Physicians, Dentists and Nurses








Lillie D. Bell Murray (1863-1887) expired at Ship Island on  August 16, 1887.  She was the spouse of Dr. R.D. Murray of the US Marine Hospital Service and in charge of the quarantine station on Ship  Island.  She left 5 young children to her husband.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, August 12, 1887)



In January, Dr. Robert Drake Murray, native of Ohlton, Ohio,  was ordered by the US Marine Hospital Service to Key West, Florida as his service at Ship Island quarantine station had expired.  He died at Laredo, Texas on November 22, 1903.(The Biloxi Herald, January 21, 1888, p. 8)



Dr. Hyman M. Folkes came to the Coast from Jackson, Mississippi to become the Quarantine Officer at Ship Island.(The Biloxi Herald, May 22, 1897, p.8)



The Biloxi Sanatorium was chartered in Mississippi in June 1902 by Dr. H.M. Folkes, Laz Lopez, W.K.M. Dukate, Harry T. Howard (1856-1930), Judge James H. Nevlle (1852-1919), and Dr. M. Lyle. Talbot (1874-1937). Its purpose was the treatment and care of the sick and disabled. The Biloxi Sanatorium proposed to have a department for marine patients as well as regular patients. The charter for the Biloxi Sanatorium was amended in January 1903 in order “to have the power and authority to open and maintain a school for training nurses and awarding diplomas.”(Harrison Co., Mississippi Chattel Deed Bk. 5, p. 73 and Bk. 419 and The Biloxi Daily Herald, June 22,1902, p. 8 and July 5, 1902, p. 2)



Dr. H.M. Folkes advertised as president of ‘The Biloxi Marine Hospital’, (The Biloxi Daily Herald, March 30, 1903, p. 6)



In October 1907, Miss Minnie Boykin, Christian Missionary from Ellisville, Mississippi, was working with the poor, laboring people of Biloxi under the aegis of the Women's Home Missionary of the Methodist Conference.  She established the City Missiona clinic on Oak Street near Howard Avenue, and a Sunday School at 1015 Anglado Alley near the Biloxi  Canning Company on Back Bay.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, September 28, 1907, p. 1 and February 13, 1908,  p. 1)



The Biloxi Charity Hospital was founded February 28, 1908 in a cottage at 1212 East Howard Avenue.  It was rented and temporarily converted into Biloxi’s first public hospital.  Officers of the organization were: Mrs. C.F. Carroll, president; Miss Rena Picard, vice-pres.; Mrs. E.C. Tonsmeire, recording secretary; Charles W. Wachenfeld, treasurer; and Dr. H.M. Folkes, officer in general.  Board of Directors: Julia Dulion Lopez, chairman; Mrs. Lyman Bradford; Mrs. P. Yurgensen; Miss Florence Crofton; Miss Ada Swan; C.W. Wachenfeld. W.O. Talbot; Elbert L. Dukate; and D.L. Mitchel.( The Biloxi Daily Herald, February 28, 1908, p. 1)


Charter members of the Biloxi Charity Hospital were: Julia Dulion Lopez; H.M. Folkes; E.C. Tonsmeire; Henry Eikel; G.F. Carroll; W.O. Talbot; W.S. McIntyre; P. Yurgensen; Joseph Ott; A. Yancey; R.L. Hoover; Lyman Bradford; J.E. Greene; E.J. Mitchel; A.E. Smith; Joe Cousins; Amelia Cousins; L.S. Jackson; E. Barry; O.G. Swetman; T. Hoxie; E.T. Iler; Maloney; and Youngblood; Miss Ada Swan; Miss Ada Wallace; Miss Belle Gordon; Miss Josephine Folkes; Miss Anna Folkes; Elsie Maxwell; Miss Alma McKinley; Miss Minnie Boykin; E. Jordan; Miss Inez Hall; Reverend M.L. Burton; Reverend J.W. Dawson; H.M. Folkes; C.W. Wachenfeld; G.F. Carroll; W.F. Swan; Edward Glennan; J.C. Clower; O.G. Swetman; Lopez & Dukate; W.J. Grant; Joseph Rusk; D.L. Mitchel; E.C. Tonsmeire; W.O. Talbot; Elbert L. Dukate; John J. Kennedy; Edward C. Joullian; D.A. Baltar; Henry Eikel Jr.; Brantley A. Bond; Victor Simonich; L. Gill; Mr. and Mrs. Julius M. Lopez;  Mr. and Mrs. Edward Brady; E.C. Emanuel; George Swan; W.W. Baltar; J.A. D’Aquin; J.B. Chinn; Federal Café; J.W. Swetman; E.W. McCrary; T.P. McCrary’ B.E. Pfeiffer; J.B. Combel; Corso Brothers & Company; J.G. Cohoe; and D’Aquin & Prieur.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, February 28, 1908, p. 1 and October 25, 1919, p. 8)


The Biloxi Charity Hospital was chartered in October 1908 by Dr. H.M. Folkes, Mrs. S.F. Carroll, Julia Dulion Lopez, Erena Lopez Brady and Julius M. Lopez.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November7, 1908, p. 10)



Dr. T.B. Harrison, formerly of Charleston, Mississippi has opened the Harrison Sanitarium at East Beach and Kuhn Street.  He treats alcoholism, drug, cigarette and tobacco addictions.  A 12-page booklet has been printed by the Herald Printery about his practice.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, May 8, 1909, p. 8)



Dr. H.M. Folkes has completed arrangements for the transformation of his hospital work under the name of Biloxi Sanitarium.  He will receive patients with acute illness and perform surgical procedures.(The Daily Herald, Jul6, 6, 1909, p. 4)


In January 1913, Dr. Folkes hosted the Harrison County Medical Association at his sanitarium. Coast physicians attending were: Dr. R.L. White, Dr. G.F. Carroll, and Dr. H.M. Folkes of Biloxi; Dr. A.L. Morris, Dr. A.C. Caraway, Dr. C.A. Sheely, Dr. D.J. Williams, Dr. E.C. Parker, and Dr. H.H. West of Gulfport; Dr. W.A. Dearman and Dr. D.G. Mohler of Long Beach; Dr. B.Z. Welch of Woolmarket; Dr. G.A. McHenry of McHenry; and Dr. J.P. Berry of Jackson.(The Daily Herald, January 8, 1913, p. 1)







The Biloxi City Hospital was incorporated on October 18, 1920 by John J. Kennedy, E.C. Tonsmeire, William L. Guice, B.Z Welch, George W. Wallace and J.O. Pratt.  The purpose was to own operate, and control a hospital and sanatorium for the medical treatment of the sick and suffering people of Harrison County and treating free those indigents unable to pay.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Chattel Deed Bk. 27, p. 17)



The new, $125,000, sixty-bed, Biloxi Hospital on East Beach was dedicated July 3rd.  The old hospital, the former Harry T. Howard residence, was demolished in late May.(The Daily Herald, July 2, 1929, p. 1 and May 28, 1929, p. 2)



In mid-March, the Mayo brothers, Dr. W.J. Mayo (1861-1939) and Dr. C.H. Mayo (1865-1939), were in Biloxi with their large yacht, which had been stored at Lockport, Louisiana for the winter, and moored at the Deweiler Pier on East Beach for a one week sojoun.  They entertained the following doctors and spouses and nurses from the medical community with a trip up Back Bay: Dr. J.F. Detweiler; Dr. P.E. Werlein; Dr. D.L. Hollis; Dr. B.Z. Welch; Dr. G.F. Carroll; Dr. E.A. Trudeau; Dr. W.W. Eley; Dr.C.G. McEachern; Inez Ramsay; Cora Westbrook; Katherine White-Spunner; Doris Trochesset; Hazel O'Regan; and Jeanne DuRocher.  The Mayo brothers were enroute to Flordia.(The Daily Herald, March 16, 1932, p. 2)


A new junior quadrex x-ray generator has been installed in the Biloxi Hospital.(The Daily Herald, November 16, 1932, p. 2)        



Miss Katherine White-Spunner left Biloxi for Spring Hill, Alabama.  She will be the new superintendent of the Mobile Infirmary.  Miss Sue Collins is now in charge of the Biloxi Hospital and is assisted by Alice Spier.  Miss Collins, a graduate of Hotel Dieu, and very qualified while Miss Spier is a recent Biloxi Hospital graduate and has been successful in her work.(The Daily Herald, July 4, 1933, p. 2)



The Biloxi Hospital Staff Incorporated was formed in September 1935 by Dr. Daniel L. Hollis; Dr. B.Z. Welch; and Dr. Frank Oliver Schmidt.  The objectives of the organization were to promote a better understanding and relationship between physicians and surgeons practices at the Biloxi Hospital and to promote ethics of the medical profession.  The handling of charity cases arriving at the Biloxi Hospital was also a consideration.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Chattel Deed Bk. 66, p. 174)


A bronze tablet at the Biloxi Hospital was dedicated to the memory of Captain and Mrs. John H. Miller.  An endowment from Captain Miller was received by the hospital board in a most needy time.  John J. Kennedy, district deputy Grand Exalted Ruler of the Elks, spoke at the event and was introduced by Frank Bowes, pres. of the Biloxi Hospital association.(The Daily Herald, October 31, 1935, p. 1)


John Henry Miller (1847-1928) born December 14, 1847 at Paulding, Jasper County, Mississippi.  During the Civil War, he enlisted in ‘The Jasper Grays’, Company F of the 16th Mississippi Regiment serving three year as a Lieutenant Robert E.  Lee’s Army of Northern Virginia.  Returning from the conflict, he married Alice Sophie Miller (1852-1916) circa 1871, and they were childless. During and post-Reconstruction, J.H. Miller was a newspaper man. (The Biloxi Daily Herald, 1902, p. 52)


Captain John H. Miller (1847-1928) assumed editorial control of The Biloxi Herald on October 31, 1896 from George W. Wilkes (1854-1915).  Captain Miller left the journal on May 1, 1898 when the co-partnership, G.W. Wilkes & Company, was dissolved leaving G.W. Wiles sole owner of The Biloxi Herald.(The Biloxi Herald, June 11, 1898, p. 1 and The Daily Herald, April 23, 1928, p. 2)


In 1900, at Biloxi, the Millers lived on Front Street near the Carraway family.  John H. Miller was manager of the Biloxi Real Estate and Loan Agency and was also on the board of trustees of the Industrial Institute and College at Columbus, Mississippi.  Alice S. Miller expired at Biloxi on October 10, 1916.  He died April 21, 1928.(1900 Harrison County, Mississippi Federal Census )



Celestine K. Pratt (1899-1988), native of Mobile, Alabama was named superintendent of the Biloxi Hospital.  Miss Pratt replaced Willie Lee Davis.



Dr. James Alden Graves (1913-2000) and family came to Biloxi to practice medicine in August.(The Daily Herald, September 2, 1939, p. 2)



The reorganization of the Biloxi Hospital Board and Hospital staff resulted in the election of John J. Kennedy as Hospital Board president and Dr. Presley E. Werlein president of the Biloxi Hospital staff.  Doctors with hospital privileges were: Daniel L. Hollis, Eldon Bolton, James Wallace, Joseph Kuljis, Felix J. Harrell, James A. Graves, D. B. ‘Ben’ Martinez (1898-1948), George Wallace, Frank E. Schmidt; Braxton B. O’ Mara, Reginald F. Annis (1878-1954), and P.E. Werlein.(The Daily Herald, October 4, 1940, p. 6)



The Coast Counties Medical Society was formed in May by medical doctors: D.L. Hollis, R.W. Burnett, J.J. Carter, J.A. Graves, F.J. Harrell, Joseph Kuljis, D.B. ‘Ben’ Martinez, B.B. O’Mara, James E. Wallace, George W. Wallace, B.Z. Welch, and P.E. Werlein.(The Daily Herald, May 26, 1941, p. 10)

Miss Celestine K. Pratt (1899-1988) resigned her position as head of the Biloxi Hospital.  She had been at Biloxi since August 1936 and replaced Willie Lee Davis in 1937.(The Daily Herald, October 31, 1941, p. 6)



On January 1, 1942, the Sisters of St. Francis of Glen Riddle, Pennsylvania began operating the Biloxi Hospital following the resignation of Miss Celestine Pratt who will return to her home at Mobile.  The nursing school will continue as usual. This Holy Order was founded at Philadelphia in 1855 and the Sisters of St. Francis direct homes for the aged, orphanages, schools, and hospitals in Pennsylvania, Maryland, New Jersey, Rhode Island, Washington, Delaware and Washington D.C.(The Daily Herald, December 31, 1941, p. 1)



On May 26, 1943, ground was broken for a new, 50-bed addition to the Biloxi Hospital and the erection of a new nurses home.  These projects were expected to cost $85,000.  The Biloxi Hospital Board provided $12,000 while the Federal Government through the FWA appropriated $73,000.



The new nurses home was dedicated on March 12th.  It had 22 sleeping rooms and lodging for student nurses, anesthetist and five nuns.(The Daily Herald, March 8, 1944, p. 7)



Mayor Laz Quave appointed a commission composed of U.S. Fayard, I.D. Gehr, Vester Wentzell, W.F. ‘Bill’ Hubbell and Joe Scholtes to determine the status of the hospital, ownership, and operational efficiency.  It reported and recommended in early March that Biloxi file a civil suit to restore legal ownership of the hospital to the citizens of Biloxi.  Incorporated as the ‘New Biloxi Hospital’.(The Daily Herald, March 2, 1954, p. 1)


Dr. Wallace Steve Sekul (1922-1994), pediatrician, opened his Biloxi office at 506 Forrest Avenue in October 1954.  He came to Biloxi from the John Gaston Hospital at Memphis, Tennessee.(The Daily Herald, October 4, 1954, p. 9)



The Howard Memorial Hospital was dedicated on March 17, 1963.  It was a 150-patient, bed structure designed by Landry and Matthes of Hattiesburg, Mississippi costing $2.5 million.[The Daily Herald, March 16, 1963, p. 20]


[The Daily Herald, November 23, 1963, p. 28]



The Women's Auxiliary to the Mississippi State Medical Association celebrated its 50th anniversary on May 1st at 105th annual session of the Mississippi State Medical Association in Biloxi.  The Women's group was founded May 1923 at the annual convention in Vicksburg.(The Daily Herald, May 2, 1973, p. 2)



Dr. William Pontius of Ocean Springs was elected Chief of Staff of the Biloxi Regional Medical Center in December.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 10, 1981, p. 3)






The Biloxi Herald, ‘Local City News’, May 22, 1897.



The Biloxi Daily Herald, ‘Charter of Incorporation of the Biloxi Sanatorium’, June 22, 1902.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, ‘Biloxi Marine Hospital’, March 30, 1903.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, ‘Biloxi Charity Hospital organized’ February 28, 1908.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, ‘’, March 17, 1908.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, ‘Charity Hospital gets Charter’, November 7, 1908.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, ‘City News’, May 8, 1909.



The Daily Herald, ‘

The Daily Herald, ‘Biloxi Hospital is out of debt’, January 11, 1913.

The Daily Herald, ‘

The Daily Herald, ‘Biloxi Hospital Association meets’, May 30, 1919.

The Daily Herald, ‘Hospital buys H. Howard place’, June 21, 1919.

The Daily Herald, ‘Will continue hospital work', July 6, 1910, p. 4.

The Daily Herald, ‘Hospital open to visitors July 16’, July 14, 1919.

The Daily Herald, ‘Biloxi Hospital excellent place’, October 2, 1919.

The Daily Herald, ‘Noted improvements at [Biloxi] Hospital’, October 22, 1919.

The Daily Herald, ‘Early history of Biloxi Hospitals’, October 25, 1919.

The Daily Herald, ‘Organizations donate handsomely’, October 31, 1919.

The Daily Herald, ‘



The Daily Herald, ‘

The Daily Herald, ‘

The Daily Herald, ‘

The Daily Herald, ‘

The Daily Herald, ‘

The Daily Herald, ‘

The Daily Herald, ‘

The Daily Herald, ‘Razing old hospital’, May 28, 1929.

The Daily Herald, ‘Will dedicate new $125,000 hospital tomorrow’, July 2, 1929.



The Daily Herald, ‘

The Daily Herald, ‘

The Daily Herald, ‘Latest design in X-Ray is installed at Biloxi Hospital’, November 16, 1932.

The Daily Herald, ‘Miss White-Spunner leaves’, July 4, 1933.

The Daily Herald, ‘Bronze tablet is dedicated’, October 31, 1953.



The Daily Herald, ‘Werlein heads Hospital Board-Staff group’, October 4, 1940.

The Daily Herald, ‘Coast Counties Medical Society’, May 26, 1941, p. 10.

The Daily Herald, ‘New Superintendent’, July 8, 1941.

The Daily Herald, ‘Miss Pratt resigns as hospital head’, October 31, 1941.

The Daily Herald, ‘Sisters assume operation of Biloxi Hospital’, December 31, 1941.

The Daily Herald, ‘Ground breaking for Hospital Annex Wednesday at 2 p.m.’, May 24, 1943.

The Daily Herald, ‘Break ground for addition to Biloxi Hospital’, May 27, 1943.

The Daily Herald, ‘Breaks ground for new hospital addition’, June 1, 1943.

The Daily Herald, ‘Nurses home to be dedicated Sunday’, March 8, 1944.

The Daily Herald, ‘

The Daily Herald, ‘



The Daily Herald, ‘City of Biloxi studies status Biloxi Hospital’ March 2, 1954.

The Daily Herald, ‘

The Daily Herald, ‘



The Daily Herald, ‘Award $2 million contracts for Biloxi Hospital: construction to require 600 calendar days’, March 10, 1961.

The Daily Herald, ‘Biloxi officially opens new Memorial Hospital’, March 21, 1963.

The Daily Herald, ‘New Biloxi Hospital’, November 26, 1964.

The Daily Herald, ‘



J.A. Aldrich, M.D.-physician and surgeon

Reginald Francis Annis (1878-1954)

Alney Austin (1879-1934)-dentist

William X. Blender Jr. (1911-1989)-opthamologist

H.C. Bloodworth-dentist

Horatio Roberson Bohn (1869-1901)

Eldon L. Bolton (1910-1990)

Walter T. Bolton (1859-1923)

Edward R. Bragg (1862-1916)

Grace E. Bullas (1873-1918)

Riley T. Burnett (1891-1973)

Vito Joseph Canizaro (1907-1954)

George Franklin Carroll (1884-1962)

Antoine Castaned (

A. Parker Champlin (1839-1897)-1890

Florence Crofton Duncan (1871-1952), nurse

William W. Eley (1875-1944)-doctor

Carl Eggers (1858-1953)-dentist

Robert J. Eustice (1925-2010)-dentist

Anthony Ferrer (1869-1952)-chiropractor

H.M. Folkes (1871-1926)-physician and surgeon

Frank G. Garbin Sr. (1929-2018)-physician

V. Girardin-Physician, surgeon, occulist, etc.

J.A. Graves (1913-2000)-physician

Walter  J. Greaves (1857-1946)-physician & surgeon

Frank G. Gruich (1920-2007)-Physican

Percy T. Haslitt (1880-1969)

Daniel L. Hollis (1893-1975)

Lewis Hood (1884-1947)

Thomas Osbourne Hunter (1868-1914)

Abasolom Jackson II (1841-1925)-dentist

Solomon E. Johnson (1888-1951)-dentist

Dr. Frank Dudley Jones (1907-1985)

Henry Krauss-[in Biloxi in 1932] chiropodist and foot surgeon

Joseph Kuljis (1908-1988)  

Malcolm Latour (1933-2011)

James J. Lemon (1825-1915)-physician, surgeon and druggist

Adolphe Paul Levesque (1848-1892)-physician and druggist

Diego Benigno Martinez (1898-1948)

Gilbert R. Mason (1928-2006)

Dr.  McCoy, M.O.C.-1902 Veterinarian-Smith’s Stable

W.P. McMillan, M.D.-1895

J.P. Melvin, dentist 

R.M. Murphy-1903

Braxton Bragg O’Mara (1896-1969)

R.M. Murphy-1903

Daniel A. Nash (1858-1904)-dentist and Mayor of Biloxi from 1899-1900.

John B. O'Keefe (1925-2004)

Charles A. Pelaez (1839-1894)

Cornelius A. Rice (1834-1897)-physician and surgeon-1895

Ethan A. Riggs (1861-1903)


Albert Brown Russ (1888-1953)-dentist

Roderick Seal Russ(1882-1965)-dentist

Peter J. Pavlov Jr. (1919-2012)-dentist

Stephen 'Chick' Pital0-dentist

W. Saucier-dental surgeon-1895

Harry Johnson Schmidt (1905-1997)

Harry J. Schmidt II (1936-2013)

Richard Schmidt 

Robert J. Schmidt (1937-2000)

Wallace Steve Sekul (1922-1994)

Llwellyn 'Lel' J. Smith (1910-1991)-dentist

Maurice Augustus Taquino(1925-2006)-Gulf Coast Medical Center-1976

M. Lyle Talbot (1874-1937)-ShipIsland-1900.  Joined H.M. Folkes in August 1902.

William O. Talbot (1873-1952)-dentist.  Died at Fort Worth, Texas.

William A. Tisdale (1920-2003)

Eugene A. Trudeau (1897-1970)

Adalbert L. Vlazny (1916-2000)-dentist.  Died at Lisle, Illinois in April 2000.

Ferdinand J. Vlazney (b. 1919)

George W. Wallace (1874-1960)-physician and surgeon

James Edward Wallace (1877-1942)-physician and surgeon

Benton Z. Welch (1878-1968)

Presley Ewing Werlein (1891-1971) 


Joseph A. Aldrich

From his advertisements in The Biloxi Herald, Dr. Joseph A. Aldrich was at Biloxi as early as October 1886.  He had married Martha Helen Parkhurst Smith (1829-1913). 


Physician and Surgeon-Biloxi, Mississippi

Office at residence west side Lameuse street between Water Street and the Beach.

[The Biloxi Herald, January 14, 1888, p. 4]


The Biloxi Herald, 'Dr. J.A. Aldrich, M.D. [advertsiement]', January 14, 1888, p. 4.




[Biloxi Cemetery-6th Addition]

Dr. Alney Austin


Alney Austin (1879-1934) was born December 18, 1879 at Calhoun, McClean County, Kentucky and came to Biloxi to from Corinth, Mississippi practice dentistry in September 1917.  His office in the Gay Building [now Peoples Bank] was equipped with the latest and modern dental equipment.  The Alney family was in residence on East Howard Avenue at this time.(The Daily Herald, september 20, 1917, p. 3)

Alney Austin married Eula Birdie Wallace (1879-1954) on August 5, 1910 in Covington, County, Mississippi. Eula was the sister of Dr. George Wallace (1874-1960) and Dr. James E. Wallace (1876-1942), both Biloxi physicians and surgeons.  The Alneys were the parents of Alney Wallace Austin (1913-1962) m. Ella Virginia Boone (1915-1999).

Dr. Austin was a graduate of the Tulane School of Dentistry and had once been in the lumber business in Central Mississippi.  In 1900, he was still in his native Kentucky working as a salesman in a dry goods store at Vienna, Kentucky.  Alney Austin had risen from poverty in his youth to achieve his ambitions with his native intelligence and consistent work ethnic.

Alney Austin was prominently identified with the Biloxi Lodge of Masons.  He had been a Mason since 1907 and became affiliated with Magnolia Lodge No. 120 at Biloxi in 1925 transferring his memebrship from Mt. Olive, Mississippi. At the time of his demise, Alney Austin was worshipful master of the Biloxi Mason Lodge and is believed to have been the first worshipful master of the Biloxi Lodge to have died in office.  He had been elected to every office in the Biloxi Lodge except secretary and tyler.  Alney had been high priest of the Biloxi Chapter No. 116 R.A.M. and served two terms as illustrious master of the Alexander Council No. 14, R.  & S.M.  In addition, Dr. Alney was a member of the Biloxi Chamber of Commerce, Kiwanis Club, and was prominently identified with the Harrison County Taxpayers' League.

In December 1921, Dr. Austin under the auspices of the Mother's Club of the Howard Primary School introduced a dental clinic to appraise the oral health of the students.  He was assisted by Dr. Roderick Seal Russ; Dr. Albert Brown Russ (1888-1953); Dr. M.R. Mosley; and Dr. H.C. Bloodworth.  The dentists gave freely of their time and services evaluating the teeth of the school children for cleaning, extraction, filling, and irregularities.(The Daily Herald, December 8, 1921, p. 3 and December 13, 1921, p. 2)

Eula Wallace Austin was born at Natchitoches, Louisiana.  She died on April 6, 1954 at the Keesler Air Force Base Hospital where she had been a patient for more than two months.  Mrs. Austin was survived by Captain Alney Austin (1913-1962), her son, who had recently been assigned to KAFB from Albuquerque, New Mexico; three grandchildren; two brothers, Dr. George Wallace, Biloxi and Dr. Bruce Wallace, Alexandria, Louisiana; and Mrs. Dora Smith of LeCompte, Louisiana.(The Daily Herald, April 7, 1954, p. 20)



The Daily Herald, "Biloxi Local News Paragraphs of Interest", September 20, 1917.

The Daily Herald, "School children's teeth", December 8, 1921.

The Daily Herald, "Howard Primary [School] has dental clinic", December 13, 1921.

The Daily Herald, "Dr. Austin dies of heart ailment", February 12, 1934.

The Daily Herald, "Dr. Austin buried with Masonic honors", February 13, 1934.

The Daily Herald, "Mrs. Austin dies", April 7, 1954.


William X. Blender


William Xavier Blender Jr. (1911-1989) was born July 19, 1911 at Peoria, Illinois, the son of Dr. William X. Blender Sr.  (1883-1956) and Meda May Klotz (1882-1965).  William X. Blender married Velma Rolando (1916-1969), a native of Gillespie, Macouin Couty, Illinois.  In July 1951, the Blenders came to Biloxi for Dr. Blender to practice opthamology and eye surgery in the Barq's Building Room 218.  The Blender family settled at Gulf Hills, a resort community, north of Ocean Springs, Mississippi.(The Daily Herald, July 14, 1951, p. 2)

Dr. Blender graduated from Bradley University in 1934 and received his medical degree from the St. Louis University school of medicine in 1938.  His intership was also in St. Louis at St. John Hospital.  Dr. Blender practiced general medicine and surgery at Peoria, Illinois from 1939 until 1942 when he entered the US Navy returning to Peoria, Illinois in May 1944 to continue his medical practice until 1948.  At this time, Dr. Blender went to the Tulane University at New Olreans and took a 10-month basic course in opthamology followed by two years of residency in opthamolgy at the E.E.N.T. Hospital in Nola, Wisconsin.(The Daily Herald, July 14, 1951, p. 2)

By August 1952, the Blenders had returned to Peoria, Illinois.  A son had been born at Biloxi, Mississippi on January 25, 1952 to join his older siblings: Barbara Blender, William Blender, and Charles Blender.(The Peoria Journal, January 29, 1952, p. A9)

Dr. Blender expired at Peoria, Illinois on May 4, 1989.  Velma Rolando Blender had died earlier at Peoria, Illinois in 1969.  No further information.



The Daily Herald, "Dr. Blender opens office", July 14, 1951, p. 2.

The Peoria [Illinois] Journal, "4th Child", January 29, 1952.

The Peoria [Illinois] Journal, "Dr. Blender back to practice here", August 20, 1952.



Dr. H. Roberson Bohn

Dr. H. Roberson Bohn (1869-1901) was born at New Orleans on March 2, 1869, the son of Augustus Bohn (1830-1897), a native of Neuchatel, Switzerland and Lucille W. Hills (1838-1927), a native of Tennessee, at New Orleans.  The Augustus Bohn family resided at 91 Esplanade where they reared eight children of which  five of their progeny survived into the 20th Century: Nita Bohn (1859-1928) m. G. Otto Weber (1847-1901); Leila Bohn (1849-1944) m. Edward A. Ferguson; Lucille W. Bohn (1864-1957) m. Alfred Barre Gillis (1855-1914); Augustus Bohn II (1866-1896); Dr. H. Roberson Bohn (1869-1901) m. Louise McNeil Kennedy (1854-1920), the widow of Thomas S. Kennedy; Ulrich Bohn (1870-1873); Sue Hill Bohn (1872-1874); and Fergus Bohn (1878-1928).

H.R. Bohn was an 1888 graduate of Sewanee College and entered the Medical Department of Tulane College in 1890,where he completed his medical studies in 1894.  He worked at Charity Hospital in New Orleans and decided to open an office at his Biloxi residence in August 1897.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 9, 1901, p. 1 and The Biloxi Herald, August 7, 1897, p. 8)

At Biloxi, the Bohn residence was at 806 West Beach and became known as the Gillis House in later years, when Lucille Bohn Gillis (1864-1957), his sister, and wife of Alfred Barre Gillis (1855-1914), inherited it in 1928 and lived here until her demise.  Dr. Bohn advertised in The Biloxi Herald in August 1897 as follows:

H.R. Bohn

Physician and Surgeon

Biloxi, Mississippi

Residence on Beach 3 doors from Couevas Street



The Biloxi Herald,“Death of Auguste Bohn”, March 13, 1897.

The Biloxi Herald,“Local City News”, August 7, 1897.

The Biloxi Daily Herald,“Dr. H.R. Bohn”, November 9, 1901.

The Biloxi Daily Herald,“City News [Dr. H.R. Bohn’s obituary], November 10, 1901.

The Daily Herald, “Former Biloxi resident [Louise McNeil Bohn] dead”, July 31, 1920.



Eldon Langston Bolton (1910-1990) was born January 11, 1910 at Biloxi.  In Harrison County, Mississippi on May 23, 1936, he married Carolyn Howard McKellar (1913-1996), a native of Memphis, Tennessee and the daughter of H. Clinton McKellar and Mrs. McKellar.  Eldon and Mama ‘B’, as Mrs. Bolton was known, were the parents of four children:  Eldon L. Bolton Jr. m. Priscilla Ann Ober in July 1958; Carolyn McKellar Bolton m. Robert Lee Cox in June 1960; Clinton McKellar Bolton (1944-1997) m. Sharon E. Robinson in August 1966 and Karen Joyce DeGeorge in November 1975; Walter T. Bolton m. Patricia Ann Tynes in September 1969 and Laura Ann Ederer in July 1981.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Corcuit Court MRB 47, p. 33)

Like his father, Eldon L.  Bolton practiced medicine at Biloxi.  For fifty-six years, he devoted his life to the health and welfare of the denizens of Biloxi.  Dr. Bolton worked with Dr. Trudeau and Dr. Middleton and operated his clinic on the southwest corner of  Lameuse Street and Washington, now M.L. King Jr.

