Buildings, Architects and Contractors






John T. Andrews (1860-1908) was born at Biloxi, Mississippi to George W. Andrews (1823-188) and Caroline G. Andrews (1838-1886).  He married expired at Biloxi on September 26, 1908.  His funeral was held from the residence of his brother, Dudley Andrews, at 930 Lameuse Street.  John was survived by his two brothers, George W. Andrews (1864-1909) and Dudley Andrews (1866-1939).  His corporal remains were laid to rest in the Biloxi Cemetery.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, September 26, 1908, p. 4)




Lazaro Lopez and his family were congregants of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary Roman Catholic Church, which was situated a few blocks west of their domicile on West Howard Avenue between Fayard Street and Caillavet Street.  The Lopez children were baptized here and several were married in this sanctuary.  Like most of the Lopez structures, Nativity B.V.M. was destroyed by the Great Fire of November 1900.  Laz Lopez, W.K.M. Dukate, Ernest Desporte, Phil McCabe, Ed Glennan, and Louis Gill were the building committee responsible for erecting a new church.  A contract was let in early February 1902 to J.F. Barnes & Company of Greenville, Mississippi and Biloxi to build the Theo Brune (1854-1932) designed Gothic structure.  The new church was erected on the site of the former sanctuary and was estimated to cost over $16,000.  It was sixty-feet tall, had a bell tower one hundred ten-feet in height and was fifty-five in width and one hundred thirty-two feet deep.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, February 8, 1902, p. 9)



WALTER T.  BOLTON [1946-2020]

Walter "Buzzy" Thetford Bolton (1946-2020) was born 24 November 1946, at Biloxi, Mississippi.  He attended Biloxi Public Schools and has university degrees from USM (BA), Georgia Institute of Technology (BS), and a Masters Degree in Architecture from Georgia Tech (1977).  Prior to his entree into the architectural field, young Bolton taught history and mathematics at Biloxi High School.


Buzzy Bolton has been active as an architect at Ocean Springs for many years.  His work is most visible in the following structures: Ocean Springs City Hall remodeling (1989), Chamber of Commerce renovation, Gulf Coast Research Lab main campus dining hall (1995), and the Ocean Springs Public Library remodeling (1996).  Bolton is now engaged in designing modern structures for the Gulf Coast Research Lab's Cedar Point campus in east Ocean Springs.


In December 1999, Bolton and his wife, Laura Ederer Bolton, completed a significant home for their family in Cherokee Glen.  He has designed several other notable residences on the Fort Point Peninsula.


Obituary for Walter Thetford "Buzzy" Bolton IV

Walter Thetford “Buzzy” Bolton IV of Ocean Springs, MS passed away peacefully Tuesday, September 22 at the age of 73 at home surrounded by his family. 

Buzzy was born in Biloxi, MS on November 24, 1946 to the late Dr. and Mrs. Eldon L. Bolton, Sr. 

In addition to his parents, he was preceded in death by his two older brothers Eldon Bolton, Jr. and Clinton Bolton and his father-in-law and mother-in-law Bob and Maryann Ederer. 

Buzzy is survived by his wife of 39 years, Laura Ederer Bolton; their children, Dr. Michelle Bolton Gilich (Andy), Robyn Bolton Hudson (Brent) and Ryan Bolton (Lindsey); his two grandchildren, Ansley and Andrew Gilich; his sister, Carolyn Bolton Cox; his in-laws, Priscilla Bolton, Katherine Grumme, Dr. Michael Ederer (Michelle), Mark Ederer (Helene), Elizabeth Heinkel (Larry) and Mary Ann Payne (Randy); and numerous nieces and nephews; and lifelong friends. 

Buzzy, as all who knew him well and affectionately called him, was the youngest of the four children of Dr. Eldon and Carolyn Bolton. He grew up in his family home just West of the lighthouse on Biloxi Beach. He was a Biloxi boy through and through and loved his hometown on the Mississippi Gulf Coast. 

Buzzy graduated from Biloxi High School in 1965, he attended the University of Mississippi and in 1969, he graduated from the University of Southern Mississippi. He spent several years teaching at his alma mater, Biloxi High, before going on to Architectural School at Georgia Institute of Technology and in 1977 received his Master of Architecture from Georgia Tech. 

Buzzy started his architectural career in New Orleans where he worked for Muller and Associates. There he met and married his wife and best friend, Laura Ederer Bolton, and in 1981 the two decided to move back to their beloved Mississippi Gulf Coast. Buzzy and Laura made their home in Ocean Springs where they raised their 3 children, and Buzzy started his own architectural firm, Walter T. Bolton Associates, in Biloxi where he worked until his death. 

Buzzy received national design awards from the United States Air Force and several local design and historic preservation awards. He was a past president of the Gulf Coast Chapter of the Mississippi American Institute of Architects, past president of the Coast Architects Association, and past board member of the Mississippi Chapter of American Institute of Architects. He enjoyed 40+ years as an architect on the Gulf Coast and served on many boards to help build back after Hurricane Katrina. For many years, he served on the Ocean Springs Historical Commission and Planning Commission, and he and his wife, Laura, bought and renovated numerous Historical homes in the Biloxi and Ocean Springs areas throughout the years. Buzzy was a lifetime member of the Biloxi Yacht Club and served on the board for many years and as the BYC commodore in 1988 and 1989. Buzzy was honored to have designed the current Biloxi Yacht Club along with many other Gulf Coast landmarks. 

Buzzy enjoyed every moment of Carnival Season and was a member and past king of both Revelers and Mithras and past king of Les Masquees Carnival Associations. He was also a founding member of the Krewe of Neptune and a longtime member of GCCA. His love for Mardi Gras and the parades was well know, and he and his wife often hosted many guests to view the Biloxi parades from his downtown office. He had a great love for his Biloxi High CLASS OF 65 and looked forward every year to their mini reunions. 

Boating and the outdoors were among his favorite pastimes. He spent many hours with friends and family out at Horn Island enjoying the sun and fun. He enjoyed anything Ole Miss, Georgia Tech, and New Orleans Saints, and many football weekends he could be found in the Grove cheering on his Ole Miss Rebels. 

Buzzy recently wrote what he wanted his children to remember of him, “I made mistakes. I am not perfect. I won’t always give you your way. But I love you with everything I have. I worked hard
my entire life to be able to provide you the best life possible and I will always love you.” – Dad 

The family would like to express our gratitude to his ever faithful office staff, his secretary, Debbie Ivy, and associate, Robert Stansbery, who have worked and kept him organized for many years, Drs. Pam and Raj Tuli, friends, family, and physicians who provided care for Buzzy throughout his illness, and the nurses and staff of Encompass, who helped him during his final days. 
In lieu of flowers, please make donations to The Ansley Foundation, a foundation to benefit childhood cancer families and research set up by Buzzy’s granddaughter, Ansley, who is currently fighting childhood leukemia. 
Visitation will be held from 2:00 pm to 4:00 pm at the Ocean Springs Chapel of Bradford-O’Keefe Funeral Home followed by a celebration of life at 4:00 pm all on Friday, September 25, 2020. Covid-19 protocol will be followed, and Masks will be required.





Theodore ‘Theo’ Brune (1854-1932) was born in Hanover, Germany and immigrated to the United States in 1886.  He studied at Eberhard Karls University at Tuebingen, Germany.  Theo Brune became a designer of many churches in the Gulf Coast region.  At Biloxi, he is known for creating the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mother Catholic Church on West Howard Avenue.  It was built after the original sanctuary was destroyed by the Great Biloxi Fire of November 1900.  Laz Lopez, W.K.M. Dukate, Ernest Desporte, Phil McCabe, Ed Glennan, and Louis Gill were the building committee responsible for erecting the new church.  A contract was let in early February 1902 to J.F. Barnes & Company of Greenville, Mississippi and Biloxi to build the Theo Brune (1854-1932) designed Gothic structure.  The new church was erected on the site of the former sanctuary and was estimated to cost over $16,000.  It was sixty-feet tall, had a bell tower one hundred ten-feet in height and was fifty-five in width and one hundred thirty-two feet deep.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, February 8, 1902, p. 9)


In early 1906,stain glass windows were donated to Nativity B.V.M. by Julia Dulion Lopez (1857-1918) in memory of her late husband.  Frederick Thornley of New York was employed to install the windows designed and built by Reis and Reis of Munich, Germany.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 9, 1906, p. 1)


Other known churches designed by Theo Brune are: 1908-St. Joseph’s rectory and convent at Bay St. Louis, Mississippi; 1909-Mater Dolorosa Church 8126 Plum Street at NOLA; 1911-St. Michael’s Church at Crowley, Louisiana; Catholic Church at Abita Springs, Louisiana; Catholic Church and convent at Madisonville, Louisiana, and 1931-St. Joseph’s Abbey Church, Benedict, Louisiana.(The Daily Picayune, February 9, 1908, p. 32, August 10, 1908, p. 12, March 7, 1909, p. 6, and April 16, 1911)


Theo Brune died at 1303 3rd Street in the Crescent City on March 8, 1932.  His body was taken to St. Joseph’s Abbey four miles north of Covington, Louisiana for burial in the cemetery there.(The Times-Picayune, March 9, 1932, p. 3)


JOHN T. COLLINS SR. (1852-1929)

John T. Collins (1852-1929), the son of John Collins and Mary Cullum, was a native Biloxian and a pioneer building contractor.  He married  Frances Margaret Carr (1861-1945) and they were the parents of   children: William J. Collins (1887-19) m. Mary Augustine O'Donnell (1893-1952); Sarah Collins (1890) m. Harry Roberts; George J. Collins (1891-1968) m. Irene Marion (1897-1943); Susan Collins (1894); Ruth Collins (1900-1977) m. Frederick Luenberger; Kathryn Ellen Collins (1895-1973) m. Paul E. Burns (1896-1970); Anna May Collins (1901-1990) m. Edward A. Caillavet (1898-1963); and John T. Collins Jr. (1904-1985) m. Martha Thrash of Hattiesburg and Gertrude Keyes.   




The Daily Herald,“John Collins, Sr. died last night”, January 4, 1929.

The Daily Herald“Mrs. George Collins Sr. dies at home today”, December 22, 1943.

The Daily Herald“Mrs. John Collins funeral tomorrow”, May 7, 1945.

The Daily Herald“Mrs. William Collins dies following heart attack six weeks ago”, October 4, 1952.

The Daily Herald“”, .






In March, the Collins Brothers were completing the William P. Kennedy home, a two-story stucco structure on Benachi and erecting a home for Walter Seymour, a painter, on Lee Street.(The Daily Herald, March 18, 1927, p. 8)
On May 11, 1927, the Collins Brothers were awarded the $285,000 contract for building the four-story, 118-room, New Biloxi Hotel.  It was designed by Ira H. Coyne (1892-1976) of the Federal Engineering Company of Davenport, Iowa.  William J. Collins (1886-1962) and George J. Collins (1891-1968) had built their first Biloxi building in 1912.  Since that time, they had erected commercial structures for: Catholic Church at Gulfport; Back Bay School [Gorenflo]; Edwards-Butler Motor Company; Daily Herald Building; Caldwell Building; Yerger Building; C.W. Wachenfeld Apartments; August Wachenfeld Apartments; Bay View Hotel; and remodeled the Peoples’ Bank.  The Collins Brothers had learned the building trades from John Collins (1854-1929), their father.  Joseph O. Collins (b. 1922), son of William J. Collins, continued in the contracting business at Biloxi until the present day.(The Daily Herald, May 11, 1927, p. 1)
[from The Daily Herald, May 1929]
 In March, The Collins BrothersWilliam D. Collins (1891-1979) and James E. Collins (1888-1974), acquired a lot on Caillavet Street for $10,000 situated between Howard Avenue and the L&N RR.  Here they built a two-story, frame building [40 feet by 70 feet] with rock-face, brick siding.  The structure served as a garage and office.  Here the Collins Brothers sold the Hupmobile and repaired and serviced motor cars.  The Collins blacksmith shop, located on West Howard and Caillavet continued to perform general mechanical repairs, shoe horses as well as build oyster dredges and oyster cars. (The Daily Herald, March 18, 1927, p. 8 and September 2, 1929, p. 2) 


In Late May, the Collins Brothers were completing the New Biloxi Hospital, a Carl Matthes design.(The Daily Herald, May 17, 1929, p. 1)


The new Daily Herald building at 209 West Water Street was almost completed.  Collins & Collins, architects, and Collins Brothers Contracting erected the 37-foot by 50-foot structure.(The Daily Herald, January 7, 1948, p. 1)


The Daily Herald“”, .

The Daily Herald“”, .
The Daily Herald“Erecting new bungalow [for H.C. Anderson on Lee Street]”, December 8, 1916.

The Daily Herald“”, March 18, 1927.

The Daily Herald“Biloxi Hospital to be occupied next week”, May 17, 1929. .

The Daily Herald“Biloxi Building Directory”, September 2, 1929.

The Daily Herald“Start new residence [for Zeno Maloney on W. 1st Street”, December 12, 1950.


JOHN T. COLLINS (1904-1985)

John T. Collins Jr. was born at Biloxi, Mississippi on February 17, 1904 to John T. Collins Sr. (1852-1929) and Frances Margaret Carr (1861-1945).  His father was a noted Biloxi building contractor and established the firm which became Collins Brothers Contractors of Biloxi.  John T. Collins was a 1923 graduate of Biloxi High School where he played footbal and baseball.  He studied architecture at Tulane University in NOLA and during WW II, John served in the ETO with the US Navy Seabees.


John T. Collins married in 1942 to Martha Thrash of Hattiesburg, Mississippi and in 1962 to Gertrude Keyes.  


Buildings attributed to John T. Collins: A new arkansas-tile, U-shaped building [173 feet by 92 feet] designed by John T. Collins and Associates of Biloxi, was contracted to Currie and Corley of Raleigh, Mississippi for the  St. Martin School in Jackson County. The $64,000 stucture was erected to supplement the exisiting building.(The Daily Herald, November 27, 1951, p. 3)


Biloxi Municipal 'Yankee' Stadium; A.L. May Stadium at MGCCC-Perkinston Campus; Beauvoir Elementary School (1958); Popp's Ferry Elementary School; Orange Grove Elementary School; 



The Daily Herald“$500,000 School construction to start at Biloxi”, October 8, 1958.

The Daily Herald,“John Collins is recipient 1960 Lions Cup award”, January 2, 1961.

The Sun Herald, "John Collins dead at 81", November 1, 1985.



Leonard A. Collins was the son of William J. Collins and lived at 201 Hopkins Boulevard in Biloxi. 



Leonard A. Collins matriculated to Spring Hill College at Mobile, Alabama and was a cadet in the school's first ROTC program which specialized in transportation.(The Daily Herald, December 12, 1950, p. 6)




The Daily Herald, "Collins ROTC student", December 12, 1950.

John Eistetter (1856-1904), a native of New Orleans, was born March 5, 1856.  He married at New Orleans to Wilhemina Schumaker (1851-1929), the widow of Mr. Henken and the daughter of William Schumaker and Christina Breslow, on September 27, 1880.  They were the parents of three children: John F. Eistetter (1881-1953); Mayme W. Eistetter (1882-1942); and Rose Juanita Eistetter (1890-1890).


John Eistetter made his livelihood as a brick mason and building contractor.  He built the foundations for many Howard Avenue buildings and Biloxi homes from 1880 until his demise in mid- March 1904.   John was a member of Magnolia Lodge No. 120 A.F. & A.M., Knights of Honor, and Knights of Pythias.  His funeral was held from the Eistetter home on Howard Avenue with Reverend J.S. Moore in attendance.  Burial was in the Biloxi City Cemetery.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, March 14, 1904, p. 1)



John Frank Eistetter(1881-1953) was born at Biloxi, Mississippi on June 6, 1881.  In late October 1920, he married Mary Chinn (1891-1958), the daughter of James B. ‘Buck’ Chinn (1857-1912) and Martha Ella Hart (1857-1938).  In 1917 Biloxi Mardi Gras, Mary Chinn was Queen Ixolib with King Iberville George Quint (1886-1967). R. Hart Chinn (1888-1972), her brother, was elected Biloxi’s Mayor in August 1933 after the resignation of Mayor Kennedy in July 1933.(The Daily Herald, July 31, 1933, p. 1 and August 17, 1933, p. 1)


John F. Eistetter and Mary Chinn were the parents of two children: Martha Wilhelmina Eistetter (1921-2004) m. W.T. Edwards and John Chinn Eistetter (1929-1996) m. Mary Brown (1929-1988).  Martha W. Eistetter expired at Laramie, Wyoming on April 30, 2004.  John Chinn Esitetter died at Biloxi, Mississippi on February 26, 1996.  John C. and Mary Brown Eistetter had a son, John David Eistetter (c. 1952) m. Melann Marie Cox and Elizabeth Cobb Cuthell.


Mayme Wilhelmina Eistetter(1882-1942) was born at Biloxi, Mississippi on December 28, 1882.  Expired at Biloxi on July 31, 1942.       


Juanita Eistetter (1890-1890) was born at Biloxi, Mississippi on March 1, 1890.  She died at Biloxi on May 24, 1890.  Her corporal remains were interred in the Biloxi City Cemetery.(The Biloxi Herald, May 31, 1890, p. 4)



The Eistetter building was erected in 1896 on the corner of West Howard Avenue and Magnolia Street.  It was dedicated on October 17, 1896 and a Grand Ball was held by the Mississippi Hook and Ladder Compnay No. 1 as part of the celebration.(The Biloxi Herald, September 12, 1896, p. 8)



Charles L. Dyer, Along The Gulf, (Women of the Trinity Episcopal Church:  Pass Christian, Mississippi-1971, originally published 1895).

Jerome Lepre, Catholic Church Records Diocese of Biloxi, Mississippi, Volume I, (Catholic Dioceses of Biloxi: Biloxi, Mississippi-1991).

Twentieth Century Coast Edition of the Biloxi Daily Herald: Historical and Biographical (George W. Wilkes & Sons: Biloxi-1902).

Harrison County, Mississippi Chancery Court Cause No. 11438, ‘The Estate of Wilhelmina Eistetter’, January 1930.



The Biloxi Herald,“Local Happenings”, May 31, 1890.

The Biloxi Herald,“Latest City News”, September 12, 1896.

The Biloxi Daily Herald,“Necrological-John Eistetter”, April 14, 1904.

The Daily Herald,“Eistetter-Chinn”, October 23. 1920.

The Daily Herald,“”, September 30, 1921.

The Daily Herald, “Staehling is out of race”, July 31, 1933.

The Daily Herald, “Chinn wins Mayors office as Carroll and Hunt withdraw”, August 17, 1933.

The Daily Herald, “Miss Eistetter dies”, July 3, 1942.

The Daily Herald, “Eistetter death”,

The Daily Herald,“John F. Eistetter”, November 28, 1953.

The Daily Herald,“Mrs. Mary Eistetter”, May 5, 1958.

The Sun Herald, “John C. Eistetter”, February   1996.




Henry Francis Fountain Jr. (1924-2011), called Buddy, was born at Biloxi, Mississippi on November 26, 1924 to Henry F. Fountain(1899-) and Lucretia Ann Edmee Thensted (1901-1930+).  Buddy was reared on Keller Avenue and was descended from a line of Biloxi boat builders, as his grandfather, Martin Fountain (1856-1938) and Henry F. Fountain (1899-1930+), his father, were considered as among Biloxi's finest crafsmen.  Buddy was a US Navy WWII veteran, and a 1951 graduate of LSU acquiring a B.S. degree in Architectural Engineering.  He married Gloria Swetman in June 1950 and  began his career as a professional architect in 1955.  Mr. Fountain and his firm were responsible for many public buildings in Biloxi and Ocean Springs.  At Biloxi, his design work included the following structures: Mississippi Coast Coliseum; Our Lady of Fatima Catholic Church; the 1961 BHS; the Biloxi Public Safety Complex; and many more.  At Ocean Springs, some of his designs include: St. John's Catholic Church (1959); Pecan Park School (1967); Ocean Springs Hospital (1968); Magnolia Park School (1969); OS Hospital additions and alterations (1977); OS High School Fine Arts Building; OS Hospital outpatient services addition (1989); OS Hospital emergency room and ICU (1995); and the OS Hospital third floor addition (1998).(The Sun Herald, June 7, 2011, p. A4 and Harrison Co., Mississippi Circuit Court MRB 82, p. 142)


Buddy and Gloria Swetman Fountain reared nine children at Ocean Springs.  Their home, The Fountain-Guice home, on Iola Road was completed in 1969, and won a design award from the Southern Pine Association.  Mr. Fountain had the distinction of being the most experienced architect on the Mississippi Gulf Coast.  He passed on June 5, 2011.(The Sun Herald, June 7, 2011, p. A4)



The Sun Herald, "H.F. 'Buddy' Fountain", June 7, 2011.

The Sun Herald, "Architect left his stamp on the Coast", June 7, 2011.




