavet (1865-1940), John Caillavet (b. circa 1867-pre 1870), Aristide Bertrand Caillavet (1868-1898), Emma Rose C. Murray (c. 1869-1955+), Alice C. Bellande (1872-1955), Edward Caillavet (1874-1923), Clarissa Rita Caillavet (1877-1885), William (1879-1940), Lillian C. Holley (1883-1967), Louise C. Morgan (1881-1965). 


Raymond Caillavet expired on February 16, 1898.  Mrs. Caillavet died on March 15, 1903.  Both are buried at the Old Biloxi Cemetery.


Marie Blanche Caillavet (1865-1940)-born December 12, 1865, at New Orleans.  She moved fromBiloxi to New Orleans circa 1915, where she resided at 830 Governor Nicholls in the Vieux Carre..  Blanche never married.  She kept house for her sister, Emma, before she married William P. Murray.  Miss Caillavet died April 19, 1940 at New Orleans.  Mrs. Calvin Strayham and Alice Bellande, her sister, were with her when she died.  Blanche Caillavet's remains were interred at the Biloxi Cemetery.


John Caillavet-born circa March 1867, at New Orleans.  Probably died before 1880.  This may be the same person as Aristide Caillavet.  No further information.


Aristide Bertrand Caillavet (1868-1898)-born February 10, 1868 at New Orleans.  Aristide Caillavet married Ellen Gannon on June 17, 1890 at Biloxi (BVM).  She was the daughter of Patrick Gannon and Anna Pennel.  Their children were:  Celina (b. 1890), Arthur Aristide (1893-1893), Mary Winnie Mon (1895-1977), Edward Aristide (1898-1963).  Aristide Caillavet died on January 19, 1898.  He was buried at the Biloxi Cemetery.


Emma Rose Caillavet Murray (1869-1955+)-born 1869, at Biloxi.  Emma Caillavet married William P. Murray on May 19, 1891 at New Orleans.  Their children were: Edgar Murray (b. 1891) and Robert Murray (1893-1955+).  Emma C. Murray's remains are buried at New Orleans.


Alice Louise Caillavet Bellande (1872-1955)-born October 7, 1872, at Biloxi.  She married Peter Bellande (1871-1933) on August 19, 1894 at BVM.  Peter Bellande made his livelihood as a bartender and a policeman.  They resided at 837 Lameuse Street.  Children:  Roy P. Bellande (1895-1964), Faye B. Davidson (1898-1974), Aristide C. Bellande (1901-1976), Elliott A. Bellande (1904-1977), Ruth B. Ragusin (1906-1993), Marcel J. Bellande (1909-1982), Alton L. Bellande (1912-1970).  Alice C. Bellande died on July 10, 1955.  Buried at Biloxi Cemetery.


Edward Caillavet (1874-1923)-born December 1874, at Biloxi.  Edward Caillavet relocated to New Orleans circa 1896.  He was familiarly known as "Nig" Caillavet.  Edward Caillavet died November 15, 1923, at Jackson, Louisiana, after a long illness.


Clarissa Rita Caillavet (1877-1885)-born April 22, 1877.  Died April 10, 1885.  No further information.


William Fernand Caillavet (1879-1940) born January 14, 1879, at Biloxi.  He married Eulalie Rita Louge (1887-1941) on March 19, 1910.  W.F. "Grits" Caillavet made his livelihood as a carpenter.  The family resided at 701 West Howard Avenue at the time of his demise on February 27, 1940.  Rita Louge Caillavet was the daughter of Michael J. Louge and Mary Fayard of Biloxi.  She was born on July 17, 1887 at Biloxi, and died there on June 21, 1941.  Their children were:  William Caillavet (1911-1912), Irma Lucille Caillavet (1912-1994), and an unnamed son (1914-1914).

Lucille Caillavet, their only surviving child never married, and lived on Thomas Street most of her life.  She was close to Arnice Sanders Wagner of Mobile, the daughter of her aunt, Mrs. T.J. (Eugenie) Louge Cox.  All members of this family are buried at the Old Biloxi Cemetery.


Louise Clemence Caillavet Morgan (1881-1965)-born February 3, 1881, at Biloxi.  As a young woman, she worked as a salesgirl in the Julius Cahn establishment.  Louise married Alvah Clark Morgan (1881-1979) who she met while he worked in Biloxi as the cashier at the L&N freight depot.  Their nuptial vows were taken on August 28, 1911, at New Orleans.  Al Morgan was born at Trilla near Matoon in south central Illinois.  After leaving Biloxi in 1911, the Morgans resided at Memphis, Forth Worth, and Wichita Falls, Texas before settling at Denver, Colorado in 1917.  Mr. Morgan worked for the Colorado Fuel & Iron Company until 1931.  Their only child, Trilla Morgan Reilly (1913-2004), was born at Fort Worth, Texas on April 25, 1913.  She was named for Trilla, Illinois, the birthplace of her father.  Louise C. Morgan died November 6, 1965, at Denver, Colorado.


Mary Liliana Caillavet Holley (1883-1967)-born July 19, 1883, at Biloxi.  She was known as Lillian.  Lillian Caillavet married Anson Holley (1882-1967) at Biloxi on January 29, 1907.  They resided at 139 Magnolia Street.  The Holley children were:  Anson Holley, Jr. (1908-1975), Lillian H. Maumus (1910-1981), Lionel Holley (1910-1993), Pat H. Daley (1913-1986), and Raymond Holley (1920-1940).  Anson Holley built Biloxi schooners for U.S. "Lel" Desporte and the C.B. Foster Packing Company. 



1.  Harrison County Land Deed Book 10, p. 614.

2.  ------------------------- Book 11, p. 522-523.

3.  ------------------------- Book 15, p. 24-25.

 Nap L. Cassibry, II, Early Settlers and Land Grants at Biloxi, Volume I, (Mississippi Coast History and Genealogical Society:  Biloxi, Mississippi-1986), p. 48.

 Nap  L. Cassibry II, Early Settlers and Land Grants at Biloxi,  Volume II, (Mississippi Coast History and Genealogical Society:  Biloxi, Mississppi-1986), p. 24, p. 50, and pp. 118-119.

 Nap  L. Cassibry II, The Ladner Odyssey, (Mississippi Historical and Genealogical Society:  Biloxi, Mississippi-1988), p

Gladys de Villier, The Opelousas Post, (Polyanthos, Inc: Cottonport, Louisiana-1972) p. 25.

Grady Howell, To Live and Die in Dixie, (Chickasaw Bayou Press:  Jackson, Mississippi-1991), pp. 30-3333 and p. 566.

Jerome Lepre, The Caillavet Family, (Mississippi Coast History and Genealogical Society:  Biloxi, Mississippi-1984), p. 30, p. 66, and p. 76.

Jerome Lepre, Catholic Church Records Diocese of Biloxi, Mississippi, (Diocese of Biloxi, Mississippi:  Biloxi, Mississippi-1991), pp. 45-48.

 Harrison County, Mississippi Register of Commissions, pp. 22, 26, 28, 37, and 51.

 Harrison County Chancery Court Cause No. P-2781B, "Estate of Irma Louise Caillavet", August 26, 1994.



The Biloxi Herald, "William Murray-Emma Caillavet", May 19, 1891, p. 4 see also July 18, 1891, p. 4.

The Biloxi Herald, "F.W. Elmer elected", January 10, 1891, p. 1.

The Biloxi Herald, "Uranie Cailavet", December 28, 1895, p. 8.

The Biloxi Herald, "Aristide B. Caillavet", January 22, 1898, p. 8,

The Biloxi Herald, "Captain Raymond Caillavet", February 19, 1898, p. 5.

The Biloxi Herald , "Zeline Caillavet", March 16, 1903, p. 6.

The Daily Herald"Holley-Caillavet", January 29, 1907.

The Daily Herald"Louge-Caillavet", March 21, 1910, p. 8, c. 2.

The Daily Herald"Moran (sic)-Caillavet", August 30, 1911, p. 8.

The Daily Herald"Edward Caillavet Dead", November 16, 1923, p. 3.

The Daily Herald"Blanche Caillavet dies", April 20, 1940, p. 7.

The Daily Herald"Mrs. Wm. Caillavet Dies", June 23, 1941.

The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, "Elections at Biloxi", January 10, 1879, p. 3.

The Sun Herald"Lionel J. Holley, Sr.", February 23, 1993, p. 2.


U.S. Census-Harrison County, Mississippi (1850, 1860, 1870,

1880, and 1900).


Personal Communication:

Hazel M. Bellande-September 1995.

Fern Davidson Dubaz O'Neal-September 1995.

Laura Thompson Creel-September 1995.

Trilla Morgan Reilly-September 1995.

Thelma G. Bellande-October 1995.




Frederick W. Elmer (1847-1926) was born at Biloxi on January 23, 1847.  He was the son of two European immigrants, Jacob Elmer (1812-1894) and Barbara Gettendorf (1823-1858).  Jacob Elmer was born at Canton Glarus in Switzerland, the same area of the Hosli and Abbley family origination.  Mr. Elmer came to Biloxi in 1836 and circa 1837, he married Barbara Gettendorf, a native of Winweiler,Rhein Kreis, Bavaria.  In 1850, Jacob Elmer was a merchant at Biloxi worth $15,000.  His children with Barbara Gettendorf were:  Helena Elmer Northrop (1838-1869+), Anna Elmer (b. 1839), Jacob Elmer (1843-1885), John P. Elmer (b. 1843), Henry M. Elmer (1844-1868), Frederick William Elmer (1847-1926), Augustus Elmer (b. 1848), Otho Elmer (1851-1926+), and Charles Elmer (1852-1926+).(1850 Harrison Co., Mississippi Federal Census   )

After the demise of his wife in 1858, Jacob Elmer married Louisa B. Wetzel (1844-1894) in January 1863.  She was the daughter of German immigrant, Jacob Wetzel (1802-1860+) and          ?      .  Her mother was dead before 1860.  Their children were: Coresta E. Bachino (1866-1900+), Effee Elmer Dulion (. 1866-193 ), Clarence Elmer (1868-1901), Percy L. Elmer (1873-1949), Edward Ross Elmer (1878-1934), and the twins, Albert (1881-1900+) and Arthur Elmer (b. 1881).  Jacob Wetzel's siblings raised by Jacob Elmer were: Julia Wetzel (b. 1853), and Catherine Wetzel (b. 1855).( Harrison Co.. Ms. MRB   , p. 


Elizabeth Carson Maycock

F.W. Elmer married Elizabeth Carson Maycock (1850-1905) in May 1871.(Guice, 1968?, p. 19).  She was the daughter of Captain James Maycock (1825-1892) and Mary Emily Carson (1827-1900), born atCape May, New Jersey.  Captain Maycock was a native of Hull, Yorkshire, England and arrived atBiloxi on an English vessel in 1839.(Harrison Co.. Ms. MRB   , p.  and The Biloxi Herald, March 19, 1892, p. 4)


Captain Maycock was a seafood pioneer at Biloxi.  In 1881, he and Lazaro Lopez (1850-1903), F. W. Elmer (1847-1926), W.K.M. Dukate (1853-1916), and William Gorenflo (1844-1932) with a capital stock of $8,000 organized the Lopez, Elmer and Company which became the Biloxi Canning Company.  This factory was situated on the Back Bay of Biloxi, at the head of Reynoir Street.


F.W. Elmer and his spouse were the parents of ten children.  Eight survived into the 20thCentury.  The known Elmer children are: Marie Ann Sichirich (1872-1946), Ida L. Elmer (1873-1891), Nina V. Scott (1877-1937+), Cora V. Enochs (1878-1962), F.W. Elmer II (1881-1948), James C. Elmer (1883-1920), Inez F. Ebersole (1885-1937+), Margueryte E. Cole (1887-1965), and Edward E. Elmer (1892-1900+).



 The Biloxi Daily Herald, Business and Professional Men, (The Biloxi Daily Herald: Biloxi, Mississippi-1902), p. .


The Biloxi Herald, "F.W. Elmer elected", January 10, 1891, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Biloxi Loses Noted Citizen”, December 24, 1926.




   [Mayor in 1885, 1886, 1893, 1894]


Jean Alphonse Bousquet (1845-1908)

[from T.H. Glenn, 1893, p. 55]

Jean Alphonse Bousquet (1845-1908) was born August 2, 1845, the son of Jean Baptiste Bousquet, and Marie Caillavet, the daughter of Louis Arbeau Caillavet and Marguerite Fayard.  He married in November 1867 to Marie Eugenie Sabourin (1852-1894?), a native of Canada and the daughter of Charles Sabourin and Jan Thurber.(Lepre, 1991, p. 38)



Jean A. Bousquet and Marie E. Bousquet were the parents of four children: Joseph Arthur Bousquet (1871-1880+) m. Florence Savage; Edgar Gabriel Bousquet (1873-1962) m. Ella Mullen (1875-1900+); Lelia Marie Bousquet (1875-1936) m. James V. Hagan (18  -1929); and Denella Bousquet (1878-1900+) m. S.L. Coward.



Edgar G. Bousquet married Ella Mullen (1875-1900+) at New Orleans on December 15, 1898. James E. Bousquet, first child, was born July 1900 at NOLA.


Lelia M. Bousquet

Lelia Marie Bousquet (1875-1936) married James V. Hagan (18-1929) of Biloxi on June 24, 1897 at New Orleans.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, June   1897, p. 8 and The Daily Herald, November 30, 1936, p. 5)


Danella Bousquet

Daniella Bousquet (1878-1921) was born at New Orleans. She married Sidney L. Cowand (1878-1930+) at Biloxi on December 9, 1905. He was born at Bay St. Louis, Mississippi. In 1920, the Cowands were domiciled at Ocean Springs, Mississippi where he owned a cabinet making shop. They lived on Porter Street with Ada Cowand (1907-1920+), their teenage daughter.(1900 Harrison Co., Circuit Court Ms. MRB 17, p. 275; Harrison Co., Mississippi Federal Census T623_808, p. 3B, ED 28; and 1920 Jackson Co., Mississippi Federal Census T625_879, p. 2B, ED 66)


Mrs. Cowand gave birth to another daughter on October 11, 1921 at Ocean Springs. She died on October 15, 1921 only four days after delivery. Her corporal remains were interred in the Biloxi Cemetery.(The Daily Herald, October 14, 1921, p. 6 and October 21, 1921, p. 2).


J.A. Bousquet expired at Biloxi on December 12, 1908.  Eugenie died at NOLA on June , 1898.  J.V. Hagan expired on 12-7-1929.


New Orleans


[The Daily Picayune, February 27, 1876, p. 3]



In December 1893, Mayor Bousquet acquired full interest in the Sun Bakery when he bought his partners vested interest in the company.  Bouquet planned to operate the business himself and retain the services of Fred Quint, who managed the bread making department of the bakery.(The Biloxi Herald, December 2, 1893, p. 8)


New Orleans

The Bousquet family left Biloxi for New Orleans circa 1895 and planned to return August 1, 1897.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, July 17, 1897, p. 8)


Jean Alphonse Bousquet-Mayor 1885-1886

Jean A. Bousquet served Biloxi as its Mayor from 1885-1886.  He defeated Emile Laudner 161 votes to 148 votes in the 1885 election.(The Daily Picayune, January 5, 1885)


Other elected Biloxi City officials for 1885-1886 were:

Secretary: Raymond Caillavet (1838-1898)

Treasurer: Edward Glennan (1854-1933)

Aldermen: E.L. James; R.M. Balius; Pedro Perez (1866-1927); and Phil McCabe.

Marshall: Cary Holleman



 T.H. Glenn, The Mexican Gulf Coast on Mobile Bay & Mississippi Sound Illustrated, (Delchamps: Mobile, Alabama-1893).

Jerome Lepre, Catholic Church Records Diocese of Biloxi, Mississippi, Volume I, (Catholic Diocese of Biloxi: Biloxi, Mississippi-1991)


The Biloxi Herald, “Local Happenings”, December 2, 1893.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Latest City News”,

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Latest City News”,

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Latest City News”,

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Latest City News”,

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Latest City News”,

The Daily Herald, “James V. Hagan dies”, December 7, 1929?

The Daily Herald, “Mrs. Hagan died in Biloxi today”, November 30, 1936.

The Daily Picayune, January 5, 1885.

The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, “Local News”, January 9, 1885, p. 3.




Mayor-Emile Laudner


M.J. Grady, E.L. James, E. Bakeler, and Joseph R. Davis.


The Biloxi herald, 'Town Council', January 21, 1888, p. 1.







[Mayor 1887]






 Mayor of Biloxi 1888-1889

The City election at Biloxi for Mayor and City Council was held on March  

John C. Waker, Mayor



S.C. Stirling




The Biloxi Daily Herald, Business and Professional Men, (The Biloxi Daily Herald: Biloxi, Mississippi-1902), p. 52.

Charles L. Dyer, Along The Gulf, (Women of the Trinity Episcopal Church:  Pass Christian-1971.  Originally published 1895).


The Biloxi Herald, "Announcement", March 3, 1888.

The Biloxi  Herald, "Official Municipal Vote" March 10, 1888.

The Biloxi Herald"  ", March , 1888.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Captain Walker fatally shoots himself and wife”, June 8, 1907.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Captain Walker’s will", June 15, 1907.




Mayor of Biloxi 1889-1890













Mayor of Biloxi 1891-1892

Frederick William Elmer was elected Mayor of Biloxi on January  6, 1891.  He defeated two opponents, Zachary Taylor Champlin and A.B. DeLamarre.  Of the votes cast, Mr. Elmer received 392, Champlain 102 and DeLamarre 74.  Mr. Elmer was lauded in the local journal with these words: "[F.W. Elmer is] a man of sound ideas, liberality of opinion, energy and progressive tendencies, and during the years he has previously served his constituency, both as a municipal officer and state legislator, has proven fidelity to Biloxi, his interest inher welfare and displayued an executive ability which fits him for the office to which he had been called."(The Biloxi Herald, January 10, 1891, p. 1)

1891 Biloxi City Council

F.W. Elmer, Mayor

Treasurer-Edward Glennan

Francis A. Caillavet, Marshall

John A. Bousquet, Secretary 

Alderman 1st Ward-Emile V. Laudner

Alderman 2nd Ward-Phil McCabe

Alderman 3rd Ward-Raymond Caillavet (1838-1898)

Alderman 4th Ward-James O. Donohoe



The Biloxi Daily Herald, Business and Professional Men, (The Biloxi Daily Herald: Biloxi, Mississippi-1902), p. .

The Biloxi Herald, "F.W. Elmer elected", January 10, 1891, p. 1.

The Biloxi Herald, “Proceedings of the Town Council”, January 4, 1892, p. 8.

The Daily Herald, “Biloxi Loses Noted Citizen”, December 24, 1926.




Mayor of Biloxi from 1893-1894.


In early January 1893, the new Biloxi city government took office.  In the Mayoral race, Jean A. Bousquet beat challenger Zachary T. Champlin (1847-1924) in a very close contest sixty-six to sixty-three votes.  Other elected officials were: W.K.M. Dukate (1852-1916), treasurer; Ward 1-T.H. Gleason; Ward 2-A.M. Dulion; Ward 3-Michael J. Louge (1847-1921); Ward 4-John C. Bradford.  Phil McCabe (1867-1935) was city clerk and W.P. Murray, city marshal.(The Biloxi Herald, January 7, 1893)



The Biloxi Herald, “Biloxi’s new municipal officers”, January 7, 1893.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Latest City News”, July 17, 1897.