Eldon Bolton graduated from the Seashore Campground School, Millsaps College, Vanderbilt University and from medical school at Emory University in 1932. He interned for two years at Louisville, Kentucky before being assigned to the Civil Conservation Corps in south Mississippi.  In July 1934, Dr. Bolton assumed his duties as medical officer for CCC Camp F-12, located 15 miles north of Biloxi, and CCC Camp P-51, situated at Ramsay Springs.(The Daily Herald, July 25, 1934, p. 1 and October 26, 1942, p. 7)

Eldon Bolton returned to Biloxi and in January 1936 to commence his private practice as a physician.  On December 18, 1940, Dr. Bolton  joined the Medical Detachment of the 114th Field Artillery at Camp Blanding, Florida.  He had enlisted in the Mississippi National Guard as early as 1936 and the 114th Field Artillery had been mustered into the regual US Army in late 1942.  Mrs. Bolton planned to join Eldon at Keystone Heights, Florida.(The Daily Herald, Janaury 9, 1942, p. 3)

August 1936, Adjutant General John A. O’Keefe (1893-1985), formerly of Biloxi, and 2175 officers and troops of the 155th Infantry-Mississippi, the 156th Infantry-Louisiana, the 106th Quartermasters Regiment-Mississippi and other Louisiana National Guard units spent two weeks training at Camp Beauregard near Alexandria, Louisiana.  The medical detachment from Biloxi led by Lt. Eldon L. Bolton (1910-1990), the Quartermasters unit from Ocean Springs in charge of Lt. Walter Holloway, and Company M out of Gulfport with Captain Glenn Rutledge in command were also encamped. (The Daily Herald, August 24, 1936, p. 2)


World War II

Dr. Bolton left Biloxi in December 1942 with the medical detachment of the old 114 Field Artillery Medical Unit going to Camp Blanding, Florida for 18 months.  He had a short tour of duty at Camp Caliborne in Rapides Parish, Louisiana before arriving at Carlisle Barracks, Pennsylvania for a month's training in Army field surgery. On April 15, 1942, Dr. Bolton was ordered to Fort Huachuca in Cochise County, Arizona and then returned to Carlisle Barracks for additional medical training.  He reported to Camp McClellan at Anniston, Alabama in September 1942 where he was promoted to Lt. Colonel in October 1942.(The Daily Herald, October 26, 1942, p. 7)

Dr. Bolton expired at Biloxi on Christmas Day 1990.  Mrs. Bolton passed here on December 26, 1996.  Their corporal remains were interred at Southern Memorial Park in west Biloxi.



The Daily Herald, “Biloxi loses prominent man [W.T. Bolton]”, August 28, 1923.

The Daily Herald, “Bolton-Taylor engagement announced”, June 5, 1927.

The Daily Herald, "Assumes duties as medical officer", July 25, 1934.
The Daily Herald, "General O'Keefe returns from Camp [Beauregard]", August 24, 1936.
The Daily Herald, “Dr. Eldon promoted to Major”, January 9, 1942.
The Daily Herald, "Dr. Bolton is now Lt. Colonel", October 26, 1942.
The Daily Herald, “Mrs. W.T. Bolton is outstanding Biloxi Citizen”, December 29, 1943.

The Sun Herald, “Eldon L. Bolton”, December 26, 1990.

The Sun Herald, “Carolyn M. Bolton”, December  27, 1996.

The Sun Herald, “Clinton M. Bolton”, January 28, 1997.





Walter Thetford Bolton (1859-1923) was born September 9, 1859 in or near Hickory, Newton County, Mississippi to Judge Isaac Langston Bolton (1826-1905), an Alabaman, and Ella Perry Bolton (1843-1917), also from Alabama.  She was the daughter of Abner Perry (1811-1897) and Sarah Louise Thompson Perry (1820-1895).  Walter came as a single man to Biloxi, Mississippi in 1892 from Perkinston, Harrison County, Mississippi.  At Perkinston, Dr. Bolton was also the US Postmaster.  During his tenure here, he was lauded for improving the mail service from Perkinston to the outside world.(The Biloxi Herald, January 18, 1890, p. 1)


Dr. W.T. Bolton was a graduate of Louisville College and attended Tulane University of Louisiana.  On November 9, 1893, he married Olivia Hill Sones (1868-1952), a native of Brookhaven, Lincoln County, Mississippi.  They were the parents of four children: Walter T. Bolton II (1894-1964); Cornelia Justina Bolton (1898-1994) m. Mark L. Miller (1901-1933), Dewey R. Reagan (1897-1969), and Nathan O. Berry (1897-2001); Olivia Sones Bolton (1902-1933)  m. Edgar N. Taylor; and Eldon L. Bolton (1910-199) m. Carolyn Howard McKellar (1913-1996).(The Biloxi Herald, November 11, 1893, p. 8)



19o2-Bolton Building-West Howard Avenue

[image made July 2013]


In October 1901, P. J. Gillen and Bert C. Gillen, contractors, from Birmingham, Alabama began erecting the Bolton Building at 138 West Howard Avenue for Dr. Walter T. Bolton.   Dr. Bolton had his offices and residence here until about 1920 when the family relocated to West Beach and Porter Avenue.  By May 1902, the Gillens had returned to Alabama.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 28, 1901, p. 8, March 20, 1902, p. 8 and May 9, 1902, p. 8)     


In June 1908, the Bolton Building was occupied by Kimbrough & Kimbrough, a drugstore firm. Its value was assessed for city tax purposes at $6000.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, June 25, 1908, p. 1)


The original facade of the Bolton building has long disappeared from the streetscape of West Howard Avenue.  Mrs. W.T. Bolton, after she became a widow, sold the structure to Phillip W. Levine (1890-1940), a Russian Jewish immigrant, in January 1924 for $15,000.  Through the years, the building has been utilized a Woolsworth variety store, a hardware store,  and other commercial enterprises.(The Daily Herald, February 16, 1940, p. 1 and Harrison Co., Mississippi Land Trust Deed Bk. 35, p. 187 and  Bk. 55, p. 445)


In May 1981, the Bolton Building, known as 759 Vieux Marche at this, was acquired by Biloxi attorneys, Lyle M. Page [30%], Fred Manino [30%], Ronald G. Peresich [30%] and Paul J. Delcambre Jr. [10%] from Nathaniel B. Rosenberg and A. Charles Rosenberg.  Mr. Delcambre sold his 10% interest to the other principals in January 1989.( 2nd JD Land Deed Bk. 114, 235, and 2nd JD Land Deed Bk. 205, p. 483)


1118 West Beach 





Walter T. Bolton II

Walter Thetford Bolton II (1894-1964) was born at Biloxi, Mississippi on October 17, 1894.  In May 1911, he graduated as valedictorian of the Class of 1911 from Biloxi High School.  Walter went on to earn a Civil Engineering degree in 1914 from Mississippi A&M College at Starkville.  By late 1916, he was employed at Lansing, Michigan with the Michigan State Highway Commission as a civil engineer.   In 1917, Bolton had taken a job as a civil engineer with the Illinois Central Railroad at Memphis, Tennessee.(The Daily Herald, May 23, 1911, p. 1, June 4, 1914, p. 2 and December 19, 1916)


During World War I. W.T. Bolton II served in the Engineer Corps of the A.E.F and was sent to England and France.  He sailed for Europe in late May 1918.  He was in England until and was preparing to leave for France in October 1918.(The Daily Herald, May 27, 1918, p. 3 and October 7, 1918, p. 3)


After the Great War, W.T. Bolton II took a job in Orange, Texas and was employed constructing highways.  He would visit Biloxi as often as time allowed.(The Daily Herald, October 16, 1922, p. 2)


Circa 1923, Mr. Bolton married Mae Hagan (1893-1930),  a widow or divorcee of Mr. Tullos and native of Louisiana.  She brought two sons, Robert Tullos (b. 1910) and Frank N. Tullos (1914-2000) into the marriage.  Mrs. Bolton died with her daughter, Jessie Mae Bolton (1930-1930), following child birth on March 4, 1930 at Kirbyville, Texas and left Walter a widower.  At Kirbyville, Texas Walter was the proprietor of a café and Frank Tullos was vending sign post advertising.(The Daily Herald, March 10, 1930, p. 2 and 1930 Jasper Co., Texas Federal Census R2361, p. 15A. ED 8)


By 1935, W.T. Bolton II was domiciled at Lubbock, Texas.  Circa 1938, he had married Charlsie Hayes (1909-1982), a native of Rotan, Fisher County, Texas.  By 1940, the Boltons relocated to Kirbyville, Jasper County, Texas.  Here Mr. Bolton was involved with outdoor advertising, i.e. billboards etc.  At Kirbyville, they reared their five children: Walter T. Bolton III (1939-2011); Olivia Bolton (b. 1940-1982+); Hayes Bolton (1940-2008); Charles Bolton; and Dewey Bolton.(1940 Jasper Co., Texas T627_4075, p. 8A, ED 121-11)


Walter T. Bolton II died in November 1964 at Kirbyville, Texas.  Charlsie lived to February 28, 1982.  She and W.T. Bolton III are confirmed buried in the Kirbyville Cemetery at Kirbyville, Texas.


Cornelia J. Bolton

Cornelia Justina Bolton (1898-1994) was born at Biloxi, Mississippi on September 7, 1898.  She married Mark Lewis Miller (1901-1931) in Yazoo City, Mississippi on November 7, 1920.  At this time, Cornelia taught English in the public school at Yazoo City.  She was a graduate of the Mississippi Woman’s College [MSCW] at Columbus, Mississippi.  Cornelia would later marry Dewey Richard Reagan (1897-1969) in Harrison County, Mississippi on November 8, 1934 and Nathan O. Berry (1897-2001) on May 1, 1976, also in Harrison County, Mississippi.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Circuit Court MRB 45 p. 454 and 2nd JD Circuit Court MRB  13, p. 137)


Ford Agency

In 1932, Robert H. Holmes (1869-1949) and Sons acquired the Ford motorcar agency at Biloxi. They incorporated as the Holmes Motor Company in April 1932.  Their Ford Agency was relocated from Lameuse Street and the L&N Railroad to the northeast corner of West Howard Avenue and Caillavet Street.  In October 1933, the Holmes Motor Company had a curious demonstration in their Lameuse Street showroom to demonstrate the chassis and springs strength of their automobiles.  One Ford had 3400 pounds of lumber placed on its top.(The Daily Herald, October 10, 1933, p. 3)


Mr. Holmes sold the business to the Pringle-Reagan Motor Company.  This organization was led by the Pringle brothers, L.V. Pringle Jr. (1902-1974), Robert H. Pringle (1904-1981), Thomas N. Pringle (1906-1970), and Victor B. Pringle (1909-1977).  Their other partners were a cousin, Frank Pringle (1909-1957), and Dewey R. Reagan.(Harrison Co., Ms. Charter Bk. 52, p. 123 and The Daily Herald, June 2, 1935, p. 2)


Cornelia Bolton Berry died at Biloxi on December 12, 1994.  Her corporal remains were interred in the Biloxi Cemetery.(The Sun Herald, December 14, 1994, p. A2)


Olivia S. Bolton

Olivia Sones Bolton(1903-1933) graduated from Biloxi High School and Mississippi State College for Women (MSCW).  Olivia became a school teacher and taught at Biloxi, Shaw, Mississippi in the Delta and at Atlanta, Georgia.  She married Edgar N. Taylor in Harrison County, Mississippi on September 20, 1927.  Edgar was born at Union City, Pennsylvania and made his livelihood at Atlanta, Georgia as an insurance underwriter and district manager for the Aetna insurance Company.(The Daily Herald, June 5, 1927, p. 2 and Harrison Co., Mississippi Circuit Court MRB 39, p. 581)


Olivia S. Bolton Taylor expired at Atlanta, Georgia on March 20, 1933.  She had been ill for more than a year and her mother had come from Biloxi to care for her during her illness.  Mrs. Taylor’s corporal remains were sent to Biloxi for internment in the Biloxi Cemetery.(The Daily Herald, March 21, 1933, p. 2)



Eldon L. Bolton

Eldon Langston Bolton (1910-1990) was born January 11, 1910 at Biloxi.  In Harrison County, Mississippi on May 23, 1936, he married Carolyn Howard McKellar (1913-1996), a native of Memphis, Tennessee and the daughter of H. Clinton McKellar and Mrs. McKellar.  Eldon and Mama ‘B’, as Mrs. Bolton was known, were the parents of four children:  Eldon L. Bolton Jr. m. Priscilla Ann Ober in July 1958; Carolyn McKellar Bolton m. Robert Lee Cox in June 1960; Clinton McKellar Bolton (1944-1997) m. Sharon E. Robinson in August 1966 and Karen Joyce DeGeorge in November 1975; Walter T. Bolton m. Patricia Ann Tynes in September 1969 and Laura Ann Ederer in July 1981.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Corcuit Court MRB 47, p. 33)


Like his father, Eldon L.  Bolton practiced medicine at Biloxi.  For fifty-six years, he devoted his life to the health and welfare of the denizens of Biloxi.  Dr. Bolton worked with Dr. Trudeau and Dr. Middleton and operated his clinic on the southwest corner of  Lameuse Street and Washington, now M.L. King Jr.


Dr. Bolton expired at Biloxi on Christmas Day 1990.  Mrs. Bolton passed here on December 26, 1996.  Their corporal remains were interred at Southern Memorial Park in west Biloxi.



The Biloxi Herald, “Perkinston Points”, January 18, 1890.

The Biloxi Herald, "The unexpected happens again", November 11, 1893.

The Biloxi Herald, “Local Happenings”, January 9, 1892.

The Biloxi Herald, “To whom it may concern”, January 30, 1892.

The Biloxi Herald, “W.T. Bolton-Physician  & Surgeon [advertisement]”, August 6, 1892.

The Biloxi Herald, “Otto Pharmacy [advertisement]”, October 14, 1893.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “City Officials”, February 7, 1899.

The Daily Herald, “All in readiness for Commencement in Biloxi school”, May 23, 1911.

The Daily Herald, “Young Biloxian graduates”, June 4, 1914.

The Daily Herald, “Walter Bolton returns to Biloxi”, December 19, 1916.

The Daily Herald, “Walter Bolton sails”, May 27, 1918.

The Daily Herald, “Biloxi News Paragraphs”, October 7, 1918.

The Daily Herald, “Miller-Bolton wedding in Yazoo City”, November 12, 1920.

The Daily Herald, “Biloxi loses prominent man [W.T. Bolton]”, August 28, 1923.

The Daily Herald, “Bolton-Taylor engagement announced”, June 5, 1927.

The Daily Herald, “Mrs. Bolton buried”, March 10, 1930

The Daily Herald, “Mrs. W.T. Bolton is outstanding Biloxi Citizen”, December 29, 1943.

The Sun Herald, “Eldon L. Bolton”, December 26, 1990.

The Sun Herald, “Carolyn M. Bolton”, December  27, 1996.

The Sun Herald, “Clinton M. Bolton”, January 28, 1997.


Biloxi Cemetery



Dr. Edward Reneau Bragg was born at Newton County, Mississippi.  His parents were Dr. William Daniel orDavid Bragg (1833-1891) and Mary Birchett (1838-1912).  Dr. W.D. Bragg and spouse were born at Alabama.  He studied medicine at the University of Louisiana.  With his wife Mary Birchett Bragg, five children were reared in the Pascagoula-Moss Point area.  His oldest daughter, Gertrude Bragg (1866-1948), married Frank H. Lewis (1865-1930), who was sheriff of Jackson County from 1888 until 1895.(The Biloxi Herald, April 25, 1891, p. 1)           


Edward Reneau Bragg studied medicine at Tulane University.  He was supervised by his father, Dr. William Daniel Bragg (1833-1891) of Moss Point.  Dr. E.R. Bragg was issued medical license No. 379 to practice medicine at Jackson County on April 8, 1889.  He resided at Moss Point at the time.           


Dr. Bragg married Emma Hyatt (1868-1968), a native of Clinton, Iowa.  Emma was the daughter of Harrison Smith Hyatt and       .  The Braggs had two children: Mary Bragg (1897-1992) and Edward Hyatt Bragg (1900-1927).  Edward was killed in an auto wreck in High Point, North Carolina on December    , 1927.  Mary Bragg became  an old maid chemistry school teacher at Mobile.           


Dr. Bragg was a violinist.  Known to have played “Little Fishermaiden”, and some opera numbers.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, April 1, 1892, p. 2) 


At Ocean Springs, E.R. Bragg officed in the Nill Building on Washington and Porter.  The Biloxi Herald of April 25, 1891, announced:    Dr. E.R. Bragg has put in a magnificent silver patent revolving tumbler washer, which is a valuable addition to his soda water department.  This is the only one between New Orleans and Mobile and as a novelty is well worth seeing. 


The Braggs moved to Biloxi in the late 1890s.  Dr. E.R. Bragg ran this advertisement in The Biloxi Daily Herald on October 9, 1900:





Dr. E.R. Bragg

Biloxi, Mississippi

Residence corner Main St. & Beach

Telephone 55

Office 2nd floor Dukate's Theater

Howard Avenue

Telephone 11



Dr. Edward Reneau Bragg died at Biloxi on May 12, 1916.  His corporal remains were interred in the Biloxi Cemetery.  Emma Hyatt Bragg expired at Mobile, Alabama on February 23, 1968.  Funeral services were from the Chapel of Radney Funeral Home with graveside services in the Biloxi Cemetery.(The Daily Herald, May 12, 1916, p.1 and February 23, 1968, p. 2)



The Biloxi Daily Herald'News', April 25, 1891.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, 'Dr. E.R. Bragg [advertisement]', October 9, 1900.

The Daily Herald''Dr. Edward R. Bragg",  , 1910.

The Daily Herald''Working for bail for Dr. Bragg",  June 15, 1910.
The Daily Herald, ''Dr. Edward R. Bragg died this morning",  May 12, 1916.
The Daily Herald''Bragg family in Biloxi",  December 30, 1925.

The Daily Herald''Mrs. Emma Bragg",  February 23, 1968.

The Jackson County Times, 'Edward Bragg killed', December 3, 1927.

The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, “Ocean Springs News”, April 1, 1892.



[July 1937-Biloxi, Mississippi]

RILEY W. BURNETT (1891-1973)

Dr. Riley Wilson Burnett was born March 8, 1891, at Ackerman, Mississippi. He attended high school at Wiggins and in 1915, graduated from the Vanderbilt University School of Medicine. Dr. Burnett commenced his medical practice at d'Lo, Mississippi. He moved to Biloxi in 1926.


At Biloxi, Dr. Burnett opened an office in the Peoples Bank Building on Lameuse Street advertising as a physician and surgeon. He and his wife, Marie (Matty) Lee Hornsby (1893-1975), resided at 131 Suter Place and later 2854 West Beach Boulevard. In 1969, the family home was destroyed by Hurricane Camille.


Mrs. Burnett, a native of Trenton, Tennessee reared two daughters at Biloxi: Billie Jane Burnett [1919-1979] m. Lt. Colonel Joseph C. Walter (Sun City, Arizona) and Martha Wilson Burnett [1920-1991] m. Nick Stuart [1904-1973].


Dr. Burnett had many patients at Ocean Springs. He would drive here arriving at Matt Huber's drugstore in the Farmers & Merchants Bank Building after lunch. During the day, Huber would collect messages for the good doctor. With his information in hand, Dr. Riley Burnett would make house calls throughout town usually arriving home at Biloxi after dark. If a patient were seriously ill or required surgery, Burnett would admit them to the Biloxi hospital where he once served as chief of staff. He retired from his medical practice in 1963.


Dr. Burnett was also active in civic and business affairs. He served four consecutive terms as president of the Biloxi Chamber of Commerce, and was a former president of both the Biloxi Rotary, and Coast Counties Medical Association. Dr. Burnett was also among those cited for his efforts in securing Keesler Field for the Mississippi coast.

As an entrepreneur, Riley Burnett helped organize the Home Milk Products, a local creamery, and was a director and vice president of the First Federal Saving and Loan Association. Dr. Riley W. Burnett was a Presbyterian, a 32nd degree Mason, and a member of the Wahabi Shrine Temple. He died on February 14, 1973. Mrs. Burnett passed on May 25, 1975. They are both interred at the Southern Memorial Park at Biloxi. 



The Daily Herald, "Biloxi surgeon dead", February 15, 1973.




On March 26, 1844, Dr. Alexander Byrenheidt (1786-1854) of New Orleans acquired a parcel of land on the Mississippi Sound in the village of Biloxi, Mississippi, from Maunsel White and his wife, Heloise Deloronde, also residents of the Crescent City. The White tract had a front on the Mexican Gulf of 1.75 arpents and went north for 25 arpents. The consideration was $7500. The Heirs of L. Fayard were on the east and Frederick Johns was to the west. Mr. White had been conveyed this tract in June 1835 by the Townsley Prieur & Company of New Orleans. Felix Grima was the Louisiana notary.(HARCO, Ms. Land Deed Bk. 2, pp. 183-186)


Byrenheidt Estate

In September 1854, Andrus Byrenheidt recorded his will in the Chancery Court of Harrison County, Mississippi. He requested that all his property be legated to Bernhard Heinrich Byrenheidt and Carl Ulsander Byrenheidt (his brothers residing in Europe); to my Negro woman, Maria, I give liberty according to the laws of this State and $100 cash.(HARCO, Ms. Land Deed Bk. 1, p. 27)



Dr. Byrenheidt expired at Biloxi, Mississippi on March 4, 1858. His corporal remains interred in Section A of the Biloxi Cemetery.(Biloxi Cemetery Records Bk. A, p. 5)



Julia Cook Guice, 1850 Census of Harrison County, Mississippi, (City of Biloxi, Mississippi)





Vito  Joseph “V. J.” Canizaro (1907-1954) was born on November 8, 1906 at Vicksburg, Mississippi, the son of Joseph Corte Canizaro (1879-1942) and Rose Pantoliano (1887-1950).  He came to Biloxi in Decemebr 1945 after serving as a military physician in the South Pacific with the U.S. Army.  Dr. Canizaro was practicing medicine at Vicksburg when called into military service as an Army reserve officer in January 1941.  He was in the South Pacific Theatre for two years as battalion surgeon with the 148th Infantry.  V.J. was wounded at New Georgia by shrapnel from a Japanese mortal round and received the Bronze Star and at Bougainville for gallantry in combat.  In New Georgia, Dr. Canizaro's squad had been ambushed by an enemy force and he went forward through enemy machine gun fire and lifted a wounded soldier returning to safety through the fireswept terrain.


V.J. Canizaro was also cited by Major General Robert S. Beightler for services with Company C-112th Medical Battalion at Bougainville and also from Brigadier General James H. Walker for outstanding services in connection with the initial activation and subsequent operations at Miami Beach, Florida.  Returning from the South Pacific combat zone, Dr. Canizaro went to Miami Beach and organized an outpatient department and later became chief of surgery at Foster General in Jackson, Mississippi.  He was honorably discharged from the US Army on December 20, 1945.  At war's end, V.J. Canizaro proudly wore his battle and campaign stars for the North Solomons and Bismark Archipelago.  The Bronze Star with Oak Leaf Cluster, Purple Heart, Asiatic Pacific Ribbon with two Bronze Star medals, the American Theatre Campaign and the American Defense medal.


In late December 1945, Dr. Canizaro acquired 310 East Howard Avenue, a house west of the Bradford Funeral Parlor, from J.D. Garraway and Dolores Jolly Garraway.   Here he remodeled the structure and opened Canizaro’s Clinic, a medical facility and the High Life Distributing Company.  Dr. F.J. Vlazny, a Chicago native and former military physician, worked in Canizaro Clinic.  The Canizaro family also lived at 310 East Howard Avenue until they acquired at home at 3405 West Beach Boulevard near the Biloxi Cemetery.


V.J. Canizaro had graduated from the University of Notre Dame at South Bend, Indiana in 1929.  He attended Tulane Medical School and in 1934, graduated from the Medical School at the University of Rome.  Dr. Canazaro interned and was a resident at the Mississippi State Charity Hospital in Vicksburg; at the Poly Clinic in Rome;  St. Joseph’s Infirmary and Hospital at Baltimore, Maryland and specialized in surgery at St. Joseph’s Hospital in Savannah, Georgia. 


Melone Family-June 28, 1920

L-R: Rocco Melone (b. 1915); Orazio Melone (b. 1887); Etruria Olga M. Sentell (1919-2004); Adelina Fusco Melone (b. 1897); and Gilda Melone Canizaro (1917-1990)


In Rome, Italy on January 2, 1936 V.J. Canizaro married Gilda Melone (1917-1990), the daughter of Orazio Melone (b. 1887) and Adelina Fusco Melone (b. 1897).  Orazio Melone, an immigrant shoemaker, had arrived in New York City from Naples, Italy in November 1906.  He was born at Vitulano, Campania, Italy.  Gilda and her siblings, Rocco Melone (b. 1915) and Etruria Olga  Melone Sentell (1919-2004) m. Charles H. Sentell (1921-1977), were born at Wilkensburg, Pennsylvania. 


Gilda and V.J. Canizaro were the parents of eight children:  Joseph Corte Canizaro m. Sue Ellen Mattina; Anne Rose Canizaro m. Clarence Benard Bacas Jr.; Marion Francis Canizaro m. Kathleen; Horace John Canizaro (1940-1950); Vito Joseph Canizaro Jr. (b. 1941) m. Joyce Lynell Whittington; Roy Thomas Canizaro; Gilda Fatima Canizaro (1948-2006) m. Mr. Butler and Scott Henson; and Vita Margaret  Canizaro  m. Mr. Peterson. 


Dr. Canizaro was a member of Nativity B.V.M Catholic Church; Knights of Columbus-4th Degree Knight; Order of Al Hambra; American Medical Association; Mississippi State Medical Association; Biloxi Chamber of Commerce; an honorary deputy sheriff; and Les Pierrots Carnival Association. 


After an illness of a month, Dr. Vito  Joseph “V. J.” Canizaro died at the Southern Baptist Hospital on July 27, 1954.  Bradford-O’Keefe Funeral Home of Biloxi conducted funeral services for the Canizaro family with a Mass at Nativity B.V.M followed by internment in Southern Memorial Park.  


Gilda Melone Canizaro died on December 30, 1990 at Ocean Springs, Mississippi.  She was a member of St. Alphonsus Catholic Church at Ocean Springs.  Gilda was preceded in death by her husband, Dr. Vito Joseph "V.J." Canizaro (1906-1954), a son, Horace John Canizaro (1940-1950), and a grandson, Vito Joseph Canizaro IV (1968-1968).  


Mrs. Canizaro Gilda was survived by four sons, Joseph Corte Canizaro and wife, Sue Ellen Mattina Canizaro, of New Orleans; Vito Joseph Canizaro Jr. and wife, Joyce L. Canizaro, of Ocean Springs, Mississippi; Marion


Francis Canizaro and wife, Kathleen Canizaro, of Lynn, Massachusetts; Roy Thomas Canizaro of Ocean Springs, Mississippi; three daughters, Gilda Fatima C. Henson (1948-2006) and her husband, Scott Henson, of Ocean Springs; Anna Rose C. Bacas and husband, Clarence 'Buddy' Bacas, of Picayune, Mississippi; Vita Margaret C. Peterson of Houston, Texas; Etruria Melone Sentell (1919-2004), a sister, at Ocean Springs; and a brother, Rocco Melone (b. 1915), of Rome, Italy. 


Bradford-O'Keefe Funeral Home directed the funeral of Mrs. Canizaro with a Mass at St. Alphonsus Catholic Church followed by internment in Southern Memorial Park.



Joseph C. Canizaro

Joseph 'Joe' Corte Canizaro (b. 1937) was born at Baltimore, Maryland.  He married Sue Ellen Mattina, the daughter of David Earl Mattina (1907-1989) and Ola Agnes Hurlbert (1918-1985), in Harrison County, Mississippi on June16, 1961.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Circuit Court MRB 119, p. 272)


The Canizaro's moved from Biloxi to New Orleans in the spring of 1975.  Here Joe made his fortune as a realtor and developer.   In the Crescent City, Mr. Canizaro developed the Lykes Center, Canal Place, Texaco Center, Crowne Plaza Hotel, and the Xerox Building.  He owned the New Orleans Breakers, a professional football team, which he acquired in December 1983 for about $8 million dollars.  


In later life, Joe Canizaro began developing the Tradition, a retirement community, in rural Harrison County, Mississippi.


Vito J. Canizaro Jr. and Joyce Lynell Whittington

[from The Daily Herald, August 4, 1964, p. 8]


Vito Joseph Canizaro Jr. married Joyce Lynell Whittington, the daughter of Mrs. and mrs. Guy Whittington of Ocean Springs, Mississippi in August 1964,  They were both employed with the A&P stores.(The Daily Herald, August 4, 1964, p. 8)


Harrison County, Mississippi Chancery Court Cause No. 34665, 'The Estate of Dr. Vito J. Canizaro', November 1955.

The Daily Herald, 'Doctor buys home to resume practice', January 9, 1946, p. 5.

The Daily Herald, 'Canizaro youth is taken by death', August 15, 1950, p. 9.

The Daily Herald, 'Dr. Canizaro expires after short illness', July 27, 1954, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, 'Miss Joyce Whittington new bride [of Vito Canizaro]', August 4, 1964, p. 8.

The Daily Herald, 'Biloxi to honor [Joseph] Canizaro in ceremonies on June 16', June      , 1984.

The Sun Herald, 'Mrs. Gilda Canizaro', December 14, 1990, p. B2.

The Sun Herald, 'Gilda Fatima Canizaro Henson', August 25, 1996, p. A4. 

The Sun Herald, ‘Etruria Olga Melone Sentell’, March 10. 2004,  p. A6.

The Times-Picayune, 'New Orleans green pasture for Canizaro', September 27, 1978.

The Times-Picayune, 'Canizaro's Dream: Canal Place', September 27, 1978.