I. Daniel Gehr  (1895-1959) was born at Alexandria, Louisiana on July 19, 1895 to Gustave Gehr (1858-1900+), a German immigrant grocer, and Sarah Weil (1868-1900+) or Sarah Rosenthal.  I. Daniel Gehr was a contractor at Alexandria in 1917 and arrived at Biloxi, Mississippi before 1930. He was a graduate of Tulane University.  In 1930, Mr. Gehr resided on West Water Street as a tenant of Mrs. Cousins and remained single.  In 1954, he was domiciled in the Earle Hotel [Avelez] and had an office in the old People's Bank Building.(1900 Rapides Parish, Louisiana Federal Census T623_577, p. 16B, ED 124 and 1930 Harrison Co., Mississippi Federal Census R1146, p. 12B, ED 3)


At Biloxi in the 1940s, I. Daniel Gehr designed homes in Bay Terrace and planned the Biloxi Cash Store of Peter Cerinich (1894-1951)  and Alena Sekul Cerinich (1908-2002) on West Howard Avenue and Seal Avenue.  He also supervised the 1941 construction of the Westergard Boat Yard on Back Bay at Lee Street.  Gehr was credited with planning the 1959 Negro High School (Nicholls?); the West End Elementary School and its 1959 addition; and a four classroom addition to the Perkins Negro School in 1958.  John T. Collins (1904-1985), Biloxi architect, took over Mr. Gehr's school projects after his July 1959 demise.(The Daily Herald, April 27, 1940, p. 3, April 29, 1940, p. 2, September 20, 1941, p. 3, Ocotber 8, 1958, p. 1, and July 22, 1959, p. 2)


I. Daniel Gehr expired at Biloxi, Mississippi on July 22, 1959.  His corporal remains were interred in the Jewish Cemetery at Pineville, Rapides Parish, Louisiana.  he was survivied by two sisters, Mrs. Eugene Levy and Mrs. Harry Simon, and Mires Gehr, a brother.  All lived in Alexandria, Louisiana.(The Daily Herald, July 22, 1959, p. 2)



 Odeus Meyers (1884-1968) and Calus C. Meyers (1909-1999), store owners on Division Street who came to Biloxi in 1929 from Erath, Louisiana, announced in February that they would build the Myers Theatre on the southeast corner of Lameuse Street and Division.  The theatre would have 600-seats, cost $11,000 and Jack Fayard of Biloxi was their architect.  The new theatre opened on May 17th.(The Daily Herald, February 10, 1940, p. 1, February 16, 1940, p. 1, April 26, 1940, p. 2, and May 17, 1940, p. 2)





John Rankin Harkness (1827-1903)



William Turner Harkness (1869-1941) died at Oconomowoc, Wisconsin on June 3, 1941.






[from The Biloxi Daily Herald, June 17, 1905, p. 5]




Eric Johanson (1899-1936)


New East Wing-Riviera Hotel

The East Wing of the Riviera Hotel was torn down in September 1922 under the supervision of Eric Johansen, contractor. By mid-September, the roof and a part of the second story had been removed with various frames to be saved. The building has stood for years and the old lumber is well preserved and as good as new lumber. A three-story, modern hotel building will be completed in time for the winter season.(The Daily Herald, September 23, 1922, p. 4)



Louis Henry Manuel (1870-1946) was born at New Orleans on July 13, 1870 to Louis George Manuel (1848-1903) and Mary Theodora Desporte (1848-1903).  His family relocated to Jackson County, Mississippi in May 1871, crossing the railroad bridge to Ocean Springs on the first passenger train to make this trip from New Orleans.  Louis G. Manuel taught school and was elected to represent the citizens of West Jackson County on the Jackson County, Mississippi Board of Supervisors 1892-1896 and the State House of Representatives from 1896-1898.  In 1898, L.G. Manuel operated a small US postal station, called "Manuel", which was probably located in the Bayou Porteaux area on the Biloxi-Ocean Springs Road, now called Le Moyne Boulevard.  (Cain, Volume II, 1983, p. 10 and p. 14 and The Daily Herald, February 3, 1941, p. 3)


Louis H. Manuel married Coralie Suarez (1872-1952) in February 1891 in Jackson County, Mississippi.  The Manuel family remained in the Bayou Porto-Gulf Hills area of west Jackson County, Mississippi where Louis H. Manuel was an oysterman, until they moved to Biloxi across Biloxi Bay between 1900 and 1910.  In Biloxi, the Manuel family settled at 909 Holley Street where Louis and Coralie reared a large family: Louis J. Manuel (1891-1977) m. Ernestine M. Tiblier (1896-1980); Antoinette C. Manuel (1894-1983) m. Leo H. Fountain (1891-1967); Henry S. Manuel (1896) m. Ruby I. Byrd (1898-1917) and Alene Eleuterius (1900-1970); Agnes M. Manuel (1898-1992) m. Laurence Trochesset (1888-1974); Sidney E. Manuel (1901-1920+) m. Bernice Eleuterius and Frances E. Capuano (1905-1972); Lillian F. Manuel (1903-1982) m. Kenneth E. Snyder (1906-1980); Noreta Manuel (1906-1985) m. Joseph C. Wink (1909-1988); Edna E. Manuel (1908-19800 m. Albert L. Henley (1905-1993); and Leo E. Manuel (1912-1976) m. Irene Turan (1913-1973).


During WWI, Louis H. Manuel worked as a foreman in the shipyards at Pascagoula and Moss Point. He is credited with erecting more than 200 homes at Biloxi.  Some of his buildings were: Kimbrough & Quints; Coquet's Furniture and five adjoining stores; Public Library; Biloxi Bakery; French Restaurant; Handleman's Building; Guarantee Shoe Store; and Biloxi High School Gym.(The Daily Herald, February 3, 1941, p. 3) 



Ralph Marion (1907-1984) was born December 15, 1907.  He married Ophelia Sperivich (1906-1981) on November 21, 1926.  In 1930, Ralph and Ophelia Marion lived on Washington Street at Biloxi.  He was employed by a paving company as a brick mason.  Ralph died at Biloxi, Mississippi in December 1984.  Ophelia preceded him in death expiring in June 1981.  Their corporal remains were interred in the Biloxi Cemetery [perpetual care section].(The Daily Herald, December 19, 1907, p. 2 and November 24, 1926, p. 1 and Harrison Co., Mississippi MRB 38, p. 535)




During World War I, Beula L. Dukate (1900-1983) was introduced to Carl Emil Matthes (1896-1972), a native of Chicago, who was born in the Windy City on July 28, 1896.  Carl enlisted in the Navy in June 1917 and served until May 1919, with his last duty post at the Gulfport Naval Station.  Beula and Carl E. Matthes were married in Harrison County, Mississippi on August 15, 1919.  Their nuptial ceremony was held in Gulfport, Mississippi at the residence of the Reverend Spengler.(The Daily Herald, August 16, 1919, p. 2 and Harrison Co., Mississippi Circuit Court MRB31, p. 238)

Carl and Beula Dukate Matthes were the parents of three children:  Jane Dukate Matthes (1920-2010) m. Joseph Edward Owen (1915-2001) in November 1946; Carl E. Matthes Jr. (1927-1964) m. Bernice Wadlington (1927-2006) in December 1949; and Lienhard ‘Lynn’ Matthes (1929-2006) m. Samuel M. Browder in August 1950.

Following his marriage to Miss Dukate, Carl E. Matthes relocated to Chicago and returned to Biloxi in 1920 where he worked with various associates until 1937, when he joined with Juan G. Landry (1892-1966) and they opened an office at Hattiesburg, Mississippi. In 1960, Carl Matthes Jr. joined the firm and Carl Matthes Sr. retired in December 1966.(The Daily Herald, August 29, 1972, p. 2)


Matthes buildings

In October 1922, Carl E. Matthes was situated in the office of Beale & Yerger, but planned a move to the Gay Building, as J. Dulaney of Jackson had joined him as an associate.  Among the contracts that Matthes was working at this time was that of his appointment as landscape gardener of the Methodist Seashore Campground. His duties here were to design and maintain the floral pulchritude of the grounds.  In addition, Matthes was charged with the location and design of a $50,000 brick school and $50,000 brick dormitory for the site.  The remodeling of the façade and entrance to the Biloxi City Hall when it was on Main Street was also on the books. (The Daily Herald, October 6, 1922, p. 1 and November 23, 1922, p. 3)

In 1926, Matthes designed the Quint Building which was situated of the NE/C of Lameuse Street and Howard Avenue.(The Daily Herald,   1926, p. 1)

During his lifetime, Carl E. Matthes was an active Coast architect.  Among his many structures were: Bush Grocery Company warehouse, Kimbroough & Quint's Drug Store building, Avelez Hotel, Hotel Buena Vista, Tivoli Hotel [Trade Winds], Biloxi City Hospital, Gorenflo and Lopez elementary schools, Biloxi Public Library, First Methodist Church of Biloxi on Hopkins Boulevard, Mary L. Michel School, and the Biloxi High School.  In addition, Carl worked on many smaller projects such as the Isle of Caprice, the 1922 front entrance remodeling of the City Hall when it was on Main Street, and many others.( The Daily Herald, August 29, 1972, p. 2)


Carl Emil Matthes, age 76 years, died at 9:30 p.m. on Monday, August 28, 1972 at Howard Memorial Hospital in Biloxi, Mississippi.  He had designed the hospital in which he expired.  Carl had been admitted following a stroke at his home and he passed on shortly thereafter.(The Daily Herald, August 29, 1972, p. 2)



The Daily Herald, "Mr. W.K.M. Dukate", March 29, 1916.
The Daily Herald, "Business house asked to close during funeral [of W.K.M. Dukate]", March 30, 1916.
The Daily Herald, "Biloxi Society and Personals", October 12, 1916.
The Daily Herald, "Matthes-Dukate", August 16, 1919.
The Daily Herald, "Committee holds important meet", October 6, 1922.
The Daily Herald, "Has removed office", November 23, 1922.

The Daily Herald, "Quint's has fine opening", April 9, 1926.

The Daily Herald, 'Methodists adopt plans for building at Biloxi', March 1, 1948, p. 2

The Daily Herald, "Matthes-Wadlington", December 22,1949.

The Daily Herald, "Carl Matthes Jr.", August 22, 1964.

The Daily Herald, "Carl Matthes is hurt in accident", April 10, 1952

The Daily Herald, 'Carl Matthes, Biloxi architect, taken by death', August 29, 1972.

The Sun Herald, "Jane Dukate Matthes Owen", August 19, 2012.

The Times-Picayune, "[Linda Rose] Dukate", October 9, 1939.






Charles H. Owen (1871-1954) was born September 18, 1871 in Holmes County, Mississippi.  He was a contractor and builder at Biloxi and was known for his attention to detail in every aspect of his work.  At Biloxi, Mr. Owens with Mr. Joseph F. Barnes erected the two-story, Laz Lopez domicile on the north side of West Howard Avenue between Reynoir Street and Croesus.  The Lopez mansion was designed and its construction supervised by Theo Brune (1854-1932), well-known New Orleans architect, and built by Barnes & Owens from Bedford Sandstone.  The roof was slate and adorned with a graceful and ornamental tower.  The house had fifteen rooms, an elegant reception and palatial reception and stair hall lighted by rich and rare art glass windows.(The Biloxi Herald, May 5, 1901, p. 1)



Hugh H. Roof (1878-1969) was born to William S. Roof and Irene Roof at Franklin, Ohio on September 4, 1878.  He married Edna Klare ? (ca 1880-1940+), a native of Maryland.  Their children were: Jane Roof (1906-1940+) and William Roof (b. 1907).

The Roof family came to Biloxi circa 1906 from Ohio.  Their only son, William, was born at Biloxi on    .

Mr. Roof designed the Pizzatti Pavilion which was erected by the Collins Brothers in 1913.

from The Daily Herald, July 27, 1926, p. 2.

During WW I, H.H. Roof was a manager at the International Shipbuilding yard at Pascagoula, Mississippi.


The Roof family left Biloxi circa 1926 for Miami, Florida.  Here he opened a cabinet-woodworking shop and became a cabinetmaker.


The Daily Herald, "Plans for new home [Dr. H.M. Folkes]", September 19, 1919.

The Daily Herald, "Erecting [Dr. H.M. Folkes] West Beach Home", May 18, 1921.

The Daily Herald, "White House Fountain', July 27, 1926, p. 2.
The Daily Herald, "Biloxi and its attractions", March 12, 1928, p. 11.

The Daily Herald, "News of former residents', August 2, 1930.







Thomas Jefferson Rosell (1861-1923) was born on April 28, 1861, at Monroe County, Missouri.  Married Kizzie Catron.

Expired at Biloxi on November 19, 1923.


T.J. Rossell Manufacturing


1903-new residence

Nearly complete was the T.J. Rosell “pretty” cottage on Howard Avenue.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, April 27, 1903)


1905 building boom

The year 1905 at Biloxi was one of rebuilding and growth.  Mr. Rosell’s company was a major player having erected since May 1905, the following: four residences for W.K.M. Dukate; a residential buildings for Daniel J. Gay and Charles Elarbee; a cottage for W.F. Swan; a cottage for Dr. Hiram M. Folkes; a residence for Mary Hunt; a $3000 residence for J.E. Swetman; a residence for E.L. Doyle; a $3500 residence for W.A. White; and a residence for T.J. Rosell.  By late November 1905, the T.J. Rossell Manufacturing Company was progressing with the following developments at Biloxi: three buildings for W.A. White; one building for W.K.M. Dukate; a building for Dulion & Rosell and Tony Benachi.  In the planning stage were five cottages for William Watson on the Parson Property in the Avondale section.  In addition, Rosell’s crews were busy at the Rigolets erecting a Catholic Church, which cost $1500, for the workers of the Lopez & Dukate cannery.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 20, 1905, p. 1)

1908 election

Held on July 7, 1908.  T.J. Rosell defeated J.W. Swetman, former Mayor, in an extremely close race.

1909-Commission form of government



The Biloxi Daily Herald, Business and Professional Men, (The Biloxi Daily Herald: Biloxi, Mississippi-1902), p. 55.

Charles L. Dyer, Along The Gulf, (Women of the Trinity Episcopal Church:  Pass Christian-1971.  Originally published 1895).

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “”, , p. .

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “City News”, April 27, 1903.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Biloxi’s building boom”, November 20, 1905, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “Recount asked for vote on Mayor”, July 8, 1908, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “To vote on commission form of government”, June 4, 1909, p. 1.

The Daily Herald, “John J. Curtis is Biloxi's City Attorney”, January 19, 1910, p. 1.


James P. Starks

James P. Starks was the son of In February 1886, Samuel P.  Starks and Isabelle Latimer (1863-1936), the daughter of Edwin Latimer and Mary Krohn.  His siblings were: Margaret Starks (1886-1937+) m. (J.Y.) Morgan; Catherine Starks (1888-1940) m. Peter E. Quave Jr. (1888-1940); Theresa Starks (1890-1968); Elisabeth Starks (1892-1896), William Starks (1894-1894); Mary Camilia Starks (1895-1900+); James P. Starks (1898-1987) m. Aimee Faurie (1895-1974); Cyril A. Starks (1900-1903; Edwin G. Starks (1902-1937+); Lillian Starks (1905-1937+); and Samuel Starks (1906-1993).


Samuel P. Starks made his livelihood as a butcher.  His residence and meat market were situated on the east side of Washington Avenue between County Road, now Government Street, and Bowen Avenue, in Lot 25 and the S/2 of Lot 26 of the Clay Strip.  The Salvetti Brothers’ Restaurant is situated here today.  Samuel P. Starks acquired this valuable commercial site from the widow, Julia Egan (1833-1907) and her three sons, in August 1882, for $125. (JXCO, Ms. Land Deed Bk. 33, pp. 226-227) 


Marshal Starks

In December 1904, Samuel P. Starks was Marshal elect of Ocean Springs.  He defeated Casper Vahle (1867-1922) by twenty-five votes, 68 to 43.(Town of OS, Minute Bk. 2, pp. 301-302)  One complaint heard just prior to Marshal Starks taking office was the indiscriminate use of firearms within the perimeter of Ocean Springs, especially on the east side.(The Progress, October 1, 1904, p. 4)


Several months after Henry S. Taylor’s confrontation with local ruffians, in front of the Scranton State Bank on Washington Avenue, Marshal Samuel P. Starks tendered his resignation from public office on April 3, 1906.  The City leaders appointed Augustin Julius von Rosambeau (1849-1912) as Marshall on April 5, 1906.(Town of OS, Minute Bk. 2, pp. 396-397)


In February 1908, Mr. Starks sold his business and residence to Mignon C. Lundy (1877-1957), the spouse of F.J. Lundy (1863-1912), for $1000.(JXCO, Ms. Land Deed Bk. 33, pp. 227-228)  


James P. Starks Timeline




James P. Starks, contractor, is erecting a nurses recreation hall and a new Negro ward at the Biloxi Hospital.  In additon, he is building a new house for Neil Gryder on Forrest Avenue near Back Bay and a new home for himself on Santini Street.[The Daily herald, December 1, 1939, p. 8]








Christian Armand Thompson (1878-1959) was born at Biloxi, Mississippi to Mason Admus Thompson (1820-1885) and Euphrosine Nicaise (1839-1914).  He married Laura Clare Caillavet (1877-1954), the daughter of Francis Arbeau Caillavet (1856-1909) and Marie Dodart (1858-1942) at Biloxi, Mississippi on September 15, 1904.


Children: and Laura Clare Thompson (1922-2011) m. Creel.



The Biloxi Daily Herald, “”, , p. .

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “City News”, April 27, 1903.




Oloff Admon 'Ole' Thompson (1874-1944) was born September 15, 1874 at Bay St. Louis, Mississippi.  He married Marie Felicie Trochesett in Harrison County, Mississippi on March 30, 1921. 

Mr. Thompson built 10,000 square-ft., seafood canning factory at Neptune, Plaquemines Parish, Louisiana in February 1900 and a two-story, twelve-room dwelling for the Lopez-Dukate Company.(The Biloxi Daily Herlad, February 25, 1900, p. 8)


O.E. Thompson expired at Biloxi, Mississippi on December 24, 1944.



The Biloxi Daily Herald, “Local and Personal", October 4, 1899.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “City News", February 25, 1900.

The Daily Herald, “Ole E. Thompson buring this morning", December 26, 1944.




Edwin William Wetzel (1877-1953) was born at Biloxi, Mississippi on July 20, 1877 to William J. Wetzel (1850-1935) and Elizabeth Latimer (1853-1925).  In March 1901, he married Mary Antoinette Manuel Beney (1874-1950), the daughter of Louis G. Manuel (1848-1903) and Theodora Desporte (1848-1903).  She was the widow of  Alphonse Beney and the mother of Mary Alice Beney (1895-1984) m. Edward McDonald and John T. Graves and Theodora Lee Beney (1896-1953+) m. Orin Kelso (1888-1974).  Mary Antoinette Manuel had married Alphonse Beney at St. Alphonsus Catholic Church in December 1893.(Lepre, 1991, p. 23) 


The children of Edwin W. Wetzel and Mary A. Manuel were: William E. Wetzel (1902-1970) m. Mildred Betz (19-1975); Irma Wetzel (1904-1978); Milton J. Wetzel (1907-1994) m. Hyacinth Vivian Tew (1911-1979); Edwin Ross Wetzel (1910-1911); and Louis W. Wetzel (1911-1988) m. Helen Leinhardt (1912-1996) and Caroline Kulivan (1920-1988).


Edwin M. Wetzell was the brother-in-law of Louis Manuel. They joined forces and the business became Manuel & Wetzell.  Manuel & Wetzell built many residences and commercial buildings at Biloxi during their tenure as one of the cities premier contractors.  Edwin M Wetzell retired from contracting circa 1933.  He died on August 20, 1953 at 114 Washinton Street, his residence.  Mary Manuel Wetzel precede her spouse in death passing on February 7, 1950.  Their corporal remains were interred in the Biloxi City Cemetery.(The Daily Herald, August 21, 1953, p. 6)



Jerome Lepre, Catholic Church Records Diocese of Biloxi, Mississippi, Volume I, (Catholic Dioceses of Biloxi: Biloxi, Mississippi-1991).


The Biloxi Daily Herald, “City News”, March 9, 1901.

The Biloxi Daily Herald, “City News”, September 29, 1908.

The Daily Herald, “Edwin Ross Wetzel”, August 14, 1911.

The Daily Herald, “Manuel and Wetzel build gymnsium”, January 17, 1929.

The Daily Herald, “Edwin W. Wetzel”, August 21, 1953.

The Times-Picayune, “Deaths”, June 11, 1970.

The Times-Picayune, “Deaths”, November 15, 1975.

The Times-Picayune, “Deaths”, February 26, 1984.

The Times-Picayune, “Deaths”, March 11, 1988.

The Times-Picayune, “Deaths”, April 27, 1988.