Edward Glennan Mayor of Biloxi from 1895-1896.

Edward Glennan (1911-1933) was born at New Orleans on February 13, 1854, the son of James Glennan and Anne Daugherty, both Irish immigrants. In October 1884Edward Glennan married Mary E. Colbert (1858-1938), the daughter of Anthony Colbert and Bridget Kirby at Biloxi, Mississippi in the Nativity BVM Catholic Church.  Five children: Francis E. Glennan (1885-1914) m. Jennie Frees; Celestia Violet Glennan (1887); Ethel L. Glennan (1889-);  Hazel L. Glennan (1891-1891), Roy O. Glennan (1894-1982); and Althea S. Glennan (1898) m. George R. Anderson.(Lepre, 1991, p. 136)Biloxi merchant since 1880.  Resided on Howard Avenue. 

The election was held on January 1, 1895.  In the Mayoral contest, Edward Glennan and Thomas E. Gleason both garnered 103 votes.  The City Charter required that the tie be broken by drawing lots and Glennan won.  Other City officers elected were: T.P. Dulion, treasurer; J.R. Fowler, 1st Ward Alderman; J.B. Lemon, 2nd Ward Alderman; Raymond Caillavet, 3rd Ward Alderman; and John C. Bradford, 4th Ward Alderman.(The Biloxi Herald, January 5, 1895, p. 8)



The Biloxi Herald, “Biloxi’s City Election”, January 5, 1895.




1896 City Officers

Mayor Ed Glennan

Aldermen: 1st Ward: Joseph R. Fowler (1840-1914) and Isidore Heidenheim (1857-1918).  2nd Ward: J.B. Lemon and L. Lopez. 3rd Ward: Raymond Caillavet (1838-1898) and Nicholas Voivedich (1850-1937).  4th Ward: John C. Bradford (1855-1928) and William Gorenflo.  Alderman-at-Large-Daniel A. Nash (1858-1904).  Recorder-Thomas H. Gleason (1857-1935).  Marshal-Joseph C. DeLamarre (1855-1931).  Street Commissioner-Joseph R. Fowler. Assessor and Tax Collector-Richard J. Lowery (1867-1939).  City Clerk-Phil McCabe (1867-1935).(The Biloxi Herald, February 18, 1896, p. 1)




Bradford-O’Keefe Burial Book  No. 20A, “Edward Glennan”, (Bradford O’Keefe Funeral Home-Biloxi, Mississippi-1933)

The Biloxi Daily Herald, Business and Professional Men, (The Biloxi Daily Herald: Biloxi, Mississippi-1902). P. 51.

Jerome Lepre, Catholic Church Records Diocese of Biloxi, Mississippi, Volume I, (Catholic Diocese of Biloxi: Biloxi, Mississippi-1991)



The Biloxi Herald, “New Officers”, February 18, 1896.

The Daily Herald, “The new administration of the City of Biloxi”, January 4, 1911.

The Daily Herald, “Glennan dies at Biloxi home”, December 18, 1933.




Mayor of Biloxi 1897


City Officials

1st Ward-F.H. McCaleb and Isidore Heidenheim

2nd Ward-Joseph W. Swetman and Charles Redding

3rd Ward-Lazaro Lopez and John McCormick

4th Ward-John C. Bradford and Raymond Caillavet

Alderman-at-Large-Edward C. Glennan

O.G. Swetman, Clerk

J.H. Neville, City Attorney

T.H. Gleason, Police Justice and City Recorder

R.J. Lowery, assessor and tax collector

Charles Blake, Marshal

William T. Curry, Janitor


 (The Biloxi Herald, January 9, 1897, p. 1 and p. 8)






The Biloxi Herald, "The City Officials", January 9, 1897, p. 1 and p. 8.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “City Officials”, January 28, 1898.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “City Council”, September 9, 1899.




Mayor of Biloxi 1898


Mayor Pro Tem-Joseph W. Swetman


1st Ward-F.H. McCaleb and Isidore Heidenheim

2nd Ward-Joseph W. Swetman and Charles Redding

3rd Ward-Lazaro Lopez and John McCormick

4th Ward-John C. Bradford and William Gorenflo

Alderman-at-Large-Edward C. Glennan

City Attorney-James H. Neville

City Clerk and Auditor-O.G. Swetman

City Acessor and Tax Collector-Richard J. Lowery

City Registrar-W.L. Gilbert

City Physician-W.T. Bolton

Marshal and Market Clerk-Charles W. Blake

Street Commissioner-Raymond Caillavet

Fire Department-Dan Markey



The Biloxi Herald

The Biloxi Herald“City Directory”, January 1, 1898.

The Biloxi Daily Herald“”, .




Mayor of Biloxi from 1899


Mayor Pro Tem-Joseph W. Swetman


1st Ward-F.H. McCaleb and Isidore Heidenheim

2nd Ward-Joseph W. Swetman and Charles Redding

3rd Ward-Lazaro Lopez and J.C. Clower

4th Ward-John C. Bradford and William Gorenflo

Alderman-at-Large-Edward C. Glennan

City Attorney-James H. Neville

City Clerk and Auditor-O.G. Swetman

City Treasurer-T.P. Dulion

City Acessor and Tax Collector-Richard J. Lowery

City Registrar-W.L. Guice

City Physician-W.T. Bolton

Marshal and Market Clerk-Charles W. Blake

Street Commissioner-Raymond Caillavet

Fire Department-Dan Markey


The Biloxi Herald, "City Election", December 14, 1898.

The Biloxi Herald“”, .

The Biloxi Daily Herald“City Council”, January 5, 1899.

The Biloxi Daily Herald“Opposed to shell mountains", January 10, 1899.



Mayor of Biloxi from 1899-1900.

Dr. Daniel Arthur Nash (1858-1904) was born at Livingston, Sumter County, Alabama on December 10, 1858.  His parents were Preston G. Nash (1821-1880+), a Virginia born attorney and later Chancery Clerk of Sumter County, Alabama, and by birth and      , a native of North Carolina.

Marriage and family

In 1900, he married Elizabeth ‘Lizzie’ Carraway (1869-1935) of Jackson, Mississippi.  She was the daughter of John Chapman Carroway (1843-1901) and Arcola Carroway (1848-1933).  John C. Carroway (1873-1931), Mrs. Nash’s brother, was cashier at the Bank of Biloxi and later .  The couple had a child born circa 1901 that expired at birth. 


Painless Dentistry

Dr. D.A. Nash


Office in the Picard Building opposite the Opera House

Biloxi, Mississippi

Teeth pulled and extracted without pain.  My method is a simple discovery scientifically applied and perfectly harmless.

(The Biloxi Herald, July 22, 1893, p. 1)



Elected Alderman-at-Large and served in this capacity in 1895? And 1896.(The Biloxi Herald, February 18, 1896, p. 1)

In 1900, the Carroway family lived on Front Street at Biloxi.(1900 Harrison County, Mississippi Federal Census T623 808, p. 1A, ED 31)

Mayoral appointment

With the resignation of Mayor H.T. Howard, Dr. Daniel A. Nash, Alderman of Ward 3, was appointed Mayor of Biloxi by Governor Anselm J. McLauren (1848-1909).  After resigning his position as City alderman, Daniel A. Nash took the oath of office on September 5, 1899.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, 


Dr. Nash was heavily involved in the Biloxi Yacht Club and Southern Gulf Yachting Association.  He served as Commodore of the BYC and


Dr. Nash and William Via owned the swift racing, yacht Urania.  At the 1903 Annual Gulfport Yacht Club Regatta, they decided not to sail Urania to defend the GCYA cup held by the Biloxi Yacht Club.  The owners felt that their craft could win the upcoming Gulfport regatta, but were offended by criticism resulting from the Bay-Waveland race in which Mr. Via’s piloting of the Urania met with scrutiny.  William Nels Johnson (1864-1903+), the builder of Urania, had sailed her to six wins in seven matches against all comers.  The boat had new sails and the owners felt that she had no other rival on the Mississippi Coast except the Gladiola.  Dr. Nash commented that the Urania was for sale.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, July 29, 1903, p. 1) 


Nash home and Fire

In the spring of 1897, Dr. Nash let a contract to William P. Burke (1858-1924) to erect a six-room cottage in the Keller Addition Subdivision on the Biloxi front beach.  John C. Carraway, his brother-in-law, was also having his residence built nearby by John R. Harkness (1827-1903).(The Biloxi Herald, April 3, 1897, p. 1)


Dr. Nash’s beach front domicile west of the Biloxi Cemetery was destroyed in a large conflagration on February 10, 1902.  Faulty electric wiring was believed to be the origin of the fire.  Dr. Nash escaped from the burning structure with a minimal amount of clothing on his person.  The vacant Judge H.C. Turley home adjacent to the Nash place was saved by a volunteer bucket brigade.  Dr. Nash estimated his losses at $5000, which included many painting and silverware.  He carried $3000 in insurance with the Swan Agency.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, February 11, 1902, p. 1)


It is interesting to note that Judge H.C. Turley was appointed Postmaster at Natchez in April 1897 during the William McKinley (1843-1901) presidential administration.  Judge Turley was Republican National Committeeman for Mississippi from 1900 to February 1904.(The Biloxi Herald, April 3, 1897, p. 1 and The New York Times, February 28, 1904, p. 1)

In June 1902, Dr. Nash and family took up quarters at the Montross Hotel on the Biloxi waterfront.  They later relocated to a home on the corner of Howard Avenue and Couevas Street.  In late August 1903, he planned to hold a fire works celebration at his home for the children of Ward 2, if James K. Vardaman (1861-1930) was elected Governor of Mississippi.  Mr. Vardaman was elected and served one term as Governor.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, June 30, 1902, p. 8 and August 27, 1903, p. 6)


D.A. Nash

Doctor of Dental Surgery

Hours 8:30 a.m-6:00 p.m.

Office upstairs Bank of Biloxi building

(The Biloxi Daily Herald, October 21, 1903, p. 4)


Accidental death

Dr. Daniel A. Nash expired at his Biloxi residence in late March 1904.  He was accidentally shot to death with his own shot gun.  The funeral was held at his Couevas Street residence with the Reverend H.W. Van Hook of the Biloxi Methodist Church presiding.  Dr. Nash was eulogized by The Biloxi Daily:in his death the City of Biloxi has lost a useful and progressive citizen who had the future of the place he had adopted as his home close to his heart.”  His corporal remains were interred in the Biloxi Cemetery.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, March 26, 1904, p. 5 and The Progress, April 2, 1904, p. 4)


Elizabeth C. Nash and H.D. Lowd

In May 1908, Elizabeth ‘Lizzie’ Carraway Nash married Howard Dickson Lowd (1860-1910) at Biloxi.  Howard was her childhood sweetheart in Jackson, Mississippi.  Initially, he made his livelihood in the newspaper business as a printer’s apprentice and bookkeeper for The Clarion at Jackson.  In 1886, Howard D. Lowd commenced his own journal, The Daily Advertiser.  It failed after two years and he went to Washington D.C. to work for the Government Printing Office.  In 1907, H.D. Lowd returned to his native Jackson to become manager of The Daily News composing room.  He became telegraph editor before relocation to Birmingham, Alabama to work in a similar post with The Birmingham Ledger. Howard D. Lowd expired in the nation’s Capitol in January 1910.(The Daily Herald, January 12, 1910, p. 8)


Lizzie Carroway Nash Lowd and her mother eventually relocated to St. Louis, Missouri.  They were residence of the Washington Hotel in 1930 and of the Monterrey Hotel in August 1931, when John C. Carroway, her brother, expired at St. Louis on July 30, 1931.  His corporal remains were sent to Biloxi, Mississippi for internment in the family plot in the Biloxi Cemetery.(1930 St. Louis Co., Missouri Federal Census R1244, pp. 8A and 8B, ED 218 and The Daily Herald, August 6, 1931)



 The Biloxi Daily Herald, Business and Professional Men, (The Biloxi Daily Herald: Biloxi, Mississippi-1902), p. 53.



The Biloxi Herald, “A Fish Story”, July 1, 1893, p. 8.

The Biloxi Herald, “Advertisement”, July 22, 1893.

The Biloxi Herald, “Local Happenings”, December 28, 1894.

The Biloxi Herald, “Woodmen of the World”. August 31, 1895.

The Biloxi Herald, “New Officers”, February 18, 1896.

The Biloxi Herald, “        ”, April 3, 1897.

The Biloxi Herald,

 The Biloxi Daily Herald, “City Officials”, January 28, 1899.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Biloxi’ New Mayor”, September 1, 1899.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “City Council”, September 9, 1899.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “John C. Carroway dies”, April 21, 1901, p. 1.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Dr. Nash’s house burned to the ground last night”, February 11, 1902.

The Biloxi Herald, “City News”, June 29, 1902.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Senator McLaurin”, October 21, 1902.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Races Saturday”, August 19, 1902.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Bank of Biloxi”, May 2, 1903.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, Urania will not enter”, July 29, 1903.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Firework-If”, August 27, 1903.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Advertisement”, October 21, 1903.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Dr. Nash Killed”, March 26, 1904.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Funeral of Dr. Nash”, March 28, 1904.

The Clarion [Jackson, Mississippi], “Mortuary Notice”, April 27, 1887.

The Daily Herald, “Howard D. Lowd dies at Capital”, January 12, 1910.

The Daily Herald, “Weekly list of deed filed”, September 27, 1912.

The Daily Herald, “John Carraway (sic) buried”, August 6, 1931.

The Daily Herald, “Arcola Carroway”, September   , 1933.

The Daily Herald, “Lizzie C. Lowd”, June    , 1935.

The New York Times, “Southern Republican quits”, February 28, 1904.

The [Ocean Springs] Progress, “Personal News Interest”, April 2, 1904, p. 4




Mayor of Biloxi from 1901-1902.

Joseph William Swetman (1863-1937) was born at Handsboro, Mississippi on August 26, 1863 to Emery Swetman and Susan H. Long.  On January 7, 1900, he married Sophie Pauline Schumann (1883-1965) in Harrison County, Mississippi.  They were the parents of: Joseph W. Swetman II (1901-1937+); Evon Swetman (1902-1976) married Hazel Mattina (; Lloyd E. Swetman (1904-1992) married Louise E. Stewart; and Olga Swetman (1908) married Reginald H. Sewell (1906-1991).


Joseph W. Swetman was married twice before 1900 and had Mabel Beatrice Swetman (1891-1937), a daughter, who married Charles Dunbar Lancaster Hewes (1887-1917+) at NOLA in March 1917.



Began his long career as a railroader and became a passenger conductor.  Circa 1890, he established Swetman’s Drug Store, a pharmacy at Biloxi, which he enlarged substantially over the next forty years.




Dual Government



Charles L. Dyer, Along The Gulf, (Women of the Trinity Episcopal Church:  Pass Christian-1971.  Originally published 1895).

The Biloxi Daily Herald                                      ,

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “The Quo Warranto”, January 13, 1901.

The Daily Herald, “Jos. W. Swetman taken by Death”, May 31, 1937.




Mayor of Biloxi 1903



Mayor F.W. Elmer was notified by the Department of Commerce and Labor that Chandeleur,Heron, North and New Harbor Islands were made bird sanctuaries(The Daily Herald, November 17, 1914, p. 5)




The Daily Herald, “Ten years ago today”, November 17, 1914.




John C. Bradford

John Comstock Bradford (1855-1928) was born January 23, 1855 at Biloxi, Mississippi the son of John Bradford (1817-1898) and Burissa Jane Elder (1830-1917).  In 1853, John and Burissa Elder Bradford had relocated to Biloxi, Mississippi from Jackson County, Mississippi and remained here except for four years during the Civil War when the family relocated to Black Creek in Jackson County, Mississippi.  Their other known children were: Margaret Bradford Smith (1853-1928+) m. Daniel D. Smith; Sherwood Bradford (1857-1937); and Lyman Bradford (1863-1944) m. Pearl Roberts (1869-1928).


John Bradford began acquiring land at Biloxi, Mississippi as early as August 1847 when he bought a large tract on the Back Bay of Biloxi from Louis A. Caillavet (1790-1860) and spouse, Margaret Fayard Caillavet (1787-1863).  The parcel was described as having 180-feet on Back Bay and 20 arpents [3840 feet] deep.  Augustine Fayard was to the west; the lands of Adele Delauney to the south; and James W. Elder to the east.  The consideration was $200 for this approximate 16 acre lot.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Land Deed Bk. 3, p. 420) 


The northern portion of the large Bradford tract, i.e. that area of Biloxi north of Division Street; east of Reynoir Street; south of the Back Back of Biloxi; and west of Lameuse Street became the loci of the following late 19th and 20th Century developments:  Bradford Street, Elder Street, Back Bay Fire Company, Back Bay Community Center and Park, Gorenflo Public School, R.A. Fayard Seafood; Harrison County Health Center, Bayview Theatre-Bayview Lanes, a bowling alley, and Bay View Drugs.


John C. Bradford married Sarah Elizabeth Howard (1866-1904) in Harrison County, Mississippi on February 26, 1884.  Their children were: Burissa O. Bradford (1885-1964) m. Ernest Farley Hamilton [1885-1969]; John Howard Bradford (1886-1971) m. Bertha K. Vasbinder (1892-1920); James Sherwood Bradford (1888-1967) m. Frances Morgan (1892-1945); Mary V. Bradford (1894-1968) m. Orville Clyde Hadlock [1885-1954]; Edwin Russell Bradford (1896-1987) m. Rita Streetman  (1896-1982); Ernest Pelham Bradford (1897-1971) m. Estella Lottie Rose [1907-1995]; Thelma Bradford (1900-1930+); and Lyman Chandler Bradford (1902-1977) m. Beryl Morgan (1907-1988).