Dr. George F. Carroll and Ada Keith Carroll

[courtesty of Frances Theu carroll McAfee-Roth Rosenberge]


Dr. George Franklin Carroll (1884-1962), age 77 years, who at one time was chief surgeon at the Biloxi Veterans Administration Hospital and a candidate for Biloxi's Mayoral office, died at the VA Hospital in Dublin, Georgia.

George Franklin Carroll was born at Davisboro, Washington County, near Atlanta, Georgia and educated in schools there. Dr. Carroll moved to Biloxi circa 1907 to practice medicine with Dr. H.M. Folkes shortly after completing his medical studies at the Medical School of the University of the South at Sewanee, Tennessee and the Atlanta College of Physicians and Surgeons, now Emory University. In 1900, he was living with Dr. James B. Dillard (b. 1871), his brother-in-law, and a physician at Villa Rica, Carroll County, Georgia. Undoubtedly, this association influenced his career choice in Medicine.

Dr. Carroll married Ada Claire Keith (1885-1952) at Louisville, Jefferson County, Georgia on June 19, 1907. At his time, Dr. Carroll was a resident of Biloxi and lived at 1306 West Beach. Dr. Carroll was active in the early Mardi Gras at Biloxi as well as with the local fire companies and Biloxi Yacht Club during his thirty-three year residency on the Coast.

Dr. Carroll and spouse were the parents of two sons, George Franklin Carroll Jr. (1908-1985) and William Floyd Carroll (1916-1944), both born at Biloxi.

Dr. Carroll served the City of Biloxi for fifteen years as its health officer and was chief of staff at the Biloxi Hospital. He was a charter member and president of the Biloxi Rotary Club, president of the Chamber of Commerce and at the age of forty-nine, ran for Mayor of Biloxi placing second in the contest.

During World War I, Dr. Carroll served as a Lt. Colonel with the Army Medical Corps. He was stationed in Germany with the Army of Occupation for seven months where he was assigned to duty with the Seventh Corps in charge of hospitalization.

Dr. Carroll became chief surgeon at the Biloxi VA facility in 1935 and was transferred to Fayetteville, Arkansas in 1938. In 1940, Dr. Carroll and family were domiciled at St. Petersburg, Florida where he was employed as a physician at the US Veterans Hospital.(1940 Pinellas Co., Florida Federal Census T627_610, p. 2A, ED 52-48)

In 1946, the Carroll family was transferred to Macon, Georgia and in 1953, Dr. Carroll was promoted to medical officer, chief grade, the highest rank attainable in the Veterans Administration. After thirty-two years of active service, he retired in 1954.

Dr. Carroll expired on March 18, 1962 at Dublin, Georgia. Bradford-O'Keefe Funeral Home were in charge of his funeral services which included the prayers of the Reverend W.F. Whaley of the First Methodist Church of Biloxi. Dr. Carroll's corporal remains were interred in the Southern Memorial Park cemetery.



The Biloxi Daily Herald, 'City News', June 11, 1907, p. 2.

The Daily Herald, 'Mrs. S.F. Carroll dies', October 30, 1909, p. 8.

The Daily Herald, 'Former Chief of Surgery [Dr. G.F. Carroll Rites', March 19, 1962, p. 2.

The Daily Herald, 'Carroll Rites', March 20, 1962, p. 2.




[The Handsboro Democrat, July 1, 1876, p. 1]



Anthony Parker Champlin (1839-1897) was born on January 12, 1839 at New Orleans, Louisiana to William A. Champlin (1809-1885), a New London County, Connecticut born lawyer, and Margaret Smith Champlin (1809-1902), a native of England.  Dr. Champlin specialized in diseases of women and in midwifery and had been stationed at the Ship Island and Cat Island Quarantine Stations.(The Biloxi Herald, December 13, 1890, p. 1 and May 15, 1897, p. 8)


Dr. Champlin was educated in medicine  at the New Orleans Medical University.  During the Civil War, he served in the CSA Hospital Corps.  In 1880, A. Parker Champlin and his family lived on Lameuse Street and he practiced medicine in Biloxi.  A. Parker Champlin had married Augusta B. Jennett (1852-1909), the widow of Beck.  She was born at Mobile, Alabama to Albert Jennett and Mary R. Jennett (1822-1880+).  A. Parker and Augusta had Evelyn  Champlin (1880-1889+), a daughter, and Mrs. Champlin also had Lillian Beck (1873-1889+), a daughter, who married George H. Dulin in Harrison County, Mississippi in January 1889.(1880 Harrison Co., Mississippi Federal Census R648 p. 335A, ED 139 and Circuit Court MRB 8, p. 443)


In April 1888, while a resident of Bay St. Louis, Mississippi, Dr. Champlin was appointed by the State Board of Health as quarantine physician at Ship Island.  His salary was set at $225 per month.  In May 1888, he converted to Roman Catholicism and was baptized at Our Lady of the Gulf.  He and Augusta were re-married in the same church on May 6, 1888.(The The Clarion Ledger, April 26, 1888 and The Daily Picayune, May 7, 1888, p. 1, and Lepre, 1995,  p. 75)


In addition, Augusta and A. Parker Champlin had three more children that were born at Bay St. Louis: Odile Delery Champlin born July 12, 1883, Florence Ruth Champlin born May 1884, and Henry Cottam Champlin born in October 1885.  Florence Ruth was engaged to marry Linton Edward Whittles in March 1917.  Linton was the son of Mrs. Edward J. Whittles of Portland, Connecticut.(Lepre, 1995, p. 75 and The Daily Herald, March 21, 1917, p. 3)


Dr. Champlin expired at Biloxi from heart failure on May 9, 1897.  At this time, he was overseeing the Cat Island Quarantine Station.  In addition to his family, A. Parker Champlin was surviived by five brothers: William T. Champlin at Gulfport; Louis H. Champlin at Pass Chrisitian; Charles C. Champlin at NOLA; Zachary Taylor Champlin (1847-1924), Justice of the Peace, at Biloxi; and George W. Champlin at Ellisville, Mississippi.(The Biloxi Herald, May May 15, 1897, p. 8)



Obituary of August A. Champlin

The Daily Picayune, "Funeral of Mrs. A.A. Champlin, November 30, 1909, p. 2.
"Biloxi, Miss., Nov. 29 - The funeral of Mrs. Augusta A. Champlin took place from the Louisville and Nashville depot this morning (Nov. 29) from the 9 o'clock northbound train. The services at the grave were conducted by Rev. C. B. Crawford, rector of the Church of the Redeemer. Mrs. Champlin died in New Orleans Sunday and at the time of her death, she was 55 years old. The deceased was a native of Mobile, Ala., and was the widow of the late Dr. A. P. Champlin, one of the best-known physicians of his day on the Gulf Coast. She is descended from the Russell family of Mobile, one of the prominent and aristocratic of the South. During the life of her husband, she resided for a long time at Bay St. Louis, and later they made their home in Biloxi. Since the death of Dr. Champlin, Mrs. Champlin has resided part of the time with a son who at Columbus, Miss., and with an aunt in New Orleans, Mrs. Virginia A. Fowler [b. March 1836]. Mrs. Champlin is survived by a large number of relatives, including five children, three grown children, who are Mrs. G. Curtis, of Columbus, Miss; Cottam Champlin, who is abroad; Miss Florence Champlin, the youngest daughter who reside with Mrs. Fowler in New Orleans, and a stepson, Porter Hand Champlin, of this city, and one stepdaughter, Mrs. Belle Ohr of Pearlington, Miss. Judge Z. T. Champlin, of this city (Biloxi), is a brother-in-law of the deceased, and she is survived also by one brother and one sister, F. R. Jennett of Biloxi, and Mrs. Snyder, of Mobile, respectively."



Jerome Lepre, Catholic Church Records Diocese of Biloxi, Mississippi [1847-1900], Volume III, (Diocese of Biloxi, Mississippi: 1995).

The Biloxi Herald, “Advertisement”, December 13, 1890

The Biloxi Herald, “Death of Dr. A.P. Champlin”, May 15, 1897.     

The Biloxi Herald, “Biloxi Local News Paragraphs”, March 21, 1917.    

The Clarion Ledger, 'News', April 26, 1888.

The Daily Picayune, "Bay St. Louis",  May 7, 1888.

The Daily Picayune, "Funeral of Mrs. A. A. Champlin", November 30, 1909.


Mrs. Florence Crofton Duncan


Florence Crofton

Florence Crofton (1871-1952) was born at New Orleans in September 1871.  In July 1899 she boarded the Aransas, a steamship, embarking from New Orleans for Havana, Cuba.  Miss Crofton, a nurse, who had worked with her mother, a physician at Biloxi, Mississippi, was employed by the Federal government to bring her nursing skills to American hospitals in a post-Spanish American War atmosphere on the conquered Caribbean island.  Accompanying Florence Crofton were Mrs. R.H. Burton and her two daughters, Carrie Burton and Pattie Burton.  The Burtons were domiciled at Long Beach, Mississippi.(The Biloxi Herald, July 15, 1899, p. 8)


Miss Crofton was reputed to be the first nurse to graduate from Dr. H.M. Folkes' Biloxi Sanitorium in 1904.(The Daily Herald, June 21, 1952, p. 3)


In late June 1917, Florence Crofton (1871-1952) married Cassius M. Duncan (1846-pre-1930) at the home of Mrs. William Davenport 3648 Camp Street in the Crescent City.  The Reverend Charles B. Crawford (1848-1929) of Biloxi’s Episcopal Church of the Redeemer performed their nuptials.  The couple honeymooned in New Orleans and returned to Biloxi to reside with Mrs. Maria Crofton at 206 West Water Street.(The Daily Herald, June 29, 1917, p. 5)


C.M. Duncan was born in Missouri and was the widower of Martha Duncan (1840-pre 1910). They married circa 1874 and were the parents of Mamie Duncan (1876-1900+) and Caroline Duncan (1879-1900+).  The Duncans lived at Altona, Knox County, Illinois where C.M. Duncan was a horse trader and may have been Mayor.  After the demise of his spouse, Mr. Duncan became a ‘snowbird’ and wintered at Biloxi for several years.(1900 Knox Co., Illinois Federal Census T623_314, p. 2A, ED 66 and The Daily Herald, June 29, 1917, p. 5)


In November 1915, C.M. Duncan came to Biloxi from Illinois with Mrs. Milly Davis, his sister, of Roseville, Illinois.  They were booked with Mrs. Moore at 241 Cuevas Street.  In 1916, Mr. Duncan spent the winter 912 West Howard Avenue and had Christmas dinner with fourteen Illinois friends at the Benny House.(The Daily Herald, November 20, 1915, p. 2 and December 30, 1916, p. 3)         



It appears that Cassius M. Duncan expired at Biloxi before 1930, as Florence Crofton Duncan is a widow in the 1930 Federal Census.(1930 Harrison Co., Mississippi Federal Census R 1146, p. 12B, ED 3)


Florence Crofton Duncan died at the Biloxi Veterans Administration Center on June 20, 1952.  Her corporal remains were passed through the Church of the Redeemer with the Reverend E.A. DeMiller officiating and her burial was at the Biloxi City Cemetery with military and Eastern Star rituals.(The Daily Herald, June 21, 1952, p. 3)



The Daily Herald, “Mrs. Duncan, Spanish American War nurse is taken by death”, June 20, 1952.

The Daily Herald, “Funeral this afternoon”, June 21, 1952.

The Daily Herald, “Mrs. Duncan buried”, June 22?, 1952.


William W. Eley

William W. Eley, MD (1875-1944) was a native of Scott County, Mississippi.  He graduated from Tulane at NOLA in 1901 and had practiced medicine in  Merrill, George County, Mississippi.  His daughter, Eugenia F. Eley, was born here on January 2, 1910.  The Eley arrived at Biloxi, Mississippi in 1916 coming from Lucedale, George County, Mississippi. (The Daily Herald, October 13, 1941, p. 7 and July 5, 1948, p. 1)


W.W. Eley married Florence Keeney (1874-1948), the daughter of James Keeney and Eugenia Denson.  Dr. W.W. Eley and Florence K. Eley resided at 1128 West Beach at Biloxi and were the parents of three children: Mildred A. Eley (1903-1948+) m. H. Arthur Smith; Clifton W. Eley (1905-1948+); Eugenia F. Eley (1910-1941) m. Dr. Robert F. Smith.(1930 Harrison Co., Mississippi R1146, p. 1A, ED 5)


Dr. Eley retired from his medical practice in 1928 and his health had deteriorated.  He ended his life on the sleep porch of his home on April 5, 1944  from a self-inflicted gunshot from a revolver.  Dr. Eley was remembered as a man with a kindly and generous nature.  He had developed many friendships while domiciled at Biloxi.(The Daily Herald, April 6, 1944, p. 1)


At the time of her demise, Dr. Eley was survived by his immediate family; five brothers and sisters: Dr. Carl Eley-Moss Point, Mississippi; Jesse Eley-Scooba, Mississippi; Joseph Eley, Lena Eley, and Mrs. Hudson Chadwick all of Jackson, Mississippi; and Mrs. Gertrude E. Lightsey-Montrose, Mississippi. (The Daily Herald, April 6, 1944, p. 1)


Dr. Eley had been active in the Biloxi Hospital both as a practitioner and financial donor.  He had also been of financial assistance to the Baptist Church and a member of the Elks, masons, Woodmen of the World and local and state medical associations.(The Daily Herald, April 6, 1944, p. 1)



The Daily Herald, 'Mrs. Robert Smith [Eugenia Eley (1910-1941)] dies result of burns', October 13, 1941.

The Daily Herald, 'Dr. Eley dies at Biloxi home from self inflicted wound', April 6, 1944.

The Daily Herald, 'Dr. Eley buried', April 8, 1944.

The Daily Herald, 'Mrs. W.W. Eley dies after long illness', July 5, 1948.



Carl Eggers (1858-1953) was born October 7, 1858.  He came to Biloxi in 1920 from Hammond, Louisiana.  He was a chiropractor and had studied this art at the Palmer School.  In July 1921, Dr. Eggers married Mrs. Louise S. Hartel of Mobile, Alabama. Their nuptials were officated at New Orleans.(The Daily Herald, July 29, 1921, p. 3)

Dr. Carl Eggers expired on March 17, 1953.  Margaret S. Egger (1881-1977) died on 



The Daily Herald, "Married in New Orleans", July 29, 1921.



Robert J. Eustice (1925-2010), age 84 years old, died on Janaury 20, 2010.  He was born March 28, 1925 in Birmingham, Alabama to Robert Richard Eustice (b. 1899), a native of Galena, Illinois and Ethel Mary Blades. Dr. Eustice grew up in Homewood, a suburb of Birmingham, Alabama and attended Edgewood Elementary School. He graduated from Phillips High School in Birmingham in 1943 and entered the Navy's V-12 Program.


After completion of the V-12 Program, he entered Midshipman's school at Ft. Schuyler, New York from which he graduated as an Ensign in the United States Navy. He then attended the Naval Supply Corps Officer School at Harvard University. Ensign Eustice served at the Naval Air Base in Samar, Philippine Islands during World War II. After the war ended, he was awarded the Philippine's Liberation Medal.


Following World War II, Robert enrolled at the University of the South, Sewanee, where he received his B.S. degree. He then was accepted to the first class of the University Medical-Dental Center, University of Alabama, Birmingham. Following graduation in 1952 with a Doctor of Medical Dentistry (DMD) degree and the Korean War in progress, he went back into the US Navy and served a year of internship at the US Naval Hospital in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Later, he spent about three years at the National Naval Medical Center in Bethesda, Maryland. While there, he published his research on Refrigeration Anesthesia in the prestigious Journal of the American Dental Association. He married Marie Louise Burg, daughter of Jules Louis Burg and Caroline Carwile Mims on March 1, 1950 in a ceremony performed by the pastor of Southside Baptist Church in Birmingham, Alabama.


After release from the US Navy, he moved to Biloxi, Mississippi and began his private dental practice in 1955. He was a member of the American Dental Association, a life member of the Mississippi Dental Association, a member of the Royal Health Society (London, England) and served as President of the Fifth District Mississippi Dental Society. He remained active in the Mississippi Gulf Coast Community for many years. He served as President of the Biloxi Lions Club, President of the Coast Community Concert Association (1960s to 1980s), and on the Board of Trustees for William Carey University. He was a Lifetime Deacon of First Baptist Church in Biloxi, having also served as Chairman. He was also on the Board of Directors of the Metropolitan National Bank, Board of Directors of the Salvation Army, Board of Directors of the Affiliated Baptist Hospitals of America, member of the Military Order of World Wars (MOWW), the American Legion, and Board Member of the Gulf Hills Civic Association.


Much of his spare time was spent with his family in his mountain home in Highlands, North Carolina. It was a joyous time. He loved this mountain community and attending First Baptist Church in Highlands. He is survived by his wife Marie Burg Eustice, married 59 years, two sons David Robert Eustice (wife Cathy) and James Jules Eustice DMD (wife Julie), and two daughters Caroline Eustice Wicks (husband Thomas) and Elizabeth Eustice Wakham DMD (husband Dean), and seven grandchildren: Robert Wicks, Marie Wicks, Elizabeth Wicks, Caroline Eustice, Christopher Eustice, Olivia Eustice, and Maggie Wakham.


In lieu of flowers, the family requests memorial donations to be made to the Salvation Army or the Baptist International Mission Board, care of First Baptist Church Biloxi, 1560 Popps Ferry Rd, Biloxi MS 39532. Services will be held at First Baptist Church, 1560 Popps Ferry Road, Biloxi, MS on Tuesday, January 26, 2010. The family requests visitation at the church from 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. followed by the service at 12:00 p.m. Burial will be at the Biloxi National Cemetery following the service. Bradford-O'Keefe Funeral Home, Ocean Springs is in charge of arrangements. 

The Daily Herald, 'Biloxi dentist re-named head Biloxi concert', November 4, 1960.
The Sun Herald, 'Dr. Robert J. Eustice', Janaury 24, 2010.



Anthony Ferrer (1869-1952) was born at New Orleans to Gabriel Ferrer (1835-1881), a Spanish immigrant,  and Delores Rodriguez.  He married Pauline Emma Lacarse (1871-1938) at New Orleans on November 15, 1893. They were the parents of two daughters, Reina [Rena] Ferrer (1897-1931) m. Felix Fernandez and Joseph Patrick Murphy and Myrtle Ferrer (1899-1974) m. W.C. Buras Jr. and Joseph D. Quinn Jr.  Mrs. Ferrer had married previously and had another daughter, Fay Mix (1891-1972) m. Alfred J. Wedge (1889-1957).  In 1900, Anthony Ferrer made his livelihood as a grocery store clerk in the Crescent City and resided at 1212 Louisa Street.(1900 Orleans Parish, Louisiana Federal Census R 573, p. 3B, ED 92)


Apparently Anthony Ferrer divorced before 1910 as he was married to Marie Bonne (1869-1952) at this time.  Mr. Ferrer was a whiskey saleman at this time, and he and Marie lived on North Broad Street.  They moved to Biloxi, Mississippi circa 1918 and settled at 208 Lameuse Street where Dr. Ferrer began his chiropratic service.(1910 Orleans Parish, Federal Census T624_521, p. 3B, ED 82 and The Daily Herald-October 1934, p. 39)


Dr. Ferrer was trained in chiropractory at New Olreans and Chicago. He also served as coroner for Harrison County.  In May 1922, Anthony Ferrer was a candidate for Mayor of Biloxi.  He ran against incumbent John J. Kennedy and former Mayor Edward Glennan.  Dr. Ferrer  also served the people of Harrison County as Justice of the Peace and in 1950, he was appointed to the Civil Service Commission.(The Daily Herald, May 15, 1922, p. 1 and January 21, 1952, p. 4)



Dr. Ferrer expired in the Biloxi Hospital on January 19, 1952.  He was survivied by  Marie Bonne Ferrer, his spouse, and two sisters, Catherine 'Kate' Ferrer Hilderbrand (1872-1953) and Antonia Ferrer Catchot (1876-1960), the wife of fAnthony Cladius Catchot (1875-1933), both residents of Biloxi.  Anthony Ferrer was a member ofthe Elks Club and worshipped at Nativity BVM Catholic Church in Biloxi.(The Daily Herald, January 21, 1952, p. 4)


Mrs. Ferrer died at Biloxi on April 4, 1952.  Their corporal remains were interred in Section F of Lot 61 in the Southern Memorial Park at Biloxi, Mississippi.



The Daily Herald, 'Biloxi's leading chiropractor [advertisement]', December 31, 1919.

The Daily Herald'Dr. Ferrer is a candidate [for Mayor]', May 15, 1922.

The Daily Herald'Dr. A. Ferrer dies after long illness, funeral on Tuesday', January 21, 1952.

The Daily Herald'Mrs. Marie Ferrer dies', April, 1952.

The Times-Picayune'Wedge', January 30, 1972.

The Times-Picayune'Quinn', September 27, 1974.


Dr. Folkes and young family


Hyman McCracken Folkes (1871-1926) was born on October   6, 1871 at Bovina, Warren County, Mississippi, the son of August Albert Folkes (1839-1904) and Anna E. Hilzheim (1850-1880+). August A. Folkes was a Civil War veteran having served with the 1stMississippi Regiment Light Artillery. In 1877, the Folkes family settled at Jackson, Mississippi. Here, August A. Folkes managed a hotel before he became a lumber agent representing J.C. Redus and vending dressed and rough lumber and building materials such as, shingles, lathing, sash and doors. In late 1903, Captain A.A. Folkes became ill and was brought to Biloxi and put in the Biloxi Sanatorium under his son’s care. He died on January 2, 1904 at Biloxi and his corporal remains were sent to Jackson for internment. Mr. Folkes had been a vestryman at St. Andrew;s Episcopal Church in Jackson.(1880 Hinds Co., Mississippi federal Census T9-648, p. 13, ED 3, The Clarion Ledger, May 2, 1889, p. 6, The Biloxi Daily Herald, December 29, 1903, p. 6 and January 2, 1904, p. 8

Before Hyman M. Folkes became a medical man, he 

Dr. Folkes was a 1893 graduate of Tulane.


 Ship Island-Cat Island Quarantine Station 

In the spring of 1897, Dr. Hyman McMacken Folkes (1871-1926) came to Biloxi from Jackson, Mississippi to accept the post of Quarantine Officer at Ship Island. His initial appearance in the community left one with the impression that Dr. Folkes was a refined, social gentleman. At this time, there appears to be some transitioning of the location of the Quarantine Station. In late July 1896, the Quarantine Station was relocated to Cat Island and Dr. W.C. Brooke of Biloxi appointed to the post.(The Biloxi Herald, May 22, 1897, p. 8, July 25, 1896, p. 1) 

 Yellow Fever 

Dr. Folkes earned the respect and admiration of Biloxians in the fall of 1897, when he was ordered from Cat Island to Biloxi by the State Board of Health to assist those struck down by yellow f1ever. His youth, experience with yellow fever patients in the tropics and stamina allowed Dr. Folkes to work long, hours and provide efficient and effective service to so many at Biloxi in constant demand of medical attention. In the fall of 1897, Dr. Folkes was sent to McHenry, Mississippi to work with the affirmed there as Dr. McHenry was ill. (The Biloxi Herald, October 30, 1897, p. 1) 


Ship Island Tale 

In July 1937, Captain L. Peter Eskald (1856-1944), a retired Danish immigrant and former Biloxi chandelier and boatman, related to a reporter forThe Daily Herald that when the Government sold all the armament and munitions on Ship Island to a Mr. Marks, a New Orleans junk dealer, he acquired in a trade from Mr. Marks the large Rodman gun at Fort Massachusetts for returning all of Marks’ tools and dynamite to the Crescent City. Knowing that Dr. Folkes was a collector of historic objects, Captain Eskald offered him the Rodman for $600. Dr. Folkes considered the price and subsequent removal and transfer to Biloxi very dear and passed on the Rodman. The Rodman remained at Fort Massachusetts and has become an integral part of the Civil War history of Ship Island.(The Daily Herald, July 8, 1937) 

By 1899, he had opened an office in Biloxi on Pass Christian Road, now Howard Avenue, in the Eistetter Building and advertised as follows: 


Office and rooms in Eistetter Building

Telephone 38 Office Hours 11 to 1

Biloxi, Mississippi

Accounts due on the first of each month

(The Biloxi Daily Herald, April 24, 1899, p. 8)


 Teresa Lopez


Teresa Lopez (1873-1951) was born at Biloxi, Mississippi on September 12, 1873. On June 14, 1900, she married Dr. Hyman McMaken Folkes (1871-1926) in the Nativity B.V.M. Catholic Church at Biloxi. Reverend Alphonse Ketels officiated. William Wachenfeld served as Dr. Folkes best man and Miss Lopez was attended by Erena Lopez, May Young, and Jennie Gillen. Miss Augusta Folkes (b. 1878), the sister of Dr. Folkes came from Jackson for the wedding.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, June 5, 1900, p. 8 and Harrison Co., Mississippi MRB 12, p. 321) 

Children: Josephine Lopez Folkes (1901-1959) m. Albert Brown Russ (1888-1953) and Thomas Burns (1892-1974); Anna Odenal Folkes (1907-1968) m. Eugene Robert Kelly (1902-1990); and Dorothy Hilzheim Folkes (1912-1925). 


Folkes & Kennedy  

At the turn of the 20thCentury and shortly thereafter, Biloxi was fortunate to have an adequate number of pharmacists and drug dispensaries. Among those in this industry were: The Opera Pharmacy of Joseph W. Swetman (1863-1937); William P. Kennedy (1873-1951); The Phoenix Pharmacy of J.B. Lemon (1862-1919); The of Herman Nill (1863-1904); Kimbrough & Pippen of Fenton H. Kimbrough (1874-1952) who later owned Kimbrough & Quints; and Jules A. D’Aquin (1877-1936).

Dr. H.M. Folkes first ventured in the drugstore business in May 1901 in a partnership with W.P. Kennedy. Their pharmacy was located in the new, two-story brick building of Lopez & Company on the southeast corner of West Howard Avenue and Reynoir Street. When Mr. Kennedy’s health became poor, he retired from his pharmacy and Dr. Folkes partnered with W.J. Grant.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, May 5, 1901, p. 1 and ) 


 Folkes & Grant 

The Folkes & Grant ‘Century Drug Store’ was a retail drugstore instituted in the summer of 1901 by Dr. H.M. Folkes and W.J. Grant. In 1900, W.J. Grant was a resident of Pascagoula and employed as a drug clerk in that city. He came to Biloxi in 1900 to work in the pharmacy of W.P. Kennedy. Their joint venture in Biloxi was situated in the same space as the short-lived Folkes & Kennedy venture.

In late July 1901, a large engine and generator supplied by the Blakeslee Manufacturing Company of Birmingham, Alabama was installed in the rear of the Century Drugstore. This dynamo generated electricity for the lighting of the drugstore, the adjoining barbershop, and for the large Lopez & Company across the street. There was also sufficient current to operate electric fans in these venues.(1900 Jackson Co., Mississippi Federal Census T623_812, p. 6A, ED 40 and The Biloxi Daily Herald, July 19, 1901, p. 8, July 25, 1901, p. 8, July 28, 1901, p. 8)



[see The Biloxi Daily Herald, October 3, 1903, p. 6)


W.J. Grant

William Jesse Grant (1875-1932) was born at Pascagoula, Mississippi the son of Robert B. Grant (1852-1932) and Lydia S. Landridge (1852-1909). On April 16, 1902 at New Orleans, William J. Grant married Julia Elizabeth Baltar (1880-1968), the daughter of Jacinto F. Baltar (1834-1898) and Margaretha Gondolf (1840-1932). They were the parents of: Marguerite Baltar Grant (1904-1988) m. Henry Baldwin Curtis; William Jesse Grant II (1906-1976) m. Mary Griffin Dantzler (1905-1988); and Leslie Baltar Grant (1908-1986) m. Vera ‘Bede’ Leola Dukate Bond (1909-1989).