The American Hotel was in operation by Edward Milford of Mobile at Biloxi near Elmore's Wharf (probably Jacob Elmer's).  It was two-story edifice with a dining hall, superior cook, and good wines.(The Daily Picayune, June 9, 1843, p. 1)



The Batchelor's Hall, a tourist residence, J.B. Currie, proprietor, had a ten-pin alley attached to the building.(The Daily Picayune, July 2, 1845, p. 4)



John W. Nixon (1782?-1849), Irish immigrant and veteran of the War of 1812, was operating the Biloxi House, a tourist home or inn, on East Beach west of Bellman Street.(The Daily Picayune, September 7, 1848, p. 1)



Madame Pradat's Live Oak Hotel was operating on Biloxi's East Beach road.(The Daily Picayune, May 31, 1849)



Biloxi was incorporated on February 18, 1850.



Batchelor's Hall, an inn, run by Sol Mills (b. 1818) was operating, at Biloxi.(The Daily Picayune, June 9, 1843, p. 1)



On October 29, 1870, the New Orleans, Mobile, & Chattanooga Railroad (Chartered 1866) completed the rail line between Mobile and New Orleans.  Rail service commenced on November 21, 1870.



The N.O.M. & C. was reorganized on April 18, 1871 and became the New Orleans, Mobile & Texas Railroad.



The New Orleans, Mobile & Texas Railroad was foreclosed upon in the U.S. Circuit Court [Henry J. Gardner and Peter B. Butler v. N.O.M. & T.] for default of payment of interest on its $4 million in indebtedness to its bondholders.  The road missed interest payments due in October 1872 and April 1873.  It was ordered sold at auction in six months.(The New York Times, April 15, 1873, p. 1)



An editorial in The Star of Pascagoula blasted the New Orleans, Mobile & Texas Railroad as "nothing more that or less than a gang of highway robbers, entitled to as little consideration from the people as so many bandits who rob and plunder the weak and defenseless in defiance of the law.  The only remedy for these wrongs is the sale of the road.  Refuse to patronize the road, even if undergo inconvenience in doing so."(The Star of Pascagoula, May 22, 1875, p. 2)


In June, D.B. Seal, District Attorney of Hancock County filed litigation against the New Orleans, Mobile, & Chattanooga Railroad (sic?).  The plaintiffs were asking that the railroad build a draw bridge across the Pearl River.  The present bridge was blocking the East Pearl River channel, which was needed for the lumber trade.(The Star of Pascagoula, June 12, 1875, p. 3)


In the summer of 1875, the Shady Grove Hotel was managed by Urbain Rambaut (1832-1889), a native of France.  The hostelry was in the process of renovation and refurbishment.  Professor Knapp, a local guide with a horse and buggy, was available for fishing in Back Bay or leading local history tours.(The Star of Pascagoula, June 26, 1875, p. 1.)



Jefferson Davis (1808-1889) acquired the orange orchard of Mrs. S.A. Dorsey at Beauvoir for $5000.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, February 28, 1879)



The L&N Railroad leased the property of the N.O.M. & T. Railroad on May 8, 1880. 


In May 1880, Theodore M. Scheffer (1849-1884), a Prussian immigrant, opened his establishment, the Scheffer House, for guests.  It had been placed in first class condition for the season.(1880 Harrison Co., Mississippi Federal Census T9_648, p. 9, ED 139 and The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, May 28, 1880, p. 3)



On October 5, 1881, the L&N Railroad purchased all the assets of the reorganized New Orleans, Mobile, & Texas Railroad for $6,000,000.  This acquisition included the Ponchartrain Railroad which ran seven mile from New Orleans to Milneburg on Lake Ponchartrain, and the one hundred forty-one miles of track, depots, the creosote plant at West Pascagoula (Gautier), stations, station houses, section houses, rolling stock, etc. between Mobile and New Orleans. (JXCO, Ms. Land Deed Bk. 5, p. 299) 



City of Biloxi organized its fire company on September 3rd at the Montross Hotel.  F.W. Elmer, pres.; Will C. Grant, v. pres.; P.J. Montross, treas.; Phil McCabe, foreman; Thomas P. Bachino, 1st assist.; and Frank Greveniing, 2nd assist.  Others involved: Leon Bertoli; Joe Tucei; John B. Bachino; N. Petrie; Albert Deck; Thomas McCabe; Daniel Bachino; J.M. Ritch; M.J. Grady; George H. Schrieber and N. Sullivan.(The Daily Picayune, September 6, 1883, p. 1)


Raymond Caillavet (1838-1898), Commissioner of Streets, started a work gang to open a road from Porter west to the city limits to connect with the Beach Road to Mississippi City.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, October 5, 1883, p. 3)



The Barataria Canning Company was founded.









 In February 1885, John Eistetter constructed what was described as“one of the most substantial, ornamental and durable improvement on the beach for years.”   This memorial structure was a breakwater in front of the residence of Mr. Frank T. Howard (1855-1911) on [East] Beach Boulevard.  Mr. Eistetter erected this feature in the form of a semi-circle.  It was two hundred feet in length, six and one-half feet tall and two feet above mean high tide.  This barricade required 48,000 bricks and 60 barrels of cement.(The Biloxi Herald, February 18, 1888, p. 5)


Raymond Caillavet (1838-1898), contractor, built a large storage house for the Biloxi Artesian Ice Manufacturing Company.(The Biloxi Herald, February 18, 1888, p. 8)


J.R. Harkness was bulding a new house for J.H. Keller.  W.P. Murray of New Oeleans lathed the new residence.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, February 25, 1888, p. 8)


The Biloxi Artesian Ice Manufacturing Company is now prepared to take ice orders from all along the Coast.(The Biloxi Herald, March 31, 1888, p. 8) 


The Gulf View Hotel was leased by P.J. Montross (1841-1897) of the Montross Hotel.(The Biloxi Herald, April 7, 1888, p. 8)


Hugh McCallum, watchmaker and jeweler, will occupy will occupy the new building being built by J. R. Harkness for Dr. James J. Lemon on the south part of his drugstore lot [southeast corner of Lameuse and Howard Avenue].(The Biloxi Herald, April 14, 1888, p. 8)


Nielsen's Photo Gallery opened on Reynoir Street near the L&N Depot.  Professor Fitch, an experienced photographer, will be in charge.(The Biloxi Herald, April 14, 1888, p. 8)


L&N RR erecting a freight depot and refurbishing the old building for passenger traffic with separate waiting rooms for male and female transients.(The Biloxi Herald, May 12, 1888, p. 8)



Howard Memorial School

[Gift of Frank T. Howard (1855-1911 and Harry T. Howard (1856-1930) which was built and designed by John R. Harkness & Son in 1888 for $10,000]


The old building on Lameuse Street near Water Street owned by Mrs. Ritch has been demolished and a new and sightly one will be built to replace it.(The Biloxi Herald, July 28, 1888, p. 8)   


John T. Andrews is building a new house for Sim Ryan on Croesus Street.(The Biloxi Herald, July 28, 1888, p. 8)


Sherwood Bradford, machinist and blacksmith, erected a large, attractive  two-story shop on Main Street.(The Biloxi Herald, July 28, 1888, p. 1)


John R. Harkness is having the foundation laid on his lot on Pass Christian Street preparatory to erecting a two-story commercial house 40 feet by 50 feet.(The Biloxi Herald, July 28, 1888, p. 8)


John R. Harkness has taken contract to build the new public school building, which was donated by the Howard family.(The Biloxi Herald, August 4, 1888, p. 8)


New building erected between Delauney [G.E. Ohr] and Magnolia on Pass Christian Street [Howard Avenue] by John R. Harkness will be open next month as a clothing and notion store.(The Biloxi Herald, October 27, 1888, p. 8)


Sixteen Biloxi carpenters and laborers were employed to erect the new Quarantine Station on the Chandeleur Islands.(The Biloxi Herald, November 24, 1888, p. 8)


The Ocean View Hotel of C.F. Theobald was leased to H. Edwards and plans to open January 1, 1889.(The Biloxi Herald, December 1, 1888, p. 8)


The Tegarden Hotel at Mississippi City burned to the ground on November 26th.  It had been recently leased to Mrs. Alexander.(The Biloxi Herald, December 1, 1888, p. 8)


Harry T. Howard (1856-1930) was in town and took several photographic images of the new school house.(The Biloxi Herald, December 15, 1888, p. 8)



The Reverend Robert H. Hinsdale expired on January 9th.  He was at the Church of the Redeemer from 1883 until his demise.  On his death bed, Reverend Hinsdale requested that Harry T. Howard erect a new Episcopal Church on the beach at Biloxi.(The Daily Herald, January 9, 1913, p. 1)


The new, modern Howard Memorial public school building on Main Streeta gift from of Frank T. Howard (1855-1911) and Harry T. Howard (1856-1930) to the citizenry of Biloxi, was dedicated on March 22nd.   It was built and designed by John R. Harkness & Son in 1888 for $10,000.(The Daily Picayune, March 22, 1889, p. 8)


Biloxi had a large fire occur in the Central Business District on June 5th.  Damage estimated at $75,000. The fire started in the Herald Building.  Major losses suffered by: Mrs. C.M. Rugge who lost two-story residence valued at$9000; Constantine Olivari (1841-1894) who lost his two-story residence, ship chandlry business, dry goods and groceries on the corner of Lameuse Street and Pass Christian Street valued at $8000; Dr. James J. Lemon lost his drug store and home worth $7500.  The Post Office building of Louis Holley was also destroyed.  Mobile, Alabama sent two fire engines on a special train, but they arrived after Biloxi firemen had the conflagration extinguished.(The Daily Picayune, June 6, 1889, p. 1)



J.P. Weber's new building on Pass Christian Street between Lameuse Street and Main Street is almost complete.(The Biloxi Herald, March 1, 1890, p. 4)  


John Andrews is building two neat cottages on Lameuse Street for Mrs. Colbet.(The Biloxi Herald, May 24, 1890, p. 4) 


Frank Lucich, contractor, is erecting a new building on Pass Christian Street near Lameuse for Phil McCabe.  The structure is 30 feet by 45 feet and will divided into two 15 feet by 45 feet store spaces.  They will be occupied as soon as completed.(The Biloxi Herald, May 24, 1890, p. 4)


The framework for the new Opera House is going up and when completed it will be the largest building in Biloxi.  John R. Harkness is working rapidly for its completion.  The building contract called for the Opera House to cost $5000 when finished and furnished.(The Biloxi Herald, June 7, 1890, p. 4 June 19, 1890, p.  )



The Biloxi Herald moved into its new office building adjacent to the Masonic Opera House on Pass Christian Street about April 15, 1891.  The structure was built by John R. Harkness and was central and desirable than their last quarters.(The Biloxi Herald, April 4, 1891, p. 4)


The new plant of the Barataria Canning Company was completed in July.  H.R. Gogreve, president; Isidore Hechinger, vice pres.; H. Bentz, treasurer; Isidore Heidenheim, secretary; and H. Edwards Jr., superintendent.(The Biloxi Herald, July 11, 1891, p. 4)      



The old Bellande building near the L&N depot has been demolished and the foundation is being laid for a new two-story edifice.(The Biloxi Herald, January 9, 1892, p. 8)


On July 26,1892, the great New Orleans philanthropist, John Henry Keller (1830-1908), himself not a Presbyterian, donated Lot 1 (50 feet by 150 feet)-Block 6 of Keller's tract to the Biloxi Presbyterian Church.  The church was located on East Howard Avenue east of the old Biloxi Public High School.  W.L. Covel (1836-1926) was contracted to erect the 'small and modest building" of the newly organized congregation. The deacons and elders of the Biloxi Presbyterian Church, among them Bemis O. Bailey (1898-1969), an Ocean Springs native, sold their property to the City of Biloxi in late December 1940, for $3659.(Harrison Co., Ms. Land Deed Bk. 28, p. 205 and The Biloxi Herald, July 2, 1892, p. 1 and July 16, 1892, p. 4) 



John Eistetter (1856-1904) began laying the foundation for a two-story building for Mr. Herbelin on the corner of Howard Avenue and Lameuse Street.  J.R. Harkness was the contractor.(The Biloxi Herald, January 21, 1893, p. 8)  


In April, J.R. Harkness was contracted by Lopez, Dunbar's Sons & Co. to construct a new, five thousand dollar, 18,000 square-ft.. cannery on the former site of the old one.  Two-story, mansard towers on each end functioned as office space.(The Biloxi Herald, April 15, 1893, p. 1) 


In April, the Biloxi Milling Company, commenced operations making flour and meal.  It was founded by Missourians, Edward G. Burklin (1860-1920+), James B. 'Buck' Chinn (1857-1912), R.D. Chinn, and Mr. Brewton.(The Biloxi Herald, January 7, 1893, p. 8 and April 22, 1893, p. 1)


In April J.R. Harkness & Sons announced plans to build a steam planning and milling plant in the rear of the Opera House on Pass Christian Street and Magnolia Street.(The Biloxi Herald, April 22, 1893, p. 1)


In April, J.R. Harkness & Sons relocated the Episcopal Church from Pass Christian Street to the Beach.(The Biloxi Herald, April 22, 1893, p. 1)


In late July, The Beach House, a new hotel on the beach, was completed for occupancy by J.R. Harkness, contractor, for Mrs. Margaret E. Drysdale [1840-1896], the owner.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, July 29, 1893, p. 8)


E.G. Burklin of Vandalia, Missouri agreed to install 45 street lights of 32 candle power to the City of Biloxi.(The Biloxi Herald, September 30, 1893, p. 1)


Casimir J. Harvey (1845-1904) of Back Bay [D'Iberville] commenced his ferry operation across Back Bay to Biloxi on December 2nd.  His vessel was called ‘the Shrimp’.  Captain Ed Richards took over the rope or skiff ferry and handled the oars.(The Biloxi Herald, December 2, 1893, p. 1)


O.S. Williams contracted to build a two-story, modern home on Porter Avenue north of the L&N Railroad.  Mr. Burklin will also install two, 32-candle power, incadescent lamps for Mr. Williams on Porter.(The Biloxi Herald, December 2, 1893, p. 8)


The Montross Hotel installed electric lights in December.(The Biloxi Herald, December 9, 1893, p. 8)



The Columbia, Lumberton & Gulf Railroad was recently chartered.  The railroad will tap for ninety miles some of the finest pine lands in the State.  Plans to connect with the Gulf & Ship Island RR.  at Lumberton, Mississippi.(The Biloxi Herald, January 20, 1894, p. 8)


The Biloxi Electric Light Company was chartered on February 2nd.(Harrison Co., Ms. Charter Bk. 2, p. 116)


The Biloxi and Back Bay Bridge Company was chartered on June 2nd.(Harrison Co., Ms. Charter Bk. 2, p. 186)


The Biloxi Herald, June 9, 1894, p. 1


The Biloxi Herald, June 9, 1894, p. 8.


On October 12th,  Biloxi's Commercial District was inflicted  losses of about $75,000 when a large fire commenced in the two-story, J.W. Swetman Building on Pass Christian Street.  Big losers were: S. Picard-$25,000; J.W. Swetman-$8000; G.E. Ohr Sr.-$5000; W.K.M. Dukate-$4500; and the pottery of G.E. Ohr Jr. (1857-1918)-$3000.(The Biloxi Herald, October 13, 1894, p. 8)


J.W. Swetman contracted with John Eistetter and John R. Harkness to erect a 2-story, brick building on West Howard Avenue for $2800.  The structure was designed by W.T. Harkness on a 30-foot by 50-foot foundation and built with pressed brick, a glass front and iron pillars.  Mr. Swetman was replacing his building lost in the recent fire and would use the first floor as a drugstore and the 2nd floor as a lodge or public hall.  The difference in insurance rates made brick buldings cheaper than those constructed of wood.(The Biloxi Herald, November 3, 1894, p. 8)




City Hall-Main Street [circa 1902]


In late February, work commenced by the G.C. Taylor & Company on the new City Hall on Main Street. When excavation began on the foundation, Mr. Taylor had difficulty finding local labor and went to Meridian and returned with eleven laborers, as only five Biloxians would work for $1 per day, the unskilled labor rate.  Most Biloxi day laborers expected to be paid $1.25 to $1.50 per day.(The Biloxi Herald, March 2, 1895, p. 8)


New Masonic Building

[The Biloxi Herald. March  16, 1895. p. 8]


James V. Hagan (1874-1929) has secured from Sam Picard a fine commercial lot on the corner of Pass Christian and Magnolia Street with a 50-foot frontage on Pass Christian [West Howard Avenue].  He will erect a building here for his chandelry business.  By early October, James Hagan's new brick building presented an elegant appearance and had been painted by Ed Suter.(The Biloxi Herald, March 9, 1895, p. 8 and October 5, 1895, p. 8) 


The Biloxi Railway was established by Dr. J.J. Lemon, president; J.C. Bradford, vice-pres.; E.G. Burklin, general mgr. and superintendent; Col. E.W. Morill, sec.-treas.; and W.H. Maybin, gen. attorney.  Laying of track was to commence shortly as cars, rails, ties, etc. had been acquired.  $8000 worth of company stock had been sold.(The Biloxi Herald, March 30, 1895, p. 8)       




The L&N Railroad completed two new railroad stations on the east and west end of Biloxi.  The Coast train and Excursion trains on Wednesday and Sunday will stop at both places.  The L&N has named these stations as the Oak Street Station (east) and the Gill Avenue Station (west).  Local citizens suggested the names Summerville (east) and Oakmere (west), but they were rejected by the railroad.(The Biloxi Herald, May 11, 1895, p. 8)


Morris and Eaton have leased the Arcade House on the Beach and will conduct a first class hotel.(The Biloxi Herald, May 11, 1895, p. 8)


Street cars began running on Reynoir Street to the Back Bay in early September.(The Biloxi Herald, September 7, 1895, p. 8)


W.T. Harkness (1869-1841), architect and builder, is building three fine dwelling houses for Mrs. George D. Lining [nee Ellen Martin (d. May 1959). One of the residences is on the corner of Main Street and the beach road while the other two will be built on Main Street.   Ellen Martin was the spouse of George Dent Lining (1875-pre-1938).  The Linings lived at Biloxi until about 1909 when they relocated to Mobile.  He was in the marine supply business and active in the civic and social circles of Mobile.(The Biloxi Herald, October 5, 1895, p. 8)


W.T. Harkness (1869-1841), architect and builder, is completing a cottage on Magnolia and Water Street for Mrs. John Coyle.(The Biloxi Herald, October 5, 1895, p. 8)


Brick for the new Mechanics Steam Fire Engine Company No. 2 is arriving by schooner.  The foundation has been laid for the two-story, building [20 feet by 80 feet].(The Biloxi Herald, October 5, 1895, p. 8)


John Eistetter (1857-1904) has contracted with Dr. W. Saucier, dental surgeon, to build a two-story, $2100 building [25 feet by 50 feet] on the east half of a lot on the corner of Pass Christian and Magnolia Street acquired from James V. Hagan for $900.  Dr. Saucier's lot had a 30-foot front on Pass Christian Street [West Howard Avenue].(The Biloxi Herald, March 9, 1895, p. 8 and October 5, 1895, p. 8)



Florian Seal (1853-1927) opened the Gulf Coast Real Estate Agency in the Biloxi Herald building in March.(The Biloxi Herald, March 7, 1896, p. 8)


New City Hall was dedicated in late April.(The Biloxi Herald, April 25, 1896, p. 1)


Construction on Pass Christian Street [Howard Avenue] was well underway by mid-year.  The Lazaro Lopez residence is almost complete, John Eistetter's new brick building is rapidly under construction; on 24 July, Mechanics Fire Company No. 2 will dedicate their new firehouse; Dr. Saucier is completing his wood-framed structure and the Herbelin warehouse in its final stages; the McCabe Building on the NW/C of Lameuse and Pass Christian Street will be removed for the erection of the new, two-story, Roman brick of the Peoples Bank.[The Biloxi Herald, July 18, 1896, p 1]


Eistetter & Kelly were awarded the $5000 contract to erect a home for C.F. Theobald (1839-1903) on Front Street and Main.(The Biloxi Herald, August 22, 1896, p. 8)


The Eistetter building was erected in 1896 on the corner of West Howard Avenue and Magnolia Street.  It was dedicated on October 17, 1896 and a Grand Ball was held by the Mississippi Hook and Ladder Compnay No. 1 as part of the celebration.(The Biloxi Herald, September 12, 1896, p. 8)


In November, the Back Bay Artesian Water Company was chartered by John Bradford, Arthur Reynoir, Mrs. A Richards, and Sam D. Shaw.(The Biloxi Herald, November 28, 1896, p. 8)


The People's Telephone Company of Biloxi was chartered in December by W.K.M. Dukate, Ernest Doyle, J.D. McKie, W.A. White, John Walker, and Ed Glennan.(The Biloxi Herald, December 5, 1896, p. 8)



Dr. Anthony P. Champlin (1839-1897) died at Biloxi in early March.  He had been a quarantine physician for several years and at the time of his demise was in charge of the Cat Island Quarantine Station.(The Biloxi Herald, March 15, 1897)


Peter Joseph Montross (1841-1897), proprietor of the Montross Hotel died at Biloxi on March 27, 1897.  His corporal remains were sent to New Orleans for internment in the vault belonging to the Army of the Tennessee.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, April 3, 1897, p. 8)