1893 Hurricane

The October 1893 Hurricane, sometimes called the Cheniere Caminada Hurricane, struck Biloxi with vengeance.  The Elder & Bradford operation like so many local piers, homes, sailing vessels and businesses, situated along the shoreline, suffered major damage.  A post-hurricane survey of the Elder & Bradford’s Back Bay sawmill estimated that losses and damages in the range of $4000.  The mill lost thousands of board feet of lumber and many logs, all washed out to sea by the hurricane’s high water.  Machinery utilized to process timber and lumber was also severely damaged.(The Biloxi Herald, October 6, 1893, p. 1)



John C. Bradford and family left Biloxi in 1888 for West Texas.  Settled near Del Rio in Val Verde County.  J. Howard Bradford employed with the Del Rio Telephone Company and is providing telephone service to the ranchers in this region. Sherwood Bradford married Frances Morgan on July 14, 1912 and made their home



John C. Bradford married Nina Emma Smith (1873-1928) in 1906.  She was the daughter of Ira B. Smith and Emeline Brasher and a native of Mt. Vernon, Alabama.  Mrs. Bradford had been struck by an auto in El Paso, Texas approximately six months before her demise.  In Biloxi, she had resided on the old Bradford property on Lameuse Street where the Gorenflo Elementary school had been erected in 19  .  Nina S. Bradford’s corporal remains were interred in the Biloxi City Cemetery.  She was survived by Fannie Emeline S. Wolcott (1867-1957), a sister who was domiciled at 531 Porter Avenue.(The Daily Herald, September 7, 1928, p. 2)


Mississippi A&M College

John C. Bradford was elected a member of the Board of Trustees of Mississippi A&M College.  In September 1908, he was called to Jackson, Mississippi for a board meeting.  On the agenda was the letting of a contract to build a new chapel and other improvements at the Starkville campus of approximately $100,000.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, September 29, 1908, p. 8)


Bradford homestead and the Gorenflo public school

The John Comstock Bradford (1855-1928) approximate 6.5 acres homestead was situated on the west side of Lameuse Street between Bradford and Elder Streets.  He acquired this parcel from his mother, Burrisa Jane Elder Bradford (1830-1917), for $200, in February 1898. (HARCO, Ms. Land Deed Bk. 37, p. 475)


In June 1923, J.C. Bradford conveyed his large Lameuse Street tract to the Trustees of the Biloxi City Schools, W.F. Gorenflo (1844-1932), W.J. Grant (1875-1932), Elbert L. Dukate, Susan Snell Tonsmeire (1879-1953), and Lille Bourdon Devitt (1884-1951), for $10,000.(HARCO, Ms. Land Deed Bk. 138, pp. 466-467)


Here in 1923-1924, a school building designed by architect Carl E. Matthes (1896-1972) was erected. Initially called the Back Bay Elementary School its area of educational responsibility included: all neighborhoods north of the L&N Railroad from Caillavet to Lee Street, including the east side of Caillavet and the west side of Lee Street; and those areas north of Division Street bounded by Caillavet and Seal Avenue.


The First School Year

When classes commenced in early September 1924, the faculty consisted of Miss Alma Ritch, principal and 1st grade; Miss Evelyn McShane, 1st grade; Miss Pricilla Ritch, 2nd and 3rd grades; Miss Lizette Mackie, 3rd and 4th grades; Miss Irma L. Harvey (1898-1965), 4th and 5th grades; Miss Veronica LaCaze, English, geography, spelling, 6th, 7th, and 8th grades; Miss Inez Rich, arithmetic, history, writing, 6th , 7th, and 8th grades.(The Daily Herald, September 9, 1924, p. 3)



John C. Bradford expired at Biloxi, Mississippi on December 31, 1928.  His funeral was held from 119 East Howard Avenue, the residence of his brother, Lyman Bradford.  Reverend Ben Ingram of the First Baptist Church led the funeral service at the Bradford home after which the Mason of Magnolia Lodge No. 120 took charge of the Bradford rites with a Knight Templar escort and the Elks Club in the funeral body.  Only two of his children, Thelma Bradford of Globe, Arizona and Russell Bradford of New Orleans, attended their father’s funeral.  His other four sons resided in West Texas and he had another daughter in Arizona and one in Texas.(The Daily Herald, January 4, 1929, p. 3 and January 5, 1929, p. 2)


Mayor of Biloxi from 1905-1906.


John Comstock Bradford (1855-1928) ran with no opposition for the 1905-1906 Mayoral term.  City elections were held in December 1904 with the following results: Mayor: J.C. Bradford.  Aldermen: 1st Ward: Edward S. Balthrope (1873-19 39) and Harry Edwards. 2nd Ward: Joseph W. Swetman (1863-1937) and Charles Redding (1857-1926). 3rd Ward: T.J. Rossell (1861-1923) and C.M. Buckingham? 4th Ward: Henry Latimer (1855-1941) and Judson C. Batton (1869-1943). Alderman-at-Large: Ed Glennan (1854-1933).  City Clerk: O.G. Swetman.  Treasurer: Percy L. Elmer (1873-1949).  Tax Collector: Henry J. Meaut.  Marshal: J.A. McKinley.  Street Commissioner: Henry J. Guiterrez (1869-1953).


Board Appointments: Police Justice: Judge Thomas H. Gleason (1857-1935); Fire Chief: Louis E. Gill (1851-1919)

Superintendent of Water Works: Joseph O. Laska (1863-1911); Water Rent Collector: Edward L. Suter (1866-1943)

Health Officer: Dr. Walter J. Greaves (1868-1910+); City Attorney: W.H. Maybin; Street Sweeper: 



The Biloxi Daily Herald, Business and Professional Men, (The Biloxi Daily Herald: Biloxi, Mississippi-1902), p. 53.


The Biloxi Daily Herald, “The City Election”, December 14, 1904.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “The New Board”, January 14, 1905.

The Daily Herald, "John C. Bradford died last night", January 1, 1929.



Mayor of Biloxi from 1907-1908

Edward Glennan’s only opposition was George W. Grayson.  In the first primary held in early November 1906, he garnered 245 votes to 159 for Mr. Grayson.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, October 20, 1906, p. 4 and November 7, 1906, p. 1)


Aldermen: 1st Ward-Jacob D. 'Jack' Covacevich; 2nd Ward- Edward H. Benedict (1868-1920); 3rd Ward    ; 4th Ward Jules A.A. Rousseau (1843-1913), Jacob D. ‘Jack’ Covacevich; Joseph Ott;

Police Chief: Louis Staehling



The Biloxi Daily Herald, "Elmer's Sweep", November 14, 1906.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Municipal Candidates”October 20, 1906.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Biloxi’s new administration”,January 7, 1907.



Mayor of Biloxi from 1909-1910.


Thomas Jefferson Rosell (1861-1923) was born on April 28, 1861, at Monroe County, Missouri.  Married Kizzie Catron.

Expired at Biloxi on November 19, 1923.


Aldermen: Laz Lopez, John Reynoir, Thomas H. Gleason; Meunier; Judson C. Batton; Edward H. Benedict; Frank B. Castanera; and John J. Kennedy (1875-1949).

City Clerk: William Gaston Henderson

Tax Collector: Henry J. Meaut

Police Chief: Louis Staehling

City Attorney: John J. Curtis

T.J. Rossell Manufacturing


1903-new residence

Nearly complete was the T.J. Rosell “pretty” cottage on Howard Avenue. (The Biloxi Daily Herald, April 27, 1903)


1905 building boom

The year 1905 at Biloxi was one of rebuilding and growth.  Mr. Rosell’s company was a major player having erected since May 1905, the following: four residences for W.K.M. Dukate; a residential buildings for Daniel J. Gay and Charles Elarbee; a cottage for W.F. Swan; a cottage for Dr. Hiram M. Folkes; a residence for Mary Hunt; a $3000 residence for J.E. Swetman; a residence for E.L. Doyle; a $3500 residence for W.A. White; and a residence for T.J. Rosell.  By late November 1905, the T.J. Rossell Manufacturing Company was progressing with the following developments at Biloxi: three buildings for W.A. White; one building for W.K.M. Dukate; a building for Dulion & Rosell and Tony Benachi.  In the planning stage were five cottages for William Watson on the Parson Property in the Avondale section.  In addition, Rosell’s crews were busy at the Rigolets erecting a Catholic Church, which cost $1500, for the workers of the Lopez & Dukate cannery.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 20, 1905, p. 1)

1908 election

Held on July 7, 1908.  T.J. Rosell defeated J.W. Swetman, former Mayor, in an extremely close race.


1909-Commission form of government



The Biloxi Daily Herald, Business and Professional Men, (The Biloxi Daily Herald: Biloxi, Mississippi-1902), p. 55.

Charles L. Dyer, Along The Gulf, (Women of the Trinity Episcopal Church:  Pass Christian-1971.  Originally published 1895).

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “”, , p. .

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “City News”, April 27, 1903.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Biloxi’s building boom”, November 20, 1905, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Recount asked for vote on Mayor”, July 8, 1908, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “To vote on commission form of government”, June 4, 1909, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “John J. Curtis is Biloxi's City Attorney”, January 19, 1910, p. 1.



Mayor of Biloxi 1911






Edward Glennan ran unopposed for Biloxi Mayor in the 1910 election.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, August 9, 1910, p. 4)


1st Ward: Edward Barq (1871-1943)

2nd Ward: Edward H. Benedict (1868-1920)

3rd Ward: John J. Kennedy (1875-1949)

4th Ward: Joseph Venus (b. 1884)

Alderman-at-Large: Isidore Heidenheim (1857-1918)


City Clerk: William Gaston Henderson, $75 per month.

Tax Collector: Henry J. Meaut (1842-1934), $75 per month.

Marshal: Louis Staehling (1865-1938), $85 per month.

Policemen: Peter Bellande (1871-1933); Nat Bolton; and R.M. Randolph.  Each $70 per month.

Police Justice: James C. Elmer (1888-1920)

City Attorney: Louis Goldman, $50 per month.

Health Officer: Dr. George F. Carroll (1885-1920+), $40 per month in summer and $50 per month in winter.

Street Commissioner: John L. Swanzy (1881-19   )

Waterworks Superintendent-Eugene L. Castanera (1868-1917), $75 per month.

Janitor and street sweeper-Martin Cavanaugh

Pound keeper: Delmas Seymour, $40 per month.



The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Candidates; Announcements”, August 9, 1910.

The Daily Herald, “Facts about retiring Biloxi Council”, January 3, 1911, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Last meeting of old Council”, January 3, 1911, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “The new administration of the City of Biloxi”, January 4, 1911.

The Daily Herald, “Lively meeting Biloxi Council”, January 4, 1911, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Fix salaries of City Officers”, January 5, 1911, p. 1.



Mayor of Biloxi 1912







Mayor of Biloxi 1913

   The term of Mayor Glennan

Naval Reserve Park

Under the aegis of Edward Everette Moore (1879-1947), Alderman, a cemetery comprising twenty acres was laid out in the Naval Reserve Park in early June.  He was assisted by Aldermen John E. Lewis and John Eistetter, as well as W.F. Swan.  By late August 1913, the City Council has accepted the $825 bid of H.E. Latimer & Son to harvest and clear the standing timber on the cemetery lot.  At this time, Alderman Moore presented the City Council a plat for the new cemetery prepared by Fred Voak.  Approximately 1500 gravesites, several small parks, and pine tree preservation areas were depicted on the cemetery plat.(The Daily Herald, June 6, 1913, p. 8  and August 27, 1913, p. 8)

J.R. Meunier resigns

John R. Meunier resigned from his Alderman's post to accepted the postion of US Postmaster at Biloxi in early August 1913.  He was replaced by Benedict.(The Daily Herald, August 6, 1913, p. 1)



Isadore Heidenheim (1857-1918); Jacob Tremmel (1876-1941),

3rd Ward; Edward Everette Moore (1879-1947); John Eistetter; Hugh McCallum; John E. Lewis; John Meunier; Lee Elder; and Pascal Meaut.

Street Commissioner: John L. Swanzy (1881-19   )

City Clerk: J.V. Hagan, $75 per month.

Tax Collector: Henry J. Meaut (1842-1934), $75 per month.

Police Chief: Louis Staehling (1865-1938), $85 per month.

Policemen: Peter Bellande (1871-1933); Nat Bolton; and R.M. Randolph.  Each $70 per month.

Police Justice: Z.T. Champlin

City Attorney: Louis Goldman, $50 per month.

Health Officer: T.O. Hunter, $40 per month in summer and $50 per month in winter.

Waterworks Superintendent-Eugene L. Castanera (1868-1917), $75 permonth.

Janitor and street sweeper-Martin Cavanaugh

Sanitary inspector-Julius Sablich

Pound keeper: C.C. Kirk, $40 per month.



The Daily Herald, “Biloxi new City Council meets; officers named and pay is fixed”, January 8, 1913, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Will lay out cemetery”, June 6, 1913, p. 8.

The Daily Herald, “Meunier resigns; Benedict seated on City Council”, August 6, 1913, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Plat prepared for Cemetery”, August 27, 1913, p. 8.



Mayor of Biloxi 1914


Naval Reserve Park

In the spring of 1914, H.E. Latimer and his work crew of eight men and mule teams began to cut a road into the Naval Reserve Park from Pass Christian Road.  Called Glennan Avenue, the new road went north from Pass Christian Road for 1/4 mile and turned west for 1/4 mile to the site of the new cemetery.  There were still virgin pine and gum trees in this area of Biloxi.

Glennan Avenue





1st Ward: Edward Barq (1871-1943) and C.J. Keller

2nd Ward: John Eistetter and Theodore Desporte

3rd Ward: Everette E. Moore (1879-1947) and Jacob Tremmel

4th Ward: Charles B. Foster and J.C. Batton

Alderman-at-Large: John E. Lewis

Street Commissioner-John Swanzy

Water Works Superintendent-

City Clerk: J.V. Hagan, $75 per month.

Tax Collector: Henry J. Meaut (1842-1934), $75 per month.

Police Chief: Louis Staehling (1865-1938), $85 per month.

Policemen: Peter Bellande (1871-1933); Nat Bolton; and R.M. Randolph.  Each $70 per month.

Police Justice: Z.T. Champlin

City Attorney: 

Health Officer: 

Janitor and street sweeper-


Pound keeper: 




Street Commissioner: John L. Swanzy (1881-19   )

City Clerk: Tax Collector: Henry J. Meaut (1842-1934), $75 per month.

Police Chief: Louis Staehling (1865-1938), $85 per month.

Policemen: Peter Bellande (1871-1933); Nat Bolton; and R.M. Randolph.  Each $70 per month.

Police Justice:

City Attorney: Louis Goldman, $50 per month.

Health Officer: T.O. Hunter, $40 per month in summer and $50 per month in winter.

Waterworks Superintendent-Eugene L. Castanera (1868-1917), $75 permonth.

Janitor and street sweeper-Martin Cavanaugh

Pound keeper: C.C. Kirk, $40 per month.




The Daily Herald, “E.E. Moore seeks reelection”, May 14, 1914, p. 2.

The Daily Herald, “Glennan Avenue now gives excess to the cemetery”, June 2, 1914, p..

The Daily Herald, “Staehling re-elected Police Chief”, July 1, 1914, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Walter Hunt is elected in Second Ward”, December 9, 1914.







Mayor of Biloxi 1915

Mayor Edward Glennan (1854-1933) started his final year as Mayor of Biloxi with turmoil in the Police Department.  In January 1918, when it was time to reappoint patrolmen, Walter H. Hunt (1887-1961), 1st Ward Alderman, opposed that Frank J. ‘Zudie’ Hightower (1890-1976), Peter Bellande (1871-1933), and John W. Mabry (1873-1940) continue with the force.  The Board of Aldermen appointed Joseph Mattina (1889-1969), a barber; Willie Ryan (1876-1958), Biloxi Yacht Club keeper; and Martin Green Jr. (1875-1951), a boat dealer, to replace the three men.  None of the City Council’s new policemen had any law enforcement experience and they had to be trained by Chief R.M. Randolph.  Chief Randolph further stated that he was greatly surprised and was unwilling to part with Officer Bellande.  He declares that Officer Peter Bellande has always proven himself a very efficient Police Officer.  Officer Bellande also has a large number of friends in the city administration as well as among citizens who are nor connected with the city.(The Daily Herald, January 3, 1918, p.  1)



1st Ward: Edward Barq (1871-1943) and C.J. Keller

2nd Ward: John Eistetter and Walter Hunt

3rd Ward: Everette E. Moore (1879-1947) and Jacob Tremmel

4th Ward: Charles B. Foster and J.C. Batton

Alderman-at-Large: John E. Lewis

Street Commissioner-John Swanzy

Water Works Superintendent-

City Clerk: J.V. Hagan, $75 per month.

Tax Collector: Henry J. Meaut (1842-1934), $75 per month.

Police Chief: Louis Staehling (1865-1938), $85 per month.

Policemen: Peter Bellande (1871-1933); Nat Bolton; and R.M. Randolph.  Each $70 per month.

Police Justice: Z.T. Champlin

City Attorney: Louis Goldman, $50 per month.

Health Officer: Dr. W.T. Bolton

Janitor and street sweeper-

Pound keeper: 



The Daily Herald, “E.E. Moore seeks reelection”, May 14, 1914, p. 2.

The Daily Herald, “W.T. Bolton is chosen Health Officer by caucus”, January 4, 1915, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Glennan certain of victory, say Biloxi citizens”, June 27, 1916, p. 1.




Mayor of Biloxi from 1919-1933

John Joseph Kennedy (1875-1949) was born at New Orleans on June 12, 1875, the son of Patrick Kennedy and Margaret M’Kenna Kennedy.  J.J. Kennedy relocated to Biloxi from the Crescent City in 1897.


Patrick Kennedy (1845-1913) was born at Gaulestown, County Kilkenny, in southern Ireland.  In 1866, he immigrated to America settling at New Orleans.  Here he married Margaret M’Kenna (1845-1905), also an 1860s Irish immigrant.  The Kennedys had eleven children of which five survived into the 20thCentury:  Katherine M’Kenna Coyle (1864-1952); William P. Kennedy (1873-1951) married Fantie Wright (1876-1969); John J. Kennedy (1875-1949) married Minnie Gilbert; Kennedy (1876-1900); and Mrs. W.W. Baltar, Mrs. K. Coyle.(The Daily Herald,        )


Sons who were born at New Orleans and became outstanding business men at Biloxi.  John J. Kenndey in restaurant and hotel business, as well as politics.  Kennedy Hotel on Reynoir.  W.P. Kennedy engaged in retail drugs and oyster business. 


Patrick Kennedy was in the hotel business at Biloxi.(BDH-pp. 57-58 and p. 64)  On November 12, 1892, The Biloxi Herald announced that P. Kennedy & Co. is the name of the new firm in Biloxi which will engage in the shipment of raw oysters.("local happenings", p. 1, c. 1).  Also selling beer in Gulfport.(Biloxi Daily Herald, March 11, 1903, p. 6)


Education and interests

John J. Kennedy was educated in New Orleans at the Jesuit College, McDonough School No. 13, and Soule College.  BYC, Biloxi Golf Club, Rotary Club, Chamber of Commerce.(The Biloxi News, March 21, 1926, p. 1)



In 1898, J.J. Kennedy married Minnie Gilbert (1876-1900).  One daughter, Sarah Kennedy (1899-1990) who married Gustave Philip Bentz (1890-1977) of New Orleans.  Gustave Philip Bentz (1890-1977), age 86 years, Santa Maria del Mar Apartments, Biloxi, died at 8:20 a.m. Sunday, January 16, 1977 at Howard Memorial Hospital. He had been a patient here for four weeks.  Gustave was born September 18, 1890 in New Orleans the youngest of the ten children of Henry Bentz (1847-1915) and Margaret Poppe (1849-1932). He was a retired rice buyer and had lived at Biloxi for three years. Mr. Bentz was a member of Nativity BVM Catholic Church.  Gustave Bentz married Sarah Kennedy (1899-1990), the daughter of John Joseph Kennedy (1875-1949) and Minnie Gilbert (1876-1900). J. J. Kennedy was Mayor of Biloxi from 1919 until 1933. Mr. Kennedy, also a native of New Orleans, became an outstanding business men at Biloxi with interest in the hotel and seafood industry. Mr. Bentz was survived by his wife and a sister, Lea B. Laub (1888-1987), of Roanoke, Virginia.  Bradford-O'Keee Funeral Home of Biloxi directed the Bentz funeral with services at Nativity BVM Catholic Church followed by internment on Biloxi Cemetery.(The Daily Herald, January 17, 1977, p. A-2)


Kennedy Hotel

In 1926, Mayor Kennedy lived in the Kennedy Hotel with his daughter Sarah and Kate Coyle, his sister.(The Biloxi News, March 21, 1926, p. 1)



Opposite L. & N. Depot

Member Mississippi Hotel Association


Near Business Center and Beach Front

Hot and Cold Running Water in Every Room

Reasonable Rates

John J. Kennedy

Proprietor  (The Biloxi News, March 28, 1926, p. 19)



1918 Election

Elected in 1918 with W.H. Hunt and M.L. Michel as City Commissioners..