Grant’s Drug Company

William J. Grant and Dr. Folkes parted ways about 1904 and this appears to be Dr. Folkes last pharmacy venture. W.J. Grant joined with Jules A. D’Aquin (1877-1936), a native of New Orleans and Tulane pharmacy graduate, to form Grant & D’Aquin. Mr. D’Aquin would leave Grant and join the staff of J.W. Swetman as a prescription clerk before acquiring the drugstore of J.B. Lemon in January 1910. D’Aquin’s drugstore was located on the southeast corner of Howard Avenue and Lameuse Street. In the spring of 1929, Grant’s opened in their new store adjacent to the Saenger Theatre. W.J. Grant was assisted in his pharmacy by his son, W.J. Grant Jr. (1906-1976).(The Daily Herald, January 14, 1910, p. 8 and The Jackson County Times, June 22, 1929, p. 3)

After the demise of W.J. Grant, the family incorporated the business in October 1932. The incorporators of Grant’s Drug Company Incorporated were: Mrs. W.J. Grant, Mrs. Henry B. Curtis, W.J. grant Jr. and Leslie B. Grant. Grant’s remained on West Howard Avenue and Reynoir in the former Lopez-Yerger Building, which became the Barq’s Building in 1940??(Harrison Co., Mississippi Chattel Deed Bk. 52, p. 441) 


Seashore Academy

The Seashore Academy was a private school founded in June 1893 by Laz Lopez, F.W. Elmer, S. Picard, John Walker, E.J. Buck, H.T. Graves, E.W. Morrill, H. Otto, J.R. Harkness, George H. Dunbar, and F.B. Dunbar. This private educational institution was situated about 500 feet west of the Biloxi Lighthouse. It opened in September 1893 with Dr. George S. Roudebush (1829-1921), a Presbyterian minister, in charge.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Chattel Deed Bk. 1, p. 6 and The Biloxi Herald, July 1, 1893, p. 8)


Biloxi Sanatorium

The Biloxi Sanatorium was chartered in Mississippi in June 1902 by Dr. H.M. Folkes, Laz Lopez, W.K.M. Dukate, Harry T. Howard (1856-1930), Judge James H. Nevlle (1852-1919), and Dr. M. Lyle. Talbot (1874-1937). Its purpose was the treatment and care of the sick and disabled. The Biloxi Sanatorium proposed to have a department for marine patients as well as regular patients. The charter for the Biloxi Sanatorium was amended in January 1903 in order “to have the power and authority to open and maintain a school for training nurses and awarding diplomas.”(Harrison Co., Mississippi Chattel Deed Bk. 5, p. 73 and Bk. 419 and The Biloxi Herald, June 22,1902, p. 8) 

The Biloxi Sanatorium was situated on the beach front site of the former Seashore Academy which had been instituted in June 1893 by Laz Lopez, F.W. Elmer, S. Picard, John Walker, E.J. Buck, H.T. Graves, E.W. Morrill, H. Otto, J.R. Harkness, George H. Dunbar, and F.B. Dunbar. This private educational institution was situated about 500 feet west of the Biloxi Lighthouse. It opened in September 1893 with Dr. George S. Roudebush (1829-1921), a Presbyterian minister, in charge.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Chattel Deed Bk. 1, p. 6 and The Biloxi Herald, July 1, 1893, p. 8) 


Miss Mary H. Trigg

Mary H. Trigg (1874-1930+), who had worked in Manhattan as a nurse at the New York Hospital before 1900, came to the Biloxi Sanatorium from Greenville, Mississippi in November 1904. She was a Mississippi native and daughter of Wyndham Trigg (1834-pre- 1910), a lawyer, and Nannie S. Trigg (1837-1910+), natives of Virginia and Mississippi respectively. In 1906, Miss Trigg left Biloxi for the Greenville Sanatorium which she had acquired. Miss Trigg was a guest of the Dr. and Mrs. Folkes at Gunston Hall in late October 1922. By 1930, Miss Trigg was Superintendent of the King’s Daughters Hospital in Greenville.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 21, 1904, p. 5, The Daily Herald, October 31, 1922, p. 3 and 1900 New York, Co. New York Federal Census T623_111, p. 3A, ED 1066 and 1930 Washington Co., Mississippi Federal Census R 1156, p. 27A, ED 9)

Susie Trigg (1870-1930+), a sister of Nurse Mary H. Trigg, taught school at Greenville, Mississippi for many years and was honored by having an elementary school named in her honor in that Delta city. Thomas K. Trigg (1878-1910+), her brother, worked for the Marine Hospital Service as a quarantine guard for trains entering and departing Biloxi was stricken with yellow fever in October 1905.(1910 and 1930 Washington Co., Mississippi T624_763, p. 13A, Ed 117 and R 1171, p. 3A, ED 8 and The Biloxi Herald, October 7, 1905, p. 4)


Folkes & Talbot

In August 1902, Dr. M. Lyle Talbot (1874-1937), the brother of Dr. William O. Talbot (1873-1952), a Biloxi dentist and politician, joined with Dr. H.M. Folkes to form a co-partnership. Dr. M.L. Talbot was born in Scott County, Mississippi in September 1873 to Green W. Talbot (1848-1900+), a farmer, and Fannie Talbot (1852-1903), both natives of Alabama. In 1900, Dr. Talbot was stationed at Ship Island, probably as the Quarantine Officer. Peter Clarisse (1845-1932) was the lighthouse keeper on Ship Island at this time. (The Biloxi Herald, February 20, 1903, p. 6, 1900 Harrison Co., Mississippi Federal Census T623_808, p. 10A, ED 29 and 1880 Scott Co., Mississippi Federal Census T9_663, p. 15, Beat 4)



John Liddie, designer and builder, was hired by the Biloxi Sanatarium to erect a three-decked pavilion at the end of their pier. The upper story had a glass enclosed room that was conducive for patients to sun bathe out of the elements. The second floor featured lounge chairs and hammocks, while the pier level was conducive for children to crab and fish. The pavilion was built with creosoted pilings and iron bars.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, September 18,1903, p. 6) 


Biloxi Marine Hospital

Dr. Folkes advertised in the Biloxi Daily Herald that he contacted to take vessels and that surgery was his specialty.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, April 9, 1903, p. 6) 


The April 1904 conflagration

The Biloxi Sanatarium of Dr. Hyman M. Folkes (1871-1926) was opened on November 24, 1904. The Laz Lopez medical and surgical clinic for the poor would be maintained here.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 17, 1904, p. 5) 


Gunston Hall

Julia Dulion Lopez (1857-1918) died at Biloxi, Mississippi on June 30, 1918. Before her demise, she had appointed Erena Lopez Brady, as executrix, of her estate without bonding. Her bequests to Teresa Lopez Folkes was the Rodenberg Survey lot. In February 1906, Julia Dulion Lopez had acquired for $3250 from the Heirs of John Henry Rodenberg, a large lot, 142 feet in width and 600 feet deep, measured from the southeast corner of in Lot 1-Block 1 of the Maunsel White Survey. It was situated on Biloxi’s West Beach. The Heirs of John Henry Rodenberg were: Cord Henry Rodenberg; Harriet Amanda Rodenberg; Maria Theresa Rodenberg; Eva Langhorne Rodenberg; Mary Francis Murdock; and Eva Anne Shaffer.The Lopez lot was subject to a 25-foot right of way to the Gulfport was left open on the west side of the lot and a & Mississippi Coast Traction Company situated south of the shell road. In addition, a 45-foot road was to be left open on the west side of the tract and a 50-foot wide street to be left open on the north end of the lot.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Chancery Court Land Deed Bk.71 or 73, p. 373 and Harrison Co. , Mississippi Chancery Court Cause No. 1663, “The Estate of Julia Dulion Lopez”-1918 )

As early as September 1919, the Folkes were planning a home for the Rodenberg Lot. At this time, H.H. Roof, local architect, was making architectural drawings for their structure on the corner of West Beach and Rodenberg Avenue.(The Daily Herald, September 19, 1919, p. 2 and


West Beach lot

In January 1905, Octavie Tricou Weysham (1835-1910) conveyed to Teresa Lopez Folkes a large tract of land on West Beach. The consideration was $4000 and the Weysham parcel had a front of 100 feet on the Gulf and ran north to Pass Christian Road. Catherine Perry was to the west and Dr. Folkes’ Sanatorium was to the east. Shortly thereafter in June 1905, Erena Lopez acquired the Perry large tract which was east of the Biloxi Cemetery for $17,000. It a front on the Gulf of Mexico of three hundred sixty-eight feet and ran north almost 1200 feet to Cemetery Road, now Irish Hill Drive.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Land Deed Bk. 64, p. 388 and Bk. 69, p. 89) 

The Weysham property was sold to Mrs. Folkes by Richard B. Harrison (1831-1905), local agent, and the father of Charles T. Harrison (1863-1948), who would develop a 20thCentury real estate empire in Biloxi. The Weysham place had been on the market for several years and had two houses situated on it.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, October 21, 1902, p. 3 and December 10, 1904, p. 4) 

Mrs. Octavie T. Weysham was born at New Orleans. In July 1877, she had married Alphonse Charles Weysham (1831-1900), the widower of her sister, Emma Tricou Weysham (1831-1876). Emma had given birth to Blanche Weysham Harris (1862-1900+), who was reared by Octavie and Alphonse C. Weysham. He made his livelihood as cashier for a large commercial house in the Crescent City.(1880 Orleans Parish Federal Census R461, p. 371C, ED 43) 


Gulf Coast Sanitarium and Health Resort

Dr. James E. Wallace (1876-1942) joined Dr. Folkes in the summer of 1911. He had been at the Biloxi Sanatorium several years past, but returned to Touro Infirmary at NOLA before relocating to Biloxi to partner with Dr. Folker. Dr. Wallace planned to live at the Sanatorium and have his office over Grant’s Drugstore on West Howard Avenue.(The Daily Herald, July 21, 1911, p. 8) 

Founded by Dr. H.M. Folkes. Consisted of operating room and clinic. In 1912, installed a modern X-Ray machine in clinic. .(The Daily Herald, January 8, 1913, p. 1)

In January 1913, Dr. Folkes hosted the Harrison County Medical Association at his sanitarium. Coast physicians attending were: Dr. R.L. White, Dr. G.F. Carroll, and Dr. H.M. Folkes of Biloxi; Dr. A.L. Morris, Dr. A.C. Caraway, Dr. C.A. Sheely, Dr. D.J. Williams, Dr. E.C. Parker, and Dr. H.H. West of Gulfport; Dr. W.A. Dearman and Dr. D.G. Mohler of Long Beach; Dr. B.Z. Welch of Woolmarket; Dr. G.A. McHenry of McHenry; and Dr. J.P. Berry of Jackson.(The Daily Herald, January 8, 1913, p. 1) 


1stNational Bank of Biloxi

Dr. H.M. Folkes resigned as president of the 1stNational Bank of Biloxi in December 1916. He had sold all of his interest in the bank. Edward C. Tonsmeire was elected president by the bank’s board and would also continue as cashier.(The Daily Herald, December 14, 1916, p. 1)


Hotel Biloxi

to H.M. Folkes for $15,000 in September 1919. Dr. Folkes then almost immediately he sold to J.S. Love, State Bank Examiner for the State of Mississippi for $250 and assumption of trust deed.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Land Deed Bk. 124, p. 414 and Bk. 415)


Hotel Biloxi sale

H.M. Folkes, president and Teresa L. Folkes, secretary respectively conveyed the Hotel Biloxi to W.B. Patterson of Mobile, Alabama in February 1923. The sale included all furniture, fixtures, appliances, buildings, capital stock of the Hotel Biloxi, and the artesian well rights deeded to Dr. Folkes.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Land Deed Bk. 137, p. 256)


New ownership

In April 1925, W.B. Patterson agreed to a lease purchase on the Hotel Biloxi with J.P. Edwards of Ocean Springs and Lee M. Russell (1876-1930+) of Gulfport and later Biloxi. The grantees agreed to pay Mr. Patterson $79,300 for the hotel and assume a $20,700 mortgage with the International Life Insurance Company. In addition they would be responsible for taxes and fire and tornado insurance on the property in the amount of $100,000.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Land Deed Bk. 162, p. 375)



Dr. H.M. Folkes died from an apopletic stroke on May 1, 1926.  He was survived by his wife and two daughters, Mrs. Philip Caldwell and Mrs. Rucks Yerger; four sisters, two of whom reside in Jackson, Mississippi, one in Monterrey, California, and another in Savannah, Georgia; and Albert Folkes, a brother, at Fort Myers, Florida.



The Biloxi Daily Herald, Business and Professional Men, (The Biloxi Daily Herald: Biloxi, Mississippi-1902).

The Daily Herald 50th Golden Jubilee Number Biographical and Historical 1884-1934, (The Daily Herald: Gulfport-Biloxi, Mississippi-1934).

Jerome Lepre, Catholic Church Records Diocese of Biloxi, Mississippi, Volume I, (Catholic Dioceses of Biloxi: Biloxi, Mississippi-1991).


Chancery Court

Harrison County, Mississippi Chancery Court Cause No. 683, “Eulalie Clark v. V.J. Olivari”-1895.

Harrison County, Mississippi Chancery Court Cause No. 1663, “The Estate of Julia Dulion Lopez”-1918

Harrison County, Mississippi Chancery Court Cause No. 7586, “Teresa L. Folkes v. Roy Dulion, et al”-February 1924.

Harrison County, Mississippi Chancery Court Cause No. 30497, “Estate of Teresa Lopez  Folkes”-March 1952.

Harrison County, Mississippi Chancery Court Cause No. 41868, “Estate of Josephine Folkes Burns”-February 1961.



The Biloxi Herald,“Quarantine Station at Cat Island”, July 25, 1896.

The Biloxi Herald,“City News”, May 22, 1897.

The Biloxi Herald,“City News”, October 30, 1897.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, April 24, 1897, p. 8.

The Biloxi Daily Herald,“Dr. H.M. Folkes [advertisement],  February 10, 1899.

The Biloxi Daily Herald,“Brilliant Affair [Folkes-Lopez]”, June 5, 1900.

The Biloxi Daily Herald,“City News”, June 5, 1900.

The Biloxi Daily Herald,“A New Building”, May 5 , 1901.

The Biloxi Daily Herald,“City News”, July 19, 1901.

The Biloxi Daily Herald,“City News”, July 25, 1901.

The Biloxi Daily Herald,“City News” July 28, 1901.

The Biloxi Daily Herald,“City News”, January 16, 1902.

The Biloxi Daily Herald,“Council Meeting”, April 23, 1902.

The Biloxi Daily Herald,“Charter of Incorporation of the Biloxi Sanatorium”, June 22, 1902.

The Biloxi Daily Herald,“City News”, August 2, 1902.

The Biloxi Daily Herald,“Biloxi Real Estate and Loan Agency”, October 21, 1902.

The Biloxi Daily Herald,“City News”, February 20, 1903.

The Biloxi Daily Herald,“A Northern Lady”, February 24, 1903.

The Biloxi Daily Herald,“Biloxi Marine Hospital”, April 9, 1903.

The Biloxi Daily Herald,“Three decked pavilion”, September 18, 1903.

The Biloxi Daily Herald,“Among Herald advertisers”, October 2, 1903.

The Biloxi Daily Herald,“City News”, December 29, 1903.

The Biloxi Daily Herald,“Necrological-Capt. A.A. Folkes”, January 2, 1904.

The Biloxi Daily Herald,“Heavy fire losses”, April 5, 1904.

The Biloxi Daily Herald,“After the fire”, April 6, 1904.

The Biloxi Daily Herald,“Sanatorium”, April 12, 1904, 1904.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “”, November 17, 1904.

The Biloxi Daily Herald,“Personal”, November 21, 1904.

The Biloxi Daily Herald,“City News”, December 10, 1904.

The Biloxi Daily Herald,“Personal”, April 28, 1906.

The Daily Herald,“New Hotel for Biloxi”, April 7, 1908.

The Daily Herald, “To open resort Hotel”, May 28, 1909.

The Daily Herald, “To convert Hotel into Sanitarium”, September 7, 1909.

The Daily Herald,“Biloxi News of Personal Interest”, January 14, 1910.

The Daily Herald, Dr. Folkes tells why $100,000 hospital is need at the Old Soldiers' Home", July 30, 1921, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, Tartt completes arrangments to carry [CSA] Vets to Chattanooga free", October 22, 1921, p. 1.

The Biloxi News, “Biloxi plunged into grief by sudden death of Saturday of Dr. H.M. Folkes”, May 2, 1926.

The Clarion Ledger, “Advertisement [A.A. Folkes]”, May 2, 1889.

The Daily Herald,“Dr. Wallace and Dr. Folkes are partners”, July 21, 1911.

The Daily Herald,“Mr. Tonsmeire is elected president [1st National Bank of Biloxi]”,

The Daily Herald,“Will be known as Hotel Biloxi”, February 20, 1919.

The Daily Herald,“Hotel Biloxi changes hands”, September 19, 1919.

The Daily Herald,“Dr. H.M. Folkes is host of Harrison County doctors”, January 8, 1913.

The Daily Herald, "Plans for new home", September 19, 1919,

The Daily Herald,“Attending College”, September 7, 1921.

The Daily Herald,“Biloxi News Paragraphs”, October 31, 1922.

The Daily Herald,“Miss Dorothy Folkes dies, September 14, 1925.

The Daily Herald, “Biloxi News Items [death of Dorothy H. Folkes]”, September 15, 1925.

The Daily Herald, “Open branch office in Biloxi”, December 5, 1924.

The Daily Herald, “Biloxians to sail for Honolulu”, September 13, 1926.

The Daily Herald,“Bids soon for new hotel”, April 12, 1927.

The Daily Herald,“Razing old Biloxi Hotel”, May 2, 1927.

The Daily Herald,“Biloxi Hotel being moved”, May 5, 1927.

The Daily Herald,“Mrs. H.M. Folkes dies after long illness”, July 27, 1951.

The Daily Herald, "Russ Funeral At 3:30 Today", February 16, 1953, p. 1.

The Daily Herald,“Mrs. Thomas Burns’ funeral is Tuesday”, November 23, 1959.

The Daily Herald,“Burns’ rites”, November 24, 1959.

The Daily Herald,“Anna Folkes Kelly”, August 6, 1968.

The Jackson County Times, “Local and Personal”,June 22, 1929.

The Jackson County Times, “Grant’s”, June 22, 1929.

The Sun Herald,“Eugene Robert Kelly”, October 16, 1990.

The Sun Herald,“Biloxi Sanatorium put coast on the map”, June 9?, 1995.

The Times Picayune,“The Jung Hotel”, August 26, 1934.

The Times Picayune,“Burns former manager of Jung, to switch from hotels to yachts”, April 17, 1951.

The Times Picayune,“Motel De Ville manager named”, December 28, 1954.

The Times Picayune,“Biloxi woman [Josephine Folkes Burns] passes Sunday”, November 23, 1959.

The Times Picayune,“Thomas Burns service today”, November 26, 1974.




Dr. Frank G. Garbin Sr. [1929-2018] 


Dr. Frank G. Garbin Sr. [1929-2018] of Ocean Springs, passed away on Tuesday, November 20, 2018.  Dr. Garbin was a longtime resident of the Mississippi Gulf Coast. He was born and raised in Biloxi and graduated Notre Dame High School in 1947. 


After graduation, Dr. Garbin attended Spring Hill College in Mobile, Alabama where he earned his Bachelor of Science Degree in 1951. In 1955, he graduated from the University of Tennessee College of Medicine with his Doctorate in Medicine. He completed a rotating internship at St. Joseph's Hospital in Memphis, Tennessee; it was during this time that he met his wife of fifty-three years, Nitza (Betancourt).


Following his time in Tennessee, Dr. Garbin served in the United States Air Force as a General Medical Officer from 1957-1959. While serving, Dr. Garbin and his wife Nitza had their first two children, Nilda and Donna. From 1960-1964, he completed his General Surgery Residency at the San Juan City Hospital in San Juan, Puerto Rico. 


While in Puerto Rico, Dr. and Mrs. Garbin had their next two children, Sharon and Frank Jr. Dr. Garbin and his family moved back to Mississippi in 1964, where he lived for the remainder of his life. It was in Mississippi that the last two Garbin children, Paul and Paulette, were born. During his free time, Dr. Garbin loved to spend his time outside, preferably on the water fishing. Frank was a loving father, grandfather, and great-grandfather, and he will be missed by all that knew him.

Dr. Garbin is preceded in death by his wife, Nitza Garbin, his parents, Grugur and Danica (Pavlov) Garbin, and his brother Peter (DeeDee) Garbin. 

Survivors include his brothers, George Garbin and Joseph Garbin, and his sister, Madelyn (Garbin) Carpenter. He is also survived by his children Nilda Webb (Kevin), Donna Corder (James), Sharon Klein (Lee), Frank Garbin Jr. (Faith), Paul Garbin (Marie), and Paulette Dawkins (Craig), his sixteen grandchildren, and six great-grandchildren.

The family of Dr. Garbin wants to extend a special thanks to Katrina Campbell (also known as "Skinny" by Dr. Garbin), as well as Mary Lee, Janice Powell, Janay Campbell, and Lisa Rials. This army of angels loved Dr. Garbin, and he loved them like his own children. 

A Mass of Christian Burial will be held on Monday, November 26, 2018 at 11:00 am at Holy Family Catholic Church, Pass Christian where friends may visit one hour before the mass.  Bradford-O'Keefe Funeral Home, 15th Street Gulfport is in charge of arrangements.[The Sun Herald, November 23 to November 25, 2018]


Dr. James A. Graves

Dr. James Alden Graves (1913-2000), age 87 years, died Saturday, December 23, 2000, in Biloxi.  Dr. Graves was born September 14, 1913, in Ely, Minnesota.  He received his BS and MD degrees. from the University of Minnesota and interned at Charity Hospital in New Orleans. Graves had been a resident of Biloxi since 1939, when he began a medical practice, retiring in the mid-1950s. He served in the Army Medical Corps during World War II. He was a member of the First Presbyterian Church, Biloxi. He was a former member of the board of trustees of Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College, past president and member for 10 years of the Biloxi School Board and former member of the Mississippi State Board of Education. He was co-founder of the Gulf Coast Symphony Orchestra.

He was preceded in death by a son, Richard Bennett Graves II (1939-1996).

Survivors include his wife, Catherine Louise Casey Graves (1915-2004), a native of Spring Valley, Wisconsin; a daughter, Joyce Louise Graves Bordelon (b. 1943) of Austin, Texas; a son, Dr. Thomas A. Graves (b. 1936) m. Earline Beatrice Daniels (1936-1999) of Gulfport; eight grandchildren; and two great-grandchildren.

A service will be at 2 p.m. today at Bradford-O'Keefe Funeral Home in Gulfport where friends may call one hour before service time. Interment will be in Floral Hills Memorial Gardens, Gulfport.(The Sun Herald, December 27, 2000, p. A-6)

Catherine Louise Casey Graves expired on May 25, 2004 at Austin, Texas.  Her corporal remains were interred at Floral Hills Memorial Gardens at Gulfport, Mississippi.(The Sun Herald, May 29, 2004)

Dr. J.A. Graves came to Biloxi in 1939.  He graduated from the University of Minnesota Medical School and interned at Charity Hospital in New Orleans.  At Biloxi, Dr. Graves was very active in pursuing excellence in education.  He was presiden tof the Biloxi Municipal School Board and a trustee of the Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College.  He was appointed to this position in May 1966 to replace Lyle M. Page.(The Daily Herald, May 6, 1966, p. 1)



The Daily Herald, 'Dr. Graves appointed to Board', May 6, 1966.

The Sun Herald, 'Dr. James Alden Graves', December 27, 2000.

The Sun Herald, 'Catherine Louise Casey Graves', May 29, 2004.





Walter Joseph Greaves (1857-1946) was born at Clinton, Hinds County, Mississippi in June 1857 to William Francis Greaves (1824-1880+), a native of Charleston, South Carolina, and Eleanor Matilda Dupree (1837-1873), a Mississippian.  His siblings were:  Alma J. Greaves (1860-1902) m. Charles T. Harrison (1863-1948); Marion Lee Greaves (b. 1862); and Hal Percy Greaves (1867-1928).



Studied at Mississippi College





Lucy H. Harrison and child



Walter J. Greaves married Lucy H. Harrison (1870-1954) in Hinds County, Mississippi on December 23, 1885. Lucy was born June 28, 1870 at Edwards, Hinds County, Mississippi to Richard Benjamin Harrison (1831-1905), a Tennessee native, and Virginia Emaline Gee Harrison (1836-1912), the daughter of John H. Gee and Julia A. Tanner.  Virginia Gee Harrison’s siblings were: Nancy A. Gee (b. 1834); Virginia E. Gee (b. 1836); Thomas E. Gee (b. 1838); William R. Gee (b. 1840); Julia H. Gee (b. 1842); and Elizabeth F. Gee (b. 1843).[1850 Sumter County, Alabama Federal Census M432_15, p. 281A.


John H. Gee had married Julia A. Tanner on 1 December 1832 at Williamson County, Tennessee.  Franklin, Tennessee is the county seat of Williamson County and is just south of Nashville, the capital city of the Volunteer State.[Williamson County, Tennessee MRB [1800-1866], p. 384]


Before his demise in 1944, Dr. Walter Joseph Greaves would marry three times: Lucy Harrison; Anna T. Rice; and Nellie Cloud.   He was the father five children: Lucy Greaves (1886-1950) and Eleanor Virginia Greaves (1890-1974) with Lucy H. Harrison; no children with Anna T. Rice; and three children with Nellie Cloud: Bonnie Mae Greaves (b. 1929) m. Armand M. Ganucheau (1920-1998); Joyce Elizabeth Greaves (1931-2001) m. Robert Lee Corum; and Guy Greaves.




In June 1900, Walter J. Greaves was practicing medicine and living at 704 Adams Street in Vicksburg, Mississippi.  Three children had been born by this time, but only two daughters were living: Lucy Greaves (1886-1950) m. John F. Miles (1884-1946) and Eleanor Virginia Greaves (1890-1974) m. Cleveland Pol Huggins (1885-1933).





Lucy Greaves

Lucy Greaves (1886-1950) was born in October 17, 1886 at Vicksburg, Mississippi.   She married John ‘Don’ Frisbe Mills (1884-1946) on September 18, 1915 at sister’s residence on West Howard Avenue.  The Reverend John Campbell of the First Presbyterian Church of Biloxi blessed their nuptial ceremony before family and friends.  Mr. Miles was manager of the Miles Automotive Company of Newton, Iowa where the newly resided.(The Daily Herald, September 20, 1915, p. 1)


Don F. Miles and Lucy Greaves Miles were the parents of Donna Virginia Miles Rowe (1918-2004), the spouse of Harry Walter Rowe (1920-1994).  She passed December 7, 2004 at Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.


Don F. Miles passed at Newton, Iowa on December 7, 1946 while Lucy Greaves Miles died on March 16, 1950 at Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.  Their committal was in the Newton Union Cemetery at Newton, Iowa.[The Daily Herald, March 21, 1950, p. 8]




Eleanor V. Greaves


Eleanor Virginia Greaves (1890-19 74), called Virginia and Virgie, was born at Biloxi on July 7, 1890. On December 12, 1912 in the Church of Redeemer in Biloxi, she married Cleveland  ‘Cleve’ Pol Huggins (1885-1933), son of George E. Huggins (1862-1951) and Isabelle E. Pol (1864-1954).  He was born at Pascagoula, Mississippi on January 25, 1885 and coached football at Biloxi in 1908.  At the time of their nuptials, Cleve Huggins’ parents were living on West Beach at Biloxi.  He and Virgie lived with them following their honeymoon to New Orleans and he retuned to his work with the Sheriff’s staff in Gulfport.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 28, 1908 and The Daily Herald, December 13, 1912, p. 1)


They were the parents of two children:  Virginia Huggins (1913-1983) m. T.O. Green and Cleveland P. Huggins Jr. (1916-1990).(The Daily Herald, December 3, 1974, p. A2)


Cleveland P. Huggins


Cleveland Pol Huggins was elected Sheriff of Harrison County, Mississippi and took office in January 1932.  He expired on January 25, 1933 while in office.  Mrs. Virgie Huggins was appointed Sheriff of Harrison County by Governor Martin ‘Mike’ Sennett Conner (1891-1950).  Virgie lost her office to Oscar L. Meador in a special election held on March 10, 1933.  Although about 6000 registered voters were expected to cast ballots in the race, the turnout was close to 5100 voters resulting in the election of Mr. Meador as their Sheriff.(The Daily Herald, March 9, 1933, p. 1 and March 13, 1933)


Cleveland P. Huggins expired on January 25, 1933.  His corporal remains were interred the 6th Addition of the Biloxi Cemetery.


After the demise of her husband, Sheriff Cleveland P. Huggins on January 25, 1933, Virginia Greaves Huggins (1890-1974) was appointed Sheriff of Harrison County, Mississippi by Governor Martin Sennett ‘Mike’ Conner (1891-1950).  She lost her post to Oscar L. Meador in the special election held on March 10, 1933.


Special Election

Shortly after the demise of Cleveland P. Huggins, the denizens of Harrison County voted on March 10, 1933 for a new Sheriff.  In addition to Oscar L. Meador, the candidates for the Sheriff’s post were: Curtis Dedeaux; Duckworth; George M. Foote (1873-1934+), former three-term, Gulfport Mayor and Harrison County State Senator; Virgie E. Huggins; and Redfield.  Although about 6000 registered voters were expected to cast ballots in the race, the turnout for this special election was close to 5100 voters who elected Oscar L. Meador as Sheriff.(The Daily Herald, March 9, 1933, p. 1 and March 13, 1933, p.


Virgie Greaves Huggins died on December 1, 1974.  Her corporal remains were interred the 6th Addition of the Biloxi Cemetery.




Lucy Harrison Greaves filed for divorce from Dr. Greaves.  The case was heard in the Harrison County Chancery Court on 12 February 1914.  In his chambers at Gulfport, Chancellor Stevens heard highly controversial and vehemently disputed arguments for several days before dismissing the combatants.(The Daily Herald, February 12, 1914, p.  4 and February 21, 1914, p. 1)


Property transfer

Following their divorce, Dr. Greaves transferred warranty deeds to two houses, 1107 West Howard and 1111 West Howard Avenue, to his daughters, Mrs. Cleveland Pol Huggins and Miss Lucy Greaves.  The properties were valued at $4900.  Mrs. Huggins who lived on Howard Avenue planned immediately to occupy one of the deeded domiciles.(The Daily Herald, September 17, 1914, p. 5)


Lady lawyer

Lucy Harrison Greaves passed the bar examination given to her by Chancellor Stevens.  She began practicing civil law at Gulfport, Mississippi in July 1915 with W.A. Phillips as Phillips & Greaves.  At this time, she was the only woman lawyer in Mississippi.(The Daily Herald, July 8, 1915, p. 1)


She married Walter Joseph Greaves (1858-1946).  She passed on November 21, 1954 at Grand Bay, Alabama.(The Daily Herald,  November 22, 1954, p. 12)



Anna T. Rice

Dr. Greaves married Anna Teresa Rice (1874-1928), native of New Orleans and the daughter of Joseph M. Rice (1843-1900), an Englishman and merchant at New Orleans, and Margaret O’Neill (1847-1899), born in Ireland.  Their nuptials were performed by the Reverend C.C. Mulvihill in Harrison County, Mississippi on 2 March 1915.  Anna expired in the Crescent City on 27 July 1928.  Her final commitment may have been in St. Patrick’s No. 2 Cemetery at New Orleans.(The Daily Herald, March 3, 1915; Harrison Co., Mississippi Circuit Court MRB 27, p. 267; and The New Orleans States, July 29, 1928, p. 2)



New Orleans

Dr. Greaves moved to New Orleans before 1920.  In January 1920, he and Anna were living at 2020 Canal Street and he was practicing medicine.[1920 Orleans Parish, Louisiana Federal Census T625_619, p. 7A, ED 42]


After the demise of Anna T. Rice Greaves, Walter J. Greaves married Nellie Mae Cloud (1908-2005), a much younger woman and native of Montgomery, Alabama.  She was the daughter of Reuben Sharp Cloud (1883-1972) and Ethel Lula Lavender (1889-1967) who later married Charles Edgar Breaux (1890-1960). 