John R. Harkness (1827-1903) has the contract to erect the residence of John C. Carraway (1873-1931) and William P. Burke (1858-1924) will build the house of Dr. Daniel A. Nash (1858-1904).  Both structures are on the beach.(The Biloxi Herald, April 3, 1897, p. 1)


William C. Morgan and son leased the Montross Hotel in early May.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, May 8, 1897, p. 8)


John Kelly has the contract to build a neat residence for Frank Voivedich on Reynoir Street near Howard Avenue.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 27, 1897, p. 8)




Raymond Caillavet (1838-1898), former Mayor, treasurer, councilman, and street commissioner and contractor, expired on February 16th.(The Biloxi Herald, February 19, 1898, p. 5)





Lopez Building

The Biloxi Herald



     William W. Sutcliffe House [built 1898]

1364 West Beach Boulevard (postcard circa 1905 from H.R. 'Randy' Randazzo)


News of William W. Sutcliffe’s acquisition of a beach front lot was reported in The Biloxi Herald in late February 1898.  The journal reported that he would let a contract shortly for the erection of a residence to cost between $4000 and $5000.   In April 1898, Mr. Sutcliffe had his lot fenced and planned to have a home built on his seaside vista within the year.  In August 1898, W.W. Sutcliffe, now president of the Board of Trustees of the Sea Shore Campground, signed a building contract with John Kelley.  Mr. Kelley was to erect a large structure on Sutcliffe’s Avondale lot facing the Mississippi Sound.    In early November 1898, the Sutcliffes came over from New Orleans to inspect their beautiful domicile which was under construction.  This edifice was destroyed on August 29, 2005 in Hurricane Katrina when owned by Nick Mavar and Nancy Pierce Mavar.(The Biloxi Herald, February 26, 1898, p. 8, April 2, 1898, p. 8, August 20, 1898, p. 8, and November 12, 1898, p. 4)     


Laz Lopez (1850-1903) has a new residence on East Howard Avenue that is a conspicuous ornament.(The Biloxi Herald, May 18, 1898, p. 8)



FOREST PARK SCHOOL [Porter Avenue and Cemetery Street, now Irish Hill]





The City of Biloxi received three new public school buildings on September 6th.  The Forest Park School on Porter Avenue was given by Lazaro Lopez (1850-1903) and Julia Dulion Lopez (1857-1918).  The Back Bay Ward School was donated by W.K.M. Dukate and William Gorenflo.  It was situated on Main Street and Back Bay.  Mayor Harry T. Howard gave the City a primary school building on the corner of Main Street and Water Street.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, September 10, 1898, p. 4)




Mary A. Andrews (1848-1900+), a widow, planned to open the new Breslow  Hotel on June 1st.  The commodious structure was built by John Eistetter (1856-1904).  Mrs. Andrew planned to furnish the modern Breslow Hotel with new furniture.  She had operated the Bay View Cottage for many years.  Mrs. Andrews was an excellent caterer.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, May 25, 1899, p. 8)

In mid-May, Thompson & Eistetter, architects and builders, broke ground for the new, $7000, Lopez & Dukate building on the corner of Delauney Street and Howard Avenue.  The structure had two-stories with a pressed brick front.  The Cumberland Telephone and Telegraph Company was its first tenant and moved into their quarters in mid-August.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, May 15 , 1900, p. 8 and July 31, 1900, p. 8)
John Eistteter, contractor, related that the new fountain to be set up in front of City Hall has arrived and will be built in a few days.  The ornamental fountain to be erected at Lameuse Street and Howard has not been received.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, September 4, 1900, p. 8)
Contractor C.D. Budd continued bricking Howard Avenue towards Nixon Street.  Reynoir Street from the L&N Depot to Howard Avenue was completed in late July.(The Biloxi Herald, September 4, 1900, p. 8)
Thompson & Eistetter, architects and builders, awarded $10,000 contract to erect a new Gothic-style, Baptist Church of brick and stone at Lameuse and Jackson.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, October 5, 1900, p. 8)
Mayor Daniel A. Nash (1858-1904) announced that $17,435.48 had been deposited in The Bank of Biloxi for the new bridge across Back Bay.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, October 5 and October 6, 1900, p. 8)
A new two-story building is under construction on Lameuse Street next to the Bank Exchange.  There will be a restaurant on the 1st floor and a pool room on the 2nd floor.(The Biloxi aaily Herald, October 14, 1900, p. 8)
The Biloxi Daily Herald noted that, "one of the greatest needs of Biloxi is a new school house for Colored children."  It recommended that the city government build an adequate school house to cost about $300 on a tract owned by the Colored community of Biloxi.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, October 30, 1900, p. 8) 
Bradford's 'Bus', which made regular trips from City Hall to Joullian's Factory via Reynoir Street commenced on November 1st.  Fare five cents.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 9, 1900, p. 1)      
On November 9th, the Great Biloxi Fire started in the rear of Kennedy's Saloon near the L&N Depot on Reynoir Street Hotel and devastated about ninety commercial and residential structures south to the beach.  Damages estimated at about $600,000.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 9, 1900, p. 1)


20th Century



In January, a large seafood cannery, was commenced at Gulfport.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 12, 1901, p. 8)


Thompson & Eistetter, architects and builders, were awarded the contract to erect the Kennedy Hotel on Reynoir Street and Railroad.  Their bid for this two-story, brick structure was $8610, the lowest submitted.  The highest submitted bid was $11,314.   In early August 1904, an addition to the Kennedy Hotel was started.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 2, 1901, p. 8 and January 3, 1901, p. 8 and August 8, 1904, p. 1)


The new Baptist Church is being built by Thompson & Eistetter, architects and builders.  The Reverend Dr. Searcy is in residence.[editor note: This structure was on Lameuse Street and Washington Street(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 6, 1901, p. 8)


The foundation of the L. Lopez Company building , situated on Reynoir Street and Howard Avenue, commenced on January 10th.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 10, 1901, p. 8)


W.H. Maybin has let contract for a $3500 residence on the beach near Porter Avenue.  Mr. Maybin and family moved into their new residence in early May 1901.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 11, 1901, p. 8 and May 5, 1901, p. 8)


In early April, the erection of the new L&N depot at Biloxi was finished except for decorating and painting and was expected to open in two weeks.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, April 3, 1901, p. 8)


The new, two-story L. Lopez & Co. building on Reynoir and Howard opened in late April.  Theo Brune (1854-1932), NOLA architect.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, April 27, 1912, p. 8)


In June, work was commenced by Contractor Owens on the Biloxi Yacht Club in the front of the Montross Hotel with the demolition of bath houses and other structures.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, June 12, 1901, p. 1)


The first pedestrian Bridge, a wooden structure, across Back Bay Biloxi informally opened at 6:00 a.m. on August 3rd.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, August 3 and August 4, 1901, p. 1)


Ole Thompson (1874-1944) was awarded the contract to build a new home on the beach for Mr. Charlton.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 1, 1901, p. 8)


R.M. Mosley (1865-1910), City Marshal, expects to take possession of his new home on Howard Avenue.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 1, 1901, p. 8)




In January, Thomas Bendelow (1868-1936), a Scotsman in the employ of A.G. Spaulding & Sons of Chicago, arrived on the Mississippi Gulf Coast and built two golf courses at Pass Christian and one at Biloxi on the J.H. Keller (1830-1908) property between Lee Street and Keller Avenue and north of the L&N Railroad.  The Biloxi course was nine-holes and only 1941 yards long and referred to as Keller's Green.(The Daily Picayune, January 12, 1902, p. 4 and The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 15. 1902, p. 1 and January 29, 1902, p. 8)

Contract for the NBVM Catholic Church was let to J.F. Barnes & Co. of Greenville and Biloxi for $15,558.  Brick structure 132 feet by 55 feet, 60 feet tall, and bell tower 140 feet tall.  Architect Theo Brune (1854-1932) of NOLA.  Bid did not include: overhead ceiling, plastering, and wainscoting.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, February 7, 1902, p. 1)
The $125,000 Federal Building, a post office, customs house, and Federal court, for Biloxi was approved on June 6th.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, March 31, 1908, p. 1)
P.J. Gillen and Bert C. Gillen, contractors, left for Birmingham in early May.  They had been in Biloxi since October 1901 erecting the Bolton Building at 138 West Howard Avenue for Dr. Walter T. Bolton (1859-1923).  Dr. Bolton had his offices and residence here until about 1920 when the family relocated to West Beach and Porter Avenue.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 28, 1901, p. 8, March 20, 1902, p. 8 and May 9, 1902, p. 8)
The Summer Pavilion, a public recreational facility situated in the water between Reynoir and Croesus Street, opened on June 18th.  It was 104 feet by 40 feet with a lofty roof and an awning on its perimeter.  Dances were held on Tuesday and Friday.  Charles M. Wilkes was the manager.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, June 14, 1902, p. 8)
The Biloxi Sanatorium was chartered in June by Dr. H.M. Folkes (1871-1926), Harry Turner Howard (1856-1930), W.K.M. Dukate, (1852-1916), Lazaro Lopez (1850-1903), Dr. M.C. Talbot, and James H. Neville.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, July 5, 1902, p. 2) 
Bishop Heslin confirmed 68 children and the corner stone and bell christening at N.B.V.M. was held on September 14th.  The bell was donated by Lazaro Lopez (1850-1903) and named Cara-Josephine Lopez to honor his deceased daughter.  The Seth Thomas clock, also donated by the Lazaro Lopez family, was hoisted into position in late September.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, August 19, 1902, p. 1, September 16, 1902, p. 6, and September 27, 1902, p. 8)
The corner stone was laid on November 27th for a new school building on Point Cadet financed by Harry T. Howard (1856-1930), philanthropist.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 26, 1902, p. 6)
The Biloxi Electric Street Railway & Power Company was charted on December 17th by J.M. Bell, John Carraway (1873-1931), E.C. Joullian (1863-1931), Lazaro Lopez (1850-1903), W.K.M. Dukate (1852-1916), et al.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Chattel Deed Bk. 5, p. 339)




Varina Howell Davis (1826-1906) sold Beauvoir to the Sons of Confederate Veterans of Mississippi for $10,000. The formal transfer occurred at Jackson, Mississippi on February 1st.  The Daughters of the Confederacy allocated $3000 to furnish the historic home.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, February 4, 1903, p. 6)




The building committee of the City of Biloxi accepted the plans of Architect Hebert for an addition to the Howard Primary School.  Like the original structure, the addition was a gift of Harry T. Howard.  By August, the frame work for the additional story was in place and the roof was ready to start.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, July 2, 1904, p. 8 and August 8, 1904, p. 1)


Main Street M.E. Church [image pre-January 1910]

In July 1903, the building committee of the Methodist Church accepted the plans of R. and J. Ryan of Gulfport to erect this church estimated to cost $10,000.  By early August 1904, the 'Methodist Church [construction] was progressing with encouraging rapidity'.[The Biloxi Daily Herald, July 29, 1903, p. 6, August 8, 1904, p. 1]


In early August, an addition to the Kennedy Hotel was started.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, August 8, 1904, p. 1)


     Elmer-Camp House 


Mayor F.W. Elmer (1847-1926) contracted with J.E. Greene to build a home on Magnolia and Front Beach for between $3000 and $4000.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, October 20, 1904, p. 5)


The J.E. Selman residence on the Beach is near completion.  It is one of Mr. Greene's 'flowers'.[The Biloxi Daily Herald, December 3, 1904, p. 5]


The Lars Peter Eskald (1856-1944) residence on Seal Avenue is now being erected.[The Biloxi Daily Herald, December 6, 1904, p. 5]


The $12,500 Chiapella Hotel on the east side of Reynoir Street between Howard Avenue and Railroad Street was under construction.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 1904 and December 20, 1904, p. 1)




The Standard Construction Company of Chicago was awarded the $90,770 contract to build the Biloxi Federal Building in February.(The Daily Herald, February 2, 1905, p. 6)


J.E. Greene completed the Chiapella Hotel in March.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, December 20, 1905, p. 1)


The residence of Dr. W.O. Talbot, local dentist, was nearing completion on the corner of Seal and Howard Avenue.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 16, 1905, p. 4)


W.F. Gorenflo sold a cottage on Seal Avenue to Mrs. Mollie McPike of Vandalia, Missouri for $2000.  In December Mr. Goreflo let a contract to Ed Wetzell to build an eight-room cottage on the adjoining lot.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 16, 1905, p. 4 and December 28, 1905, p. 1)

The T.J. Rosell Manufacturing Company was on a construction bonanza with over $40,000 in completed or contracts for houses and buildings at Biloxi.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 20, 1905, p. 1)
The West End Hose Company met on January 3rd in their new fire house.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 4, 1906, p. 1) 
The East End Hose Company let a contract to Hubbell & Sheldon to build the shell of a meeting hall and engine house for $700.  The facility would be completed after more funds were raised.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 8, 1906, p. 4)
In early January 1906, seven, large, stain glass windows arrived at Biloxi from Germany to tbe placed in the sanctuary of the Nativity B.V.M. Catholica Church.  Julia Dulion Lopez (1857-1918) had donated these windows described as 'equal to anything in the South' in memory of Lazaro Lopez, (1850-1903), her late husband.  Frederick Thornley of New York was employed to install the windows designed and built by Reis and Reis of Munich, Germany.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 6, 1906, p. 4 and  January 9, 1906, p. 1)
Ed Wetzell had the $2500 contract to build a five-room residence for Jake Tremmel on the corner of Jackson and Fayard Street.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 6, 1906, p. 4)

Captain Llewellyn R. Bowen (1866-1946) was born at Racine, Wisconsin on September 19, 1866.  He came to Biloxi about 1890.  Captain Bowen was married to Johanna Laage (1874-1949), the daughter of John H. Laage (1839-1918) and Minna Wittgrebe Laage (1842-1947).  The Laages were married at Lingen, Hanover, Germany, her birthplace, in 1866.  They immigrated to the United States and resided at New Orleans until 1884, when they relocated to Biloxi, Mississippi.  The Laages had nine children all natives of New Orleans.  Johanna and L.R. Bowen reared a family in Biloxi consisting of the following children:  James J. Bowen (1892-1893), Lilly Bowen (1893-1958), Llewellyn Bowen (1899-1960), and Mrs. Anna May B. Beck (1908-1975).

L.R. Bowen began his tenure as a bar pilot about 1894.  He retired in 1940 with over 45 years of service at Ship Island and Gulfport.  Llewellyn (Louis) Bowen was also active politically in Biloxi.  He ran for city alderman in 1900 and 1902 losing both elections to Heidenheim and Joseph Ott respectively.

Captain Bowen was very active in cultural and civic affairs.  He could list among his accomplishments:  eighteen years of service on the Biloxi School Board and a few years on the Perkinston School Board, directorship of the Peoples Bank, membership in the Woodmen of the World, patron of the Eastern Star, and membership in Volunteer Fire Company No. 1.  Bowen also was a Mason for 54 years.

The Bowen Family lived originally at 222 Lee Street, but later resided in a unique home at 606 East Howard known as the Bowen House.  Its uniqueness was derived from the concrete blocks, which were composed of crushed oyster shells.(The Biloxi-D’Iberville Press, March 27, 1991)


Bowen House-555 East Howard Avenue

[image made June 20, 2013]

Captain Llewellyn R. Bowen (1866-1946), a Ship Island bar pilot and native of Racine, Wisconsin, built a home on his lot at 606 East Howard Avenue commencing in late May 1906.  The Bowen House was erected with concrete blocks made a the Barataria Canning Company.  August Larson was hired by the Coast Concrete Construction Company to supervise the work on Captain Bowen's new home.  Mr. Larson had supervised the construction of the new Federal Building on Lameuse Street.  The Bowen family moved into their home in early January 1907.  It was described as one of the handsomest in Bilox iand unique as the concrete blocks from which it was erected were composed of crushed oyster shells.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, May 31, 1906, p. 2, The New Orleans Item, January 6, 1907, p. 15 and The Biloxi-D’Iberville Press, March 27, 1991)

In late September, Edwin M. Wetzel (1877-1953) was contracted by Western Union Telegraph to build a one story, 35-foot deep, office on West Howard Avenue between the brick building of Charles Redding, corner of Howard and Delauney, and the Joseph Lawrence shoe store.  Mrs. Dr. Washington in East Gulfport hired Contractor Wetzel to erect a $3000, two-story frame building.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, September 29, 1908. p. 1)






The J.H. Keller Estate Subdivison was platted in February in East Biloxi between East Howard Avenue and East Beach Drive and west of Lee Avenue. J.D. Ferguson, surveyor.(Harrison Co., Mississippi Chancery Court 2nd JD Land Plat Bk. 1, p. 10)


REDDING BUILDING [built in 1911]

[Image made January 2011 after the fire of January 18, 2011]


Charles Redding and Joseph Lawrence began demolishing the Vaudette Theatre, now occupied by Uncle Fred’s, to erect a two-story, brick structure on the corner of Howard Avenue and Delauney.  T.J. Rosell drew the architectural plans and Ed Wetzell is the builder.(The Daily Herald, July 18, 1911, p. 8)

The Redding building on West Howard Avenue was fatally damaged by a large conflagration around midnight of January 18th. Three businesses, Up Stairs, Down Stairs; the Spanish Trail Bookstore; and Adventures Bar and Grill were the tenants.  Arson was not believed to be the cause of the fire.(The Sun Herald, January  , 2011, p. A1)



Nolan & Torre, NOLA architects, were selected to design the new Biloxi school building to cost $40,000.[The Daily Herald, March 12, 1912, p. 8]


The T.H. Kimbrough home on East Beach near Lee Street was sold to Colonel T.H. Warren in June.(The Daily Herald, June 7, 1912, p. 1)

W.T. Nolan, NOLA architect, who designed the new Biloxi High School on East Howard Avenue, was in Biloxi with S.E. Dupree, building contractor, to conduct soil tests for the foundation of the structure.(The Daily Herald, July 5, 1912, p. 8)



The new Elks Club building on Lameuse Street was dedicated on the 13th.