Commission Government-1919

When John J. Kennedy took office as Mayor of Biloxi on January 6, 1919, he became the first mayor to govern the city under a commission form of government.  The citizens of Biloxi in a special election held in late 1917, voted in a landslide decision to replace their Mayor-Alderman method of representation for the Commission system.  In addition, the only pave streets in Biloxi at this time were: Reynoir to Howard Avenue; Howard Avenue from Fayard to Nixon Street; and one block of Lameuse Street. (The Daily Herald, January 4, 1918, p. 1 and The Biloxi News, March 21, 1926, p. 1) 


1919 City Government

Mayor-J.J. Kennedy;  Commissioner-W.H. Hunt; Commissioner-M.L. Michel; City Attorney-Louis Goldman; Pound Keeper-Baptiste Moran (1860-1927)


1921 City Government

Mayor J.J. Kennedy; Commissioner W.H. Hunt; Commissioner M.L. Michel; City Attorney: ?; Tax Collector- H.J. Meaut; Police Chief-George Bills; Health Officer-Dr. G. Frank Carroll; Commissioner's Secretary-Miss Josephine Marie; Waterworks Superintendent-Thomas Espisito and assistant, B. Villa; Street Foreman-William Cavanaugh; City Janitor-James Hunt; Pound Keeper: Baptiste Moran (1860-1927).(The Daily Herald, January 15, 1921, p. 1)


Gulf Coast Canners Association

Mayor Kennedy was elected executive secretary of the Gulf Coast Canners Association in early November 1921.  The seven member executive council consisting of: E.L. Dukate, Charles B. Foster; and Hart Chinn of Biloxi; J.B. Humphries of NOLA; J. McDermott of Mobile; R.R. Rice of Apalachicola, Florida; and H. Taylor of Brunswick, Georgia.  There was some concern that John J. Kennedy might tender his resignation as Biloxi’s Mayor.(The Daily Herald, November 8, 1921, p. 1)


1922 Elections

Mayor Kennedy ran in the July 1922 Democratic Primary against three challengers: Edward Glennan; George W. Grayson; and Dr. Anthony Ferrer.  He won handily garnering 771 votes.  Grayson ran second with 376 votes followed by Glennan with 367 votes and Dr. Ferrer with only 6 votes.  Commissioner W.H. Hunt was defeated and replaced by M.L. Michel while John Swanzy was relected.  Other candidates for Commissioner were Ed Ott with 503 votes and David J. Venus with 195 votes.  This was the first election at Biloxi in which were allowed to vote.  The newly elected municipal officers took office on January 1, 1923 to commence their four years terms in office.(The Daily Herald, July 7, 1922, p. 1)


Baton Rouge-1926

In late May 1926, Mayor J.J. Kennedy was in Baton Rouge, Louisiana to lobby against several bills in the Louisiana legislature that were serious impediments to the immediate future of the seafood industry at Biloxi.  Sponsored by Senator Jules Fisher of Jefferson Parish and House Representative Allen J. Ellender (1890-1972) of Terrebonne Parish, this legislation sought to prevent person, firm, association or corporation that were not domiciled or residents of Louisiana from catching, taking, canning, packing, shucking, dealing in or transporting any oysters or shrimp harvested in the State waters of Louisiana.  Mayor Kennedy was certain that the New Orleans’ delegation to the Louisiana legislature would oppose these proposals.(The Jackson County Times, May 29, 1926, p. 3)


Runs unopposed

Mayor Kennedy faced no Democratic opposition in the Democratic primary held at Biloxi on July 8, 1926.


Police Department-1928

By early February 1928, the new police station on the first floor of Biloxi’s City Hall was nearing completion.  Chief George Bills (1867-1945) had just hired Felix Mattina (1886-1946) and Frank Hecht (1901-1981) to the work with the night force to fill the void in his ranks created by the death of Officer Jake Stanovich (1891-1927).  Mr. Mattina had prior law enforcement experience and had been a deputy sheriff.  Frank Hecht had no police experience as he had worked for Standard Oil and the City Bus Company.  With the new hires, the Biloxi night force consisted of the following men: Charles Lowd; Omer Graves (1886-1933); Evon Swetman; Richard Grady (1891-1958); and Lawrence Stockton (1893-1956).  Chief Bills and Alonzo Gabrich (1894-1948), City Detective, comprised the day force.(The Daily Herald, February 8, 1928, p. 2)


Old Spanish Trail dedication-1929

Governor Bilbo appointed Mayor Kennedy as Mississippi's official represented to the Boulder dedication ceremony at St. Augustine, Florida.  This historic event marked the completion of the "Old Spanish Trail" from San Diego to the east Florida Coast.(The Daily Herald, March 18, 1929, p. 1)



Resignation-July 1933

On July 1, 1933, Mayor John Kennedy resigned his Mayoral post to accept the post of Comptroller of Customs, New Orleans, Louisiana for the Gulf District, which included Mississippi, Alabama, Arizona, Louisiana, New Mexico, and Texas.  His recommendation for this Federal position had come from U.S. Senator Byron Patton ‘Pat” Harrison (1881-1941) of Gulfport, Mississippi and an appointment from President Franklin Delano Roosevelt (1882-1945).  Kennedy's presidential appointment was approved by the US Senate on June 13, 1933.(The Daily Herald, June 13, 1933, p. 1, June 14, 1933, p. 1)

It was decided that there would be no Mayor pro-tem or appointee named to replace John J. Kennedy.  City Commissioners M.L. Michel and John A. Swanzy would manage the business of Biloxi until a new Mayor was elected.  Some of the potential candidates to replace Mayor Kennedy were: John W. Apperson; Anthony V. Ragusin; John W. O'Keefe; William Baltar; Dr. A. Ferrer; William P. Kennedy; Jacinto Baltar;  and Arnaud Lopez.(The Daily Herald, June 14, 1933, p. 1, June 15, 1933, p. 1)


Kennedy Hotel






Exalted Ruler

In March 1940, John J. Kennedy was elected exalted ruler of the Biloxi Elks Lodge replacing Denny Wambsgan.  J.J. Kennedy had been exalted ruler in the past and was holding the office of trustee during the hotly contested contest for the Elk’s leadership of the position in 1940.  Mr. Kennedy was comptroller of Customs for New Orleans district.  Other officers elected were: Clyde Campbell (1896-1954), esteemed leading knight; Chester H. Rose, esteemed lecturing knight; C.M. Drey, secretary; Eugene Lacaze (1869-1949), toiler; John E. Breaux, trustee; Joseph Lawrence, treasurer; W.F. Hubbell, Alternate to grand lodge.(The Daily Herald, March 21, 1940, p. 8)


Chinn’s election




The Biloxi Daily Herald, Business and Professional Men, (The Biloxi Daily Herald: Biloxi, Mississippi-1902).

The Daily Herald 50th Golden Jubilee Number Biographical and Historical 1884-1934, (The Daily Herald: Gulfport-Biloxi, Mississippi-1934).

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “City News”, January

The Daily Herald

The Daily Herald, “John J. Kennedy elected to important office by canners”, November 8, 1912.

The Daily Herald, Commission form of government wins in Biloxi election”, January 4, 1918.

The Daily Herald, “Biloxi Council in annual meet”, January 15, 1921.

The Daily Herald, “Biloxi's Municipal election causes largest vote in history”, July 7, 1922.

The Daily Herald, “Builders of Biloxi”, March 21, 1926.

The Daily Herald, “The Kennedy [advertisement], March 21, 1926.

The Biloxi Herald, “The Kennedy [advertisement], March 28, 1926.

The Biloxi Herald, “Hard fight ahead on Louisiana sea food legislation”, June 6, 1926.

The Biloxi Herald, “Cannery crisis safely averted”, June 6, 1926.

The Daily Herald, “Kennedy’s re-election assured”, June 13, 1926.

The Daily Herald, “Police chances”, February 8, 1928.

The Daily Herald, “Bilbo chooses Biloxi mayor”, March 18, 1929.

The Daily Herald, “Kennedy Brothers attend class reunion”, March 30, 1930.

The Daily Herald, “President nominates Mayor Kennedy to be Comptroller of Customs”, June 13, 1933.

The Daily Herald, “Many to seek Mayor's post”, June 14, 1933.

The Daily Herald, “Senate approves nomination of Mayor Kennedy ”, June 14, 1933.

The Daily Herald, “No Mayor to be appointed”, June 15, 1933.

The Daily Herald, “Biloxians to elect Mayor on Aug. 25”, July 3, 1933, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Biloxians to elect Mayor on Aug. 25”, July 3, 1933, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Kennedy’s friends give him send-off ”, July 5, 1933, p. 2.

The Daily Herald, “Ferrer makes announcement”, July 6, 1933, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Staehling is out of race”, July 31, 1933, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “City election will be August 18, 1933”, August 18, 1933, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Gabrich resigns as Police Chief”, August 18, 1933, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Biloxians to elect Mayor on Aug. 25”, July 3, 1933, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Kennedy is new exalted ruler”, , 1940, p. 8.

The Daily Herald, “John J. Kennedy, ex-Biloxi Mayor dies at residence”, September 13, 1949.

The Daily Herald, “W.P. Kennedy Sr. is buried Sunday with Catholic Services”, December 24, 1951. 

The Jackson County Times, “Committee to visit Gulf Coast towns”, January 30, 1926, p. 4.

The Jackson County Times, “Mayor Kennedy fights for Coast Packers”, May 29, 1926.

The Times-Picayune, 'Women vote for first time', July 6, 1922.



Mayor of Biloxi from 1933-1934


Richard Hart Chinn (1888-1972), called Hart, was born on April 9, 1888 at Vandalia, Audrain County, Missouri, the son of James Buchanan ‘Buck’. Chinn (1857-1912) and Martha Ella Hart (1857-1938).  Buck Chinn was born in Salem, Virginia the son of Robert Chinn (1822-1880+) and Frances A. Chinn (1826-1880+).  By 1880, the Robert Chinn family had relocated to Ralls County in northeast Missouri where they were farmers.  Buck Chinn was married circa 1880 and had a son, Roy Chinn (1881).  His wife died and he married Martha E. Hart, a native of Winchester; Kentucky.  In addition to Hart Chinn, Buck and Martha H. Chinn had Mary F. Chinn (1891-19  ); and Thomas Gill Chinn (1893-1953) who were born at Biloxi, Mississippi.


Biloxi Milling Company

In 1890, Buck Chinn came to Biloxi to start the Biloxi Milling Company with fellow Missourians, E.G. Burklin, R.D. Chinn and Mr. Brewton.  In April 1893, the Biloxi Milling Company, commenced operations making flour and meal.(The Biloxi Herald, January 7, 1893, p. 8 and April 22, 1893, p. 1)


Hart Chinn and Leo E. Ohr

R. Hart Chinn (1888-1972), who would become Mayor of Biloxi in the 1930s, and Leo E. Ohr (1890-1970), Biloxi’s master mechanic, were caught speeding on Ohr’s motorcycle and charged with a violating the bicycle law.  They appeared at the City court and were discharged by the judge because the City had no ordinances applicable to motorcycles.(The Daily Herald, June 12, 1911, p. 8)  


Chinn Motor Car Company-Chinn Auto Company Inc.

The Chinn Motor Car Company was organized at Biloxi in September 1913.  Initially Hart Chinn was the manager and often went to New Orleans to buy automobiles for the business.  In September 1915, the Chinn Motor Car Company was incorporated as the Chinn Auto Company Inc. with Martha E. Chinn, Mary F. Chinn, and Thomas Gill Chinn as incorporators.  The company was in business to buy, sell, and repair automobiles, as well as motorcycles and bicycles.  The Chinn enterprise, situated on Reynoir Street between Howard Avenue and the L&N Depot, was considered as one of the well established car dealerships on the Mississippi Gulf Coast and had shown an increase in sales since its commencement.(The Daily Herald, September 29, 1913, p. 8, January 21, 1914, p. 2 and September 9, 1915, p. 2 and Harrison Co., Mississippi Chancery Court Charter Bk. 15. p. 319.


The Chinn Auto Company sold the Saxon, Hudson, Hupmobile, and Overland brand of motorcars.  When the Biloxi Airdome, an outdoor movie theatre, burned in early May 1914, the Chinn Motor Company was damaged by water to its fixtures and tools from the nearby conflagration.(The Daily Herald, May 5, 1914, p. 1)


Mississippi A&M     

Lt. Hart Chinn married Mrs. Vera L. Dukate Bond (1886-1977) on November 11, 1918 at Camp Sherman, Ohio.  She had two daughters with Mr. Bond: Vera Leola Bond (1909-1989) m. Leslie Baltar Grant (1908-1986) and Willamene L. Bond (b. 1912).(The Daily Herald, November 14, 1918)


Foster-Fountain Packing Company

Manager in 1922


1928 School litigation


1933 Election

 R. Hart Chinn was elected Mayor of Biloxi at the August 25, 1933 general election.  In the Democratic primary held earlier, Mayor Chinn ran against Walter H. Hunt and Dr. G.F. Carroll.


Chinn v. Swanzy

At a City Council meeting on August 22, 1934, Mayor R. Hart Chinn struck City Commission John A. Swanzy (1881-) in the head with a


1936 Election

Running for Biloxi's mayorial office were: Dr. A. Ferrer; Jacinto Baltar; Dr. G.F. Carroll; and Hart Chinn.  Louis Staehling had dropped out in late July.(The Daily Herald, July 31, 1936, p. 1)


Chinn v. O’Keefe


1936 Congressional run

R. Hart Chinn ran for the U.S. Congress in 1936.  Was to speak with J.S. Easterling of Laurel at KC Bazaar in front of BYC in July 1936.(The Daily Herald, July 10, 1936, p. 7)



The Daily Herald 50th Golden Jubilee Number Biographical and Historical 1884-1934, (The Daily Herald: Gulfport-Biloxi, Mississippi-1934). 

The Biloxi Herald, “Local Happenings”, December 3, 1892.

The Biloxi Herald, “Biloxi Milling Co.”, January 7, 1893, p. 8.

The Biloxi Herald,  April 22, 1893, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Chinn & Carraway”, November 1, 1907.

The Daily Herald, “No law against speeding motorcycles”, June 12, 1911.

The Daily Herald, “J.B. Chinn prominent Biloxian, succumbs to apoplectic stroke”, June 6, 1912, p.1.

The Daily Herald, J.B. Chinn will be buried today”, June 7, 1912.

The Daily Herald, “kk”, January 21, 1914.

The Daily Herald, “Finds countryman in Biloxi concern”, March 26, 1914.

The Daily Herald, “Biloxi Airdome prey to flames; Davis loses too”, May 5, 1914.

The Daily Herald, “New cars received by Chinn Motor Car Co.”, May 28, 1914.

The Daily Herald, “Chinn Motor Corporation”, September 9, 1915.

The Daily Herald, “Chinn-Bond”, November 14, 1918.

The Daily Herald, “Government officials visit Biloxi to aid in dredging channel”, March 17, 1922, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Will secure some free attractions”, June 27, 1922, p. 4.

The Daily Herald, “Biloxi School regulation is aired in court", January 14, 1928.

The Daily Herald, “Chinn holds big lead in Biloxi”, August 15, 1933.

The Daily Herald, “Guice resigns as City Attorney”, August 15, 1933.

The Daily Herald, “Guice resigns as County Attorney ”, August 17, 1933.

The Daily Herald, “Chinn wins Mayors office as Carroll and Hunt withdraw”, August 17, 1933.

The Daily Herald, “Chinn and Swanzy fight-gasoline bill argument encounter between two Biloxi officials”, August 22, 1934, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Chinn, Parks make bonds-Biloxi Mayor and Secretary free under bond”, August 24, 1934, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Prosecutor charges Mayor Chinn with assault and battery”, August 24, 1934, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Mayor Chinn hearing set”, October 1, 1934.

The Daily Herald, “Mayor Chinn is bound over”, October 3, 1934.

The Daily Herald, “Siege at City Hall”, January 5, 1935.

The Daily Herald, “Motion to quash Chinn indictment”, January 14, 1936.

The Daily Herald, “Two political speakers”, July 10, 1936.

The Daily Herald, “Biloxians to elect Mayor on Aug. 25”, July 3, 1933, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Biloxians to elect Mayor on Aug. 25”, July 3, 1933, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Kennedy’s friends give him send-off ”, July 5, 1933, p. 2.

The Daily Herald, “Ferrer makes announcement”, July 6, 1933, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Staehling is out of race”, July 31, 1933, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “City election will be August 18, 1933”, August 18, 1933, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Gabrich resigns as Police Chief”, August 18, 1933, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Biloxians to elect Mayor on Aug. 25”, July 3, 1933, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Hart Chinn taken by death”, February 3, 1972.

The Daily Herald, “”, , 19.

The Jackson County Times, “Mayor O’Keefe takes office by force”, January 12, 1935.





Mayor of Biloxi from 19-19.



John W. Aloysius O’ Keefe (1891-1985) was born at New Orleans on February 24, 1891, the son of Jeremiah J. O’Keefe (1860-1911) and Alice Cahill (1864-1921). 


Attended local schools and the Jesuit College at New Orleans.  In 1901, promoted from first sergeant to first lieutenant in the Jesuit Cadets.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, December 3, 1901)  John A. O’Keefe graduated from Tulane University in 1911.  