Their first child, Bonnie Mae Greaves, was born at New Orleans in December 1929.  In 1930, the family was domiciled at 1719 2nd Street in the Crescent City.  The house was valued at $6000.[1930 Orleans Parish Federal Census R809, p. 18-A, ED 182]


By 1940, Nellie Mae Greaves had separated or divorced Walter J. Greaves.  Two more children had been born: Joyce Elizabeth Graves (1931-2001) m.    Robert Lee Corum and Guy Greaves (b. 1936)


Nellie married Edwin Murphy Lynch and had another child, Eugene Michael Lynch (1947-2009)






Bonnie M. Greaves

[from The Times-Picayune, May 7, 1950, Section IV, p. 7]


Bonnie Mae Greaves (b. 1929) married Armand Maxime Ganucheau (1920-1998) on 10 June 1950 at New Orleans.  She and Armand had




[from The Times-Picayune, July 31, 1958, p. 74]


Joyce E. Greaves

Joyce ‘Joy” Elizabeth Greaves (1931-2001) married Robert Lee Corum in the First Baptist Church at NOLA in September 1958.  She expired at Nashville, Tennessee on November 18, 2001.



Guy Greaves





The Daily Herald 50th Golden Jubilee Number Biographical and Historical 1884-1934, (The Daily Herald: Gulfport-Biloxi, Mississippi-1934).


John H. Lang, History of Harrison County, Mississippi, (The Dixie Press: Gulfport, Mississippi-1936)

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “City News”, November 28, 1908.

The Daily Herald, “Sheriff-elect Elmer will have Bradley and Huggins as Deputies”, December 12, 1911.

The Daily Herald, “Mr. Huggins and Miss Greaves wed”, December 12, 1912.

The Daily Herald, ‘Greaves divorce case tried today’, February 12, 1914.

The Daily Herald, ‘Greaves divorce suit dismissed’, February 21, 1914.

The Daily Herald, ‘Greaves [sic] property is deeded to daughter [sic]’, September 17, 1914.

The Daily Herald, “Huggins for Assessor”, January 16, 1915.

The Daily Herald, ‘Dr. Greaves weds’, March 3, 1915.

The Daily Herald, ‘Woman lawyer [Lucy Harrison Greaves]’, July 8, 1915.

The Daily Herald, ‘Biloxi wedding [Miles-Greaves] a pretty affair’, September 20, 1915.

The Daily Herald, “Huggins makes appointments”, January 4, 1932.

The Daily Herald, “Sheriff Huggins dies of pneumonia, Gov. Conner comes to attend funeral”, January 26, 1933.

The Daily Herald, “Deputy acts as Sheriff”, January 26, 1933.

The Daily Herald, “Funeral of Huggins held”, January 27, 1933.

The Daily Herald, “Sheriff to be named Friday, seven in race”, March 9, 1933.

The Daily Herald, “Official returns give Meador 2133, Mrs. Huggins, 1636”, March 13, 1933.


The Daily Herald, “Mrs. Huggins ends her term”, March 20, 1933.

The Daily Herald, “Mrs. Miles dies”, March 21, 1950.

The Daily Herald, “Mrs. Virgie G. Huggins”, December 3, 1974.


The Times-Picayune, ‘Bride elect [Bonne Mae Greaves with image]’, May 7, 1950

The Times-Picayune, ‘Mrs. Robert Lee Corum [Joyce Elizabeth Greaves with image]’, September 7, 1958.

The Times-Picayune, ‘[Edwin Murphy] Lynch’, February 13, 1975, Section I, p. 16.

The Times-Picayune, ‘[Nellie Cloud] Lynch’, January 1, 2006.



Dr. Frank G. Gruich Sr.

Dr. Frank G. Gruich Sr. (1920-2007) was born into this life on March 12, 1920, on Point Cadet, Biloxi, Mississippi. He was born through death into everlasting life on September 1, 2007 at Biloxi Regional Medical Center.

Dr. Gruich surmounted huge challenges from working in his grass roots in the shrimp factories to launching his life’s love and passion for knowledge and education in medicine. He always credited his Perkinston Junior College days as the catalyst for his career. He graduated from Tulane University Medical School in 1945. He served his internship at Charity Hospital in New Orleans. He then served two years as a Medical Officer in the Army.

Upon his discharge as a Captain, he became associated with Dr. Joseph Kuljis in Biloxi and practiced general medicine from 1948 -1952. Dr. Gruich underwent his specialized training in Obstetrics and Gynecology from 1952-1955 at the Confederate Memorial Hospital in Shreveport, Louisiana, where he served as Chief Resident his senior year. Dr. Gruich went on to enjoy a distinguished career in medicine that spanned six decades. 

Among his many recognitions a highlight in his life was his induction into the 1979 Mississippi Gulf Coast Junior College Hall of Fame at Perkinston Campus, receiving the Sam Owen Award also from Perkinston, and serving on the Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College Board of Trustees for over twenty years. He also served for over twenty years on the advisory board of BankCorp South. In 2006 the new surgical suite at Biloxi Regional Hospital was dedicated to him where he served as Chief of Staff many years. 

Dr. Gruich championed the efforts to keep Catholic education a viable option for all. He served for 39 years on the Catholic School Board always offering his reflective advice and counsel. He remained a stalwart ambassador for the Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College, his beloved Ole Miss, his faith, and Catholic education. 

All who know Dr. G. knew of his passion for sports second to none was football. Home life and Sunday dinners were scheduled around “kick-off” as he rooted for his Ole Miss Rebels and New Orleans Saints. In baseball, the Atlanta Braves were his team. He also took on the professional teams, the Indiannapolis Colts and the New York Giants, as he continued to support the Manning boys. 

Dr. Gruich is survived by his beloved wife and life partner Gracie “Bo” Bodie Gruich; his children: son, Frank G. Gruich, Jr. of Biloxi; daughters: Maureen Gruich of Madison; Suzanne and her husband Dave Prokopchuk of Cypress, Texas; and Mary Grace and her husband Joe Marquardt of Houston, Texas. 

Dr. Gruich was blessed with seven grandchildren: Frank Jr.’s children: son, Frankie, III; daughter, Bonnie; and son, Nick & his wife April all of Biloxi; Maureen’s daughters: Erin Propst of Madison and Ryan Claire Propst of Tupelo; Mary Grace’s sons: Maxim and Cooper Marquardt of Houston, Texas. 

Dr. Gruich was preceeded in death by his parents: Mitchell Gruich Sr. and Mary (Bohonovich) Gruich; brothers: August “Geagle”, Tony “Breezy”, Mithcell, Jr., and sister Marie. The family expresses deep gratitude for your love and prayers in this enormous loss.

Memorials can be made to the Dr. Frank G. Gruich, Sr. Scholarship Fund at St. Patrick’s Catholic High School or to his beloved charity, The Little Sisters of the Poor, 1655 McGill Avenue, Mobile, AL 36604.1299. 

A Mass of Christian Burial will be held Tuesday, September 4, 2007, at 3 p.m. at Our Lady of Fatima Catholic Church in Biloxi where friends may visit from 1 p.m. until service time. Interment will follow in Biloxi City Cemetery. The Howard Avenue Chapel of Bradford-O'Keefe Funeral Homes in Biloxi is in charge of arrangements. (The Sun Herald, September 3, 2007)

Dr. Frank Gruich: Dr. G just loved being a doctor

[from The Sun Herald (Biloxi, Mississippi) - Sunday, September 2, 2007, p. A-12]

Dr. Frank Gruich, who rose from poverty on Point Cadet to success and esteem as a local obstetrician and gynecologist, died Saturday.

Gruich, 87, was the son of Yugoslavian immigrants who labored hard in the seafood industry. His character was forged as a young man during the Great Depression. He studied hard and made his way to Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College at Perkinston, where he gained attention for his skill at chemistry, despite never having taken a chemistry course in high school.

At Perkinston, Gruich was given a medal as the best chemistry student in the state. From MGCCC he went on to the University of Mississippi, where he earned a scholarship from the Kellogg Foundation. He joined the Army, which also helped pay for his education.

Gruich later made his way to Tulane's medical school, and after going to work the young doctor cherished his new job title. He carried that pride with him the rest of his life.

"He was absolutely identified with his practice of medicine," his daughter, Maureen Gruich, said. "That is who he was."

He was also a fierce advocate of Dr. Gilbert Mason, a black colleague who became a local civil rights activist and staged a much-publicized assembly on the beach in 1960. When Mason was under fire at Biloxi Regional Medical Center over his activism, Gruich stood up for him and reminded the hospital's administration of the law. A poor boy from the Point, Gruich could identify with being disadvantaged.

After retiring in 1997 and delivering well over 5,000 babies, Dr. G, as Gruich was known, continued to pay a daily visit to Biloxi Regional to visit old friends and co-workers. He gave weather reports to personnel in the medical-records office, which earned him the nickname "The Weatherman." He also had a free lunch each day at the cafeteria, which was never begrudged him, considering his contributions to the place.

During his visits to the hospital, Gruich would also buy lunches for a couple of hospital workers he knew were having a hard time making ends meet.

"He remembered being hungry in med school," his daughter said.

Gruich is survived by his wife, Gracie, and his four children. Many of his relatives entered the medical profession because they were inspired by Dr. G's success.

The doctor was a big supporter of local schools, particularly Mercy Cross, but he also looked forward to the opening of the new St. Patrick Catholic High School. Gruich served on the MGCCC Board of Trustees and was loyal to Ole Miss. His own academic triumphs over adverse circumstances led Dr. G to believe that in this country a degree was within anyone's reach.

"Education meant everything in the world to him," Maureen Gruich said.



The Daily Herald, "Dr. Frank Gruich, September 3, 1945, p. 5.

The Daily Herald, "Mitchell V. Gruich, February 24, 1958, p. 2.

The Sun Herald, "Tony 'Captain Breezy' Gruich, May 18, 1996, p. C-2.

The Sun Herald, "Marie Sophie Gruich, December 27, 1998, p. A-17.

The Sun Herald, "Ms. Leoneade M. Gruich", March 10, 2005, p. A-6.

The Sun Herald, "Dr. Frank G. Gruich; Dr. G just loved being a doctor", September 2, 2007, p. A-12.

The Sun Herald, "Dr. Frank G. Gruich Sr., September 3, 2007.



Dr. Percy P. Haslitt (1880-1969) was born at Marshall, Illinois. He attended United Brethern College, Northern Illinois Business College, the University of Illinois, and Physicians and Surgeons' Medical College (Chicago). Haslitt did post graduate work at John Hopkins Hospital.

In 1917, Dr. Haslitt enlisted in the Army and served as a captain in the medical corps during WW I. He spent most of his career in government service with the Veterans Administration serving at post in Hines, Illinois, Murfreesboro and Johnson City, Tennessee, Chicago, Biloxi, and Dallas, Texas. In May 1950, after thirty years, Haslitt retired from federal service.

In 1951, Dr. Haslitt moved to Ocean Springs and began a private practice. His office was located in the Young Building at 624 Washington Avenue. Haslitt retired from medicine in 1959.(The Gulf Coast Times, March 29, 1951, p. 1)

Percy P. Haslitt married Martha Gagen (1883-1943) also a native of Marshall, Illinois. She died at New Orleans on February 5, 1943. They had four children: Beulah Clower (Biloxi), Mary Jane Pasquier (Shreveport), J.E. Haslitt (Houma), and Bernard P. Haslitt (Biloxi).

At Ocean Springs, Dr. Haslitt resided in the Manuel Courts at 706 Porter with his wife, Gladys. He died on May 19, 1969, and is buried at the Southern Memorial Park in Biloxi.   


The Daily Herald, "Dr. Haslitt, former VA, Doctor Dies", May 20, 1969.

The Daily Herald, "Mrs. P.P. Haslit dies in New Orleans", February 5, 1943.

The Gulf Coast Times, "Dr. Haslitt to open office-Ocean Springs", March 29, 1951.

The Ocean Springs Record, "Well known doctor dies suddenly at VA", May 29, 1969.



Daniel Lester Hollis

[from Sherry Hollis Shepherd and September 1922 passport image of Dr. D.L. Hollis]



Daniel Lester Hollis (1893-1975) was born on October 22, 1893, at Sulligent, Lamar County, Alabama to Dr. Daniel Dix Hollis (1861-1927) and Mary Annie Molloy Hollis (1871-1941).  In 1915, Daniel graduated from the University of Alabama with a medical degree and went to work as a surgeon in the Birmingham Infirmary at Birmingham, Alabama.  In 1917, he was commissioned a lieutenant in the US Army Medical Corps and served in Arkansas, Georgia, New York and Tennessee.  Lt. Hollis was honorably discharged after 18 months of active duty*.  He maintained his commission in the Army Reserves for a number of years. The Daily Herald, July 31, 1930, p. 2

*US Dept. of Veterans Affairs BIRLS death file 1850-2010  relates that Dr. Hollis was in the US Army from March 6, 1918 to December 20, 1918.



In July 1919, Dr. Hollis arrived in Ancon, Panama to begin a three-year tour in the Canal Zone employed by the Panama Health Department.  During this time he had two vacations of sixty days each in the United States.  While in Panama in August 1922, Dr. Hollis applied for an emergency passport to Cuba-Jamaica-Guatemala to begin his  employment with Union Oil.  He actually went to Tampico, Mexico as chief surgeon for the Royal Dutch Petroleum Corporation.  After 6 ½ years, Dr. Hollis and his family returned to Sulligent, Alabama(NARA-Emergency Passports applied for Argentina-Venezuela 1906-1925, Vol. 7, p. 748-749 and The Daily Herald, July 31, 1930, p. 2 and April 20, 1975, p. 2)


In the summer of 1930, Dr. Hollis, physician and surgeon, and family arrived at Biloxi, Mississippi from Sulligent, Alabama.  They rented the Beuhler House at 112 Collins Avenue.  Hollis opened his office in the Yerger Building on West Howard Avenue near Reynoir Street in July 1930.  He hired Miss Francis Phillpott to be his office secretary.(The Daily Herald, July 31, 1930, p. 2)



Daniel L. Hollis and Vola Elizabeth Cummings (1897-1994) were married June 12, 1923, probably in San Antonio, Texas.  She was born on April 4, 1897 at Mexico City, Mexico to Charles Ernest Cummings (1860-1933), a native of Brownsville, Texas, and Vola Devona Ruff (1874-1967), who born at Baltimore, Maryland.  Vola was a registered nurse when she met Daniel L. Hollis.  At Biloxi, she was active in the First United Methodist Church of Biloxi, the Lions Auxiliary, Medical Auxiliary, Chapter D PEO, Red Cross volunteer [Grey Lady], and other civic and social organizations.(The Sun Herald, May 24, 1994, p. A2)

Daniel and Vola C. Hollis  were the parents of three sons: Daniel L. Hollis Jr.  (1924-2000) m. Ruth Temple (1928-1985) and Patti Pieri Kimbrough; Charles Dixie Hollis (1928-2013) m. Vesta Maddox (b. 1933); and William C.  Hollis (b. 1935) m. Betty Sue Montgomery, Joan McRaney and Ann Bowden Dickinson (b. 1949)

Dr. Hollis devoted his life to his family, medical practice and was very proactive in the civic and social functions of his community.  He was an active participant of the Biloxi Public School Board where he was its president and secretary during his twelve year tenure and served twenty-five years as football team physician for Biloxi High School. (The Daily Herald, April 20, 1975, p. A2)

At the Biloxi Hospital and Howard Memorial Hospital, Dr. Hollis had been chief of staff and secretary.  He had served in the same capacities with the Coast Counties Medical Society and was a member of the Mississippi Medical Association and the Southeastern Congress of Surgeons.  Hollis was also past secretary of the Gulf Coast Clinical Society.(The Daily Herald, April 20, 1975, p. A2)

A World War I, Dr. Hollis was a member and past president of the Charles S. Baudry American Legion Post in Biloxi.  He had been past president of the Biloxi Lions Club which selected his as its ‘1955 Outstanding Biloxi Citizen’.(The Daily Herald, January 2, 1956, p. 1)

Daniel L. Hollis was a steward in the Methodist Church; Mason and Shriner and a member of all York Rite bodies; member of the Biloxi Chamber of Commerce; Mithras carnival organization; and honorary member of the University of Alabama ‘A’ Club.

Dr. Daniel L. Hollis passed on April 19, 1975 in the Howard Memorial Hospital at Biloxi.  He was survived by his spouse and three sons: Daniel L. Hollis Jr. of Tuscaloosa, Alabama; Charles Dixie Hollis of Biloxi; and Billy Hollis of Ocean Springs, Mississippi.  Bradford-O’Keefe Funeral Home of Biloxi directed the funeral of Dr. Hollis.  After services at the First United Methodist Church of Biloxi, internment was at Southern Memorial Park in Biloxi.(The Daily Herald, April 20, 1975, p.A2)



Daniel L. Hollis Jr.


Dr. Daniel Lester Hollis Jr. (1924-2000), Ph.D. , CDR USNA (Ret) passed away Saturday, March 18, 2000, in Hattiesburg, Forrestt County, Mississippi. He slipped away peacefully after an extended illness (Lou Gehrig's Disease) with his wife, Patti, by his side.  The family will hold a memorial service at noon on Saturday, April 1, 2000, in Tuscaloosa, Alabama at Christ Episcopal Church.

Dan, known as "Jabo" to the family, was born March 7, 1924, in Mexico City, Mexico. His family moved to Biloxi, Mississippi, in the summer of 1930 where Dan picked up his nickname due to his white hair.  He attended Biloxi High School where he was awarded many honors including being chosen the best all-round student, played football, was president of the student body, member of the honor society and won its medal and was Salutatorian of his graduating class.  Dan matriculated to the University of Alabama in in September 1942 where he was a member of the varsity track and field team and rifle team.  While at Tuscaloosa, he was appointed to Annapolis by Congressman William M. Colmer.  He arrived at the USNA in July 1943 to commence his studies.(The Sun Herald, March 25, 2000, p. A7 and The Daily Herald, July 29, 1943, p. 8)

Dan L. Hollis Jr. earned a commission with the Class of 1947 and went on to serve on ship as well as in the air.  He returned to the University of  Alabama for graduate school in 1954 but remained active with the Naval Reserves until he retired in 1972.   While at the University of Alabama, Dan met and married in 1956, Ruth Temple (1928-1985), a native of Westboro, Massachusetts.  They had two children and both continued to work at the University except for 3 years when Dan earned his Ph.D. in nuclear engineering at Texas A&M University.  Dan went on to become full professor.  Ruth T. Hollis lost her 3-year struggle with leukemia in August 1985. Dan was later blessed to meet and marry Patti Pieri Kimbrough from Hattiesburg, Mississippi in 1986. They began traveling to visit far-flung family after both retired from their respective teaching careers in 1992. (The Sun Herald, March 25, 2000, p. A7)

Dan was survived by his wife, Patti P. Hollis of Hattiesburg, Mississippi; his daughter, Ann of Tucson, Arizona; his son, Dan Hollis of Monmouth, New Jersey; his grandchildren, Daniel Hollis and Ashley Hollis of Monmouth, New Jersey; and his brothers, Dixie Hollis and Billy Hollis of Biloxi and Ocean Springs, Mississippi.(The Sun Herald, March 25, 2000, p. A7)

Charles D. Hollis-1946 BHS


Charles Dixie Hollis (1928-2013), known as Dixie, was born on February 11, 1928 in San Antonio, Texas.  He graduated from Biloxi High School in May 1946.   Dixie ran track and played football in high school.  He was offered several college scholarships for his track and field abilities.  Mr. Hollis graduated from the University of Mississippi and received a Masters degree from the University of Alabama.  He served in the US Army.

Dixie was employed at the Biloxi Veterans Administration as Domiciliary Chief until his retirement.  He served on the Biloxi School Board, Biloxi Jaycees, Biloxi Yacht Club and was Commodore in 1964, Biloxi Bay Chamber, and several other associations.

Circa 1955, Dixie married Vesta Maddox (b. 1933), who was born September 8, 1933 at  Richton, Mississippi.  They were the parents of two children, Cheryl ‘Sherry’ Elizabeth Hollis (b.  1957) m. Preston Shepherd (b. 1956) and resides in Knoxville, Tennessee and Charles Dix Hollis Jr. (b.  1961) is married to Erin Richelle Williams (b.  ?  ) and they are residents of Biloxi.  The Hollis family resided on Wilkes Ave. until Hurricane Katrina and relocated after the destructive tempest to Babineaux Place in the La Bonne Terre subdivision across Biloxi’s Back Bay.[Sherry Hollis Shepherd-Knoxville, Tennessee-June 2013]

Dixie Hollis died at Biloxi on September 6, 2013.  His corporal remians were interred in Southern Memorial Park.


Mr. Biloxi High-1952

William C. Hollis


William ‘Billy’ Cummings Hollis (1934-2017) was born May 21, 1934 at Biloxi, Mississippi.  He married Betty Sue Montgomery, a native of Roanoke, Virginia.  They had a daughter, Deborah Hollis, born on February 1, 1956.  Billy and Betty Sue divorced and he wedded Joan McRaney from McComb, Mississippi and they were without children.  In Harrison County, Mississippi on August 9, 1980, Billy Hollis married Ann Bowden Dickinson (b. 1949), the daughter of Jack Ward Bowden and Evelyn Schneider Bowden.   Ann is an attorney with ButlerSnow.  She is graduate of the University of Southern Mississippi and received her law degree from Ole Miss.(Sherry Hollis Shepherd,-June 2013 and Harrison Co., Mississippi 2nd JD Circuit Court MRB 20, p. 499)


Billy Hollis graduated from Biloxi High School in May 1952.  He played football and baseball in high school.  Hollis graduated from the University of Alabama as an engineer.  He was a Naval aviator during the Vietnam War.(The Daily Herald, May 30, 1952, p. 8 and Sherry Hollis Shepherd-June 2013)


Billy and Ann Bowden Hollis reside in Gulf Hills on North Shore Drive.  Billy acquired a Carroll Ishee built home here in January 1967 from Kelly G. Weems Jr.  The Ishee house was built in 1960 for Ross L. Horton.  Billy Hollis died at Ocean Springs, Mississippi on October 17, 2017.(Jackson Co., Mississippi Land Deed Bk. 303, p. 235 and The Sun Herald, October 18, 2017)


Dr. Daniel Lester Hollis died at Biloxi, Mississippi on April 19, 1975.  Vola expired on May 21, 1994 also at Biloxi.  Dr. Hollis’ corporal remains were interred in Southern Memorial Park cemetery at Biloxi.  Mrs. Hollis’ life was celebrated with a memorial service.



The Daily Herald, “Daniel Hollis Jr. [USNA] Academy appointee”, July 29, 1943.

The Daily Herald, “Seniors blossom out in cap and gown at BHSexcercises”, May 30, 1952.

The Daily Herald, “Hollis receives outstanding cup award at Biloxi”, January 2, 1956.

The Daily Herald, “Dr. Daniel Hollis dies”, April 20, 1975.

The Sun Herald, “Vola Elizabeth Cummings Hollis”, May 24, 1994.

The Sun Herald, “Charles 'Dixie' Hollis”, September 8, 2013.

The Sun Herald, “Billy Hollis”, October 18, 2017.



Dr. Absalom Jackson II

Dyer reports in Along The Gulf (1895), that in June 1894, Dr. A. Jackson (1841-1925) and his wife, Laura Scott (1844-1922), opened the Ocean Springs Hotel. Dyer's laud of the Jacksons follows: They have the best accommodations for excursionists, commercial travelers and families, and, as Ocean Springs is unsurpassed for healthfulness, being free from epidemics, etc. it makes one of the prettiest spots on the coast at which to pass a vacation. Guests of the hotel can be served with mineral water from the famous marble springs controlled by them...

Dr. Jackson renewed his lease for another year as indicated by this line in The Pascagoula Democrat-Star of October 11, 1895: Dr. A. Jackson has leased that popular hostelry, the Ocean Springs Hotel, which will continue under his excellent management for another year.

Dr. Absalom Jackson II (1842-1925), a dentist, was the son of Absalom Jackson (1805-1870+) and Emma Boling (1810-pre-1860). He was born on January 26, 1842 at Mayhew, Autauga County, now Elmore County, Alabama, of which Wetumpka, near Montgomery, is the present day county seat. Dr. Jackson arrived in Biloxi, Mississippi circa 1902. He was fond of children and was well liked in the community. A veteran of the Civil War, Ab Jackson II served gallantly with Company E of the 5th Alabama Infantry.(The Daily Herald, October 28, 1925, p. 1 and Bradford-O’Keefe Burial Bk. 14, p. 3)

Dr. Jackson married Laura Scott (1845-1922). She was born February 28, 1845 at Auburn, Alabama, the daughter of William Scott. They had a son, Absalom Jackson III (1879-1959).( Bradford-O’Keefe Bk. 11, p. 220)


Ocean Springs

Several years before he retired to Biloxi, Dr. Absalom Jackson and his small family resided at Ocean Springs, Mississippi, a small resort community, on the east side of the Bay of Biloxi. Here in June 1894, Dr. Jackson leased and managed the Ocean Springs Hotel. Charles L. Dyer in Along The Gulf (1895), lauded The Jacksons’ management of this resort as follows: They have the best accommodations for excursionists, commercial travelers and families, and, as Ocean Springs is unsurpassed for healthfulness, being free from epidemics, etc. it makes one of the prettiest spots on the coast at which to pass a vacation. Guests of the hotel can be served with mineral water from the famous marble springs controlled by them...


Dr. Ab Jackson renewed his lease for another year as indicated by this line in The Pascagoula Democrat-Star of October 11, 1895: Dr. A. Jackson has leased that popular hostelry, the Ocean Springs Hotel, which will continue under his excellent management for another year.


In 1895, Augustus Smith was the proprietor of a white barbershop on Jackson Avenue opposite the Ocean Springs Hotel.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, August 23, 1895, p. 3)

In late February 1898, Dr. W.C. Jackson, a prominent medical practitioner at Montgomery, and a brother of Dr. Ab Jackson, visited him at the Ocean Springs Hotel. (The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, February 25, 1898, p. 3)


After leaving the Ocean Springs Hotel, probably after the fall season of 1898, Dr. and Mrs. Jackson relocated to the Mobile area operating the Spring Hotel in 1900.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, February 2, 1900, p. 3) This is corroborated somewhat by the fact that in November 1898, Dr. Jackson’s son, Ab Jackson III, went to Mobile employed with the YMCA as a stenographer.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, February 25, 1898, p. 3)

New management arrived at the old hostelry on Biloxi Bay, in May 1899, when F.M. Allen of Chicago took control of the Ocean Springs Hotel.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, May 26, 1899, p. 3)



In October 1903, Absalom Jackson II located to the Mexican Gulf, resort town of Biloxi, Mississippi. Initially, the Jacksons were guest of Colonel Harrison Smith Hyatt (1833-1906), a New York native and solicitor formerly of Ocean Springs. Here he practiced dentistry.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, November 6, 1903, p. 3)


The Election

In July 1910, Dr. Ab Jackson entered the political arena at Biloxi. He ran to represent the people of the 2ndWard, as their city alderman. A local journal related the following about Ab Jackson’s political advent: Dr. A. Jackson is well known to the voters of Biloxi. For the past nine years he has been a resident of the city, engaged in the practice of his profession-dentistry. Prior to coming to Biloxi he successfully conducted for eight years the Ocean Springs Hotel, since destroyed by fire, and during its existence one of the largest institutions of its kind on the Coast. Should Dr. Jackson be elected he will no doubt prove a valuable member of that body.(The Ocean Springs News, July 23, 1910, p. 1)


The Biloxi Democratic Party held its first primary elections on August 22, 1910. Dr. Jackson faced E.H. Benedict and Frank B. Castanera (1870-1934). He placed second receiving 28% of the ballots cast, but qualified for the second primary race against Mr. Castanera.(The Daily Herald, August 23, 1910, p. 1)


Dr. Jackson withdrew from the race, only days before the second Democratic primary was held on August 29, 1910. He gave no explanation for his quitting the contest against Mr. Castanera who was declared the winner. Age could have been a factor, as Dr. Jackson was approaching seventy years.(The Daily Herald, August 30, 1910, p. 1)



Dr. Jackson and his wife both died at Biloxi in the care of their son, Ab Jackson III (1879-1959), who resided at 124 West Beach. Laura Scott Jackson expired on January 5, 1922. After funeral services at her son’s residence, her corporal remains were sent via the L&N Railroad to Auburn, Alabama for perpetual internment. At Biloxi, Mrs. Jackson was a dedicated Methodist and attended services and worked diligently at the Main Street Methodist Church. In addition, she commenced the first chapter of the United Daughters of the Confederacy at Biloxi. At the time of her demise, Dr. Jackson was residing at Bayou La Batre, Alabama.(The Daily Herald, January 5, 1922, p. 4)


Dr. Ab Jackson followed his spouse in death on October 28, 1925. Like his spouse, his corporal remains were sent by the L&N Railroad to Auburn, Alabama for internment.(Bradford-O’Keefe Burial Bk. 14, p. 3 and The Daily Herald, October 28, 1925, p. 1)


His great grandson, Glenn Andrews II of Anniston, Alabama, relates that Ab Jackson II was buried in his Confederate States of America military uniform. Dr. Jackson vowed that if the South lost the Civil War that he would never shave his face. Needless to say, he died with a very long beard!(Glenn Andrews II, August 3, 2001)




Solomon 'Sol' Escol Johnson (1888-1951) was born on February 2, 1888, at Reform, Alabama. During WWI he served in France as a Sgt. Major in the US Army and was “gassed” by the Germans. Returning from the service, he studied dentistry as Meharry Medical and Dental College in Nashville, Tennessee. 