The Hahn Building, a two-story, brick structure [44 feet by 72 feet] of local shoe merchant, Louis Hahn [1876-1937], was completed by contractor-achitect O.E. Thompson and G.A. Harkness, foreman, in early June.  The Hahn Building was located on the NW/C of West Howard Avenue and Magnolia Street.  The old Hahn frame building was moved to the rear of the lot by Adam Schaad [1849-1931] and was planned to be used as a tenement.  Mr. Hahn's Parlor Shoe Store and Miss Mattye Myhand's [1892-1937] millinery shop occiupied the first floor while the Cumberland Telephone Company was situated on the second floor.  They took a ten year lease and  planned to install a new flashlight exchange.  Letitia Hahn acquired title to the 44-foot by 175-foot lot from the Chancery Court in December 1903.(The Daily Herald, January 13, 1913, p. 1, April 10, 1913, p. 8, June 6, 1913, p. 1 and p. 8 and Minutes of the Harrison Co., Mississippi Chancery Court Bk. 7, p. 539)


In July 1913, the Harrison County Board of Supervisors let a $6300 contract to the Austin Brothers of Atlanta, Georgia to erect a structure across the Tchoutacabouffa River to replace the Lamey Ferry.  In November 1913, board member, F.W. Elmer Sr., was appointed to oversee construction of the bridge.(HARCO, Ms. Board of Supervisors Minute Bk. 10, p. 274 and p. 391)




The Thomas L. Bradley home on East Howard Avenue was commenced in February.(The Daily Herald, February 11, 1914, p. 2)


Edwin Wetzel (1877-1953) was awarded the contract by the City of Biloxi to erect a 900 square-ft annex to the Back Bay School.  An additional teacher for the next term will be added as many pupils were unable to attend the school due to lack of facilities and overcrowding in its two class rooms.(The Daily Herald, July 28, 1914, p. 2)




Salvatore Pizzati (1839-1915), pioneer fruit importer of NOLA, gave Biloxi $1000 to erect a dance pavilion, the Pizatti Pavilion.  The structure was complete in June.  Mr. Pizzati expired at NOLA on December 30, 1915.(The Daily Herald, February 18, 1915, p. 1 and June 8, 1915, p. 1)

In May, Louis Holley (1884-1973) had contract to build a one-story frame building for Ernest Desporte on Front Street just west of Lameuse Street.  Henry Agregaard and son will open an oyster house and short order lunch house when complete.(The Daily Herald, May 12, 1915, p. 2)
The Deer Island Island Development Company formally dedicated their Deer Island amusement center on June 23rd.  Meyer Eiseman of the DIDC;  George W. Grayson of the Biloxi Commercial Club; Mayor Glennan of Biloxi; Mayor Foote of Gulfport; and Mayor Saucier of Pass Christian spoke at the ceremony.  Ocean Springs beat Biloxi 5-2 in the baseball game.(The Gulfport Advocate, June 26, 1915, p. 1)
Sam Strange (sic)  (1886-1967) leased part of the Olivari Building on Howard Avenue and Lameuse Street and will open a grocery store.  He recently commenced the French Market Grocery at Gulfport.(The Gulfport Advocate, July 10, 1915, p. 8)      


Ed Wetzel was the winning bidder against L.H. Manuel, R.E. Roberts and Son, E. Ahern and Chris Thompson to build an additon to the Back Bay School.  His bid was $452 and completion of the work was expected by Septemebr 6, 1915.(The Daily Herald, August 6, 1915, p. 1)


New Biloxi Yacht Club

In late October 1915, Commodore Douglas Watson (1884-1953) laid the ground work for erecting a new yacht club at Biloxi to cost between $2000 and $2500.  J.E. Breaux Jr. and J.G. Wiltz were appointed to locate a site on Biloxi’s waterfront and Commodore Watson with John F. Eistetter, Byrd Enoch, and H.H. Roof were charged with acquiring architectural plans for the new facility.  The 1915 BYC was another Camille victim in August 1969.   (The Times Picayune, October 21, 1915, p. 13)


Louis H. Manuel (1870-1946) was awarded the contract to enclose the Pizatti Pavilion with glass and heat it for the convenience of the Biloxi Tourist Club who met here during the winter tourist season.  His bid was $269 barely beating that of Harry E. Haise (1854-1954) by $1.  The grounds had a croquet court and a horseshoe pitching area for the winter visitors.(The Daily Herald, November 13, 1915, p. 1)


The Collins Brothers were contracted by Mrs. William Dreucks to erect a 6-room, modern cottage on East Howard Avenue.  She will occupy it as her residence.(The Daily Herald, December 22, 1915, p. 2)



In October, Eric Johansen is building a bungalow on Seal Avenue for Colonel W.H. Smith to be used as a rental.(The Daily Herald, October 17, 1916, p. 3)


In December, the Collins Brothers were erecting a five-room, bungalow on Lee Street for H.C. Anderson and spouse.  The Andersons were to use their domilcie as their winter quarters.(The Daily Herald, December 8, 1916, p. 2) 








T.J. Rosell, surpervising contractor,  was erecting 'Gunston Hall' , a two-story moden home, designed by Hugh H. Roof for Dr. H.M. Folkes.  It was located on the northeast corner of West Beach and Rodenburg Avenue with completion by August.  Later owned by Mrs. Julia Wendt (1892-1985), a Kentucky born school teracher, who sold it to A. Jake Mladinich and John M. Mladinich who opened the 'White Pillars', a restaurant.(The Daily Herald, september 19, 1919, p. 2 and May 18, 1921, p. 4)



City Hall [image circa 1934]

The remodeling of the façade and entrance to the Main Street Biloxi City Hall was assigned to Carl E. Matthes (1896-1972), architect, in November. (The Daily Herald, November 23, 1922, p. 3)



Trustees of the Confederates Home [Beauvoir] let a contract to W.T. Beckelheimer of Jackson for the erection of a $38,000, two-story, brick hospital.(The Daily Herald, October 19, 1923, p. 1 nad october 22, 1923, p. 1)



The Avelez Hotel on West Howard Avenue opened on January 1st.  It was demolished in November December 1972.(The Daily Herald, January   , 1924, p. 1 and December 1, 1972)            


The Henry M. Piaggio $300,000 Italian Villa at Gulfport, Mississippi was acquired by Charles Glenn Collins of New Orleans.  He planned to convert it into the Gulf Coast Sanitarium for utilization by Louisiana and Mississippi physicians. Henry M. Piaggio (1874-1921), a native of Genoa, Italy, was one of the founders of the International Shipbuilding Corporation at Pascagoula.  Mr. Piaggio built the Merry Mansion, but died before it was completed.(The Jackson County Times, 1924, p. 1 and The History of JXCO, Ms., 1989, pp. 25-26)


The Strand Theatre in the Lopez building opened on January 5th.  The theater sat 650 people and was formatted for moving pictures and vaudeville shows.(The Daily Herald, January 24, 1924, p. 1)


On January 22, 1924, R.E. “Lee” Elder (1865-1931) conveyed to the City of Biloxi for $3500, a lot 92 feet fronting on Back Bay to the north, south 768 feet to Elder Street.  Here the City of Biloxi created the Back Bay City Park.  Here in December 1925, the City planned to move and remodel as a Community House and Club, the home formerly owned by John C. Bradford (1855-1928).(HARCO, Ms. Land  Deed Bk. 140, p. 371 and The Daily Herald, December 16, 1925, p. 2)


The American Legion pavilion on Back Bay and Reynoir Street opened on June 3rd.  Seating capacity between 2000 and 2500 people.(The Daily Herald, June 4, 1924, p. 3)


The J.C. Penny Company department store opened at Biloxi on August 30th in the Peoples Bank Building.  The store carries a large stock of high class merchandise.(The Jackson County Times, August 30, 1924, p. 5)       

The Buena Vista Hotel opened on July 3rd.
The Gulfport and Mississippi Coast Traction Company was acquired by the Mississippi Power Company in late December.(The Daily Herald, December 29, 1924, p. 1)
In 1923-1924, the Gorenflo School was designed by architect Carl E. Matthes (1896-1972) and erected.  It was originally called the Back Bay Elementary School.  Its area of educational responsibility included: All north of the L&N Railroad from Caillavet to Lee Street, including the east side of Caillavet and the west side of Lee; north of Division bounded by Caillavet and Seal.      
E.B. Johnson and Mattie Moss Johnson have sold their residence at 941 East Beach to Cora Stanton Jahncke (1885-1970), the wife of Ernest Lee Jahncke (1877-1960) of NOLA, for $15,000.  The Johnson family planned to return to Clarksdale, Mississippi.  The Johnson family lived here for some time and always had the welfare and civic improvement at heart.  Mr. Jahnke will use the home as a summer residence.(The Daily Herald, December 18, 1924, p. 3 and HARCO, Ms. Land Deed Bk. 143, p. 412)
Cozy Home Builders was formed by William J. Collins (1886-1962), manager; George J. Collins (1891-1968); and Henry L. Schwan (1889-1956).  Their first project is the erection of three handsome bungalows on Seal Avenue between Railroad and Division Street. Work has started on all three.(The Daily Herald, May 29, 1925, p. 6)
The foundation for the Nageeb J. Bittar (1886-1979) Spanish Mission style residence on West Beach was started in May by Manuel & Wetzel from a Carl Matthes design.(The Daily Herald, May 29, 1925, p. 6)
The S.J. Tedesco two-story, home near Hartease Park is under constrution by the Collins Brother from a Carl Matthes design.(The Daily Herald, May 29, 1925, p. 6)
Miss Annie Cousins is having Ole Thompson build a two-story apartment house on Water Street near Magnolia.  It is being rebuilt from the old Cousins home and will have eight family apartments.(The Daily Herald, May 29, 1925, p. 6)
In late October, the Robinson-Goodwin Realty Company of Robert and Nellie Goodwin platted the Robinson-Goodwin Subdivision consisting of 32 lots fronting on Couevas Street north of Division Street.(Harrison Co., Mississippi 2nd JD Land Plat Bk. 3, p. 14)




[built 1926 by the Collins Brothers]


The Kimbrough & Quint's Drug Store building opened on 8 April.  The two-story, brick and steel-framed structure on the NE/C of Lameuse and Howard Avenue was designed by Carl Matthes and erected by Manuel & Wetzel for about $80,000.  George C. Quint (1886-1967), a native of NOLA, had his drugstore and soda fountain on the first floor with professional offices on the second floor.(The Daily Herald, March 23, 1926, p. 1; April 7, 1926, p. 1 and p. 3; and April 9, 1926, p. 1)


The Edgewater Hotel, a $2,000,000, 400-room hotel on Biloxi beach, was under construction, as well as the Edgewater Golf Club located north of the hotel.  Harry J. Collis, architect of the Floosmoor Country Club and Olympia Fields at Chicago, had seventy-five men and eight tractors at work on the course.(The Biloxi News, March 21, 1926, p. 1 and April 25, 1926, p. 3)


Edgewater Park, a sixty-seven acre and 195 lot, highly restricted and exclusive residential development, was formally opened in March.  J.F. Cornelius & Company were the exclusive agents for the development with R.M. Nelson, their local agent.(The Biloxi News, March 28, 1926, p. 16)


The Bay Terrace subdivision of Meyer Eiseman was formally presented to the City of Biloxi and Mayor Kennedy on the 4th of July.  The Biloxi Boys Band entertained an BSA troops 1 and 2 raised the flag over the pavilion in Bay Terrace Park.(The Daily Herald, July 2, 1926, p. 2)


The Yerger Building on West Howard Avenue just east of Reynoir was completed by the Collins Brothers for Noreta Lopez Yerger in late November.  The 2-story brick structure costing about $70,000 had 140-feet on Howard Avenue and was 100-feet deep.  The Shourds-Warner Company of Gulfport provided architectural services.(The Daily herald, NOvember 23, 1926, p. 1)



In February 1927, Manuel and Wetzel began building a two-story, residence on East Beach for E.E. Cooper.  The lot had a front on the Biloxi Channel of 47 feet and ran north 800 feet.  The Cooper home had a basement which served as a garage.  The $16,000 project was completed in late May 1927.(The Daily Herald, May 11, 1927, p. 2)


Wells and Baker were completing a Bungalow-style home at 803 Keller Avenue for Raymond Terry. The structure had 6 rooms, a breakfast room and a bathroom.(The Daily Herald, April 27, 1927, p. 2)


On May 11, 1927, the Collins Brothers of Biloxi were awarded the $285,000 contract for building the four-story, 118-room, New Biloxi Hotel.  It was designed by Ira H. Coyne (1892-1976) of the Federal Engineering Company of Davenport, Iowa.  William J. Collins (1886-1962) and George J. Collins (1891-1968) had built their first Biloxi building in 1912.  Since that time, they had erected commercial structures for: Catholic Church at Gulfport; Back Bay School [Gorenflo]; Edwards-Butler Motor Company; Daily Herald Building; Caldwell Building; Yerger Building; C.W. Wachenfeld Apartments; August Wachenfeld Apartments; Bay View Hotel; and remodeled the Peoples’ Bank.  The Collins Brothers had learned the building trades from John Collins (1854-1929), their father.  Joseph O. Collins (b. 1922), son of William J. Collins, continued in the contracting business at Biloxi until the present day. In early May 1927, before construction of the $600,000 New Biloxi Hotel commenced, the Collins Brothers Contracting Company of Biloxi demolished the wood frame building and pavilion in front of the structure.  The east wing of the Hotel Biloxi was moved to the rear and served as living quarters for the George Stannus family and other hotel personnel until the New Biloxi Hotel was completed about December 1st.  This wooden building would later serve as the servants quarters for the new hotel. The Biloxi Plumbing and Heating Company headed by Henry L. Schwan (1889-1956) and Grover W. Graham (1893-1964) received the $46,300 contract for plumbing and heating the building while the electrical work to cost about $10,000 was given to the J.M. Johnson & Company of Dallas, Texas.(The Daily Herald, May 2, 1927, p. 2, May 5, 1927, p. 2, May 11, 1927, p. 1, and December 1, 1927, p. 1)


The Lawrence Building on West Howard Avenue between Magnolia and Croesus Streets was under construction as the foundtion had been commenced.(The Daily Herald, June 22, 1927, p. 1)


The ground breaking for the  new, $70,000 S.H. Kress Building on West Howard and Croesus Street  occurred on June 22nd.  The Morrison Company of Atlanta, Georgia was the general contractor with W.C. O'Brien, foreman.  The lower floor of the Kress Building was occupied by the company and the upper floor utilized as storage.(The Daily Herald, June 22, 1927, p. 1)

In June 1927, Albert Sydney Johnston Jr. (1900-1992), an attorney, contracted with Manuel & Wetzel to have a new residence erected in Bay Terrace.  It was to have six-rooms and a bath and cost about $5000.(The Daily Herald, June 23, 1927, p. 2)

City Commissioner Michel issued about 227 building permits for Biloxi and vicinity totaling $1,932,939 million dollars for 1927.   The major projects included the New Biloxi Hotel; Kress Building; local seawall section; Cedar Lake highway; improvements at Oak Park; sidewalk constructon; and the paving of several streets including East Howard Avenue.  Home construction was particularly active north of the L&N Railroad and on the East End.(The Daily Herald, February  16, 1928, p. 1)



The New Biloxi Hotel opened on January 12th by Harold R. Bechtel (1894-1987), proprietor and bond broker of Davenport, Iowa. Building converted to Chateau Le Grand in 1981 by George J. Sliman (1934-1997).(The Daily Herald, January 10, 1928, p. 1 and The Gulf Coast Times, December 7, 1981, p. 1)


Six houses costing about $50,000 were to be built in the Briarfield Subdivision situated between the Edgewater Hotel and Beauvoir.(The Daily Herald, January 12, 1928, p. 18)


The Elmer Packing Company on Back Bay was destroyed by fire on January 31st.  It was leased to Louis A. Lundy of Ocean Springs at the time of the large conflagration.(The Daily Herald, January 31, 1928, p. 2)   


The last ninety feet of the Harrison County Seawall was poured near Oak Street at Biloxi by the C.F. Lytle Construction Company on February 8, 1928.(The Daily Herald, February 8, 1928, p. 2)     

The Biloxi Laundry was incorporated by John W. Apperson, John A.W. O'Keefe (1891-1985), George J. Collins, Eugene Dowling (1880-1944); and W.L. Guice (1887-1971).(The Daily Herald, March 21, 1928, p. 2)
Manuel and Wetzel were building a warehouse on Swetman Street for Phillip W. Levine (1889-1940). The structure extended from Delaunay Street to Magnolia Street fronting 60-feet on each street with a depth of 210 feet.  Will be used by the Newman Furniture Company.(The Daily Herald, March 29, 1928, p. 2)
Harrison County seawall to be completed on May 5 th.(The Jackson County Times, March 31, 1928, p. 1)
Jack Kornman, Biloxi dairyman, realtor and home builder, has completed nine bungalows on Hopkins Boulevard in one of Biloxi's fastest growing sections.  The Kornman home on Division Street is one of Biloxi's showplaces and is marvelously landscaped.  In addition, Mr. Kornman has just acquired 12 registered jersey cows from Mrs. White to add to his herd of about fifty milch cows.(The Daily Herald, April 3, 1928, p. 2 and April 4, 1928, p. 2)
The Pascagoula River Bridge and Escatawpa River Bridge in Jackson County were dedicated on April 14th.  The completion of the Pascagoula River Bridge completed the last gap of the Old Spanish Trail [US Highway 90] on the Mississippi Gulf Coast.(The Daily Herald, April 13, 1928, p. 1)
The first span across Popp's Ferry was completed in mid-April.  The new bridge cost about $70,000 and was 700-feet long and 18-feet wide.  It was constructed from creosoted timber and pilings.  Before the new Popp's Ferry Bridge opened for traffic, it was severely damaged by floodwaters in early June 1928.  Alonzo B. Desporte repaired the damaged structure in August and September at a cost of about $6400.(The Daily Herald, April 18, 1928, p. 1 and June 7, 1928, p. 1)  
Oscar Jordan is completing his new home on Iberville Drive.  The 6-room, bungalow is contracted to Wells & Baker.  Iberville Drive is located just west of Miramar and is an attractive subdivision opened by W.L. Guice and Louis Braun about two years ago.(The Daily Herald, May 16, 1928, p. 2)
David Venus Jr. is completing a 5-room, bungalow on Querens with Collins Brothers as contractor.  Many new homes have been erected here in the last year.(The Daily Herald, May 16, 1928, p. 2)
Johnny Weissmuller (1904-1984), Olympic champion swimmer and later the movie "Tarzan", and Ulise J. 'Pete' Desjardins (1907-1985), Olympic diving champion, were invited to the Harrison County seawall dedication held on May 10th.  It cost $3.4 million dollars and was designed by Hobart D. Shaw (1908-1973) of Gulfport.(The Daily Herald, May 11, 1928, p. 1 and The Jackson County Times, May 5, 1928, p. 1)
An addition to the White House Hotel began on August 13th with Senator Pat Harrison at the ground breaking.(The Jackson County Times, August 11, 1928, p. 3)
Plans for the new gymnasium for the Biloxi High School have been received. The $15,000 brick and steel structure will be built on Washington Street behind the school.(The Daily Herald, September 7, 1928, p. 2 and January 17, 1929, p. 13)
The initial bridge to span Biloxi Bay at Popp's Ferry opened for traffic in late December.  Walter Nixon Sr. (1895-1960) was Beat 1 Supervisor for the $60,000 structure.(The Jackson County Times, December 22, 1928, p. 1)
In 1928, the largest buildings started or completed at Biloxi were: Back Bay Bridge; White House Hotel addition; Saenger Theatre; City Hospital; Howard No. 2 Public School; and the Biloxi High School Gymnasium.(The Daily Herald, January 7, 1929, p. 2)
Edgewater Park Subdivision opened on January 1st with H.S. McLeod as sales director.  Financial interest from New Orleans and Chicago developed the new subdivision.(The Daily Herald, January 7, 1929, p. 6) 
The Biloxi Kennel Club, greyhound racing track, owned by Biloxi Amusements, Inc. opened on Pass Road on January 12th.  Biloxi Amusements, Inc. was incorporated in Mississippi on December 8, 1928 by Thomas Hobin, William Connors, and John H. Adams.(The Daily Herald, January 14, 1929, p. 3)
The $200,000 Biloxi Saenger Theatre opened on Reynoir Street in mid-January by Saenger Theatres Inc.  Harold S. Orr was the local manager and E.V. Richards, V.P. and General Manager of the Shreveport, Louisiana based organization.  A.H. Percy was the building contractor; Roy A. Benjamin, architect; and Ray Dilschneider, construction foreman..(The Daily Herald, January 14, 1929, p. 1)
In early February, Street Commissioner, John Swanzy, had men and machines opening opening Elder Street from Lameuse to Main Street.  It was graded and shelled through the former E.C. Joullian property acquired by the City.(The Daily Herald, February 7, 1929)

Work was commenced to remodel the Strand Theatre into a modern store building in the spring of 1929.  A. Ziegenfelder, Gulfport contractor, was hired to conert the former movie house into a buildign with three store.  Grant's Drug Store was to occupy one of the spaces.  The work was expected to take 60 days.(The Daily Herald, March 20, 1929, p. 2

In early April, the U.S. Coast Guard Base, Base No. 15, on Back Bay in Naval Reserve Park was dedicated by Rear Admiral F.C. Billiard (1873-1932), Commandant of the USCG.  Captain Samuel P. Edmonds (1867-1943) was in charge of the base until his retirement in 1931.(The Daily Herald, April 8, 1929, p. 1)
The $125,000 sixty-bed, Biloxi Hospital on Front Beach was dedicated July 3rd.  The old hospital was demolished in late May.(The Daily Herald, July 2, 1929, p. 1 and May 28, 1929, p. 2)
Mrs. J.E. Johnson and daughters, Suzanne Johnson and Martha Johnson of Muncie, Indiana, have taken possession of their beautiful home in Edgewater Park for the winter.  Suzanne will be a student at Gulfpark College and Martha will attend Gulfport High School.(The Daily Herald, March 21, 1929, p. 2)



In January, Robert White bought the Caldwell property at West Howard Avenue and Reynoir Street including the W.V. Joyce Company store building, the five stores in the Caldwell Building, and the lot adjoining the two Howard Avenue properties with a frontage on Reynoir Street.(The Daily Herald, April 23, 1930, p. 12)  


In April, Robert White and Fred D.P. Snelling of Chicago have taken possession of the H.H. Roof property at 618 West Beach Boulevard.  W.E. Beasley of the Watson Agency made the $9000 sale.  Mr. Snelling is the owner of another West Beach Boulevard lot which he acquired several years ago.(The Daily Herald, April 23, 1930, p. 12) 


The Biloxi-Ocean Springs Bridge, an impressive structure, was dedicated on June 3, 1930 and named The War Memorial Bridge to honor the men and women of Harrison and Jackson County, Mississippi who had served during WW I.  The scenario of the day was Army and Navy airplanes flying overhead; the fishing fleeting and Coast Guard cruising Biloxi Bay; parading by Confederate veterans here for their 40th Reunion and the Coast Guard Patrol, and American Legionnaires with music by the U.S. Marine Band.  Lois Murphy, daughter of Thomas M. Murphy, Commander of the American Legion Post at Ocean Springs and Jack Tardy, son of E.H. Tardy, American Legion adjutant of Biloxi, cut a silk ribbon officially opening the Biloxi Bay span.  The War Memorial Bridge was christened with a bottle of artesian water broken on the span's safety railing by Sara H. Lemon Anderson (1910-2011).  She is the daughter of J.K. Lemon and Sarah George McIntosh Lemon (1884-1939).  The dedication ceremonies concluded with speeches by Dan W. Spurlock, national committeeman of the American Legion, and Rear Admiral Thomas P. Magruder (1867-1938).(The Daily Herald, June 3, 1930, p. 1)


On August 24th, the Avelez Hotel on West Howard Avenue was severely burned and inflicted about $60,000 in damages.(The Daily Herald, August 25, 1930, p. 1)

The new Fernwood School opened for students in early September.  The building cost $25,000 and had an auditorium with stage that could accommodate an audience of 270 people.  The new school opened with five teachers to supervise and instruct grades one through ten.  All 11th and 12th grade pupils attended Biloxi High School.(The Daily Herald, September 9, 1930, p. 1)
Curtis Ellzey is completing a new bakery building at 1327 East Howard Avenue.  It is a modern bakery of concrete and frame construction and will replace the present bakery on Oak Street.  The ovens are being built by Johnnie Guilder.  Mr. Ellzey has been in Biloxi for about 15 years and in the bakery business for 8 years.(The Daily Herald, October 9, 1930, p. 2)
The W.W. Baltar (1870-1928) home on West Beach and Benachi was heavilty damaged by fire in January.  The edifice suffered $6000 in fire related damages and Miss Juanita Baltar (1912-1986) and John Baltar were present during the conflagration. The house was planned to be rebuilt.(The Daily Herald, January 22, 1931, p. 2)




In late January, Ness Creameries let a $30,000 contract to W.C. Stout & Son of Jackson, Mississippi to erect a plant on the northwest corner of Howard Avenue and Caillavet Street.  Hirsch & Watson of St. Louis were named architects with Carl E. Mathes of Biloxi as the associate architect.  Currie and Corley of Raleigh, Mississippi were the onsite contractors.  The two-structure [50 feet by 100 feet] would house the most modern ice cream and dairy manufacturing equipment.  A.L. Mangin had the $2000 wiring contract.  Twenty-two men were employed in the construction of the structure.  The garage was to house six trucks. In later years Borden's, a national milk company, occupied this space, now home to Josette's, a costume rental agency.  The Ness Creameries plant was expected to be completed in mid-June. 1932(The Daily Herald, January 25, 1932, p. 1, April 5, 1932, p. 2, May 5, 1932, p. 2 and May 6, 1932, p. 2)


The City of Biloxi leased the  "Old Brick House" to the Dogwood Garden Club.(The Daily Herald, April 17, 1932, p. 4)


The Southern Memorial Park cemetery was founded December 27, 1932 by Robert Hays Holmes (1869-1949).