John A. O’Keefe married Amelia “Nicki” Castanera (1905-2000), the daughter of Captain Frank B. Castanera (1870-1934) and Amelia Desporte (1880-1953), in December 1929.  Amelia Castenera was the Queen of Les Masques, a Biloxi Mardi Gras krewe, in 1927, and taught school at Biloxi.(The Daily Herald, February 12, 1927, p. 1)

In 1937, John and Nicki O’Keefe adopted a Jackson, Mississippi born baby girl and named her Patricia Mary O’Keefe (1937-2009). Patricia M. O’Keefe was born on September 27, 1937.  She was a graduate of the Immaculate Seminary at Washiington D.C. and a 1959 graduate of Chestnut Hill College at Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.  Patricia married Ensign Badger Conley Smith III on July 4, 1959 in the Walter Reed Memorial Chapel at Washington D.C. Ensign Smith had graduated from St. John's College, Washington D.C. and the US Naval Academy in 1959.(The Daily Herald, July 8, 1959, p. 8)

Patrica Mary O'Keefe married Frank O’ Brimski in May 1965.  She worked for the Library of Congress for fifteen years. Patricia died on September 20, 2009 at Garrett Park, Maryland.  She and Frank Obrimski were the parents of Margaret Obrimski Bonacorda and Sharon Obrimski Portillo.(The History of Jackson Co. Ms., 1989, p. 302 and The Sun Herald, October 4, 2009, p. A)



He was employed on sugar plantations in Louisiana, Cuba, Haiti, Santo Domingo, and Trinidad as a sugar chemist until he entered military service during WWI.  In late October 1916, O’Keefe departed Ocean Springs for Thibodeaux, Louisiana to work for a large sugar mill.(The Jackson County Times, October 28, 1916, p. 5)

O’Keefe’s last assignment as a sugar chemist before entering the military was at a sugar mill in Trinidad, BWI.  On his return from the Caribbean, he visited Washington D.C. where he took an examination to qualify as an officer in the flying corps.(The Jackson County Times, June 2, 1917, p. 5)

WWI military career

On August 23, 1917, John W. O’Keefe with several other young men from Ocean Springs boarded at New Orleans, the “Ole Miss”, a special train carrying Mississippi student officers to Camp Funston, Leon Springs, Texas.  Here in December 1917, O’Keefe won his commission as a Captain in the field artillery.(The Jackson County Times, August 25, 1917, p. 5, and December 1, 1917, p. 1)

By June 1918, Captain John O’Keefe had arrived in France, after an uneventful voyage.(The Jackson County Times, June 15, 1918, p. 5)


Left Ocean Springs in late October 1925, for Manoplea, Cuba.  He attended the Georgia-North Dakota football game in Atlanta and made visits to Miami and Coral Gables before departing for Cuba.(The Jackson County Times, October 31, 1925, p. 5)

“John O’Keefe? and E.W. Illing at Cuba on a large sugar plantation for last six months.”(The Daily Herald, June 13, 1925, p. 2)

Post WWI-Business and politics

In March 1928, John A. O’Keefe became a partner in The Biloxi Laundry with John Wright Apperson (1862-1939), George J. Collins, Eugene Dowling (1880-1944), and W.L. Guice.  This organization was chartered to acquire by lease or purchase or construction a plant or plants for the conduct of a general steam and hand laundry and dry cleaning business.(The Daily Herald, March 21, 1928, p. 2)

After the European conflict in which he served as a field artillery Captain and flying observer in France and Germany, he went into business at Biloxi.  He continued his military career as a Captain and specialist in the US Army Air Corps reserves.  In April 1932, O’Keefe left Biloxi for New York to serve two weeks in the Air Corps headquarters in Gotham.(The Daily Herald, April 11, 1932, p. 2)

In March 1934, John A. O’Keefe retired as Grand Knight of the Biloxi Council Knights of Columbus.  O’Keefe cited his active position as CWA aeronautics advisor for Mississippi and it was his third term as grand knight.(The Daily Herald, March 20, 1934, p. 5)

John A. O’Keefe was a leader of men.  He was elected mayor of Biloxi in August 1934.   and later appointed as Adjutant General of Mississippi by Governor Hugh White.  

O’Keefe Airfield

In November 1934, the town of Newton, Mississippi and the Newton County American Legion Post dedicated their new $12,000 airport to Major John A. O’Keefe, former CWA aeronautics adviser for Mississippi.

Les Ives, 266 O’Keefe Road. Newton, ms.  (601) 683-0202

Biloxi Mayor

John A. O’Keefe was elected Mayor of Biloxi in August 1934 to succeed R. Hart Chinn (1888-1972).


Chinn refuses to leave office

Hart Chinn, former Mayor of Biloxi, alleged that Mayor elect John A. O’Keefe and his two City Commissioners should have been disqualified from the municipal elections because of irregular tax payments.  Mayor O’Keefe seized City Hall on January 71935 with a band of armed supporters         


Siege at City Hall


Car wreck

In early March 1935, Mayor O’Keefe, spouse Nicki C. O’Keefe, Amelia Desporte Castanera (1880-1953), his mother-in-law, and Dorothy Daspit (1908-1937+), an Ocean Springs school teacher and native of Houma, Louisiana, were traveling west to New Orleans for a Mardi Gras  celebration.  While driving the beach road through Pass Christian, the steering mechanism of Mayor O’Keefe’s automobile failed and the vehicle struck a tree.  Nicki C. O’Keefe broke her hip bone while her mother and Mayor O’Keefe suffered cuts and bruises.  Miss Daspit was not seriously harmed in the accident.(The Jackson County Times, March 9, 1935, p.1)

Resignation-Adjutant General

Mayor O’Keefe announced in early February 1936, that he would resign as Biloxi’s Mayor on February 10, to take the position of adjutant general of the State of Mississippi.(The Jackson County Times, February 1, 1930, p. 1)

In November 1935, Mayor O;Keefe was tapped by Governor Hugh L. White (1881-1965) to served as adjutant general of Mississippi.  Mayor O’Keefe succeeded Thomas Grayson, also of Biloxi.(The Daily Herald, November 8, 1935, p. 1)

Grand Marshal

In September 1939, Adjutant General John A. O’Keefe rode in Chicago as Grand Marshal for the Mississippi delegation to the National American Legion parade.  He was selected for this honor by Ben Hilbun of Laurel, the State Commander of the American Legion.(The Daily Herald, July 31, 1939, p. 3)   

In January 1940, General O’Keefe’s term as adjutant general ended.  He was praised by Lt. General Stanley Dunbar Embick (1877-1957), 4th Corp Army Commander,

Washington D.C.

He went to Washington, D.C. in 1940, as assistant to chief of the National Guard Bureau.

WW II Military career

In September 1941, the O’Keefes were in Washington D.C. and were planning a party for friends at the Army-Navy Club.  Lt. Colonel O’Keefe flew to Louisiana with General Williams, commander of the National Guard Bureau, to observe war maneuvers.(The Daily Herald, September 22, 1941, p. 7)

During WWII, Colonel O’Keefe served in North Africa with the Air Transport Command.  In June 1945, he participated in the historic Yalta Conference.  In addition to his US military decorations, O’Keefe was recognized by the Sultan of Morocco and the Bey of Tunisia for his accomplishments in the Allied forces desert campaigns against the Germans and Italians in the deserts of North Africa. 

In the spring of 1945, the Westergard Boat Works at Biloxi launched a steel trawler named John A. O’Keefe, which was built for the DeJean Packing Company.  In October 1946, John A. O’Keefe was recognized by Pope Pius XII of the Roman Catholic Church as he was made a Knight of the Order of St. Gregory the Great.  In retirement, O’Keefe was recognized as a Major General in the Mississippi National Guard.  He passed at Biloxi on September 14, 1985.  Interment followed at the National Cemetery in Biloxi.(The Daily Herald, June 21, 1945, p.1 and October 15, 1946, p. 1)

Colonel O’Keefe underwent a serious eye operation at Bethesda, Maryland in February 1951.(The Gulf Coast Times, February 22, 1951)     

John W. A. O'Keefe died September 14, 1985 at Biloxi, Mississippi.



50th Anniversary Golden Jubilee, The Daily Herald  (1884-1934), (The Daily Herald: Gulfport, Mississippi-1934).

The History of Jackson County, Mississippi“O’Keefe-Third Generation”(Jackson County Genealogical Society: Pascagoula, Mississippi-1989).


The Daily Herald, “Fifth Annual Masques Ball Scene of Exotic Brilliance”, February 12, 1927.

The Daily Herald, “The Charter of Incorporation of the Biloxi Laundry Incorporated”, March 21, 1928.

The Daily Herald, “O’Keefe Leaves For East”, April 11, 1932.

The Daily Herald, “Resigns, As K.C. Head”, March 20, 1934.

The Daily Herald, “O’Keefe Airport Dedicated Monday”, November 13, 1934.

The Daily Herald, “Siege at City Hall”, January 5, 1935.

The Daily Herald, “O’Keefe and supporters seize City Hall after midnight march”, January 7, 1935, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “No requests for troops Conner says”, January 7, 1935, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Chinn talks with attorney, declines to reveal plans”, January 7, 1935, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, ““New officers hold meeting”, January 7, 1935, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “City Bastille falls”, January 7, 1935, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Chinn talks with attorney, declines to reveal plans”, January 7, 1935, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “6New attorney”, January 7, 1935, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Chinn’s plan for regaining office are not revealed”, January 8, 1935, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Vote authority to collect taxes and other moneys due”, January 8, 1935, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Biloxi quiet, books needed”, January 9, 1935, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Importance of missing books”, January 12, 1935, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Indict Chinn for assault upon Swanzy”, January 12, 1935, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Taxpayer’s petition sets forth need of records in conduct of Biloxi business”, January 12, 1935, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Judge delays decision as Guice disputes claim of fear for personal safety”, January 19, 1935, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Activities at Biloxi City Hall increasing; taxes being received”, January 19, 1935, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Chinn fined $100 and costs on contempt charge; Parks freed”, January 24, 1935, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “O’Keefe back from Capital”, April 26, 1935.

The Daily Herald, “Biloxi Mayor Will Succeed General Grayson, according To Jackson Announcement”, November 8, 1935.

The Daily Herald, “Gen. O’Keefe Marshal of Legion Parade”, July 31, 1939.

The Daily Herald, “O’Keefes Plan Party”, September 22, 1941.

The Daily Herald, “Westergard to launch trawler Friday morning”, June 21, 1945.

The Daily Herald, “Col. John O’Keefe invested with St. Gregory medal”, October 15, 1946.

The Daily Herald, “Speakers praise Col. O’Keefe at banquet held in his honor”, October 16, 1946.

The Daily Herald, “Smith-O’Keefe”, July 8, 1959.



The Gulf Coast Times, “Personal Items”, February 22, 1951.

The Jackson County Times, “Local News Interests”

The Jackson County Times, “Local News Interests”, October 28, 1916.

The Jackson County Times, “Local News Interests”, June 2, 1917.

The Jackson County Times, “Local News Interests”, August 25, 1917.

The Jackson County Times, “Ocean Springs Boys Win Commissions at Training Camp”, December 1, 1917.

The Jackson County Times, “Local News Items”, June 15, 1918.

The Jackson County Times, “Local and Personal”, October 31, 1925.

The Jackson County Times, “Mayor O’Keefe Takes Office by Force”, January 12, 1935.

The Jackson County Times, “Mayor and Mrs. Jno. O’Keefe Injured In Auto Wreck”, March 9, 1935.

The Jackson County Times, “Gen. John A. O’Keefe”, January 25, 1936.

The Jackson County Times, “O’Keefe to resign as Biloxi Mayor, Feb. 10”, February 1, 1936.

The Jackson County Times, “General O’Keefe and family take Jackson apartment”, February 1, 1936.

The Jackson County Times, “O’Keefe praised by General Embick”, December 9, 1939, p. 1.

The Jackson County Times, “Col. John O’Keefe accompanies the Secretary of War”, October 12, 1946, p. 1.

The Jackson County Times, “Speakers praise Col. John O’Keefe at banquet in his honor”, October 19, 1946, p. 1.

 The Ocean Springs News, “Local News”, July 4, 1914.

The Ocean Springs News, “Prest-o-lite Tanks”, July 4, 1914.

The Sun Herald,  “Patricia O'Keefe Obrimski”, October 4, 2009.




Mayor of Biloxi from 1897-1899.




Louis John Braun (1890-1951) was born at Biloxi on July 1, 1890, son of Louis Edward Braun (1858-1915) and Gertrude Fayard.  Louis E. Braun and Gertrude F. Braun acquired the Fountain home on Reynoir Street in February 1915 for $2800.(The Times-Picayune, February 15, 1915, p. 10) 

In 1911, Louis J. Braun married Katherine Jones (1892-1983).  Children: Russell J. Braun m. Louise Ruiz (1913-1992); June Elizabeth Braun (1915-2010) m. John Clark Sinclair; and Wallace Vogt


Braun Packing Company

In May 1924, Louis J. Braun acquired for $2000 from Foster and Fountain, R. Hart Chinn. President, and V.J. Olivari, vice-president, the Foster-Fountain Canning Company?, on Back Bay of Biloxi.(Harrison Co., Ms. Land Deed Bk. 141, p. 472)

In September 1933, Louis Braun’s Gulf Foods, Inc. was packing an average of 200 barrels of shrimp per day.(The Daily Herald, September 26, 1933, p. 5)


Replaces R. Hart Chinn



Mayor Louis J. Braun (1890-1951), John T. White, Ross L. Fickes, and A.V. Ragusin went to Marianna, Florida to convene on the promotion of tourist travel on The Old Spanish Trail.(The Daily Herald, November 26, 1936, p. 1)



Elected in 1937 and 1939.


1936 City Government, p.

Louis J. Braun (1890-1951), Mayor

Frederick A. Tucei, Commissioner of Finance and Education

John A. Swanzy (1881-   ), Commissioner of Public Works

Frederick A. Tucei (1889-1954), City Clerk

Charles H. Sentell (1884-1951), Fire Chief

Alonzo Gabrich (1894-1948), Police Chief


1940 City Government

Louis J. Braun, Mayor

Frederick A. Tucei, Commissioner of Finance and Education

John A. Swanzy, Commissioner of Public Works

Frederick A. Tucei, City Clerk

Charles H. Sentell, Fire Chief

Alonzo Gabrich, Police Chief


U.S.S. Biloxi launching

On August 1, 1942, Katherine J. Braun and Martha Burnett, daughter of Dr. Riley Burnett and


Former Mayor Louis J. Braun suffered a stroke in mid-October, which paralyzed his right side.(The Daily Herald, October 15, 1943, p. 5)



Biloxi City Directory (1936)

Biloxi City Directory (1940)


The Daily Herald, “L.E. Braun dies at early hour”, January 7, 1915.

The Daily Herald, “Biloxi group visits Florida”, November 26, 1936.

The Daily Herald, Mayor Louis Braun wins Biloxi’s Outstanding Citizen for Cup”, January, 1, 1938, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Mrs. Braun to christen new cruiser”, June 3, 1942.

The Daily Herald, "Braun suffers stroke", October 15, 1943, p. 5.

The Daily Herald, “Long illness is fatal to Mayor L.J. Braun”, March 19, 1951.

The Times-Picayune, “News Item", February 15, 1915.



Mayor of Biloxi from 1943-1947


  Chester A. Delacruz

Chester August Delacruz (1889-1964) was born on December 22, 1889 at or near Violet, St. Bernard Parish, Louisiana, the son of Simeon Delacruz (1869-1900+), sometimes spelled Delacroix, and Florence Heno (1871-1900+).  He was the eldest of their surviving five children, as Florence Heno Delacruz had eleven born.  Romaldo Delacroix  (1835-1900+), Chester’s Spanish born grandfather, was living with them in 1900.  There is a high degree of certitude that he Delacruz family was Islenoimmigrants from the Canary Islands.  Delacroix is the French equivalent of the Spanish, Delacruz, literally “from the cross.”(T623 579, p. 23A, ED 45) 


Los Islenos

Like the French Acadians who located in southwestern Louisiana, Los Islenos came to Louisianawhen it was a European colony. They stayed, and today they're a cultural island.  The French get all the attention in South Louisiana. But the Islenos -- literally, Islanders -- have just as rich a history and culture. The colonial government of New Spain brought some 3,000 of them here from the Canary Islandsbetween 1778 and 1783, to colonize the wild swamplands of St. Bernard Parish and serve as a frontier militia against British encroachment.   For the next two centuries, they survived hurricanes and epidemics, and became expert shrimpers, crabbers, oystermen, muskrat trappers and bootleggers.


Marriage and family

Chester A. Delacruz married Julia Adele Brown (1891-1958) on May 17, 1908 at New Orleans.  While residents of the Bayou State, Alice L. Delacruz (1908-1973), the young couples first child, arrived on December 18, 1908.  Chester Louis Delacruz (1911-1996) was also born in Louisiana.  Edna Mae Delacruz Moore (1915-1999), the third Delacruz child was born at Biloxi, Mississippi.  She married Warner Oland Moore (1922-1994) in March 1942.

Before relocating to Biloxi, Mississippi circa 1914, Chester A. Delacruz provided for his young family as a fur trapper in the marshlands of St. Bernard Parish, Louisiana.  At Biloxi, he found employment with the C.B. Foster & Company seafood processing and canning factory on Biloxi’s Back Bay.  Chester rose rapidly in the company becoming assistant superintendent by 1917.  He was promoted to superintendent of the C.B. Foster operation by 1920 and in 1930 was the manager.(1910 St. Bernard Parish, Louisiana Federal Census T624_527, p. 2A, Ed 60; 1920 and 1930 Harrison Co., Mississippi Federal Census T625_876, p. 23A, ED 42 and R 1146, p. 21B, ED 6)


Charles B. Foster

Charles B. Foster (1877-1931), a native of Pascagoula, Mississippi became a good friend and business partner with Chester A. Delacruz.  On several occasions they speculated in commercial real estate at Biloxi.  Mr. Foster was reared in the seafood packing business at Pascagoula, as his father John Foster (1826-1903) founded in 1884, May bury & Foster, successor company to the Mexican Gulf Canning Company of Joseph T. May bury (1841-1894).   Lillie O. Foster (1865-1924), C.B. Foster’s half-sister, married Edward C. Joullian (1863-1931), who owned and operated the E.C. Jouillian Packing Company at Biloxi.  In November 1903, at Biloxi, Charles B. Foster married Miss Mary E. Caillavet (1877-1951), the daughter of John Latour Caillavet and Georgiana Dees.(The Daily Herald, June 27, 1931, p. 2 and The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 16, 1903, p. 6)

In 1914, the Foster-Fountain Packing Company was commenced by Charles B. Foster,Martin Fountain Jr., Gussie Fountain, and Louis Trochesset (1878-1933).  Located at 278 East Back Bayin 1922.

1916- Charles B. Foster Packing Company-founded by Charles B. Foster (1877-1931).  Located at 224 East Back Bay in 1922.  When the capital stock of the company was increased in 1920, from $5000 to $60,000, the ownership of the organization was revealed as follows:  C.B. Foster, chaiman-20 shares; Chester A. Delacruz, secretary-10 shares; Mary E. Ford-20 shares; F.J. Ford-1 share; and W.H. Foster-20 shares.(The Daily Herald, July 7, 1920, p. 5)

I did a good bit of research on CB Foster Packing Company when I was doing my thesis. The company was founded by Charles B. Foster in 1915. He had previously partnered with the Martin Fountain Sr in Foster/Fountain Packing Company. Charles Foster's father John had owned a seafood company in Pascagoula back in the late 1800s and Charles Foster's brother in law was John Joullian. In 1915, when he opened his own company, Charles hired another in law, Anson Holley, to run the packing operation and to build boats for the company. Foster and Holley were married to cousins. Foster also had another relative doing his legal work him, a lawyer named Ford. CB Foster Packing Company was sold to Southern Shell and Oyster in 1934. Charles B. Foster died in 1931 I think.

I believe Chester Delacruz II was manager at Southern Shell in the 1950s. My grandmother worked shucking and picking there at that time and she remembered him to me many years ago. When I talked with Chester II many years ago, he recalled working there, so I am pretty sure it was he that my grandmother remembered.


1922-Biloxi Oyster Shell Grit Company

The Biloxi Oyster Shell Grit Company was organized in August 1922 by Chester A. Delacruz, Anson Holley, Charles Redding, C.B. Foster, and Mary E. Ford.  The company was in business to crush and handle oyster and other shells.(The Daily Herald, August 24, 1922, sec. II, p. 11)


Julia A. Delacruz

The Julia A. Delacruz was built by Anson Holley for the Charles B. Foster in 1924.  Her official number was 224378 with registered dimensions: 58.7 feet long x 19.4 feet at the beam x 4.5 foot hold depth, and of 34 gross tons.   Russell Barnes, Biloxi schooner historian, relates concerning the Julia A. Delacruz that:  It’s just my opinion, but looking at the photos of this schooner, she was one of Holley's more impressive efforts. She had a beautiful sheer, a very fine sailor, and was a very good work boat. I have her tonnage and measurement in my collection as well as a photo of her from the 1928 race.  TheJulia Delacruz was built by Anson Holley for the C.B. Foster Packing Company in 1924.  She was one of the last pure sailing schooners built for the local fisheries.  I believe that Chester Delacruz was working in some capacity for C.B. Foster at that time. That would explain why a boat was named for his wife. The Julia Delacruz worked in local waters for many years. She was converted to power in the early 1940s and survived until Camille. At that time she was owned by a man named Schmidt over inBay St. Louis and was named for his wife Carrie Schmidt.