Sol E. Johnson married Ruth Overta Keys Johnson (1903-1984) was born at Ocean Springs on September 17, 1903 to Thomas I. Keys (1861-1930), merchant and US Postmaster, and Aseline Smith Keys (1880-1930). She was educated at Jackson State University and was principal of the Ocean Springs Black public school for several years before her marriage to Dr. Solomon Escol “Sol” Johnson (1888-1951) in the late 1920s. She also taught school in Biloxi and was Dean of Women at Jackson State University. Mrs. Johnson was a member of the St. James United Methodist Church, Dental Auxiliary of Mississippi, Zeta Phi Beta sorority, and Links Inc. Sol and Ruth had a son, Dr. Solomon E. Johnson Jr. (1930-1982). (The Daily Herald, May 16, 1984, p. A-2) 


Dr. Johnson and family resided in Chicago until Isaac Keys , her father, became ill in the early 1930s. They moved to Ocean Springs to care for him and Sol E. Johnson was deemed qualified to practice dentistry in Mississippi in February 1931. A son, Solomon E. Johnson II (1930-1982), had been born, on February 28, 1930. (Abbey C. Johnson, May 7, 2002 and JXCO, Ms. Physician’s License Bk. 1, p. 211)   


In the 1940s, Dr. Johnson practiced dentistry at 737 Main Street in Biloxi. He expired on April 3, 1951 in the Biloxi VA Hospital and his corporal remains were sent to the Biloxi National Cemetery for internment. After Sol’s death, Ruth became Dean of Women at Jackson State University. She also traveled extensively to the Caribbean and Europe with Dr. Jacob L. Reddix (1897-1973), president of Jackson State, and his family. The Johnsons resided in the Keys family home at 1105 Desoto Street where he built a tennis court. Dr. Johnson was an avid bridge player as well as tennis afficianado(Myrtle J. Keys, April 29, 2002 and Abbie C. Johnson, May 7, 2002)


Solomon E. Johnson II

Solomon E. Johnson II (1930-1982) studied medicine at Howard University in Washington D.C. While an intern at Homer G. Phillips Hospital in St. Louis, he met Abbie Crawford (b. 1935), an attractive and intelligent young nurse from Poplar Grove, Missouri. They were married in the Keys home at Ocean Springs on May 4, 1958. After visiting Itta Bena, in the Mississippi Delta, where Dr. Johnson was recruited to practice medicine, he decided upon the Mississippi Gulf Coast, and settled on Magnolia Drive in Moss Point, Mississippi. The Johnson’s large, two-story home on Magnolia was erected by his uncles, Marshall H. Keys and Earl M. Keys. Dr. Sol E. Johnson II died at Moss Point on January 7, 1982. His corporal remains were sent to Ocean Springs for internment in the Evergreen Cemetery. (Abbie C. Johnson, May 7, 2002) 


Solomon E. Johnson III

Sol E. Johnson III (1959-1999), was born at Moss Point. He finished Moss Point High School in 1977, and matriculated to Dillard University at New Orleans. Sol E. Johnson III was employed as an analytical researcher with K.V. Pharmaceuticals in Missouri. He expired at Olivette, Missouri on February 7, 1999. His remains were brought to Machpelah Cemetery in Pascagoula, Mississippi for burial.(The Mississippi Press, February 8, 1999)



The Daily Herald, “Mrs. Ruth Johnson”, May 16, 1984. 




F. Dudley Jones


Dr. Frank Dudley Jones (1907-1985), called Dudley, was born at Aiken, South Carolina on June 5, 1907, the son of Dr. Frank D. Jones and Mary Catherine Wyman Jones.  In 1928, he completed his undergraduate work at the Presbyterian College and Medical School in Clinton, South Carolina, and was a graduate of the Medical University of South Carolina at Charleston.  In 1935, Dudley Jones became a physician during the Depression years and found his way into the medical profession via the military working at Civilian Conservation Corps camps and WPA sites.  Circa 1937, while stationed at Fort Bliss, Texas near El Paso, he met his future wife, Virginia Kirkpatrick (1910-1983), at a polo match.  Miss Kirkpatrick had been born at Ripley, Tennessee on December 13, 1910.  Their first son, Kirk Jones, arrived in 1938, and Scott Jones was born in 1940.(The Daily Herald, June 12, 1985, p. A-2 and Scott Jones, September 27, 2004)


The Kirkpatrick family had relocated to El Paso, when Virginia K. Jones was a small child.  Her father founded Tri-States Motors and was the Ford dealer for West Texas, New Mexico, and Arizona.  Unfortunately, like many American entrepreneurs the Depression devastated the Kirkpatrick family fortunes.  Mr. Kirkpatrick was a personal friend of Edsel Ford and occasionally hosted him and other Ford executives for cougar hunts in the mountains of West Texas.(Scott Jones, September 27, 2004)


Dr. Dudley Jones spent the years of WW II in North Africa and in the China-Burma-India Campaign in Southeast Asia.  He commanded field hospitals for triage and the evacuation of wounded American and allied soldiers. After the conflict, Dr. Jones retuned to Texas and was billeted at a military hospital in San Antonio.  His family spent the war years at Austin.  Before he retired from the U.S. Army, Dr. Jones and family was stationed at Miami and Kansas where he was discharged in the late 1940s.  His military awards included the World War II Victory with one Bronze Star and the American Defense Service Medal.  Dr. Jones continued to serve his country in the National Guard until his 1967 retirement as a Lt. Colonel.(The Daily Herald, June 12, 1985, p. A-2 and Scott Jones, September 27, 2004)

F. Dudley Jones was employed as a physician with a large railroad, possibly the Southern Pacific, at Lordsburg, New Mexico when he accepted a position at with the Gay Clinic at Biloxi, Mississippi in 1950.  Dr. Jones had met Dr. Elmer D. Gay, a member of the Gay Clinic medical staff while in the military.(Scott Jones, September 28, 2004)


Gay Clinic

The Gay Clinic was led by Doctors Fred Shinn Gay (1879-1953), his spouse, Dr. Emma von Greyerz Gay (1878-1972), a German Swiss immigrant, and Elmer D. Gay (1906-1980), a nephew educated in Chicago.  Their medical clinic was founded at Biloxi in 1942 and it was situated on Briarfield Avenue in west Biloxi.  Their practice was renowned for its treatment of bronchial asthma.  The Gay treatment consisted primarily of a “red-colored” medicine, vitamins, and relief agents.  After a month, the efficacious effects of Dr. Gay’s formulated medicine usually resulted in a complete cure from the dreaded wheezing cough of asthma.(The Daily Herald, August 29, 1972, p. 2 and Down South, June-July 1951, p. 19)           


Ghostly tales

Much of the previous information on the Dr. Dudley Jones family was kindly provided by Scott Jones, his son, who is now retired in Ocean Springs.  Scott was an outstanding athlete at Biloxi High School and was awarded a football scholarship to Mississippi State University in 1959.  In an interview, Scott Jones related that their Lovers Lane home had been vacant for many years before they relocated here from Kensington Drive at Biloxi in 1959.  Vines had grown up the exterior walls to the fascia of the structure.  Wesley Balius, a Biloxi carpenter, made exterior and interior repairs to the edifice for Dr. Jones. 

Prior to the Jones’ occupation, an anecdotal tale about the R.H. Holmes place was circulating in the community describing it as “haunted”.  As previously stated, Mary C. Holmes had relocated to Corpus Christi after her husband’s demise in 1948.  She left large mirrors on the walls which when viewed through the windows appeared to have surreal images of “people” moving in them. 

With his background in construction and engineering, Scott was impressed with the oil furnace heating system of their new home on Biloxi Bay.           

In December 1963, Dr. F. Dudley Jones conveyed his Lovers Lane residence to J.J. Sims and Myrle Sims.(JXCO, Ms. Land Deed Bk. 249, p. 536)

Dr. F. Dudley Jones expired at Biloxi, Mississippi circa June 10, 1985. His corporal remains were interred in the Southern Memorial Park cemetery in Biloxi.  His wife preceded him in death at El Paso, Texas passing on there in December 1983.(The Daily Herald, June 12, 1985, p. A-2)




Joseph Kuljis



The Times-Picayune, '', March 19, 1988.


Diego B. Martinez


Dr. Diego Benigno ‘Ben’ Martinez (1898-1948) was born on September 19, 1898 at New Orleans to Richmond James Martinez (1868-1954) and Laura Koen (1880-1957).  He was educated at the Rugby Academy at NOLA and Tulane University.  During World War I, Ben was a medical student at Tulane University in New Orleans and graduated from its medical school in 1922. 

Dr. Martinez was an active member of the following medical societies: honorary life member of the American College of Surgeons; a fellow of the Pittsburgh Obstetrical and Gynecological Society; Pittsburgh Academy of Medicine; American Medical Association; Mississippi State Medical Association; and the Coast Counties Medical and Southern Medical Associations.

Dr. Martinez was a resident of Pittsburgh for 13 years before coming to Biloxi, Mississippi in September 1938 to practice medicine and surgery.  At Pittsburgh, he was a Senior Staff member of the E.S. Magee and Presbyterian Hospitals and associate professor of obstetrics at the University of Pittsburg.  In Biloxi, Dr. Martinez had an office was situated over the Grant Drug Store on West Howard Avenue.


Oak Park

After 1930, Dr. Martinez had married Mary Francis Rheinberger (b. 1908), the daughter of Frank L. Rheinberger and Ida Rheinberger, both Illinois natives.  She had been born at New York, but was reared in Glen Ridge Township, Essex County, New Jersey.  In December 1938, the Martinezs permitted a home on Kensington Drive in Oak Park Subdivision at Biloxi valued at $2500.(The Daily Herald, December 31, 1938, p. 2)

Between November 1938 and May 1942, Dr. Martinez and spouse acquired Lot 13, Lot 14, Lot 12, and a part of Lot 15 in Block 1 of the re-plat of the Oak Park Subdivision from various vendors.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Land Deed Bk. 223, p. 363; Bk. 224, p. 122; Bk. 224, p. 305; and Bk. 242, p. 217)

In June 1946, Dr. D.B. Martinez and wife conveyed their Kensington Drive home and Lots 12-13-14- and the N 50 feet of Lot 15 to Mrs. Mary R. Wegmann (b. 1895) of New Orleans.  The consideration was $22,500.  Mary was born at Alabama and was the wife of Alphonse John Wegmann (1891-1956).  Alphonse was in the seafood business and owner of Bagille’s Seafood Company.  He had business interests in Alabama and died at Mobile on December 6, 1956, while a resident of Pass Christian, Mississippi.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Land Deed Bk. 287, p. 281 and The Times-Picayune, December 7, 1956, p. 4)

Dr. Ben Martinez and wife moved from Biloxi to Slidell, Louisiana in 1942. He died at New Orleans on February 26, 1948, and was survived by his spouse; his parents; a sister, Andrea Martinez Jackson (1902-1986), and nephew Colville Cameron Jackson (1929-2007), both of Gloster, Mississippi; and Urban Charles Koen (1896-1938), an uncle at Biloxi.



Harrison Co., Mississippi Chancery Court Cause No. 23398, “Dr. D.B. Martinez v. State of Mississippi”-May 1946.

The Daily Herald, ‘New doctor in Biloxi’, September 13, 1938.

The Daily Herald, ‘New Oak Park Home’, December 31, 1938.

The Daily Herald, ‘Dr. D.B. Martinez dies in New Orleans’, February 26, 1948.

The Times-Picayune, ‘Dr. D.B. Martinez funeral today, February 27, 1948.

The Times-Picayune, ‘A.J. Wegmann funeral today’, December 17, 1956.

The Times-Picayune, ‘Martinez’, December 10, 1957.

The Times-Picayune, ‘Martinez estate totals $563,158.69’, February 21, 1958.



The much respected Dr. Gilbert Rutldege Mason Sr. (1928-2006) departed this life the morning of Saturday, July 8, 2006 at the Ocean Springs Hospital in Ocean Springs, Mississippi after a prolonged illness.Compelled to ensure equal civil liberties for all, Dr. Gilbert R. Mason Sr. was a fearless patriot who often was one of the first in a group of concerned citizens that fought for soicaal change, justice and civil rights. He was commonly referred to as the "civil rights doctor" or the "drum major for freedom". Recognized for his local, state and national activism, he joined his friends and allies Aaron Henry (1922-1997) and the martyred Medgar W. Evers (1925-1963) to combat injustices in one of the nation's most notorious bastions of segregation.(from Beaches, Blood, and Ballots, A Black Doctor's Civil Rights Struggle, 1998)

Dr. Mason was a dedicated physician who was committed to quality health care and fundamental patient rights for those on the Gulf Coast and the entire State of Mississippi. he fought for "respect for the dignity of black patients and white patients alike" and for equal status of black physicians in previously all white hospitals and the medical community at large.A focal point of his tireless legacy was to effect equal access to education in the public schools in Biloxi and all Harrison County. A tradition of segregation compelled the dynamic Dr. Mason to fight the Jim Crow school systems and to demand equal opportunity for the best possible public education for all children.

Distressed by inequality in voting rights, Dr. Mason and others pioneered political awareness among black citizens through staunch involvement with the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) and the Democratic Party. He employed every tool to establish voting rights as well as voter education programs. His fight for desegregation of the Biloxi Public Schools and spearheading the "Beach Wade Ins" were his most legendary accomplishments.

Dr. Gilbert Rutledge Mason, Sr. was born at home in Jackson, Mississippi, on October 7, 1928. He was the third child of Willie A. and Adeline Mason. An intellectually curious child, he was educated in public schools and was a 1945 graduate of Lanier High School in Jackson, Mississippi. He participated in Boy Scouting among many other activities and was one of the first black Mississippians to earn the rank of Eagle Scout.

At a young age of sixteen, Dr. Mason pursued an undergraduate degree at Tennessee State University, in Nashville. During his freshman year, he met and fell in love with Natalie Lorraine Hamlar of Roanoke, Virginia, whom he married in 1950. While in college, Dr. Mason became a member of Zeta Mu Lambda Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity beginning one of his most inspiring and precious life long activities. 

In 1949 he completed studies with "high distinction" earning a double degree in Chemistry and Biology with a minor in Math. Obviously, having a keen mind oriented toward science he decided to pursue a Doctor of Medicine Degree at Howard University in Washington, D.C. He graduated with honors in the spring of 1954. He completed an internship at Homer G. Phillips Hospital in St. Louis, Missouri, one of the foremost post graduate training institutions for African-American physicians. In later years he was proud to earn certification as a Diplomate of the American Academy of Family Physicians and he maintained his board certification status almost until the year of his retirement.
Determined to make his home in Mississippi, Dr. Mason identified Biloxi as the place he wanted to begin his medical career. He moved with his wife and year old son, Gilbert Jr., and established a medical practice in 1955. The Masons quickly became members of First Missionary Baptist Church in Biloxi. Because of his commitment to community, he became a Scout Master (Troop 416) serving as a mentor for hundreds of young men who have gone on to achieve various successes inspired by his life. He became a member of the PTA, Masonic Lodge (33rd Degree), and Elks Lodge. With a great command and impeccable knowledge of Roberts Rules of Order he demanded proper Parliamentary Procedure in his civic activities. He often felt his most significant contribution to the community was founding the Biloxi Branch of the NAACP in 1960, of which he was president for more than 30 years.
Dr. Mason became affiliated with the Biloxi Hospital (later known as Howard Memorial) obtaining hospital privileges but was unfairly limited to courtesy status only. From 1955 to 1966 he could not participate fully as a member of the medical staff because of the traditions of segregation.

In 1967, he conferred full staff privileges and would later become a member of the State Board of Health, the State Board of Medical Examiners (licensing board), and was selected chairman of the family practice section at Biloxi Regional Hospital. He practiced also at Gulf Coast Medical Center and the Select Specialty Hospital. Dr. Mason also served as a contract physician for the US Public Health Service caring for members of the Merchant Marine for many years. He practiced family medicine until his retirement in 2002 at which time he was honored by city leaders, fellow physicians, patients and those who walked with him in his struggle for equality. His son, Dr. Gilbert Rutledge Mason, Jr., carries on his tradition in the medical field as a primary care physician.

Dr. Mason Sr.'s retirement was accelerated by his having a stroke in December 1997.After retirement Dr. Mason remained active with the Mississippi State Board of Archives and History. He also became more active in his church through bible study and prayer meetings while sharing his intense knowledge of scripture.In December, 2004 he had the good fortune of marrying the very loving, caring and supportive Gwendolyn L. Anderson which renewed his spirit and gave him a new found enthusiasm for life. Dr. Mason suffered a debilitating second stoke in February 2005.

After months of rehabilitation care Dr. Gilbert Rutledge Mason, Sr. departed this life peacefully in the early morning hours on July 8th, 2006.  Dr. Gilbert R. Mason, Sr. is preceded in death by his parents Willie Atwood Mason and Adeline Mason, his sister Rozelia Mason Stamps, his brother Willie L. Mason, and his first wife Natalie L. Hamlar Mason (1927-1999). He will be missed by his endearing wife Gwendolyn Lewis Anderson Mason, mother-in-law, Ada Lewis; sister-in-law Elnora N. Mason, niece, Carolyn Mason Stamps Varnado. He is survived by his beloved daughters Diane Marcelin, Gilda Yvette Sizor, Yolanda Marie Juzang, Angela Rose Juzang, and Gilbert, Jr.'s ex spouse Givonna Joseph; his sons Darian Anderson, (Karen), David Owens Mason, Adam Owens and Dr. Gilbert Rutledge Mason Jr.; grandchildren Aria Mason, Darian Jr. and Adarian Anderson, Alejandro Castillo, Masai and Julian Marcelin, Jordan Mason Sizor and Nigel Rutledge Sizor, Tai Juzang-McFadden, Jaalon and English Juzang Pratt. He will be missed by a host of various great uncles, great aunts, great cousins, uncles, aunts, cousins, nieces, nephews, niece and nephew-in-laws, brother and sisters-in-law and adoring step-children and their spouses.

Visitation for the public will be Friday, July 14, 2006, from 3:00 p.m. to 9 p.m. in the Sanctuary of Greater St. John, AME Church, Biloxi, Mississippi, 551 Division Street. Burial services will be private. A public Memorial Tribute is planned for July 30th at 3:00 p.m. at the Mississippi Coast Coliseum, open to all.  Dr. Mason's funeral services were under the auspices of The House of Richmond, Biloxi, Mississippi. 

INTERVIEW DATE: 11/11/2002

Gilbert R. Mason, Sr., "wade-in" activist and physician, was born in Jackson, Mississippi, on October 7, 1928. When he graduated from Jackson's Lanier High School in 1945, Mason dreamed of becoming a doctor. He earned a B.S. degree from Tennessee State University in 1949. He earned an M.D. degree from Howard University Medical School in 1954 and served a year as an intern at Homer G. Phillips Hospital in St. Louis, Missouri.

Mason started a family practice in Biloxi, Mississippi, in 1955. In May 1959, he led a nonviolent protest against the "whites only" section of a federally funded Gulf Coast beach. Mason's group was arrested. Subsequent "wade-ins" ignited some of the bloodiest white rioting in Mississippi history. These resulted in a successful antidiscrimination lawsuit against the state of Mississippi, the first such case filed in U.S. history. At the same time, Mason filed the first school desegregation lawsuit in the history of Biloxi, which he also won. Mason collaborated with other Mississippi NAACP activists, including Winston Hudson, Amzie Moore, Aaron Henry and Medgar Evers. He helped the NAACP join with CORE, SNCC and SCLC to form the Council of Federated Organizations (COFO). Mason played a role in COFO's massive black voter registration drive, the Freedom Summer of 1964. Mason served as president of the Mississippi NAACP for thirty-three years.

The recipient of numerous awards as a physician, Mason was recognized with a special commendation by joint resolution of the Mississippi State Legislature on March 1, 2002 for his contributions to the Biloxi Regional Medical Center. He resided in Biloxi where he was known as "the civil rights doctor" until his death on July 8, 2006.

On Sunday, July 30, 2006, the Mayor of Biloxi, Mississippi proclaimed it to be Dr. Gilbert Mason Day in Biloxi.

Selected Bibliography:

Dr. Gilbert Mason and James Patterson Smith, Blood and Ballots: A Black Doctor's Civil Rights Struggles, (University Press of Mississippi-1998).                                                                      


BILOXI - Members of the First Missionary Baptist Church remembered Dr. Gilbert R. Mason Sr. on Sunday as an avid Bible scholar and a man who was earnest in his worship at the Biloxi church.

Deacon L.J. Travis, church mother Luvern Gines and others spoke about Mason following services at the church's temporary location on Main Street, about two blocks away from the damaged sanctuary that has been cleared from Esthers Boulevard.

Mason, one of the state's leading crusaders for racial equality, died Friday night after a long illness. He was 77. In his civil rights struggle, Mason is remembered as the organizer of beach wade-ins, the state's first civil disobedience. He was also a medical doctor.

Mississippi NAACP President Derrick Johnson on Saturday said "the state has five pillars who worked to ensure the discrimination of citizens of Mississippi will no longer exist, and he is one of those five. Aaron Henry, Winston Hudson, Medgar Evers, C.C. Bryant and Gilbert Mason - those are the five who fought for the freedom of Mississippi during a time when it was not popular or safe. And despite many threats on their lives they continued to fight."

Travis, deacon for 25 years, said Mason was unable to attend many services during his early years because of the hectic medical and community work schedule. But during his later years, Bible study was his favorite church activity.

Gines, who said the physician delivered all eight of her children, said Mason was sincere and strong in his faith. She never knew him to hold a church office, but the congregation provided time for him to speak at worship services and special programs.  "He would always have the last word," Gines said. "We honored him that much that we would ask him 'Do you have anything to say?'
She said he came at a time when blacks needed a doctor, and changed Biloxi for them and all people. "He changed the schools and the whole city of Biloxi. He will be missed," she said.

Church member Vonnie Travis said at one point, Mason encouraged her to take over leadership of a local Martin Luther King celebration. "He was an encourager," she said. "He was a great fan of and an excellent communicator in developing winning habits."(The Sun Herald, July 10, 2006)


Dr. Gilbert Mason and James Patterson Smith, 'Beaches, Blood and Ballots: A Black Doctor's Civil Rights Struggles', (University Press of Mississippi: Jackson, Mississippi-1998).

The Daily Herald, 'Dr. Mason fined $300 and sentenced 10 days', August 18, 1964.

The Sun Herald, 'Natalie L. Hamlar Mason', July 5, 1999.

The Sun Herald, 'Dr. Gilbert R. Mason sr.: Coast human rights pioneer dies', July 8, 2006.

The Sun Herald, 'Dr. Gilbert R. Mason Sr.-Mason battled for human rights', July 9, 2006.
The Sun Herald, 'Despite threats, Mason continued fighting for equality in Mississippi', July 10, 2006.
The Sun Herald, 'Dr. Gilbert R. Mason Sr.: A hero in the struggle against hatred', July 11, 2006.
The Sun Herald, 'Dr. Gilbert R. Mason Sr.', July 14, 2006, p. A4.
The Sun Herald, 'We have lost a giant of a man-Civil Rights doctor praised', July 15, 2006.
The Sun Herald, 'Dr. Gilbert R. Mason Sr.', December 27, 2006, p. A2.




Mayor of Biloxi from 1899-1900.

Dr. Daniel Arthur Nash (1858-1904) was born at Livingston, Sumter County, Alabama on December 10, 1858. His parents were Preston G. Nash (1821-1880+), a Virginia born attorney and later Chancery Clerk of Sumter County, Alabama, and by birth and , a native of North Carolina.


Marriage and family

In 1900, he married Elizabeth ‘Lizzie’ Carraway (1869-1935) of Jackson, Mississippi. She was the daughter of John Chapman Carroway (1843-1901) and Arcola Carroway (1848-1933). John C. Carroway (1873-1931), Mrs. Nash’s brother, was cashier at the Bank of Biloxi and later . The couple had a child born circa 1901 that expired at birth.


Painless Dentistry

Dr. D.A. Nash


Office in the Picard Building opposite the Opera House

Biloxi, Mississippi

Teeth pulled and extracted without pain. My method is a simple discovery scientifically applied and perfectly harmless.

(The Biloxi Herald, July 22, 1893, p. 1) 



Elected Alderman-at-Large and served in this capacity in 1895? And 1896.(The Biloxi Herald, February 18, 1896, p. 1)

In 1900, the Carroway family lived on Front Street at Biloxi.(1900 Harrison County, Mississippi Federal Census T623 808, p. 1A, ED 31)


Mayoral appointment

With the resignation of Mayor H.T. Howard, Dr. Daniel A. Nash, Alderman of Ward 3, was appointed Mayor of Biloxi by Governor Anselm J. McLauren (1848-1909). After resigning his position as City alderman, Daniel A. Nash took the oath of office on September 5, 1899.(The Biloxi Daily Herald,



Dr. Nash was heavily involved in the Biloxi Yacht Club and Southern Gulf Yachting Association. He served as Commodore of the BYC and



Dr. Nash and William Via owned the swift racing, yacht Urania. At the 1903 Annual Gulfport Yacht Club Regatta, they decided not to sail Urania to defend the GCYA cup held by the Biloxi Yacht Club. The owners felt that their craft could win the upcoming Gulfport regatta, but were offended by criticism resulting from the Bay-Waveland race in which Mr. Via’s piloting of the Urania met with scrutiny. William Nels Johnson (1864-1903+), the builder of Urania, had sailed her to six wins in seven matches against all comers. The boat had new sails and the owners felt that she had no other rival on the Mississippi Coast except the Gladiola. Dr. Nash commented that the Urania was for sale.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, July 29, 1903, p. 1)



[The Biloxi Herald, August 14, 1897, p. 5]


Nash home and Fire

In the spring of 1897, Dr. Nash let a contract to William P. Burke (1858-1924) to erect a six-room cottage in the Keller Addition Subdivision on the Biloxi front beach. John C. Carraway, his brother-in-law, was also having his residence built nearby by John R. Harkness (1827-1903).(The Biloxi Herald, April 3, 1897, p. 1)

Dr. Nash’s beach front domicile west of the Biloxi Cemetery was destroyed in a large conflagration on February 10, 1902. Faulty electric wiring was believed to be the origin of the fire. Dr. Nash escaped from the burning structure with a minimal amount of clothing on his person. The vacant Judge H.C. Turley home adjacent to the Nash place was saved by a volunteer bucket brigade. Dr. Nash estimated his losses at $5000, which included many painting and silverware. He carried $3000 in insurance with the Swan Agency.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, February 11, 1902, p. 1)

It is interesting to note that Judge H.C. Turley was appointed Postmaster at Natchez in April 1897 during the William McKinley (1843-1901) presidential administration. Judge Turley was Republican National Committeeman for Mississippi from 1900 to February 1904.(The Biloxi Herald, April 3, 1897, p. 1 and The New York Times, February 28, 1904, p. 1)

In June 1902, Dr. Nash and family took up quarters at the Montross Hotel on the Biloxi waterfront. They later relocated to a home on the corner of Howard Avenue and Couevas Street. In late August 1903, he planned to hold a fire works celebration at his home for the children of Ward 2, if James K. Vardaman (1861-1930) was elected Governor of Mississippi. Mr. Vardaman was elected and served one term as Governor.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, June 30, 1902, p. 8 and August 27, 1903, p. 6)


D.A. Nash

Doctor of Dental Surgery

Hours 8:30 a.m-6:00 p.m.

Office upstairs Bank of Biloxi building

(The Biloxi Daily Herald, October 21, 1903, p. 4)


Accidental death

Dr. Daniel A. Nash expired at his Biloxi residence in late March 1904. He was accidentally shot to death with his own shot gun. The funeral was held at his Couevas Street residence with the Reverend H.W. Van Hook of the Biloxi Methodist Church presiding. Dr. Nash was eulogized by The Biloxi Daily:in his death the City of Biloxi has lost a useful and progressive citizen who had the future of the place he had adopted as his home close to his heart.” His corporal remains were interred in the Biloxi Cemetery.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, March 26, 1904, p. 5 and The Progress, April 2, 1904, p. 4)


Elizabeth C. Nash and H.D. Lowd

In May 1908, Elizabeth ‘Lizzie’ Carraway Nash married Howard Dickson Lowd (1860-1910) at Biloxi. Howard was her childhood sweetheart in Jackson, Mississippi. Initially, he made his livelihood in the newspaper business as a printer’s apprentice and bookkeeper for The Clarion at Jackson. In 1886, Howard D. Lowd commenced his own journal, The Daily Advertiser. It failed after two years and he went to Washington D.C. to work for the Government Printing Office. In 1907, H.D. Lowd returned to his native Jackson to become manager of The Daily News composing room. He became telegraph editor before relocation to Birmingham, Alabama to work in a similar post with The Birmingham Ledger. Howard D. Lowd expired in the nation’s Capitol in January 1910.(The Daily Herald, January 12, 1910, p. 8)


Lizzie Carroway Nash Lowd and her mother eventually relocated to St. Louis, Missouri. They were residence of the Washington Hotel in 1930 and of the Monterrey Hotel in August 1931, when John C. Carroway, her brother, expired at St. Louis on July 30, 1931. His corporal remains were sent to Biloxi, Mississippi for internment in the family plot in the Biloxi Cemetery.(1930 St. Louis Co., Missouri Federal Census R1244, pp. 8A and 8B, ED 218 and The Daily Herald, August 6, 1931) 



The Biloxi Daily Herald, Business and Professional Men, (The Biloxi Daily Herald: Biloxi, Mississippi-1902), p. 53. 


The Biloxi Herald, “A Fish Story”, July 1, 1893, p. 8.

The Biloxi Herald, “Advertisement”, July 22, 1893.

The Biloxi Herald, “Local Happenings”, December 28, 1894.

The Biloxi Herald, “Woodmen of the World”. August 31, 1895.

The Biloxi Herald, “New Officers”, February 18, 1896.

The Biloxi Herald, “ ”, April 3, 1897.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “City Officials”, January 28, 1899.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Biloxi’ New Mayor”, September 1, 1899.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “City Council”, September 9, 1899.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “John C. Carroway dies”, April 21, 1901, p. 1.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Dr. Nash’s house burned to the ground last night”, February 11, 1902.

The Biloxi Herald, “City News”, June 29, 1902.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Senator McLaurin”, October 21, 1902.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Races Saturday”, August 19, 1902.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Bank of Biloxi”, May 2, 1903.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, Urania will not enter”, July 29, 1903.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Firework-If”, August 27, 1903.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Advertisement”, October 21, 1903.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Dr. Nash Killed”, March 26, 1904.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Funeral of Dr. Nash”, March 28, 1904.

The Clarion [Jackson, Mississippi], “Mortuary Notice”, April 27, 1887.

The Daily Herald, “Howard D. Lowd dies at Capital”, January 12, 1910.

The Daily Herald, “Weekly list of deed filed”, September 27, 1912.

The Daily Herald, “John Carraway (sic) buried”, August 6, 1931.

The Daily Herald, “Arcola Carroway”, September , 1933.

The Daily Herald, “Lizzie C. Lowd”, June , 1935.

The New York Times, “Southern Republican quits”, February 28, 1904.

The [Ocean Springs] Progress, “Personal News Interest”, April 2, 1904, p. 4.