Building permits at Biloxi amounted to $46,925 in 1932.  The Ness Plant valued at $35,475 and permitted in February represented almost the entire year's construction.  The Biloxi Veterans Administration building was under construction at this time but was not included.(The Daily Herald, December 31, 1932, p. 8)



The Universal Construction Company has opened an office in the Folkes Building on West Howard Avenue near Reynoir Street.  The concern did over $67,000 work of marble and tile work at the new soldier's home [Biloxi VA] and there will be about 18 months of maintenance work to be done at the home which will be handled along with other work in the new Biloxi office.  The company already has branches in Mobile, NOLA, Baton Rouge and Shreveport.  C.C. Carter is the local manager.(The Daily Herald, March 20, 1933, p. 2)



The new Metropolitan Life Insurance Company building on Lameuse Street near Howard Avenue is nearing completion.  The brick work and roof are finished.  This structure was erected on the site of the former Smyley Building.(The Daily Herald, February 16, 1934, p. 2)


In June, George Seidule has acquired the old Pablo home on East Beach and started demolition today.  The building is a landmark that has been here for years, but is now in a dilapidated condition.(The Daily Herald, June 28, 1934, p. 5)


In late June, O.E. Thompson made extensive improvements to the Hahn Building on West Howard Avenue amd Magnolia Street.  Louis Hahn will move his Parlor Shoe Store to the east side of the building and J.E. Eliot Jewelery and Millinery Store will occupy the west half.(The Daily Herald, June 29, 1934, p. 8)


Demolition began last week, on the old Suter home, a two-story structure.  A new two-story complex will be erected by the Collins Brothers.  Each floor will have a screened porch. living room, bed room, dining nook, kitchen and bathroom.  John T. Collins is the architect.(The Daily Herald, October 22,1934, p. 3)



[The Daily Herald, April 1, 1935, p. 6 and July 3, 1935, p. 10]




Barq Home-Lameuse Street
Charles Morrison has commenced work on a new five-room home for Edward Barq adjacent to the new Barq's Bottling Plant on Lameuse Street and the L&N Railroad.  The home will be ready for the Barq's occupancy about the middle of January1937.(The Daily Herald, November 2, 1936, p. 5)




In February, construction at Biloxi saw the new Frank P. Corso home and warehouse, new Sinclair station, and Veteran's Facility being erected.  Improvement were being made to the new Barq's Root Beer plant.(The Daily Herald, February 3, 1937, p. 2)
Emery Sadler plans to build a home on Porter Avenue.  Carl Matthes is the architect and Starks and Schneller the contractors.(The Daily Herald, March 31, 1937)
Fred P. Moreton began a new cottage on Gill Avenue.  Manuel and Baker are contractors and Carl Matthes the architect.(The Daily Herald, March 31, 1937)
On April 1st, work began on the new Central Fire Station near City Hall between Main and Elmer Streets.  The new station was designed by John T. Collins and is 47 feet by 70 feet with a dormitory for 7 men and a kitchen.  It is taking the place of the Fayard Street fire station and fire apparatus from Mississippi Hook & Ladder Company No. 1 will be utilized.  Christian A. Thompson is superintendent of the 20 man work force erecting the $10,000 structure.  The new station was dedicated on July 1, the birthday of Mayor Louis Braun who is also fire commissioner for the City.(The Daily Herald, April 20, 1937, p. 1 and July 1, 1937, p. 1)


The new West End Fire Station was dedicated on July 8th. John T. Collins was project architect and Robert Conway built the fire engine.  Mayor Louis Braun reminded the audience that 15 months prior while a candidate for Mayor, he promised that he would make improvements to Biloxi's Fire Department if elected.(The Daily Herald, July 9, 1937, p. 1)


The new Back Bay Fire Station was dedicated on July 20th during the annual Picnic and Bazaar of the Fourth Ward Regulars.  John T. Collins was architect and Robert Conway had built the company's fire engine which had an 85 HP motor and 850 feet of regular hose.  It was the 5th fire apparatus for the Back Bay Fire Company since its 1904 organization.(The Daily Herald, June 21, 1937, p. 1)

The new Barq's Root Beer Company plant on Lameuse Street and the L&N Railroad was dedicated in early December.(The Daily Herald, Decemebr 8, 1937, p. 3)
The new Biloxi Community House [WPA Project 20,814] was approved by the President in June 1938. John T. Collins was the architect of the wood-frame Colonial style structure with an auditorium seating of 850 people and 350 people in the balcony.   The new building replaced the old community house and the cost to erect the building was $17,054 of which Biloxi was to fuenish $6,287.(The Daily Herald, June 15, 1938, p. 1)


Dr. D.B. Martinez secured a building permit for a home valued at $2500 at Oak Park.(The Daily Herald, December 31, 1938, p. 2)




The New Community House on Front Beach is  nearing completion.  Formal dedication is planned for late February or early March.(The Daily Herald, January 11, 1939, p. 1)


James P. Starks, contractor, is erecting a nurses recreation hall and a new Negro ward at the Biloxi Hospital.  In additon, he is building a new house for Neil Gryder on Forrest Avenue near Back Bay and a new home for himself on Santini Street.[The Daily herald, December 1, 1939, p. 8]




The new Bradford Funeral Home opened in early February.(The Daily Herald, February 3, 1940, p. 3)


In late April, Peter Cerinich (1894-1951) let a contract with Joseph Wallace to build a new store and residence on West Howard Avenue and Seal Avenue.  I. Daniel Gehr (1895-1959) designed the structures.  Clarence Kornman moved two houses from the Cerinich lot before construction commenced.  Other contractors were: Lester Frentz-painting; Albert Mangin-plumbing and electrical; and Biloxi Roof and Sheet Metal-roofing and metal work.  The Cerinich store was called the Biloxi Cash Grocery and operated by Alena Sekul Cerinich (1908-2002) for over fifty years.(The Daily Herald, April 27, 1940, p. 3 and The Sun Herald, July 6, 2002, p. A6)


The William Connell Gryder Jr. (1900-1982) residence, a six-room, brick-veneer structure built by James Starks and designed by I.D. Gehr (1895-1959), was nearing completion in Bay Terrace.  The Gryder place aslo had a garage and servants quarters.(The Daily Herald, April 29, 1940, p. 2) 


In May, Edward 'Buster' Braun demolished the old DiGregorio house on West Beach just west of the White House.  The structure was built about thirty years ago.(The Daily Herald, May 7, 1940, p. 8)


The Broadwater Beach opened bids for $10,000 in improvements.  Shrouds & Bean of Gulfport in charge of construction.(The Daily Herald, May 9, 1940, p. 6)


The Buena Vista opened six guest houses in May consisting of ten units each with accomodations for 32 people. The guest houses received full hotel service: telephone, maid service, and bellmen.(The Daily Herald, May 13, 1940, p. 3)


Jack Joachim Jr. is having a five-room, frame house erected by the Collins Brothers on the corner of Howard Avenue near Suter Lane.  Angeline D. Vlahos is erecting a six-room home on West Beach opposite the Marietta Cafe.  Comfort and Meaut are her contractors.  Joe Wallace is building a six-room home for Elmer Williams near the Howard No. 2 School.(The Daily Herald, May 14, 1940, p. 7)


Odeus Meyers (1884-1968) and Calus C. Meyers (1909-1999), store owners on Division Street who came to Biloxi in 1929 from Erath, Louisiana, announced in February that they would build the Myers Theatre on the southeast corner of Lameuse Street and Division.  The theatre would have 600-seats, cost $11,000 and Jack Fayard of Biloxi was their architect.  The new theatre opened on May 17th.(The Daily Herald, February 10, 1940, p. 1, February 16, 1940, p. 1, April 26, 1940, p. 2, and May 17, 1940, p. 2)


In June, the Gaynell Land Company [Walter Gex II of Bay St. Louis; Mendum H. Dees and Eugene Peresich] planned to build 217 spec homes costing between $3000 and $3500 on their recenlty acquired Oak Park property.  John T. Collins (1904-1985) was the project architect.(The Daily Herald, June 20, 1941, p. 1)


In late August, the US Housing Authority approved two housibg project contracts at Biloxi for the Bayou Auguste Homes and the Bayview Homes.  In September, the Biloxi Housing Authority contracted for $257, 179 with Pittman Brothers of NOLA and Ray V. Pisarich, local plumber and electrician, for the construction of the Bay View Housing projects on Bay View Avenue and Fountain's Alley.  This endeavor consisted of 16 buildings with 96 units designed by Matthes & Landry and John T. Collins, local architects.  This was the first low-rent public housing at Biloxi.  Their next project was the Bayou Auguste Homes for Black people.  Its contract was for $243,837 with Pittman Brothers as general contractor.  At this time, the BHA board consisted of: Chester A. Delacruz, chairman; Mendum H. Dees, vice-chairman; C.N. Ellzey; Victor B. Pringle; and Warren Goodman.(The Daily Herald, august 31, 1940, p. 1 and September 23, 1940, p. 1)


In September, the Collins Brothers acquired the Caldwell Building on West Howard Avenue.  It had 102 feet on West Howard and was occupied by Newberry's Gift Shop; Standard Furniture Company; Coast Cigar and Tobacco; and United Novelty.  William Collins (1887-1970) and George Collins (1891-1968) had erected the building in 1926 for the Caldwell family.(The Daily Herald, September 24, 1940, p. 1)


In mid-October, William Bond of Gulfport was building an adobe home on Division Street and Porter.  Blocks for the structure were made from local sand and clay mixed with 5% cement.(The Daily Herald, October 14, 1940, p. 2)          


On October 13th, W.J. Currie and family moved into their new six-room home Bay Terrace.  It was acquired from the Metropolitan Life Insurance Company for $4000.  Originally the property of Albert Sydney Johnston, it is an attractive and modern structure.(The Daily Herald, October 14, 1940, p. 2)   




In March, Biloxi was selected as the site for an Army Air Corps school.(The Jackson County Times, March 22, 1941, p. 1)

The new Biloxi High School auditorium is finished and a credit to the city.(The Daily Herald, April 22, 1941, p.5) 

Pepsi Cola opened a bottling plant on Caillavet Street in May 1941. N.H. Hatten of Gulfport acquired the plant in November 1946.(The Daily Herald, August 19, 1948)

In May 1941, the City of Biloxi leased the 685-acre Naval Reserve Park to the Federal Government for an aviation school.(Harrison Co., Ms. Land Deed Bk. 241, pp. 119-130)

The Gaynel Land Company was incorporated by Eugene Peresich, Mendum H. Dees and W.J. Gex Jr. of Bay St. Louis on June 12th. Their mission was to acquire and develop real estate. On June 20th, they announced plans to build 217 homes at Biloxi. They had 78 lots in Oak Park and an option on 140 lots in west Biloxi.  John T. Collins was their architect/(The Daily Herald, June 20, 1941, p. 1 and p. 7)

In July, the telephone company announced a $70,000 improvement plan at Biloxi to provide permanent telephone facilities at Keesler Field.  A new cable with a 1200 phone line capacity will be laid on the north side of Howard Avenue commencing at Fayard Street to the military base.(The Daily Herald, July 1, 1941, p. 1)

In July, three new homes were under construction:  George Stannus had hired J.P. Starks and was erecting a 1 1/2 story, brick veneer home on Gill Avenue.  J.P. Starks was building for Clarence Frentz, a one-story, Colonial style house on Hopkins Boulevard near the L&N Railroad.  Joe Wallace was contracted by Kenner Hunt for his new home in Bay Terrace.(The Daily Herald, July 4, 1941, p. 7)    
The Harlem Theatre, a movie house for Blacks located on Main Street near Division Street, opened on July 5th. Henry Meyers (1914-2004), owner and manager, of the 40 feet by 105 feet, steel-framed building with a 525 person seating capacity and costing $15,000.(The Daily Herald, July 4, 1941, p. 7)
On July 22nd, the citizens of Biloxi approved a waterworks bond issue to build a $1,400,000 sewerage systemand $209,000 in waterworks improvements.(The Daily Herald, July 24, 1941, p. 1)
By late July, the foundations for 233 buildings had been laid at Keesler Field.  The new military base was 6.4% completed and there were 9877 laborers employed in its construction.(The Daily Herald, July 26, 1941, p. 3)
Coast Land Company, Inc. was founded in mid-August 1941 by J.D. Stennis Jr., J.E. Hartzog, and Victor B. Pringle. Walters.(Harrison Co., Mississippi 2nd JD Chattel Deed Copy Bk. 7, 721) 
Gulf Coast Properties, Inc. was founded in late August 1941 by J.D. Stennis Jr., J.E. Hartzog, and L. Walters.(Harrison Co., Mississippi 2nd JD Chattel Deed Copy Bk. 7, 732) 
In late July, the City of Biloxi led by Mayor Louis Braun acquired the Lighthouse Keeper's house and tract on West Beach to use as a permanent home for the Chamber of Commerce.  The Chamber was located in the ground floor of the Avelez Hotel at this time.  In late October, Warren Jackson (1886-1972) was elected Secretary of the Biloxi Chamber of Commerce to replace Anthony V. Ragusin (1902-1997), who had enlisted in the Army Air Corps. Mrs. Monte Hance had served as acting secretary since Ragusin's departure.(The Daily Herald, August 1, 1941, p. 3 and October 29, 1941, p. 1)    
The new Biloxi High School football field on Division and Lee Streets was first used in September 1941.(The Daily Herald, September 17, 1941, p. 6)
By mid-September, the 16-month efforts of the Biloxi Port Commission and from city officials and leading Biloxi citizens, were nearly realized with the completion of the Westergard Boat Works on Back Bay at the foot of Lee Street.  I. Daniel Gehr (1895-1959), local architect supervised the construction of the warehouse, fabricating buiulding, loft and drafting buildings, general offices, and work sheds.  The larger strutures were of fabricated steel construction with concrete foundations while the smaller buildings were modern, frame structures.  Currie & Corley of Hattiesburg, Mississippi was the general contractor while other employed to erect the shipyard were: Iron Steel Products Company; Albert J. Ragusin-plumbingRay V. Pisarich, electricaland roofing-Biloxi Roofing and Sheet Metal.
The Jackson County dredge built the channel into the boatyard which had a 400-foot frontage on Back Bay.(The Daily Herald, September 20, 1941, p. 3)
Gaynel Gardens, a subdivision with 168 lots and established by the Gaynel Land Company of  Mendum H. Dees, president; Walter J. Gex II, (1906-1958), vice president, of Bay St. Louis; and Eugene Peresich, secretary-treasurer, was under construction.  The tract was bounded on the north by Back Bay; on the west by Keesler Field; a park [249 feet x 343 feet] was planned for the SW/C;  Lowery, LaSalle, and Lafayette Streets ran west from Forrest Avenue to Keesler Field; two, forty-foot wide streets, Woodlawn Place and Oaklawn Place ran north-south and were ready for oyster shell surfacing.  It was expected that Kensington Drive [Tuxedo Avenue] would be built by the federal government.  The five houses under construction are expected to be completed by November 1st and five houses are expected to be ready every week thereafter until the first thirty residences are built.(The Daily Herald, October 6, 1941, p. 7)
The City of Biloxi due to the construction of the Army Air Corps technical school [Keesler Field], the accelerated shipbuilding activity at Ingalls in Pascagoula, Mississippi and the activation and growth at Camp Shelby, was a hub of activity and its infrastructure and housing availability was stressed.  A new $1,546,000 water and sewer system was to be built with the federal government providing $531,000 of the necessary funds.(The Daily Herald, October 7, 1941, p. 7)
Several buildings were moved by Ojo Ohr to the new site of Camp Wilkes.  Among them were eight cabins, the keeper's house and a warehouse.(The Daily Herald, October 27, 1941, p. 7) 
The L&N Railroad has started work on the passenger shed at its Biloxi depot.  B.R. Keebler, bridge foreman, has a crew of 20 men building the steel, passenger shed from Reynoir Street to the west end of the Express office, a distance of 350 feet.  The project will take three weeks.(The Daily Herald, October 30, 1941, p. 7) 
In October, there were 6000 men stationed at Keesler Field.  4500 soldiers were living in barracks while 1500
men were still in tents.  300 buildings had been completed of the 647 structures to be erected.(The Daily Herald, October 13, 1941, p. 1) 
Tri-State Construction Company of Atlanta was low bidder at $89, 134 to erect the USO recreation center at Biloxi to meet the recreation needs of soldiers stationed at Keesler Field.  The Defense Works Agency provided $90,000 for its erection.  The structure would be 125 feet by 155 feet, one-story and covered with asbestos siding.  The building would have a seating capacity of 2500 and the stage was 24 feet by 72 feet.  An additional $15,000 was necessary to equip the USO recreational center.  John T. Collins and Carl Matthes, architects, were involved in its design. Work on the USO building was started by 100 men in early December with a completion date of February 26, 1942.(The Daily Herald, October 15, 1941, p. 1, October 15, 1941, p. 7, November 25, 1941, p. 1, and December 1, 1941, p. 1)
The R.P. Farnsworth Company had 250 men working on Harrison Court, a $586,000 defense housing project at Bay Terrace.  The final development would consist of eighty-seven buildings to house 175 families with a completion date of January 1942.(The Daily Herald, October 17, 1941, p. 1)
In late December, $75,000 was allocated by the Defense Public Works to complete the Biloxi Junior High School building. The WPA had closed down the project several months ago due to a paucity of WPA labor at Biloxi. The WPA had already expended $27, 937 on the school's construction and the land cost was $15,000.  Voter's had also approved $47,000 in funding for the new school. The plant was to have eighteen classrooms, as well as, home economics, science and manual training facilities. Work was anticipated to start in thirty days from a John T. Collins design.(The Daily Herald, December 31, 1941, p. 1) 






The $89,000, United Service Organization [USO] Building was erected in three months by the Tri-State Construction Company of Atlanta.  Work commenced in early December 1941 and the USO was dedicated in March 1942. The structure was damaged by Camille in 1969 and subsequently demolished.(The Daily Herald, December 1, 1941, p. 1, March 13, 1942, p. 1 and March 16, 1942, p. 1)

Christian  A. Thompson was awarded the $66,274 contract to build the Biloxi Inner Harbor at the foot of  Main Street.  The movement for its construction was started by the Chamber of Commerce in response to the needs of Keesler Field and Key Field at Meridian, Mississippi.  These military installations will have access to the docks and piers at the harbor.  Work will not begin until a work order is issued by the Board of Supervisors.  The plans for the Biloxi Inner Harbor by John T. Collins and Matthes & Landry were approved  in April by Dewey Lawrence, Beat 1 Supervisor.(The Daily Herald, April 21, 1942, p. 1 and November 11, 1942, p. 1 and p. 9)




In late May, ground was broken for an $84,000 addition to the Biloxi Hospital.(The Daily Herald, June 1, 1943, p. 7)


Biloxi Homes, Inc. and Miramar Homes, Inc. owned by L.C. Cauthen, F.C. Berry, and W. Marshall Moore of Charlotte, North Carolina were erecting fifty, four-room, framehouses with asbestos siding on Division Street east of Holley Street. The company erected a warehouse on Division Street between Dorries and Crawford Streets.  In the Miramar Subdivision the company was erecting fifty-one, five and six-room domiciles that were more expensive than the Division Street project.  Locally, W.E. Beasley was their real esatte agent; Allan Bradford, engineer; and W.L. Guice, thier legal representative.(The Daily Herald, November 1, 1943, p. 2 and Decemebr 1, 1943, p. 1)


In November, the Harrison Courts, named for US Senator (Ms) Byron P. 'Pat' Harrison, a $193,000, a pre-fabricated, housing project built by Algernon Blair.  There were sixteen buildings comprising 100 housing units.  The community building was 60% completed and included a clinic, kitchen and other rooms.(The Daily Herald, November 5, 1943, p. 2)


United Gas Company was laying a 4 inch, intermediate pressure, gas line [cast iron and steel-welded]to provide more volume to the north and northeast sections of Biloxi.(The Daily herald, December 1, 1943, p. 7)



Ingalls Ship Building completed the SS Sea Hare, the first C-3 vessel, to be constructed without a lost-time accident reported.  The vessel was launched on December 29, 1944.(The Daily Herald, December 30, 1944, p. 1)



Ed Barq Jr. had an elevator installed in the two-story Barq's Building on West Howard Avenue.