Family home on Lameuse Street

In May 1918, Chester A. Delacruz acquired at Biloxi a lot with improvements on the northwest corner of Lameuse Street and Division Street.  This became his homestead until his demise in March 1964.  The consideration to Elias H. Chisolm of New Orleans was $900.  In November 1934, Julia A. Delacruz, his spouse, acquired for $800 and additional lot to the north of the family home from Sarah Kennedy.  This gave the Delacruz family one hundred feet fronting on the west side of Lameuse Street.(Harrison County, Ms. Land Deed Bk. 121, p. 573 and Bk. 203, p. 471)

Mrs. Julia A. Delacruz sold her Lameuse Street residence to Chester L. Dealcruz and Lettie H. Delacruz, her son and daughter-in-law, in December 1957.  The home was damaged in Katrina and torn down in 2006.(Harrison County, Ms. Land Deed Bk. 430, p. 7)


1934 trip

In the fall of 1934, Chester A. Dealcruz and family took a combination business-pleasure trip to Florida, Georgia, and South Carolina.  As a president of the Biloxi Oyster Exchange, he was interested in these states where packers and shippers of seafood were situated.  He found on this week sojourn that with the exception of a low shrimp catch, the packers were doing alright and expected business o improve during the winter.  Mrs. Delacruz and Miss Edna Mae Delacruz also enjoyed their visits, especially to Jacksonville and St. Augustine.(The Daily Herald, October 15, 1934, p. 3)


Chamber of Commerce

Chester A. Delacruz was elected head of the Biloxi Chamber of Commerce in October 1935.(The Daily Herald, October 5, 1935, p. 1)


Delacruz Oyster and Shrimp Company



Chester A. Delacruz died on March 8, 1964 at 709 Lameuse Street.  First Methodist Church. Buried Southern Memorial Park.(Bradford-O’Keefe Burial Bk. 47, p. 193)

Chester L. Delacruz

Chester L. Delacruz married Lettie Gloe Hendrix (1914-1999) of Gulfport at Pascagoula,Mississippi on December 19, 1932.  Daughter of Mrs. C.I. Hendrix of Gulfport.  Chester expired July 6, 1996 and Lettie on March 7, 1999.


1942 Election




Bradford O’Keefe Burial Book No. 47“Chester A. Delacruz”p. 193.

Harrison County, Mississippi Chancery Court Cause No. 48806, ‘The Estate of Chester A. Delacruz”-March 1965.


The Biloxi Herald, “Death of a Prominent Citizen”, June 1, 1894.

The Biloxi Herald, “Funeral Notice”, June 6, 1894.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Foster-Howe”, July 13, 1902.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “City Items”, September 25, 1902.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Capt. John Foster”, September 26, 1903.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “City Items”, November 16, 1903.

The Daily Herald, “Foster Ready”, June 25, 1925.

The Daily Herald, “Foster-Clark”, November 15, 1927.

The Daily Herald, "Delacruz new head of C. of C.", October 5, 1935.

The Daily Herald, “Foster-Holzner”, July 10, 1937.

The Chronicle-Star, “Mrs. Olivia Elizabeth Foster”, April 20, 1928.

The Chronicle-Star, “Charles B. Foster”, July 3, 1931.

The Chronicle-Star, “Mrs. Rourke Dies After Long Illness”, June 2, 1950.

The Chronicle-Star, “Mrs. Eva F. Ford Taken By Death”, August 11, 1959.

The Daily Herald, “C.B. Foster Packing Company”, July 7, 1920.

The Daily Herald, “Biloxi Oyster Shell Grit Co.”, August 24, 1922.

The Daily Herald, “Chas. B. Foster Passes Away”, June 27, 1931.

The Daily Herald, “Charles B. Foster Funeral Sunday”, June 29, 1931.

The Daily Herald, “Delacruz-Hendrix”, December 20, 1932.

The Daily Herald, “Returns from trip”, October 15, 1934.

TDaily Herald, “Delacruz is next Mayor of Biloxi, July 15, 1942.

The Daily Herald, “Former Mayor C.A. Delacruz taken by death”, March 9, 1964.

The Sun Herald, “Delacruz rites”, March 11, 1964

The Sun Herald, “Chester Louis Delacruz”, July 8, 1996.






Mayor of Biloxi from 1947-1951.

George Barrow Cousins Jr. (1909-1966) was born at Biloxi, Mississippi on September 10, 1909, the son of George Barrow Cousins (1883-1969) and Margaret ‘Maude‘ Clare Hannon (1890-1919).  His mother died in early January 1919, shortly after she delivered their third child, baby boy Cousins (1918-1918).  At Biloxi on April 20, 1908, George B. Cousins had married Maude Clare Hannon, a native of Louisiana and the daughter of Irish immigrants, Peter Hannon (1837-1889) and Mary Leaghy, Lahey or Leahey.  Before her early demise, Maude had bore two sons: George B. Cousins Jr. (1909-1966) and Peter H. Cousins (1910-1979).(The Daily Herald, April 21, 1908, p. 1, January 1, 1919, p. 1, January 2, 1919, p. 3, and January 6, 1919, p. 3 and Harrison Co., Ms. MRB 19, p. 379)
After the demise of his spouse, George B. Cousins married Alma Elizabeth Brander on December 23, 1923.(Harrison Co., Ms. MRB 35, p. 440)

G.B. Cousins Jr. was educated in the Biloxi Public school system and matriculated to the University of Mississippi where he received two degrees-Liberal Arts [1932] and Law [1934].  Mr. Cousins commenced his Biloxi law practice in 1934 and was appointed City Judge on May 15, 1935 and served as such for three years until he became City Attorney in August 1939 until he returned to the private practive of law in September 1941. During WW II, he served in the US Navy from 1943 until his discharge in June 1945.  

Marriage and family

In 1936, George B. Cousins Jr. married Muriel Mead, the daughter of Walter R. Mead, a native of Mobile and Emelie Calogne (1887-) of New Orleans.  Mr. Mead was a postal employee at New Orleans.  He resided in Ocean Springs with his spouse and three daughters: Elaine Mead, Muriel Mead, and Audrey Mead.  Two children: Patricia Claire Cousins m. William Wallace Weatherly in January 1958 and George 'Rabbit' Barrow Cousins III m. Jean Ahern (1941-2013).



G.B. Cousins Jr. was elected Mayor of Biloxi on July 16, 1946 by beating R. Hart Chinn in the general election.  Mr. Chinn lost the election, but filed a complaint to void the contest.  He claimed that one of the election commissioners

Mayor Cousins and A.J. 'Tony' Creel and Gordon A. Dacey, newly elected City Commissiners, were sworn into office on January 6, 1947 by Circuit Court Judge Lawrence C. Corban.  Creel was relected to his post while Dacey replaced John A. Swanzy who retired from politics after serving the City of Biloxi for many years.(The Daily Herald, January 6, 1947, p. 1)

1947 September Storm

Following the catastrophic 1947 Hurricane, which delivered strong winds and a thirteen-foot storm surge to the Biloxi shoreline, Mayor G.B. Cousins declared to property owners on Biloxi’s strand that “we are going to build a bigger and more beautiful city and not hurt a soul.”(The Daily Herald, September 23, 1947, p. 1)

Mayor Cousins appointed a committee of Biloxi citizens to aid in the planning and rebuilding of Biloxi following the 1947 September Storm.  Judge Lelslie Grant was named committee chair and A.V. ‘Tony’ Ragusin, secretary.  Committee members  were: H. Mendum Dees, James Love, Anson Holley Jr., Dr. Riley Burnett, William Lee Guice, I. Daniel Gehr, Mrs. Sophie Desporte, George Collins, and G.J. Wiltz.(The Daily Herald, September 23, 1947)


G.B. Cousins Jr. expired circa April 4, 1966.

Sr. expired circa 7-30-1969.



The Daily Herald, “Cousins-Hannon”, April 21, 1908, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Biloxians elect Cousins, Dacey Creel”, July 17, 1946.

The Daily Herald, “Asks suggestions for rebuilding of Biloxi Beach Front”, September 23, 1947.

The Daily Herald, “Election of Cousins as Biloxi Mayor declared valid", October 5, 1946, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Formal order is entered in Biloxi election contest”, October 17, 1946, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Mayor G.B. Cousins Jr.”, January 6, 1947.

The Daily Herald, “Biloxi's new Mayor and Commissioners take office”, January 6, 1947.

The Daily Herald, “Citizens Committee is named at Biloxi”, September 23, 1947.

The Daily Herald, “Cousins, ex-Mayor dies today”, April 4, 1966.

The Jackson County Times, “Showers and parties honoring Miss Mead are numerous”, August 29, 1936.

The Sun Herald, "Jean Cousins", September 30, 2013, p. A-4.




Mayor of Biloxi from 1951-195.


In October, 1950 Mayor-elect, R. Hart Chinn, related to the Episcopal Men's Club at their dinner meeting that a salient feature of his administration would be to monitor that Biloxi's citizens got full value for every dollar expended by his administration.  As an example of Biloxi's past government fiscal irresponibilities, he used the city of Meridian, Mississippi as an example.  Meridan, although larger than Biloxi, operated for $770,000 each year, while Biloxi's operating expenses were $996,000.  Chinn also stated to his attentative audience  that certain conditions in reference to law enforcement in Biloxi would be corrected within two weeks afetr he was sworn in as Biloxi's Mayor.(The Daily Herald, October 11, 1950, p. 7)




The Daily Herald, “Mayor-elect Chinn addresses church club; elect officers”, October 11, 1950, p. 7.

The Daily Herald, “Williams enters race for Mayor”, March 25, 1953, p. 7.

The Daily Herald, “Hart Chinn taken by death”, February 3, 1972.

The Gulf Coast Times, “Chinn accuses ministers of accepting financial aid from Coast gamblers”, February 14, 1952, p. 1.



Mayor of Biloxi from 1953-1961

Laz Quave was born on October 31, 1910, in rural Jackson County, Mississippi, near Vancleave,  the son of Joseph Quave (1859-1928), a farm laborer, and Della ? Quave.  In 1930, Laz Quave was a seaman stationed aboard the USCG Cutter Tallapoosa, near Annapolis, Maryland.(1930 Anne Arundel Co., Maryland Federal Census R 844, p. 29A, ED11)

Returning from his military duty, Laz Quave married Bernice S. Thornton (1908-2000) on June 6, 1934.  She was the daughter of Arthur Thornton (1880-1922) and Sophronia ? Thornton (1883-19200+).  Laz and Bernice T. Quave were the parents of three children:  June Rose Quave m. Eugene L. Martino; Leon J. Quave m. Peggy Ann Cook; and Laz Quave Jr. m.         (Harrison Co., Ms. MRB 45, p. 210)


Police Chief

Served as Chief of Police at Biloxi from January 4, 1943 to 1947, when he was appoined by Mayor Delacruz.(The Daily Herald, January 4, 1943, p. 5)

Sheriff Quave

Laz Quave was elected Sheriff of Harrison County, Mississippi in August 1947 when he defeated Aubrey Beeson of Long Beach by about fourteen hundred votes.  He succeeded Maxie M. Broadus of Gulfport.(The Daily Herald, August 30, 1947, p. 1)

Biloxi Canning & Packing Company

In the 1940s, Laz Quave had been a director and vice president of the Gulf Coast Shrimper’s and Oystermen’s Association.

Rosalis Inc.

On September 9, 1968, Charter of Biloxi Canning & Packing Company amended and name changed to Rosalis, Inc.  Roy Rosalis (1909-1984), president, and Rena LeBlanc Rosalis (1917-2004), secretary, 300 shares issued.(HARCO, Ms. Charter Bo. 2, pp. 175-178).           

Venus and Quave

On September 4, 1968, the Biloxi Canning & Packing Company was chartered by D.J. Venus III, Gordon D. Venus, and Laz Quave.  150,000 shares par $1.00.(HARCO, Ms. Chancery Court Charter Bk. 2, pp. 179-182)

On October 10, 1968, Rosalis, Inc. conveyed to Biloxi Canning & Packing Company for $610,000, all improvements, buildings, warehouses, docks, wharves, with riparian and littoral rights.  (go 413.4 south along east side of Anglada x Landers x 253' x Chartres (332.9) x 136' (Stanovich) x Bay to Point of beginning on Anglada).  Sale included the following brands:  Negro Head, Biloxi, Sea Beach Canned Shrimp, Mobile Bay, Danny Boy, and Pueblo.(HARCO, Ms. Trust Deed Bk. 535, p. 47 and Bk. 535, p. 50).  Mr. Rosalis then retired and resided at 872 Central Beach Boulevard.

Hurricane Camille

Hurricane Camille of August 1969, according to company president, D.J. Venus, caused losses estimated at $1 million.  There was doubt as whether the U.S. Pure Food and Drug inspectors would approve canned shrimp damaged by the tempest.  Production was possible in two months.(The Daily Herald, August 28, 1969, p. 18)


April 12, 1971, company under Venus borrowed $12,000 from Peoples Bank and bought more land to the west.(HARCO, Ms. Trust Deed Bk. 3, pp. 64-65).

January 3, 1973, Venus-Quave borrowed $319,000.(HARCO, Ms. Trust Deed Bk. 49, p. 425).

In October 2, 1974, Henry Slay Guiterrez, president, and Pete Elder, secretary got a SBA loan for $500,000.(HARCO, Ms. Trust Deed Bk. 72, pp. 287-293).


On January 15, 1975, Henry S. Guiterrez leased a portion of the building to the Douglas-Guardian Warehouse Corporation of New Orleans.(HARCO, Ms. Land Deed Bk. 55, pp. 377-378).


In May 1976, Venus and Quave defaulted on payments to Rosalis and the Biloxi Canning Company was bought from Substitute trustee, David Cottrell Jr., for $200,000.(HARCO, Ms. Land Deed Bk. 65, pp. 486-488).

Mayor Quave

When Laz Quave placed his name in the race for Mayor of Biloxi, he was in competition with R. Hart Chinn, incumbent, Norman Levine (1918-1953+), poultry marketer, and Elmer Williams, owner of the DeJean Packing Company..(The Daily Herald,  April 13, 1953, p. 1)

Supervisor Quave

From July 1962 to December 1971, Laz Quave served the people of Harrison County, Mississippi Beat 1, as their County Supervisor.(Sullivan, 2002, p. 581)

Laz Quave expired at New Orleans on December 20, 1985.  His corporal remains were interred in the Biloxi City Cemetery.  Bernice Thornton Quave followed her husband in death passing on February 26, 2000 at Gautier, Mississippi.  Her corporal remains were also buried in the Biloxi City Cemetery.(The Sun Herald, February 29, 2000, p. A5 and December  , 1985, p. )



Charles L. Sullivan, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College: A History, (McNaughton & Gunn, Inc.: Saline, Michigan-2002)



The Jackson County Times, “Quave is elected in Harrison”, August 30, 1947.

The Daily Herald, "New Police Chief", January 4, 1943.

The Daily Herald, “May 12 ballot at Biloxi will have 19 names listed”, April 13, 1953.

The Daily Herald, "Coast Mayors take office", July 6, 1953, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Quave Grand Marshal, Ross East End Marshal”, July 8, 1954, p. 23.

The Daily Herald"Quave enter councilman race", March 23, 1981, p. A-2.

The Sun Herald"Biloxi leader Laz Quave dies", December 22, 1985, p. A-1 and p. A-12.

The Sun Herald, “Bernice Quave”, February 29, 2000, p. A5.




Mayor of Biloxi from 1961-1973


Daniel ‘Danny’ Dicks Guice (1925-2017) at Biloxi on December 1925, the son of  William Lee Guice and Lee Dicks.  Danny was reared on West Beach Boulevard in Biloxi.  He graduated from BHS with the Class of 1942.  Danny matriculated to Ole Miss, but after one year in Oxford, Mississippi, he transferred to Tulane University in New Orleans.  He Danny studied the pre-law curriculum and graduated from the Tulane School of Law.  In August 1947, he was licensed to practice law both Federal and State law.  While at Tulane, Danny was a KA and president of the Pan Hellinic Council; a member of Phi Delta Phi, the honorary legal organization; and on the Moot Court board.(The Daily Herald, April 3, 1948, p. 7)

Margaret Carolyn Barrett 

Danny Guice married Margaret Carolyn Barrett (1927-2006) in the Main Street Methodist Church on June 25, 1948.  Margaret was born April 16, 1927 at Chicago to Clarence Burton Barrett and Margaret Hoy.  She was a 1945 high school graduate in LaGrange, Illinois.  Miss Barrett attended what is now Southeast Missouri State College at Cape Girardeau, Missouri and was an English and Music major.  Their children were: Carolyn Lee Guice m. John W. Bode Jr. and Joe H. Singletary; Daniel Dicks Guice Jr. m. Janie Sue Bertrand; and Barry Guice.(The Daily Herald, April 3, 1948, p. 7, Harrison Co., Ms. MRB 77, p. 330, Harrison Co. Ms. 2nd JD MRB 5, p. 237, MRB 12, p. 485, and MRB 7, p. 323)


In April 1972, Mayor Guice became a candidate for House of Representatives from the 5th Congressional District.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 13, 1972, p. 1)


Margaret Barrett Guice expired on October 1, 2006.  Her corporal remains were interred in 6th Addition of the Biloxi Cemetery.  Mayor Guice died on April 13, 2017.(The Sun Herald, October 3, 2006 and April 14, 2017, p. 6A)




The Daily Herald, “Miss Margaret Carolyn Barrett", April 3, 1948.

The Daily Herald, “Mayor Guice named [Firemen’s Day] parade Grand Marshall”, September 14, 1962, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Name Guice member of A&I Board, July 23, 1964, p. 1.

The Ocean Springs Record, “Mayor Guice plans North Biloxi annexation”, August 3, 1970, p. 1.

The Ocean Springs Record, “Mayor Guice seeks Congerssional post ”, April 13, 1972, p. 1.

The Ocean Springs Record, “Guice qualifies as candidate”, March 3, 1983, p. 6.

The Sun Herald, "Margaret Barrett Guice", October 3, 2006.

The Sun Herald, 'Former Biloxi Mayor Danny Guice dies', April 14, 2007, p. 6A.

The Sun Herald, 'Funeral services set as Coast remembers for Biloxi Mayor Danny Guice', April 15, 2017, p. 6A.



                                                                                                                                  JEREMIAH J. ‘Jerry’ O’KEEFE III

Mayor of Biloxi from 1973-1981.