John B. O'Keefe

John Bernard O’Keefe (1925-2004) was born at Ocean Springs, Mississippi the son of Jeremiah Joseph ‘Ben’ O’Keefe (1894-1954), a native of New Orleans, and Teresa Josephine Slattery (1894-1995), a native of Shreveport, Louisiana and the daughter of John B. Slattery and Mary Ellen Herron Slattery.  His sibings were:  Alice Mary O’Keefe (1922-2011) m. Leo John Sebastian (1915-1995); Jeremiah ‘Jerry’ Joseph O’Keefe III (b. 1923) m. Annette Saxon (1924-1998) and Martha Sue Peterson; and Joseph ‘Ben’ O’Keefe (1930-1999) m. Jennie Dew Boone.


In Harrison County, Mississippi, John B. O’Keefe married Sue Jo Biddy (1934-1991) of Hughes Springs, Cass and Morris Counties, Texas on July 4, 1954.  Children: Dennis Curren O’Keefe m. Shellie Anne Semski;  Susan Colleen O’Keefe m. Daniel Scott Rush; Daniel Biddy O’Keefe m. Celeste Ann Foster; and David Scott O’Keefe m. Rebecca Leigh Borries.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Circuit Court MRB 98, p. 264)


John B. O'Keefe attended Biloxi schools and was a 1943 graduate of the Sacred Heart Academy.  He began practicing medicine in Gilmer, Upshur County, Texas in 1953.  John commenced his premedical studies at Loyola University at New Orleans and was a 1951 Tulane University medical school graduate.  O'Keefe interned at Charity Hospital at New Orleans and served a year residency at E.A. Conway Memorial Hospital at Monroe, Louisiana.   Dr. O'Keefe served as a flight officer in the USAF for two and one-half years.(The Daily Herald, November 6, 1959, p. 6)


In early November 1959, Dr. O'Keefe commenced his general medical practice in Biloxi at 1403 West Howard Avenue. The family was domicled with Dr. O'Keefe's mother, Mrs. Theresa S. O'Keefe at 824 Central Beach Boulevard.(The Daily Herald, November 6, 1959, p. 6)



The Daily Herald, "Dr. O'Keefe opens office in Biloxi", November 6, 1959.

The Sun Herald, “Dr. John B. O’Keefe”, March 17, 2004.

The Sun Herald, “Dr. John O’Keefe was a great humanitarian”, March 17, 2004.


Braxton B. O'Mara

Braxton Bragg 'B.B.' O'Mara


Braxton Bragg O’Mara

Braxton Bragg O’Mara (1896-1969), known as “B.B.” was born at Holmesville, Pike County, Mississippi to Wesley Gandy O’Mara (1854-1938) and Ida Victoria Gray (1866-1924).


University of Mississippi and Emory University.








Dr. O’Mara married Mamie Gray (1901-1927), the daughter of the Reverend John Early Gray (1874-1949) and Ruby McElwee Hagood (1881-1963).  Mamie passed with B.B. O’Mara Jr. (1927-1927)


 Married Lydia Bailey (1906-1991).


B.B. O’Mara Jr. (1927-1927)






President of the Biloxi Lions Club; Commodore BYC [1942];




Dr. O’Mara expired at Biloxi on May 24, 1969.  He was survived by his widow; Mrs. Paul Myers, a sister, at St. Paul, Minnesota; and Veris O’Mara, a brother, and resident of Sioux Falls, South Dakota.  Dr. O’Mara’s corporal remains were taken to Franklinton, Louisiana for internment in the Ellis Cemetery.(The Daily Herald, May 24, 1969, p. 2)



The Daily Herald, ‘Dr. O’Mara new BYC Commodore; Skipper named’, December 18, 1941, p. 6.

The Daily Herald, ‘Dr. O’Mara dies at Biloxi’, May 24, 1969, p. 2.





Peter J. Pavlov Jr.

Peter "Doc" J. Pavlov Jr., D.D.S. [1919-2012] passed peacefully from this life at his home in Ocean Springs 26 September 2012 after a brief illness. Doc, as he was known to his friends, was born on February 24, 1919 to Peter and Anna Pavlov, immigrants from Brac, Croatia. He is the last of their six children, preceded in death by his brothers, George and Frank Pavlov, and his sisters, Margaret Kuluz, Danica Garbin and Frances (Flossie) Touchet. 


Doc was graduated from Biloxi High in 1936. His class celebrated its 75th reunion this past summer. He was the last surviving man of this class. He attended Perkinston Junior College, where he excelled on the boxing team. He then attended Loyola University Dental School, where he was graduated as a Doctor of Dental Surgery. 


He joined the US Navy in 1942, stationed in Hawaii. He was transferred to the US Marine Corp with whom he stormed the shores of Iwo Jima. Doc Pavlov's many accomplishments during his long life demonstrated his beliefs and his commitment to serve God and mankind. Before World War II, Doc was honored for heroism by the 1939 Alabama Deep Sea Fishing Rodeo for rescuing a drowning man. He was a decorated Marine in WWII, serving on Guadalcanal and Iwo Jima. 


After his honorable discharge from military service, Doc began his dental practice in the Barq Building in downtown Biloxi where he remained and prospered until his retirement in 1988. In 1947 he married the love of his life, Mary Alice Smith. This past May the devoted couple celebrated their 65th wedding anniversary. 


Doc founded the Point Cadet branch of the Biloxi Boxing Club and, along with Fr. Joe Walsh, the Biloxi Sea Scouts. In the 1950's and 60's, he served the Biloxi Chamber of Commerce as Chairman of the Biloxi Shrimp Festival and Blessing of the Fleet. He served as a member and then president of the Biloxi School Board. 


Dr. Gilbert R. Mason, in his book "Beaches, Blood, and Ballots: A Black Doctor's Civil Rights Struggle", cited Dr. Pavlov as "a person of reason" during the turbulent times of desegregation. Dr. Pavlov was active in the Pro-Life movement, believing that life is a sacred gift from God. Always an active and committed Catholic, in 1950 Doc was a founding member of the local St. Vincent de Paul Society Conference on the Mississippi Gulf Coast. He served for many years as the president of the Society's Diocese of Biloxi Council and was an officer in the National St. Vincent de Paul Society, attending as a representative at the beatification of the Society's founder, Frederic Ozanam, by Pope John Paul II in Paris, France. 


In 1998 he and a group of Vincentians founded the St. Vincent de Paul Community Pharmacy in Biloxi, where he served as president of the Board of Directors for its first four years. Doc was a Third Degree in the Knights of Columbus. During this time Doc and his wife Mary, always his steadfast support, raised their seven children. While his example as a loving husband and father, community servant, and faithful Catholic will leave an enduring legacy, those who knew him best will remember him for his kindness, his unique and often unexpected sense of humor, and his God-given gift for catching fish. Whether fishing or tonging oysters, Doc always left his troubles on the bank and treasured his time on the water. 


He is survived by his wife, Mary; his seven children, Peter Pavlov, Michael Pavlov, PhD, Paul Pavlov, M.D. (Theresa), Mary Ann Vogelbein (Wolfgang), Joseph Pavlov, John Pavlov, M.D. (Mary), and Francis Pavlov; thirteen grandchildren, Amber Pavlov, Aimee Pavlov, Matthew Pavlov, Anna Pavlov, Anthony Pavlov, Leigh Ann Vogelbein, Kristen Vogelbein, Mollie Pavlov Rosenbohm (Elimar), Monica Pavlov Flowers (Paul), Christina Pavlov, John Paul Pavlov, Alexander Pavlov and Jonathan Pavlov; one great-grandchild, Sophie Rosenbohm; and many beloved nieces and nephews. 


Doc's family would like to thank everyone who prayed for him, visited him and gave him comfort. Special thanks and appreciation are given to Saad's Home Healthcare, and above all to Gloria Kostmayer, Mamie Salter, and Mollie Reeves for their diligent care and exceptional kindness during Doc's last days. 


The Mass of Christian Burial will be held at St. Elizabeth Seton Catholic Church, 4900 Riley Rd, Ocean Springs on Monday, October 1, at 12:30 pm. Friends may visit from 10:30 am until Mass time. 







Charles A. Pelaez

Charles A. Pelaez (1839-1894) was born at New Orleans.  On He married Mary Lydia  Joyner (1847-1916), a native of St. Tammany Parish, Louisiana.  Their children were: Charles A. Pelaez (1867-1899) m. Louisiana Kennedy (1869-1030); Marceline Pelaez (b. 1873); Paul Octave Pelaez (1872-1932) m. Rosa Thomas; William H. Pelaez (1878-1951) m. Theresa Balius; and Iola Pelaez (1881-1959) m. Clement Grayson Lang (1886-1966).

The Reindeer incident





In late July 1868, Charles Pelaez, acting assistant surgeon in the US Army, was transferred to Austin, Texas for military duty.  He was to report to the Commanding General and chief medical officer, District of Texas at Austin for his assignment.(The Daily Picayune, July 25, 1868, p. 2) 




[The Handsboro Democrat, July 1, 1876, p. 1]





Board of Health

Dr. Charles Pelaez was unanimously appointed president of the City of Biloxi Board of Health in January 1893.  Laz Lopez and B.R. Clements were appointed members of the Board of Health by the councilmen of Biloxi.(The Biloxi Herald, January 14, 1893, p. 8)



"Dr. Chas. Pelaez, a resident of Biloxi for about ten years, and one of the most prominent and eminent physicians in the South died Sunday afternoon at 3 o'clock, of Bright's disease, of which he has been a sufferer for some months. Dr. Pelaez was a native of New Orleans, born in 1839, and was connected with the Charity Hospital in 1861. At one time he was assistant surgeon in the U. S. Navy, and during the War Between the States he held a like position in the Navy of the Confederacy, and also served in the Mexican War as a surgeon. He stood at the head of his profession as a yellow fever expert and died excellent service during the epidemic in 1861(?) in New Orleans, and at points along the Coast in 1878.

Up to the time of his death, Dr. Pelaez had held the position of assistant surgeon in the U. S. Marine Hospital Service at Ship Island for four years, and was there during the great October storm when the quarantine plant was destroyed. He was bright Mason in good stood standing, and was buried Monday with the rites of that order. Dr. Peleaz leaves a widow, three sons and two daughters, and a host of friends who sincerely mourn his death." (The Biloxi Herald, November 3, 1894)



Charles A. Pelaez Jr.

"Charles  A. Pelaez II (1867-1899), for a number of years a resident of this city, died at the residence of his mother yesterday about sundown, aged 32, after an illness of only a few days. Mr. Pelaez several (years) ago was in charge of the Western Union telegraph office in this city, prior to which time he was for three years chief train dispatcher of the Mexican Central railroad, and was one of the best operators in the country. The deceased leaves a sorrowing mother, two sisters and two brothers in this city and a host of friends who mourn his death. The funeral will take place this afternoon at 3:30 o'clock from the family residence, corner Howard Avenue and Nixon street." (The Biloxi Daily Herald, May 3, 1899)


Marceline Peleaz



Paul O. Peleaz

Paul Octave Pelaez (1872-1932) was born at New Orleans          .  On October 18, 1900 in the Crescent City, he married Rose Thomas.  They were the parents of two sons:  Roy Pelaez (1900-1969) and Alva Thomas Pelaez (1902-1902).


William H. Pelaez



Iola Pelaez

Iola Pelaez (1881-1959) was born in 1881 at Biloxi, Mississippi.  She married Clement Grayson Lang (1886-1966).  Lang worked for the L&N Railroad at Mobile.  Mary Marcelina Lang, a daughter born at Mobile in 1911 and christened at the Church of the Redeemer, on July  , 1911.




The Biloxi Herald, ‘Professional’, May 23, 1891.

The Biloxi Herald,‘The Old and New’, January 14, 1893.

The Biloxi Herald,‘Dr. Chas. Pelaez’, November 3, 1894.

The Biloxi Daily Herald,‘Local and Personal’, May 4, 1899.

The Daily Herald, “Mrs. Pelaez goes to final reward”, September 16, 1916.

The Daily Herald, “Paul Pelaez dies”, December 30, 1932.

The Daily Picayune,“Military Items”, July 25, 1868.

The New Orleans Times, “The Reindeer’s Passengers”, September 1, 1865.

The Times-Picayune, “Pelaez”, January 26, 1930.





Cornelius A. Rice (1834-1897) was born at Russellville, Kentucky.  He married three times but sired no children.  His spouse at the time of his demise in late March 1897, was born Miller. Her brother was Charles “C.C.” Carroll Miller (1849-1908), a prominent attorney, at Meridian, Mississippi.  Dr. Rice was a kind and gentle man and easily made solid friendships throughout his peripatetic life.  He was well read, had an engaging mind, and was an excellent conversationalist.(The Biloxi Herald, April 3, 1897, p. 8)


In 1850, Cornelius A. Rice was domiciled at Yazoo City, Mississippi with his family.  His widowed father was Dr. Joel C. Rice (1798-1850+), a native of Tennessee.  Dr. Rice’s  known siblings are: Joel W. Rice (1831-1850+); Llewellyn Rice (1831-1850+); and Nolan S. Rice (1837-1850+).  At this time, Joel W. Rice and Llewellyn Rice were both medical students.  Nolan was born in Mississippi circa 1837 and his older brothers natives of Tennessee.(1850 Yazoo Co., Mississippi Federal Census R M432_382, p. 481b, image 975)


In 1860, Dr. Rice was a resident of Raymond, Mississippi and a physician.(1860 Hinds Co., Mississippi Federal Census R M653_582 p. 62B, image 160)


Dr. Rice was a graduate of Transylvania University at Lexington, Kentucky and in 1884 received an honorary degree in medicine from the Louisville Medical College at Louisville, Kentucky. He began to practice medicine in Mississippi in 1855 and with the exception of two years domiciled at Jefferson, Texas and service during the Civil War, his entire medical career was shared with the people of Mississippi.(The Biloxi Herald, April 3, 1897, p. 8)


C.A. Rice was a member of the Mississippi State Medical Association and had been corresponding secretary for the Medico-Legal Society of New York since 1888, and vice-president for the State of Mississippi of the American Health Association since 1882; he was one of the earliest members of the Mississippi State Board of Health and was elected president in 1878 while a resident of Brandon, Mississippi; was a State sanitary commissioner and supervising inspector from 1881-1884; Rice was a member of the State Board of Censors for examination of applicants to practice medicine in Mississippi from 1874-1884; he was supervising inspector for the National Board of Health in 1880, and was placed on the list as a permanent inspector.  Since 1855, Dr. Rice had been a member of the Masonic order and in 1859 had been conferred the Templar degree.(The Daily Picayune, September 19, 1878, p. 8 and The Biloxi Herald, April 3, 1897, p. 8)


Civil War

In 1863, Dr. Rice was commissioned a surgeon in the Confederate States Army.  He was post surgeon at Washington, Georgia at the time of surrender in 1865.  It was as a surgeon that Dr. Rice excelled.  His experience and knowledge of hermetically sealed wounds-gunshot, fractured, lacerated or contuse and especially in gunshot wounds of the lungs and chest, was stellar.  In 1889, when the Confederate Veterans was organized, Dr. Rice was unanimously elected Surgeon General of Mississippi.(The Biloxi Herald, April 3, 1897, p. 8)


As an author and inventor, Dr. Rice contributed to the medical literature with his articles, ‘Resuscitation from Death by Chloroform’, ‘Ovariotomy’, and others.  His inventions were: a tourniquet for field service, which was adopted by many of the surgeons of the Confederate service; a gag to be used on insane persons during the introduction of the stomach pump; and a speculum for operating in vesico-vaginal cases. (The Biloxi Herald, April 3, 1897, p. 8)



In 1880, while a resident of Vicksburg, Mississippi, Dr. Rice was selected by the National Board of Health and sent to New Orleans as an acting supervisor and inspector.  While working in the Crescent City, he became involved in an issue with the Louisiana State Board of Health when he insisted that New Orleans was an infected port and prohibited a shipment of coffee from the Excelsior, a bark,  to be sent to New Orleans to Mobile.  Ports in Mississippi were also included in the ban.  Louisiana health officials vehemently disagreed and threatened Dr. Rice him with legal action, if he persisted in the matter.(The Vicksburg Daily Commercial, August 3, 1880, p. 1 and The Daily Picayune, July 29, 1880, p. 1 )


In 1881, Mississippi passed a statue requiring all doctors to register with the Circuit Court in the county in which they lived.  Dr. Rice registered in Warren County, Mississippi in July 1882. (The Vicksburg Daily Commercial, July 19, 1882, p. 4)



In 1884, Dr. Rice was appointed Superintendent of the East Mississippi Insane Asylum at Meridian, Mississippi.  He remained in this position until 1890.(The Biloxi Herald, April 3, 1897,  p. 8)



Dr. Cornelius A. Rice had come to Biloxi circa 1895.  He was an invalid at this time and aspired that Biloxi’s climate would ameliorate his physical ailments.  Unfortunately he expired here on March 27, 1897.  After a short service at the home of the Reverend H.M. Crain, Dr. Rice’s body was transported to the Biloxi Cemetery for internment under the auspices of the local Masonic order.   Many of Biloxi’s leading citizens attended Dr. Rice’s funeral attesting to his prominence and respect as a physician and gentleman.(The Biloxi Herald, April 3, 1897, p. 8)



The Biloxi Herald, "Latest City News", November 21, 1896.

The Biloxi Herald, "Cornelius A. Rice", April 3, 1897.

The Clarion Ledger, “Local news and notes”, March 27, 1897.

The Daily Picayune, “Mississippi”, September 19, 1878.

The Daily Picayune, “Sanitary restrictions on coffee”, July 29, 1880.

The New Orleans Item, “Telegraphic Summary”, September 19, 1878.

The Vicksburg Daily Commercial, “News”, August 3, 1880.

The Vicksburg Daily Commercial, “Physician registration”, July 19, 1882.



ETHAN ALLEN RIGGS: (1861-1903)

Dr. E.A. Riggs was born at New Iberia, Louisiana on september 14, 1861 to William A. Riggs (1821-1892), a well known attorney, and Mary Eleanor Vest Riggs (1828-1911).  He was educated at the University of Mississippi and graduated from the Medical Department of Tulane with distinction in 1896.  In May 1898, Riggs was licensed to practice medicine at Jackson County while he was a resident of New Orleans.  By June 1900, he had established an office in Nill's Drugstore at Ocean Springs, Mississippi.            


Dr. Riggs resided on Jackson Avenue where his sister, Eleanor Riggs, the talented editor of the Outlook magazine would visit him often.  He left Ocean Springs for New Orleans probably in the Fall of 1900.  The peripatetic Dr. Riggs moved to Biloxi circa 1901, and remained here until about July 1902.  When his health began to fail, the young physician went to Texas to seek a cure for his ailment.  In September 1902, Dr. Riggs returned briefly to Biloxi and resumed his medical practice.  He relocated to Covington, Louisiana before moving to New Orleans where his residence was at 4917 Carondelet Street near Upperline.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, September 25, 1902, p. 6)           


Dr. Riggs died at New Orleans here on May 26, 1903 of tuberculosis.  His remains were interred in the Greenwood Cemetery at New Orleans.  Dr. Rigg's cousin, Reverend Samuel Riggs of the Tchoupitoulas Methodist Mission, officiated at his service.(The Daily Picayune, May 29, 1903 and The Biloxi Daily Herald, May 29, 1903, p. 1)



The Biloxi Daily Herald, "City Items", September 25, 1902.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, "Dr. Riggs dead", May 29, 1903.

The Daily Picayune, "Death of Dr. Riggs", May 29, 1903.


Albert B. Russ

Albert Brown Russ (1888-1953) was born at Pearlington, Hancock County, Mississippi on November 25, 1888 to Asa Russ and Harriet Boardman (1856-1932).  He attended Millsaps College and was a graduate of the University of Kentucky.  In 1919, Dr. Russ came to Biloxi to practice dentistry.

Delphine Holloway (1898-1995), age 96 years, died on January 26, 1995, at Ocean Springs, Mississippi. She was born at North Biloxi at a time when it was called 'Seymour'. Delphine was the daughter of Andrew J. Holloway (1876-1934) and Josephine Newman (1877-1959). Mr. Holloway was born at New Orleans and made his livelihood with the L&N Railroad at Gautier, Mississippi where he was superintendent of the creosote plant.
Delphine married Dr. Albert Brown Russ (1888-1953) in Harrison County, Mississippi on December 20, 1942. He had married Josephine Lopez Folkes (1901-1959), the daughter of Dr. H.M. Folkes and Theresa Lopez, in February 1928.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Circuit Court MRB 58, p. 469 and MRB 40, p. 232)
Delphine H. Russ attended the University of Southern Mississippi and earned a BA degree from Tulane University. As a teacher and principal at Howard No. 2, public elementary school, Mrs. Russ inspired five generations of East Biloxians during her 46-year teaching career. She was the first principal of the Little Red School in Harrison County, served on the State Textbook Commission and was an active member of the PTA.
Delphine was predeceased by her parents; her spouse, Dr. A.B. Russ, who expired died on February 14, 1953 and whose corporal remains were interred in the Southern Memorial Park; and two sisters, Audrey Holloway Thiac and Maude Holloway Bailey Nolan.
Mrs. Russ was survived by her sister, Beatrice Holloway Tullier of Biloxi and Andrew J. Holloway Sr. of Ocean Springs and Biloxi Mayor A.J. Holloway Jr., her nephew.
Bradford-O'Keefe Funeral Home of Biloxi directed the funeral of Mrs. Russ. Visitation was at Sacred Heart Catholic Church in D'Iberville. Following Mass, her body was taken to Southern Memorial Park for internment.


The Daily Herald, 'Honor Principal', June 2, 1944, p. 7.

The Daily Herald, 'Mrs. Russ returns from textbook meeting', December 11, 1954, p. 9.

The Sun Herald, 'Delphine Holloway Russ', January 29, 1995, p. C-2.



Roderick S. Russ

Roderick Seal Russ (1882-1965) was born at Pearlington, Hancock County, Mississippi.


The Daily Herald, 'R.S. Russ', February 9, 1965, p. 2.



 Harry Johnson Schmidt (1905-1997) like his elder brother, Frank Oliver Schmidt (1902-1975), was also a physician.   Harry was born at Ocean Springs, Mississippi to Francis E. “Frank” Schmidt (1877-1954) and Antoinette Emma Johnson (1870-1956) of Algiers, Louisiana. Her father was a Danish sea captain, Frederick Oliver Johnson (Jenson) (1851-1938), and mother, Henrietta Hedman (1855-1922). In 1910, Mr. Johnson operated a grocery store on Washington Avenue. Mrs. Schmidt's sister was Carrie Ann Johnson (1886-1968) who was married to Joseph B. Garrard (1871-1915) and Alexander Fleet Everhart (1881-1957). Mrs. Everhart was in the hardware business, raised citrus, and dealt in real estate at Ocean Springs.(Lepre, 1991, p. 303)


Schmidt Bakery

In 1900, young Frank E. Schmidt worked as an oysterman and resided with his aging mother and stepfather, Michael Brady, north of Old Fort Bayou. In January 1901, he took a lease from the F.J. Lundy Company on the Illing bakery property located at 78-80 Washington Avenue, recently the site of Le Croissant, also a bakery. Mr. Schmidt called his business the City Bakery. In later years, it was called the Premium Bakery.   Frank E. Schmidt bought the Illing Bakery Lot from H.F. Russell (1858-1940) in December 1903. Here for the next thirty-five years he and Harry Hill (1896-1968) baked fresh bread, cakes, rolls, pies, and cookies. In the early years deliveries were made twice daily using a horse drawn bread wagon with the product selling for a nickel a loaf. JXCO, Ms. Land Deed Bk. 27, pp. 417-418)    


Dr. Schmidt practiced internal medicine at Convent, Louisiana and at Biloxi, Mississippi for decades. On May 25, 1935, at St. Alphonsus Catholic Church, he married Margaret Mary Heath (1908-1983), the daughter of Maurice Heath. Their children were: Dr. Harry J. Schmidt II (1936-2013) m. Ann Baltar (1937-2012), Dr. Robert J. Schmidt (1937-2000), and Dr. Richard C. Schmidt. Dr. Harry J. Schmidt died at Biloxi on August 31, 1997. His corporal remains were interred in the Evergreen Cemetery on Old Fort Bayou in Ocean Springs, Mississippi.(The Daily Herald, May 11, 1935, p. 5 and The Sun Herald, September 3, 1997, p. E-2)   



The Daily Herald, “Ocean Springs”, May 11, 1935.

The Sun Herald, “Dr. Harry J. Schmidt”, September 3, 1997.    



Harry J. Schmidt Jr.

Dr. Harry Johnson Schmidt Jr. (1936-2013) was born in New Orleans on October 5, 1936, and was raised in Convent, Louisiana, until moving to Biloxi in 1945. He graduated from Notre Dame High School in Biloxi, the University of Notre Dame, and Tulane University School of Medicine. After completing his residency at Charity Hospital in New Orleans Dr. Schmidt served as a physician in the US Army at Redstone Arsenal in Huntsville, Alabama.

In 1969, Dr. Schmidt returned home to Biloxi and practiced internal medicine at the Schmidt Clinic with his father and two brothers. He retired in 2005. Dr. Schmidt was an active member of the Nativity BVM Cathedral Parish. He served on various boards and committees for the Diocese of Biloxi, Nativity Elementary School, and Mercy Cross High School. He played an active role in bringing Amserv, full-time professional ambulance service, to Biloxi. A lover of the water, he was a long-time member of the Biloxi Yacht Club where he raced Lightnings and Fish Class boats. He was a Life Member and Past King of the Order of Mithras Carnival Association.

Dr. Schmidt was preceded in death by his wife of fifty years, Ann Baltar Schmidt (1937-2012); his parents, Dr. and Mrs. Harry J. Schmidt, Sr.; and his brother Dr. Robert J. Schmidt, Sr., all of Biloxi. He is survived by two daughters, Julie M. Schmidt of Biloxi, and Patricia B. Schmidt of Houston, Texas; his son, Harry J. Schmidt, III, (Jennifer) of Ocean Springs; two grandchildren, Ainsley and Hudson Schmidt; and his brother, Dr. Richard C. Schmidt of Biloxi.  Visitation will take place at Nativity BVM Cathedral in Biloxi on Thursday, April 25, 2013, beginning at 9:30am. A funeral mass will follow at 11am, and a graveside service will take place at Biloxi City Cemetery.


The Sun Herald, "Harry J. Schmidt, Jr.", April 24, 2013, p. A4.

The Sun Herald, "Doctor [Harry J. Schmidt, Jr.] loved sailing, Notre Dame football", April 25, 2013, p. A4.




Dr. Robert J. Schmidt, 62, died Wednesday, April 5, 2000, in Biloxi.  Dr. Schmidt was born in New Orleans, Louisiana, and had been a lifelong resident of the Coast. He had been a doctor since 1962 and had practiced medicine in Biloxi since 1968.  He was preceded in death by his parents, Dr. Harry J. Schmidt Sr.  (1905-1997) and Margaret Mary Heath (1908-1983).  He is survived by his wife, the former Gladys Beeson Baxter of Zachary, Louisiana, and son, Robert J. Schmidt Jr. of Biloxi, and daughter, Margaret Schmidt Davis of Lafayette, Louisiana; four grandchildren; two brothers, Dr. Richard C. Schmidt and Dr. Harry J. Schmidt Jr.  (1936-2013).
Dr. Schmidt served in the United States Navy as a Lieutenant Commander at Bremerton, Washington, from 1966-1968.  Dr. Schmidt was past Chief of Staff of Biloxi Regional Medical Center, past President of the Medical and Dental Staff of Biloxi Regional Medical Center. He graduated from Notre Dame High School, Biloxi, Mississippi, attended the University of Notre Dame, South Bend, Indiana, and graduated from Tulane University School of Medicine, New Orleans, Louisiana. He was a member of the American Medical Association, Mississippi Medical Association, Coast Counties Medical Society, Southern Medical Association, Conrad Collins OB/GYN Society and the American Society of Addictive Medicine and was helpful in establishing the Bienville Recovery Center.  Dr. Schmidt lived in Biloxi for 55 years and was a member of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary Cathedral. He was a longtime member of the Biloxi Yacht Club of which he was Past Commodore and past member of the Board of Directors. He was also a member of the Biloxi Bay Chamber of Commerce, served on the Maritime & Seafood Museum's Advisory Board and also belonged to the Order of Mithras Carnival Association.  Funeral services will be held on Saturday, April 8, 2000, Mass of the resurrection of Nativity B.V.M. Cathedral at 1 p.m. Internment in Evergreen Cemetery, Ocean Springs, MS. Friends may call from 12 until 1 p.m. Saturday at the Cathedral. Howard Avenue Chapel of Bradford-O'Keefe Funeral Homes in Biloxi is in charge of arrangements.


The Sun Herald, "Dr. Robert J. Schmidt", April 7, 2000, p. A7.




Wallace Steve Sekul (1922-1994) was born July 27, 1922 at Biloxi, Mississippi the son of Steve C. Sekul (1881-1970), a native of Brac, Split-Dalmatia County, Croatia and Yerka Barisich (1887-1977).  They married in Biloxi on June 12, 1921. Mary Lou Sekul (b. 1927) who married John Worth was their last child.


Steve C. Sekul had earlier married Lucia Trebotich (1887-1918) and their children were: Anton Sekul (1908-1908); Marguerite Sekul (1909-1987) m. Meco Filipich (1902-1957); Mike Sekul (1911-1988) m. Frances Mihojevich (1913-2002); George Sekul (1913-1986) m. Agnes A. Semski (1919-1999); and Lucy Sekul (1916-2004) m. Samuel Joseph Mavar (1912-1993).