The Knights of Columbus acquired the office of Dr. D.B. Martinez on Lameuse Street and planned to erect a two-story home here for their socials and meetings.  In the mean time, the Dr. Martinez office would be used for socials only and the Knights would continue to meet at their usual place above Eddie's Drugstore.  John Mavar Jr. was Grand Kight of the Biloxi Council at this time.(The Daily Herald, July 18, 1945, p. 7)


The second floor of the Barq's Building on West Howard Avenue is being refurbished.  Collins Brothers is the general contractor.  The work consisted of providing five more office suites and an entrance from Reynoir Street. A new steel staircase is being installed on the on the north side to give access to the parking lot.  Jordy Brothers is laying a composition tile floor; Philip Dellenger is the painter; Albert Mangin is doing the electrical work and Ray Pisarich is the plumber.  Miss Claire Sekul, attorney, and Dr. F.J. Harrell will occupy the new offices.(The Daily Herald, November 27, 1945, p. 5)





Mr. George Baker on Santini Street has just complete a new home.  Home are under construction on Forrest Avenue for C.A. Cox; Lafayette Street- for J.D. Tapper; Wilkes Street for Mrs. J.M. Mugnier; and on Jeff Davis for John A. Bernich.  J.D. Gehr is the architect for each of these homes and F.N. Sherrill the contractor for all except the Bernich home which is being erected by Charles Parker.(The Daily Herald, July 25, 1947)



The new Daily Herald building at 209 West Water Street was almost completed.  Collins & Collins, architects, and Collins Brothers Contracting erected the 37-foot by 50-foot structure.(The Daily Herald, January 7, 1948, p. 1)

Dr. B.Z. Welch, chairman of the Main Street Methodist Church building committee, announced plans for a new sanctuary on Hopkins Boulevard.  Carl Matthes was named architect.(The Daily Herald, March 1, 1948, p. 2)


D.M. Tice, proprietor of Tice's Roller Rink, reopened his newly constructed roller rink on West Beach near Delauney Street on April 5th.  The new building was larger [40 feet by 90 feet] and stronger than that destroyed by the September 1947 Hurricane. Ray Koppleman sold double-dip frozen custard and Al Gobel entertained on the Hammond organ. Mr. Tice has been in the skating business since 1936.(The Daily Herald, April 3, 1948, p. 3, and April 6, 1948, p. 5)

The $50,000, Gulf Coast Drive Inn Theatre situated on Pass Road about  1/2 mile west of the VA and owned by Chester A. Knight planned to open about May 1st.  The screen will be 30 feet by 40 feet and made of asbestos.  The open air theatre can accomodate about 300 automobiles.(The Daily Herald, April 7, 1948, p. 1)


The Magnolia Motel Cottages of Anson Holley (1908-1975) and Lionel Holley (1911-1993) and located on West Beach and Magnolia Street opened in April.  There were eight furnished cottages with kitchenettes.(The Daily Herald, April 7, 1948, p. 4)

The Artic Bar on West Beach near Couevas Street will open about 1 June.  A. Herman and Joseph Cleary announced that the new, $10,000 building will be 30-feet by 40-feet and of tile block construction.  The Arctic bar on Lameuse Street south of the Peoples Bank will remain in operation.(The Daily Herald, May 14, 1948, p. 8)


John Treuting of Vacation Village has started construction of a new, $6000 grill on East Beach near Main Street which will be operated by Mr. and Mrs. John R. McCaughey.  The 19-ft. by 31-foot structure will have 8 inch brick walls and placed on the lot as not to destroy the beautiful oak trees.  John T. Colins and Associates are the architects and engineers and expect to finish work by 4 July.(The Daily Herald, May 18, 1948)Ernest E. Summerlin (1921-1998), recent US Coast Guard serviceman, is clearing lot in the 1600 block of East Howard Avenue to erect a new movie theatre.  The 28-foot by 80-foot, wood frame building with celotex interior will cost $18,000 and seat 300 people.  His brother, Robert Summerlin, will assist in the construction.(The Daily Herald, May 24, 1948,  p. 6)


A new, $140,000, colored school [Nicholls?] situated near Bayou Augustine was under construction.  It was to be a brick, two-storied structure with 14 rooms and an auditorium to seat 600 people.  H.J. Koski & Company were the contractors.(The Daily Herald, January 31, 1948, p. 3 and July 10, 1948, p. 6)


The Beach House of the Broadwater Beach Hotel has recently been completed to serve guests on the recently completed sand beach.  There are showers on the 600-foot pier and dredging has made the water depth at the end of the pier safe for diving.  Dressing rooms are available for both sexes and lockers will be installed soon.  This $125,000, 2000 sq.-ft., concrete, re-enforced steel structure finalized a two-year $625,000 expansion program at the Biloxi hotel which consisted of the addition of a three floors of air conditioned rooms to the main building and redocoration of the Rainbow Room, bar, lobby, and coffee shop.  The Beach House contains the Snack Shop operated by Mrs. helen Brown serving cold drinks, ice cream, magazines, sun tan lotions and drug sundries.  A Beauty Shop is supervised by Mrs. A.B. Steward and the barbershop is run by Mrs. Myrtle Rayburn. (The Daily Herald, June 30, 1948, p. 4)    


Baricev's Restaurant planned to open in early July after being destroyed in the September 1947 Hurricane.  The new building was 47 feet by 70 feet and was located on the site of the old Marietta Cafe.  Peter J. Baricev (1921-1996) of John T. Collins Construction Company designed the new restaurant.(The Daily Herald, June 30, 1948, p. 1) 


In late July, the cornerstone for the new $300,000 Bell South building on West Howard Avenue was laid.  It was made of Indiana limestone as was the base of the structure.  Completion was anticpated about November 1st.(The Daily Herald, July 30, 1948, p. 1)


The Southern Bell Telephone and Telegraph new telephone exchange building on West Howard Avenue was under construction. The building was erected to house the new dial system. Biloxi was one of the first cities of its size to receive the new technology. Cost for the project was approximately $916,000.(The Daily Herald, August 4, 1948, p. 4)   


West Beach Arms, a 14-unit apartment house situated on West Beach Boulevard and Heartease Park was completed in October.  Construction by Emery Sadler (1899-1959), owner, started in February and cost about $107,000.(The Daily Herald, October 1, 1948, p. 1)

In mid-October, the Teche Greyhound Lines acquired the old Methodist Church property on Main Street behind City Hall from Adrian Weill.  Teche Greyhound Lines was managed locally by Val Lunday and the bus company planned to erect a terminal here.  The Methodist parish house was relocated by Mr. Weill.(The Daily Herald, October 12, 1948, p. 1.)


The new Jitney Jungle Store of Richard Creel (1913-2006), a butcher formerly with the H.G. Hill store and A&P, and Oliver F. Diaz (1915-1958), owner of several Quickway Store, opened in mid-November on the north side of West Beach Boulevard between Reynoir and Fayard Streets.  Sam Mitchell had the concrete structure built.  Mitchell's other tenants were: the Biloxi Pottery and Art Gallery of Duckett and an ice cream parlor owned by Ronald Ladnier.(The Daily Herald, November 17, 1948, p. 6)


Anson Holley II (1908-1975) and Lionel J. Holley (1910-1993) opened the new Holley's Triple XXX at 300 West Beach on November 19th.  The old building was built in 1925 and acquired by the Holley family in 1935.  The 1947 Hurricane damaged the structure and a $40,000, 2-story building was erected on the former Triple XXX site.  The new 3500 sq.-ft. building with a signature, curved, glass block facade had a lounge, restaurant and private dining room on the 2nd floor.(The Daily Herald, November 17, 1948, p. 12)  


The new Standard Oil Station [Standard Oil of Kentucky] located at Porter Aveue and West Beach formally opened on December 1st.  It cost $30,000 to build.(The Daily Herald, November 27, 1948, p. 2)



The Foodland Store of Andrew Gillich (1923-2014) and Jacobena Sekul Gillich (1913-2003) at 1400 West Howard Avenue, now Judge Sekul Drive, was completed and opened for business on March 3rd by the J.P. Starks Construction Company, General Contractor; Lamey Electric; and Saucier Brothers Roofing.  The building was 50 feet in width and 90 feet long and included a three bedroom apartment for the owners.  Mary Gillich was the assistant manager.  The Gilich family had formerly operated the City Hall Cash Grocery at 129 East Howard Avenue.   Andrew Puzz (1895-1971) of Quality Bakery made a 4-foot tall, 7 layer cake weighting 185 pounds for their Foodland's anniverary in March 1950.(The Daily Herald, March 2, 1949, p. 6  and March 3, 1950, p. 15)



In early February, Emery Sadler planned to build 64 apartments in ten buildings on West Beach Boulevard west of the Broadwater Beach Hotel.  Currie & Corley, Raleigh, Mississippi were named general contractor.  FHA Title 608 would finance the construction.(The Daily Herald, February 2, 1950, p. 1)


 PRINGLE BUILDING [built 1950]

137 G.O. OHR

[Image made June 8, 2011 by Ray L. Bellande]


John Toler was issued a permit to erect 5 tourist cabins valued at $7500 at the Beach Manor Hotel at West Beach [sic] and Nixon.(The Daily Herald, March 21, 1950, p. 8.


Devoy Colbet's new Beachwater Cafe opened in early August on West Beach Boulevard and Reynoir Street to replace the one lost in the 1947 Hurricane. The 5500 square-foot, structure was built for $60,000 by Bernard and Byrd Contractors using Ray V. Pisarich, plumbing and heating; August Tremmel and Son, roofing; and O'Neal Electric. Robert 'Bob' Mahoney was named general manager.(The Daily Herald, August 3, 1950, p. 2)


The Pringle Building [48 feet by 50 feet] on Jackson and Delauney [now G.E. Ohr Boulevard] was completed in early October.  It was built for Victor B. Pringle by J.P. Starks from a John T. Collins design.  Victor B. Pringle (1909-1977) and Joseph D. Stennis (1900-1958), attorneys, moved to the new structure from the 1st Bank Building.  Rudolph Felson, CPA, was their other tenant.(The Daily Herald, October 3, 1950, p. 8)


In mid-October, Paul Starks, contractor, is erecting a brick and tile building on the corner of Porter Avenue and Cemetery Street, now Irish Hill Drive, for Nick Eliopoulis.  The 3000 sq.-ft. structure will be divided into two shops-a drugstore operated by Raymond V.  ?  and a  .  The West End Pharmacy of Marco M. Butirich (1927-2005), operated here for many years.(The Daily Herald, October 13, 1950, p. 7)


In late November, the Beach Manor Hotel Cottages on East Beach were sold by John L. Toler to E.R. Newcomb and Bernice C. Newcomb of Alexandria, Louisiana.  The property had 52 units with 21 cottages.  It had been owned by Mr. Toler for 30 years.  The resort was managed by Ed O' Reilly and spouse.(The Daily Herald, November 30, 1950, p. 6)


In December, the U.S. Corps of Engineers received a bid of $644,046 dollar for the dredging of a sand beach from the Biloxi Lighthouse to DeBuys Road with sewer system and culverts.(The Daily Herald, December 4, 1950, p. 1)

The Sadler Pontiac Company relocated from Main Street to their new quarters on the south side of US Highway 90 opposite the Riviera Hotel near Lameuse Street.  The land was leased from H.V. Sherill and JP Starks was general contractor for the 6800 sq-ft building.  Emery F. Sadler (1899-1959).proprietor, had gone from an automobile salesman at Biloxi to a Pontiac dealership in 1938.  Brielmeir Glass, Compton Electric, and Edgar Crawford, plumber were some of the subcontractors of the Sadler car dealership building.  Opening ceremonies were held December 11th. (The Daily Herald, December 9, 1950, p. 6)
The West End Pharmacy opened in the new brick building of Nick Eliopolos on the NW.C of Porter and Cemetery Street [Irish Hill Drive].  Owned by Raymond Bass, the pharmacy is managed by Ned Fremin, who was pharmacist at the Avenue Pharmacy for 13 years. The new building is 26 feet wide by 58 feet deep and made from yellow tile and brick.(The Daily Herald, January 23, 1951) 
Eight new home building permits were issued by Biloxi in January: Harry P. Gautier-$9000 residence at Miller and St. George Street; Richard R. Guice-$5000 duplex at 2206-8 Wilkes Avenue; Vetsie Gabrich-$3000 residence on West Division; Ray H. Kleiser-$2000 residence on Chalmers Avenue; W.C. Sanderford-$1000 residence at 457 Hopkins Boulevard; Vaurice Peyton-$1000 residence on Huff Alley.(The Daily Herald, January 16, 1952, p. 6)
The new Bay View Homes Addition, another project of the Biloxi Housing Authority, opened on January 1st when the John Babuchna (1909-1973) family moved into their new quarters.  The addition consisted of six, two-story brick, apartment buildings.  The $310,000, low rent, public housing project was designed and engineered by Landry & Matthes and John T. Collins, local architects.  Stanley W. Newman Company of Mobile, Alabama was the general contractor.  Rents ranged from $11 to $34 per month.(The Daily Herald, January 5, 1952, p. 1) 
The new Medical Arts Building at 1145 West Howard Avenue built by Sydney Manuel, designed by John T. Collins, and owned by Gordon Dacey had two tenants-the pharmacy of George Pitalo (1924-2006) and The Children's Clinic of Dr. F.J. Vlazny and Dr. R.D. Hawkins.(The Daily Herald, January 16, 1952, p. 6)
In April, Uriah S. Joachim announced plans to erect Combel's Merchandise Mart, a 4200 square-foot, commerical building, situated on the Lucille Caillavet property at West Howard Avenue and Thomas Street.  The structure was designed by John T. Collins with G.C. Gardner of Ocean Springs as contractor.  Joachim related that Combel's Hardware and Suppply Company at West Howard avenue and Magnolia Street will remain at its location of fifty years.(The Daily Herald, April 5, 1952, p. 9)

In August 1952, Oscar Jordan (1882-1967), H.L. Schwan and Robert Harrison were completing a two-story, tile building on the corner of Main and Murray Street in Biloxi. The first floor consisted of seven store compartments and a hotel lobby while the upper story was a Colored hotel with 36-rooms.  The structure was 50 feet by 67 feet and built with Arkansas tile.  Subcontractors for the building erection were: Pisarich Plumbing, Schwan Electrical and Jalanivich Kool Vent awning.  Some of the original tenants were: Mickey Poulos’ Buy and Sell Shop; Curet Flower Shop; and the Deluxe Shoe Store of Roosevelt Williams.(The Daily Herald, August 8, 1952, p. 8)

Sunkist County Club announced that they planned to erect their new $90,000 clubhouse which was to be designed by Biloxi architect, John T. Collins.(The Daily Herald, December 23, 1952, p.9)
A new $30,000 Biloxi fire station was proposed for Jeff Davis Avenue and the L&N RR on Biloxi's West End.(The Daily Herald, December 24, 1952, p. 10)
The Epworth Methodist Church planned a new $35,000 church from a design by Roy Kuykendall, Laurel architect. Reverend Eugene Dyess relates that the existing church building and recreation hall on the personage lot situated on the NW/C at Walker and Davis Streets will continue to be utilized.(The Daily Herald, March 1, 1954, p. 4)   
In early March, the East Howard Avenue Baptist Church and Reverend H. Fred Williams broke ground for a new education building.  Jone & Kirkland were contractors for the 12,630 sq.-ft., two-story, brick structure.  Reverend Williams came to Biloxi on March 1, 1953 from the Glade Baptist Church at Laurel, Mississippi.  He changed the named of the church, which had been known as the Second Baptist Church to the East Howard Baptist Church.(The Daily Herald, March 2, 1954, p. 7)
The proposed new $25,000 American Legion home on Lameuse Street and Water Street had its intial fund raiser in January.  Dr. George L. Percy, Commander of the Charles L. Baudry Post No. 33, invited Mayor Laz Quave, City officials, Beat 1 Supervisor Dewey Lawrence, as well as representatives of KAFB, to hear C.D. Gully of Pascagoula, Commander of the Southern District of the American Legion.(The Daily Herald, January 12, 1955, p. 10)  
In early September, James Starks, general contractor, began pouring the concrete foundation for the $200,000 NBVM Elementary School.(The Daily Herald, September 2, 1955, p. 8)




In 1956, the Tivoli Hotel became the Tradwinds and 16 new units were commenced and were anticpated to be completed in February 1957.  A $100,000 restaurant for the Tradewinds was also planned.  The new $118,000 1st Presbyterian Church on West Beach was started with a 1957 completion date anticipated.(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1957, p. 1)
Manager Jimmie Love of the Hotel Buena Vista was issued a building permit for a new $370,000, deluxe, 84-room, motel to be located on the beach opposite the hotel.  General contractor was G.E. bass and Company of Jackson.  Compton's Electric Company was awarded the electrical contract and Davis Plumbing of Jackson, the mechanical work.  Project architects were Biggs, Weir and Chandler of Jackson, Mississippi. (The Daily herald, November 9, 1956, p. 1)
The year 1957 was marked with increased commercial building at Biloxi.  A new, estimated $1.1 million, US Post Office and Federal Building was planned for the site of the Howard I Elementary School.  The old US Post Office will probably become Biloxi's new City Hall.  A $370,300, 84-unit, motel on the southside of US 90 opposite the Buena Vista Hotel was planned.  The $50,000, eight-unit motel started in 1956 at the White House Hotel was anticipating a January opening.  The new, 252-bed KAFB Hospital was 91% completed and was expected to open in April.  Proposals and planning to improve Biloxi streets and roads were in the agenda as Cemetery Street, now Irish Hill Drive, was planned to be opened westward to Iberville Street.  Property for extending Washington Street, now M.L. King Jr., to the west had been acquired.(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1957, p. 1)
In April, the Buena Vista Hotel formally opened its new, $370,300, 84-unit motel on four-acres fronting the Gulf across U.S. 90 from its hotel and convention center.(Down South, May-June 1958, p. 25)  
Ground was broken on January 12th for the new St. John's Church on Lameuse Street. The Reverend Michael Fox (1918-1969), pastor, Henry F. Fountain Jr. (1924-2011), architect, Ralph Marion, contractor, and Ernest Boney, building committee.(The Daily Herald, January 13, 1959, p. 2)
The new Winn-Dixie Supermarket in the Point Cadet Shoppong Center opened on June 2, 1959.  L.B. Rawls was the manager.  he had managed the Winn-Dixie Hill Store on Howard Avenue.(The Daily Herald, June 2, 1959, p. 2)
Brice Building Company of NOLA was awarded a $299,575 contract to erect a Negro High School at Biloxi. After I.D. Gehr (1895-1959), project architect died, John T. Collins (1904-1985) took his place and alssupervised the unfinished portion of the addition to the West End Elementary School, another I. Daniel Gehr project.(The Daily Herald, July 25, 1959, p. 1)
The $60,000 East Howard Avenue Baptist Church on East Howard Avenue and Maple Street was dedicated on November 29th.  The brick and glass, structure was 86 feet deep and 48 feet wide with a seating capacity of about 500 people including the balcony area.  The Reverend Leo C. Hoff (1913-2009), a native of Brookhaven, Lincoln County, Mississippi, had come to this Biloxi church 2 1/2 years ago from the Bunker Hill Baptist Church near Columbia, Mississippi.  The Reverend Hoff expired at Norwood, Lincoln County, Mississippi on April 17, 2009.(The Daily Herald, November 28, 1959, p. 6)
G.E. Bass and Company, Jackson, Mississippi was awarded the $1,455, 363 contract to build a new white public high school on Father Ryan in West Biloxi.(The Daily Herald, December 4, 1959, p. 1)
The new Biloxi Municipal Stadium (called Yankee Stadium for Frank 'Yankee' Barhanovich) on Lee Street was formally dedicated  on December 4th with the 20th Annual Shrimp Bowl game.  Claude 'Monk' Simon of NOLA described it as 'one of the finest I've seen in the Deep South'.  Biloxi defeated De La Salle of NOLA 20-12.(The Daily Herald, December 5, 1959, p. 8 and p. 16) 