Jeremiah J. O'Keefe III

Jeremiah Joseph O’Keefe III, called Jerry, was born July 12, 1923, at Ocean Springs, the son of J.J. "Ben" O’Keefe II (1894-1954) and Teresa Slattery O’Keefe (1894-1995). The Ben O’Keefe family relocated to Biloxi in late August 1937. (The Jackson County Times, September 4, 1937, p. 2)


Jerry O’Keefe attended parochial schools at Biloxi and graduated from the Sacred Heart Academy in Biloxi with the Class of 1941.  In February 1939, he was named Mr. Sacred Heart Academy with Mary Katherine Peresich Nourse (1924-2003), as Mrs. Sacred Heart Academy.(The Daily Herald, February 25, 1939, p. 2)


In his youth Jerry was a Boy Scout in Troop 213 led by Louis J. Endris (1902-1988) and J. Kline Coquet (1911-1969), a legendary Biloxi scoutmaster.  Jerry competed in sailing regattas at the Biloxi Yacht Club and starred as left halfback and left end on the Sacred Heart Academy Galloping Gaels football team led by Coach Joe Hudson.  On the gridiron, Jerry was a good rusher and receiver, dropkick field goal specialist and was elected football team captain in 1940.  In the Gaels game against the Ocean Springs varsity in mid-October 1940, they held their own fighting to a 12-12 tie.  Robert Mohler of the Greyhounds scored the tying TD on a 45 yard sprint.(The Daily Herald, August 20, 1938, p. 7, October 12, 1940, p.  6, October 26, 1940, p. 7 and May 26, 1941, p. 5)


Like many young Biloxians, Jerry O’Keefe attended Soule College at New Orleans to further his education and skills for his entrée into the business world.  On his nineteenth birthday, he enlisted in the US Navy and was granted his naval aviator’s wings at Pensacola, Florida in June 1943. Jerry made 1st Lieutenant in April 1944, a month after he married his Ocean Springs sweetheart, Rose Annette Saxon, at Camp Pendelton, California. They were blessed with seven daughter and six sons born between 1945 and 1962.  (The Daily Herald, March 13, 1944, p. 7 and April 22, 1944, p. 4)   


WW II-USMC aviator

In the Pacific Theatre during World War II, 1st Lieutenant, Jerry O’Keefe flew in April 1945, his first aerial combat mission over the skies of Okinawa.  During this mission O’Keefe destroyed five Japanese aircraft, which earned him the "ace" designation. (The Daily Herald, April 25, 1945, p. 1)


Before the Pacific theater hostilities with Japan ended in August 1945, Jerry O’Keefe was credited with two additional kills. For his valiant military service, he was bestowed the Navy Cross, Distinguished Flying Cross, Air Medal, and Gold Star. He received these medals on October 14, 1946, at New Orleans. (The Daily Herald, October 15, 1946, p. 5)


Marine Colonel Gelon H. Doswell 

Ocean Springs also had another USMC pilot to reside here.  He was Gelon Hann Doswell (1920-1992), a native of New Orleans, Louisiana, and the son of Menard Doswell II (1892-1927) and Zoe Louise Hann (1893-1979). 


During WWII, Colonel Doswell was a naval aviator serving with Marine Corps Fighter Squadron 214 [VMF-214] in the South Pacific.  VMF-214 was known as "The Black Sheep Squadron" and commanded by Major Gregory "Pappy" Boyington (1912-1988).  Its moniker was earned since VMF-214 was composed of fighter pilots without a squadron, and replacement pilots from the United States.  The heroics of VMF-214 were portrayed on television in 1977, in a series titled, "Baa Baa Black Sheep".  In 1943, The Black Sheep Squadron performed well in the tropical skies over the Solomon Islands as they destroyed 97 Japanese aircraft in three months.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 29, 1986)


For his military heroics in the Solomon Islands, Colonel Doswell was awarded two Distinguished Flying Crosses and six air medals.  He flew over 1800 combat missions.(The Sun Herald, August 6, 1992, p. A-2)


Marine aviator WW II

J. J. ‘Jerry’ Keefe III (b. 1923)-During World War II, Ocean Springs native Jerry O’Keefe, became a USMC aviator.  He saw aerial combat with Japanese aircraft over the skies of Okinawa in 1945.  Jerry was credited with destroying seven Japanese fighter planes between April 1945 and September 1945.  His military awards include the following: Navy Cross, Distinguished Flying Cross, Air Medal, and Gold Star.During his first WW II aerial combat mission flown with the 2nd Marine Air Wing over the skies of Okinawa in April 1945, 1st Lieutenant Jerry O’Keefe destroyed five Japanese aircraft, which earned him the "ace" designation. (The Daily Herald, April 25, 1945, p. 1)


Before the Pacific theater hostilities ended in August 1945, Jerry O’Keefe  had been credited with two additional kills. For his valiant military service, he was bestowed the Navy Cross, Distinguished Flying Cross, Air Medal, and Gold Star. He received these medals on October 14, 1946, at New Orleans. (The Daily Herald, October 15, 1946, p. 5)


It is interesting to note that J.J. "Ben" O’Keefe II, Jerry’s father, served in the Marine Corps during WWI, and his son, J.J. "Jody" O’Keefe IV, was a Marine from 1964-1967.Mr. O’Keefe resides in Biloxi today where he is active with fund raising for the Ohr-O’Keefe Museum, advising the O’Keefe Foundation, and supervising the management of his business enterprises.


O’Keefe Funeral Service

The O’Keefe Funeral Service was established by Jeremiah ‘Jerry’ J. O’Keefe (1860-1911) at Ocean Springs, Mississippi in 1892, the same year as the town became incorporated.  The business relocated to Biloxi in June 1923 with Jeremiah J. “Ben” O’Keefe (1894-1954), John A. O’Keefe (1891-1985) and Joseph H. ‘Jody’  (1946-2007) O’Keefe (1897-1932), sons of the late Jerry O’Keefe, operated the funeral service on West Howard Avenue opposite the Nativity B.V.M. Catholic Church. 


Ben O’Keefe was a graduate of the Cincinnati College of Embalming and licensed in Mississippi and Louisiana.  In 1923, the company also commenced a burial insurance plan called the O’Keefe Burial Association.(The Daily Herald, November 19, 1954, p. 1.


1929 Buyout

Shortly after the October 1929 Wall Street Crash, Ben O’Keefe acquired the interest of his siblings in the O’Keefe Funeral Service of Biloxi which had opened in June 1923 at 601 West Howard Avenue opposite the Nativity B.V.M. Catholic Church and the O’Keefe Transfer and gasoline filling station enterprise on the southeast corner of Washington Avenue and Robinson Street at Ocean Springs.  Ben O’Keefe assumed about $28,000 in mortgages and other debt.  He also gave up his rights, title and interest to several tracts of land at Ocean Springs and New Orleans.  Among them were: the J.J. O’Keefe family home at present day 911 Porter; the ‘O’Keefe Castle’, also called the-‘Saxon House’ and ‘Seven Gables’, present day 318 Jackson Avenue; the old livery stable on Porter Street; the White House tract on Robertson Street; and the Mary C. O’Keefe domicile on Porter Street, which was sold in February 1970 to the Catholic Charities Housing Association in to erect the Villa Maria.(Jackson Co., Mississippi Land Deed Bk. 63, pp. 511-515 and Bk. 371, p. 506)


1948 Anniversary

The O’Keefe Funeral Service celebrated its 25th year in Biloxi in early June 1948.  At this time, Jerry O’Keefe, Ben’s son, was attending Loyola University at New Orleans and would graduate in July 1948.  Jerry joined his father in the burial business after receiving his degree in business from the Jesuit University.  At its West Howard Avenue location, the O’Keefe’s had a fleet of six automobiles and a 1948 Buick Flexible Ambulance.  At this time, Mr. Ben O’Keefe employed four men: Frank L. Conway, D.J. Newman, Willie McKinnis, and Jeremiah J. ‘Jerry’ O’Keefe.(The Daily Herald, June 4, 1948, p. 9)


Ben’s Demise

Ben O’Keefe died on November 19, 1954 at 823 West Beach, his Biloxi residence.  Mr. O’Keefe had been ill for approximately two years prior to his demise.  Circa 1953, Jerry O’Keefe was granted proprietorship by his father and became owner and manager of the O’Keefe  Funeral Service Company.(The Daily Herald, May 19, 1954, p. 1)



In May 1957, J.J. ‘Jerry’ O’Keefe III acquired the “Bradford Funeral Home and all property, ambulances, etc.” from Paul S. Bradford and Ruth Gates Bradford.  The merger of the Bradford Funeral Home and O’Keefe Funeral Service was not completed until July 1, 1960.  The company now called Bradford-O’Keefe Funeral Service was situated at the former Bradford funeral parlor on East Howard Avenue where improvements and additional parking had been acquired on the north side of the street.(Harrison Co., Ms. Land Deed Bk. 422, pp. 317-326 and The Daily Herald, June 17, 1960, p. 12)

Also in the summer of 1960, the former O'Keefe Funeral parlor at 601 West Howard Avenue was demolished and a 6500 square-ft., Goodyear Service Center was built on its former location.  In addition to selling new tires, the Goodyear enterprise performed frontend alignments and wheel balancing, as well as replacing mufflers and tail pipes.  General Electric appliances were also sold.  In May 1971, Mrs. Teresa ‘Tess’ Slattery O’Keefe made a 15-year lease with Goodyear.  The O’Keefe building and land were sold in May 1994 to James E. Sablich et ux by Tess O’Keefe and sons, Dr. John B. O’Keefe and Joseph Ben O’Keefe.(Harrison Co., Ms. 2nd JD Land Deed Bk. 21, p. 271 and Bk. 273, p. 204 and The Daily Herald, June 17, 1960, p. 2 and November 2, 1960, p. 12)



Jeremiah J. ‘Ben’ O’Keefe-This vintage image of J.J. “Ben” O’Keefe (1894-1954) and his bride, Teresa ‘Tess’ Josephine Slattery (1894-1995), was made at Shreveport, Louisiana on May   1921, following their nuptials officiated by Father Fields at St. John’s Catholic Church.  The newly weds would reside at Ocean Springs and continue in several businesses with Ben’s brothers.  The O’Keefe Funeral Service was relocated to West Howard Avenue at Biloxi in 1923. 

In 1964, Bradford-O’Keefe built the Ben O’Keefe Chapel at Ocean Springs.  It was located on the northwest corner of Government Street and Pine Drive.  The chapel was later closed, but became the temporary City Public Library in 1994-1995.  In August 1997, the structure was dedicated as the New Hope Center, a joint venture between the Gulf Coast YMCA and the O'Keefe Foundation.(The Ocean Springs News, August 6, 1964, p. 3 and The Ocean Springs Record, August 7, 1997, p. 1)


 Winning Team-This November 1995 image shows Annette Saxon O’Keefe (1924-1998) and spouse, J.J. “Jerry’ O’Keefe III (b. 1923), with Willie Gary, Stuart, Florida based attorney.  The O’Keefes had just been awarded $500 million dollars by a Jackson, Mississippi jury.  Jerry O’Keefe had sued Canadian based, The Loewen Group, for breach-of-contract and other allegations.  Mr. O’Keefe settled the suit for about $175 million dollars and used some of the money to commence the O’Keefe Foundation.[ from The Palm Beach Post, November 7, 1995]


Bradford-O’Keefe v. Riemann

The two largest funeral homes serving the Mississippi Coast are Bradford-O’Keefe and Riemann.  Initially, both burial services were situated in their founding cities-Bradford-O’Keefe at Biloxi and Ocean Springs and Riemann in Gulfport.  The two cities have many historical and cultural differences:  Biloxi is much older, founded in 1718, and once predominantly Roman Catholic, while Gulfport was founded in the late 19th century with a predominant Protestant population.  They were both built by a blue-collar, middle class citizenry with Biloxi having more immigrants and transients.  The US military has been important to the growth and economic stability of Biloxi and Gulfport.


In 1985, the Riemann family opened it first Biloxi funeral home on Beauvoir Road making inroads into Biloxi, the traditional turf of Bradford-O’Keefe.  Since then both organizations have worked aggressively to succeed in the mortuary business on the entire Coast.  Bradford-O’Keefe now has two funeral homes in Biloxi [opened 1957 and 1979], Ocean Springs [opened 1987], Gulfport [opened 1979, 1989 and 2004], and Vancleave [opened 2010].  In addition, Bradford-O’Keefe owns two cemeteries, D’Iberville Memorial Park and Crest Lawn Memorial Park at Ocean Springs and a crematory.


In January 1990, Riemann Funeral Homes, Incorporated joined with The Loewen Group International to form Riemann Holdings Incorporated of Canada.  This action angered Jerry O’Keefe, president of Bradford-O’Keefe Funeral Homes, as he espoused that ‘local ownership is superior to foreign because money stays in Mississippi rather than being funneled outside the state and country.  The Riemanns are deceiving the public by claiming that they have taken on new “partners” instead of admitting that hey have sold their funeral homes”


The Loewen Group

In the mid-1990s, Jerry O’Keefe, president of Bradford-O’Keefe Funeral Home and the Gulf National Group, an insurance company, filed litigation in Mississippi alleging breach-of-contract against The Loewen Group Incorporated, the second largest funeral service in North America and based in Burnaby, British Columbia.  At this time, The Loewen Group owned 814 funeral homes and 179 cemeteries in the USA and Canada.  The basis for the O’Keefe law suit was the claim that the Wright & Ferguson Funeral Home located in Jackson, Mississippi, which Loewen acquired in 1990, broke an agreement with Gulf National to act as its exclusive provider of certain types of funeral and burial insurance.  The lawsuit also alleged that Loewen was diverting funeral insurance business to one of Gulf National's competitors and had secretly gained control of an insurance company to compete with O'Keefe.  Jerry O’Keefe hired attorney Willie Gary of Stuart, Florida to represent his companies in the subsequent litigation held in Jackson, Mississippi.  In the seven-week trial that culminated on November 2, 1995, Mr. Gary and his staff of attorneys were able to persuade the jury to award Jerry J. O’Keefe the sum of $500 million dollars. (The Palm Beach Post, November 7, 1995)


In lieu of an onerous appeal, the Loewen Group agreed to settle the O’Keefe lawsuit for cash and stock valued at up to $175 million.  The settlement was smaller than an earlier $500 million dollar jury award that Loewen had said could have put the company out of business.  Ironically share values in the Lowen Group increased 40 percent after the settlement with O’Keefe was announced. The Canadian based company said the cash and stock settlement will be phased in over 20 years and carries an after-tax value of $85 million in 1995 dollars.

In his closing remarks to the jury at Jackson, Mississippi, Willie Gary said, “the workings of the jury system speak louder than any fancy words ever written by any speech or given by anybody……louder than the words of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. in his famous  ‘I have a Dream’ speech.  The system speaks.”  Mr. Gary and his Mississippi co-counsel were paid 40 percent for their efforts. (The Palm Beach Post, November 7, 1995)


The Riemann-O’Keefe competition continues as in February 2015, the Riemann Family Funeral Home made its boldest move into the Bradford-O’Keefe ‘homeland’ when it opened a funeral parlor in St. Martin on LeMoyne Boulevard.


Jerry J. O’Keefe-Mississippi House of Representatives-1960-1964

Following in his grandfather’s success in local politics as Jeremiah J. “Jerry” O’Keefe (1860-1911) served as an alderman in Ocean Springs, Jeremiah J. “Jerry” O’Keefe III in the summer of 1959 began his political career in his campaign to represent the people of Harrison County, Mississippi in the State House at Jackson.  O’Keefe’s opponent was incumbent Representative Daniel D. ‘Danny’ Guice.  Mr. Guice ran on the slogan “Re-Elect a Lawyer for a Lawyer’s Job”. 


Jerry O’Keefe was elected to the House and served his constituents well.  While in Jackson, he worked diligently for a local option liquor bill, which was narrowly defeated.  One of O’Keefe’s major successes resulted from his efforts to redistrict the legislature to provide substantially more representation for Harrison County.  He was confident that the Coast would get its local option liquor law—and other important rights, now that it would have adequate representation in Jackson.(Maureen O’Keefe Ward-May 2015)


Gulf National Life

In 1960 Jerry O”Keefe moved the main Bradford-O’Keefe funeral home to its present location on Howard Avenue in Biloxi.  Naming Audrey Murray President of Bradford-O’Keefe, Jerry delegated management of the funeral home operations so that he could focus in earnest on growing the life insurance division of his business.  He began to market the company’s legal reserve insurance to funeral homes throughout the state as an added means of coverage once their smaller limits had been met and or surpassed. At one point more than 100 funeral homes, owned by Caucasians and African Americans, were writing these policies and Gulf National Life became the largest provider of excess coverage statewide.  As with everyone else in the community, the funeral business experienced the wrath of Hurricane Camille in 1969, which also devastated the O’Keefe family residence on Beach Boulevard in Biloxi.(Maureen O’Keefe Ward-May 2015)


In the wake of Hurricane Camille’s widespread destruction, Jerry in late 1969, acquired two vacant lots on Biloxi’s Beach Boulevard between Lameuse Street and Delauney Street.   To spur redevelopment, he began construction of a three-story office building.  One of the O’Keefe lots had been former site of a popular skating rink owned by George E. Egeditch (1907-1987).  The Gulf National Life Building was completed in 1971 and served as the company’s headquarters.  The edifice also housed a number of smaller businesses and governmental agencies and the medical practice of Jerry’s brother, Dr. John Bernard O’Keefe (1925-2004).(Harrison Co., Mississippi 2nd JD Land Deed Bk. 10, p. 69 and Bk. 28, p. 139 and Maureen O’Keefe Ward-May 2015)


Jerry O’Keefe also maintained his strong interest in politics. In 1971, he persuaded his eldest son, Jeremiah J. ‘Jody’ O’Keefe IV (1946-2007), to run for the State Legislature.  Jody served two terms in the House of Representatives from 1971-1979.  Like his father earlier, Jody was named Outstanding Freshman Legislator.  In a bold move, Jody introduced horse racing legislation in January 1976.(Maureen O’Keefe Ward, May 2015 and The Daily Herald, January 28, 1976, p. B-1)


After Jody’s 2007 demise, the Mississippi State Legislature commended him for this, as well as the “notable, courageous vote” he had taken regarding civil rights, and his status as the only white legislator to stand with the newly formed black caucus.


Mayor of Biloxi from 1973-1981.

Jerry O’Keefe was elected Mayor of Biloxi in June 1973.  He had no opposition.  Mr. O’Keefe was elected with City Commissioners, Frank Barhanovich Jr. (b. 1943) and A.H. ‘Lank’ Patterson.


In his quest of his second term as Biloxi’s mayor, Jerry O’Keefe had three opponents in the May 1977 general election: H.L. Kent, Claude Morgan and Harry Viator.  He easily defeated his opposition garnering 4122 votes of the 6515 ballots cast in the May 10, 1977 election.  Only Mr. Kent’s supporters demonstrated any resolve in defeating O’Keefe, the incumbent, as they cast 2235 ballots for him.(The Daily Herald, May 11, 1977, p. A-1 and p. B-2)


Incumbent Jerry O’Keefe was elected with Frank Barhanovich Jr. and Dominic Fallo (1911-1996), who were chosen by the Biloxi’s electorate as their City Commissioners.  Also on the May 1977 election agenda was a referendum to increase the annual salary of the Mayor from $12,000 to $20,000 and raise the City Commissioner’s pay from $10,800 to $18,000.  The last time that Biloxi’s governing body had a pay increase was 1965.  The salary increase for Biloxi’s city officials was successful as the yeas said 3682 and the nays 2796.  Mayor O’Keefe commenting on the voters’ granting them a raise related: “Everyone likes to get a raise.” (The Daily Herald, May 8, 1977, p. D-1 and May 11, 1977, p. A-1)



The Daily Herald, “Lt. Jerry O’Keefe awarded DFC, Air Medal and Gold Star”, October 15, 1946.