Wallace Steve Sekul was a 1940 graduate of Biloxi High School and went to Perkinston Jr. College before enrolling at the University of Mississippi.  He graduated from the LSU Medical School On March 13, 1946 and was a resident at Charity Hopsital in New Orleans before in served as a Medical Officer in the US Navy at San Diego, California from 1947-1949.  Dr. Sekul began his geneal practice of medicine at Magee, Mississippi after an honorable discharge from the US Navy.  In 1951, he received specialist training in pediatrics from the University of Pennsylvania Post-Graduate Medical School and completed a two-year residency in pediatrics at the John Gaston Hospital of the University of Tennessee Medical School at Memphis where he was chief resident.  Dr. Sekul began his pediatrics practice at Biloxi in Ocotober 1954 when he opened his offfice at 506 Forrest Avenue.  The Sekul family lived on Hopkins Avenue.  He retired from medicine in 1989.  Dr. Sekul was a member of the American Academy of Pediatrics; American Medical Association; Mississippi State Medical Association; the Trudeau Society; and the faculty of LSU and Tulane Medical School.  Dr. Sekul was on staff at Biloxi Regional Hospital where he served in many capacities including Chief of Staff and Chief of Pediatrics.(The Daily Herald, October 4, 1954, p. 9 and The Sun Herald, May 15, 1994, p. A-2)


On June 12, 1948, Dr. Sekul had married Elizabeth ‘Betty’ Montgomery, the daughter of J.C. Johnagin and Evelyn Montgomery Johnagin of Gilmer, Texas, at the Holy Name Catholic Church in Fort Worth, Texas.  Miss Betsy Woods, formerly of Biloxi, and Victor Mavar of Biloxi were their attendants.  Other Biloxians at the Sekul nuptial ceremony were: Miss Sue Filipich; Alec Kuljis; Mrs. Lucy Mavar; Olivia Mavar; Jennett Filipich; George Sekul; Lawrence Semski; and Mrs. And Mrs. Steve C. Sekul.(The Daily Herald, July 8, 1948, p. 8)


Mother of the Year

Betty M. Sekul was chosen Biloxi’s Mother of the Year in May 1977 by Biloxi Lion’s Club.  She had attended Hardin-Simmons University in Abilene, Texas and Centenary College at Shreveport, Louisiana and would receive her social studies and secondary education degree from USM in the late 1970s.  When Betty married Dr. Sekul, she was a graduate nurse from the Tri-State School of Nursing at Shreveport, Louisiana and had worked for the US Public Health Service in New Orleans at the Marine Hospital.  Betty was a registered nurse and was active in cultural, civic, academic and social affairs.  She was especially dedicated to the Boy and Girl Scout community on the Coast.  Mrs. Sekul’s philosophy was: “What you are is God’s Gift to you; what you become is your Gift to God.(The Daily Herald, May 8, 1977, p. A-2)

Dr. Wallace Steve Sekul was an active member of the Nativity BVM Parish.  He was involved in the civic and cultural affairs of the Coast, including the Community Concert Association; Coast Carnival Association; the Jaycees; the Biloxi Chamber of Commerce; Kiwanis Club; and Biloxi First.

Dr. Sekul was preceded in death by his parents Steve C. Sekul and Yerka B. Sekul; two brothers, Mike Sekul and George Sekul; and a sister Margaret Sekul Filipich.  He was survived by his wife, Elizabeth ‘Betty’ Sekul of Biloxi; a son, William Robert Sekul (b. 1958) of Brandon, Mississippi; and Dr. Elizabeth Ann Sekul (b. 1961) of Bethesda, Maryland; two sisters, Lucy Sekul Mavar, wife of Sam J. Mavar of Biloxi, and Mary Lou Sekul Worth, spouse of John worth of Houston, Texas; and numerous nieces and nephews.

Bradford-O’Keefe Funeral Home of Biloxi directed the funeral of Dr. Sekul.  A Mass of Resurrection was celebrated at Nativity BVM Cathedral at Biloxi followed by internment in Southern Memorial Park.


The Daily Herald, ‘Sekul-Montgomery’, July 8, 1948.

The Daily Herald, ‘Dr. Sekul opens [Biloxi] office’, October 4, 1954.

The Sun Herald, ‘Biloxi’s Mother of the Year has many accomplishments’, May 8, 1977.

The Sun Herald, ‘Wallace Steve Sekul, MD’, May 15, 1994.


Llewellyn J. Smith

Llewellyn "Lel'  J. Smith (1910-1991) was born September 24, 1910 at Grand Coteau, St. Landry Parish, Louisiana. He married Dolores 'Bobby' Davidson (1916-1991) of Ocean Springs, Mississippi. Children: Patricia "Patti" Lel Smith m. Mr. Crouch and Thomas Richard Morris [1939-2024] and Orin Davidson 'David' Smith.

Dr. Smith was a graduate of Jesuit High School [NOLA] and was a 1934 graduate of the Loyola School of Dentistry [NOLA].  He interned at Charity Hospital [NOLA] and was a resident there until he opened a general dentistry practice at Biloxi in July 1936. The Mississippi Dental Association Journal  named Dr. Smith as '1947 Dentist of the Year'.[The Daily Herald, November 19, 1947, p. 3]



The Daily Herald, 'Dr. Lel Smith honored by dental journal', November 19, 1947.

The Sun Herald, 'Dolores Davidson Smith', September 12, 1997.



William O. Talbot [1873-1952]



[The Biloxi Herald, August 14, 1897, p. 5]





Maurice A. Taquino

Maurice Augustus Taquino (1925-2006), "Dr. T",  was born Morris Augustus Taquino at New Orleans.  He was the son of Maurice A. Taquino (1885-1930+) and Rose Mary Paretti Taquino (1894-1985), also natives of the Crescent City.  Later Morris Augustus Taquino legally changed his name to Maurice Augustus Taquino.  He was reared on Dumaine Street and graduated from Jesuit High School in 1942.  He graduated from Loyola University of the South (NOLA) and completed his primary medical education in 1951 at the LSU School of Medicine at New Orleans.  His post-Doctoral studies were also in New Orleans primarily at the LSU Medical Center where he learned general medical practice and surgery.  In 1953, Dr. Taquino graduated from the Naval Flight Surgeon Program at Pensacola, Florida.  He served as an officer in the U.S. Navy and spent some time in the Bahamas in 1956.  His active duty status ended in 1956, but he remained in the Naval Reserves from 1956-1979 and went on active duty again from 1979 until 1982.  He retired from the Navy in 1986.   In 1961, Dr. M.A. Taquino acquired his general surgery license to practice in Mississippi. (The Sun Herald, August 31, 2006, p. A6 and Bonnie Taquino, March 7, 2007)

In 1971-1972, Dr. Taquino with Dr. Harry Clark, administrator, and Robert W. Bell, financial advisor, built a large medical complex at Biloxi, which they called ‘The Coast Medical Center’.  The building, which is extant, at 180-B Debuys Road, is now known as The Harrell Pace Memorial Medical Plaza.  It is a two-story structure made with environmental glass.  Dr. Harrell S. Pace (1936-2003) was the first chief of staff of the Gulf Coast Medical Center in 1976-1977.

The second phase of Dr. Taquino’s vision was a 244 bed acute care center, The Gulf Coast Hospital, which is now called The Gulf Coast Medical Center at 180 Debuys Road.  It opened in May 1976.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 22, 1973, p. 10)

In March 1978, Dr. Taquino created the Maurice Augustus Taquino Trust No. 1.  Through this legal instrument, he conveyed his Lovers Lane real property to his sons, Maurice A. Taquino III and Lawrence McDougall Taquino (b. 1965), retaining a life estate.(JXCO, Ms. Land Deed Bk. 791, p. 285)

Circa 1980, Dr. Taquino left Ocean Springs and his Lovers Lane home later reached the stage of demolition by neglect that the City had it removed.  Dr. Taquino relocated from Ocean Springs to the Diamondhead community, Hancock County, Mississippi with his spouse, Linda N. Taquino.  Circa 1982, he became Medical Director of the Stennis Space Center and also practiced occupational and internal medicine on the west side of the Mississippi Gulf Coast.  Dr. Maurice Taquino Jr. expired at Diamond Head, Mississippi on August 28, 2006.(The Sun Herald, August 29, 2006, p. A6)

In 2003, Dr. Taquino was NASA awarded him the "Silver Snoopy".  This is an award given by astronauts to recognized outstanding duty, which assisted in the flight safety and success of a space mission.(The Sun Herald, August 31, 2006, p. A4)




Dr. L. Chevis Tebo was born at Virginia. The Tebos were probably of Huguenot decent, and the original spelling of the name may have been Tebault. L. Chevis Tebo attended the Charity Hospital Medical College at New Orleans and was graduated from the University of Louisiana circa 1881.

L. Chevis Tebo commenced his career at New Orleans probably as a pharmacist. Soards' 1876 New Orleans Directory lists Tebo as a pharmacist on St. Charles Avenue at Carrollton.

Dr. Tebo was married to Amelie Prague (1849-1925), a native of Louisiana. They had at least four children: Amanda Tebo (b. 1870); L. Chevis Tebo, Jr. (1873-1892), Rosina Tebo (b. 1875), and Edwin B. Tebo (1885-1946). Mrs. Tebo passed on at New Orleans on August 16, 1925, while at resident of the St. Anna Episcopal home on Prytania and St. Mary Streets.

On April 13, 1890, Dr. Tebo, who was a resident of Gloster, Mississippi at that time, was issued license No. 491 to practice medicine at Jackson County, Mississippi. The Tebo family moved to the Mississippi coast from Amite County circa 1891. They lived at Biloxi on Main Street near the beach. Amelie N. Tebo purchased the property from C.F. Theobald in October 1892. (Harrison County Land Deed Bk. 28, p. 291).

In the early 1890s, Dr. Tebo operated a drugstore at Ocean Springs, Mississippi. He was issued license No. 800 to sell medicines in Jackson County, Mississippi in March 1893.

In January 1892, a tragedy occurred at the Tebo drugstore in Ocean Springs. L. Chevis Tebo Jr. (1874-1892), was found shot to death in his bed. Young Tebo ran the pharmacy for his father who was away at New Orleans at the time. The incident was ruled an accident as there was no foul play or suicide indicated. The Biloxi Herald reported on March 19, 1892, that after an absence of about one year, Dr. Tebo has returned to Biloxi to practice his profession. He rented the Cooper Cottage on Reynoir Street. It is believed Dr. Tebo returned to the Crescent City where he expired there in October 1929.


The Biloxi Herald, 'Neighborhood Notes-Ocean Springs', January 30, 1892, p. 1.

The Biloxi Herald, 'Dr. Tebo advertisement', May 21, 1892, p. 1.

The Advocate [Baton Rouge], 'Edwin B. Tebo dies of heart attack', April 21, 1944, p. 14.

The Times-Picayune, '[Amelie] Tebo', August17, 1925, p. 2.

The Times-Picayune, '[Edwin B.] Tebo', April 21, 1944, p. 2.

The Times-Picayune, 'Edwin B. Tebo's Last Rites Held', April 22, 1944, p. 3.The

Times-Picayune, '[Cora Delery] Tebo]', July 29, 1971, Section I, p. 16.

Times-Picayune, 'Cajuns, Creoles, Pirates, and Planters-Prague family began with 1819 German immigration', July 10, 1977, Section II, p. 2.


William A. Tisdale, M.D.

William Appleton Tisdale (1920-2003) was born in Sumrall, Mississippi, September 1, 1920, the first of three children born to Jennings and Margaret Churchill Tisdale. During the Depression he helped support his family by working in the seafood factories before school each day, delivered newspapers, and later shoveled oyster shells for foundation construction and support of the seawall. He was a Boy Scout in Troop 212.

A 1938 graduate of Biloxi High School, he joined the Naval Reserves at the age of 17 and served in the U.S. Navy from 1940-1946 as a Pharmacist's Mate. In World War II he saw duty aboard the USS Blue Ridge, USS Mullaney, and USS Rowe, and was stationed during his enlistment at the Brooklyn Navy Yard, New Guinea and Aleutian Islands. At the time of his discharge he was a proud Chief Petty Officer.

Following his discharge from the navy, he married Florence Constance Hoffman, of Bayside, New York, and moved to New Orleans, Louisiana where he enrolled in Tulane University and graduated from Tulane Medical School in 1952. His internship was served in Nashville, Tennessee at Midstate Baptist Hospital.

Dr. Tisdale opened his practice the following year in North Biloxi, today known as D'Iberville, and remained there through 1958 when he re-located to Biloxi. He frequently misplaced the medical bills of patients who were unable to pay for his services and for many years voluntarily performed physicals for Notre Dame High School's football team.

In 1968 he was elected to and served one term in the Mississippi House of Representatives. He was involved in enabling legislation to construct the Mississippi Coast Coliseum and authored the State's first Nurse Practice Act.

Following Hurricane Camille in 1969, he closed his OB-GYN practice and began employment as the first full time emergency room physician in Harrison County at Howard Memorial Hospital. Years later he moved to Gulf Coast Community Hospital where he designed the emergency room facilities and served as the director of Emergency Medicine and Trauma. After a brief retirement, Dr. Tisdale worked at the Biloxi V.A. Hospital's emergency room for several years before again retiring.

Dr. Tisdale was a member of Magnolia Lodge F&AM #120, Mountain Branch Hunting Club, and Episcopal Church of the Redeemer. He was a past member of Les Perriots and Revelers carnival associations and served as a Duke to King D'Iberville in the 1960s. He enjoyed hunting and fishing.

He was a faithful husband to Connie for 56 years, son, and father. His sons and daughters are most grateful for his love, support, counsel, generosity, accomplishments, and that he made Biloxi his home.

Serving as pallbearers are Jim Tisdale, Errol Tisdale, Michael Diaz, Paul Treutel, Paul A. Tisdale, and William E. Tisdale. Honorary pallbearers are James Parker, Norris Bond, and Dr. Harrell Pace.

Dr. Tisdale is survived by two sons, William E. Tisdale and wife Janie of Biloxi, and Paul A. Tisdale and wife, Wanda of Biloxi; two daughters Jill F. Treutel and husband Paul of Centreville, Virginia, and Constance M. Eaves, Ocean Springs; daughter-in-law Beatrice Davis Tisdale Freeman of Ocean Springs; nephew Dr. Michael Diaz and wife Leigh, of Biloxi and 12 grandchildren. He was preceded in death by his wife, Florence Constance "Connie" Hoffman Tisdale and sons David Lee Tisdale and George Jennings Tisdale.

Visitation is Friday, August 8, 6:00, 9:00 p.m., at Bradford- O'Keefe Funeral Home, Howard Avenue. Funeral services will be Saturday, August 9, 11:00 a.m., Episcopal Church of the Redeemer, Biloxi; friends may visit one hour prior to the service. Burial will follow at Biloxi Cemetery.


The Daily Herald, "

The Sun Herald, "William A. Tisdale-MD", August 8, 2003, p. A8.



Dr. Adalbert L. Vlazny (1916-2000) was born on July 19, 1916 in Chicago to Albert G. Vlazny and Anna Vlazny.  Adalbert was reared in the Hyde Park area of Chicago.  Adalbert  graduated from Loyola's pre-dental program in 1935 and earned his doctor of dentistry degree from the Chicago College of Dental Surgery in 1939. After practicing in Chicago, he entered the U.S. Army Dental Corps in 1942. After his discharge in 1945, he established a practice in the Lopez Building on West Howard Avenue in Biloxi, Missississippi.  Dr. Vlazny and family lived at 1613 Oaklawn Place at Biloxi and his office was later situated in the Medical Arts Building on West Howard Avenue.


When he received an offer to teach at Loyola in 1959, he opened a practice in La Grange, which he maintained until 1976. He was a professor of dentistry at the old Loyola University Chicago College of Dentistry and taught and lectured for almost 30 years at Loyola, where he was chairman of the operative dentistry department from 1976 to 1984. Dr. Vlazny was a founding member of St. John of the Cross Church in Western Springs.  He also enjoyed fishing.  Three years ago, he established a scholarship for students at the UIC College of Dentistry.  Dr. Vlazny died on  January 15, 2000, at his Lisle, Illinois home. 


Dr. Vlazny was survived by his wife of 58 years, Millie Vlazny of Lisle; two sons, Val Vlazny and David Vlazny; three daughters, Judith Runser, Carol Schmitt and Patricia Wager; nine grandchildren; and one brother, Dr. Fred Vlazny (b. 1919). 



The Naperville Sun, “Adalbert L. Vlazny”, April 21, 2000.



Dr. Ferdinand 'Fred' J. Vlazny (b. 1919) was born in Chicago to Albert G. Vlazny and Anna Vlazny.  Fred was reared in the Hyde Park area of south Chicago.  After his discharge from the USAF following WW II, he established a pediatrics practice in Biloxi, Missississippi in November 1948 in the Lopez Building on West Howard Avenue.  Dr.  Vlazney had attended the John Marshall School of Law, the University of Illinois, and was a 1945 graduate of the Loyola School of Medicine.  He had studied pediatric medicine with Dr. William Raycroft at the Children's Memorial Hospital in Chicago. 


Dr. Vlazny and family lived at 1617 Oaklawn Place at Biloxi and his office was in the Medical Arts Building on West Howard Avenue.  His son, Thomas Glen Vlazney, had been born in May 1948.



The Daily Herald, 'Dr. F.J. Vlazny opens Biloxi office', November 27, 1948.



Dr. James Edward Wallace (1876-1942) was born on the Wallace Plantation at Natchitoches, Louisiana  the son of George Wallace (d. ca 1890) and Alice Payne Wallace McClane (1860-1900+).  Dr. Wallace  was licensed to practice medicine in Mississippi by the State Board of Health in October 1911.  He was affiliated with Dr. Hyman M. Folkes (1871-1926), the husband of Teresa Lopez (1873-1951).(The Daily Herald, October 13, 1911, p. 5 and The Daily Herald, October 28, 1942, p. 1)


James E. Wallace was edcuated at Lousiana State Normal and the family relocated to New Orleans where he study medicine at Tulane and interned at the Touro Infirmary.  Dr. Wallace acquired the second highest average in his class at Tulane and while at Touro Infirmary held one of the highest averages in competitive examinations.  He was recognized by the late Dr. Matas and Dr. Kohlman as a genius with a scapel and a brilliant surgeon.


From articles in The Daily Herald, it appears that circa 1913, Dr. Wallace had married Fern Scott (1892-1918), a nurse, whose family was domiciled in Hammond, Louisiana.  Fern was born in Minnesota.  By 1910, Fern was living with Brady E. Loar (b 1869), her step-father, and Matty Scott Loar (b. 1868), her mother, and siblings: Freda Scott (b. 1894), Fru Scott (b. 1894), and a baby sister just born in Hammond, Louisiana.(1910 Tangipahoa Parish, Louisiana Federal Census T624_532, p. 3A, ED 120)


Fern Scott Wallace died from pneumonia during the 1918 Spanish Influenza Pandemic.  Both she and Dr. Wallace were sick, but he survivied.  


848 West Beach

In November 1916, Dr. Wallace acquired the West Beach home of W.M. Lampton, a prominent banker at Magnolia, Mississippi. Mr. Lampton had acquired this structure about 1908 and used it in the winter and rented it in summer months.  The Wallace's new neighbors were: A. Hopkins was to the north; Barton to the east; the Gulf to the south; and Santini to the west.  The consideration was $6500.(The Daily Herald, November 13, 1916 and November 21, 1916)


It is believed that Dr. Wallace was initially associated with Dr. Hyman M. Folkes (1871-1926) at his sanitarium on Biloxi’s West Beach.  By November 1916, Dr. Wallace had severed all working relations with what had become the Coast Sanitarium at 1722 West Beach.  It was under the proprietorship of Miss Williams, an RN, at this time.(The Daily herald, November 27, 1916, p. 3)  


U.S. Army

In late October 1918, James E. Wallace was called into military service.  He was commissioned a Captain in the U.S. Army and was sent to Fort Oglethorpe, Georgia in early November 1918.  Biloxi had already sent Dr. G.F. Carroll, Dr. J.C. Ballard, Dr. Johnson, and Dr. McWilliams to Europe.(The Daily Herald, October 26, 1918, p. 3 and November 6, 1918, p. 3)  



James E. Wallace married Wilda Josephine Lopez (1899-1977), the niece of Theresa Lopez Folkes.  Wilda was born at Biloxi, Mississippi on October 10, 1899 to Lazaro Theodore Lopez (1877-1918) and Eurilda ‘Lily’ Seal (1879-1966).   Their wedding vows were exchanged at Nativity B.V.M. Catholic Church on January 9, 1920 with Reverend Alphone Ketels officiating.  After their reception, the newlyweds left for New Orleans to take a train for Washington D.C. and New York City.  They also visited Mrs. Wallace’s recent alma mater at Lynchburg, Virginia.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Circuit Court MRB, 31, p. 493 and The Daily Herald, January 10, 1920, p. 3)


Miss Wilda Lopez was the valedictorian of the 1915 Class of Biloxi High School and delivered an appropriate speech to her nine classmates and audience. She went on to study at Randolph Macon College at Lynchburg, Virginia graduating in June 1919. Wilda’s other siblings were: Clara Lopez Tarr Froede (1902-1936), Beverly Lopez Berggren (1904-1991), Florian Seal Lopez (1911-1957), and John Beverly Lopez (1915-1970).(The Daily Herald, May 29, 1915, p. 1)


It appears that Wilda Lopez and Dr. James E. Wallace divorced before 1932 as he married Lillian Grace Madere  (1911-1992) on June 24, 1932  at his West Beach home with Reverend G.C. Hodge.  Miss Madere had come to Biloxi from Hahnville, Louisiana as a student nurse at the Biloxi Hospital.  She became the office assistant of Dr. Wallace after she completed her three years of medical education.  Wilda later married Lynden Bowring (1889-1980).[Harrison County, Mississippi Circuit Court MRB 43, p. 624 and The Daily Herlad, June 25, 1932, p. 2)


Grace Madere Wallace, age 80 years, of Biloxi, died Tuesday, November 17, 1992, at St. Francis Hospital in Memphis, Tennessee.   Mrs. Wallace was a registered nurse for 50 years.   She was well known for the magnificent tree in her backyard.   The Wallace Oak, as well as for her donation of the Brielmaier House to the City of Biloxi, which is use as the visitors' information center.  Grace was a Catholic and a member of Nativity B.V.M. Cathedral.  She was preceded in death by Dr. James E. Wallace, her spouse; one son, James Edward Wallace Jr.; and her eldest grandson, James Edward Wallace III.  Mrs. Wallace was survived by two grandsons, Bruce Pope Wallace and Jonathan Emery Wallace, both of Memphis, Tennessee; and one granddaughter, Helena Madere Wallace of Memphis, Tennessee. Bradford-O'Keefe Funeral Home of Biloxi directed Mrs. Wallace's funeral with internment in the Biloxi Cemetery.(The Sun Herald, November 20, 1992)


Dr. Wallace and George W. Wallace (1874-1960), his brother, started the era of modern surgery in Biloxi.  James E. Wallace was a member of the Biloxi Hospital staff and a one time president of the hospital staff.  He also was a member of Coast Medical Association; Tri-State Medical Association; Southern Medical association; and American Medical Association; American Legion; Mithras Carnival club; Elks Club; and a chartermember of the Biloxi Kiwanis Club.



The Daily Herald, "Gulfport", October 13, 1911.

The Daily Herald, "Dr. Wallace attends gathering of surgeons", March 25, 1913.

The Daily Herald,"Mrs. Loar's mother dead", January 6, 1916.

The Daily Herald,"Loar-Cummings", October 16, 1916.

The Daily Herald, "Lampton property sold to Wallace reports", November 13, 1916.

The Daily Herald, "Mr. Grayson’s deal", November 14, 1916.

The Daily Herald, "Deed recently filed for record", November 21, 1916.

The Daily Herald, "To the Public", November 27, 1916.

The Daily Herald, "Miss Loar in movies", December 12, 1916.

The Daily Herald,"Mrs. Wallace taken by death", January 8, 1918.

The Daily Herald,"Dr. James Wallace is given Captain’s commission", October 26, 1918.

The Daily Herald,"Capt.Wallace reports", November 6, 1918.

The Daily Herald, “Prominent Biloxi couple [Wallace-Lopez] married”, January 10, 1920.

The Daily Herald,"Wallace-Medere [sic]', June 25, 1932.

The Daily Herald,"Dr. James Wallace World War Captain dies at Biloxi", October 28, 1942.

The Sun Herald, "Grace Madere Wallace", November 20, 1992. 



George Walton Wallace (1874-1960)



The Daily Herald, "Dr. G. Wallace dies at Biloxi", November 1, 1960, p. 1.




Benton Z. Welch (1878-1968) was born in the Bethel Community near Collins, Covington County, Mississippi on December 18, 1878.  Benton was well-educated.  He attended Millsaps College at Jackson, Mississippi graduating in 1904 with a B.S. degree and Mississippi A&M College in 1906.



Dr. Welch married Ella Grace Jordan (1878-1974).  Ella was born in Harrison County, Mississippi on May 6, 1878 to the Reverend James Louis Jordan, a Methodist minister, and Catherine Scarborough Jordan of Gulfport, Mississippi.   He practiced medicine at Woolmarket, a rural community in Harrison County on the Biloxi River, before joining Dr. H.M. Folkes at Biloxi in May 1915.  At this time, the Welch family lived at 818 Lameuse Street.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Circuit Court MRB 19, p. 92 and The Daily Herald, may 15, 1915, p. 1)


Recalling his early years at Biloxi, Dr. Welch related in December 1964, that Howard Avenue was paved only between Lameuse Street and Reynoir Street.(The Daily Herald, December 31, 1964, p. 1) 



The Daily Herald, “Dr. Welch to make his home in Biloxi”, May 15, 1915.

The Daily Herald, “Welch looks back on early days in Biloxi”, December 31, 1964.

The Daily Herald,“Dr. Welch succumbs at Hospital”, July 20, 1968.

The Daily Herald, “Mrs. Ella Grace Jordan Welch, dies after illness of several years”, August 28, 1974.






Presley Ewing Werlein (1891-1971) was born September 1, 1891 at St. Louis, Missouri to the Reverend Shepard Halsey Werlein (1851-1933), a Methodist minister of German ancestry and a native of Clinton, Mississippi, and Leila Ewing Werlein (1855-1936), who was born at New Orleans, Louisiana.  His grandparents were Philip Peter Werlein (1812-1885), a German musician and composer, and Margaret Halsey (1823-1885) of Long Island, New York.   Philip P. Werlein was born at Rhein Kreis, Germany and came to America and founded Werlein’s for Music at New Orleans.  Circa 1915, Presley married Sarah Louise Richard (1891-1970), the daughter of Eugene Gordy Richard and Blanche Cason, proprietors of the Elba Plantation situated in St. Landry Parish, Louisiana.(The Daily Picayune, April 18, 1885, p. 4 and The Times-Picayune, August 19, 1953, p. 2)


Presley E. Werlein and Sarah Richard were the parents of four children:  Presley E. Werlein Jr.  (1916-1971); Eugene Richard Werlein (1923-2012); Shepard Halsey Werlein (1925-1977); and Sarah Blanche Werlein m. Kenneth Fillmore Beck (b. 1926) of Wichita, Kansas.  Presley E. Werlein Jr. was born at San Jose, California while the other children were born in Biloxi, Mississippi.



Dr. P.E. Werlein, an ENT specialist, came to Biloxi from New Orleans in the summer of 1920 and opened an office above Grant’s Drug Store on West Howard Avenue and Reynoir Street on September 1st.  He had matriculated to the Sewanee Academy and the University of Arkansas before entering Tulane in 1910 where he was a member of the track team participating in the field events: high jump, discus throw, and shotput.  Presley graduated in 1914 from the Tulane Medical School and interned at San Jose, California before entering private practice at Mountain View, California.  Dr. Werlein returned to the Crescent City as a clinical instructor in the ENT department of the Tulane Medical College.  He entered military service during WW I and  served at Camp Dodge Iowa before going overseas to Joinville-le-Pont, France and then serving with the Army of Occupation at Coblenz, Germany where he was chief of his department in Evacuation Hospital No. 9.(The Daily Herald, August 28, 1920, p. 3 and September 29, 1955, p. 26)


In the mid-1930s, Dr. Werlein pursued post graduate medical studies in Austria and Germany.  He returned to Biloxi from these activities in 1937.  Presley retired from his medical practice at Biloxi in 1955.(The Daily Herald, September 29, 1955, p. 26 and October 23, 1971, p. 2)


At Biloxi, Dr. Werlein was active in the civic and social affairs of Biloxi and its progress.  He enjoyed gardening, fishing, hunting and travel.   In 1920, Presley was a pioneer assisting Charles L. Rushing in activating Troop 2 of the Boy Scouts of America with their sponsors, through the Biloxi Knights of Columbus.  Presley was a charter member of the Biloxi Rotary Club, Chamber of Commerce member, Commander of the American Legion, and had been on the Board of Stewards of the First United Methodist Church of Biloxi from 1921 until his resignation in the late 1960s due to his declining health.   He had served as president of the Biloxi Hospital medical staff and was a consultant with the Gulfport Veterans Administration facility from 1925 -1935.


It appears that Dr. Werlein and Sarah Richard Werlein divorced and he married Ida Cornelia Rush (1905-1980), a native of Pass Christian, Mississippi.  Ida was a teacher and had taught in Biloxi at Dukate Elementary School and had retired as principal of Howard No. 1 Elementary School.(The Daily Herald, January 21, 1980, p. A2)


Dr. Presley E. Werlein expired at the Memorial Hospital in Biloxi on October 22, 1971.  He was survived by his widow, Ida Cornelia Rush Werlein; three sons, Presley E. Werlein Jr., Eugene R. Werlein, and Shepard H. Werlein, all of Houston, Texas; a daughter, Mrs. Kenneth F. Beck of Wichita, Kansas; two brothers, Judge Ewing Werlein (1889-1975) of Houston, Texas and the Reverend Philip P. Werlein (1893-1996) of Sewanee, Tennessee; and eleven grandchildren.  Bradford-O’Keefe Funeral Home of Biloxi directed the funeral services of Dr. Werlein.  His corporal internment was in Southern Memorial Park at Biloxi, Mississippi.


Ida Rush Werlein lived until January 21, 1980.  She also passed in the Howard Memorial Hospital.  Ida was survived by two sisters, Frances Rush Andre, and Helen Rush Donohoo, both of Gulfport, and two stepchildren, Eugene Werlein of Houston, Texas and Sally Beck of Kansas.(The Daily Herald, January 21, 1980, p. A2)



The Daily Herald, “Locates in Biloxi”, August 20, 1920.

The Daily Herald, “Dr. P.E. Werlein retires at Biloxi”, September 29, 1955.

The Daily Herald, “Dr. Presley E. Werlein”, October 23, 1971.

The Daily Herald, “Ida Cornelia Rush”, January 21, 1980.

The Times-Picayune, “Richard”, August 19, 1953.