In early January, E.A. 'Buster' Braun (1906-1990), one of the proprietors of The New Park Hotel, at 444 Reynoir Street was having the old hotel demolished for salvage(The Daily Herald, January 8, 1960, p. 17)

Ernest V. Landaiche (1895-1966), proprietor of Bayview Lanes, on Lameuse and Bayview Avenue, opened his new bowling alley on January 19, 1960.  It was formally dedicated January 30-31st.(The Daily Herald, January 19, 1960, p. 6 and January 28, 1960, p. 27)
J.B. Michael & Company planned to start construction of the new, $6 million, Biloxi-Ocean Springs Bridge in sixty days.  The Biloxi Concrete Casting Company on Clay Point was ready to commence casting for the new span in early March.(The Daily Herald, March 11, 1960, p. 1)
J.O. Collins, general contractor, planned to have Biloxi City Hall ready for occupancy by April 2nd. The $40,000 refurbishment of the former Post Office building on Lameuse and Jackson cost about $40,000.(The Daily Herald, March 15, 1960, p. 1)
The new BOQ at Keesler AFB was nearing completion in early  August.  The five-story structure had accomodations for 194 officers.(The Daily Herald, August 9, 1960, p. 6)
The new, 6500 sq-ft., Goodyear store building at 601 West Howard Avenue opened in late October. In addition to selling new tire, the enterprise did front end alighnments and wheel balancing,as well as replacing mufflers and tail pipes.`General Electric appliances were sold.(The Daily Herald, November 2, 1960, p. 12)
Gulf Towers  [The Daily Herald, November 5, 1960, p. 1]
Gulf Towers, a ten-story, a $2 million, apartment building at 824 Central Beach Boulevard, was ready to break ground.  Barlow and Plunkett designed the structure for Gulf Towers Inc. lead by  Charles Crisler Jr., Jackson attorney, and Jerry J. O'Keefe, Biloxi businessman.  Howie Construction of Jackson was the contractor.(The Daily Herald, November 5, 1960, p. 1)



In March, contracts of  over $2 million were awarded to erect the new Howard Memorial Hospital. on Back Bay.  Construction is expected to require 600 calendar days.(The Daily Herald, March 10, 1961, p. 1)



First Federal Savings and Loan Building-dedicated February 1962

[image made June 2011 by Ray L. Bellande-1st Federal Savings & Loan Building was refurbished after Katrina and The Half Shell Restaurant opened here in June 2011]


First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Biloxi, which was organized by Jacinto B. Baltar (1897-1988) and chartered on February 3, 1936, dedicated their new building on the SW/C of Lameuse Street and Water Street on February 3, 1962.  Martha Joachim, grand daughter of Uriah S. Joachim (1888-1977), president of the company, cut the ribbon at the dedication.  Former Mayor George Barrow Couisns Jr. (1909-1966) was the emcee for the ceremony which coincided with the 26th anniversary of the savings and loan association.  The Spanish Colonial design for the two-story, antique brick structure was done by John T. Collins of Biloxi in association with Carl E. Matthes Jr. of Matthes & Landry, Hattiesburg, Mississippi.  The company moved from 414 Reynoir Street where it had leased an office since 1954.  In 1936. the First Federal and Loan Association was situated in the office of Baltar-White-Sadler Company on Lameuse Street.  In 1938, it moved to the Yerger-Barq's Building on West Howard Avenue in conjunction with the E.W. Sadler Company.  In 1940, they relocated to the Baltar Realty Company at 412 Reynoir Street.  (The Daily Herald, February 2, 1962, p. 2)  In 2010, the Half Shell, a seafood restaurant, opened here.

The Biloxi Housing Authority lead by Victor Pringle et al contracted for $900,395 with Algernon Blair Inc. of Montgomery, Alabama to build additions to the East End Homes and Bayou Auguste Homes, Biloxi public housing projects.  The new construction was designed by John T. Collins and Leonard A. Collins.  At the East End Homes, three buildings with fifteen family units were proposed.  The Bayou Auguste Homes construction consisted of fourteen buildings with fifty dwelling units.  The BHA has housed over 6000 families and in lieu of taxes has paid the City of Biloxi more than $200,000 since its inception in the 1940s.(The Daily Herald, November 30, 1962, p. 1)



Mississippi Power Company contracted with W.M. Craig Company of Gulfport to erect a new, $175,000 service center  on the corner of Oak Street and the L&N Railroad.  The new facility was a part of the utility company's propsoed $2.5 million dollar expansion program during the next three years.  John T. Collins and Leonard A. Collins were architects.(The Daily Herald, April 27, 1963, p. 1)



The new L&N Depot, a metal building [120 feet by 32 feet] situated just west of the 60 year old wooden depot, was schedule to be completed in early August.  It was erected by the Marion Brick, Tile, and Cement Company.  The old structure was to be dismantled.(The Daily Herald, July 9, 1964, p. 5)


The $150,000, 5000 square-ft., Harbor Light Restaurant and Lounge of Louis C.  Uchello (1909-1996), also owner of the Sun Tan Motel, was nearing completion on East Beach.  The Uchello business was destroyed by Hurricane Camille in Augsut 1969.(The Daily Herald, July 23, 1964, p. 20 and The Sun Herald, September 28, 1996)


The Saxony Apartments, a 48-unit apartment building which were constructed beginning on December 20, 1963, began leasing in July. Built by a Louisina group that included LSU and NBA great, Bob Petit.(The Daily Herald, July 23, 1964, p. 9)


Holiday Inn


Holiday Inn, owned by Gulfshore Inc. & asssociates was commenced in August.  Sherwood Ray Bailey (1921-1989), lumberyard proprietor and home builder who came to Gulfport on the Mississippi Gulf Coast in 1951, was president of the company.  WOB Construction Company of Memphis was named general contractor.(The Daily Herald, August 12, 1964, p. 1)


1964 addition to the new BHS


In early September, an addition to the new Biloxi High School was almost complete.  The addition was in the same style as the original building.  Cafeteria space was increased by 1/3.(The Daily Herald, September 1, 1964, p. 1)

The Pat Harrison Avenue [Veterans Blvd.] branch building of the Gulf National Bank was dedicated on September 12th.  Laz Quave, Beat No. 1 Supervisor, cut the ribbon.(The Daily Herald, September 10, 1964, p. 5 and September 14, 1964, p. 10)

Henry H. Leggett (1892-1966), owner of one of the original Hand homes on Bayou Bernard in Handsboro, demolished the ante-Bellum structure in September 1964.  He salvaged some of the yellow pine to frame his new house. Mr. Legett came to the Coast in 1922 and owned the Arcadia-Ness Creamery, which he acquired in 1932 and sold to the Borden Company in 1944.(The Daily Herald, September 22, 1964, p. 12)



On New Years Day, Dr. Carl DeForest (1887-1968) was the first tenant to move into the new Seashore Manor, a $1 1/2 million dollar, apartment buiding situated on the Methodist Seashore Assembly Camp Ground.  Also Josie Featherstone Leggett (1876-1968), age 88 years and widow of the Reverend James Thomas Leggett (1865-1949) moved from Jackson, Mississippi into the new building.(The Daily Herald, January 5, 1965, p. 9)



The new Sister of Mercy Convent was dedicated on May 8th.(The Daily Herald, May 6, 1966, p. 1)



In late February, Charles C. Moschella (1929-2006), president of Oakwoods Apartments Inc.-Gulfport, announced that a 64-unit, two-story, apartment complex called Chateau Versailles would be erected on the from 500-feet of the former Edgar Monroe tract on Biloxi's West Beach.  The project consisted of eight buildings, a social and laudry building and two swimming pools.  Mr. Moschella was the general contractor working from plans drawn by Biloxi architects, John T. Collins and Leonard A. Collins.(The Daily Herald, February 19, 1968, p. 13)

The $500,000 Harrison County 2nd Judicial Courthouse located on the NE/C of Lameuse Street and M.L. King Jr. [formerly Washington Street] was built in 1967-1968 by the Brice Building Company from a design by John T. Collins and Leonard A. Collins.  Its planned dedication was August 31st.(The Daily Herald, June 1, 1968, p. 1)



In early March, the Kimbrough Investment Company under the aegis of Floyd R. Kimbrough (1902-1973) and E.W. 'Woody' Blossman (1913-1990), broke ground for their 304-room, $6 million Shearton Motor Inn on US Highway 90, two blocks west of the Broadwater Beach Hotel.  General contractor was J.A. Jones Construction Company of NOLA.(The Daily Herald, March 6, 1969, p. 1)

In April, Mississippi Power Company announced plans to double the capacity of its Jack Watson Plant, north of Handsboro, with a $62.8 million building program.  A 500,000 KW steam-electric generation unit will be completed by the spring of 1973 and a $3.3 million 40,000 KW combination turbine generator would be in operation by 1970.  New transmission lines were also being erected.(The Daily Herald, April 14, 1969, p. 1)

In April, a $1 million Ramada Inn was planned for West Beach on the grounds of the old Bryan Motel, which was recently demolished.  The two-story, 219 unit motel was masonry construction built in a Colonial-style by the H.E. Allen Construction Company of Jackson, Mississippi.  The facility had a restaurant, lounge, meeting facilities and a swimming pool.  It was planned to open in March 1970.(The Daily Herald, April 18, 1969, p. 1)
In April, Consolidated Construction Company was awarded the $104,370 contract to erect the West Biloxi Postal Station, a 6300 square-ft., single story, building, at 124 Fernwood Road.  The USPS leased the builing for ten years.(The Daily Herald, April 18, 1969, p. 15)
In April, Clarence Day of the Day Companies sold the Trade Winds [formerly Tivoli Hotel] to ROLANE, Inc. of Atlanta, Georgia.  At this time, the building had 104 rooms and apartments and its 16 room motel which was built about ten years past.(The Daily Herald, April 19, 1969, p. 1)
Contract was signed with W.R. Fairchild Construction Company and L & A Construction Company for the construction of a $1,159,831 harbor and marina by Mayor Daniel D. Guice and Laz Quave of Harrison County Board of Supervisors.  Work was to start in 45 days and take 390 days to complete.(The Daily herald, April 29, 1969, p. 1)
J.O. Collins was the low base bidder to erect the $289,395 Sacred Heart Catholic Church in North Biloxi. Father Francis Farrell was pastor and H.F. Fountain Jr. & Associates were architects.(The Daily Herald, April 30, 1969, p. 1)
The new Daily Herald $1.8 million printing plant and building on DeBuys Road was dedicated in early December. The Wilkes family had sold the daily newspaper to the State Record Company in 1968.(The Daily Herald, December 12, 1970, p. A1)





In December, the Avelez Hotel on West Howard Avenue was being demolished by the Harris Wrecking Company.  The company was paid $25,000 to accomplish the task in one month.(The Daily Herald, December 1, 1972)



Construction began on October 12th at the $12.6 million, Biloxi Hilton Hotel by John C. Yemelos, president of Yemco, Inc.(Down South, Vol. 23, No. 6, p. 13) 

F. 'Yankee' Barhanovich and H.F. Fountain Jr. related that site clearing for the Mississippi Coast Coliseum would begin within 30 to 45 days.  Fifteen of the sixteen tracts for the project had been acquired.(The Sun Herald, October 17, 1973, p. A-2)
The Lyman C. Bradford Post 2434 V.F.W. Post building at 844 East Howard Avenue was dedicated  on October  20th.  The old building on Fred Haise Boulevard [Church Street] had been damaged in Hurricane Camille.
H. Gordon Myrick Inc. of Gulfport were general contractors who erected the structure from plans by H.F. Fountain Jr., Biloxi architect.(The Sun Herald, October 21, 1973, p. A12)



The Friendship Fountain was dedicated at the International Plaza in Biloxi in early April. Various dignities attended the ceremony including Mayor O'Keefe, Mrs. Bill Waller, Jean-Jacques Peyronnet, General Consul of France and Major General Brian M. Shotts, commander KAFB.(The Daily Herald, April 7, 1974, p. A-2)
In early March, the City of Biloxi placed the "red caboose" situated on Jackson Street on its pad.  The caboose was acquired from Ruth J. McFalls of Ocean Springs in December 1974 for $3850.  It was utilized by Senior Citizens as retail outlet for ceramics and other handicrafts.(The Daily Herald, March 6, 1975, p. 2)




















     The J.L. Scott Marine Education Center on Point Cadet was dedicated on June 20th.  Name for J.L. 'Jake' Scott (1915-2001), the first staff member of the Board of Trustees of the Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning where he worked until retirement in 1985 as director of construction and physical affairs.  Mr. Scott helped write the original legislation that established the Gulf Coast Research Laboratory in Ocean Springs as an official state instritution of higher learning.  Katrina destroyed this structure in late August 2005.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 14, 1984, p. 5 and The Biloxi-D'Iberville Press, April 25, 2001, p. A7)






REYNOIR STREET [Image made March 2011]


Built in 1985 and 1986 by Sparks Construction Company of Jasper, Alabama.  Designed by Perez and Associates-NOLA.

















Construction of Biloxi's $9 million, three-story, 66,000 sq-ft Public Safety Center commenced on July 24th.  The facility on Porter Avenue was designed by Fountain & Lamas and built by W.G. Yates  & Sons Construction Company.  The structure was erected to house Police and Fire Departments and Municipal Court.(The Sun Herald, July 22, 1999)




Biloxi Blues Marina Grill and Bar announced in October.  Located on undeveloped 8.5 acre site at the termination of Holley Street of Back Bay Avenue.  Gutierrez LLC, developer, also plans a 204 'high and dry' boat storage facility and 32-slip marina with a fuel dock, bait shop and retail store.(The Sun Herald, October 19, 2011, p. B10)



The Most Rev. Roger Morin on Thursday blessed the Santa Maria del Mar Retirement Community on Tommy Munro Drive, which was rebuilt nearly eight years after Hurricane Katrina destroyed it.  It is sponsored by the Catholic Diocese of Biloxi and Morin said it is a symbol of the diocese's "ongoing commitment of our service to our community and a testament to care and concern for our sisters and brothers, who long for a place to call home in a residential community designed with them in mind."  The new $26 million retirement community was moved from the beach to Medical Park Drive behind the diocese's Pastoral Center on Popp's Ferry Road. There are 208 units in the twin six-story towers, including 134 studio apartments and 74 one-bedroom apartments. The units are unfurnished but contain a stove and refrigerator.[The Sun Herald, June 5, 2013]






POST-KATRINA [August 2005-2009]

Jacinto Baltar Building-Biloxi Port Commission


WAFFLE HOUSE-1759 West Beach

[image made October 2011]



[image made October 2011]


SOUTH BEACH-1735 West Beach

[image made October 2011]

Built by RW Properties a Ray Woolridge, enterprise as a condominium project.  When condo sales were slow, the building became a 'hotel' and short term rental property. 



2009 BILOXI YACHT CLUB-408 East Beach

[L-R: south elevation and north elevation. image made October 14, 2011]

The Biloxi Yacht Club broke ground for their new 12,400 sq-ft. edifice on June on June 22nd.  The structure will cost about $4 million dollars.(The Sun Herald, June 21, 2008, p. C1)

The BYC opened on April 4, 2009.  Change-of-watch ceremony initiated in February 2010.  Gaylord Wilson, Commodore; Rocky Rhodes, Vice Commodore; and Jeffrey Ellis, Rear Commodore.  Board members: Barry Barq; Patrick Diaz; Mike Murray; Lois Richardson; Ronnie Tootle; and Jerry White.((The Sun Herald, April 5, 2009, p. A7 and The Sun Herald, February 13, 2010, p. A)



People's Bank Tower

East Howard Avenue



Biloxi Civic Center and Public Library [February 2010-March 2010]

                                          Biloxi Civic Center and Public Library [June 2010 and August 2010]                                               

West Howard Avenue

Dedicated July 14, 2011




Biloxi Lighthouse Visitors Center

The Biloxi Lighthouse and Visitors Center was dedicated on July 14th.(The Sun Herald, July 15, 2011, p. A1) 



Slavonian Benevolent Association of St. Nikolai

[Image made June 9, 2011 by Ray L. Bellande]    

The new $3 million Lodge of the Slavonian Benevolent Association of St. Nikolai, located on Maple Street near Howard Avenue and Oak Street, was dedicated on November 27th.(The Sun Herald, November 26, 2010, p. A2)



Coast Area Transist Station

[near Mary Mahoney's and opposite Hard Rock Hotel addition-image made April 2013]







[images made October 2011 and November 2012]

The Santa Maria Del Mar Apartments of the Catholic Charities Housing Association of Biloxi, Incorporated were commenced by Starks Contracting Company, north of Poipp's Ferry Road and west of Tommy Munro Drive from an Eley-Guild-Hardy architectural design.  The Most Rev. Roger Morin on Thursday blessed the Santa Maria del Mar Retirement Community on U.S. 90, which was rebuilt nearly eight years after Hurricane Katrina destroyed it.  It is sponsored by the Catholic Diocese of Biloxi and Morin said it is a symbol of the diocese's "ongoing commitment of our service to our community and a testament to care and concern  for our sisters and brothers, who long for a place to call home in a residential community designed with them in mind.  "The new $26 million retirement community was moved from the beach to Medical Park Drive behind the diocese's Pastoral Center on Popp's Ferry Road. There are 208 units in the twin six-story towers, including 134 studio apartments and 74 one-bedroom apartments. The units are unfurnished but contain a stove and refrigerator.[The Sun Herald, June 6, 2013, p. A  ]



SHAGGY'S  [L-R: images made 2011 and September 2014]



5th Street POINT CADET




                            June 20, 2011                                                                   September 24, 2011

                        October 2011                                                                           March 2012

Both images April 2012



5th Street POINT CADET




[SE/C Lee Street and Division Street-Image made September 2011]

The Ray and Joan Kroc Center bids were open in early January and a contract to build the structure could be awarded by February.  Dedicated as the Salvation Army's Ray and Joan Kroc Corps Community Center of the Mississippi Gulf Coast.  Cost $16 million.(The Sun Herald, January 5, 2010, p. A6 and September 19, 2011, p. A1)



BOARDWALK MARINA [image made October 2011]

An $11 million dollar business located on 8th Street on Back Bay at Point Cadet and erected by Chris Ferrara.



[image made October 2011]

[February 2012]


West Beach Boulevard



September 24, 2011

McElroy's Harbor House


Diocese of Biloxi-Gunn Building Demolition                 Hancock Bank Building Demolition

                            February 2012                                                                         March 2, 2012



The Hook Up Restaurant

Built in 2012 by Chris Ferrara on 8th Street at Point Cadet and Biloxi Bay adjacent to his Boardwalk Marina.[image made June 2013]




                                                      April 2013                                                                               October 2, 2013                                  



          October 2013-North Elevation                                  October 2013-South Elevation

            November 2013-North Elevation                           December 4, 2013-South Elevation




November 5, 2012                                                       March 13, 2013  

May 14, 2013                                                                                      June 12, 2013


  June 24, 2013 [north elevation]           August 3, 2013 [west elevation]          September 6, 2013 [east elevation]

September 16, 2013 [west elevation]    September 16, 2013                  October 12, 2013

                           December 4, 2013



Point Cadet Plaza

  April 25, 2013                                                                           May 14, 2013


                     June 24, 2013                                            August 24, 2013                                             October  12, 2013


                     December 4, 2013


The Sun Herald, "Biloxi's Waterfront Park on track", June 13, 2013, p. A2.



[L-R: current baitshop-June 2013 and new baitshop-underconstruction June 2013]

                    October 2, 2013

Biloxi Small Craft Harbor baitshops



West Beach Boulevard


West Beach-June 2013 and March 2014

West Beach-Rodenberg Avenue Rest Rooms-June 2013

ISLE RENOVATION AND MAKEOVER-June 2013 and October 2013.

Edgewater McDonald's Opened October 2013

[image made October 10, 2013]




December 7, 2013                                                                                      April 5, 2014                 

White House Hotel



The Reef

West Beach Boulevard

September 2014

              The Reef opened in mid-October 2014.                   

                               October 2014 [north elevation]                                       October 2014 [south elevation]                               ________________________________________________________________________________________

September 2014

                              October 2014 [north elevation]                                  October 2014  [south elevation]                                         



MGM Field

November 6, 2014                               




Sal & Mookies

Lameuse Street

November 6, 2014

December 4, 2014                                                     April 7, 2015




St. Michael's Parish Center

East Beach Drive


October 12, 2015









Southport Line

676 East Howard Avenue

Both images made July 14, 2017






Main Street


July 14, 2017



Waffle House

East Beach Drive

                                                                                                       South Elevation                                                                        East Elevation                                                                            West Elevation                                                                                                                                                                   December 12, 2018                                                                        January 14, 2019                                                                        January 29, 2019