The Daily Herald, “Open house for Lt. Jerry O’Keefe”, October 16, 1946.
The Daily Herald, “Dominic Fallo wins Commissioner’s post”, May 8, 1977, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Biloxi Commissioner’s in Tuesday’s runoff”, May 9, 1977, p. 1.

The Sun Herald, “O’ Keefe’s life is filled with service”, March 28, 1999, p. F2.





Gerald Henry Blessey was born on    1942 at Biloxi, Mississippi the son of Walter J. Blessey III (1913-1987) and Geraldine Ann Fountain.  Graduate Biloxi Sr. High School in 1960 and the University of Mississippi in 1964.  Attended the University of Mississippi Law School (1964-1967) and was elected Class I president in July 1964.  Harvard Law School. Married Rose Ann Joachim in July 1969 and Charlotte Paige Gutierrez in November 1984.(The Daily Herald, July 20, 1964, p. 16 and Harrison County, Mississippi 2nd JD Circuit Court MRB 1, p. 529 and 2nd JD Circuit Court MRB Bk. 29, p. 64)


Gerald H. Blessey served in the Republic of Vietnam in 1967-1968 with the US Army as a 1st Lieutenant.  He was assigned to the 55th Military Intelligence Detachment and in July 1968, he was awarded the Bronze Star with three citations for his excellence.(The Ocean Springs News, July 24, 1968, p. 1)


Representative Blessey

Gerald H. Blessey, a Democrat, served in the Mississippi State Legislature as Representative from District 1 from 1973 to 1981.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 18, 1973, p. 12)



Gerald H. Blessey, assistant to Mayor Jeremiah J. 'Jerry' O'Keefe III and counsel for Federal grant programs, resigned in September.(The Daily Herald, September 18, 1975)


Gerald H. Blessey was elected Mayor of Biloxi on June 23, 1981.  He soundly defeated Frank Barhanovich (b. 1943), a former City Commissioner.  Blessey's supporters gave him about 65% of the approximately 7700 votes cast.


1990 Extortion Trial

Gerald H. Blessey and Michael Cavanaugh, Biloxi lawyers and business partners from 1979-1983, were accused of conspiring to extort 25 per cent of the bond fee paid to Page, Mannino & Peresich, the Biloxi law firm hired by Blessey for the City of Biloxi's legal business when he was Mayor.  The prosecution averred that Page, Mannino & Peresich which were paid $2.8 million during Blessey's term as Mayor [1981-1989] and feared that it would lose the City's business if Mr. Cavanaugh were not paid.  The Government siad that Cavanaugh did no work for the $134,267  he is alleged to have extorted from the law firm.(The Sun Herald, March 20, 1990, p. A-1)


School Board Attorney

In March 2004, Superintendent Larry Drawdy was verbally attacked by Gerald H. Blessey, newly hired Biloxi newly elected School Board attorney, alleging that Mr. Drawdy had mismanaged the school district and had kept salient infomation from school board members.(The Sun Herald March 2, 2004, p. A1)





Ward I-Laz Quave (1910-1985)

Ward II-Michael L. Esters (1951-1983)

Michael Leverne Esters (1951-1983) was born on May 25, 1951 to Rehofus Esters and Barbara Carter Esters. He graduated from Notre Dame High School at Biloxi, Mississippi and attended Mississippi Gulf Coast Junior College and Clark College in Atlanta, Georgia. In April 1977, Michael married Gail Rose Tyler. They were the parents of Imari Esters, a son.(The Daily Herald, March 25, 1983, p. 2 and Harrison Co., Mississippi Circuit Court 2nd JD MRB 14, p. 525)

Michael L. Esters was employed by the City of Biloxi and was the first Black Councilman elected to the Biloxi city government. Michael was elected to represent the people of Ward II in 1981. He was killed in an automobile accident on March 24, 1983. Michael and his family were domiciled at 641 Fayard Street. They worshiped at our Mother of Sorrows Catholic Church on Division Street.(The Daily Herald, March 24, 1983, p. 1 and March 25, 1983, p. 2)

Esters Boulevard was named by the Biloxi City Council in ? to honor Michael L. Esters It runs eastward from Bohn Street to ? and was formerly called Railroad Street. 


Ward III-Lewis M. Langlinais (1945-2012)

Biloxi lost another son this week with the death of Lewis "Louie" Milton Langlinais (1945-2012) on September 23, 2012.   Louie “Louie” Langlinais was born July 4, 1945, and was a life-long resident of Biloxi.  He was preceded in death by his father Lewis V. Langlinais, a commercial fisherman, who taught Louie the value of hard work. He is survived by his loving wife of 45 years, Donna Winney Langlinais; two sons Michael Langlinais (Cathy) and Matthew Langlinais; mother Mandeline Langlinais, all of Biloxi. Sister, Frances McNabb (Don) of Ocean Springs, MS, six grandchildren Michael, Samantha, Ally, Jeffery, Tiffany and Shannon Langlinais, all of Biloxi.  

Louie was the owner of Beacon Insurance Services along with his wife Donna. He has been in the insurance business since 1968 and was a member of the Million Dollar Round Table.  He proudly served on Senator Trent Lott's staff for the MS Gulf Coast when Trent was a congressman and he served the city he loved as City Councilman from 1981 to 1985.

Louie was voted Outstanding Young Man in 1975 by the Chamber of Commerce, was a former American Heart Association President, Chairman of the Board of Directors for Gulf Coast Community Hospital, Knights of Columbus council #9409. As member of the Elks Lodge 606, Louie enjoyed playing Santa Claus for five years at the Crippled Children's Party which he chaired. He started power lifting at the age of fifty-five, winning numerous state and national titles. At the time of his death, he was a member of the prestigious Southern Elite Power Lifting Team. He had a very fond affection for everyone on his team and their accomplishments. Louie initiated Morning Call Coffee club while active in the Chamber of Commerce and this has also been adopted by neighboring cities. He was Chairman of President Gerald Ford's visit to the Gulf Coast in 1976. He and His family enjoyed having lunch with the President at Fisherman's Wharf during his visit. Louie enjoyed Mardi Gras serving as Duke of Gulf Coast Carnival Association, Charter Member and President of Le Badineurs and other Carnival Groups. He always enjoyed having friends & family on Mardi Gras for an open house at the office.

A Mass of Christian Burial will be at Our Lady of Fatima Catholic Church on Wednesday, Sept 26, 2012, at 2:30 p.m. where friends may visit from 12:00 p.m. until mass time. Interment will follow at Southern Memorial Park.

Ward IV-Mary Carpenter

Ward V-Roy Mattina

Ward VI-W.C. McManus                                                            

Ward VII-Margaret Joyce Smith Sherry (1929-1987)

Margaret Joyce Smith Sherry (1929-1987) was born in Mooringsport, Louisiana to Bernie W. Smith Sr. and Rubye Dyer Smith. She was the youngest of her two siblings: Bernie W. Smith Jr. (b. 1925) and Charles Raymond "Red' Smith (1926-2009) m. Ann Hall.  Margaret was reared in Bowling Green, Kentucky. She graduated from Western Kentucky State College and taught school. On November 22, 1950, Margaret married Vincent Jerome Sherry Jr. (1929-1989), a native of Brooklyn, New York. They were the parents of four children: Margaret Lynne Sherry (b. 1952) m. Richard Sposito; Vincent J. Sherry III; Eric Smith Sherry m. Marian Venetia Bailey; and Leslie Anne Sherry m. Benjamin D. Miller III.   Margaret Smith Sherry was active in politics on the Coast. She was elected to the Biloxi City Council; served as District V representative to the Harrison County Republican Executive Committee. Mrs. Sherry ran unsuccessfully for Mayor of Biloxi in 1985.  She was murdered with Judge Vincent J. Sherry Jr. (1929-1987) at their Biloxi home on September 16, 1987.

HUD hunters


Representative Blessey

Served in the Mississippi State Legislature as Representative from District 1   from    1973 .(The Ocean Springs Record, October 18, 1973, p. 12)



Edward Humes, Mississippi Mud, (Gallery Books: New York-1994), 434 pages. 

The Daily Herald, “Elect Blessey [president of Class I-Ole Miss Law School]”, July 20, 1964.

The Daily Herald, “Barhanovich, Blessey await the final verdict”, June 22, 1981.

The Daily Herald, “Blessey wins Mayor's race by landslide”, June 24, 1981.

The Daily Herald, “Winners”, June 24, 1981. 

The Daily Herald, “”,

The Daily Herald, “Esters”, March 25, 1983.

The Daily Herald, “Quave has change of heart, endorses Blessey”, March 22, 1985, p. A2.

The Daily Herald, “Blessey seeks land swap with lab in water front plan”, March 22, 1985, p. A5. 

The Ocean Springs News, “Bronze Star winner”, July 24, 1968, p. 1.

 The Ocean Springs Record, “Blessey to address Coast Sierra Club”,mOctober 18, 1973, p. 12.

The Ocean Springs Record, “Blessey-Capers trial also had entertainment value”, September 28, 1989, p. 1.

 The Ocean Springs Record, “”,

The Sun Herald, “Judge Vincent Sherry-Mrs. Margaret Sherry”, September 18, 1987, p. A4.

The Sun Herald, “Jurors hold Blessey's fate now”, March 20, 1990, p. A-1.

The Sun Herald, “Lewis Langlinais”, September 26, 2012.




Mayor of Biloxi from 1989-1993


Peter [Pete and Petesie]P. Halat Jr. [1942- ] was born at Biloxi on July 27, 1942 to Peter P. Halat and Louella Mary Gary.  He was reared up at 1150 East Howard Avenue in Biloxi.  Graduate Biloxi High School in May 1960.



Jackson School of Law.

Pete married Sandra Dees (b. 1944), daughter of Joseph P.  Dees and Dorothy Rita Eglin.  Children:  Sean Stefan McKinnon Halat m. Michelle Ann Holomon and Lynetta Marie Dobbins;



Began office in July 1989.



Edward Humes, Mississippi Mud, (Gallery Books: New York-1994), 434 pages. 

The Biloxi-d’Iberville Press, “Peter Halat enters Mayoral race”, November 16, 1988.

The Sun Herald, “The Sherry Murders: 20 years later-Still stunning-Biloxi’s most notorious murders revisited”, September 9, 2007, p. A1.

The Sun Herald, “FBI vet won 10-year fight”, September 9, 2007, p. A1.

The Sun Herald, “The Sherry Murders: 20 years later-Not the best sort of witness”, September 10, 2007, p. A1.

The Sun Herald, “House where Sherry's were murdered will be torn down”, September 26, 2010, p. A1.

The Sun Herald, "Halat released from halfway house", April 25, 2013, p. A1.



Mayor of Biloxi from 1993-2015.




[image made October  2007]


Andrew Joseph “A.J.” Holloway Jr. (1939-2018) was born at Biloxi, Mississippi on April 17, 1939, the son of A.J. Holloway (1919-1997) and Iris Gertrude Letort (1920-2015).  He attended public schools at Ocean Springs, Mississippi until 195? when he transferred to the Biloxi High public school system.  A.J. was an excellent athlete.  He was selected a member of an All-American football team in 1958 and was awarded a football scholarship to the University of Mississippi following his graduation from Biloxi High School in 1959.


A.J. Holloway married Miss Seymour and married Macklyn Janice Bond, the daughter of  Mr. and Mrs. S.E. Bond in Nativity BVM Catholic Church at Biloxi on December 22, 1961.( Harrison Co., Ms. MRB 120, p. 463)



A.J. Holloway, who oversaw an unprecedented number of quality-of-life improvements during his unprecedented 22 years as Biloxi's mayor, died early Tuesday morning, June 5, 2018. He was 79.


He was elected to the City Council in 1989 and elected mayor in 1993, 1997, 2001, 2005, 2009, and 2013, before resigning in 2015. 


Holloway became mayor a year after casino gaming was legalized. The industry re-energized the local economy, creating 15,000 jobs, generating $6 billion in development, boosting the number of annual visitors to the community from a million a year to between 8 and 10 million a year, and accounting for billions in new revenue.


And Holloway, long known as a fiscal conservative, tripled the size of the Biloxi Police and Fire departments (he called them the "best-trained, best-equipped and best-paid police and fire departments you'll find"), built a $10 million Lopez-Quave Public Safety Center and new fire stations in east Biloxi, north Biloxi and Eagle Point; abolished fees for youth sports leagues and oversaw the construction of the Donal M. Snyder Sr. Community Center, the renovation and expansion of the Biloxi Community Center, and the construction of an 80-acre sports complex in north Biloxi that would later bear his name.


"He was a force," Mayor Andrew "FoFo" Gilich said. "He was always in it, and that smile was infectious."


During Holloway's tenure, four new public schools were built, including a state-of-the-art high school, an $80 million investment in public education; tens of millions were invested in new municipal facilities such as police and fire stations, libraries, community centers, parks, playgrounds and ballfields; new roads were built and decades-old ones were rebuilt, a $35 million affordable housing initiative was undertaken in east Biloxi; and residents throughout the city saw their property tax rate drop by 50 percent.


The mayor also tapped into state and federal revenue for major projects. He and the late Delmar Robinson, whom Holloway had appointed years earlier as chairman of the Biloxi Housing Authority, worked with Sen. Trent Lott, then Senate Majority Leader, to establish the $35 million Hope VI affordable housing initiative in east Biloxi. The townhome developments replaced barracks-style housing that has been constructed generations earlier.


The mayor successfully lobbied then-Gov. Kirk Fordice to have the state transform the derelict Howard Memorial Hospital on Back Bay into the Department of Marine Resources and other state agencies. He also successfully lobbied the state for assistance on major road projects, such as the widening of Caillavet Street, which was part of a massive streets improvement project that saw the widening of Cedar Lake Road and Popp's Ferry Road, and the construction of Back Bay Boulevard.


As Biloxi entered the 21st Century, the city was enjoying the most prosperous time in its 300-year history - that is, until Aug. 29, 2005, when Hurricane Katrina, the worst natural disaster to ever strike the United States, decimated Biloxi and surrounding communities."It was our tsunami," Holloway said in a quote that was republished around the world.



Katrina claimed 6,000 of 25,000 homes and businesses in Biloxi, and more than 15,000 were left without jobs in the gaming industry alone.  Holloway's staunchly conservative nature and small-business upbringing were steadfast before and after the storm. The mayor's memory of the city's economic challenges before casino gaming arrived prompted him two months before the storm to invest $92,000 in a business-interruption insurance policy that captured $10 million in gaming revenue that would have been lost to the storm.  He marshaled city departments, used state and federal aid and went about the business of clearing the city of debris in the days after the storm and set about a long-term recovery program.  Six months after the storm, Holloway announced the "Reviving the Renaissance" initiative, prompting nearly 200 residents to step forward to help craft a blueprint to guide the city's rebuilding efforts in a way that recaptures the successes of the past.  Holloway, along the way, has stayed on message. In fact, a State of the City address he delivered to Biloxians in 2007 included a line from a State of the City message he had delivered in 2004, more than a year before Katrina.  Said Holloway in 2004 and again in 2007: "Future generations are going to look back on this chapter in our history as a time when we made the right decisions, when we cherished and protected our culture, and we did things to improve and enhance our quality of life. They're going to see this as an historic time."  Added the mayor: "We were on the right track before this storm, and we're going to stay on the right track. The people of Biloxi have a unique opportunity. We are in the midst of something most people can only dream of. We were making history before this storm, and we stand poised to make history again. Imagine that. Some people are lucky to be a part of history once in their lifetime. We have the chance to be part of history TWICE in our lifetime."


The challenges of a post-Katrina Biloxi may define Holloway's public service career, which began with the Biloxi Public Schools, where he served as business manager for six years. He also served at the Mississippi Tax Commission for 12 years and attained the post of senior revenue agent. He was later elected to the Biloxi City Council serving one term before being elected mayor of Biloxi in 1993.


Holloway was a high school football hero, a fierce competitor on the field, and was later said to have thrown a punch that led to the longtime cancellation of the Biloxi-Gulfport football rivalry.  "He was a legend," Gilich said. "One of my first memories was playing football with his brother Donnie. I remember like it was yesterday. I thought 'I'm playing football with A.J. Holloway's brother. Then there was that ballgame with Gulfport. The whole town was like 'All the Way Holloway.'  "He was a legend in so many ways."


Holloway parlayed his high school year into a scholarship at the University of Mississippi, where he earned a bachelor's degree in education. At the same time, he excelled in athletics, having played in two Sugar Bowls and a Cotton Bowl while at Ole Miss and on the 1960 Rebels national championship football team (future U.S. Senators Trent Lott and Thad Cochran of Mississippi were cheerleaders for the team). Holloway brought that winning spirit to City Hall as councilman and later as mayor, promising fiscally conservative leadership and responsible government.

He was preceded in death by his parents, Andrew Joseph, Sr. and Iris Letort Holloway.


Holloway’s survivors include his wife of 56 years, Macklyn Holloway; his children, Heather Holloway and her husband John Radicia and Jeff Holloway; his grandchildren, Destin Holloway, Jordan Holloway, Hannah Radicia and Abigail Radicia; his sister, Dale Steckler; and brothers, Donnie Holloway and Kenny Holloway.


The family wishes to extend a special thanks to Kare In Home Hospice, especially Patricia Reddix for the special care provided for Holloway.

A Mass of Christian Burial will be held at Nativity BVM Cathedral on Friday, June 8, 2018 at 12:00 pm. Friends may visit from 9:30 am until mass time. Entombment will follow at Southern Memorial Park.

The Howard Avenue Chapel of Bradford-O’Keefe Funeral Home is in charge of arrangements.





City Council

Installed on July 6, 1993-Tullos-Toledano Manor

Tom Ferrill

Eric E. Dickey

James N. Compton

Russell T. Bistle

Dianne G. Harenski

Tom Wall

Mickey J. Bellande Sr.



City Council



City Council



James N. Compton, Ward III alderman, resigned on June 22, 2004.  A special election on July 27, 2004 saw Arlene Canaan defeat Walter Blessey and Mike Hutter.(The Sun Herald, June 23, 2004, p. A9 and July     , 2004, p.  )

James N. Compton replaced by Arlene Canaan in Special Election on July 27, 2004.


City Council

George Lawrence

William Stallworth

Charles T. Harrison

William Michael 'Mike' Fitzpartick (1938-2010)

Tom Wall

Edward Gemmill

David Fayard

David Fayard (b. 1954) was a 1972 graduate of D'Iberville High School.  He retired from the Biloxi Fire Department after 25 years of service.  Ran for Ward 7 Councilman on the Republican ticket.




George Lawrence

William Stallworth

Lucy C. Denton

William Michael 'Mike' Fitzpartick (1938-2010)

Tom Wall*

Edward Gemmill

David Fayard

* Tom Wall died on    2013 and Arlene Wall, his wife, was appointed to his post.





Andrew M. Gillich Jr.

Mayor of Biloxi 2015-